View Full Version : General chat

littleboyblue
02-09-2006, 08:51
Hey how was the rest of everyone's week? Kaleb slept through the night last night he went to bed at 9pm and woke at 5am must be having another growth spurt. Don't mind though if it continues to happen.

Hey Leigh you should really try one of those front carriers Kaleb was a bit unsettled the other day and I put him in it and he was asleep within 5 mins then I slowly took him out of it and into his bed and he stayed asleep worth a try even if you keep jack in it for a few hours at least you can still be doing stuff and even sleep yourself as you know he can't fall off you strapped in.

Hope everyone enjoys the weekend and Happy Fathers day to all the partners for the first fathers day.:wave:

Lizzie1985
02-09-2006, 21:01

The rest of my week was ok i guess i nearly lost my voice on friday though for some strange reason, and is still alittle funny today though but nowhere near as bad.
We finally set a date for our wedding, so i have been busy making save the date cards and ordering paper from Victoria (cause i can't find a paper place in Darwin which is annoying). Friday night we went to Casuarina Beach for dinner we go there every first friday of each month with my partner's aunty & Uncle and 2 other families. Going to Lee Point Beach tomorrow to take our dog for a swim we do that every sunday too lol.

Hope everyone's partner enjoys father's day. My partner has already put his order in for what he wants for brekkie, samething every year lol bacon and, eggs on toast and pancakes on the side aswell. Bring on Mother's Day i say!!:laughing:

Milk_Monkey
03-09-2006, 08:43
Hello Everyone!

My week ended well. Havent been doing anything of significance, but i have seemed to get a few more hours sleep the past few days :)

We tried putting Jack into the front pack yesterday, but only for a few minutes. He was in a bit of a ratty mood so we didnt try for too long but im sure he'll get used to it. It will definately be useful when i need my hands!

Not doing much today - although Liz seems to have the right idea, a walk on the beach may be in order!

kyles84
03-09-2006, 14:50
hey
My week was as usual cleaning washing etc a bit like groundhog day lol!!
i am feeling very tired lately maybe not use to lots of sleep again although not complaining.
When are you looking at getting married liz? I am getting married next april 21st so i also am keeping myself busy with all that. Are u getting married up here or elswhere?
Anyways must go lots to do!

littleboyblue
04-09-2006, 07:58
Hi all, Liz and Kylie are you making your own invitations for your weddings. I have always been going to start my own business in making invites and other stuff I even brought myself a $500 printer so I could start up but have never got around to doing it. If your going to get your invites and other stuff done professionally then get a quote and I’ll see if I can do it cheaper for you.:)

Lizzie1985
04-09-2006, 09:17

My week was as usual cleaning washing etc a bit like groundhog day lol That is the best way to describe my week lol

Kylie we are getting married August 18th next year. We are getting married up here aswell, mainly cause it will be easier for us to organise stuff and we can have it the way we want it, noone else can put there 2 cents in cause they have no idea what is here lol. Alot of people will sook about coming here for it but oh well you get that. And the reason i have to get my save the date cards sent out by the end of this week. Lucky i just have to print them off.
What about you are you having it up here?
We are also having Cohen's naming day the same day cause everyone will be here at the same time.

Sha - I am making my invitations, you should consider opening up your own business here either making invitations or selling the equipment for it. I was surprised at the lack of wedding stuff here compared to Melbourne, i am having the paper i am using for my invitations sent up from Victoria cause i can't find an invitation shop here. Which is annoying.

Anyway i better go

Liz

kyles84
04-09-2006, 10:07
hey
Liz i am getting married down in nsw where i am from. Dont think many ppl would come if i get married here, maybe that would be a good thing lol! All my family is down there so i have lots of ppl to help me organise it.
I am looking at making my own invites but I am also having trouble finding paper, there is not much of a range up here. I might have to look in other cities also.How many ppl are you looking at inviting? Do you know of any good dress shops up here that are reasonably priced?

Sha i havent got any quotes from any others what would you charge to make them or does it depend on the style etc? I think if i make them they might look tacky hehe!!

littleboyblue
04-09-2006, 11:22
Kylie, it would depend on the style you want and how many you want if you give me some ideas of what you would like I can do some sample ones for you.

Lizzie1985
04-09-2006, 11:25

Kylie you should have a look at this website www.i-do.com.au (http://www.i-do.com.au) they have a section in their forum about DIY ideas and some of their invitations are awesome!! I am having problems with finding dress shops here too, i haven't had a through look at dresses though around here yet, i am having a whole lot of info sent out to me from all the business around DArwin that have stuff to with weddings, so i might know abit more when it arrives.

Atm we are inviting 50 but aren't expecting that many to come. We don't want a massive wedding, if we went back for our wedding we would easily have over 100 people there. (another reason why it will be here lol).

What i am doing with my invitations is i have picked the design i want and recreating it. I am having a beach theme cause we are doing a beach wedding.

For a invitation shop in vic visit www.therightinvite.com.au (http://www.therightinvite.com.au) this is where i am buying most of my paper unless i find a good place here.
You can also buy software to help you do your own invitations too.

Also if your looking for supplier in a certain area check this website out and fill the details in and all the info will be sent to you.
http://www.weddingcentral.com.au/services/index.htm

lol you can't half tell i have done my research on all of this lol, i get very bored sometimes

Liz

littleboyblue
04-09-2006, 13:20
When I did my wedding invites I got all the stuff from Nextra at casuarina and my dress from noni B for under $500

kyles84
04-09-2006, 13:29
hey,
Sha we are looking at inviting about 85 but that is individual ppl so maybe about 40 invitiations will be needed. We are having a pink and silver colour theme. I was thinking of having maybe some hearts or some other design on everything to keep it consistent. I am still experimenting with paper and glitter and glue and stickers havent found the right look yet. Although i will keep going. I would appreciate if you could do some samples.

Liz Thanks for those sites you have been busy with your research. I think i will look on that site to find paper stockists elsewhere maybe they will have a bigger range.I have got so many websites for flowers, dresses, jewellery cakes and everything i dont know where to start.

Anyways better get back to it
talk soon

Lizzie1985
04-09-2006, 13:29
Sha - what is the paper qaulity like at nextra? Do you know if they have translucent paper? Or do they just sell basic paper?

