View Full Version : OPK result question

fozzie
05-09-2006, 16:20
Sorry this may have been asked before but I've been using OPK's this week and on the 1st day there was no line on the 2nd a faint line and no line since I was wondering if that could have been O but I read that it's supposed to be the same colour. Just wondering I'm on CD 16. Any advice would be great.

whitsundaysmumma
05-09-2006, 16:33
Fozzie, I will try and answer you as best I can.

With me, OPK's work perfectly. I have faint lines from around CD9, then around CD13 it's nearly at its peak and then on Day 14 - ODay, it's dark if not darker than the control line.

I test from Day 9 to Day 16.

How long is your cycle?

They say to start BDing pretty much when you see the line, we do from about Day 10 every 2nd day. The pack says it's a negative test if the test line isn't as dark as the control line, but I know others, like MorganJ, never got as a test line as dark as the control line.

Does that help a bit. Search for OPK's there are heaps of posts around.

Good Luck:thumbsup:

shellsbubs
06-09-2006, 14:05
hi i am fairly new to bub hub and would also love to hear any stories regarding this as i also had a faint line then none?anyone want to share?

fozzie
06-09-2006, 14:14
hi i am fairly new to bub hub and would also love to hear any stories regarding this as i also had a faint line then none?anyone want to share?

Hi Michelle, looks like we are in the same boat, both trying for number 3, both only had a faint line, both 31 and my name's Michelle and my DH is 34.:D :laughing:

Hopefully we might get some answers, I've tried searching that it's hard to get a specific answer. I've tested for 7 days and had no lines at all except for the 2nd day, now my boobies are very sore and achey and I don't normally get this but I don't think I could be pg as I've just found out I've got and infection and I'm on antibiotics also I'm only CD17 now.

Adria
06-09-2006, 15:08
What brand are you using? I'm using ovunow, but having faint lines, actually todays was lighter than yesterdays...wt? But the lines are very hard to see im up to CD 11 on a 28 day cycle an hoping it gets dark soon.

PiercedDoll
06-09-2006, 16:13
im in the same boat..i had a a few faint lines then one got slightly darker now nothing for the last couple of days...i doubt i would have ovulated as it was cd 5 or 6...im using ovunow and i dont know if they are reliable...

fozzie
06-09-2006, 16:48
I've been using First Response 7 day Kit I got it from Safeway. I couldn't wait to get some from the internet as I was on CD9 I've been testing from CD10 - CD17 and the only hint of a line I got was on CD11. So I don't know I was going to get some internet cheapies ready for next month. Then I can check all month to make sure I wasnt just really early or late. Not sure whether to go and get another 7day pack for now or not what do you think?

RoarsomeMum
06-09-2006, 16:51
I brought Ovunow from ebay and diddnt get lines for a week or so CD 8-12, so I brought Supermarket ones, they showed very dark line on CD 13.. out of curiousity, I tried an Ovunow on day 13 as well, there was a dark line!!
So mine worked, but not till I surged!
I have read some work for some women, and not for others!
Good luck getting a + !!!!

wantagirl
07-09-2006, 04:22
If you are only testing once a day you maybe missing your surge. Some sites suggest testing twice a day. I tested in the early afternoon the day I got a positive and it was very faint. I tested later that day and got a darker line and considered it positive. The next day there was no line. I also read that testing in the morning is not a good idea. Afternoon is better and early evening hours.

fozzie
07-09-2006, 08:07
Thanks for the advice I had been testing in the afternoon so I think next month I'll try twice a day. :thumbsup:

Livy
07-09-2006, 10:18
I tried using the Ovunow ones this month. I had extremely faint lines for a couple of days and then after getting a -ive at around 12pm of CD16 - I got a dark +ive in the early evening (about 7pm) and FF confirmed that I did o on CD16.
I think they do work but it can take a lot of test strips to get a postive - I think I went through around 10 or so. And if I had not of tested twice a day I would have missed my surge. :)

shellsbubs
07-09-2006, 10:59
Hi Michelle (Fozzie) it's Michelle here, yes i noticed on another thread on having 3 ch'n that we had alot in common (names,ages etc.) well it looks like we will have to get a heap of OPK tests!I've recently gone off the pill so dont know my cycle yet - but today AF turned up out of the blue - but i am happy as now i can start testing more. Gd luck:o

GiggleBerry
08-09-2006, 12:00

I've been using OPK's for about six months and I haven't had any problems with the ones that I get fom this site www.fertilitynaturopath.com, they are much cheaper than the ones that you can get from Coles/Woolies. When testing make sure you limit drinking for two hours prior to testing as it can dilute the LH in your urine and you should try and test at the same times each day. Oh and just to through a spanner in the works I actually got 2 positive results in one month...don't know if this means I o'd twice but since then I actually test from the day I finish my period until I get AF.

Michelle....yes another Michelle:wave:

fozzie
08-09-2006, 13:20
Ok then looks like gettting plenty of OPKs from fertility nartupath and starting from the when AF finishes then testing twice a day! :rolleyes: Anything else, who said it was easy!!!

I never bothered with OPK or anything with the last two but this time DH doesn't want to keep trying for more than a year so I'm trying anything I can that might help. So goodluck to all :fingerscrossed: and we'll see what happens. By the way AF is due around 19th but I doubt I will be lucky this month.

Michelle