View Full Version : September Melbourne Mums Meet
Time to organise the September meet i think!
I think it is time for a park meet again. Maybe a park that has a cafe just in case the weather is not so good. Jells Park has always been a big hit for our meets so I would be happy to go there again.
From memory, Thursdays & Fridays seemed the best days for the majority of us. So what about Thursday 21st or Friday 22nd?
Let me know what you all think! And any other suggestions.
07-09-2006, 16:17
Jells park is good for me I will come along! Those dates are good for me too!!
Funkychicken
07-09-2006, 21:19
Sounds good. There was thread the other day about a meet but it didn't seem to get going so hopefully all those that showed interest there will find this one.
It is school holidays on those dates though-I am happy to bring my three if it is outside in a park. Is everyone OK with knowing the park may be filled with school-aged children?
Sara's Boys
07-09-2006, 21:27
I have never heard of Jells Park, where is it?
Jells park is fine with me...and so are those dates...
Friday preferably
if i am well we will come along... cant give definates though...
I have never heard of Jells Park, where is it?
Good question!:D
I'm curious too.
By the way, it was nice meeting you today Sara.. :)
http://www.parkweb.vic.gov.au/1park_display.cfm?park=57
there is the site for jells park... i hope it helps....
Oh sorry guys, Jells Park is in Glen Waverley.
Friday is probably better for us too.
Sara's Boys
08-09-2006, 08:31
ok, way too far for me, maybe another time if it is more central to melbourne!;)
Yeah same, I'd love to meet if it was a little more central aswell.
08-09-2006, 14:26
a friday at jells park is brilliant for me :D
:wave: Great, i'll come too. Either day is fine if it is school holidays
luckytiger
08-09-2006, 22:38
Yeah same, I'd love to meet if it was a little more central aswell.
Yeah, I know what you mean, I tried to organise something more centeral but a few people didn't like that idea and sent me pms saying there was already a meet and to look out for it in here
As that area is not god for everyone, it's good to have a couple of places to have a meet so everyone that wants to come is able to.
Fairyfloss
09-09-2006, 00:52
Jells park works for me too, hope to see you all there.
09-09-2006, 13:00
I can't make it on the friday I have to take Bailey to the paediatrician.
The thurday is good for me. It looks like everyone else is good for the friday so I might have to wait till the next meet.
09-09-2006, 13:27
what time suits everyone? around 11:30 is best for me, picnic lunch :)
Funkychicken
09-09-2006, 21:01
11.30 sounds good to me. I may have my bigger ones too.
Should be good for me too.
Funkychicken
11-09-2006, 11:36
So, I just need to get this right.:o (fuddly sleep-deprived brain)
FRIDAY 22nd SEPTEMBER.
11.30am
JELLS PARK
PICNIC LUNCH
Am I right??
can we join in??? please......:wave:
would love to me up with a nice bunch of mums and kiddies....:)
22.9 - 11.30pm jells
RedPanda
11-09-2006, 11:44
I'd love to come and meet everyone. That date and location is perfect for me!
gidgeroo
11-09-2006, 13:59
Have a great day on the 22nd! We can't make this one this time but will try to make the next one!
have fun:smiliedance:
Georgia
In the past we have made it 10.30am as that seems to suit most of us. I know there are a few toddlers that have their afternoon naps around lunchtime. What does everyone think about this time?
Whenever is ok for us , i'm going to bring the big one too Funkychicken. We can take it in turns at crowd control!
Scout- :smiliedance: you have to make sure you come, i want to see you!
It fits in with the gym timetable so I'll be there! :laughing:
lucyrose9
12-09-2006, 13:25
Hi i'm from melbourne is it open for all mums
lucyrose9
12-09-2006, 13:25
Hi is it open to all mums?
Mamaduke
12-09-2006, 13:29
lucyrose9...of course! Everyone is welcome!
Seeing as though a couple of you are going to be bringing your 'big kids' I will come along with both the 'Duke boys' if that's okay.
Funkychicken
12-09-2006, 15:04
You better, mamaduke! Now that you have put up your hand I will hold you to it! :laughing: Seriously, I would love to meet you finally and this would be a great opportunity.