Lizzie1985
04-09-2006, 13:34
Kylie - what cake website do you have? Do you have any that have cupcake wedding cakes?

littleboyblue
04-09-2006, 13:34
kylie I have a sample of a invite on silver heart card with pink writting i'll email it to you.

Liz they have a little section i am pretty sure they had all sorts of paper and card have not got from there since my wedding I order mine through dizzi dezine.

Lizzie1985
04-09-2006, 13:37
Oh i LOVE Dizzi Dezine!!! That is where i got the idea for my invitations. I will have to check out nextra when i go to casuarina tomorrow.

littleboyblue
04-09-2006, 13:41
just heard on the news he died by stingray i think they said

Lizzie1985
04-09-2006, 13:48
R u being serious?!?! WOW how sad

kyles84
04-09-2006, 14:10
hey,
Sha that would be great to view that sample. Thats so sad about Steve just seen it on news then.

Liz i have few they are all in sydney though but i am using just for ideas they are:-
www.cakeart.com.au (http://www.cakeart.com.au)
www.crumbscakeart.com.au (http://www.crumbscakeart.com.au)
www.sweetart.com.au (http://www.sweetart.com.au)
www.cakewhole.com.au (http://www.cakewhole.com.au) i think these two are too
www.carallaro.org (http://www.carallaro.org)
www.kardellakreations.com.au (http://www.kardellakreations.com.au)
i think the last two are i just have a big list hard to remember what they are.

littleboyblue
04-09-2006, 14:23
Liz I got my wedding cake from the cheese cake shop at parap it was great there is a person at ducks nuts that does cakes expensive though I think. I think my friend did cupcakes for hers i'll ask her where she got them done here in darwin.

Lizzie1985
04-09-2006, 15:40
That would be great if you could do that Sha!! I'm looking at spending $200-$350 on our cake.

Who was your photographer Sha? And how much did you pay for them?

littleboyblue
05-09-2006, 09:26
I used Sally Carrington as my photographer she was a bit pushy but the photo's are great mum paid for it so I don't know how much it was she was good she came down to the site to see what it was like for lighting i had a outdoors wedding and we explained how everything was going to be set up and stuff.

My celebrant was Neil Stripling he is such a lovely man and made us feel at ease he was either $300 or $350 his number is89482101.

my friend said her cake maker left town so she did it herself. There is a cake shop at Alawa that do wedding cakes Dimitrios Specialty cakes 89484088
also the bakery at fannie bay shop i think they all have pic so you can look at what they do

if you are having a beach wedding and need stuff such as seats, arches and stuff I suggest you book it early as june, july and august are busy months here for weddings as it won't rain. I used the magic party shop for my stuff they were great can send you pic if you want.

and wedding cars are also few and far between in darwin so book early as well.

hope this helps

Lizzie1985
05-09-2006, 12:22
Sha thanks heaps for that!!! very much appreciated. I thought it would get busy around then for weddings thats why i am trying to get everything done early, i just hope it all goes to plan

Lizzie1985
06-09-2006, 17:29
Hey All,

Just thought i would see what you are all up to? And what you have planned for the rest of the week and the weekend?

Me not much at all

kyles84
06-09-2006, 19:05
hey
Not up to much either. DP is going away with army for a week so me on my own. Give me a chance to do lots of wedding stuff slowly getting everything organised i think!
Liz - How are your wedding plans going?
Sha - How is Kaleb sleeping? Was that the start of his new sleeping rountine?
Leigh - How are you and little Jack?
Anyways take care all
Talk soon

Mumma_Duck
06-09-2006, 21:04
Hello there

hope you guys don't mind me butting into your chat.. I'm from Darwin (born and bred), I havn't logged onto Bubhub since February mainly, coz there was hardly anyone local on here..

I hear someone is getting married (Lizzie?).. congratulations.. I got married a couple of years ago now and did the whole shabang here in Darwin, did all my own invitations and basicly organised everything myself due to the fact that my hubby was away. He proposed to me in December 2003 a few weeks before he went away to Iraq and while he was away I organised myself a wedding.. and about 6 weeks after he got back, we got married!!
Most of my family live in Darwin but hubbys family are from Victoria and were more than happy to make the trip up here for the wedding, some of them made a holiday out of it as well, so we didn't feel too badly that they had to make the trip.

If you need any advice on wedding stuff I'll be more than happy to help you anyway I can.. If your still looking for nice paper for invitations I got mine from Stampcraft in Stuart Park at the shops on Westralia St. Dunno if you've heard of it..
Kurt at the Duck's Nuts Cafe did my wedding cake (I had little individual cakes and a larger one at the top.. i have photos!!) and he did an absolutly amazing job.. I highly recommend him..
and I also had Sally Carrington do my wedding photos too.. but sounds like she was way more nicer to you Sha than she was to me.. yeah she was pushy!!

Well I think I've added more than my 2 cents.. hope you guys don't mind..

Thanks!!

Rebecca

littleboyblue
07-09-2006, 10:19
Hi all not been doing much this week going to lunch tomorrow and that's about it been on the net heaps looking for houses we have kinda decided we might move to gold coast \ tweed heads area next year prob in about april but depends what we get for our house here first.

Kaleb is sleeping good waking about 3am the sleeping to 5am only lasted the weekend but 8-3 i think is pretty good he is using his voice a lot more now I can hear him in his bass talking to himself he is meant to be :sleeping: as long as he is not crying out i guess it'a ok by me.

Hey Leigh haven't seen you on here in a bit hope all is well with jack and he is letting you get some rest.

Hi rebecca good to see another darwin person yeah there's not many around. I have been here 10 years my husband was in the army and did 3 trips to iraq and got out in june as it was too hard him being away and he wanted to watch Kaleb grow up so he has gone back to cabinet making for now wants to join customs though.

Well If I don't chat before the weekend hope everyone has a nice one:) and we should all catch up again soon.

Milk_Monkey
07-09-2006, 15:06
Hello Everyone!

I am still alive - just :) The past few days have been a bit hectic. Sounds like you have all been busy too! And welcome Rebecca - great to meet someone else around the place, whereabouts in Darwin are you?

