View Full Version : back to school lunch box ideas

~CupCakes~
10-01-2011, 12:14
hi lovely hubbers with school going back in 2 weeks:hyper: i thought i would start a list of lunch box goodies to mix thing up a bit for my LO's and so i dont have to think about it to much on the spot.. thought i put it here and then everyone can add their ideas and we can help each other with inspiring lunch boxes for all of our LO's :highfive:

~CupCakes~
10-01-2011, 12:18
Fruit, apple, banana etc
Pasta salad
Cream cheese and tuna wraps
Rice salad
Cold homemade Pizza Slice
Pizza scrolls
Homemade veggie sausage rolls
Sushi
Pikelets
Vegemite scrolls
Corn Fritters
Carrot cake
Dried apricots and sultanas
Small container of fruit,usually something like chopped up oranges, pears, strawberries etc)
Small container of vegies, corn, cucumber, tomato, carrot
Sandwich
Tub of yoghurt
Mini fritattas or quiches. Lots of veges
Cold fritters or rissoles or meatballs
Pumpkin scones
Pita chips (cut up pita, spray with oil, chuck in oven till crispy) with some salsa and guacamole (make that guac at home... lime/lemon juice and mashed avo).
Hard boiled eggs
Plain popcorn/with a tiny bit of seasoning.
Scones
Mini muffins
Tossed salads
Carrot sticks and celery sticks and cucumber sticks with tiziki or hommus
Chicken lettuce and mayo wraps
Cold chipolatas
Banana yoghurt muffins

~CupCakes~
10-01-2011, 13:11
anyone ???

One of THOSE mums!
10-01-2011, 13:13
Home made muesli bars! Minus all the nasties in supermarket ones!!!

share a book
10-01-2011, 13:21
We have a gas problem at the moment, so no oven baking for us, only what we can do in the electric frying pan so I'm currently making pikelets every few days to stock up the freezer and incorporate baking into our day. Looks like it will be:

2x fruit
1x yoghurt
1x sandwich
pikelets.

~CupCakes~
10-01-2011, 13:30
Home made muesli bars! Minus all the nasties in supermarket ones!!!

oh YUMMY i forgot about those ;)

One of THOSE mums!
10-01-2011, 13:32
Pikelets are a great idea! I might make some to freeze for when playgroup starts again.
We sometimes take cereal in small containers. Like cherios just to snack on if I haven't had a chance to get to the green grocers that morning.

august
10-01-2011, 14:59
Falafel Balls in a container with cherry tomatoes, carrot sticks and cheese.
Boiled Eggs.
Homemade Pizza Slice
Salads such as Pasta Salad and Potato salad.
Homade mini sausage rolls or quiches

~CupCakes~
14-01-2011, 17:34
Bump

Rachael
16-01-2011, 09:11
Not much to add the lists above had great ideas

- Apricot / coconut balls
Leftovers from dinner (if your kindy heats food)
- butter chicken and rice
- Sheperds pie
- Corned beef
- Tiny Teddies

~CupCakes~
23-01-2011, 15:57
shameless bump as tomorrow is back to school here :goodvibes:

share a book
23-01-2011, 16:12
We just made vanilla mini cupcakes, zucchini slice, and muesli slice. We have put aside enough for tomorrow and Tuesday, the muesli slice is in the biscuit container and the rest is in the freezer with the pikelets. I plan on stocking the freezer quite well, hopefully enough to do a whole term in the next week or so!

London
23-01-2011, 16:17
Wow.....your kids are the type of kids my DS would be trying to swap his jam sandwich with hahaha Thanks for these awesome ideas! DS starts year 1 on the 2nd (WA) so I can get a bit more creative with his lunchbox.

share a book
23-01-2011, 16:21
This pay I will be buying the ingredients to make spinach mini muffins, more zucchini slice (definate favourite for DD!), apricot and sultana slice, and banana bread. We'll do baking again on the weekend. DD also wants to make biscuits, so we'll need to decide what type of biscuits to make and can make those too. They keep for a good couple of weeks without freezing, just in an airtight container in the pantry.

anewme
23-01-2011, 19:45
Sausage rolls
pizza scrolls
muffins
pasta salad
rice salad
garden salads
cut up veges Eg, carrots, capsicums, cucumbers etc.
bacon and cheese rolls/ scroll
cheese and vegemite scrolls
pizza ropes
cakes
flans
slices
lcm (homemade)
cut up Devon (chunks)
cut up cheese(chunks, sticks, fancy shapes made with cookie cutters)
sandwiches cut out with cookie cutters.
cracker and cheese
Lasagna (my kids like it cold)
roast veges etc
soups etc

~CupCakes~
23-01-2011, 22:06
i never made zucchini slice!!!! thats a must do!:yes:

ElizaDoLittle
23-01-2011, 22:40
How do you make cheese and vegemite scrolls? Sounds great!

