View Full Version : newborn nappies question...

pandapantz
19-11-2010, 23:23
G'day all,

Just wondering generally how long you should 'expect' a baby to be in newborn nappies for?

I realise it depends on a baby's weight as most of them are only for up to 5kg, but as a soon expecting first time mum, I don't wanna go over board & buy boxes & boxes only to find I have TOO many & nothing to do with them...

Can any mum's out there PLEASE offer an opinion from previous experience as to how many I should expect to need to buy.

I ask because I was recently given a small amount of left over ones my boyfriend's cousin's baby has grown out of. Their baby was born in September (i think) & it was late October we were given them, not knowing how many boxes they bought it seems like a short time frame they need them for. I just don't want to be left with BOXES full & no-one to give them to OR be hugely out of pocket & needing a bigger size...

I'm probably thinking FAR too far into it all, but as I don't have long to go I think I'm starting to stress the small stuff as the days draw nearer...

ANY advice will be GREATLY appreciated :yes:

Cheers all, ava good one :D

oleander
19-11-2010, 23:33
I've only bought one box. They are easy to buy or get someone else to pick up a box for you on their way over so I wouldn't buy more than one box before the baby is born.

My DD was in them for about 6 weeks and she was born weighing 7lb1oz

It really depends how big your baby is when its born.

deany
19-11-2010, 23:34
it really depends on the size of your bub i had a 9.6 kg bub id say we used about 300 nappys before she outgrew them with a few left over(though she did lose lots of weight straight away down to 8.5 kg) my 10 month old and my 2 yr old can both wear the 10-15 kilo nappys so it all depends on the size of your bub!if cost is an issue i dont mind the comfy bots from coles ($17 dollars for 52 pack) or the baby love if their is left over nappys salvos can use them in their emergency relief center!

pandapantz
19-11-2010, 23:47
Yeah I've got 1 box of 144, 1 bag of 28 & the 40 odd we got given...

I know the kids not gonna go through THAT many in a day or a week, but I'm just a worrier lol... seems like a pretty silly question now I think of it hahaha....

Thankyou for your help :D

pandapantz
19-11-2010, 23:50
I thought of donating any possible left overs, but wasn't sure where to donate them too. There's always places that need them, but I never actually though of the Salvo's Emergency Relief Centre!

You're a superstar for mentioning them... They're top of my list now, I would've had to google places haha.

I think I'll leave it at what I've got for now ;)

Thankyou for your help :)

4fullstop
20-11-2010, 01:01
As others have said depends on the size of your baby. My DS is almost 4 months & still in newborn nappies :)

If you do buy too many boxes (I always go overboard stocking up when they're on sale :laughing:) you can take any unopened boxes back to wherever you bought them & swap them for the size you need. I've done this even without the receipts - so long as the boxes haven't been opened, there's no reason they shouldn't let you do a straight swap. You could even say - "DH bought the wrong size" :laughing:

trishalishous
20-11-2010, 01:34
DD would still fit a newborn disposable (we use cloth) in an emergency, at 6months, 7kg and 70cm.
she was born 9lb 12oz

trishalishous
20-11-2010, 01:43
it really depends on the size of your bub i had a 9.6 kg bub id say we used about 300 nappys before she outgrew them with a few left over(though she did lose lots of weight straight away down to 8.5 kg) my 10 month old and my 2 yr old can both wear the 10-15 kilo nappys

9.6 kilograms! that's a typo right? isn't that like 20lb, and wasn't there a 19lb baby in Indonesia with the world record?

deany
20-11-2010, 01:48
yes so sorry i meant pounds or 4. Something kg i was so exhausted when i wrote this!

trishalishous
20-11-2010, 01:52
phew!!!
I was imagining your labour with a giant that size!!!
(though DHs grandfather told me at 8 months preg how he was 14lb (hes 90 now, still running 2000acres, 6foot 4inches tall, and a solid bloke)-DH joked that I'd never have married him if I'd known that! :laughing:

Pippy&Woof
01-12-2010, 11:08
You never really know how many u'll need. For DD I went through so many newborn nappies, she was in them for months. I used many boxes and packets etc, and only had a few left over. She was 3.4kg at birth. But for DS, he was 4kg at birth and grew so rapidly I barely got through one box! Needless to say I have plenty of newborn nappies left over for when we have our next baby.

MagicalLeopluradon
01-12-2010, 11:17
Yeah it really does depend on the size of your bub, DS1 was 7lbs 6oz born and 3 weeks early so a good size for being early but he gained very quickly and was probably in newborn for about hmm 2-3 weeks I cant remember now really, DS2 was 8lbs 6.5oz and was in them for about 4 weeks I think.

cluckymummy89
17-12-2010, 15:26
DD was 7lb 13oz & was only in newborn for about 3weeks. I just bought 1 box at a time. you never know when they will have a growth spurt, or how much they will grow!!

CrashBangMummy
17-12-2010, 15:43
I was told by EVERYONE to get three boxes of newborns. (we had huggies). The good thing is that if u don't use them all, you can swap a box for another size or pass any left overs to others.
3 was perfect for us.

AliG
17-12-2010, 20:14
My DD2 went through heaps as she is a slow grower and a 12 months only just over7kg She can still fit in the Huggies infant nappies but we put her in crawler for comfort