View Full Version : Celebrities

flower
09-09-2005, 14:19
Has any got any storied of celebrity sightings or interaction??

drewid
09-09-2005, 14:26
My hubby used to work for a security monitoring centre and he regularly got to call Sandra Sully to tell her that her house alarm was going off :) He used to get very excited...! Typical man...!

red crayon
09-09-2005, 14:58
Years ago I was flatting with a friend of mine, Jane. Jane had borrowed a video tape from another person who rang to tell us that his friend, Tracey, would be over to pick up the tape because she wanted to use it. A knock at our flat door and there was Tracey Curro, the newsreader.

WeThree
09-09-2005, 15:19
ROFL Kevin budgie, very funny story. BIL and my brother both work at the airport (one domestic the other international) and both have met a few celebs. from off the top of my head BIL has met David Bowie (who stopped to have a chat with him and apparently was really friendly and down to earth) Shannon Noll, various members of the Wiggles(he got captain featherswords autograph for cooper who is a wiggles nut lol).
When dh and i first met he lived at blackheath in the blue mountains and we used to regulary see john from playschool at franklins &my sil worked at centrelink there and he was regulary in there too.(how funny did he used to be? he was everyones fav) and jon english at the local bistro. my mum & dad saw ray martin the other day & mum said dad was so embarressing, going on about his hair etc really loudly whilst ray was trying to interview someone (so country bumpkin dad, lol) it was their second encounter with him, so you would think that dear dad would have been a bit better behaved, our family was once on the now defunct 'midday with ray martin' when they were doing a special on unemployment, dad had recently been made redundant from the fertilisers and they were going for the 'typical aussie battler' angle :) thankfully his unemployment didnt last long.

Elfin
09-09-2005, 15:42
When I was five my family met and spoke to Rudolf Nureyev he was the most famous person. I remember him but not what he said or anything as it was a looong time ago. I walked past Ace Frehley from Kiss in a hotel lobby in Adelaide a few years back. I thought when I saw this haggard and scruffy looking guy 'boy have you lived in that body :D Then someone told me who he was. He looks a lot better in the make up than without :D

A couple of years ago when we were in Sydney I saw Marcus Graham walking down the street in Kings Cross during the day.

MoushiMoushi
09-09-2005, 16:10
Okay I live a pretty boring life so dont sight many celebs but in high school I worked with the lead singer and guitarist from THE VINES.I also went to the same tafe as leah (ada nicodemu sp?) from home and away.

My sister on the other hand is a flight attendant so she sees celebs all the time
While holidaying in singapore ( about 6 years ago)her and her hubby partied with NO DOUBT. Shes also met patrick rafter, lyeton hewitt, russel crowe, natalie imbruglia (sp)and daniel johns, jude law, kate winslet and many many more but her fave was johnny depp (i have to agree with her :p his v.cute!)

Nickster
09-09-2005, 16:11
Years ago I worked at the cocktail lounge of a swanky Brisbane hotel when I was at uni. I met plenty of celebs, well, I served them anyway, so they didn't have a choice! The nicest ones were Mark Knopfler from Dire Straits who said "please" and "thank you" each time he ordered a glass of red and looked at my face not my chest, and BB King who kissed my hand and told me I was the most beautiful girl he'd ever seen. What a charmer!
I served Alan Bond, and I should've asked him why he wasn't drinking fourex!
Darren Hayes from Savage Garden was also another well-mannered boy that all the other girls were too star-struck to even approach.
Gosh, there are heaps more, it's just that time has dimmed my memory. Oh yes, Imran Khan when he was the captain of Pakistan - he had a 2-week fling with one of my beautiful blondes colleagues. She claimed at the time that she was only going up to his room to "watch videos" - ha ha!
I used to see plenty of celebs when I lived in St Kilda years ago too - mainly out in the cafes. I literally ran into James Reyne one day walking down the street.
Hmm... some of the AFL stars - Tony Lockett (sp?) was an arrogant so and so!
Oops - better go, bubby's waking from her sleep! :D

littlepickle
09-09-2005, 19:23
I was once sharing a lift (elevator) with the host of "the weakest link" I was working for a newspaper in London at the time, I got the lift on the 34th floor. She (anne Robinson) wasnt half as scary in real life as she appears on the TV.
Also, a good friendof mine went out with the bass guitarist of ratcat about 10 years ago.

WeThree
09-09-2005, 19:26
oh i forgot, a few yrs back i met Brett Lee at a party, he was very nice actually, and I used to work with Luke Barrett (from the dragons) mum and sister. My bil and sister were also in the movie mullet and we met noah whyl (is that his name? i forget)

wattle
09-09-2005, 20:38
I'm a musician (saxophone and keyboards), so I've been able to meet lots of famous musicians through gigs etc. I've just done some gigs with Ross Ryan (remember 'I am Pegasus'?...... OK, well it's going back a few years) and we're recording an album next month. I'm good friends with the boys in Spectrum. I went to Lobby Lloyd's 60th birthday party and met Billy Thorpe.