Scout-looking forward to catching up and seeing that little man of yours again. :thumbsup:
lucyrose9- Please come along! Everyone is welcome!!
lucyrose9
12-09-2006, 16:57
i would love to come i work till 10 so any time after that is great just let me know the time and we will be there:smiliedance:
Oh sounds like its going to be a great meet !!
I think its fair to say anytime after 10 am.....
some people come earlier and others arrive a bit later due to bubs sleeping or other commitments etc...
what do others think?
Mamaduke !! :smiliedance: cant wait to meet finally!!
Mamaduke
12-09-2006, 22:11
I think its fair to say anytime after 10 am.....
some people come earlier and others arrive a bit later due to bubs sleeping or other commitments etc...
Mamaduke !! :smiliedance: cant wait to meet finally!!
I think this is a great idea! Lukey tends to sleep until after 9am and we like to think of ourselves as rock stars...don't tend to do too much before midday!;) That being said, I will aim for 11am...thirty-ish...or somewhere there-abouts...:o
samsmum...can't wait to finally meet you too...I'll let you in on a secret though...I'm a huge let down!
Ana Gram
12-09-2006, 22:14
Well a certain someone has convinced me to come along as well. Ruby and I are also rockstars so we will be a bit later too.
Mamaduke
12-09-2006, 22:16
:yelclap: Rock on Chelle & Ruby!!!:smiliedance:
Fairyfloss
13-09-2006, 01:40
I have not been to a meeting in jells park before, where about do you guys meet? also, the forecast is for clearing showers, can we stay close to the caf, or one of these BBQ areas with the top, just incase it clears late.( I know I sound like a control freak, but it is my first time taking bub out to open air). apart from that I will see you there 11-11:30 ish.
13-09-2006, 11:18
we might be able to come for a little bit before we go to the docs. Where is everyone meeting???
We won't be coming - too hard on public transport I'm afraid.
leejackshands
13-09-2006, 12:26
new to here but wld love to meet you all, so myself & the 2 littlies, Shandi & Jack. see you there
Funkychicken
13-09-2006, 15:59
Great to see some new members are coming along. In all my excitement about the meet, I also have forgotten where in jells Park do you meet? Is there a particular spot? Or a particular entry?
Sal, i thought you were organising, i was blindly following you! Is it 10.30 or 11.30 start? and when someone decides where could they let us know pls :D
Funkychicken
13-09-2006, 20:53
LOL :laughing: I was just trying to get the details sorted! This is Angela's thread but I'm sure she won't mind us confirming details.
This is how I understand it to be:(feel free, anyone, to correct me if I'm wrong about any part)
JELLS PARK
FRIDAY SEPTEMBER 22nd (NEXT WEEK)
10.30AM
Now if somebody who has been prior could confirm the actual meeting site, we will be set! :D
Perfect Sal :thumbsup:
I think the easiest way to describe where we usually meet is this....
Heading through the main gate (off Waverley Rd) parking in area #3 or 4 (from memory...) near the top of the main parking area...
anyway if you park there you will see the tea house up the top and to the left you will clearly see a colourful playground area, thats where we meet usually.
There is undercover area nearby and the tea house if the weather is no good.
If anyone wants my mobile number incase they are concerned they will get lost or whatever just PM me :D
Perfectly said Trace!:D
Sorry that I haven't been in here much organising and answering questions but I have been trying to amuse a sick little boy.:(
Fingers crossed he's all better by next week.
Funkychicken
14-09-2006, 09:00
Perfectly said Trace!:D
Sorry that I haven't been in here much organising and answering questions but I have been trying to amuse a sick little boy.
Fingers crossed he's all better by next week.
I hope Coban is feeling better soon, Angela! Just wanted to say thanks again for taking the initiative to organise this meet as well as the last one! :yelclap: :yelclap: :yelclap:
14-09-2006, 17:11
We will be there but not at 10:30.. thats a bit early for us lol 11- 11:30 hopefully we will make it there :D
Amberlea
14-09-2006, 22:35
Jells park is just up the road from me... do you mind if I rock up with my DD-4 and DS-8?
