View Full Version : Comments people have made to you when out with your baby!!!
fireflies4
19-12-2010, 00:37
Does anyone have people ask weird questions about bubs when your at the shops etc?
I ask cause today when I was in woolies I was squatting down looking at something on the bottom shelf. I was holding onto the pram and I hear - "oh he is a cute baby how old?". Me - 8 weeks. The old man (in his 60's) - csection? Me - (still squatting down trying to ignore but not seem rude) - no natural. Old man - oh wow. He has such a nice head for a natural delivery. Me - (kinda shocked and thinking WTF) thanks. And then he walked off??!!
WTF is up with that? Was he someone to watch out for or someone who was just strange?
I was rather stunned by his question and glad he walked off after I thanked him for the compliment.
Or is it just me?
Someone older once asked me the same thing maybe its a common question from older people? Maybe they assume c sections are how just about everyone has babies now? Dunno. Also when you have kids young a lot of people ask really inappropriate questions like was he planned and I even got "do you know the father" once!
Deserama
19-12-2010, 00:47
My mum goes on about how perfect my kid's heads where. I had all mine naturally but she says they're ceasar heads cos they are so perfectly rounded...no molding.
So yeh must be the older generation.
fireflies4
19-12-2010, 00:51
I was glad I didn't say yeh he was a natural assisted delivery with forceps.
Imagine the response I might have got then.
A few people have said he must have had bruises on his head from the forceps. Umm no!!
He had one on his forehead and that was from it pushing against my bone and him being stuck.
Orris Apjoko
19-12-2010, 00:55
Ive been asked that too and mine was a csection, its because *most* natural born babies have a different shaped head after birth, due to going through the birth canal. Althought after a few days it goes away so i dont understand people saying it weeks later.
Some people just cant keep their comments to themselves.
katieinwa
19-12-2010, 01:16
i have had alot of people comment on dd when she was younger (she had heaps of black hair as a newby) on how much HE weighed or how old HE was even though she was in pink, wearing a dress and i dunno she looked like a girl to me
Ds was a feral reflux baby, and i often had to just take him out when he was screaming cos we needed food- and all these old ladies would say 'oh the poor dear must be hungry'... Really? You don't think i tried that?
MothersMilk
19-12-2010, 06:22
Both mine were born with perfect shaped heads and the hospital staff would go on about it - i got a few 'c section head' comments. (both vaginal births)
While out and about i just get comments about how cute bub is :D
Bambibambino
19-12-2010, 06:47
Maybe he has a grandchild with an odd shaped head? :laughing::confused:
My ds had a haematoma at birth and has a slightly odd shape to his head. Had someone said to me "vaginal birth? He has a lumpy head, couldn't be a c-section delivery" I would have died. How wierd.
Boobycino
19-12-2010, 06:48
Lol. I had a few 'csection?' 'yes' 'yeah you can tell he has a perfect head'
Lol.
MissSteph
19-12-2010, 06:52
Also when you have kids young a lot of people ask really inappropriate questions like was he planned and I even got "do you know the father" once!
DD and DS look nothing alike (they don't even look related) DD is a spitting image of me and DS is a spitting image of DF.. and a lady at DD's swimming came up to me and asked how old DD and DS are, then promptly asked if they have the same father!! I'm sure she didn't mean any harm, but it made me feel 2 feet tall and thought it was pretty rude to ask a stranger if her kids have the same father. Wow, what a shock, a 21 year old actually has 2 kids from the same father and is still with their father.. Didn't see that one coming!!
Boobycino
19-12-2010, 07:08
Also when you have kids younga lot of people ask really inappropriate questions like was he planned and I even got "do you know the father" once!
Yeah... 'are you still with the father?' 'was he planned' or 'are you the baby sitter' or at playgroup being often mistaken for a student by other parents so under my name tag I got another and wrote 'mum' on it!
Or the very awkward social situation at a friends wedding met someone for the first time and she asked if Jasper was DP's... He was sitting RIGHT THERE!!! What?!? We stared for a bit, took a while for the question to really register.
And of course just asking my age and doing :eek: 'wow! Oh wow. At your age I really wasn't responsible enough to have children'
Argh!!!! Stupid Sydney! I'm not friggin 12! Most of my friends from school are married, having children and buying houses. Just because people in sydney are so delayed (lol)
I'm just waiting for the next one. Clearly I now have an arsenal of backchat. Though they've slowed a lot. I'm 23 now so it's not such a shock ;)
But next person to ask if I'm the sitter/nanny I'm going to brightly ask if they are the grandma. :D
elleandsam
19-12-2010, 07:10
What I hate is when DH is out with DD on his own people act as though he's the worlds greatest hero! He's starting to get sick of people asking him if he's single or where his wife is that he pretends not to speak English!
