View Full Version : The cherry on the cake of our 30 something day...

Mamaduke
02-09-2006, 19:26
Just in case you weren't feeling "too" old today, this will certainly change things.

The people who started university this year across the nation were born in 1987.

Star Wars is older than them.

Their lifetime has always included AIDS.

Bottle caps have always been screw off and plastic.

They have always had an answering machine

They cannot fathom not having a remote control.

They have always had CDs, never records.

Ray Martin has been on Channel 9 their entire life.

Popcorn has always been cooked in the microwave.

They never took a swim and thought about Jaws.

They can't imagine what hard contact lenses are.

They don't know who Mork was or where he was from.

They do not care who shot J. R. and have no idea who J. R. even was.

McDonald's never came in Styrofoam containers.

They don't have a clue how to use a typewriter.

JenNT
02-09-2006, 19:29
OMG styrofoam Big Mac containers! I remember that...cheeseburgers were yellow lol

Immaculata
02-09-2006, 19:33
heh. That was both tragic and amusing.

Mamaduke
02-09-2006, 19:34
And Maccas used to sell crumbed chicken pieces...way back when...

Funkychicken
02-09-2006, 19:35
How tragic! just not sure if it is those people who are tragic for not knowing about these things or it is ME who is tragic because I lived before all those things!:rolleyes:

Mamaduke
02-09-2006, 19:36
The people who started university this year across the nation were born in 1987.

This is the one that stuck out for me...when I saw it I thought "oh rubbish 1987 wasn't that long ago, they've made a mistake!"...
even got my trusty calculator out to do the math.:o

Roxy
02-09-2006, 20:16
Oh dear....thanks for that!

If I wasnt feeling my age before that, I am certainly feeling a bit older now!

shed
02-09-2006, 21:17
I had already finished high school in 1987...

and I haven't even finished uni yet. How tragic.

Mamaduke
02-09-2006, 21:26
I had already finished high school in 1987...

and I haven't even finished uni yet. How tragic.

Slow and steady wins the race though! ;)

red crayon
02-09-2006, 23:41
i was in 3rd year at uni in 1987...it doesn't seem that long ago and yet looking at all those changes in your post, mamaduke, tells me there's been heaps of changes. i reckon my language shows my age - i still say 'album' or 'record' instead of CD and i say 'disco' instead of 'club'. there's always something that gives you away, hey.

Mamaduke
02-09-2006, 23:46
there's always something that gives you away, hey.
Especially when you're in the car, radio on and a song you love comes on...only to realise you're listening to the 'golden oldies' station...and then they mention "what a great song that was...1983...long time ago but what a great year"...oh...shut up!:mad:

spiritedfamily
24-09-2006, 13:49
lol...oh! I can so relate to that....its like when superman got realeased this year and my daughter went with her grandad and when she got back, she started telling me all about it and look at me puzzled when I could finish her sentence for her and tell her what happened next:D

After about 10 minutes, she finally understood that the version she saw was a re-release. I even tried to explain about Christopher Reeve and his accident being ironic in relation his role as superman...but nope...too young:o

MrsMiggins
24-09-2006, 13:58
Ray Martin has been on Channel 9 their entire life.

This is by far the scariest one!! :laughing:

I work in superannuation, and it was pretty scary when 2 years ago, we started getting new members who's date of birth ended in 1990! Next year I'm going to be getting ones who were born the year I left school!! :eek: OMG!!!

.................now where did I put that nursing home application .....................:confused:

dynnyrne
24-09-2006, 17:39
They don't know who Mork was or where he was from.

Well see, now I just have to feel sorry for them ;) :laughing:

Mamaduke
24-09-2006, 18:21
Well see, now I just have to feel sorry for them ;) :laughing:
"Na noo Na noo!"

red crayon
24-09-2006, 19:23
I work in superannuation, and it was pretty scary when 2 years ago, we started getting new members who's date of birth ended in 1990! Next year I'm going to be getting ones who were born the year I left school!! :eek: OMG!!!

in the mid-90s, i shared an office with an HR officer who is a year younger than me (both born in the late 60s) and we used to joke about not interviewing anyone born in the 1970s. looks like we'd have to extend that ban somewhat :eek: