View Full Version : anthems of our generation

red crayon
03-09-2006, 17:28
i was listening to simple minds this morning - 'don't you forget about me' - and realised how much it meant to me and how much i still liked it. it got me thinking and i wondered what we 30-somethings considered the anthems of our youth are.

what songs do you think represent our generation or age group?

Funkychicken
03-09-2006, 21:10
Ooohhhh....I loved Jim Kerr! I could add heaps here-I was such an eighties music junkie way back then. Lets see....
Counting the beat, Whip It, Anything Inxs (especially The Swing), Two Tribes, I Don't Like Mondays, Live Aid/Feed the world (One of the most important world events of my life-our crew of friends camped out in the loungeroom of one frineds house for three days and watched it eating lolly Gobble Bliss Bombs and all singing, crying, laughing together. Any song performed there brings back memories for me). We Belong, Anything Aussie Crawl, Money For nothing, Hungry like the Wolf, Wouldn't it Be Good, Two Low for Zero (entire album), anything Gangajang, I could so go on here...I'll come back. :D

TwoBlue
03-09-2006, 21:14
anything Gangajang

:yes:

Funkychicken
03-09-2006, 21:34
We watched the lightning, crack over canefields, this is Australia!!!!!

Should be the official Australian Anthem and I seem to recall voting on this many years ago on a JJJ program! :D :smiliedance:

Elfin
04-09-2006, 07:18
I love that song, reminds me of North Queensland.

I think the Angels Am I ever going to see your face again' is a great one, reminds me of my youth:D

mummyof5
04-09-2006, 08:09
I love all the aussie bands stuff from the eighties, it's all still played in my house...aussie crawl, cold chisel, hunters and collectors (I could die for Mark Seymour's cheek bones, swoon!!), angels, hoodoo gurus, divinyls, chiorboys, james reyne, crowded house, midnight oil, rose tattoo, spy v spy, etc, etc...fave song is probably the original version of Throw your arms around me, though there are sooo many to choose from.:yelclap:
My hubby laughs at me cause I buy all the eighties cd packs, but I notice he listens to them as much as me.:laughing:

red crayon
04-09-2006, 10:05
i'd definitely put throw your arms around me on my list. the number of times i've sung that song drunk and stupid...in fact i'd have to add khe sanh for the same reason. i'm going to add smells like teen spirit too - i still love that song and every time i hear it, i feel the same way when i first heard it. my other addition would be violent femme's blister in the sun. it's amazing how certain songs bring back such strong memories. any hunters and collectors songs will inevitably take me back to my uni days.

Funkychicken
04-09-2006, 10:19
i'd definitely put throw your arms around me on my list. the number of times i've sung that song drunk and stupid...in fact i'd have to add khe sanh for the same reason. i'm going to add smells like teen spirit too - i still love that song and every time i hear it, i feel the same way when i first heard it. my other addition would be violent femme's blister in the sun. it's amazing how certain songs bring back such strong memories. any hunters and collectors songs will inevitably take me back to my uni days.
I thought about Khe san but was a little embarressed to admit it!:p It has soooooooooooooooooo been done, hasn't it!
Anything Violent Femmes! I was a bit obsessed with them when I was at college!

teresa72
04-09-2006, 10:32
oooooooooooo i love 80's music, madonna, wham, 1927, A-ha, psuedo echo, duran duran, my fiancee cringes when I play it, ha ha ha ha, in fact my hens night this sat night is an 80's theme night, go the taffeta and puffy sleeves...:smiliedance: :laughing:

mummyof5
04-09-2006, 11:54
Didn't every girl want to run off with Eric, the lead singer?? And admit it ladies, how many of you want to be an A-ha groupie??:laughing:

It's so funny now when my oldest kids rave about a song they love, only for me to discover it is a remake of one I loved when I was a teenager!!! Oh, suddenly feel old....

DoubleDelight
04-09-2006, 12:04
I love it when they remake a 80's song and my kids think I'm really cool because I know all the words. I had them fooled for ages :smiliedance:

gidgeroo
04-09-2006, 12:55
Bring back the 80's!! Best music ever (or is it because we were teens and loved music more passionately then??) Almost every song is an anthem. Year 12 anthems were "I wear my sunglasses at night" and "when will I be famous"
I have to say Hunters "Throw your Arms around me" brings back so many memories of smoky venues watching the "Hunners" go off. Loved seeing them live and never getting caught for being underage!! Aussie bands rocked back then and they were great to dance to and see live.