Chocolate All Gone Now
19-12-2010, 07:20
I had our delivery driver ask me if the bub was from the same father as DS, I promptly replied "Yes, I'm married to their father..." he went "oh well you never know... Now you have kids he will want to cheat..." I was left looking shocked and avoided him for a month...
Oh and whilst shopping with DH, and elderly lady said to her friends while looking at me and my huge belly (second preg I've popped...) "Kids these days, don't know what they are getting themselves into..." DH told me after the fact and I wanted to say to her "Oi B1tch, I'm 21, married and I already have an 8 month old... Also my family used to be human funeral undertakers, I know where you're going..." (okay I'm a bit more b1tchy whilst pregnant... Also sick of everyone assuming I'm 16... :( ) gah! People these days... :(
Aaliyahsmummy
19-12-2010, 07:27
Ds was a feral reflux baby, and i often had to just take him out when he was screaming cos we needed food- and all these old ladies would say 'oh the poor dear must be hungry'... Really? You don't think i tried that?
Don't you hate that!!! I used to get that all the time, particularly from older mothers (i'm 23, but look like a teenager still) so I assumed they just thought I was too young to have a baby and just had no clue.
I let loose at one lady once, after about 5 people saying oh she must be hungry, this cow came up and said 'oh shes hungry, you should go feed her' so I reply 'oh thanks, shes just got reflux and that makes her upset, I just fed her' (very politely)
she then starts at me for 'starving my child' and being a 'horrible mother':rolleyes:
~CupCakes~
19-12-2010, 07:37
Don't you hate that!!! I used to get that all the time, particularly from older mothers (i'm 23, but look like a teenager still) so I assumed they just thought I was too young to have a baby and just had no clue.
i ALWAYS get the same i'm 25 and still look really young, the funniest was a woman ( about late 30's) at coles just after dd2 was born
her " oh is that your first you can see how in love with her you are??"
me " no shes my third, but yes im in love with each of them"
Her, jaw dropped, " oh well do you know there fathers? you must have started young!
Me, smiling, " actually my husband is their father"
Her," your married is that cause you got knocked up?
Me " no we got married because we love each other and wanted to have a family together!!!!!"
another old lady ( maybe 60's ) " what a beautiful peaceful princess, you must be doing everything right, turns to other woman " shame on you, now leave "
that old lady really made my day and i will remember it forever!!!!!!!!! bless her
Boobycino
19-12-2010, 07:49
Oh I had a weird conversation on the bus, where a lady asked if I was a sahm and then said you can tell because of how happy Jasper is. Then launched into how niserable her grandchild is because her DIL works, it's not fair, blah blah blah!
I kinda 'ookkkaaayyyy'
I Did wonder if this woman was the cause of a 'MIL vent!!!!' or two ;)
Misschief
19-12-2010, 08:35
Does anyone have people ask weird questions about bubs when your at the shops etc?
I ask cause today when I was in woolies I was squatting down looking at something on the bottom shelf. I was holding onto the pram and I hear - "oh he is a cute baby how old?". Me - 8 weeks. The old man (in his 60's) - csection? Me - (still squatting down trying to ignore but not seem rude) - no natural. Old man - oh wow. He has such a nice head for a natural delivery. Me - (kinda shocked and thinking WTF) thanks. And then he walked off??!!
WTF is up with that? Was he someone to watch out for or someone who was just strange?
I was rather stunned by his question and glad he walked off after I thanked him for the compliment.
Or is it just me?
Maybe he's an OB/GYN, or some other doctor? Dunno.
The strangest I've had was when DS was about a month ago....
Old lady: "That cant be your child. That must be someone else's child".
Me: "Errrrr actually he is MY son. Not someone else's".
Old lady: "You're too skinny to be a mother".
Me: "Oh really??? Why is that???".
Old lady: "Most of today's mothers are big and overweight".
Me: "Oh that's not a nice thing to say. That is stereotyping".
Old lady: "I didn't mean it as a bad thing though".
Me: "Righto" :rolleyes:
I walked off after that.
