View Full Version : what would you say?
nothanksbye
11-01-2011, 07:17
If a friend decided to drive her and her family up to the sunshine coast, from newcastle?
even if you told her of all the flooding and proposed flooding, she still says oh well...its bad weather but will be fine.
higgleandgoot
11-01-2011, 07:21
I'd tell her to stay put. Slash her Tyres!
Janesmum123
11-01-2011, 07:22
Umm "your an idiot"
the girls mum
11-01-2011, 07:22
Id tell her she was taking a massive risk - but you cant physically stop her - tell her to drive safe and be careful because it is crazy here at moment and the roads are terrible. xxx
nothanksbye
11-01-2011, 07:23
she is taking 3 kids all under 6.
She says she has to go as she planned this holiday months ago.
biscotti
11-01-2011, 07:24
I live on the Sunshine Coast - these are terrible conditions :rain: we are having here, local flooding everywhere (and as I type this, thunder is booming overhead and it's blowing an absolute gale).
It's not just bad weather, it's extreme.
Tell her people are leaving (my own brother and his family left here yesterday. cutting their holiday short by a week),
higgleandgoot
11-01-2011, 07:26
It's just a holiday? It's really not worth the risk, especially with such young children with her. But if she refuses to listen what can you do? Has she watched the news this morning? Make her sit down and see some of those crazy flood waters and poor people stranded on rooftops!
Chocolate All Gone Now
11-01-2011, 07:27
My aunt is on the coast, she says that there are two ways to get to her (Caloundra) one of them you need a 4WD ... Not sure if the bruce highway has gone down, but it floods... She shouldn't go, not worth the risk.
The Girls Only Club
11-01-2011, 07:29
Argh bad post to read.I'm already scared.
My 11 year old is at Helensvale at the moment.They are suppose to go to Wet N Wild today.I am counting the minutes til 9am to call them to see their plans.I wish I had said no she couldn't go on holiday with them.
Why would anyone risk driving their now?Who cares how long your holiday has been planned for,I'd rather stay home and be safe then risk driving to flooded areas.
biscotti
11-01-2011, 07:32
Not sure if the bruce highway has gone down, but it floods...
The Bruce was cut at Caboolture but it's open again....for now.
I went to Woolies yeserday to grab some shopping and went over a local bridge that had some water over it but was still ok to cross. On the way back the Police were there and they let me (4wd) and two Landcruisers cross but stopped the car behind me. This morning I think we might be living on an island.
PuppyGuts
11-01-2011, 07:35
that i hope she has alot of books for the kids to read by the side of the road when she is stopped at floodwaters.
she better check the roads she will be travelling are even open. IMO she is being stupid risking driving in this weather for that long with little kids. its a freeking holiday, wouldnt risk mine or kids lives for a holiday-which will be crap anyway.
waterlily
11-01-2011, 07:44
She is being a blooming idiot!!! Risk her life but not her kids!!!
I really hope they stay safe if they do go :(
biscotti
11-01-2011, 08:03
Here (http://www.sunshinecoast.qld.gov.au/sitePage.cfm?code=road-closures) is a list of the roads that are flooded/closed here on the coast this morning. I'd give this to her :)
Ummm.... Is she stupid? Has she been living under a rock? Its not just a bit of rain. People have died! :(
Hopefully if she goes, she gets stopped and turned around before anything bad happens. I would not risk my kids lives like that.
RaryGirl
11-01-2011, 08:14
Link her to all the police articles about staying off the roads in SE Qld (http://news.ninemsn.com.au/article.aspx?id=8194769), send her the Police FB page (http://www.facebook.com/Nic71/posts/100438613366022#!/QueenslandPolice), link her to articles of the devastation through Queensland at the moment. Does she understand there are 72 people missing because of this 'little storm'? Then there are the people that have lost their lives! :(
She needs to stay off the roads, stay out of SE Qld and stay safe! Would she forgive herself should another flash flood like the Toowoomba come through where she is staying?
Then there is the flooding in Northern NSW. (http://www.abc.net.au/news/stories/2008/01/06/2132437.htm) :(
WorkingClassMum
11-01-2011, 08:38
*If* she needs a holiday THAT badly - go to Melbourne or Tassie
Let her know how many families with CHILDREN are drowned or missing
*IF* she persists, ring the local cop shop and ask them to send a policeman out to talk to her
fairyflossfairy
11-01-2011, 08:39
Honestly.... cannot post on a public forum as this really irks me unless she is a seasoned driver in floods then I would not... even then its to dangerous.
lovemybabies!
