View Full Version : What do you miss?
Hi fellow Kiwi's:wave:
What's 5 things you miss most about the Motherland?
Here's mine...
1. Family
2. Lion Red...yes, you guessed it, I'm a J.A.F.A!!
3. Daylight Savings
4. Poppa Jacks
5. Pixie Caramels
Family ... especially my mil and fil - they are fantastic grandparents!
Maggi Hearty Oxtail Soup - useful for all types of dishes
Seeing rugby on tv! - never thought I would say that!
Tramping in beautiful bush that always has that "just after the rain" smell
Sunshine pegs! - they don't get brittle in the sun and are so much stronger than anything you can get here!
melfunction
04-09-2006, 04:48
I miss roadkill - running over possums bonking in the middle of the road.
I miss the pouring rain - never thought I would say that!
I miss onion soup - nana sends me supplies though.
I miss the clean, green fresh mountain air and the scenery - there is nothing that comes close here.
I miss Lake Kaniere - even though this is where I nearly drowned, I love this place. It's where I want to retire. Some happy childhood memories.
1. Family and friends of course
2. Walking to the beach from my home and being the only one there (too cold to swim though!)
3. Long showers and deep baths with no worries about water
4. Nestles reduced cream dip and thick cut O'Ryans chips
5. Bananas for $1.99 (they still cost that there and they're apparently imported from here too...)
melfunction
04-09-2006, 08:26
4. Nestles reduced cream dip and thick cut O'Ryans chips
If you are in Brisbane, I know where you can get some and lots, lots more :D
Definitely tell me please! There is a shop down the road from me which sells NZ products but they don't have that.
There's the Kiwi Shop in Ormiston. Go there once a month for stock up. Must get a big tin of smoked fish for fish pie!!!:thumbsup:
Proper red licorice and pineapple Fru Ju's.
melfunction
04-09-2006, 11:40
KiwiFineFoods (http://www.kiwifinefoods.com.au) is my second home :D O'Ryans thick cuts are the bestest!
Elijahsmama
04-09-2006, 13:09
1. Family and friend
2. Day drives that consist of 1hr travelling to get to a complete different place.
3. Kiwis(people) - they are so much friendlier!
4. Pouring rain - even though im sick of it after 5mins!
5. Food - so much more selection in NZ than here in WA, anyway
1. all my family and friends
2. Proper mussels and seafood
3. fresh fish straight from the ocean and on the plate in 30mins
4. All of the soups (seafood soup for the best chowder, oxtail soup for casseroles & of course onion soup for dip)
5. Actual smoked fish for pies rather than the canned stuff
6. A summer where its beautifully hot without being overwhelming
7. Green everywhere! Soo dry here....
moan groan..... lol
melfunction
10-09-2006, 11:24
I really miss West Coast Whitebait.
kiwibird27
07-11-2006, 10:03
Sizzler sausages - the ones stuffed with cheese
Lolly cake (mum sends the lollies - customs opens them every time)
Onion soup dip
Jimmy's mince and cheese pies!!!
LEMON LIME FRUJU'S
mixi_mama
23-11-2006, 09:53
I miss...
* the kai - especially fruit and vegies - doesnt taste the same here
* being able to get a combination special form the chinese take aways that has seasfood in it aswell
* the Hokianga
* the whanau
* no toll bridges
* fresh muscles and kina
*diving for your kai moana
* Waikato Draft (im from aucks but my dad always drank waikato)
* maori culture
* kapa haka and waka ama
melfunction
23-11-2006, 09:57
Lolly cake (mum sends the lollies - customs opens them every time)
I found the lollies and am making lollie cake at xmas.......
eww Waikato beer. Rheineck for me thanks.
did you guys know that they have mallowpuffs in heaps of different flavours now?
I got jaffa, pineapple, toffee and rocky road flavour ones. Yum.
And Krispies biscuits. yum.
and a donut with fresh cream and jam, yum, not the weird ones they sell over here.
And I had a choc bar icecream and I had a jellytip.
and my friend cooked me a roast and we had parsnip, man I haven't had roast parsnip for years. I sort of forgot about it!
oh, and I had a marshmallow cake, you know with the shortbread on the bottom and the chocolate on the top? yum. I put on so much weight over there in just ten days.
Oh, and I had a bacon and egg pie from the bakery.
my df is kiwi and we went there for 2 weeks to see his fam about 2 months before ds was born it is the most beautiful country the food is so so much fresher than her (fruit veg and meat) the air is so much cleaner. i loved it so much we went to queenstown then wanaka and then to chritschurch to visit his fam. i loved it
melfunction
23-11-2006, 10:06
Shed, I almost want to go home just for a feed.
We found another shop in Brisbane that has a few kiwi yummies.....Stocked up for xmas ;)
Lately I've been missing 'real' gingernuts...the one's that almost break your teeth, so you have to dunk them...
O'Ryans thick cuts are the bestest!
Yumo...especially with homemade dip using maggis seafood soup mix:thumbsup:
Man, I cannot wait until our trip back to NZ end of Jan {insert drool emoticon here}
melfunction
23-11-2006, 10:25
Lambie, I have been eating them for the last nine weeks to help with m/s...I have a packet in my cupboard right now ;)
mixi_mama
23-11-2006, 15:34
oh i forgot
Originals Salt & vinegar chips
I LOVE THOSE!!
Awesome fish. Last night I spent $10 on salmon on special from Coles and it was disgusting, we actually threw it out (being pregnant the smell of it cooked turned my stomach and made me heave). I miss the $12.95/kg Dori and Snapper that was just out of the ocean... here you know if you pay less than $20+ / kg that its disgusting.
I also miss cheap and good fush and chups :laughing: just can't bring myself to pay $10 for it and then often its not as good. Oh... also lemon fish from the Chinese shops, anyone seen it? I've only seen SnS fish.
melfunction
24-11-2006, 07:47
Thanks to you buggers, I HAVE to go to the kiwi shop today for Boss mint sauce :thumbsup:
mixi_mama
24-11-2006, 09:43
hmmm i remember out in Manurewa they have this take aways that does a $10 combo with chips, 4 pieces of fish, 4 home made potato scollops, battered muscles and the pork sausages
man now im hungry!!
that's another thing...anyone else been caught out when buying 'scallops' from the t/away at the bargin price of 50c each, only to find these aussie's mean 'potato' scallops:o :laughing: :laughing:
Hubby and I still laugh about it when buying fush n chups!
Haha Ive been loosing all my preggaz weight and the kids and I fly home for 6 weeks in 4 weeks, I guarantee I will put it all back on and it will be sooooo worth it!
Some maori friends of ours have offerred to help us put on a hangi here for DD2's first birthday here too, I cant wait!
Im amased how many things you cant get here that Im used to finding. I wanted to make a stirfry the other day and I couldnt find crispy noodles to save myself. They dont have them here! The kind you can eat straight out of the packet or place a handful on the plate with your stirfry.....mmmm soo much better than normal noodles!
melfunction
24-11-2006, 11:00
So, I've been over to the kiwi shop......the mint sauce came in yesterday - got 2 bottles. Found a 2.5L L&P - got 2 bottles.
Edmonds afghan biscuits mix - 1 pkt
Rashuns - 1 pkt
Twisties (I refuse to call them curlies) - 1 pkt
I kg of Whitebait - cost me $25 :eek: but well worth it ;)
Bought K a 'Buzzy Bee' drink bottle.
Pineapple lumps
perky Nana
More fruit puffs for lollie cake
Cabin Bread (OMG, K ate a whole one!)
Oh dear, I may have gone a bit far.......
danielle13
24-11-2006, 13:00
Ooh you bunch of buggers! haha
Now I'm hungry, making me think of all that good kiwi tucker!!
Mmm, crispy noodles.....*insert drooling smilie here*
There's a fruit shop near me that sells L&P - I stock up every time! And they sometimes sell moro bars too (not the stupid little waxy ones you get in the share pack things here), yummo!!
I miss:
* Kiwi Cadbury chocolate (the stuff here tastes like plastic)
* Mallowpuffs
* $2 worth of chips that feeds the whole gang
* Sizzlers
Now off the food buzz...
* Courteous drivers (I broke down the other day, had dd in the car, nobody offered to help, I just got abused - where are the maori boys when you need them??)
* Easy-to-own cars - no greenslips,pinkslips,blueslips, etc etc there!
* The Warehouse (or as I call it, the WareWhare) - I've been to one here and it was Cr*p with a capital C!!
That's all I can think of right now.
Mmmm....mallowpuffs....:laughing:
danielle13
24-11-2006, 13:02
Luv'a'Pie Steak and Cheese pies..... yummmmmmm
We went to the Lav Markets on the weekend and there was a woman there selling choccie fish, buzz bars, pinkies, pineapple lumps.....we spent $20 on candy and we arent candy people just homesick kiwis and this reminded us of back home. We can also get L&P at a store just around the corner.
Tarniet has the biggest Ware-whare Ive been to here in Oz, I went to a few in Sydney can you say pathetic?!? The one in Tarniet is quite good on the scheme of things compared to back home....has virtually everything they have back there except the clothing and footwear.
Recently we were looking for touch shoes, you know in NZ you can go to the ware-whare and pay $20 for a pair, here you have to go to a sport shop and pay $90-$150 for a pair of silver and gold touch shoes....jeepers I just want a social game and I dont want to look like I have bling on my feet :laughing:
I was amased we found where 90% of the NZ westies hang out on a Wednesday night....the touch fields.
Danielle I agree - in NZ if you break down in the middle of traffic you are guaranteed that someone will jump out with their mates and push you off to a safe spot as well as get a towy if you need it. Here you get filthy looks and lovely sign language.
I miss the $180 per annum car rego, never thought Id say it...always complained about how expensive it was back in NZ but we have 2 cars here and rego alone is 1 grand....bloody highway robbery!
Smooth roads, here in Vic the key words are patch job, holes and lumps of tar thrown in strange places (presumably to fill a hole) throwing my car all over the place not to mention creating more servicing costs....a sign goes up and there ends the liability to the public
You know I cant seem to find a yummy choccie chip biscuit anywhere here! Ive been raving about Cookie Times and will be bringing some back with me to stock the pantry lol.
danielle13
27-11-2006, 13:56
Mmmm.. Cookie Time!! How could I forget about THOSE?? Yummo!
Yeah, about the roads, I'm sure the councils must have some deal with mechanics or something, make the roads as cr*ppy as possible so everyone has suspension problems all the time.
I've owned my car since March, in that time I've had to get the shock absorbers replaced TWICE, and something else suspension-related that I can't remember what it's called...:rolleyes: The street I lived in last had the worst roadway I'd ever seen - pot holes everywhere, big "splits" in the road, really uneven surface, an accident waiting to happen basically. I was relieved when I saw council workers digging up a bit of the road one day, only to find out later that they weren't fixing at all, they were making the already enormous roundabout even bigger! Hello, priorities...
mixi_mama
28-11-2006, 07:53
*valentines
*definately cookie time!!
*Burger King! with meat pattirs that taste lke meat