Boobycino
19-12-2010, 09:06
Haha weird Shelby. Coulda said 'well I hope they don't grow up to be as bishy as you ' ;)
~*clairesmum*~
19-12-2010, 09:24
DH was getting some food at the food court when DD was about 3wks old and she was born 9lb3 so not huge. and some guy looked into the pram and said "geez they make them big these days"
didnt no wat to think when he said that so just walked off
DH also got a lot of comments when changing dd's nappy in the parent room, a lady that was bottle feeding in the open in the room asked him to leave cause she was uncomfortable that he was in there. he just turned around and said, well my wife cant do it cause she died after having DD so who else is going to do it and walked off. He said should of seen her face
babybabycakes
19-12-2010, 09:25
At the local shopping centre weirdest one was 2 ladies probably in their 50's or so. They were admiring how cute DS was.
lady : He is so cute
me: Thanks
Lady : is he yours???
Me: Yep
Lady : are you sure?
Me: umm yes.. i remember giving birth to him...vividly
(other lady was starting to look uncomfortable at her friend)
Lady: But he is so cute....
(other lady tries to get her friends attention to leave and starts looking apologetic)
Lady: So is his father good looking??
(other lady mouths sorry and pulls her friend away)
Me: no response was still picking my jaw up off the floor:heywhat: what am i? an ogre or something. Sheesh.
The only other one that had me scratching my head and going huh was an woman who smiled at DS in the pram then said to me you can tell he is formula fed cos he is so big and happy and content ??? WTF ???
I smiled and said he was :BFing: She looked at me and said i was too small to breastfeed and my son would starve. ummm... you just complemented how big and content he was. :frustrated: and who are you to comment on my bust size anyway??
OMFG. I used to get this frickin' daily. My general response was "he's been on the boob for the last 3 hours, any other bright ideas?"
Do you not think I feel bad enough without you accusing me of being a **** mum?
I have been so lucky. Never had any weird conversations like those mentioned.
I do come home from shopping regularly though and say to my hubby "another complete stranger told me i'm a wonderful mummy today" lol.
DS loves shopping and will smile at almost anyone. Apparently this equates to me being super mummy! lol we always have a giggle, they have no idea who I am or what sort of parent I am.
It does make me feel nice though :)
Boobycino
19-12-2010, 09:47
OMFG. I used to get this frickin' daily. My general response was "he's been on the boob for the last 3 hours, any other bright ideas?"
Do you not think I feel bad enough without you accusing me of being a **** mum?
Oh yeah. Jasper didn't even have reflux, he was just a screamer for the first 2 months.
It's always great being told, without a shadow of a doubt, by old ladies, that he's hot, cold, tired, hungry, etc!!!
My Step mum recently got stressed that I wouldnt take her advice to deal with jaspers night waking, to put farax in his bottle at night. I was on the phone to my dad on speaker so couldn't just say 'how exactly do I get farax into my boob?' but I just said 'of okay' I never said 'no' but she got stressed and said 'rach, he's hungry!'
Like I was friggin starving my 97th percentile toddler!!????!!!
Boobycino
19-12-2010, 09:48
I have been so lucky. Never had any weird conversations like those mentioned.
I do come home from shopping regularly though and say to my hubby "another complete stranger told me i'm a wonderful mummy today" lol.
DS loves shopping and will smile at almost anyone. Apparently this equates to me being super mummy! lol we always have a giggle, they have no idea who I am or what sort of parent I am.
It does make me feel nice though :)
:goodvibes: I'll admit I've had my fair share of compliments too :)
elleandsam
19-12-2010, 09:51
I must admit I was very happy yesterday when the midwife came in to see how I was going and DD was visiting, she said "look how happy she is with both of you, you must be fantastic parents."
One day after this same conversation took place and I burst into tears and said "he's not hungry ok, just f***ing miserable" another lovely mum turned around to said old lady and said "and this is why you should keep your baseless opinions to yourself"and came with me to parents room to help me compose myself. Some people are lovely :)
I'm sure jaspers issues are being hungry, I mean it's the answer to everything right :rolleyes:
i have had alot of people comment on dd when she was younger (she had heaps of black hair as a newby) on how much HE weighed or how old HE was even though she was in pink, wearing a dress and i dunno she looked like a girl to me
This happens to DS too! He's 8 months now and still gets comments on being a "beautiful/pretty girl" even though he's wearing blue and looking very much like a boy to me. He's also got heaps of hair, admittedly a teeny bit long. Not easy cutting his hair every 2-3 months!
Boobycino
19-12-2010, 09:59
About half the time, regardless of what he's wearing, even fully decked out in Thomas the tank engine, or in navy blue/greens. About half the time 'isn't she pretty!'
'yes he is' ;)
fireflies4
19-12-2010, 10:02
I hate that too when they assume cause they have loads of hair they are a girl, despite what they are wearing.
Ive had a few people look at ds in the pram and look at me and say - little girl? To which u politely tell then - no boy, hence the boys outfit!!
Duh!!
fireflies4
19-12-2010, 10:04
Oh the comments I love being told though is how squishy he looks especially when sleeping and all you can see is chubba cheeks :-)
Or the ones they give Dd when we are shopping and she helps by putting stuff in the pram and people say to her she is such a good helper for mummy or she must be a really good big sister.
I remember being at the shops with Dh and bub number 4, who was about 6 months old. DS needed a feed so I went into the parents room, which was about the size of a small laundry. It was clearly meant for one family at a time as it had a lock on the door for privacy.
After feeding DS for around 10 minutes I hear someone trying to get it. Then the mum says 'oh, someone must be in there. We'll just wait.' the kids proceed to knock, kick, jiggle the handle so much that I take DS off the boob, reach over (the room was SO tiny, I could reach the door from my seat!) and I unlocked the door. The woman and three children come in.
The kids are bashing cupboards, screaming, coming over and poking my baby! DS keeps pulling off and looking around, milk is going everywhere. I was not impressed. The mother didn't once say anything to her kids. And they were LOUD!
The whole time she's trying to 'educate' me on how hard it is when they get older. I'm politely nodding and trying to ignore the whole thing. Then as she's leaving she made another comment about older kids and noise and what I have to look forward to and I say 'oh I know. I have three more at home!' I wanted to add 'and I would never let them behave like that in public, let alone a parents room where someone is trying to feed their baby!' I didn't though, because I'm a wuss ;)
Her face was priceless though. I love when people assume I only have one and try to give me advice :D
PuppyGuts
19-12-2010, 10:20
i used to get lots of "oh, shes hungry" comments grrr
Aj says "hello" to EVERYONE in the supermarket and one day she said it while we were passing a man and his son ans hes like "get that dummy out of your mouth" i thought it was really rude and it made me feel horrible.
After I had my 2nd son via c section I was in the supermarket about 2 months later, one of MIL's friends came up to congratulate us. I remember the conversation word for word nearly as it was so utterly ridiculous!!!!!!!!!!!!
She said the usual how big was he, good baby etc etc..THen..did you have another c section (coz I did with DS1) and I said yes....
She then said "oh lovely! arent you a lucky, lucky girl then. How lovely and convenient for you".
......uhhhhm....so.....uhhhhhm....well..."I didnt really want that"
Old lady: "oh, but it's just so much easier to have a ZIPPER popped in your tummy"
Me : (a zipper??????????????? .... W ...T ...F...?????) "it's not quite like a zipper. It's a little bit more painful than that"
Old lady: "oh, dear, It couldnt be half as painful as childbirth. You're a lucky girl!"
Me: "Well it WAS painful and I nearly died during my first c section AND my baby nearly died during the last c section. So Im sure YOU dont understand. It really wasnt that LOVELY"
Old lady: "...okaaaaaaaaay...well see you later dear".
hahahahahahahahahah. Apparently she told my MIL she thought I was very rude. Lucky MIL knows what happened and told her she shouldnt ask so many questions!!!!
MissWinter
19-12-2010, 11:17
Haha, we got a 'c-section head' comment in hospital but DD has a funny shaped (but perfect to me *blush*) head now, cause she got a horrible flat spot! One side sticks out more than the other now :)
TinyLittleTootsies
19-12-2010, 16:45
I get so many comments! I find that when I am in a happy mood, where you make eye contact with strangers, stop and smile, say hello to other mothers in the parents room, talk with the checkout people etc, is when I get my comments, which is lucky because I am usually in such a good mood that I look at them bemused and politely correct them.
Only one gets to me, and I am glad another poster said it happens to her too!!
My two daughters are stunning. Ok i know every mother says this but they are. (haha) THey are blonde, tanned (naturally i use my sunscreen.. which is another thing I get told off for because they are tanned), brightest blue eyes but with dark eye lashes etc and have really happy personalities.