When I can't do gigs with my band (like when I was pregnant :p ) my replacements are John Farnams sax player and Johnny O'Keefe's sax player :eek:

justtwogirls22
09-09-2005, 20:49
i went to school with alison brahe who married cameron daddo & also emily symons & lisa lackey (we were best friends through primary school) who were both in home & away - jessie from home & away went to the same school too but wasn't there when i was
i met michael hutchence through my friends sister back in the mid to late 80's & we stayed in contact after we got very intimate ;)
met pat rafter & steffi graf when i was living in wimbledon - even got to give pat a good luck kiss - luckily he won his game!
the clubs i used to go to as a teenager always had celebs of that time - like e-street stars etc
i went to the first manpower show & was the first person to sit on jamie drurie's lap for a photo - he told me i was his first & being a bit drunk i said first what??

Rell
09-09-2005, 20:50
I use to work at both Sydney and GoldCoast airports so again I have met quite a few celebrities, Kylie Minoge, Russel Crowe (quite rude thankfully no phones near by), lots of sporting people but the nicest were the guys from Matchbox 20.
I have also had an "encounter" with a current australian cricketer, won't revel the name.

alindrina
09-09-2005, 21:10
Did you meet Noah Wyle? OMG I love him so much!!! Do you mean Noah Wyle who played Dr Carter on 'ER'? Will you pm me and tell me all about him please please please! (Sorry) or just post it on here?
I have met Tania Zaetta and Mike Whitney when I worked at a sandwich shop at Crows Nest and the production office for 'Who dares Wins" was nearby. They came in a lot. This was 10 years ago now.
My husband met Wendy Harmer and Richard Morecroft when he was driving them places as he worked at North Shore Nissan and their cars were being serviced.
I also met Peter O'Brien years and years ago, when he was on 'Neighbours'. When I went to Macleay College, Mike Bailey ( the weather man off the ABC News) was one of my lectures. Also Barry Eaton who you might not have heard of was my lecturer. He was so lovely. I thought he was great. He worked for ABC Radio for years and I have seen him on ads recently. He was on an ad where these guys are drinking beer and playing pool and the song "Stay Just A Little Bit Longer' is playing, and Barry is on the TV in the background in a taped weather broadcast saying it was going to be a storm and the men are lying to their wives saying there's going to be a storm so they can stay there and drink beer. He was in a Fantastic Furniture ad I saw the other day, where the girl invites her parents over and she has an old lounge and the mum and dad fall through the lounge and then they buy a new one from Fantastic Furniture. I'm positive it was him.

onabreak
09-09-2005, 21:38
I worked at a Brisbane radio station and got to meet Paul Hogan and little Johnnie Howard, had my photo taken with him. I was working on reception and he walked straight past me and didn't even acknowledge me, I thought that was very rude of him. Haven't voted for him since!! LOL

I was at Wimbeldon a few years ago and Venus Williams walked past me and I got a photo just in time. Also a few photos of Anna Kornikova. I have never seen so many male hormones go crazy when she was playing doubles. I think I saw her hit the ball twice.

I have met some of the players from the Australian Rugby League team at their after party this year and have also hung out with all the players from the NSW State of Origin team at their training camps when in Brisbane. Even though I am a QLD supporter. FIL works for NSW Rubgy League.

When I was in primary school, I thought I was cool because I met and got Frank Warricks autograph from channel 7.

When I was working at a Drive thru Bottleshop I served Leroy Loggins a few times who used to play for the Brisbane Bulletts, he is very tall!

This is sad but I went to a night club years ago to meet Blair from Big Brother who is now in Neighbours. I got is autograph.

I think that is about it..... :D

TinyStar
09-09-2005, 21:43
ahhh you've just gotta love celeb sightings,

working in a bar during uni I saw a few, The wiggles played in their former guise as "The Cockroaches" and played grunge and punk versions of Hooley Dooley's songs, I helped Anthony set up milk crates for his amp.

Strangest one was working on an old servo site on Oxford St and a very drunk man wearing a Russian Army uniform started to hassle me, and he was being accompanied by the news reader Hugh Rimminton, who persuaded him that hassling me was not a good idea. I always wondered why Natasha Stott Despoja liked him, he is much better looking in real life........... :confused:

WeThree
09-09-2005, 22:29
Sorry to get you excited alindrina, I meant Noah Taylor :o just pmed you,

Rell
10-09-2005, 08:18
!!!!! Was your 'encounter' the same one that many other women had and 'encounter' with.......you know...'him!!'. :eek:
O's mom

No it wasn't Shane Warne and text messages LOL

Rockett
10-09-2005, 11:16
I've had the cricketer Glenn McGrath come in to my work,and also Jimmy Barnes's brother (ok,he not a celebrity,but close enough!)comes in regularly to buy throat lozenges(he's a singer too).
And this is going back years and years,also had the people that played the characters "Tug"and "Sarah" from home and away come in too.

Briannabear
10-09-2005, 11:44
Cool thread! :) Very interesting!

One of our best friends is the singer for McLeod's Daughters. She does all the music and soundtracks, and is currently recording her solo album.
She is marrying another one of our best friends in a few weeks, and we've been told that there will be a few celebs there. (Better have the camera ready!!)
My hubby is very proud that at her 21st birthday he sang kareoke (sp?) with Roger Corser (cutie from Last Man Standing - new tv show!)! And he is an awsome singer. He was the head man in the musical Rent.
One of their closest friends is Tim from Hi5 - I'll be making sure to get his photo for my DD!

Antoher thing is that I happened to actually bump into Jimoen (comedian)! My mother and I were on our way to his show and we were early so we decided to get a drink at the nearby motel/hotel. He was very polite and courteous - and said hello! It wasnt until he walked away that I thought to myself - He had a lovely accent! - Then I thought - You idiot! That was Jimoen!! :rolleyes:

I also met Carl Barron (comedian) after his show, he is so tiny!!

We were in Cavell Ave in the Gold coast and saw Kim Valentine (from Neighbours) and the fella who plays Jack (not sure of his real name). They were just hanging out with some friends - having hungry jacks a few tables away from us! They were gorgeous, and didnt seem fased at all with everyone staring at them! :p

Miaow
10-09-2005, 12:57
I went to school with a couple of people that are well known on TV- my cousin also did the music for of a lot of australian movies and shows.

I also used to roadie for a few bands doing lights so met a couple of people (not too big though at all lol)

Thats about it :D

lil monkey
10-09-2005, 13:14
I have met a few.....

12 years ago I worked at a cold meat deli and served Paul Mercurio - asked him for his autograph on a peice of butchers paper!!!

7 years ago, I won a radio comp to see Shania Twain live in concert and to meet her afterwards - boy is she tiny but lovely and polite!

Then that same year I won another competition to meet Ricky Martin in Singapore - he is tall but he made more of an effort to shake the guys hands ;) than being interested in the women! Still waiting for Sony to send me my picture with him!!!

2 years ago I accidently bumped into Steve Waugh and Brett Lee while not looking where I was going on my lunch break in Perth mall.

Last year while waiting at Brisbane airport in the Qantas Club, I was sitting next to Jamie Durie (he's a few inches shorter than me but still damn cute).

That's about it I think!!

Nickster
10-09-2005, 15:12
This thread is pretty good - it seems everyone has had their share of bumping into celebs (some a little more closely than others). I"ve had a few more flashbacks.....
I also remember a girl I worked with boasted about sleeping with Fatty Vautin (a married man BTW). EUWWW! Who'd consider that a conquest?
My hubby worked in the music industry for a few years, and brokered a deal with Dicko - a nice guy, very businesslike according to DH. He also got to go to the Arias so met plenty of celebs there - too many to list here.(Molly Meldrum, John Farnham, Vika and Linda Bull, etc)
He also ended up bringing a VERY VERY drunk young "it-girl" starlet home to crash on his sofa ;) one night after a function, but "only to take care of her and save her from predators" (so he tells me - but I'd believe it, he is a gentleman)
Thomasmum, your post reminded me of this tale - DH was also tinkling on a piano in the bar of an Adelaide hotel (he likes doing this after having a couple of drinks wherever he goes) and in wandered a very drunk Ruth Cracknell (after her opening night party) who asked if he would accompany her while she sang "Somewhere over the rainbow". He did so with pleasure, and had dinner with Kate Ceberano the following night! (well, Kate happened to be in the same bar and they got chatting and ended up having dinner).
BTW, Littlepickle, love your avatar of Mr Darcy.
Keep those stories coming, girls!

lil monkey
10-09-2005, 15:24
I was just reminded by my best friend of an old friend of hers (no longer friends as she kept trying to sleep with my best friend's boyfriends).

This girl was a celebrity shagger!!!

She slept with Jimmy Barnes in Kalgoorlie, Wayne Carey in Las Vegas (and everytime he would be playing a perth game he would give her a call AFTER the game and I was there when he was wishing her a happy new year a few years ago!!!) and she slept with about 4 members of the Freo Dockers!

She stupidly thought all these men wanted a relationship with her!!!

StormAngel
10-09-2005, 15:57
I grew up in the same town has the members of Spiderbait (i still live there actually LOL)

And i used to walk home from school everyday (highschool) with Shane Crawford (AFL, hawthorn) before he went away to boarding school. he lived about 3 houses up from me

dee dee
10-09-2005, 16:08
This is a really interesting thread.......... Murray from the Wiggles was one of my lecturers while I was at uni. Not a red skivvy in sight back then! :)

Baby Girl
10-09-2005, 21:33
I have a fair few stories of celeb run-ins (I have worked at a production company and for one of the free to air channels). These 2 are my most memorable....

One day (while I was working for the production company) this guy walks into our office larger than life and says "I'm here for a meeting with (lets call them) Bob and Jane" so I asked him "Can I ask your name so I can tell them you are here?" to which I got the weirdest look and a response of "don't you know?" I said "No." "Russell" was the reply. "Russell who?" "RUSSELL CROWE" he almost screamed across the counter at me. Mind you this was in the early days of his career when the biggest movie he had made was The Sum of Us. He was also noticeably miffed when his co-star from that movie, Jon Polson walked in the door and I greeted him like an old friend (he had been there for meetings before!!). I guess good old Russ figured if I knew the co-star I should know the Star!!

The other one was with Dieter Brummer (who used to be on Home and Away) while I was on the Gold Coast for Schoolies week. My girfriends and I were walking back to our hotel when he pulled over and leaned out of his window and asked if we could buy him a bottle of Midori because he was there with his friends for the week and was underage so he couldn't buy it himself. We laughed, said No. And told everyone who would listen what had happened!! What a girly drink anyway, I think that was why we said No. It kinda ruined the bad boy persona his character had!!