A friend of mine looked after Jack the other day for a couple of hours to give me a break, and as i was putting him in the car to take him home i banged his headon the door! The poor thing was screaming and crying so much. I was so worried id done some sort of damage, but we had our 6 week check up (although it was actually 7 weeks), and all is fine.

Yesterday we went to a 'Sleep and Settling' workshop. Definately worthwhile! It was all really common sense sort of stuff, but it was great to hear what other people do and get some strategies to work with.

Liz, i had a couple of friends who got married not long ago at the ski club, on the water. I didnt go because i was in hospital, but apparantly it was beautiful. Have you guys decided on a location. The bonus about Darwin in the dry is that you are sure of sunshine!
Kylie, it must be tricky organising it from afar, but it is nice to have it with family and friends.
Matt and i decided that when we get around to getting married (id like Jack to be able to remember it), we'd do it as a suprise. We thought we'd just invite close family and friends for dinner and then shock them all on arrival :) THat way we wouldnt have to stress out with all the hype.

Anyway - im going to make use of his long nap and do some washing/ironing/dinner!

Mumma_Duck
07-09-2006, 21:21
hey there

Thanks for the welcome..

Hi Sha.. wow! 3 trips to Iraq.. I think thats very brave.. that would have drived me insane! Hubby got out of the army April 2005 which was good coz by that time I was 5 months pregnant. Don't think I would have handled it very well if he had to go back over there.. now he's a member of the NTPF.. Customs sounds good.. Hubby considered doing that as well..

Hi Leigh.. I live in Palmerston.. sounds like you guys live out Casuarina way.. it's good to have a couple of hours to have for yourself.. i didn't get that when James was younger mainly coz he was breastfed.. i remember bumping James's head.. i felt like the worlds worst mother!! but you'd be suprised at how tough these little ones are.. it's us who are the worry worts.. i used to worry all the time, have settled down alot now though..

I had family who got married there as well (or was it the Boat Club?) it was nice.. and the beach is right there which is a bonus for some beautiful photos..

Enjoy your day tomorrow everyone and the weekend.. :)

Lizzie1985
08-09-2006, 15:34
Howdy All!!

I haven't replied for ages as i had it set to so everytime someone replied i would get an email but that for some reason didn't work but oh well.

Kylie - yeah Wedding plans are going pretty well finally got some of my paper today!! took 5 days to get here, and now i ahve to order more cause it is exactly what i wanted!!

Rebecca - Oh i would love to see your cake it is the design i want!! so any pics you wanna share please do!!:D I have no idea where Stuart Park is, i haven't been here for long. I'm going to check out spotlight tonight to hopefully find the paper of my dreams:laughing:

Leigh - Thats what i was thinking about with the weather, better then Mlbourne weather thats for sure.

Sha - Hope you had a nice lunch today.

And yes i agree with Sha we should catch up again!!

Well i hope everyone has a nice weekend!! Oh and did anyone see my partner in Wednesday's paper?? He was on the back page!!
Iam at the races tomorrow Craig (my partner) is riding again tomorrow, so hopefully he wins a win would be fantastic.

Anywho i better go before i bore you all with my jibberish

littleboyblue
13-09-2006, 10:59
Hi Girls I have been very busy this week and haven't been on the net much.
Firstly Kaleb has been a bit sick:( first I thought it was his reflux since friday last week he would not feed he would only have about 50ml every 4 hrs he normaly has 150ml every 3 hrs he would just scream his head off so I took him to the doc to see if I could get the medication for him and he weighed him and he has only put on 20grams in 2 weeks babies are meant to put on 30grams a day so he thinks he might have a UTI so waiting for the results of that.

I'm looking at studying thinking of doing the 6 month aged care course.
God it's getting hot not looking forward to the wet they reckon this will be the hottest wet yet:thumbsdown:

Had someone come and value our house last night hoping to get the value back today or tomorrow so I know if I should sell, rent it out or just stay and live in it.

Liz and Kylie hope all your wedding plans are going well.

Kylie maybe bethany is starting to get her first tooth if she is a bit unsettled hope when your partner gets back she settles back down if she is just missing daddy. Do you get scared being on your own. I use to get scared when paul would be away i would hear crazy noises and think someone was in the house. That would be hard being on your own with a baby I mean sometimes when Kaleb plays up I need Paul to take him just to give me a break I would prob go insane if no one was there to take him my back aches if I have to walk Kaleb around for too long.

Leigh how is Jack going sorry to hear he hit his head on the car it does scare and hurt you more than the baby they are very tough hope he is letting you get some good sleep.

Hi to becky-boo (I think that was your username) how exciting for you being pregnant how is everything going are you feeling well.
I was sick all through my pregnancy from about 6 weeks I could not move my head off the bed I was that sick I the normal medication didn't work and they had to give me stronger stuff that they give ppl with sickness going through chemo and I had to have these iceblocks with electrolights in them. But I had the best birth ever was only in labour for 5 hrs they think it was lots less than that though cause my contractions never got regular and they time it from when they do get regular. I nearly gave birth at home I arrived at hospital thinking I was only 5-7cm gone but I was 10cm and Kaleb was born an hr later scarey to think the next one will go faster.

Well girls I have gone on for long enough now till next time everyone take care

Sorry if there are spelling errors.

SHA:wave:

Lizzie1985
13-09-2006, 11:22
Howdy All,

Thats no good about Kaleb, Sha. Hope it all gets fixed up soon.

I was thinking of studying another course too, i was think about a personal trainer course, but then i thought i better atleast lose the 15kg that i'm still carrying around from being pregnant with Cohen first, as no one will want a fat personal trainer lol. I was going to go into midwifery but that will be taking so much time away from the kiddies it isn't fair on them
Might start looking into gyms so i can lose my baby fat. Does anyone knoe of any good ones?

Yeah wedding plans are going good, i have to book so much so far ahead of time. We are pretty much settled on that Celebrant Neil Strippling he seems pretty, he quoted us $400 for everything including a naming ceremony on the same day as our wedding so i am happy with that price.
We are having our reception at the Darwin Turf Club aka Race track as we can get it cheeper and it is quite beautiful there.

