View Full Version : Questions?????
Should newborns have a set routine???
If so what was your routine??? Eat sleep bath ect???
Should newborns (1 week old) have awake
time???
When do i introduce tummy time?
When do bubbies stop falling asleep at the
breast???
I'm doing formula top ups 30mls. To heat up
or room temp??? I've been doing previously boiled water at room temp???
My boys eat sleep ear sleep all day but at night won't sleep are restless hungry all the time any ideas???
Yes! Unless you want them to drive you mad:D
I wasn't hugely strict on routine per se - but I was hugely on the twins being in a routine together - so they ate at the same time, slept at the same time, tummy time at the same time.
you can start tummy time whever you want - we used to give the babies a baby massage when they were little. Too cute!
Get them used to room temperature bottles if you can mate - trust me - you don't want to be out and about trying to find somewhere to heat up bottles!
shockinamillion
17-11-2010, 20:07
Should newborns have a set routine??? Not so much set, but a similar cycle helps. It helped with us.
If so what was your routine??? Eat sleep bath ect??? Wake up, feed, change, cuddles, sleep, rinse and repeat! We did a bath whenever it suited us and at first they did not have a "bedtime".
time??? Probably not heaps. They might stay awake for a little bit after each feed for cuddles and a little tummy time.
When do i introduce tummy time? We started when they were holding their own heads up a bit better, we started with a little bit (30 seconds or so) on the change table or on our chests while we leaned back and gradually worked it up.
breast??? Not sure, depends on the baby I guess.
or room temp??? I've been doing previously boiled water at room temp??? I would try and get bubs used to room temp. Nightmarish having two crying at you when you need 2 bottles warmed up!
My boys eat sleep ear sleep all day but at night won't sleep are restless hungry all the time any ideas??? Brighten up the area for day sleeps a little and have extra coos and cuddles during the day and a set bedtime routine. We used to feed, wrap, in their cot/s, soft music on, goodnight and shut the door. They also had dummies though from being in special care and were already used to day and night time by then. My two STILL fall asleep to their music. Same CD and they love it. It is Indian flutes and singing, so nice.
At a week old they are still so new, they will learn night from day and it will start to smooth out (and feel somewhat like groundhog day!) in time.
One thing we always did though was stick to our feed, change sleep cycle no matter where we were. We would go shopping or to dinner or anywhere while they were newborn and take them all over and even now they are good to go out places, it does not mess up their routine or set them out of sorts.
Sheer Bliss
17-11-2010, 20:26
Routines are a personal preference. Some people think bubs do better on a routine, others go with demand - it depends on how your personality type handles the unknown v routine. We had no set routine, but as others have said, I kept them doing the same thing as much as possible, so if one woke up, I woke the other and tandem fed. Then put both to sleep at the same time. DS was a little more clingy for the first 12weeks so he often got a booby top-up after DD went to bed. My 2 still wake at the same time each morning for their only tandem breast feed, thankfully this is 7:30am, not 5:30 anymore!!!
Night-time we always did a b/f, bath, nappy-free/naked time on a towel with a bit of a chat, then another b/f after the play/chat and off to bed (and then usually another wake around 10, 1, 4 and 7 (give or take an hour!)
Mixing up nighttime and daytime is really common in newborns. They feel more secure at night because it is darker and quieter than the day -much more like the environment inside the womb. They will probably settle in around 5-6weeks and be more wakeful in the day. Also - night feeding (particularly around 2-3am) has been shown to produce more of the hormones that help with milk production, so the first 6weeks, they feed at night so much more to help with supply. Avoid top-ups at night if at all possible, as it will help your supply long term.
Tummy-time - whenever they are awake for long enough to do it. Earlier is better, but it's not the worst thing in the world to leave it until a bit later. earlier is better, but don't stress about it.
ETA: top-ups - room temp is best if they can handle it (sometimes it can give them an upset tummy if it is a big difference to their body temp. Having been only breastfed, DD1 has a bottle at night now and goes crazy and won't drink it if it is not warm. If you are keen to stop the top-ups with formula - doing extra top-up feeds on the breast in the first 6weeks is the best time to do it. (if that is what you want). It will help your supply build faster and then you can ditch the hassle of washing bottles as well as breastfeeding. (just my personal opinion on the hassle - I am soooo lazy, so anything that reduces the load was good for me :))
Timestwo
18-11-2010, 16:42
[QUOTE=Bubs4Me;5335918]Should newborns have a set routine??? We had a routine. I found by having one I could plan my escapes from the house easier and meant I didnt get stuck (too often) out and about with 2 babies screaming because they needed to feed at the same time. We were flexible though and tried to follow tired signs but I tried to keep both babies
in synch with each other. So feed one, feed the other. Change one, change the other. Both to sleep at the same time etc
If so what was your routine??? Eat sleep bath ect???
Due to their low birth weights, they were on schedualed feeds so for the first month or 2 were fed 3hourly around the clock. I couldnt feed them any more often as they would get too tired to take enough in and I couldnt leave it any later as they would get too weak to wake for feeds (according to the Paed at the hospital) Once they reached 3kg we just continued with it until they were feeding every 4hrly or therabouts. We did feed, play sleep.
time???
Nope not really at that age. Feeding is tiring work and takes time. For a good month or 2, all they did was feed and sleep.
When do i introduce tummy time?
We did it from pretty much 1 month old and now have 2 extremely strong fellows who were crawling before 6 months and walking at 10 months.
breast??? We didnt bf but it took a good month or 2 before they would stop falling asleep during a bottle feed. We used to get them up and strip them down, feed and then when they fell asleep, change their nappy to wake them up again and then keep feeding. We were pretty strict on intake as they needed it for weight gain
or room temp??? I've been doing previously boiled water at room temp??? Room temp is fine. We did room temp every day and heated the bed time feed. It didnt take long before we just did room temp feeds. Makes it easier when out and about and you don't need a bottle heated up
My boys eat sleep ear sleep all day but at night won't sleep are restless hungry all the time any ideas??? Sounds like they have night and day mixed up. Feed in the bright light of the day, make lots of noise and take them outside in the sunlight. Do the opposite at night, feed in dark/dim light, very quiet, no stimulation etc