ME I am super average with pale skin, freckles, brown small eyes. etc. SO i get all the time "oh they are the prettiest girls I have seen.. they look nothing like you" or "your husband must be a really good looking man, aren't you lucky". I try to tell myself that they aren't saying how ugly I am, but how different looking they are to me hahaha. For the record.. my DH is gorgeous to me, but pretty average looking too if you aren't in love with him hahaha.
I got the c-section comments for my 1st DD who was vaginal and HUGE with a perfect head.. then I got people commenting on DD2 being an easy birth because she was small and had a not so round head, when she was the c-section baby.
DD1 also always got mistaken for a girl even in her pinkest clothes. One day I had an old lady INSIST she was a boy even after I corrected her. She told me "IT's ok if you have dressed him in his sisters hand-me downs, we've all done it love" hahaha I assume she thinks I was saying it was a girl to get away with using girl hand me downs?? I told her DD was my first and she really is a girl, she patted me on the arm and winked. bahaha!
Lemonhead
19-12-2010, 16:50
I always get the "oh wow he is so hairy!".
Well yeah take a look at his hairy-@ss European father, and I am most obviously of some sort of Middle Eastern descent what did you expect?
I've actually gotten "aww he looks like a little monkey!" from some random at the shops. Cheers.
trishalishous
19-12-2010, 18:04
I've had
'whats his name?' (eli zab eth)
'oh its a baby!' (in the sling, rather than an orphaned kangaroo)
and the killer 'but its dangerous to still :bfing: after 6 months dontchaknow'
and bil asked the other day if DD could count yet(shes7months old, he's 28 and childless :laughing: )
made2bAmummy
19-12-2010, 18:05
ABout two weeks ago an old guy in Big W in the check out line asked me if I want to sell my DS because he's so cute
EEEK! Creepy man!
Boobycino
19-12-2010, 18:14
I've had
and bil asked the other day if DD could count yet(shes7months old, he's 28 and childless :laughing: )
Lol at bf remark
HELPihavea2yrold!
19-12-2010, 18:20
ABout two weeks ago an old guy in Big W in the check out line asked me if I want to sell my DS because he's so cute
EEEK! Creepy man!
Yuck! I had my ex-FIL come up to me at the checkouts and say 'Can I please buy your baby?' Just joking around with me. The poor checkout chick was ready to call security on him.
I am always being told how pretty my DS is. Hes got blonde curls, very large blue eyes and a gorgeous smile. Ive had a few old ladies asking me if they can take him home.
What a strange comment from a creepy old man :lol:
AngelicOne
19-12-2010, 19:11
Amazing how thoughtless some people can be. A few days ago I was at the supermarket and 3 yr old DD had run off so I was calling her name. This old guy walks up and asks 'what's that boys name?' me, confused 'sorry?' he says 'that boy you're calling, what's his name?' me 'she's a girl and her name is xxxx' rude man 'that's a **** name, where'd you get that from. It's not a name, it's a surname' I was just standing there shocked and as he's walking away he was muttering about stupid people with stupid names, poor kid etc.
Wish i was one of those people who always gave a good retort ready but wad just gobsmacked at his rudeness :(
Boobycino
19-12-2010, 19:39
Oh MY Gosh!!!
I could smack my dp for what I just overheard him say.
SIL told dp she's pregnant just before (she told me a week ago, so glad she's told him, I hated knowing something he didn't!) and his response was 'oh congratulations? *DF's?'
WTF honey?
He came afterwards and said 'I can't believe I said that' he was caught off guard but still. You don't ask your sister if her baby is her fiancée's
:rolleyes:
Lil Bugs Mummy
19-12-2010, 19:50
Lol i got that with dd1 all the time just waiting for it with DD2 i mean come on
shockinamillion
19-12-2010, 19:54
Trishalishous, I used to get the "oh, it's a baby" comments all the time. I thought it was sweet, they usually then started gushing about how comfortable and warm bub or bubs must be :P
I get zillions of comments, but that is part of having kids, let alone multiples!
The fun one is that they all assume DD was first out because she was bigger, like automatically she HAS to be the 'older' of the two, because she is slightly bigger.
I love telling then that DS was firs and that they are the SAME age! 2 minutes is hardly going to make a difference in size!
peanutbutter&jelly
19-12-2010, 20:09
I've had
and bil asked the other day if DD could count yet(shes7months old, he's 28 and childless :laughing: )]
We used to get that too. Then when I asked what they thought it was got "Oh, I thought it was a doll or something" :confused: I was 19, with a newborn, not really doll carrying age lol
Oh MY Gosh!!!