I will have to leave around 1pm though as I have to go to work *sighs*
I'm not a fan of meeting people face to face - but Ive decided its time to do so.. If anyone wants to PM mebefore then and have a quick chat - Id be most grateful
Shannon
Funkychicken
14-09-2006, 22:46
Hi Shannon.
Of course you are welcome! It will be great to have you and your children there. I am bringing Master 8 and Miss 5 as well as baby, so this way our big ones will have playmates!
Just a thought-For all those unsure of how to find the group (aside from looking for a whole bunch of prams :laughing: ), look for prams with pink ribbons. Not everyone has them yet but some do. I'll have mine blowing around on the pram. :D
Amberlea
14-09-2006, 22:49
Oh great.. thanks Sal... I was hoping someone else would have kids the same age as mine.. and TAG youre it! *grins*
I usually don't go to the meet ups because all the kids are so many years younger.
I have a bubhub ribbon on my handbag - so if any of you see some idiot floating around looking lost with a ribbon on their handbag - you know its me!
RedPanda
14-09-2006, 22:50
Just a thought-For all those unsure of how to find the group (aside from looking for a whole bunch of prams :laughing: ), look for prams with pink ribbons. Not everyone has them yet but some do. I'll have mine blowing around on the pram. :D
Ohh good idea! I'll wear mine in my hair! :laughing: Just kidding! But I do have one on my pram and on my nappy bag. I'm really looking forward to meeting everyone!
See you all Friday...
14-09-2006, 22:53
lol ill have my ribbon on my nappy bag and ill have DS almost 4, DD 14 months and DD 2 months with me :D
Mamaduke
14-09-2006, 22:57
Jells park is just up the road from me... do you mind if I rock up with my DD-4 and DS-8?
I will have to leave around 1pm though as I have to go to work *sighs*
I'm not a fan of meeting people face to face - but Ive decided its time to do so.. If anyone wants to PM mebefore then and have a quick chat - Id be most grateful
Shannon
Hey Shannon!
Jesse (5) would love to have a 'big boy' to run amok with!!!
You'll be fine...I don't bite...and on the odd occasion I do...don't worry, I've had all my shots! ;)
Amberlea
14-09-2006, 23:03
Ok Im coming.... Ive been conned... my kids would love it..
(and just between you and me mummaduke - I love your posts and cant wait to see whos behind them :p)
I read too much lol.
Mamaduke
14-09-2006, 23:09
Ok Im coming.... Ive been conned... my kids would love it..
(and just between you and me mummaduke - I love your posts and cant wait to see whos behind them :p)
I read too much lol.
Good good! :thumbsup:
Now don't pike out at the last minute...:shame:
This sounds like it's going to be a great meet!! I'm so glad that there will be some new faces.
Amberlea
14-09-2006, 23:33
<<wont pike - shes now been offered a dare - and cant pass up a dare
*hides*
No - serious I'll be there, but i'd like to meet someone before then to drag along with me lmao
OOPS!!!! - amberlea_@hotmail.com the underscore damnit!
Mamaduke
14-09-2006, 23:41
If it makes you feel better amberlea...I haven't met anyone face to face either - except for Jessie who I doubt will make the trip from Queensland yet again just to sit and listen to me babble on!:ecomcity: :ecomcity: :ecomcity:
Amberlea
14-09-2006, 23:50
yeah makes me feel better ...kinda
Amberlea
14-09-2006, 23:53
Im off to bed anyways - my son has footy day tomorrow... so i ned to o work out what he is wearing.
Night girls
ChristineZachary
16-09-2006, 08:49
i cant make any fridays, so maybe next time i can come along (if the meetings are not on thursdays or fridays)
Have fun girls!!!!
iam avaiable to meet any other time! anyone can message me if you want too :idea:
iam a single mum with a two year old boy living in Berwick!
So glad I decieded to sign on today - 1st time in ages. I will try to make on Friday. I say try in case of unforseen vomiting or conjunctivities or any of the other hazards of parenthood that seem to crop up on a regular basis these days.
Hopefully will see you all there.
I say try in case of unforseen vomiting or conjunctivities or any of the other hazards of parenthood that seem to crop up on a regular basis these days.
I'm hearing you Megan! Coban has a virus thing and has a form of conjunctivitis too. :( I am hoping big time that he is better by Friday because I need to get out of the house.
I haven't come to one of these meets yet either, i have met Scout before though. I'll be bringing the five year old and the bub. Apologies in advance for my 5 year old and his constant talk of 'bums' and 'poo'. :o
Mamaduke
16-09-2006, 21:31
Apologies in advance for my 5 year old and his constant talk of 'bums' and 'poo'. :o
That's hilarious because I was thinking of posting the exact same thing on behalf of Jesse...our favourites at the moment are "poos" and "pops"!!:laughing:
they'll get on great then! How old is Jesse?
Funkychicken
17-09-2006, 08:09
Oh good-more big kid's with toilet humour! :laughing:
Mamaduke
17-09-2006, 10:47
they'll get on great then! How old is Jesse?
Jesse just turned 5 last week.
leejackshands
18-09-2006, 14:58
now for those of us relying on public transport whats the best way of getting there
New Mum Mel
18-09-2006, 16:25
Hey there Girls,
Just wondering if it is ok if I bring hubby along to the meet too???:kiss: I would love to come and hopefully will be able to make it heres hoping the weather is lovely.:ecomcity:
Love Mel
Funkychicken
18-09-2006, 16:42
Hey there Girls,
Just wondering if it is ok if I bring hubby along to the meet too???:kiss: I would love to come and hopefully will be able to make it heres hoping the weather is lovely.:ecomcity:
Love Mel
I'm sure that's fine, Mel. I would be more inclined to ask him how he feels about spending a few hours with a bunch of chitter-chattering women!!:laughing:
It will be great to meet you both. :)
now for those of us relying on public transport whats the best way of getting there
From Glen Waverley train station you can catch the 754 bus. Here is the timetable (http://www.metlinkmelbourne.com.au/timetables/timetable_options.php?type=bus&id=MTB754)
leejackshands
20-09-2006, 18:53
hey all, i'm terribly sorry to say that i cant make it to the meet:crying: , wasnt thinking straight & frogot tthat the kids are in daycare on that day, so its the only time really that i have for me.( catching up on sleep etc.) so if the next one is on a thurs count me in:thumbsup:
20-09-2006, 22:58
ARGHHH I cant make it :(:(
DP is on holidays atm for the first time .... in our entire relationship... hes only ever had the odd night off.... but not has two solid weeks so i am absolutely making the most of it!
I will def come to next months meet no matter where it is!! I HAVE to meet up with you all!!
so sorry!
Mamaduke
21-09-2006, 17:23
The "Dukes" are still coming! :p
Amberlea
21-09-2006, 17:27
*sigh* I cant make it either.. My sons friend rang up and wants him to go to the movies with him.. and I have to wait at home with him until he gets picked up .
I'll keep my eye out for the next one.
Have fun everyone!
We'll still be there !!
Look forward to seeing all those that make it along tommorrow
Angela i hope Coban is well and we see you there... :hugs:
Still look forward to meeting you Mamaduke, so glad your still coming :thumbsup:
Mamaduke
21-09-2006, 17:43
Tracey...
I'll be a little late though...I'm going to the Dentist first at 9.45!!!
And guess what? I'm not even worried...:p
Tracey...
I'll be a little late though...I'm going to the Dentist first at 9.45!!!
And guess what? I'm not even worried...:p
LMAO Carly!
yeah yeah well neither am i ....... anymore
Mel - I'll be there, you'd kill me if I backed out now!
Smurfette
21-09-2006, 18:04
Me, me, me. I'll be there.
21-09-2006, 18:30
I'll be there but not for long, I need to take Bailey to the Pead tomorrow
Funkychicken
21-09-2006, 19:36
We are all still coming! Well not all, DH isn't, just the four of us!:D
Ana Gram
21-09-2006, 21:27
We will be there, but we will get lost as I am looking at the map right now and still have no idea where you are all going to be.
chelle- if you find the teahouse thing you should be able to see a colorful playground down the hill a bit from it. Ask at the teahouse if you get lost, thats the easiest place to find.
scout- that's correct!!!
Ana Gram
21-09-2006, 21:49
I can't even see a tea house on the map!!
New Mum Mel
21-09-2006, 21:56
Hey there girls,
I am so sorry to do this but due to a few car troubles we are having at the moment we won't be able to make it tomorrow:crying:. It is such a shame cause we were looking forward to meeting you all and having a picnic in the park. I hope it is a successful meet and when there are more to come in the future we will be there:fingerscrossed:.
Love Mel
Mamaduke
21-09-2006, 21:58
I can't even see a tea house on the map!!
This link might help you chelle...
http://www.jells.com.au/location.html
We will be there, but we will get lost as I am looking at the map right now and still have no idea where you are all going to be.
Its actually not as confusing in real life as it appears on the map Chelle...
Once you enter the main carpark (well signed) keep driving until you can see a big undercover bbq area and a colourful playground on your left.. park there :)
Looks like its still going to be a great meet even though a few cant make it ...
Wattle will be there so we all get to have baby Stephanie cuddles !! :smiliedance:
Funkychicken
22-09-2006, 07:50
Ok, we have probably gone over this but my sleep deprived brain just needs to confirm-are we meeting at the playground or the teahouse??:)
at the playground Sal.. unless its raining i guess.... but it doesnt look like rain today... just WIND !!
Funkychicken
22-09-2006, 07:59
Thanks Tracey. See you in a few hours! :wave:
Coban & I will be there today ladies!!!:D
And i'm so glad that Cathy is coming!! I am having newborn withdrawals. LOL
I thought that we would meet at the playground unless it is raining. And if that's the case, we would meet in the tea house.
Oops...Beat me to it Trace. LOL
sooooo windy, make sure you bring warm clothes! See you soon
Thanks Tracey. See you in a few hours! :wave:
yay ! look forward to seeing you again and meeting your whole gang Sal !(minus DH)
:smiliedance: Angela i am so glad you and Coban will be there !!
look forward to seeing you all again especially everyones bubbas !! I bet they have all changed heaps since i last saw you :yes:
Making muffins as we speak :D
sooooo windy, make sure you bring warm clothes! See you soon
Amen to that Mel !!
good morning ladies-
i think i have to give today a miss- it is soooooooooooooooooooooooo WINDY!!!
hope you have a great day
Hi guys, I am not keen on taking the boys out in gale force winds so I will be giving today a miss. Hopefully we can arrange another meet in a couple of weeks.
Funkychicken
22-09-2006, 09:58
I ummed and ahhhed about the wind but I'm still coming-just about to leave. If the wind is too bad, I guess we make it a short meet. I don't blame those with newies though, I wouldn't bring an newborn out in this wind either! Enjoy your day, those not coming-catch you next time! :wave:
Ana Gram
22-09-2006, 10:24
Not only did i sleep in, D took the car and the weather is awful, so alas we have to give it a miss.
Fairyfloss
22-09-2006, 10:25
sorry guys I am chickening out today, it is too windy for my newborn,:( Have fun :thumbsup: and I will see you guys at the next meeting
22-09-2006, 11:08
Sorry guys we slept in, we had a really bad night last night we were up 6 times!!!!! This wind is not good either. Hopefully we can have another meet in a couple of weeks. I really want to meet you all.
hello to all who made it today !
It was another great meet and Samuel, Ethan and I had a ball :D
It was great to meet some new people and catch up with those who i have met before...
I hardly even noticed the wind! It wasnt too bad, i think Jells park is in a bit of a dip.... just the occasional gust :laughing:
Special mentions to Connor for entertaining my Samuel !! and especially to Carly for basically saving Samuels life before he ran onto the road !!! (there was no way i was going to catch up to him !!)
Both my boys are asleep now :smiliedance: so i am enjoying some bubhub time
i will post a link to the pics i took asap
look forward to the next one... we need another dinner i reckon :rolleyes:
It was really good meeting everyone, the kids were all so lovely and got along beautifully. Connor said 'that was a good, fun picnic mum' when we drove off. The wind wasn't too bad at all, although i think i am a bit sunburnt or something! Thanks everyone:thumbsup:
http://ptsmckenzie.spaces.live.com/?_c11_PhotoAlbum_
Hope this works...