I have pretty fast labours too Sha but i had to be induced both times as my body doesn't produce enough of something.

Does everyone have a pool or spa at home? We have an outdoor spa, i'm waiting for it to warm up so i can actually get in it, it is way too cold atm!!

Well i better go.

Liz

kyles84
13-09-2006, 18:58
Hey
Sha sorry to hear that Kaleb is sick. Hope the results are good!

I thought Bethany was teething but she is only 14 weeks corrected age and she is only unsettled at about 2 in the morning. She doesnt wake up she just loses her dummy heaps and then cries but her eyes are still closed. When u give her back the dummy she goes back to sleep until she loses it again.
If she was teething would she be unsettled all day or only sometimes?
It is very hard on my own especially when i am tired and she wont settle.:banghead: It is always good when DH is home coz when i cant settle her he can take over. But she is usually very good.
I dont really get scared on my own as we live in the Defence Establishment and i feel quite safe coz of the security.
Lucky it is only a week i dont think i will be able to handle any longer.
Anyways let us know how Kalebs results go
take care

Mumma_Duck
14-09-2006, 12:25
Hey everyone

Sha - Sorry to hear Kaleb isn't feeling too well, poor little guy. Hope everything's turns out ok. I never look forward to the build up and the wet and I've lived here my whole life! I do love it when it rains though.. minus the thunder, don't mind the lightning so much, as long as I'm inside..

I too have been thinking about doing a course next year, James starts childcare 2 days a week at the end of October, then full time next year :( but don't really know what to study, maybe IT or Hospitality. I was thinking about joining the Auxileries (sp?) next year too.

Liz - The Fernwood ladies gym has opened at the Homemaker Villiage.. but I don't know what it's like.. sorry not too much help.. good to hear your wedding plans are going good.. we don't have a pool or spa but we do have a couple of those inflatable ring ones.. a 3 metre and the other is about 2 metres i think.. we're in the middle of doing up our yard, hopefully it will be finished before it starts getting real hot and raining so we can set up one of those pools..

Kylie - James used to sleep (still does) with a dummy.. his cot was close to my bed so it was easy to slip the dummy back in before he woke up, he used to lose his dummy heaps too, now he sticks it back in himself. Have you tried laying her in bed with you while DH is away? I used to lay James next to me when DH went to work each morning.. Whenever James was teething he would have a temperature, dribble heaps, was grizly and biting toys and stuff.. Panadol helped heaps when he would be teething..

When I had DD my whole labour was 18hrs with epidural and when i had DS it was a mere 6 hours and all natural.. totally opposite.

James has decided lastnight that he would be clever and climb up onto the coffee table :eek: which is pushed up to the tv unit (so he wouldn't touch the TV etc) so now he thinks it's a game and does it every 2 minutes.. might have to put the coffee table on its side or something..

Well I better get going.. got to rearrange this living room somehow..

Take care everyone..

Rebecca

kyles84
14-09-2006, 17:26
Hey
How are we all good i hope
Liz - I used to have a membership with Fernwood in Brissy and i really liked it. I like the idea that there is no Tom's no Harry's and no ****'s hehehe lol (Sorry am i sad?). All the staff were really helpful i had a personal trainer and she was excellent. It was a bit Pricey but DH paid for it so it was all good.
How are all ur wedding plans going? Mine are going well got most of the major things booked and paid for which is good.
How are ur 2 little ones going? Keeping u busy i am sure!

Bec - How are you?
It is weird because since about a week ago she used to just use the dummy to go off to sleep and then when she was in a deep sleep she would spit it about a metre from her mouth and then sleep til 7am going to bed at about 8pm-9pm. But a couple of days b4 DH left she started to keep on losing it during the night and we havent done anything different.
I have brought her into my bed once when i was really tired but when i did that she woke up coz she wasnt fully asleep and realised she was hungry so then i had to feed her.Then she thought the day had started and wanted to have play time but mum wanted sleep time.:banghead: She eventually slept but not for long.
It will be interesting to see when Evan gets home whether things change coz that is the only thing different.

I think she is a bit young but if she was teething would she be unsettled all the time?
Sorry i havent been on here in a while have u lived up here all you life?
Are u working? Do u like it here? :ecomcity:

Sha - What did Kalebs Results say?

Leigh - How is little Jack i bet he is growing fast! How is he sleeping? Do u put him on his tummy to sleep or on his back?

Anyways better go this will take you all a week to read sorry for the babble!

Take Care all Talk soon :wave:

Lizzie1985
14-09-2006, 20:43
Hey all,

I have heard mixed things about fernwood so i'm abit funny about joing up with them, i'm leaning more towards a gym thats in Cavanagh(sp?) Street in Darwin, can't even think of the name of it.I used to go to a uni sex gym and having guys there doesn't bother me at all i get along alot better with guys then i do girls anyway for some reason, which is annoying sometimes i haven't had real girlie friends since i had Anna!! People think i am a b!tch first time they meet me or think i will be one, i don't see it.

Kylie - yeah wedding plans are going good, we have booked our celebrant, and reception, choosen our rings, decided what dress i am having, picked out all the stuff for our invitations. Still have tons to do as we are having a naming day for Cohen at the same time, but we will get there still have a year to go.
Anna and Cohen sure are keeping me busy, Anna's behaviour is starting to get bad so she is definately getting booked into more activities. She starts misbehaving when she gets bored.

Bethany isn't too young to be teething, there are quite a few signs too look for but she may not get any of them or she might only get one. The usual signs are biting down on stuff instead of sucking, drooling, nappy rash, unsettled.
I swear Cohen is teething, he drools so much it isn't funny and bites everything!!
I never knew Anna was teething until i seen 2 teeth down the bottom.
:ecomcity:
Alright i better go b4 i bore you all

littleboyblue
15-09-2006, 06:55
Hi girls just a quick reply Kaleb's test results came back negative so just have to keep him on this reflux medication and see what happens i'll go weigh him on monday to see if he put any more weight on this week.
Hope everyone has a good weekend take care.

littleboyblue
16-09-2006, 14:44
Hi girls hey leigh and others i just found this site you were wanting to know when babies eyes go the colour they are going to be check this out if gives you an idea of what they will be Kaleb's will either stay blue or go green 50/50 chance.

http://museum.thetech.org/ugenetics/eyeCalc/eyecalculator.html

littleboyblue
25-09-2006, 08:50
Hi Liz here are where some wedding dress shops are
Fairytale designs in parap next to the bakery at the shops
La Sposa Bridal 1/14 Tang St Coconut Grove 89856000
There is also one down the mall you can't see it too good you have to walk to stairs to get to it but sure what it is called.

Also you could try looking this up it's a local place www.rachaelsdesignacake.com.au (http://www.rachaelsdesignacake.com.au) for a cake

Hope everyones weekend was good mine went so fast went down the wharf for lunch yesterday and it was nice maybe we could meet there for lunch otherwise I was thinking lake leanyer.

Lizzie1985
27-09-2006, 10:50

Thanks for that Sha. I Really appreciated it.

littleboyblue
29-09-2006, 18:57
Hi all how was everyone's week I have been trying to get Kaleb to move to his cot this week no luck yet he only spent 2 hrs in it he has been very restless this week not :sleeping: at all during the day and waking heaps at night I told him tonight not that he listens that we are starting a routine strting with a bath at 6.30 then reading him books which we did and guess what he was dead to the world at 7pm:yelclap: how good expecting him to wake soon though.
He also had that rotavirus vax on wed which made him a bit grumpy. What's everone got planned for the weekend not doing much way too hot for me to go outside Well enjoy your weekend.

Mumma_Duck
29-09-2006, 23:15
Hey girls

Gee I can't believe it's Friday already! Where has it gone..

Hey there Sha, where does Kaleb sleep at the moment? James slept in a bassinette for the first 3 or 4 months then he moved into his cot. He was restless for about a month or two, then he got used to it. We used one of those baby snuggler things (2 round pillow things that bub sleeps in between), which seemed to help heaps. You can get a tetra snuggle bed to put inside the cot for a more sense of snugness, if he's not used to the space around him in the cot. I wish I knew about them before we got the bassinette, by the time James went into the cot he was rolling around. We had James in a routine of bath, bottle, bed, which also helped. He has a different routine now!

I got my wedding dress from La Sposa Bridal, they have a nice range, they have a website but theres not much on there ie. piccys of gowns. It's www.lasposa.com.au (http://www.lasposa.com.au) The other wedding dress shop Fairytale Designs opened up only after I got married!! but it doesn't matter coz I loved my dress.. The wedding dress shop that's in the Mall with the stairs is called Just Formals, they hire out a lot of things there as well as buying wedding dresses, suits and accessories. We hired our groomsmen suits and page boy suits from there, they also have wedding dresses and fowergirl dresses too.

The wharf sounds nice, we don't get out there much, but when we go for drives, we go past the wharf. We hope to go there this school hols to try out some fishing, DD is eager and determined to try it out.. Don't have much planned for this weekend, just house choirs!! exciting hey!! :no:

Well hope all you girls have a good weekend!!

Mumma_Duck
30-09-2006, 16:21
Hey there

Just letting you girls know that I've changed my username :p

Lizzie1985
03-10-2006, 19:16
Hey All. :wave:

What has everyone been upto?

It has gotten pretty slow in here the last couple of days, hope everyone is well.

Thanks for that too Bec, i will have to go in to the shops me thinks, there wasn't really anything on there website.

Well we haven't been upto much, Friday Craig rode a winner and was in Saturday's paper. On Saturday we had some people over for the grandfinal and had a BBQ and stuff and that was about it really.

Well i better go now

Talk later

Milk_Monkey
03-10-2006, 19:58
Hello everyone!

Jack and i made it to Brisbane with very few problems - i just gave him a bottle on take off and landing and he was fine :)

Poor Jack is a bit grumpy at the moment though. Cant blame him really - he has been passed around to so many strangers and there is nothing from home except for me. But he is sleeping really well at night by himself.
Its been so nice catching up with family and friends, and there is a chill in the morning and evening, so i get to eat soup and wear ugg boots!

Hope all is well and the little cheribs are behaving! See you all at the next meet :)

Lizzie1985
04-10-2006, 12:13
Thats great Leigh!!

Glad everything is going well for you and Jack, hope you have a great holiday.

littleboyblue
04-10-2006, 14:14
Hi all if you don't mind can you vote for Kaleb at this site
http://www.babyexpress.com.au/shop/photo_gallery/index.php

You just need to click on votr for Kaleb you need to register but it's free vote everyday if you like he has lots of catching up to do not the best photo but better than nothing.

Sha

kyles84
05-10-2006, 07:59
hey everyone
How have u all been? Hope u are all well! Holiday went ok it is so good to be home though. Bethany got a cold from Evan's Nepwhew so she haS Been a bit grumpy and we think she is teething too we can see little teeth coming so that does not help. She has just figured out that she has a voice box too it is quite cute she gives it a workout.

littleboyblue
05-10-2006, 08:48
Hi all Kylie sorry to hear that bethany has a cold. Great that she is teething and you know why she is grumpy. Kaleb has been shocking the last 2 weeks he no longer goes to sleep on his own and wakes 2-3 times a night now I checked his mouth the other day and couldn't see any teeth coming through so don't know what his problem is :(. He will be 4 months on monday and I think I am going to start him on solids he picks everything up and puts it in his mouth which I was told is a sign he is ready for solids so i'll see how that goes.
Yeah it's so cute when they use their voices Kaleb has a bit chat to us most nights it's funny it's like he is yelling at us sometimes. well girls hope everyone is well speak soon.

sha

Lizzie1985
05-10-2006, 13:48
Hey All,

Kylie - glad your holiday went well shame about Bethany getting a cold though!!

Sha - Hope Kaleb starts going back to his normal sleeping patterns for you soon

Well Cohen is 6 months old today:eek: I can't believe how quick it has gone. So that means i have to get his needles done again:crying: which i HATE doing!! It will be good to get the little fatty weighed though, he feels very heavy to me.

Well thats all from me not very exciting i know but yeah you get that.
Oh Sha thanks for that cake lady she is very cheap, now for taste testing mmmmm

littleboyblue
09-10-2006, 07:58
Hi everyone how was your weekend. Mine was ok went to lunch on saturday and just relaxed yesterday. Kaleb is back to his old self thank god and now sleeps in his cot. Tried him with a bit of farax last night but he just pushed it back out so he's now quite ready yet will keep trying taking him for his injections today guess he'll scream down the place. how did Cohen go with his?

How is bethany going any teeth though yet?
Leigh hope the holiday is going well and jack is being a good boy.
well enjoy your week everyone

Sha

Lizzie1985
09-10-2006, 11:15
Hey all,

Yeah our weekend was ok, didn't do much thoug. Craig had the horse of the year awards on friday so was recovering from that on Saturday so we just relaxed all weekend.

Cohen Has his needles done tomorrow, i am so not used to going to the health nurse to get them done, we just used to go to the doctors in Melbourne. I have found the health nurses here abit lazy compared to Melbourne, they don't check even half as much stuff as what they do in Melbourne. They didn't even do a development assessment on Cohen which i thought was abit weird. But they are nice. Things that i was used to

Anna has her first real day at Kinder tomorrow aswell which will be good too.

Not doing much til the weekend
We have our first lot of visitors coming up on the weekend, which will be good. We have the kids bubba libbis and Grandee coming aka Craig's mum and Craig's nanna, they will be here til Tuesday so only a little vist but it will still be good.

And we also have races on Saturday too, hopefully with another winner.:fingerscrossed:

I will be getting an early 21st birthday present from Craig's mum within the next 2 weeks which is awesome she is flying my bird up to me and buying a new cage for her aswell, i so can't wait to see my baby!!

And yeah thats about it, hope everyone is well!!

Mumma_Duck
10-10-2006, 00:02
Hey girls

our weekend was busy! Angel had her birthday party yesterday (sunday) (her actual birthday is today), what a morning that was.. she had her party at the cinemas, it was pretty good. They all watched "Ant Bully", after that we did the whole pass the parcel stuff and the kids wreaked havoc, it was all good (the best bit was that i didn't have to clean up!). But today we kept it quiet being it a school night too. James came down with a cold, the whole runny nose, itchy eyes, temperature, and now he has a cough.. we've had a few sleepless nights where James just kept waking up coz of his blocked nose or his cough.. see how we go tonight. He's also off his food.. his gums are all swollen so we thought that he might be teething, so after his bath tonight we checked his mouth, trying hard not to get bitten in the process and 'suprise!' another tooth has surfaced! and it looks like theres more to come very soon.

Hey Lizzie - The baby nurses in Palmy are nice too. They usually just do a weight and height check as well as needles if they're due, and they also talk about anything else that concerns you and stuff. They do a hearing assesment at about 8 months. It's not much, just the basics really but they are helpful, hope he goes ok with his needles. Hope Anna has fun tomorrow too.. Oww visitors that should be fun.. What type of bird is it?

Hey Sha - It's great to hear Kaleb is back to his old self and sleeps in his cot, must be a relief to you. It's exciting when they have their first taste of food, James was so ready for his the guts! Just keep trying, he will learn how to swallow it. How did the needles go? I have to wait till James is over his cold before we go get his done.

Hey Kylie welcome back. How many teeth are surfacing? It's so cute when they start relising that they have a voice. James doesn't seem to stop babbling some days!

Hey Leigh - hope you and Jack have a great time.. we did the bottle thing with James too when we flew and he was good, cept on our way back, it took a while for people to board and settle so we had to give him his bottle before take off, he finished it real quick and was unsettled for the take off but dropped right to sleep afterwards. He slept all the way, both ways.

Well it's wayy past my bedtime, lucky hubby dearest let me have a sleep in this morn! Hope everyone has a great week..

kyles84
10-10-2006, 08:16
Hey All
Hope we are all good
Bethany is over her cold :yelclap: and she is back to her happy little self which is awesome. I know when Bethany first started her cold she woke up during the night quite a bit because her nose was that blocked she couldnt breathe it was quite frightning so i can only imagine how James and yourself must be feeling.
She has a few that i can see but i dont know if they are causing her much grief yet.
She is on the floor at the moment with all her toys doing donuts she slowly moves herself in circles is it so cute. She is also talking the house down.
I hope Kalebs and Cohens injections go alright I hate taking Bethany I told DP that he has to take her next time but doubt that will work.
We tried Bethany on some Farex and she hates it you put it in her mouth and she holds her mouth open and goes ahhhhh (like yuk) so we tried some pureed apple and she loves it. It was the one from the jar and that has alot of sugar.
I tried pureeing some myself but when i put it is the processor it mixed a bit then stuck to outside it wasnt very successful. Does anyone have any successful methods or did i just do it wrong?

Thats good to hear Kaleb is better and sleeping in his cot.
Anyways better go do some work take care talk soon :wave:

Mumma_Duck
10-10-2006, 10:17
James slept much better lastnight, cept for the cough, but it wasn't too bad, he sounds like he is on the mend..

Kylie - when I started making food for James (his first food was pureed apple) I went and got a mini food processor for about $20 and a pack of 6 The First Years brand containers, the Take and Toss ones, for freezing. They both worked a treat. But now you can get kits with tiny containers and stuff or what most people do is freeze their purees in ice cube trays and wrap them in cling wrap to prevent frost. But I highly recommend the mini food processor, it makes processing small amounts so easy and not much sticks to the sides, we still use it! I still make stuff for James and freeze it coz it's easier and he usually eats dinner earlier than us, dinner isn't always ready when he is!

Hope that helps..

Lizzie1985
13-10-2006, 10:18
Well Howdy All,

How is everyone?

We are good, Cohen needles went good and what is even better is there are no more for 6 months woohoo!!:smiliedance:

Bec - In Victoria they do the hearing tests like 2 days after they are born, and since Cohen past his he doesn't need the one they do at 8 months.
The Nurse took one look at the development assesment pages in Cohen's Blue book and goes oh they look like they are more for a 8-9 month old and then closes the book.
I have noticed that they don't have the encouraging to read to 4 month old program up here aswell.