Supermum
10-09-2005, 21:52
Just had to put my two cents worth in ....

Have met most of the Brisbane Lions which I guess is a big thing when you live in Brisbane!

Have met a number of other celeb's over he years through my work but the one I want to mention here is that Dawn Fraser used to babysit me.

red crayon
10-09-2005, 22:06
this thread is very interesting. i haven't shagged anyone famous :( . My biggest celebrity encounter has been with Tony Curtis. Quite a few years ago, he was out in Australia to advertise his newly published bio and my dad swung a few tickets to a showing of 'Some Like It Hot" (one of my favourite movies) and a chance to meet Tony Curtis. My SIL and I stood in line to get Tony Curtis's autograph. It was a long queue and we were nervously chugging champers. By the time we got to the head of the queue we were nice and giggly. I got Tony Curtis' autograph and had a quick drunken chat. He's a very patient man :D

jembelina
11-09-2005, 10:52
Before i was even thought (and before he was very famous) my mum was asked out by Jimmy Barnes, but turned him down - apparently he was considered a big dag at the time, she was dating someone much cooler from another melbourne band! I once ended up chatting to Dave Hughes when was out in St Kilda. As well as literally bumping into Samuel Jackon (Evan from The Secret Life of Us) as he was filming a scene in Fitzroy St.

razzle
11-09-2005, 13:13
I wanna know who Thomasmum's hubby is!! LOL :D Then we can all say we know him via his wife!!

I used to work in radio so I've met and spoken to heaps of celebs/rockstars, too many to mention. Also snogged Guy Peirce once (when he was on neighbours :rolleyes: )

ThomasMum
11-09-2005, 13:20
I wanna know who Thomasmum's hubby is!! LOL :D Then we can all say we know him via his wife!!

I used to work in radio so I've met and spoken to heaps of celebs/rockstars, too many to mention. Also snogged Guy Peirce once (when he was on neighbours :rolleyes: )

Ha ha Rach, I won't reveal too much here, avoid the unwelcome visitors; IYKWIM. LOL. But do PM me if you wish, am happy to send you some links of articles abt DH/his works :-).

Snogged Guy Pierce! What WAS it like, Rach?!!!! :D

Thomas'sMum

razzle
11-09-2005, 13:28
It was so long ago I can hardly remember - I've been dining out on the story for about 18 years LOL. But - it was at a Sydney nightclub, can't remember which one, he was there with Jason Donovan (who incidently, I did a school play with and my DP used to go to school with him too). Jason was upset with Kylie because she was in London doing something or other - probably a panto - and so he snogged my cousin! I was only about 17 and my cousin was 19.

ThomasMum
11-09-2005, 14:22
Problem with the site?

Sorry Rach, for some reason I can't reply any PM. Would you mind to send me your email addy to my hotmail account?

ML

PS I had sent the reply via email to you Rach!

draught
11-09-2005, 14:38
First of all, O’s mum, your threads are always wicked ones!

Celebrities eh? Hmmm how do you define celebrities? Someone famous? Interviewed by the media? When you search his name on the Internet his name come up several times? Do you call that a celebrity? The answers are all yes?

OMG I am a celebrity - I think I meet all the criteria.....but wait, no - I am not famous. Damn - so close to being a star!

Let me see...went to the same boarding school as Sharyn Ghidella (Ch 9 newsreader); once babysat for George Negus and his partner and ended up going out to dinner with them; went to Uni/lawschool with Princess Mary (although for the life of me I can't remember her even though friends of mine went to her wedding); caught a plane with Richard from series 2 of the Block a few months ago; I shared a flat with an ABC journo for a few years so know many of them; ....all pretty tame really!

A big one was seeing Michael Douglas and Catherine Zeta-Jones shopping for glassware in Venice. Talk about living in a gold fish bowl - everywhere they went there was a huge crowd of people pushing to look in the shop window. I just couldn't bring myself to do it, but saw them as they pushed their way out of the shop.

When I lived in Sydney I would see famous people all the time, just walking along the street. Luckily I often had interstate visitors with me so they were always impressed! Probably the funniest one since then though was the day we moved to Brisbane. We were driving from the airport and past the Gabba (my husband was playing tour operator for my benefit) and there was a footy game on. He was joking and said "keep an eye out for famous footy players, because this is the Gabba after all" and I said "oh look - there is Warwick Capper". DH laughed, thinking I was being sarcastic and then said "oh - it really IS Warwick Capper". Probably infamous rather than famous these days but it still makes us laugh.

As for Qantas Club lounges - the best I ever achieved there was seeing Adam Spencer, the then-Triple J breakfast announcer.

I am sure there are more minor celebrity incidents in my past.....but my mummy brain has sanitized them for me!

ThomasMum
11-09-2005, 14:58
OMG I am a celebrity

*wolf wistle at Theresa* wohooo another Celebs!

;)

draught
11-09-2005, 15:03
Thank for the whistle Thomasmum but alas I fear I am not really a celeb - only in the eyes of my children, who think that I can sing, dance and act really well!! (Just wait until they are old enough to talk properly and realise that they are quite wrong in their judgement!!)

Baby Girl
12-09-2005, 18:45
Lets pray that his wife isn't a member.

She probably has someone else get online for her these days LOL.