Sal dont know how you managed to be missed and your adorable children Tristan and Ella but i did get Hamish :D !! Hope others have some pics they can share too
Hmmm cant get the link quite right but when you click on it just go to the photo albums and you'll see the bubhub one there :)
Funkychicken
22-09-2006, 15:16
Thank-you all for a great day. It was a lovely day out and great to meet all those I hadn't and great to catch up with those I'd met before. The children had a great time and Tristan said that Tracey was nice because she kicked the footy with him!:D Ella was happy about the food!:p
I took a few pics and so did Tristan but his were a little off target:rolleyes: such as the one of Tracy (Smurfette) and Liv but he wanted me to include it here.
http://img112.imageshack.us/img112/4268/pic01356zd9.jpg
http://img74.imageshack.us/img74/3715/pic01358oq4.jpg
http://img74.imageshack.us/img74/5181/pic01362lc5.jpg
Lovely day had by all-looking forward to the next one! :wave:
Mamaduke
22-09-2006, 15:22
What a great time we had! It's great to put faces to names, although 'real names' does take some getting used to :o .
Lukey fell asleep virtually straight away in the car, while Jesse kept nattering on how we could invite 'the 5 year old' (Connor!) to 'come to our house' - 'just ring his Mummy...go on Mum just call her...will you call her...you'll call her'!
I agree with you Tracey...next one should definately be a dinner meet...
Karaoke anyone????? :D Great photos by the way, Lukey thinks he's a celebrity and any camera is the paparazzi coming to invade his space, Jesse on the other hand is a total poser.:p
Chellegoth you big rockstar...oh well, maybe next time!
RedPanda
22-09-2006, 16:02
I had a great time today too! It was lovely to meet you all and get to know you in person! We were pretty lucky with the weather (apart from the wind :( ).
It's been years since I've been to Jells Park. In fact, the last time I was there I was probably Tristan's age!
It sounds like it was a great success despite the weather! I'm sorry I missed it. :gloomy:
sorry girls i missed it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:gloomy:
we were scared about the weather AND we had to organize everything, because our bestest friends are coming to stay with us sooooonnnn
will be there next time PROMISE :D :D
Sorry I missed it.
I am not sure where Jells Park is but looks great by the pics.
I wasn't brave enough to bring the 3 kids though they would have loved it.
As it turned out my boy was very unwell (always the way)
Hope you all had fun!
*Sparkles*
22-09-2006, 22:37
It looks like you all had a great time :thumbsup:
I would be interested in coming along to a dinner meet so I will keep my ears and eyes open for the next thread.
23-09-2006, 00:10
glad to hear you had a great time! Hopefully our tribe can make the next meet! :D
Fairyfloss
23-09-2006, 13:37
I am glad you guys had fun (kicks herself for chickening out), I live just a couple of minutes away from the park and as soon as told DH he can leave cause I won't need a lift the wind died, what a luck:banghead: , oh well there is allways a next time;)
http://i10.photobucket.com/albums/a150/stellaj/September2006032.jpg
http://i10.photobucket.com/albums/a150/stellaj/September2006033.jpg
A couple of pics, as usual I bring the camera and don't take many pics.
Mamaduke
23-09-2006, 21:44
Oh Mel...how gorgeous is that photo of 'the big boys' Jesse and Connor...and of course the little bubbas!!!
Gosh we breed well don't we! ;)
They look great! I heard Connor telling the next door neighbours kids about his 'new friend called Jesse- but not Jessica' today.
Mamaduke
23-09-2006, 21:52
They look great! I heard Connor telling the next door neighbours kids about his 'new friend called Jesse- but not Jessica' today.
They just clicked didn't they? Jesse hasn't stopped talking about Connor...now that he knows his name and it's not 'the 5 year old boy'.;)
Hey, those babies are pretty cute, Mel!
And Mamaduke, I didn't introduce myself to you either but we were talking about bullies just as the meet was ending.
Mamaduke
23-09-2006, 22:20
Hey, those babies are pretty cute, Mel!
And Mamaduke, I didn't introduce myself to you either but we were talking about bullies just as the meet was ending.
Well...pleased to meet you!! :hugs:
It's quite confusing the whole meeting up in real life thing...far easier if we had our avatar pics and our IRL names printed on some badges for the day...there's something for our dear Tracey to do before the next one:laughing: