View Full Version : Does your partner get you a Christmas present?
3boysNAprincess
12-12-2010, 19:55
As the title states..
Does your partner get you a christmas present..
You know one you didnt go buy for yourself..
Boobycino
12-12-2010, 20:11
Errm.
No.
So I'll buy myself one.
no, we don't do presents for each other. its a waste of money so close to Christmas when there are so many expenses, we would rather spend it on the kids.
just her chameleon
12-12-2010, 20:14
Errm.
No.
So I'll buy myself one.
Same here :( would be nice to be surprised once in a while...
elleandsam
12-12-2010, 20:18
Sure does, this year he bought me SVU season 11 and a few movies, was saving them for Christmas but gave them to me early to help me though bed rest.
He's also bought some gifts for DD, I don't even know what they are!
waterlily
12-12-2010, 20:21
Yep always!! DH buys good presents.
Absolutely! Some years its something I've asked for other years its generally been perfume. I have had surprises as well, but bless him I have ssssoooo many quarter filled perfume bottles ... I have now one I really like and wear every day. I had to let him know this year. No perfume please :) God knows what I'll get :laughing:
ComeBackKid
12-12-2010, 20:31
he wants to but with our limited funds i have insisted all money goes to presents for the kids
Yes, mine does! He tries to think of things i need! Last year it was an iron, the year before a hair straightener! He is practical!
I think i have dropped enough hints this year - i'm hoping it involves jewellery in a pretty blue box! :laughing:
Boobycino
12-12-2010, 20:33
Yes, mine does! He tries to think of things i need! Last year it was an iron, the year before a hair straightener! He is practical!
I think i have dropped enough hints this year - i'm hoping it involves jewellery in a pretty blue box! :laughing:
Lol, maybe his gifts before were meant to reflect your hotness ;)
SorenLorensen
12-12-2010, 20:35
Yep :yes:
He normally buys it and hides it at his parents house so there is no chance of me finding it.
Oh and he has smartened up in regards to how he pays too, i am the one who does the banking so i see where he has shopped.....now he pulls money out of the ATM to pay for my gifts:hissy:
Hmmm...i'm doubting that one!!!
Bless him...he does have good intentions!
ilovelucy
12-12-2010, 20:40
No, not usually, I either have to go buy for myself, wrap it for myself and put it under the tree myself,or go without.....but i might be wrong this year as i highly doubt the foot spa i found in the boot of the car yesterday is for him :D
RolzBubz
12-12-2010, 20:42
Yes dp buys me gifts last year was a surprise as i wasnt expecting anything and out popped a laptop.. But usually its jewellery or perfume as i dont mind having heaps as like to change what i wear everyday he usually susses out what perfume i like first so its not a waste.
FearlessLeader
12-12-2010, 21:03
yes, and spoils me waaaay too much. I usually get one 'big' present and a few smaller 'stocking fillers' i have insisted that this year' one SMALL present each, but i know he's broken that promise....... But then so have i :o we both really love buying each other gifts, finding the perfect thing, putting in the effort... Nawwww, i'm making myself feel all gushy :goodvibes: he buys me awesome presents!
Nope we don't do gifts for eachother or family, just our kids :santa: pre kids we used to though.
3boysNAprincess
13-12-2010, 09:28
Ojmum we can't afford it but I'd love jewelry in one of those blue/green boxes..
I never get a present unless I have bought and wrapped in myself...
My birthday is four days later and I get normally nothing for that too... Last year I was supposed to go sky diving but because a voucher was never bought I never did it cause I would of felt bad about wasting money.
DanceInTheRain
13-12-2010, 09:37
We usually do, although this year we said we won't bother cause our budget is tight. So what does he do? Saves up and buys me a laptop!!! I was speechless! Never had my own computer before! Love him :D
shockinamillion
13-12-2010, 09:42
Yes, this year he even thought of it himself.
chicken and eggs mum
13-12-2010, 09:47
Yep :yes:
He normally buys it and hides it at his parents house so there is no chance of me finding it.
Oh and he has smartened up in regards to how he pays too, i am the one who does the banking so i see where he has shopped.....now he pulls money out of the ATM to pay for my gifts:hissy:
My hubby does this too!!!!!! LOL They are smarter sometimes than what we give them credit for!!!!
I normally get something I have requested and a surprise!! This year I requested the new planet cake cupcake book....!! YAY!!! and I will also get a surprise.
We dont buy things we need throughout the year due to finances, so I save and save and save so we can have a bit of money for practical things we need at Christmas. DD also gets practical stuff!!!! I like practical gifts!!!
Blairysmum
13-12-2010, 09:48
Yes!! DH isn't very festive, he isn't a fan of opening presents in front of everyone, so I received my present on the weekend, it was a total surprise, and he picked it himself! He got me a pandora with three beautiful beads!! He spent way too much but said I deserved it which makes me feel oh so special!!
MagicalLeopluradon
13-12-2010, 09:49
No, we just cant afford it!
Yes he does, our first Christmas I was spoilt rotten and then the next as well. After DS was born we decided not to go overboard on each other so just something inexpensive that was sentimental. So he bought things like a mother and baby statue, did up a book with mother and son quotes and something nice for the kitchen or whatever. This year we agreed to do the same but I was naughty and went out and bought him a nespresso machine and gave it to him as an early present. Now there's a huuuuge box under the tree for me so I guess we were both a bit naughty.
DH has been doing mountains of specials to earn extra money so I really wanted to buy him something for HIM as he'd never do it for himself. I've bought some accessories for the nespresso machine and put those under the tree, I'm going to be in trouble on Christmas. I'm also hoping the big box is that million dollar slow cooker I've been drooling over:cool:
3blue&1pink
13-12-2010, 10:01
Nope, never :(
I've decided to get him something this year and buy myself something too!
cutiepatootie
13-12-2010, 10:01
Yes we do. We put a tiny budget on it and we get each other something nice with it. No vouchers allowed :D
This year our budget is $25 each. It's a token gesture more than anything, but we want to remember our relationship too and not make Christmas all about the kids.
belizeli
13-12-2010, 10:04
Yes he does :) He is the most gorgeous man.. We are a bit tight with cash this year but I know Ill get something I love .. I did catch him on the Tiffany website not long ago and forbade him to buy me the bracelet Id been eyeing off with my friend!
What Id really love is a new glass blender.. How things change when you grow up haha!
My DP always gets me good presents, last xmas it was a diamond necklace. He'll have his work cut out for him this xmas as I've got just about everything I could want from him and then some!
In saying that, I don't think gifts equal love. Some people just aren't "into" Christmas. I know my brother is the biggest grinch.
belizeli
13-12-2010, 10:11
Wish I could quote on my phone!
I agree with that last statement Benji! Gifts dont equal love at all.
Just*Ace
13-12-2010, 10:18
DH is really good with presents :) normally he gets me a few different things that I wouldn't buy for myself - perfume,CDs or DVDs, lingerie, jewellery. This year though I really couldn't think of anything I wanted for ages till I finally decided on a urban originals bag and a nice pair of studs but now he is trying to talk to me into wanting a ticket to stone temple pilots concert coz that's what he wants and we can go together lol. I think I'm gonna tell him I really don't want to go and am just going for his sake so he still gets me the things I want and the 2 tickets can just be his pressie lol
Mrs Nietzsche
13-12-2010, 10:18
yes but it is always something I hate ie handbag, perfume etc. I would prefer something I actually use.
(sorry dh)
Grinnyswife
13-12-2010, 10:42
yes but it is always something I hate ie handbag, perfume etc. I would prefer something I actually use.
(sorry dh)
Why don't ya tell him this? :)
Sent from my iPhone using Bub Hub
Maximum22
13-12-2010, 10:43
He better
otherwise :gonnagetit:
Mrs Nietzsche
13-12-2010, 10:45
I have... last year he got me bath salts and candles etc even though I have never had a bath in our entire relationship.
This year he has got me perfume (obvious by box) however I'm just going to be happy about it now.
I think this is a case of the pleasure being in the giving, or whatever the saying is.
zombiekitty
13-12-2010, 10:49
yes even though I always ask him not to.
Jeclipse
13-12-2010, 10:57
Yeah he does, hes a sweetheart like that
I don't expect any presents really, we are going to townsville for 3 weeks on friday and thats a big enough of a present for me
suchislife
13-12-2010, 10:59
I choose what i want and he goes and gets it.. im sure hed be just as happy to surprise me but im fussy and want/need certain things so would rather choose myself!
This year though caus weve gone over board on the kids and gotta get everyone elsees presents we r leaving ours til the week after chrissy to get!
tootiredtosleep
13-12-2010, 11:04
DH takes the kids shopping and they all get me something together. Its great because they go and have a milkshake and then trawl through all the shops and I get the whole morning at home, alone!
nothanksbye
13-12-2010, 11:04
yes. always.
I get him one too.
Last year I got a cooking class, books and a magazine subscription.
This year I got him a beer and BBQ class for him and a friend and a day of golf.
SassyMummy
13-12-2010, 11:45
Nope.
He did the first year together, but that's been it when it comes to gifts.
It's not a big deal for us though - we spend so much money elsewhere, that wasting money on gifts for each other just seems stupid.
missie_mack
13-12-2010, 12:01
Absolutely. He is such a sweetheart about it and tries so hard :santa:
monnie24
13-12-2010, 16:43
Yeah we do, I agree Mrs Nietzsche... I sometimes get things i don't like... and doesn't it **** you.. LOL itsl ike ergghhh u know what I l ike to buy? well in my case it is..
Last year i got about $400 on kitchen stuff, and i dont even cook. LOL
Yes, usually jewellery. He has asked a few times what I'd like but I tend to ask for practical things (like a vacuum cleaner for my birthday) which he refuses because he wants me to have something I WANT, not something I NEED.
This year though, he's getting me a voucher thingy to go racing cars. I'm not into cars or anything, I just like driving really fast :D!! Can't wait. :hyper:
second baby not so easy
13-12-2010, 17:00
Presents have slowed down since DS, mortgage, bills have came around, :freakingout:
But we always get each other pressies, some years there the normal clothes, undies, socks etc but he sometime suprises me (which is hard as I look after the finances!) with earings, collection of Friends DVD etc :xmastree: I do give him hints but it really doesnt sink in and when it does it is a huge suprise. I do like family presents this year I have gotten him a Soda stream - does anyone remember these back years ago?
We also get a present from DS that he picks out for each other, like this year I am getting a pink rosebush that DH got DS to buy. It doesnt have to large amounts of money just small token as some years are tighter than others.
quitecontrary
13-12-2010, 17:15
My Dh always buys me lovely presents! He usually spends more than I do - he gets me what I've asked for - in the way of books or somesuch - and he usually gets me some gorgeous jewellery. He has good taste! I get him a few things I know he'd like, often very practical but he's a bit hard to buy for apart from clothes and kitchen stuff!
We're both getting new mac laptops after Christmas - and I can't wait!