View Full Version : Hi from Abu Dhabi

DesertDaisy
02-09-2006, 19:18
Hi. I am a South African mum of 2, currently living in Abu Dhabi in the United Arab Emirates. My dh has recently accepted a job in Australia, and starts work in Perth in November.

I am really excited at our upcoming relocation, despite the fact that I hate moving.

An Aussie friend of mine here in Abu Dhabi recommended this site as a great place for finding information.

At the moment, the key concerns for me about moving to Perth is finding the right schools for my girls, and then finding somewhere to live! Lots of people have said I should rather look for a suburb I like and then just go to the nearest school.

I feel that I would rather find the school first and then find a place any of the catchment areas for that school!

My eldest is 6, and has just completed Year 1 in a school that follows the British education system. My youngest is 3, and will need a kindy.

I'd love some suggestions for good schools/good areas on a tight budget in Perth, as well as any other tips you have for a mum new to the area!

I've been fortunate to have access to some lovely playgroups and mums groups in Abu Dhabi, and I would love to know whats available in Perth.

Cheekychops
02-09-2006, 19:20
How exciting!!! Coming to live in Oz :smiliedance:

Well - your friend was right - this site is great for information or advice on anything you can possibly think of!!! :wave:

Welcome to Bubhub

Jem
02-09-2006, 19:21
welcome to bub hub :) :wave:

welcome to bubhub :wave:

Niki
hiya :wave: im a perthie but i dont have much info on schools as my ds isnt old enough yet:D i hope the move goes well for you

02-09-2006, 19:42
Hi!! :wave:
I'm not even from that side of Australia, but welcome to bubhub!! You could well become pretty addicted to this site once you settle into life here in Oz!! I really hope that you find out whatever information that you need regarding schools, kinder and developing a support network for yourself as you settle into your new country and city :yes: . I am also living on a budget and find heaps of ideas for getting by the best we can on this site. Look forward to seeing you around the forum!! :D :D

Jodiee
03-09-2006, 00:20
HI
Unfortunately, I cant give you any advice on schools, as I dont live in Perth, but I have been there heaps, and can say that it is the most green, beautiful city in Australia! You have chosen well.

If I was you, I would ask in the "western australia" thread, Im sure the ladies there will be happy to help!

cheers, and a huge Welcome to Bubhub and australia!

Jodie

03-09-2006, 08:20
Hi and welcome!!

DesertDaisy
03-09-2006, 14:41
Thank you everyone for your welcome! I will post my question in the WA forum as well then, thanks.

04-09-2006, 14:57
Hi there welcome to bubhub!!! :wave:

twitch
05-09-2006, 15:47
Welcome to Bubhub! I'm from Perth but have no idea about schools (except for the one I went to, a-hem, 20 years ago :eek: ). Hope you find the info you need!

DesertDaisy
05-09-2006, 16:25
Thanks for the welcome!

Little Gorilla
05-09-2006, 16:50
Hello - welcome to bubhub...I lived in the UAE many many years ago....wow what a change you are going to find Australia!!!!

jo-anne.36
05-09-2006, 19:01
hi and welcome to aust and bubhub i sure you will love it here and your friend is right this is a really wonderful forum jo-anne:wave:

SamanthaJane
07-09-2006, 21:44
Hello :wave: I'm not from Perth but i just wanted to say welcome to Bubhub :hugs:

My name is Samantha and i am pregnant with my first baby, who is due in 7 weeks!! :smiliedance:

Melo
07-09-2006, 21:54
Hello!

Welcome to Bub hub!

This place is fantastic for information and advice!

Hope to see you around some more!

Mel xxx

07-09-2006, 21:55
Hiya & welcome to bubhub! Hope to see you around the threads :wave:

DesertDaisy
09-09-2006, 16:16
Thanks ladies.