I'm going to dig out my best of the 80's CD right now and bop around with my bewildered 3yo!!:smiliedance:

Ana Gram
04-09-2006, 13:21
I'm not quite in your 30's club yet (a few more months to go), but I loved all the new romantic stuff. All those lovely pretty boys :yes:

Jo_Jo
04-09-2006, 14:30
I just loved billy idol "white wedding" and "rebel yell" he was soooo cool he was up on my wall everywhere...lol and i loved inxs too michael hutchins was such a spunk and bon jovi and remember europe "it,s the final countdown" oh the memories!!!

cheers...jo

red crayon
05-09-2006, 16:09
I'm not quite in your 30's club yet (a few more months to go), but I loved all the new romantic stuff. All those lovely pretty boys :yes:

i was madly in love with adam ant and john taylor.

Mrs Potts
20-09-2006, 15:31
Oh! Who wasn't in love with John Taylor? LOL

and Kylie, I met Eric Weiderman (1927) only about a year ago. What a sweetie. I also met him back in "the day", don't really remember it though.

All these songs are bringing back memories. I'm such an 80s music tragic! and don't get me started on the movies - The breakfast Club, Pretty in Pink........

red crayon
22-09-2006, 14:15
ah, Mrs Potts, don't get me started in the breakfast club. i still love that movie. i was never that keen on pretty in pink - i think it was because andrew mccarthy was so much of a dud compared to judd nelson. i was much more into bad boys in those days :o

TwoBlue
22-09-2006, 14:21
Anything Violent Femmes! I was a bit obsessed with them when I was at college!

Me too !!

I take
1, 1, 1 cos you left me and
2, 2, 2 for my family and
3, 3, 3 for my heartache and
4, 4, 4 for my headaches and
5, 5, 5 for my lonliness
6, 6, 6 for my sorrow
7, 7 there be no tomorrow and
8, 8 ...i forget what 8 was for but
9, 9, 9 for whats lost, gone
10, 10 , 10 ,10 for EVERYTHING EVERYTHING EVERYTHING EVERYTHING !!!!!

red crayon
22-09-2006, 22:05
oh yeah - i went nuts on the violent femmes at uni. i've seen them live 3 times and loved every minute of it! and i used to find gordon gano (sp?) strangely attractive....:o

Funkychicken
23-09-2006, 07:48
Me too !!

I take
1, 1, 1 cos you left me and
2, 2, 2 for my family and
3, 3, 3 for my heartache and
4, 4, 4 for my headaches and
5, 5, 5 for my lonliness
6, 6, 6 for my sorrow
7, 7 there be no tomorrow and
8, 8 ...i forget what 8 was for but
9, 9, 9 for whats lost, gone
10, 10 , 10 ,10 for EVERYTHING EVERYTHING EVERYTHING EVERYTHING !!!!!
And you can all just kiss off in the air,
Behind my back I can see them stare,
They hurt me bad but I don't mind,
They hurt me bad, they do it all the time, yeah, yeah...........

:smiliedance: :smiliedance: :smiliedance:

Funkychicken
23-09-2006, 07:49
oh yeah - i went nuts on the violent femmes at uni. i've seen them live 3 times and loved every minute of it! and i used to find gordon gano (sp?) strangely attractive....:o
I am sooo jealous. I never saw them live but that strange attraction??? Not so strange for me now that I know someone else thought the same way!! :D

spiritedfamily
24-09-2006, 13:37
I love it when they remake a 80's song and my kids think I'm really cool because I know all the words. I had them fooled for ages :smiliedance:
I so relate to what your saying...that song that Shanon Noll revamped was a hit here at home...we all knew the words....lol..

Roxette was a hot band, great music too:thumbsup:
I was a Femmes fan too
The Cure:smiliedance:
Cyndi Lauper was a big favourite...time after time
Icehouse
Inxs
and I was crazy about George Michael for awhile...but fortunately my senses go the better of me

red crayon
24-09-2006, 19:25
my mum was crazy about george michael right up until the infamous toilet incident. she must have been the only person in the world who was surprised to find out that george is gay!

Mumshmum
24-09-2006, 21:20
One that really takes me back to Year 11 and 12 is Run to Paradise by the Choirboys, and also Tiffany 'I think we're alone now'. 1927 and Cindy Lauper were also big faves. I think 87 and 88 were my fave years.

TeenyT
13-12-2006, 10:37
"Once I smoked a Danneman cigar, i drove a foreign car. baby that was years ago.... I left it all behind"

Aah, Cheap Wine - Brings back memories of being under age and trying to sneak into the Cambridge Hotel back in Newcastle!!

I dont know if this was just a hit in Newcastle but a band called the Radiators (does anyone remember these guys?!?) had a hit that was something to do with heads and "doing what you did last night". :p Think it was only popular because it was banned from the radio!!

Mrs Potts
13-12-2006, 12:02
The Radiators were cool (but naughty!)
She gives me whippings
She gives me beatings
she breaks my bed
But best of all Oh lord
She gives me head.

:eek::eek::eek:

DustyPeach
14-11-2007, 21:54
Am I the only one that likes Rocky Horror Picture show?

Nozzy
15-11-2007, 07:52
"Cannonball" by The Breeders :thumbsup:

Pauline70
15-11-2007, 08:08
I could practically quote every reply to this post! "Don't you forget about me" and "Pride, in the name of love" were my favourites. I loved DD (Duran Duran) their new CD comes out 17th November and I'm gonna buy it (DH is disgusted :o ) Simon le Bon still does it for me :p
I love when the old stuff comes on the radio and you get a bigger buzz out of hearing it rather than the newer stuff :thumbsup:

spoon
15-11-2007, 08:30

My first ever crush was on ..........

:o (promise you will not hate me):o

Boy George.

DustyPeach
15-11-2007, 09:30
No hate for that one... Perhaps some lessons in good taste???

Hear on the news last night he was arested for falce imprisonment. Apparently he chained up a male prostitude in his appartment and refused to let him go LMAO. They showed footage of him being taken away and he is fat n has a shaved head "shudder. Far cry from that 80' long haird slim boy.

Funkychicken
15-11-2007, 09:48

My first ever crush was on ..........

:o (promise you will not hate me):o
Boy George.
I loved the Boy George phenomena too. I never had a physical crush on him though. There were way too many other good looking guys out there!

I was in a bakery the other day and they had a wall of posters about who is touring at the moment etc... and right in there was a poster for Howard Jones! :eek: Apparently playing all his old favs as well as new stuff.

*wanders off singing- 'cause no-one is to blame..........*

DivinelySophistimicated
15-11-2007, 09:56
Hi Girls Im only 20 but I cant just not put my 2 cents in about good old 80s music!!!

I loveeeeeeee "I think were alone now" by Tiffany, Its a major bopper here and I have loved it since a tiny tot when my mum introduced me.

I love Def Leppard- When love and hate collide is my fave.

Im also a big fan of Heart.....All I wanna dooooo is makeee love to you!!

15-11-2007, 10:01
Aaah yes nothing beats the good music of the 80's !

In our house it was :

Culture Club
Eurthymics
The Cockroaches
Icehouse
Duran Duran

Plus more but i wont keep going :P

I have to say though i was a huuuuge fan of A-ha & had a major crush on the singer Morten Harket *sigh*

Angelmist♥
15-11-2007, 10:05
Ok I'm 2yrs shy of 30:laughing: but all of these songs get played daily in our cars:D

Oooh the Radiators:thumbsup: DH loves that song haha surprise surprise:p

I think the main ones I remember are Bryan Adams and B52's "love shack" or 'roam'.They still gets me dancing pmsl!Oooh and Karma Chameleon.

Toffee apple
15-11-2007, 10:58
"Cannonball" by The Breeders :thumbsup:
:yes: Great song !!
I have fond memories of RatCat "Don't Go Now"
surley i wasn't the only one in love with Simon Day:p

spoon
15-11-2007, 10:59
ub40

Pauline70
15-11-2007, 16:26
:yes: Great song !!
surley i wasn't the only one in love with Simon Day:p

No you weren't - I even have their CD :p

TeenyT
17-11-2007, 17:54
Aaah yes nothing beats the good music of the 80's !

The Cockroaches

I remember their song She's the One. It was one of those songs that got in your head - Hey, Lets go, lets go, lets go. Hey lets go lets go lets go. Hey lets go lets go lets go. Shes the one, shes the one, shes the one, shes the one shes the one, shes the one, She's the One. Very thoughtful lyrics.

Who would have thought they would have been the precursors to the Wiggles!! Come to think of it, we should have known. It's the lyrics - Hot potato hot potato. Hot potato hot potato. Hot potato Hot Potato. Potato Potato Potato. They liked repetition at lot, didnt they? :D

Angelinalily
17-11-2007, 18:30
surley i wasn't the only one in love with Simon DayI was in love with him too:) , come to think of it, I'm sure I still have that tape around here somewhere:D . Whatever happened to them?

I love Boy George as well, in the early 80's. Dressed up like Boy george to see him live in concert. Have recently taught DS to sing Karma Chameleon on Singstar:laughing: .

I am an 80's tragic, still in love with all the music. The biggies for me were Bon Jovi, Bryan Adams, INXS,Belinda Carlisle, U2, Pseudo Echo, Uncanny X-Men, and most of the Aussie Rockers.

Rushing off now to get out my 80's cds:o

mumnbub
17-11-2007, 21:51
The 80's was so good its coming back again! Songs from the 80"s are making a comeback but a lot of it is being "mashed" or "sampled" Has anyone noticed the fashions in some shops are something like what I wore in the 80"s like fluro t shirts with big slogans (like the wake me up before u go go video with the tshirt that says "choose life") I met Brian Mannix from the uncanny xmen in a lift at the essendon footy club and I dont think his hair has changed that much. Remember the cas singles and the aria charts u pick up from the record shops with one side had the song of the week with the words of the song? Anyway back to the topic of music hmmm I love the song crying in the chapel and also the madonna song like a prayer that song reminds me when i was in a catholic boarding school and that song was banned us girls ran to other dorms just to escape the nuns and see the video (aparently the song was anti catholic) ahh the memories!!!

red crayon
21-11-2007, 15:43
i had an email from a gf i went to uni with back in the *cough* late 80s. anyway it seems we have the same hunters and collectors song on our ipods. that set us off into huge waves of nostalgia.

the song was 'under the sun' and it goes from memory...

these are easy days but his knees ache in the morning
mountain water on his skin. his bald head under.
something something the old man's coughing out the back
AND HE STILL CAN'T GET THE CAR STARTED

better go and google the words....:detective:

mumwiththree
21-11-2007, 16:22
I love that I have found this thread. I turn 30 in Feb, 12 days before ds #2 is due to arrive.
But I love the 80's. I think my 11 yr old Ds #1 gets a bit embarrased when I turn up at school to pick him up with an 80's song blaring out of the radio.
At my wedding reception, all I wanted played was 80's music. Everyone got up to dance when 'NutBush City' came on. Hard to do in a wedding dress though.
I get nostalgic when anything Richard Marx comes on, especially 'Endless Summer Nights'.
And talk about movies, one of my favourites is 'St. Elmo's Fire'. I also love 'Rocky Horror Picture Show', and 'Grease', though I don't know if that last counts as an 80's movie.
:chillpill:

mysonroger
06-12-2007, 15:14

you 've just listed my youth. cold chisel, violent femmes and hunters and collectors. every single time they came to perth, or somewhere close to perth, i was there - drinking my VBs, loving mark seymour. knowing all the words to every song.

i would have to add U2 to the list. i became absolutely addicted in 1982 with October and War, and all the others that followed. especially unforgettable fire.

australian crawl, boys light up.....the list could go on and on. and that's just the 80s. don't even get me started with the 90s - we'll b e here all day.

onabreak
06-12-2007, 15:26
Probably already been said but how about "Smells Like Teen Spirit' by Nirvana or 'Groove Is In The Heart' by Dee-Lite!

Smells Like Teen Spirit is my favourite song of all time. I have said I want this song played at my funeral.

The late 80's early 90's I remember jumping around listening to Micheal Jackson and the Bangles "walk like and Egyptian"

Does any one remember the song "Wild Wild West" by the Escape Club, it was out in 1989. I still love that song to this day. I have downloaded so many songs of the internet that bring back so many fond memories of growing up.

I also used to love the sound track to Footloose. This was the first cassette tape I had.

I am going to play all my cool music in the back ground now as I surf Bub Hub.

Oh the memories.

PS I also loved the Violent Femmes

mumnbub
06-12-2007, 20:07
hey mandymoo the song wild wild west i remember some of the words
im in the bedroom waiting for my babe
she's so mean but i dont care
i love her clothes and her wild wild hair
doing what we like best
heading for the 90's living in the wild wild west

well something like that lol

hey notice that there are cds marketed to kids that have 80's songs on it?

Nex
28-12-2007, 14:22
I heard Feargal Sharkey's "A good heart is hard to find' the other day.......It's been running through my head non stop ever since.

I don't think I've thought about that song since it came around the first time...but it sure is catchy!

mumkc
29-12-2007, 01:55
I had a massive crush on Boy George too - hey if it's good enough for Peter Andre, it's good enough for me.

What the? Up to page 5 and no mention of Tainted Love? Come on girls!