11-01-2011, 08:48
To be honest, I would tell her she is being selfish. All those poor people who are missing and she wants to travel through the floodwaters to go on holiday. Seriously, She is an idiot. I bet she will expect people to risk their lives when she goes missing or gets stuck in the middle of the road. Immaturity like this makes me so angry, especially since she wants to risk the lives of her children in doing so.
Sorry if I make no sense, my thoughts are going too fast for my fingers to type.
Daydream Believer
11-01-2011, 08:50
Depending on how far north she's going, the potholes are almost as much of a road hazard... Countless cars in the side if the road with flat tyres. A couple days ago it was awful until Bundaberg, and it was a bit better from there to Gladstone.. 40-50klms was as fast as we dared to go on the Bruce hwy (but it was also pelting rain and night time. We also had to drive through some pretty deep water about 15 mins south of maryborough because it came up that quickly we were already practically on the bridge, and it would have been more dangerous to turn around. Most white knuckle experience of my life, and not in a good way. We then got stopped at Maryborough (thankfully) for the night, as the hwy was closed... Pretty stinking scary drive. I wouldn't do it again. We only did because we knew it would be worse the next day and we had to get home for work. Good thing too, it's been shut at Gympie ever since. But I honestly can't say I'd do it again if I knew how stressful it would be.
CazHazKidz
11-01-2011, 08:53
Idiot! She's an idiot. Seriously.
I'm not going to work today because I don't want to risk being separated from my son if either of us can't get home after this afternoons expected downpour. I feel guilty, but I'm just not willing to risk it.
It's just a holiday! And it would suck anyway!!
SpecialPatrolGroup
11-01-2011, 08:55
There is enough strain on the emergency services, they don't need more people on the roads unnecessarily. A few nights in an evac centre will not be a fun holiday!
People really need to be realistic, we have decided not to attempt to go to Bundaberg for a funeral because, aside from the flooding, the actual road conditions will be horrible with pot holes and wash outs, just adding to the crash risk.
SweetDreams
11-01-2011, 09:07
I am flabbergasted. She wants to kill her kids? Put her in jail now and save us the drama and save those kids.
Is she living under a rock???? Did she see Toowoomba yesterday???? Not on her path sure but that wall of water that was referred to as a tsunami is gathering more debris and water and heading straight for Brisbane. Gympie is devastated and Maryborough is no doubt next. WTF would you want to go up the coast????
Apart from anything the roads are somewhat crap at the best of times but with the rain and flooding the roads are damaged and aren't really getting more than a patch job before being devastated again. Hope she has a few spare tyres!!!
Bah! This makes me so angry! Our emergency workers shouldn't have to start policing the borders to keep these wannabe Darwin Award winners out of danger. Which threatens the emergency workers lives too!
So sick of these selfish people! Stay the heck home!!!!
CazHazKidz
11-01-2011, 09:20
Send her a link to this thread
Love is all you need
11-01-2011, 09:21
Wow just wow does she live in a blacked out paper bag can she not see what is happening from the news????
I agree with a PP maybe stop her some how fair enough for her but her kids :crying:
It's not worth it for a holiday really isn't
It would be best for her to contact the destination and ask them if they are flooded ,if so she could cancel that would be a good enough reason for a refund if thats what sort of holiday they are going on and if thats what they are worried about wasting to attempt to travel thru flooded areas.
11-01-2011, 09:31
She probably won't get through, we bypassed qld on a drive home from Darwin before it even got this bad, so many roads closed. Not worth the risk or wasting your time driving a few hundred kms just to have to turn around
I live near Noosa, and its been pouring with rain for days. Roads are closed everywhere, here's the link to the local road closures http://www.sunshinecoast.qld.gov.au/sitePage.cfm?code=road-closures
She is not only a fool for attempting to come hear for a holiday, she and the kids will be bored to distraction being cooped up inside.
doglover
11-01-2011, 09:37
I have a friend that is due to go from Sydney to Brisbane on Monday for a holiday with her family. I told her she is an idiot. She cares more about loosing her money than her families safety.
Oh she is so silly, and just ignorant. I'm sorry there is no way to describe it. Why would you want to "holiday" up here at the moment? Especially after yesterday's devastation. Why would she not want to stay where it is safe? We are flooded in, and who knows when the waters are going to go down. It is going to get worse before it improves.
I live near the beach on the Sunshine Coast and I don't think your friend would have a very good holiday up here right now!!
An actual creek has formed overnight at the bottom of my garden, several feet deep and lots of roads around here have flooding. I don't know how long the water will last but I'd not go on holiday in this.
Maybe let her see all the flood pictures on the local newspaper website, might paint a picture for her.
http://www.sunshinecoastdaily.com.au/photos/galleries/your-pictures-coast-flooding/
Love is all you need
11-01-2011, 09:41
Wow doglover wow I can't believe people would value their money over their lives...I can't believe there are some people who are being so blaize (sp?) about it :S
doglover
11-01-2011, 09:42
They are having a press conference on channel 7 atm and the police commissioner just said they dont have time to deal with rubber neckers and people that dont need to be there as they need the roads for emergency vehicles etc so your friend truely is an idiot.
doglover
11-01-2011, 09:43
Wow doglover wow I can't believe people would value their money over their lives...I can't believe there are some people who are being so blaize (sp?) about it :S
I know...I just shook my head. What else can I say? I mean the weather is shocking anyway so it wouldnt be much of a holiday.
Love is all you need
11-01-2011, 09:46
Yeah I don't think there is much you can say if she already has her mind made up :(
summastarlet
11-01-2011, 10:02
Ugh, I am on the Sunshine Coast and I do not know why you would want to come hear right now!!
It is not a nice place for a holiday at the moment. Roads are flooding, there is thunder and lightening, black outs and torrential rain. :no:
Would be surprised if she gets through anyways.
I agree with the PP who said maybe you could get the local policeman to warn her, im sure she is just ignorant to how dangerous it is, surely no one could actually be aware of the danger and still decide to make the journey
the girls mum
11-01-2011, 10:04
I JUST got home from Maroochydore to Nambour - thank GOD I didnt go in early and drop munch to day care cause the bridge right near there is over and also on trying to get back from there the roads just filled with water, was so blardy scary!!! I nearly didnt make it home at the round about as there was water just coming in from the drains and stuff - i had Munch in the car and was sh*tt*ng myself!!!!!!!!!!
I def think your friend is a little crazy the roads are blocking everywhere so if she wants a holiday stuck on a highway thats about what she is going to get! I hope she changes her mind!
i would tel her she is a complete and utter idiot and she needs to get her head out of her *** and reallise that her kids lifes is more important then a freakin holiday pluss the fact that QLD is goin to need all the emergancy supplies for the people that are there now not for f*king idiots going on a jolly
Californication
11-01-2011, 10:17
I can't believe that people would risk going to a flood affected or potential flood risk area for a holiday! How stupid is that? It would not be a fun holiday, there would be food issues and the locals need all the help they can get. Not holiday makers putting more strain on already stretched services!! Not to mention the danger and risk to your life. It's not just a bit of bad weather, it's a natural disaster! Ask her if she would have gone to Thailand days after the tsunami.
gizmoduckus
11-01-2011, 11:23
That is just crazy! I wouldn't risk my family's life for anything. Not a holiday, not my job and not for my material possesions.
zombiekitty
11-01-2011, 11:25
What would I say? I would tell her she's a brainless fvckwit.
The Southbound Bruce highway is cut at Caboolture. Here's a list of all the local roads on the Coast that are cut off: -
http://www.sunshinecoastdaily.com.au/story/2011/01/11/bruce-highway-cut-caboolture-sunshine-coast/
A friends workplace has two people who've just rushed home to start sandbagging their houses.
We've just been out to grab some quick groceries during a break in the rain and will now be staying at home till the rain passes. I wouldn't even go for a ten minute drive in the current conditions!
Pina Colada
11-01-2011, 12:02
I would say to her that if she is lucky enough to have never lived through an horrific natural disaster she should thank her lucky stars and stay put and let emergency services help the victims rather then rescue her stupid self when she becomes stranded.
Don't even get me started on taking her kids with her.
nothanksbye
11-01-2011, 22:13
She is on her way.
what an eejit.
RaryGirl
11-01-2011, 22:16
She won't get far ... the highway's are closed! Hope she enjoys her holiday sitting on the side of a flooded highway.
CazHazKidz
11-01-2011, 22:17
Wow.
FiveInTheBed
11-01-2011, 22:18
...wtf!?? --- so she hasn't been watching the news??
..nuts, absolutely nuts!:no:
lovemybabies!
11-01-2011, 22:19
Seriously. No chance in hell would I be taking my kids anywhere near there. It is so bad. So much devistation.
Chocolate All Gone Now
11-01-2011, 22:22
Oh wow... All I can say is I hope she turns around quick smart...
Hannahly
11-01-2011, 22:24
Nufnuf who will learn to listen to the news and radio in a hurry. Hope she turns around safely before the water comes near her and her kids.
sunnyflower
11-01-2011, 22:28
Those poor friggen kids...
the girls mum
11-01-2011, 23:22
F^cking hell - I have just heard that a friend of a friend has lost a child in the floods and another friends sister has had a loss and this idiot is taking hers into the danger!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
What the hell is wrong with her!
The roads are a mess, the rain is insane, and its dangerous - i hope to god she and her kids are ok! It is such a insane thing to do!
I just spend half an hour in munchies room watching her sleep thinking how f^cking lucky I am and this idiot is driving her children into danger right now - sorry op but this is really upsetting me xxx
Umm "your an idiot"
Yep - that's pretty much all I'd be saying to her. Seriously, what a loser. Who the h*ll would drive up here right now for a "holiday"...especially with kids?! Hello?!! 75% of our state is a ****ing disaster zone with the death toll rising by the hour?!
I mean if she wants to put herself in danger, well hey go ahead, but her kids?! Ugh. I don't know her and I loathe her.
One of THOSE mums!
11-01-2011, 23:27
Same as above!
Womb Raider
11-01-2011, 23:29
Firstly she wont make it, secondly shes a bloody idiot to even try! No one should be making any trips unless completely necessary...i hope she stays put for the sake of her kids!!
share a book
11-01-2011, 23:35
My brother and SIL planned on driving to the Sunny Coast/Brisbane/Gold Coast for a holiday then it wasn't possible to drive so they have flown there. They are stuck in a motel room fighting now. I wish they stayed here, we are in no danger here right now! She's pregnant with their first bub and can't help but think they are taking a huge risk just by being there. I want them to fly home now. It's crazy to go to these areas other than to assist with clean up or rescue work.
MamaKoala
11-01-2011, 23:35
It will be interesting when she gets into Brisbane and realises she can't get past Logan. There is no way she's getting to the Sunshine coast this week. I guess she needs to learn the hard way though. I hope her children are kept safe even with an idiot for a mother.
I would give anything for my boys to be home with me right now but they are stranded with their father in Ipswich, and neither of us would be stupid enough to risk their lives like that.
Chocolate All Gone Now
12-01-2011, 00:08
Just drove around while trying to get DS asleep... And saw house debris floating down the Brisbane river, boats going under... And drove past my friends place, its near carindale... And going under... :(
Be safe all!!
Firstly she wont make it, secondly shes a bloody idiot to even try! No one should be making any trips unless completely necessary...i hope she stays put for the sake of her kids!!
Agreed..... Northern NSW is experiencing flooding too, so she will be very very unlikely to get through..... besides the inherent danger she is so readily putting herself and her children in, what kind of holiday does she think she is going to have in a disaster zone??? What poor taste to think you're going to live it up on the Sunshine Coast whilst people are absolutely devestated around you.....
I hope she wakes up to herself...
headoverfeet
12-01-2011, 00:15
What would I say? I would tell her she's a brainless fvckwit.
This, I hope she does not cause any further loss of life, directly or indirectly.
tootiredtosleep
12-01-2011, 00:27
She won't get through, I have just driven home from Newcastle and there are traffic warnings here (on those electric signs) that say the hwy is cut at Sth Grafton and there is no alternate route, also warns about flooding in Nth NSW.
I really don't know what you could say to anyone so stupid!
2 Cherubs
12-01-2011, 00:54
Stupid Cow!
Not sure if it's been posted but she won't even get to brissy! The freeway was cut at Logan last I heard. Actually, I don't think she'd even get through ballina. I'll read back now to check if you've convinced her to stay put.
any news on your friend? how far did she get
"Bad weather" :confused: It's extreme! Children are missing for crying out loud.
By the looks of things she won't even get her "holiday" there as she won't be able to get in but geez, talk about disrespectful wanting to "holiday" in the very place where people have lost homes, children and family members.
Let us know how she is please hun!
You know I hope they tell her how much of a f*ckwit she is and fine her sorry a** for being such a selfish b!tch. They are begging people to stay off the roads, to not be there unless you absolutely have to and she thinks she's going to go have a holiday there. :no:
Yesterday I thought she sounded clueless. Today I'm really p!ssed off that she could be so bl00dy stupid. I really hope no one needs rescuing while rescuers have to deal with her.
Those poor kids....
WHY the **** would you risk the safety of yourself and your little children.
It isn't on the news 24/7 for no reason... what an idiot
Deserama
12-01-2011, 09:54
Hope she's ready for a disappointment. She'll be back...then you can say you told her so.
twit!
MothersMilk
12-01-2011, 09:58
I would tell her she is being a bloody idiot to even consider it - people have died, it is not just bad weather.
