View Full Version : Baby shower present??
TripleTime
21-11-2010, 20:24
Having never been to a baby shower & never had one myself, i need ideas on what to get a friend for hers.
ATM they only have a bassinet & capsule for Carlos, ive given them our change table & a cot. They live her DH's parents for now, so my idea of getting the house cleaned went out the window. Some people have given them bits & pieces & i have enough clothes this lot has grown out of to last a few months no matter the sex.
I need ideas, anyone?
DH had the idea of a day at the spa for after bubs born but than i had the idea of a lunch out for them to be a couple again with an IOU for baby sitting.
Really have no idea.
Wraps, nice blankets/sheet sets, soft large towels, photo albulm, baby monitor, play gym, box of disposable, nappies or cloth nappies, bits and pieces: nail clippers, comb, toothbrush. Digital/ear thermometer....
Pregalicious
21-11-2010, 20:29
What about a voucher for a baby portrait? Then they can use it when they're ready and get it framed when they get into a place of their own?
~*clairesmum*~
21-11-2010, 20:30
I gave my sister a nappy bucket with lil bits of things in it - wipes, bath wash, breast pads, pads, panadol, ear buds, wipes, dummy, bib, out fit, blanket etc... It doesn't really matter really wat u have said is a nice idea
TripleTime
21-11-2010, 20:30
What about a voucher for a baby portrait? Then they can use it when they're ready and get it framed when they get into a place of their own?
Her DH is a photographer.
MummaBear03
21-11-2010, 20:31
I like the idea of a lunch out with the offer of babysitting, that's really nice. It might not happen for a while though because I know lots of people don't want to be away from their bubs at all for the first 6 months or so but are happy to leave them for an hour or so after that with someone the baby knows well.
It sounds like they are going to be set up with items from other people so something like a voucher for somewhere might be good. Or maybe a movie voucher and a coffee voucher for them both? Another similar idea anyway.
Pregalicious
21-11-2010, 20:31
Her DH is a photographer.
:laughing: Maybe not then
I also want to add that the idea of a baby shower is to 'shower' the mother with gifts for the baby. Above were some of the wonderful things I received.
TripleTime
21-11-2010, 20:35
I like the idea of a lunch out with the offer of babysitting, that's really nice. It might not happen for a while though because I know lots of people don't want to be away from their bubs at all for the first 6 months or so but are happy to leave them for an hour or so after that with someone the baby knows well.
It sounds like they are going to be set up with items from other people so something like a voucher for somewhere might be good. Or maybe a movie voucher and a coffee voucher for them both? Another similar idea anyway.
Waiting for them to be ready doesnt bother us. Just dont want the voucher to expire before Junior's born.
:laughing: Maybe not then
Than is always behind the camera, never infront
TripleTime
21-11-2010, 20:36
I also want to add that the idea of a baby shower is to 'shower' the mother with gifts for the baby. Above were some of the wonderful things I received.
I know, everyone will get them things for Junior. I want to get them something for themselves as well. Something they can use to be S & M again, instead of Mum & Dad.
MummaBear03
21-11-2010, 20:38
Traditionally that's how it always used to be but it seems to now be about big, expensive things rather than the items mentioned above. That's one reason I don't like the idea of the baby shower anymore.
A friend of mine bought a nappy bucket for me when DD was born and it was the one thing that got more use than anything else, other than the hand-me-down nappies that we were given!
I went to a friend's baby shower recently.. just got her a little outfit and some Gaia body wash/shampoo/baby oil/lotion etc and a cloth nappy (she's using cloth). I figure those kind of things you really can't get enough of.
Voucher for pregnancy massage or facial or manicure or pedicure
Boring, but boxes of disposables or some mcn's
Terry flats for spew rags
Grobag/ miracle wraps/ muslin wraps/ cot sheets/ nice towel & washer set
One of those "memory" boxes to put hospital ID tags, scan pics, first outfit in
Books, taggies toys, baby sleep CDs
Stuff for later like plate sets, sippy cups
Photo frames
Inkless foot and hand print kit
Pregalicious
21-11-2010, 20:44
Hmm how bout a nice chest for precious baby things for them to keep safe forever (first socks, hosp. tags etc) you can decorate it beautifully and leave a note inside saying what its for.
Its really unique and a keep sake...
shockinamillion
21-11-2010, 20:44
I think the couple time and babysitting idea is GREAT!
Pregalicious
21-11-2010, 20:46
A friend of mine bought a nappy bucket for me when DD was born and it was the one thing that got more use than anything else
Me too!! I still use mine for all kinds of stuff...theyre good :yes:
Get her a washing basket and fill it with baby lotions, washing powder, and all that sort of stuff you go through lots of but never really think to buy?
TripleTime
21-11-2010, 20:49
Me too, i would have killed for it.
TripleTime
21-11-2010, 20:50
Get her a washing basket and fill it with baby lotions, washing powder, and all that sort of stuff you go through lots of but never really think to buy?
And the lunch out with baby sitting IOU :yes:.
swizzlestick
21-11-2010, 20:50
All great ideas so far. My favourite baby shower gift was a voucher to get a mani/pedi and some waxing done before bubs came along, so good when you can no longer reach your legs to shave them!
I went to a baby shower recently for a girl friend who has every thingso I had no idea what to get her no one did, So what I did was every night when I was cooking dinner if it was freezable stuff, i would make 2 extra serves and freeze them I did that for 3 weeks. Then for her baby shower I was able to provide her with 3 weeks worth of dinners that her and her DH could just heat and serve. I then got her a massive esky and filled it with ice. so the esky was her present as well.
She was really happy and then even more happier when bubs was born the next week and they came home from hospital and didnt have to cook if they didnt want to. as her tucker box freezer was full
Stephen24shout
22-12-2010, 15:14
A friend told me that going online is a great for all your baby shower stuff. There are a variety of sites that do baby gifts (http://www.4mum.com.au), accessories, nappy bags and a heaps more. Wish I had noticed this before hand, would of saved heaps of time before hand.
:celebrate:
3boysNAprincess
22-12-2010, 17:07
I think look on Facebook for the photgraphers in your area and get a voucher for one of the ones who take the pics, edit them and then put them all on disk..
That was the best thing I received at mine
what about a massage voucher?
some places will also do pregnancy massages so she could use it before if she wanted.
wow! some great ideas on here!
the first friends of me and new hubby are having their first baby, so there will be a baby shower early next year. They've gotten most of the big things, so i'm looking for something smaller, but nice and memorable.
They're having a girl
I went to a baby shower recently for a girl friend who has every thingso I had no idea what to get her no one did, So what I did was every night when I was cooking dinner if it was freezable stuff, i would make 2 extra serves and freeze them I did that for 3 weeks. Then for her baby shower I was able to provide her with 3 weeks worth of dinners that her and her DH could just heat and serve. I then got her a massive esky and filled it with ice. so the esky was her present as well.
She was really happy and then even more happier when bubs was born the next week and they came home from hospital and didnt have to cook if they didnt want to. as her tucker box freezer was full
I LOVE both these ideas! :)
Two things i would of really appreciated! :) especially the food one!!! I did this for SIL, and she loved it too!