He has proven to be a bit of a prat really hasn't he.....

ThomasMum
13-09-2005, 08:23
He has proven to be a bit of a prat really hasn't he.....

A bit? He's a TOTAL prat! LOL

draught
15-09-2005, 06:35
I think I have a recent celebrity spotting to share - I took my girls to the "Dorothy the Dinosaur Dance Party" at the brisbane Powerhouse yesterday (which I recommend to parent's of Wiggles crazy toddlers BTW) and I swear that the woman next to me with her little girl was the English actress Fay Ripley - (from "Cold Feet" amongst others). Not only was she dressed very boho chic, her little girl was wearing a dusty pink woollen long coat that definitely had the look of England stamped on it! Of course there was also the fact that she looked exactly like her and sounded exactly like her to convince me! Being incredibly cool of course I didn't actually talk to her, just exchanged proud mother smiles about my Wiggles obsessed 2 year old dancing along to the show doing all the actions. So you can spot celebs while hanging out with toddlers too it appears!

willsmum
16-09-2005, 11:05
My aunty actually drove a horse and carriage once with Q of E in it (and Prince Philip) and all my aunty was concerned about was the stupid bowler hat they made her wear.

littlepickle
16-09-2005, 13:17
Just remembered one, when I was about young, I once had communion with Pope John Paul II

Also, my second cousin is a very famous Hollywood movie producer. I havent personally met him though, although he stays in touch with my grandmother (or at least did before she died) This also makes me related to his equally famous nephew (although distantly) have I given enough away? hehehe

One person I would really love to meet though is Morten Harket from a-ha, always had a huge crush on him when I was young - mmmmmm still do actually .. :D

littlepickle
17-09-2005, 21:03
Cool!

I tend to forget about that one, I wasnt in the least starstruck (is that the right word) :-) At that age, I probably wanted to be out with my friends instead :D

littlepickle
17-09-2005, 21:10
Ohmagod, cant believe that I forgot this one,

I was out with a friend while I was working in London one time and next to us there was a load of people surrounding an old leathery looking guy getting photos and autographs done, we didnt know who the old guy was so I asked one of the crowd, they said, oh it Gianni Versace, I was like, wow, I'm impressed, considering he had been dead for 12 months, so I decided to get an autograph anyway, the old guy was really nice but a bit like an "orange" leather handbag.. anyway, I took my autograph back to my friend and we read it .. turned out to be Giogio Armani! Cool eh - so I was probably the least starstruck of the whole crowd and about the only one who didnt have a clue who he was!

zenifa
18-09-2005, 04:27
My first one was when I was about 4 or 5 and I'd been in hospital and was picked with a couple of other kids to meet Sir Robert Menzies who was visiting and I even appeared on tv (of course at the time I had no idea who this old man was, just that I would be on tv!).

Then in primary school there was a Neighbours promotion (when it was still on ch 7), with a house in my neighbourhood being given away, I got Frank Warrick (Ch 7)'s autograph for my mum who is his fan and I got autographs from the NEighbours cast, at the time I had a crush on Peter O'Brien, he was very sweet to me!! Later neighbours cast - met Brooke Satchwell at Woodford Folk Festival in 1998, not so innocent as she appears, but lovely girl.

As a teenager, I had a casual job at Woolies and served the guys from Powderfinger (when they were still a relatively unknown Brissie band), Robert Forster (Go-betweens) and Annie Jones (post-neighbours)

In my late teens/early twenties, I went through a phase of going out with boys in bands and through that got to meet quite a few musos - Ratcat, Inxs (Kick tour), Ride, Neds atomic dustbin, Custard, Morrissey, Nick Cave, amongst others.

In my mid twenties, went to live in London for several years and had lots of celeb encounters - here's a few:
* Sat next to Uma Thurman and Ethan Hawke at the Old Vic Theatre, seeing Jude Law in 'Tis a pity she's a *****' in 2002
* Saw a movie at Portobello Road - strange Jap movie 'Audition' and sat next to Ralph Fiennes and his two mates, and after the movie, we had a chat and recommended a nearby thai restaurant that they went to!!
* Noah Taylor at an Aussie Film Festival at the NFT
* Lived nearby and saw at the supermarket Matthew McFayden (Spooks) and snogged Jarvis Cocker (Pulp) at a movie/dance night hosted by his bandmate Mark webber.
* Had a job in Kensington and Chelsea, had a client who lived next door to Robbie Williams and also saw Paula Yates walking with tiger in the stroller a few months before she died, saw Kylie Minogue walking down the main street in chelsea with her groceries and large sunglasses.
* I worked at the national orthopaedic hospital and met Orlando Bloom (prior to his fame) as a patient when he had a spinal injury. Also the most famous patient we had while I was there, aside from football stars was Princess Eugenie (Oct 2002) - they closed down the whole private ward for her and family and lots of plain clothes security (apparently she's 6th in line to the throne) and I met Fergie who was very down to earth, just like any other mother and she was very supportive of other families she met there (particularly in the high dependency unit).
* Through someone I met at the hospital job, our team got tickets to 'So graham norton', (comedy/chat/variety show in UK) and we got to have drinks/nibblies afterwards in the green room and I met Rupert Everett and Dustin Hoffman, who were the guests for the two episodes they were taping.

There may be more but these are the ones I can remember.

ThomasMum
19-09-2005, 10:15
Hi girls, I decided to delete my previous Celebs posts here because it was little bit too much info too personal, not a wise move for my DH!
But sure thing I’m happy to list the celebs name I met all these years which by the way I met them purely by accident-doing my own things either at the airports (mind you all these years using Qantas Lounge or flying in business class not once I met celebs there!), shopping etc, visiting someone’s office but not at any concerts or special events etc.

The celebs I had met are: George Clooney, Kylie Minoque, Peter van den Hoogenband, Margaret Fulton of the cooking lady I went to her old shop at Wynyard, James Packer, Geoff Janz, Michael Palin I even had a chat with him as we were talking abt Devon UK-my homeland, Kerry Armstrong, Bruce Willis when he was still yummy lol, Chris Martin of Cold Play singer (of course!), the Queen Mother and QE II, Prince William, Prince Harry, Prince of Wales et al during the death of Lady Diana Spencer etc etc I don’t want to bored you all with these, but gee its never ends!
Living in Sydney, used to live in Holland Park & hang out at Covent Garden in the UK a lot coz my old man used to have office there, had make the seeing celebs so unavoidable iykwim, esp. in Sydney nowadays-pretty much everyday I saw Celeb including our Prime Minister’s wife Jannete Howard doing shopping at MY Coles ha hah

OK ‘nuf said! :D

Love and Peace,

Thomas’s Mum

carls
20-09-2005, 15:23
When I worked in London I served Balderick from Blackadder in a restaurant!

When I worked for Vera Wang Lisa Scott Lee (remember the brunette from Steps?) came in to buy a dress, thinking she was the most important person in the world, and wanted to book the whole place just for herself to try on dresses without prying eyes (which we didnt do), and I also served the black chick from All Saints (the british girl group - not the TV show!). Man was she ugly - its amazing how good you can look on film clips!

I served mostly UK celebs, but saw Victoria Beckham, Donny Osmond and Roger Moore in Harrods!

strawb
28-09-2005, 23:06
today i saw tom williams out and about in manly, my my he is so hot

:cool:

Pixie
29-09-2005, 08:22
Wow what a cool thread!
I lurve celebs

I have met the late Princess Diana she came to my playschool as a youngin I handed her daffoidils and was in the paper :D I am british BTW Also met Princess Anne, Duchess of York, and Prince Charles.

Met a Soccer player by the name of Ian wright think he is retired now.

Now the good stuff!
Met Tom Cruise while I was working as an extra on the movie Mission Impossible 2 he came up to me and asked how I was goin today...I was totally starstruck and just stared and smiled at him, as in my contract we're not allowed to talk to the stars unless they talk to us, he did and I was shocked! He just stared at me for what seemed like an eternity and giggled and said well I'll guess I'll see you later then and patted me on the shoulder!

Met Tina turner at her concert way back in 96 I think in Wales she came to the front and sang Nutbush City while our arms were interlinked I was screaming and singing along and every now again shouting NUTBUSH into the mic! She was cool, I got mobbed afterwards with people wanting to touch my arm!

Met Baz Lurhman, Nicole kidman (very spoilt and stuck up true movie star) Gary Oldman,Ewan Mc'gregor I danced on Moulin Rouge for two weeks! Baz is a very nice guy I watched some shorts back with him he asked me what I thought! I was like err I am just an extra lol But I didn't say that I gave my full expert opinion on lighting etc lmao

I also met plugger sorry don't know his real name I think he played for sydney swans

Also met some of the older cast of Home and Away Bec cartwright, Irene etc

The fun of being an extra!

My fave was Tina Turner!!

Now I still have I want to meet!

Oprah and DR.Phil Madonna, robbie williams I was so close to him at the concert Dammit!

Keep em coming this is cool!

Briannabear
29-09-2005, 10:22
I also met plugger sorry don't know his real name I think he played for sydney swans

He surely did!! :D

nkenward
29-09-2005, 11:25
Celeb sitings.

years ago I got to meet Robin Williams - he was on our flight and we were all waiting for our luggage. my brother & I were playing with his children.

I also have met Alex Papps (Frank Home & Away), I know his parents through my parents.

Not as exciting as some of the other posts.

Peaceangels
29-09-2005, 12:49
Do celebrity chef's count?..................cause I went to school with Donna Hay AND we sat next to each other in Home Science and textiles!! She was such the "surfie chick" back then (blonde hair, brown skin etc.) and very popular with the boys. She used to call me "ghost" cause I was so white (compared to her), needless to say I think I am looking better than her these days :D heheheh!!!
My DH sat across the aisle from Elle Macpherson on a flight to Perth, he says she was looking very cool and relaxed, but her nanny was stressed out looking after her son (now wouldn't that be nice on a flight!).
I went backstage at a Skyhooks concert and met Shirley Straughn (sp?) as he is a cousin of a friend of mine with whom I attended the concert. We had only just left school and were very starstruck and in awe (probably looking like a couple of school girls).
I recently went in the audience for Sunrise (morning show) and met Grant Denyier (the weather guy) after the show (I have a bit of a crush on him). Anyway, I was with my mum and she went up to him and said "I want you to meet my daughter, her husband has told her she can flirt with you today" :o (thanks mum!). He's a really nice guy and it turns out he lives in the suburb next to mine, so I am always on the lookout now!! While we were talking to him, my mum was picking fluff off his jacket and when I pointed this out (cause she didn't even realise she was doing it) he said "that's ok I have to get up early and don't get a chance to do it myself"!!!!!!!!!!!