I don't think there is any nice way to say 'you're being a selfish twit, why the hell would you be prepared to risk your safety and that of your children just for a holiday'.
The mind boggles, seriously :confused:
Californication
12-01-2011, 10:23
She is on her way.
what an eejit.
Unbelievable. I hope they get sent home safely - and I hope she gets a lecture from whomever turns her around! What a complete idiot.
MamaKoala - I hope your boys and your DH are safe.
Gee, I hope she doesn't get too upset about losing money on all the petrol she spent only to be turned straight back around and told to go home.
She obviously hasnt seen the press conferences where they are pleading with people that have NON essential travel in these areas to stay the hell away.
She has rocks in her head. Seriously.
nothanksbye
12-01-2011, 12:36
according to her updates she is on her way...and is hopeful.
Hopeful for what? that she makes it..how awful stay home and donate the money you might have used for petrol.
I have to stop myself from telling her she is a freakin selfish cow.
Even if she gets there safely, what is she going to expect? Sunshine and lolly pops? 3/4 of QLD is a mess!! Even the beaches will be dangerous with everything being washed out to sea.
TurnedBatty
12-01-2011, 12:43
according to her updates she is on her way...and is hopeful.
Hopeful for what? that she makes it..how awful stay home and donate the money you might have used for petrol.
I have to stop myself from telling her she is a freakin selfish cow.
I actually cant believe you stopped yourself. The words I would be sending back to her most certainly wouldnt be nice....
nothanksbye
12-01-2011, 12:47
I actually cant believe you stopped yourself. The words I would be sending back to her most certainly wouldnt be nice....
it wouldnt help. shes a moron.
Believe me I would say it if i thought it would help..but she is one of the most stupid people I have ever come across..
In a second hand cheap car with 3 kids...
FFS.
waterlily
12-01-2011, 12:53
My god what an idiot!!
TurnedBatty
12-01-2011, 13:01
Nah wouldnt help, but it would make me feel better to swear at such a moron ;)
12-01-2011, 13:09
Id tell her she is a selfish fool! Because she's likely to end up in a drain, her children could be injured and some poor Emergency worker is going to have to go and pull them out when they could be helping SAVE SOMEONES LIFE!
The highway is cut everywhere, so I doubt she will make it past Grafton.
Don't worry..look forward to the FB updates complaining about the floods ruining her holiday, with no thoughts as to how this ruined people's everythings.
Is she even aware that 75% of Qld has been declared a national disaster zone??
In the last few days I have recieved close to a hundred texts and emails asking how we are and if we need anything, not if they can come visit for a holiday. I am just so glad that our visitors from last week made it home, back to snowstorms and power cuts. Poor darlings.
Deserama
12-01-2011, 14:00
Where is she going again? Sunshine Coast? Yeh there's been landslides there so yeh...good luck to her she's going to need it.
jenpeterock
12-01-2011, 14:08
id say good luck..... there is already a fuel shortage in brisbane and people have gone nuts at the supermarkets - all essential items are gone. happy holiday....:rolleyes:
Out To Pasture
12-01-2011, 15:30
What an idiot.
I seriously would just send this thread. It says plenty.
And if money is a reason. Hate to see what would happen if she had to fork money out to buy a new car, cause hers got washed away in the flood.
And she will never forgive herself if that car had her kids in it.
Very stupid, very selfish..
Dannielle
12-01-2011, 16:09
Oh WOW, what a selfish idiot! :eek:
And those poor kids! :(
It's just a holiday, she should have gone somewhere else. Even a holiday at home would have been better than putting more people's lives at risk. I hope she went with a full tank of petrol or she will probably spend her "holiday" stuck on the side of the closed road with no petrol. I hope she took food for the kids.
lovemybabies!
13-01-2011, 12:54
Just wondering if you have heard from your friend since she left. I hope they are ok.
I can't understand what is going through her head to risk the lives of herself, her children and other people just to go on a holiday.
fairyflossfairy
13-01-2011, 12:57
it is so darn silly my Gran is stuck on the Gold Coast(after coming from NSW) they are stuck due to floods. Its just not safe and if this week proves anything its unpredictable with hope she is stuck somewhere high and dry(safe)
HELPihavea2yrold!
13-01-2011, 17:49
It is bl**dy stupidity to risk lives by going up to QLD atm. The roads are closed anyway. I was supposed to be going up to Brissy in 2 weeks and I've cancelled it because its a holiday, its not an emergency. Thought about going to help out people but dont want my young DS in that area when hes been very sick recently