View Full Version : Best disposible nappies for newborns?
rubytuesday
13-01-2011, 13:22
It's been 8 long years between babies and I'm really overwhelmed by all the brands of nappies on the market. When DD was born there was really only Huggies, Babylove, and Snugglers to choose from. I used to buy huggies newborns/infant and snugglers in the bigger sizes.
What do you use?
I am waiting on a friend to make me some MCNs to fit my little bub, and until then have been using huggies (as i did with my forst 3 children and they were great!) but this time, my little man keeps wetting up his back, all over his clothes.... sometimes after just an hour! the only thing they have successfully helped in containing is his poo...
sorry - not much help on recommending somehting to use, but, IMPE huggies are NOT the go.
One of THOSE mums!
13-01-2011, 13:34
I found the huggies newborns leaked EVERY time! But once ds went up to infant size huggies were the only ones which fit well, and held everything in.
I think it depends on the size and shape of your baby, and if they are a big wetter.
I have newborns left from ds so will be using them up this time, but will use a soft cloth cover just to soak up any little leaks.
Daydream Believer
13-01-2011, 13:38
Stupid phone! I double posted by accident...
Daydream Believer
13-01-2011, 13:39
Pampers ( I think the newbies are called swaddles) no leaks soft as silk with no red ouchies at all! And the narrowest between the legs out of all (it looks like torture forcing those little legs so far apart!) I use others when they grow out of the newborn pampers, but will never use another brand in my newbies
lizamarie
13-01-2011, 14:30
My son was a little 6lbs 9oz (2.9kg?) and we used the Huggies Newborn and old school cloth nappies. Even though they looked massive on him they worked really well and kept everything contained. We have used Huggies the whole time with him and he has only had a few poosplosions and wee leaks. The wee leaks were generally my fault as the midwife did tell me 'make sure his penis is pointed down or he will wee up and out of the nappy.
Lizamarie - Silly question though am a first time mum, expecting a boy :cheerleader2:
Should you actually point it up then? I just re read though and realised that perhaps you should point it down, however you forgot on that time :) haha there is just so much to learn really
I really feel like they are all the same personally. Ds nevEr got rashes etc it didn't matter if I used cheap ones or more expensive ones
Pampers ( I think the newbies are called swaddles) no leaks soft as silk with no red ouchies at all! And the narrowest between the legs out of all (it looks like torture forcing those little legs so far apart!) I use others when they grow out of the newborn pampers, but will never use another brand in my newbies
totally agree - they are the only ones i use. i haaaaaaaate huggies and babylove had too many poo explosion leakages with these. i use them on my seven month old & they are fab they are so thin & dont bulk up their clothes yet keep it all in.
With DD2 i used a selection of different nappies.
I didnt find much of a difference between all the homebrand nappies and the expensive huggies and baby love. Woolies, coles and Aldi all did the same thing and never leaked, Huggies and babylove were just the same just cost more.
4OnEarth1InHeaven
13-01-2011, 17:02
huggies, only sposies i have ever used on a newborn, my heavy wetters were no good in anything else, i use mcn's now though so never have wee leaks
~CupCakes~
13-01-2011, 17:13
we used the aldi newborn nappies and i love them only had one leak with three babies :celebrate:
and the new born packs are $4.99 for i think 28 nappies so i reckon worth a try :D
wo i always assumed huggies were 'the best', mostly cause they seem the dearest and thats the main brand that i knew before i got pregnant. will have to try some different ones when bub's born.
silly question - what does mcn stand for? i assume it is something to do with cloth nappy but what is the m?
mcn= modern cloth nappy
DS was out of NB huggies by the time we were home from hospital. I liked using the baby love infant sized ones. I hate snugglers. Pampers werent out when DS was a bub, but i dont like them for him now, they arent as absorbant.
I like woolies brand, but not coles brand.
And I like cosifits because i can sometimes get them for $10 for a massive pack, so i dont care if i use more!
QueenKaks
02-02-2011, 16:37
Am due in march. Saw huggies nappies on sale in target and bought two cartons for the newborn pack, just wondering if that is not too much, hope my bub will not outgrow them by the time w are home:celebrate: from the hospital
TripleTime
02-02-2011, 16:41
For newborns I loved huggies, than moved to toys r us brand.
TripleTime
02-02-2011, 16:43
Am due in march. Saw huggies nappies on sale in target and bought two cartons for the newborn pack, just wondering if that is not too much, hope my bub will not outgrow them by the time w are home:celebrate: from the hospital
Should be enough, I wouldn't but anymore until your getting to the end of the last box.
Lil Bugs Mummy
02-02-2011, 16:47
my dd1 tried the huggies baby and baby love but went to infants in 1 week andf crawlers in two she was nine pound 1 and dd2 was nine pound 15 went straight to crawler huggies
Boobycino
02-02-2011, 16:47
I used huggies first, they were bought for me and when they ran out I bought woolies select and didn't notice a difference.
Though then Jasper was in Terry towels and profolds from 8 weeks onwards and the prefolds held him over night for wees where either brand could leak with him.
krystallxx
02-02-2011, 16:48
Yeh huggies for newborn.
My friend has a real chubby baby, like it's huge! She swears by babylove.
QueenKaks
03-02-2011, 13:00
thanks evry1, i think i wld just return 1 carton to the in exchange for the crawler nappies.