Briannabear
02-10-2005, 16:43
Im so excited! We went to our friends wedding last night and it was so beautiful! We hung out most of the day with Josh Watson (olympic swimmer) - he is a really nice guy too - very down to earth.
Tim Harding from Hi5 was there too. He sang during their ceremony and reception. He kept to himself for most of the night though.
Today they had a bbq back at the reception place and we got to meet Tim! He came up and chatted to us. He played with my daughter! He's really sweet and rather good looking I might add! ;) Got a really nice photo of him holding her. (Im sure she'll love that as she gets a bit older - she already loves Hi5!) :D

Mamaduke
28-12-2005, 18:50
jlk...

And i used to walk home from school everyday (highschool) with Shane Crawford (AFL, hawthorn) before he went away to boarding school. he lived about 3 houses up from me
So you would have been from the country town my relatives live in!! Maybe you are one!!LOL

28-12-2005, 19:26
Have met most of the Brisbane Lions which I guess is a big thing when you live in Brisbane!

LOL me too, one of my old friends was dating one of the players so we would party with them.

Rell I am soooo jealous of you having met Rob Thomas, I love that guy, he is a hottie:o :)

I met Big Kev on more than one occasion frequenting a strip club on the gold coast. And the you know who cricketer tried to hit on my friend their also! :p

Mamaduke
28-12-2005, 19:47
At the Melbourne Cup in 1990 I met Juno from the band Roxus (remember them?!) and he signed my chest...how tacky!!!
Also, I used to be babysat by a former AFL player.
My mum and dad sat on the same table as John Howard at a dinner.
My DH was challenged to an arm wrestle by Wayne Carey one night and DH won!!! Lucky I wasn't there, because I wouldn't have known who to barrack for!:p
I've met Shane Heal (basketballer) a few times and he's lovely.
My son was playing with James Hird's little boy at the Teddy Bears Picnic and again at Moomba - tried to take his Bombers bike helmet and kept repeating "go Lloydy, go Lloydy" as he tried to take it!
Saw Stefan Edberg walking around town during the Australian Open ages ago, almost fell over myself when I spotted him!
Never been able to meet my darling Jon (Bon Jovi) though...still, fingers crossed that our paths may cross one day- you'd think after all of these years stalking him I would get at least a hello:rolleyes: !!!

lukaelmo
29-12-2005, 20:08
A train station in Switzerland, 1993 or 4...

2 young (way back then) Aussie backpackers running to catch the train to Paris, bent over double under the weight of their packs, look up only to find their vision blocked by a tall and mysterious man when...

"Oh my god, you're Peter Garrett! We're Australian too!"

"G'day ladies"

French lady passerby...

"Excusez moi monsieur, avez vous du feux?"

Monsieur Garrett...

"Oh sorry madame, (big aussie accent) but je ne parle pas francais"

The highlight of my European sojourn... Monsieur Peter Garrett.

Mummabear
29-12-2005, 20:56
I once got asked out on a date by Cameron Daddo!

Also - I saw Tiny Tim at the airport in Sydney on my way to LA. Tiptoe thru the tulips............

I used to know one of John Farnham's backup singers - Lisa Edwards (her mum was in the nursing home that my mum worked in - she was a lovely lady, RIP)

draught
29-12-2005, 21:38
Im so excited! We went to our friends wedding last night and it was so beautiful! We hung out most of the day with Josh Watson (olympic swimmer) - he is a really nice guy too - very down to earth.
Tim Harding from Hi5 was there too. He sang during their ceremony and reception. He kept to himself for most of the night though.
Today they had a bbq back at the reception place and we got to meet Tim! He came up and chatted to us. He played with my daughter! He's really sweet and rather good looking I might add! ;) Got a really nice photo of him holding her. (Im sure she'll love that as she gets a bit older - she already loves Hi5!) :D

Becca
I just have to tell you that I think of you every day as my daughter watches Hi 5 and the cute Tim comes on! Strange how a bubhub story can stick with you!

~MUMMY~
29-12-2005, 22:24
i've met craig wing at my sisters work a noodle bar, daniel johns near the beach .. my friend went totally ballistic and ran up to him GRABED his arm and asked for a autograph then realised she had no paper or a pen and nearly cried....lol, and that guy whats his name off the footy show the little jockey guy... he owned this house my friend was renting and we always saw him on the property. argghh i can think of his name.

ohh and my son would say he met big dog... thats his fave celebrity...lol big dog even gave him a cuddle and a kiss and nearly poked his eye out with his huge nose !!!