I could smack my dp for what I just overheard him say.
SIL told dp she's pregnant just before (she told me a week ago, so glad she's told him, I hated knowing something he didn't!) and his response was 'oh congratulations? *DF's?'
WTF honey?
He came afterwards and said 'I can't believe I said that' he was caught off guard but still. You don't ask your sister if her baby is her fiancée's
:rolleyes:
:laughing: Oh dear!!! DF's reaction the first time was "Oh wow. Really?"
Trishalishous, I used to get the "oh, it's a baby" comments all the time. I thought it was sweet, they usually then started gushing about how comfortable and warm bub or bubs must be :P
I get zillions of comments, but that is part of having kids, let alone multiples!
The fun one is that they all assume DD was first out because she was bigger, like automatically she HAS to be the 'older' of the two, because she is slightly bigger.
I love telling then that DS was firs and that they are the SAME age! 2 minutes is hardly going to make a difference in size!
Hahahaha, that 2 min age gap means he must do EVERYTHING first, and be bigger, don't you know :P
mummythreetimes
19-12-2010, 20:21
this is funny, my first trip walking to the iga with my bub when he was about 2weeks old.
Normal thing for the check out girl to say would be
hi, how is your day going? but instead i got
oh you have had your baby is it hurt.......
ummm the WTF i dont even know here and i was like oh child birth hurtsssss and laughed! but i did have a c-section so no idea!
Miss Fanny
19-12-2010, 20:52
People ask the weirdest things
I had someone ask if they could hold my 8 day old baby!! Ummm no
When DD was 2 months she was put into a pavlic harness for DDH (or clicky hips) the harness looks awful it wrapped around her chest over her shoulders and then connected to little boot like things which held her legs and hips in the correct position anyway I had lots of stares which I understand but a couple of time people asked me 'what did you do
To her?'
Once I just cried the next time I just told the person to f*** off
Someone at coles also asked me if I regret having DD ummm seriously mind your own business and no I do not regret having her a$$hole
Oh I just get so angry!
peanutbutter&jelly
19-12-2010, 20:58
Someone at coles also asked me if I regret having DD ummm seriously mind your own business and no I do not regret having her a$$hole
Oh I just get so angry!
Next time try: "Only when it means people like you think they have the right to ask questions like that" and smile sweetly ;)0.
RaryGirl
19-12-2010, 21:13
I'm not a young mum, but I also didn't think I looked older than my age, so was a bit shocked when I was asked by another customer at the chemist one day if my DD2 was my granddaughter :eek: ... I think my jaw hit the floor and when I recovered I informed her no, she was my daughter. She then said to me she must be my first then ... hmm, so I've gone from a grandmother to a first-time mum. Again, said no, I had 2 other children and she looked shocked.
As with many others, I've been told many times DD2 was starving and that was why she was screaming .... sigh. 'Oh you poor baby, won't mummy feed you?' ... no, she's just a screamer, was born a screamer, will scream when hungry, when tired, when full, when happy, when sad and just because she can!
My DH was also accused of lying when an old dear commented on DD2's size, 'oh, look at the size of you ... you must enjoy your food then' ... DH corrected her and told her she was fully BF and no, apparently that wasn't possible and he's the father, so he wouldn't know. :heywhat:
missymoo9
19-12-2010, 21:19
Two most common things i hear are
You've got your hands full.
And
Is the father supportive?
Uhhhh. Yeah weve been together for 5 years and our two children were planned.
TinyStar
19-12-2010, 21:41
I keep getting asked if I dye my childrens hair
eeerrrmmmmm
Yes they have lovely red hair...........thanks
Who would dye a young childs hair?
I have had some absolute pearlers said to me but the worst was a lady saying that its sad to see a baby like Mik and that we should let her go to god, F*king cow, I wanted to smack her in the mouth.
I had a lady say my DD needed a good slap, and that would stop her screaming, She was actualy having a cluster of fits and screaming in between.
Chocolate All Gone Now
19-12-2010, 22:04
I have had some absolute pearlers said to me but the worst was a lady saying that its sad to see a baby like Mik and that we should let her go to god, F*king cow, I wanted to smack her in the mouth.
I had a lady say my DD needed a good slap, and that would stop her screaming, She was actualy having a cluster of fits and screaming in between.
:hugs: man I hate when people say sh1t like what those ladies did! **** me, some people... Now I want to find those two and punch them out for you...
TinyLittleTootsies
19-12-2010, 22:18
Some of the remarks you have all received are beyond rude. They are horrible and made me feel sick. I couldn't imagine what I would do/say to such a person.
It is one thing to laugh about the person thinking they didn't mean it, and another to hear some of the other comments said. How do you all deal with really nasty comments? Do you get more upset about something nasty said about your child than you would yourself? :hugs:for all the ladies who had the horrible comments.
Miss Fanny
19-12-2010, 22:39
I'm surprised you didn't smack her in the mouth. I would have said something along the lines of
Say that again and I will send YOU to god. F'ing mole
hailsntwang
20-12-2010, 08:11
Two weeks ago I took my dog in to get cut.
The Dog groomer took one look at Bubs and said
Dog Groomer: gosh he's huge
me: yeah I know
Dog Groomer: how big was he born
me: 10 lb 13.5
Dog Groomer: Did you get stitches. he must have torn you from one hole to the other:confused:
(after staring at her for a few seconds trying to get my head around what she just said)
Me: no. He was an emergancy c-section
Dog Groomer - you must be relieved. You'd never be the same again after pushing that one out, hubby would want to look somewhere else.
can someone say - AWKWARD!!!:eek:
sweetseven
20-12-2010, 08:26
I'm not a young mum, but I also didn't think I looked older than my age, so was a bit shocked when I was asked by another customer at the chemist one day if my DD2 was my granddaughter :eek: ... I think my jaw hit the floor and when I recovered I informed her no, she was my daughter. She then said to me she must be my first then ... hmm, so I've gone from a grandmother to a first-time mum. Again, said no, I had 2 other children and she looked shocked.It probably wasnt due to your apparent age. She was probably noticing how much love and care you were giving your daughter and jumping to conclusions about why you were treating her so special.
RaryGirl
20-12-2010, 08:38
It probably wasnt due to your apparent age. She was probably noticing how much love and care you were giving your daughter and jumping to conclusions about why you were treating her so special.
aaawww ... thanks! :hugs: I love your explanation, makes me feel much better! :D
zombiekitty
20-12-2010, 08:53
Two weeks ago I took my dog in to get cut.
The Dog groomer took one look at Bubs and said
Dog Groomer: gosh he's huge
me: yeah I know
Dog Groomer: how big was he born
me: 10 lb 13.5
Dog Groomer: Did you get stitches. he must have torn you from one hole to the other:confused:
(after staring at her for a few seconds trying to get my head around what she just said)
Me: no. He was an emergancy c-section
Dog Groomer - you must be relieved. You'd never be the same again after pushing that one out, hubby would want to look somewhere else.
can someone say - AWKWARD!!!:eek:
***** me! That's appalling! Some people are just vulgar!
Boobycino
20-12-2010, 09:18
Yeah a mchn told me I was lucky I had a csection with Jasper due to his head size.
Somehow it didn't feel lucky....
Though I've cracked vulgar jokes, saying Jasper was just trying to do me a favor coming out bum first, kinda ease me into it. (his head circ was above the 97th percentile)
carleena
20-12-2010, 09:29
Wow - I can't believe some of these comments! I personally havent had anything said to me but have been shocked at some of the things my MIL will say to people.
One of the best ones was when she overhead me talking to a friend about another friend who had not long given birth to a big baby. We were commenting on how big the baby was and then MIL pipes up and says "that's the problem these days, people feed their kids so much rubbish and that's how they end up obese". Even after I told her that the baby was only a few weeks old and was exclusively breast fed she continued on about how that couldnt possibly be right and she was surely feeding her something else. Ummm no...she is just a big baby!
another funny one I had was from my sister in law who has had 3 children all born weighing more than 11 pounds!!! (..ouch).....
...When I had my first son she freaked me out by saying "oh my goooooood!!! He's soooooo small...my god, I hope he's going to be okay".
My son weighed 7 pounds!! She just couldnt get over the size difference between my bub and hers when they we newborn. She thought he must have been about 4 or 5 pounds!!!!
Omg- just reminded me, when ds was 3 months old, we went to have a bbq with dh's friends, and one of the friends asked 'so like, what do you feed him' dh's response 'steak' friend 'really?' pmsl... Then we were like uh no, he has milk...