JabberJaw
23-01-2011, 22:53
My kids are taking zucchini slice tommorrow, they love it also.

Umm.....

veggie sticks and dip
dry bikkies,kabana and cheese
wraps
Cold slices of bacon and egg pie (quiche sort of thing)
Salad tubs
fruit salad
corn thins and spread (Vegemite)

share a book
23-01-2011, 23:17
i never made zucchini slice!!!! thats a must do!:yes:

My shoulder is stuffed, so grating is really hard. Poor DD doesn't get it quite as much as she'd like to and I can't make double batches of it because the shoulder is killing me after grating 2 zucchinis, 1 carrot and a block of cheese, cannot possibly do more than that. DD can't use the grater either, her co-ordination is really bad and she took skin off really badly on her fingers when I did let her try a couple of months ago, still feeling bad for that! But otherwise, apart from the stuffed shoulder, it's really easy to make and really yummy too!

~CupCakes~
23-01-2011, 23:40
4 sheets puff pastry, thawed
1/4 cup Vegemite
3 cups grated tasty cheese
1 egg, beaten

oven to 220°C. Line 3 baking trays with baking paper. Place pastry, 1 sheet at a time, onto a chopping board. Spread Vegemite over pastry. Sprinkle cheese over Vegemite.
Starting from the edge nearest you, roll up pastry, 1 sheet at a time. Be careful not to roll the pastry sheets too tight.
Cut each roll into 12 equal portions. An easy way to do this is to cut each roll into quarters, then cut each quarter in 3. Brush pastry scroll tops with beaten egg.
Place scrolls, cut-side up, onto baking trays, allowing room for spreading. Bake for 15 to 20 minutes or until pastry is golden and cheese is melted. Allow to cool for 5 minutes on trays before transferring to a wire rack.

it makes heaps and is yummy :yes:

London
24-01-2011, 00:30
After reading this thread I googled 'easy lunchbox ideas' ...sooo many I hadnt thought of or just assumed were a bit too complicated to bother with, but are actually so simple. DS sat with me and chose a few things he'd like :)

~CupCakes~
24-01-2011, 17:25
Go London!!! There are heaps of easy stuff out there

SassyMummy
24-01-2011, 17:29
DD had sushi (2 handrolls - 1 tuna and avo, 1 prawn and avo), a banana and a homemade baked donut (way less fatty than fried ones!).

See here: http://www.taste.com.au/recipes/20358/baked+cinnamon+doughnuts

Taste pretty much like normal donuts. Perhaps a little less soft.

ElizaDoLittle
24-01-2011, 18:55
Off to make cheese and vegetate scrolls! Thankyou! Do they freeze ok?

Pina Colada
24-01-2011, 22:57
My kiddles start next week (WA) so tomorrow I am making and freezing:

Chicken and vege sausage rolls
Scotch Eggs
Mini bacon and egg pies
Museli Bars
Pizza Scrolls
Cheese corn and bacon muffins
Chicken kebabs
banana loaf
banana muffins
blueberry muffins

I also have a basic biscuit recipe that makes 72 so I then divide it and make: White choc chip, choc chip, jam drops, sultana and cornflake, date and oat biscuits.

Benji
01-02-2011, 09:55
I was just having a look for some ideas as my DS starts school next term (not for a few months but I'm already nervous :o), some great ideas!

How do you keep the food cool? I can't remember if the school classrooms have fridges.. Would an ice pack in lunch box be enough?

SassyMummy
01-02-2011, 10:22
There's no fridge here either Benji, but I put in an ice-brick and it's still partly frozen when it gets home, so I think it's fine...

JabberJaw
01-02-2011, 22:07
I was just having a look for some ideas as my DS starts school next term (not for a few months but I'm already nervous :o), some great ideas!

How do you keep the food cool? I can't remember if the school classrooms have fridges.. Would an ice pack in lunch box be enough?

I put a frozen lunch box size ice brick on the bottom of their lunch bag and a frozen popper in between. Having no fridges for lunches sucks, especially in Queensland. I remember chucking many HOT ham sanga's away as a child.

My kids often bring their popper home and it is usually cold still at 3.15 pm.

a big insulated lunch bag is way better than the good old lunch box IMO

SimplyMum
08-03-2011, 12:47
This is GREAT! I'm copied all the ideas and am now going to review! I may be back for some recipes! :)

~CupCakes~
16-03-2011, 15:45
I put a frozen lunch box size ice brick on the bottom of their lunch bag and a frozen popper in between. Having no fridges for lunches sucks, especially in Queensland. I remember chucking many HOT ham sanga's away as a child.

My kids often bring their popper home and it is usually cold still at 3.15 pm.

a big insulated lunch bag is way better than the good old lunch box IMO

i used to hate my HOT devon and tomato sauce sangas

mummahelsbels
07-04-2011, 12:30
Pinacolada- would you be able to share your basic biscuit recipe. That sounds like a great idea to make up a bulk batch and flavour it differently. I presume the cookie dough freezes well??

Pina Colada
07-04-2011, 12:54
500g butter
5 cups self raising flour
1 cup sugar
380g tin condensed milk.

Cream sugar and butter until white and fluffy. Sift in flour, and pour in condensed milk. Mix to combine. Roll into teaspoon size balls and place on paper lined baking tray. Flatten slightly with a fork. Bake in 180deg oven for 10-12 minutes.

For healthier version, use half wholemeal.

It freezes perfectly. I just roll it into a massive ball and wrap in gladwrap.

~CupCakes~
07-04-2011, 12:56
will all wholemeal work????

Pina Colada
07-04-2011, 12:58
I've never tried it with all wholemeal :)

~CupCakes~
07-04-2011, 12:59
ill give it a go! thats all i have left and cbf to go to the shops today! ill let you know

mummahelsbels
07-04-2011, 18:47
Thanks heaps I'm going to make it tomorrow! That sounds like such an easy recipe- I don't get time to do anything too complicated with a 20mth old dd and 3mth old ds. You've made my day :)

2darlingboys
07-04-2011, 18:52
Subscribing :)

barneybear
12-06-2011, 17:05
Does anyone have a good receipe for bacon and egg pie or small bacon and egg pies??

Karlee88
12-06-2011, 17:13
Does anyone have a good receipe for bacon and egg pie or small bacon and egg pies??

Something really simple is you line muffin trays with a piece of bread, chop up some bacon. Crack the egg in the bread and sprinkle with bacon and even some fetta or ricotta and bake!

Sent from my iPhone using Bub Hub

waterlily
12-06-2011, 17:21
Something really simple is you line muffin trays with a piece of bread, chop up some bacon. Crack the egg in the bread and sprinkle with bacon and even some fetta or ricotta and bake!

I make some similar to these. Huge hit :)

anewme
12-06-2011, 17:46
I do a egg and bacon pie

6 eggs
1 can of evap milk
300grms of chopped or diced bacon
300 grams of shredded cheese
1 large diced onion
opti vegs (grated carrot, zucchini, corn etc)

cook at 220 degrees until set

cook in a mini muffin tray for mini
a muffin tray for individuals pies
or a lasagna/baking dish for a family size.

~CupCakes~
12-06-2011, 18:19
Yummy!

Nef
12-06-2011, 19:05

Alexander Beetle
12-06-2011, 20:27
I'm subscribing too. I love healthy snack ideas.

barneybear
12-06-2011, 20:57
Thanks karlee88 and loving5, i will give those a go!

squishie
14-12-2011, 16:28
Just thought I'd bump this awesome thread in case there are some more good ideas out there :)

ktfierce
14-12-2011, 16:59

madjedjjlill
14-12-2011, 17:52
Subscribing too my baby starts pre prep at the end of Jan need lots of healthy lunch ideas. Think we might make the biscuits in the holidays.

SMO3
22-01-2012, 13:51
Great ideas mums!

London
22-01-2012, 19:07
Subscribing

41Hope
27-01-2012, 10:12
Some great ideas here - thanks! Any tips on what's best for pregnant teachers going back to school and struggling with food preparation?