~MUMMY~
29-12-2005, 22:25
ohhh i forgot chris fidler ( however you spell it) the swimmer. he is heaps hot.

jonesso
29-12-2005, 23:28
So between us all we practically know the entire world... except nobody has mentioned Brad Pitt yet... damnit, the only celeb I WANT to meet but would have no idea what to say if I saw him! Probably just stand there, gawking and having a good perve!!! :cool:

My celeb sightings...
* Mary-Joe Fernandez (tennis star) @ Frankfurt Airport '93
* Brad Clyde, Ricky Stuart, Laurie Daley etc (old footy players) when I lived in Canberra '90s - Canberra's not THAT big!!
* Leigh Matthews (Lion's coach) - DH nearly ran over him outside the Gabba - shouted "get the &*$@ off the road!!" and then realised who it was!
* Andrew G (Idol dude) shopping in the Valley the other day
* Andrew Voss (Lions captain) shopping in Westfield Carindale last week - poor dude was just trying to buy a Chrissie card and this pommie guy was harrassing him about the Lions and AFL in general! He was talking to him over the card stand and taking photos on his camera phone.
* Took Gordon Tallis's (former Bronco) passport photo - went bright red, asked him "just the one set?" to which he replied "yeah, unless you screw it up love". Needless to say I screwed it up!!:eek: The pressure!
* The piece de resistance... until a few months ago I lived next door to Andrew Symonds (cricketing LEGEND after today's performance!) and last New Year's Day spoke to him while he was standing at his front door in his undies! He was a great neighbour!!

That's it. No Brad Pitt.

Great thread Kevinbudgie.

CrazyBeautiful
05-01-2006, 14:27
Brad Pitt :rolleyes: Oh yes, that name conjures up all sorts of dirty thoughts. He is one man I would love to meet and well.... you know. Unfortunately you can walk down Rodeo Drive many a time and never see him or anyone famous unfortunately.

BlessedWithBlue
05-01-2006, 22:12
A few years ago my step aunty was sitting in a cafe in Sydney, struck up a conversation with the guy that sat down next to her and they shared a roll.
She had absolutely no idea who this guy was and after about an hour of talking to him he asked her if she knew who he was??? of course she said no:confused:
So who was this guy???? HEATH LEDGER:eek: she got absolutely grilled by her kids when she told them about that one lol

Not so lucky here though, no one exciting comes to adelaide lol

moonblossom
05-01-2006, 22:32
Last year for a friends birthday we went to a gay bar here in adelaide. Couldnt believe it when the cast of Grease was sitting next to us...included was John Farnham, Glen wheatley and lots of people who were on neighbours...great night had by all and they were fantastic people

06-01-2006, 07:49
I was working for Harvey Norman and we'd just implemented a new policy where we had to ask for peoples postcodes.

"Can I have your postcode sir"
"No."
"Oh... kay....." *types 4000*
"You big shot companies get the postcode and you think you can be all buddy buddy to people, one little piece of information"
"It's just a postcode. And it's just policy. I don't make the rules." (well rehearsed, not too *****y)
"I know, but it just annoys me, why do you need it anyway"
"So we can see our advertising demographic."
"Exactly, so you can get buddy buddy and.. *carries on*"
"It's just a post code. Anyway, Have a nice day!" *smiles*

My sister who also worked there and watched the whole thing trips over herself "Nice arguing with the Kevin Rudd!!" *blank stare* "SHADOW FORIEGN (or is it financial) MINISTER!"
*giggle*

Also in that job I met Scod from the band Tripod, I was a bit star struck with him, and I served Mike Goldbern from Big Brother (he's the voice over) and the Super A-mart ads :D I had a chat to him about stuff and I'm pretty sure he's gay. LOL

One day I had to call up Allan Border from my school to let him know he forgot to pick up his child :eek: that was funny because I completely blanked out as to who Allan Border was.. I do that often.

And one day at school PETER COOMB called!! He was advertising a new show going around to all schools and he's gone "My name's Peter Coomb, I have songs like..." "OMG BRUSH YOUR TEETH WITH BUBBLEGUM! I LOVED YOU GROWING UP" and he laughed and said thanks, then asked how old I was, I said 20 and he went quiet and muttered "Thanks.. old now" :/

Funkychicken
06-01-2006, 08:06
A friend of mine picked up-or was picked up-by Bob Geldof on the Gold Coast about 10-12 years ago. He was still married to Paula Yates then. Said he was a bit grotty/smelly but slept with him anyway. I met Iva Davies in Brashes in Melbourne in about 1986-Icehouse were huge then. Thats about my biggest celeb interaction-pretty sad actually!

uptheduff
06-01-2006, 08:24
I used to work in bakers delight (various stores) and i've met quite a few celebs. On my first ever day i served pat cash!
I also met most of those girls from beauty and the beast (remember that show), Jean Kittson (used to be on the big gig) That guy who used to be on home and away, i think he played Adam. Adriana Xenedes (from wheel of fortune) and her whippet! I caught a bus in Bondi once with Peter Berner from the einstein factor.

My fav though was Richie Beanaud (sp) the cricket guy. He was a regular in Coogee BD, and was such a sweet guy! His neighbour was also a regular, and she showed us pics of her 80th birthday when Richie had gone and bought her 80 red roses! How sweet!

uptheduff
06-01-2006, 10:12
OOO, I forgot to mention, dh knows dh knows colin mcrae (rally car driver) and Scott Hicks (directed shine, snow falling on cedars, hearts in atlantis) is my cousin.

sopolicha
06-01-2006, 10:16
This is a great thread!
My grandma is famous in oz ...wont say too much but she was on most of the first aussie shows.

Is your grannie Abigal :p