View Full Version : What to donate?

Lucy in the Sky
15-01-2011, 12:54
I'm not sure whether to donate items or money to help with the floods. I always wonder whether clothes and toys are of use, or whether it would be better saving the interstate transport costs and the man power and donating money so people on the ground can purchase what is needed? What if they have get more clothes/toys than they need, but still don't have enough money for food and rebuilding? On the other hand, why waste donation money going out to get new clothes, when there are clothes they can have from us for free? I never know what the right thing is to do in these kinds of situations. :no:

Have people heard what the latest is on donation requests (from the source, not just from people offering to help)? How do others feel about this dilemma?

kippen12
15-01-2011, 19:55
I know a lot of evac centres have enough clothes for the moment but were starting to asked for monetary donations to Red cross or the flood appeal. I have found though living locally, they have been always chasing things like towels, underwear and baby stuff..baths, bottles, nappies, wipes, lotions etc which can be dropped to any of the centres. If you live further away, it is probably better to donate money to save on the freight etc to get it to where its needed

share a book
15-01-2011, 20:08
I haven't heard much in the last couple of days because I haven't had a TV, radio or computer around, but this afternoon on the radio there was something about a number you can call if you have room in your home for people who have nowhere to go and Qantas and another one will be flying people up from the South and it can be for a week or up to a few months. Last I heard though, the RSPCA were after money donations, and people were after non-perishable food, bottled water, money and cloth nappies.

smileyjk
15-01-2011, 20:20
They've been saying that they have quite enough clothing etc, donations should be made in the form of money and/or non perishable food items. Check around and find a red cross or salvation army that are taking food donations and baby items, a lot of them in qld are taking donations and dropping them off in bundles to the areas most in need.

share a book
15-01-2011, 20:41
What I'd like to be in a position to do is donate my time in the way of going down and being actively involved in the clean up process, rather than sitting 1200km from where it all took place and watch it on the news and give a few little token donations. But we can only give what we are capable of giving can't we.

Hollywood
15-01-2011, 20:56
I donated cash to the Premier's Disaster Relief fund, I figure they'll put all the money where it's needed.

Pregnor
15-01-2011, 21:11
We don't have any spare cash at the moment so i have gone through the cupboards and gotten a bunch of food items, spare disposable nappies, toiletries, and baby wipes, and a new sippy cup that i had... Is that ok? I was going to go thru ds clothes and toys too- but maybe they don't need that?

Hollywood
15-01-2011, 21:15
I have an Ikea quilt/doona thing that I don't need anymore that was hardly used....do you think there's any way I could send that up??? I seriously don't know what to do with it and I'll never use it (it's not quite warm enough for the Melbourne winter but too hot for summer, so I had to buy a new one). I have been thinking of taking it to an op shop or the Salvos, it's going to waste here under my bed :o

*babygirl*
15-01-2011, 21:23
Lg I think those are exactly the things they will need. I'm sure any money people recieve will go towards fixing the damage, food and the vital things... I imagine it will be a long time before they will be replacing all their bedding etc as those things are so expensive and often too hard to clean or use after floods :(

Hollywood
15-01-2011, 21:29
hmmm.....but how to send a doona from Melbourne to QLD :detective:

I might go google and see if there is anywhere in Melbourne we can drop off stuff that will be transported up to QLD...

*babygirl*
15-01-2011, 21:31
Yeah... If you don't know anyone who lost everything I think that is the way to go :)

overitand36
15-01-2011, 21:36
hmmm.....but how to send a doona from Melbourne to QLD :detective:

I might go google and see if there is anywhere in Melbourne we can drop off stuff that will be transported up to QLD...

I am sure Melbourne's homeless who love it sending it to QLD would simply be a waste of money in transport

Qld does not need anymore goods I think these people deserve to be able to have new items money is the only way that could happen

i just wish they was a way to fast track insurance claims so they could get back to some kind of normal as soon as possible

JabberJaw
15-01-2011, 21:38
I have actually spoken to a few people in need, and their requests are pretty simple!

SO today i had a massive shop and brought : Pads, tampons, nappies, wipes, toothbrushes, razors, moisturisers, soap, shampoo, baby food, toothpaste, toilet paper exercise books, lead pencils, coloured pencils, glue, rubbers.

The kids need stuff to get back to school.

Adults are needing toiletries.

I know when our house burnt down i got an awesome care package from a community group that had basic toiletry items and i was absolutely stoked. It was the best thing ever! Really, the small things count.

There is plenty of financial help/assistance available through centrelink and dept of communities, so little care packages are great and do-able on a limited budget.

I spent Maybe $300 today and got 12 womans packages, 12 for men 10 for school kids and 15 for babies. I put them all in big zip lock bags and i threw a treat in for the kiddies.

I also donated a big stack of sheets and doona covers that were given to me hen we lost everything, and heaps of bubba blankets we no longer need.

Womb Raider
15-01-2011, 21:41
Jabber Jaw that is a brilliant idea the care package type thing, what a lovely person you are! Your post made me smile, I think I may do up some packages like that to donate too!

*Cj*
15-01-2011, 21:54
They will take disposable nappies, toiletries, and baby wipes if there unopened. They were saying on the news they don't need any more clothes or toys they are getting to many. If people turn up with them now, their not taking them. They ask that people give money or help clean up.

IndigoJ
15-01-2011, 22:01
When we lost our house the last thing we thought of was the first thing we needed: Clean underwear.

But in this circumstance i think donating money would be better.

The Fox
15-01-2011, 22:13
It really gets my goat when people get told to either help with the clean up or donate money. Not everyone is in a position to donate money or are too far away to help with the clean up.
Sure money would be the easiest thing to donate but there is other things that we can donate that are needed.

ElizaDoLittle
15-01-2011, 22:24
If you have goods but no money, have a garage sale or eBay and donate the money :thumbsup:

Myztiks#1Fan
15-01-2011, 22:36
underwear are a great thing to send for adults and children. i left up north with 2 pairs of underwear. my dad only was able to bring one pair with him so he only had 2 pairs from when he evacuated. mum had a few pairs as did coop as i wasnt expecting we would be gone for some time.

also toiletry items such as pads, tampons etc. i didnt even own a toothbrush til we returned back to brissy as i forgot to pack mine in our evacuation bag so it was great to finally have a toothbrush again.

biscotti
15-01-2011, 22:58
I went to the Salvos today to ask what should I buy. They are asking for gumboots/wellies and toiletries - We went to Rivers and bought every pair of wellies they had, I hope they get to Brissie in the morning :goodvibes:

And Brisbane...although I don't live there anymore,I am so proud to say I'm from Brisbane, to see so many lining up this morning to volunteer their time, oh I could have cried (well maybe I did :o).

kippen12
16-01-2011, 01:02
I went to the Salvos today to ask what should I buy. They are asking for gumboots/wellies and toiletries - We went to Rivers and bought every pair of wellies they had, I hope they get to Brissie in the morning :goodvibes:

And Brisbane...although I don't live there anymore,I am so proud to say I'm from Brisbane, to see so many lining up this morning to volunteer their time, oh I could have cried (well maybe I did :o).

Oh wow, I forgot about gumboots. They are rare as hens teeth up here and will be well received when they arrived!
They had to stop accepting registrations for volunteers yesterday at the end, there were just too many people. I'm sure they will all be back today to help out again :)

MsMummy
16-01-2011, 07:04
Money is always best.