Kylie - i brought the Women's weekly fresh food for babies and toddlers at the newsagent for $12.95 and it is pretty good, has all the recipes etc in it.
When i puree Cohen's food i just use a hand held mixer.
When you pureed the apples did you add any water? That is most likely why it didn't work out very well if you didn't any water.

I have to make some more baby food up, i just use those glad snap lock bags, when i find some proper containers i will be using them but until then, glad will do.

Well i better go and get ready to go to the shops as Craig will be back from his massage soon.

Bye:wave:

kyles84
15-10-2006, 13:05
Hey all
When i made the apple puree last time i added water but i think the processor is too big as i am only processing little bits. I think i will have to invest in a mini processor. I have quite a few books with recipes for babies and toddlers also. I might have another try and then see what happens.
Thanks all for advice
Talk soon

littleboyblue
16-10-2006, 08:26
Hi Girls hope everyones weekend was great can't stand this heat though.
Kaleb is now sleeping in his own room and back to his old self. I have decided not to try him on solids again yet as his
Paediatrician advised against it cause research has shown that starting early can cause allergies and asthma and since Pual has it and I had it as a child I will hold off till 6 months.
Kaleb's injections went alright he screamed the place down but didn't cry for as long afterward this time but he did have a high fever for about 3 days after. Glad Cohen's injections went well.
Kylie have you tried to puree pears might be worth trying them. Not much to report on Kaleb started to roll onto his side but only with a nappy off and still wants to put everything he picks up into his mouth.
Leigh hope your holiday is going good and jack is well can't wait to see how much he has grown this time and little bethany is she getting big now?
Well girls enjoy your week.

Sha

kyles84
17-10-2006, 09:06
Hey
Weekend was pretty good yeah i hate this heat too and it only going to get worse.
Sha i havent tried pears i was going to but after apples didnt work i didnt see much point i am going to find a mini processor and then see if that makes a difference. Then i will be pureeing lots. I have a few books also which seem helpful.
Yeah Bethany is getting big she is slowly getting there.
Anyways talk soon

Mumma_Duck
17-10-2006, 18:06
Hey there

My weekend was quiet..took DD to a B/day party and went off to Target to layby DD a couple of Christmas pressies.. they keep your layby till Christmas eve so thats something I don't have to worry about too much.. it's definately starting to get hotter now.. I wasn't complaining too much about it last week but this week it just hit me..

I dropped my mini food processor and broke it the other night :( clumsy me.. will just have to invest in another one..

James finally got his 12 months needles today all 3 of them, he wasn't too happy, he had one in each arm and one in the thigh.. but a couple of mins after that he was fine, he looked in the mirror and had a good chat to the cute bubba that was staring back at him.. it's so cute..
How's Kaleb doing Sha? I hope James dosn't react too badly to these injections..

Hubby taking me to lunch tomorrow for my B/day, not sure where though..

Well I better get going.. take care everyone

Rebecca

littleboyblue
18-10-2006, 06:58
REBECCA
ENJOY UR LUNCH

Lizzie1985
18-10-2006, 20:45
happybirthday Rebecca!! Hope you get pampered!!!

We had a very good weekend. Craig had yet another winner and 2 seconds and a 3rd!!:smiliedance: We had some family come up aswell and they just left this morning, it was so good to see family again. We went out to happy garden beach front resturuant and it was very nice!! and quite cheap too
We have the races again this weekend and Craig is riding in every race. I have been invited out to a party on Saturday night but i don't think i will go as i have hayfever atm and just feel blah.

Our wedding numbers have gone up to 60!! and so far noone has knocked us back, but it ain't too bad as we aren't paying for the reception anymore, and i don't think we are paying for our honeymoon either, means we get to spend more money on the photography.

Well i am tired so i am going to bed.

Hope everyone is doing good!!

nightie night:sleeping:

kyles84
19-10-2006, 09:17
happybirthday Rebecca hope you had a good day.
My Birthday is today i am hoping DP has something wonderful planned as a suprise for me as he didnt say anything to me when he went to work this morning not even happy bday. But i will not hold my breath.
Bethany gave me a 45min sleep in this morning so that was awesome.
Our wedding plans have come to a stop as i have lost motivation to plan anything i need to get back into it.
Anyways hope all is well and will talk soon

Lizzie1985
19-10-2006, 09:36
happybirthday Kylie. Hopefully your DP does something very nice for you, if not i would be kicking someones bum.

Well everyone have a nice day!!:wave:

littleboyblue
19-10-2006, 14:02
happybirthday KYLIE

HOPE YOU GET A NICE SURPRISE FROM DP

Mumma_Duck
19-10-2006, 15:07
Thanks everyone.. I had a lovely day.. DH took me to Cornucopia at the museum, it was very nice.. I got a bunch of beautiful flowers from my little lady and my little man and DH bought me some scrapbooking tools for a S/booking workshop I'm going to this weekend..

happybirthday KYLIE!! hope your DH brings you home a very nice suprise!!

Congrats to your DP Lizzie on another win!! and hope your hayfever settles in time for that party on Saturday..

enjoy the rest of your week girls..

kyles84
21-10-2006, 14:49
Hey
I got a nice surprise from dp. He took me on a dinner cruise around the Harbour it was quite romantic. We saw dolphins jumping which was cool and we even got our friends to look after Bethany for us so it was a good night.
Bethany was really unsettled last night i put her to bed at 8:30pm and she was unsettled until 10pm. she kept throwing up so i would pick her up and wind her but nothing put her down and she would do it again and making straining noises. Finally i gave her some panadol and bonjela and she went to sleep so i am putting it down to teething. Then she slept til 1 and woke up every hour coz she lost her dummy. I am walking around like a zombie today but i will live.
hope all is well talk soon

Lizzie1985
23-10-2006, 07:33

Sounds like a very nice surprise Kylie!! Glad you had a nice night.

Well Cohen got his first tooth on Saturday!! He is crawling and puling himself up on EVERYTHING he can crawl too!

Well hope everyone is doing good!

kyles84
23-10-2006, 11:47
hey
Liz Wow thats exciting first tooth. Crawling too he will be walking b4 you know it.
Bethany is teething she is a very grumpy little miss. I think she knows that the blue tube of bonjela helps whenever i hold it in fron of her she throws her arms out trying to grab it.
She has two little bumps on her gums i can feel but no teeth yet.
Sha How is Kaleb going?
Rebecca How are your 2 little ones going. Im glad u had a good bday!
Anyways better go do some work b4 she wakes up and b4 DP gets home

Lizzie1985
23-10-2006, 15:05
Kylie - Cohen had a massive lump for 2 days before his tooth finally cut through, won't be too long before Bethany has her first tooth aswell.
How is the solid food making coming along?
I know it won't be to long before he is walking but i want it to be alittle while longer. Anna was walking at 7 1/2 months old she just grew up way too quick!!

Who is coming to the meet still? Is leigh back from her holiday yet?

well i will talk later, i am in the middle of cooking a roast

Milk_Monkey
23-10-2006, 16:13
Hello!!

Yes i am back from holidays - we got home yesterday.

I've skimmed through most of the posts, everyone has been So busy! Happy Birthdays and Congratulations all round :)

See you all at the meet, Leigh and Jack.

kyles84
24-10-2006, 08:54
Hey
Really i thought it would take heaps longer wow that exciting. Solid food making is going well i bought a mini processor and it works great. She tried some pear last night and she loved it she ate 2 T think she could of had more so that is good.
Wow Anna was a early walker he might follow his big sister but hopefully for your sake it will be longer hehe!
I will be at the meet so will see you all tomorrow.
Leigh Welcome back Hope your holiday was good.
Talk soon

Lizzie1985
24-10-2006, 12:35
Thats good that the solid making is going good now. And it is good that Bethany is enjoying her food too!! Cohen is obsessed with food, it is like he never gets fed when he sees it!! He crys if i don't feed him fast enough! There is no way i could have held off the solids til he was 6 months, and he is a big boy!!

Anna was early with everything

Glad to hear your holiday went well Leigh

Well i will see everyone tomorrow

littleboyblue
24-10-2006, 14:27
See you all tomorrow.

Mumma_Duck
24-10-2006, 21:16

Welcome home Leigh..

Kylie - your b/day suprise sounded very nice and very romantic!

James is teething as well, he had huge bumps on his gums for what seemed like weeks and weeks, then he had a tooth come through last week and another 2 looks set to come through in the next couple of days.. he hasn't had bonjella for ages now.. but he LOVED the stuff.. i think he knew that it soothed his mouth somehow too.. Angel is going well too, shes going through a phase where everything is just an effort!! She absolutely loves school and shes going very well at it.. I just hope it stays that way!!

good to hear that the solid foods are going well..

Well I shall see you all tomorrow.. I havn't driven that way in ages, usually keep to the Palmy area.. DH does all the driving that way.. so a lil nervous!!

Lizzie1985
25-10-2006, 14:42
WooHoo I got my money back!! It was Big W that i had a missed call from, i am so glad i have my money now.

Oh it was nice to see everyone again.

Hope everyone enjoyed the rest of their day.

I gave into temptation and got Maccas, it was good lol

kyles84
25-10-2006, 17:29
Hey
Thats good you got your money back i think i would cry if i lost $100.
Likewise it was great to catch up again and see how much all your bubs have grown. They grow up so fast i now believe that when people say it.
Oh you gave in to that temtation you need to fight the urge hehehe oh well as least it tasted good hehehe!!
anyways must go talk soon :smiliedance:

Mumma_Duck
27-10-2006, 16:35
Great to hear you got your money back!!

Yeah it was great to see everyone again.. they do grow up so quickly.. i notice how quickly James has grown and it makes me a little sad sometimes (but also happy..)

I like your new username Sha!! it's cute..

Hope you all have a great weekend..

kyles84
02-11-2006, 09:59
Hey all
How are we all? How has week been?
Mine has been pretty boring. It is getting so hot now i went outside at about 8 and it was so humid!! Not looking forward to this wet season!!!:no:
Bethany is going well on solids we are going to start two feeds a day she is growing up so fast.
Does anyone know of any good playgroups up here?
Have booked Bethany in for swimming lessons starting in January so that should be good!

Anyways must go hope all are well :smiliedance:

Talk soon

Lizzie1985
02-11-2006, 11:07
Hey All,

The kids are good, i am sick, i have no idea what is wrong with me, i am going to the docs tomorrow to find out.
My week has been alittle busy, met with my dj for our wedding and that went well, met with my photographers and that too went well.

Craig's dad flys in tonight, and we have some friends fyling in friday night, but they aren't staying with us, and then we also have dinner friday night at the beach with a few other people, and races saturday, and then dinner saturday night, Sunday, monday i don't know what we are doing. Tuiesday races, and Melbourne cup. Wednesday, i think that is when Craig's dad flys out to Singapore.

And i think that is it for me.

I am not finding it very hot atm, sometimes around lunch time it gets abit hot if i am outside.

Glad Bethany is going good with the solids.

I have no idea about any playgroups up here, you could ring the playgroup ***. to find out about all the ones up here though, you can get there number from their website.

Thats great about the swimming lessons.

Well i better go.

Hope everyone is doing good, and that you all have a fun weekend

littleboyblue
02-11-2006, 11:35
Hi all just a quick hello
Kylie here are a few playgroups and numbers
Little Troopers Playgroup for Defence Families 89329358
Tumbledown Tots Playgroup in driver 89314031 thursdays 9am -12pm.
Terror Tots Playgroup 89323302

I think they have something at the Raaf base also that you could try

www.playgroupaustralia.com.au (http://www.playgroupaustralia.com.au) 89457775

Milk_Monkey
02-11-2006, 12:25
Hello Everyone!

I've booked Jack in for Swimming lessons too. id start him now if i could but hes still too young.

Liz, you sound so busy, hope you arent too ill. Jack has been a bit sick this past week, but he seems to be getting better - and back into a pattern of sleep :-)

Anyone doing anything exciting this weekend?

littleboyblue
02-11-2006, 15:27
Is everyone else getting all this rain? my backyard is filling up pretty fast.
This is Kaleb's first time he has seen rain:yelclap:

Milk_Monkey
02-11-2006, 16:23
NOOO! We'ev been hanging out for the rain to fall, but no luck over this side of town. Maybe tonight :fingerscrossed: