View Full Version : How munch do you spend on birthday gifts?

A Party of Five
31-08-2006, 16:34
Hi There, I have my best freinds DD first birthday party in a couple of weeks time. And heaps more birthdays in the next couple of months. And would like no know how munch you spend on the gift. And what you would buy. I have already have a ID bracelet of ebay (giftsofoz) that was $15.00. Or should I get her a little something eles to go with it?

What do you think?

moomoosmummy
31-08-2006, 16:42
personally i think that $15 to $20 is a good amount. it also depends the person aswell wether its your dds friends or if you are very close.

Melo
31-08-2006, 16:44
I usually spend between $20 and $30 on children. $30 to $50 on adults :)

Ana Gram
31-08-2006, 17:13
We are on a tight budget but I never ever go by price. I usually manage to find something that the person will like for under $20. It really is the thought that counts.

31-08-2006, 17:21
usually around 20-30

MissSparkle
31-08-2006, 23:33
Depends on who it's for.

For my best friend and family I'd spend around $50 but then again I may find something on sale and buy it for only $30.....

If my best friend had kids I'd probably spend around $50 but it depends on ur budget

oleander
31-08-2006, 23:35
I said around $40. I know you have the bracelet but maybe you could buy a toy aswell.

Jem
31-08-2006, 23:40
Id love to go overboard.. but our budget just doesnt allow me to :(
depends on the person really... not all nice things cost big bucks..

subaruforestermum
31-08-2006, 23:47
I bought an old friends 4 yo daughter an entire outfit from Big W, shirt, shorts and a pair of disney princess sunnies, for $20 or just over...... and its a great gift as they seem to think you spent a lot of money

cwsmum
31-08-2006, 23:48
I usually spend about $20 for b'day pressies for kids, doesn't matter if it's family or not. Adults usually around the same, sometimes more, depends on who they are and what we get them.
Also, because between DH & I we have some 40-odd people to buy chrissy & b'day pressies for each year we make sure if we spend heaps on a b'day pressie then that person gets something small at chrissy...or the other way round.

poppet
01-09-2006, 11:30
It depends on who it is, but usually around the $30 mark will get something nice, I always keep my eye out for things on special during the year and just put them away, for instanace i got my mum for mothers day a $100 jumper that was reduced to $25. The person receiving the gift doesn't know how much you have spent and all about the thought that goes into it.

~Danni~
01-09-2006, 11:38
I think it totally depends on the person, hardly anyone in my family has spent over $5 on our bubs so we do the same for there kids (just they way our family 'works') but we have some close friends who spoilt US and DD when she was born and for christmas and for them we have no quams with spending around the $100 mark...

I am not one to say well if you don't get me somthing 'good' then I won't get you somthing good, I just use other people's judgment as a benchmark for what THEY think is acceptable then go with that:D

A Party of Five
01-09-2006, 11:48
I said around $40. I know you have the bracelet but maybe you could buy a toy aswell.

Was think about a Jemima Doll, from Play School.

SnowedUnder
01-09-2006, 11:53
Just on my side of the family, I have 2 sisters & a brother, then their partners & kids etc. To prevent it getting out of hand we set the limit at $20. Sometimes we put in together to put towards a bigger thing that the person may want, but usually only $20. Every one has birthdays, & Christmas, then there's mothers & fathers day, it goes on & on & gets ridiculous - who can afford it! We do spend more than that on our own kids & partners.

shell13
01-09-2006, 13:59
[quote=ATD-FAH;611969]If it was my best friend's child or the child of a close friend or relative then I would be spending around the $50.00 mark but that's just me.

The above goes for me as well, for my kids friends birthday parties I usually spend about $30 on those which is proberbly over generous but I don't like to feel cheap!

Cheekychops
01-09-2006, 14:04
I would love to spend $50 but the reality is I can't so probably around $15 - but I usually buy when things are on special so only spend about $15 but might get up to $30 value iykwim..... depends on who it is too, having said that I spend more on neices. I more go by what I've bought than how much I've spent.

A Party of Five
01-09-2006, 14:04
Hi There, With the ID bracelet of ebay (seller giftsofoz) that was $15.00 and the Jemima Doll (Play School) $25. I think will be ok. Poor thing has no dolls at all! Thanks for your input.

Bubble*Crazy
01-09-2006, 14:18
I normally spend between $20-$30.

The $25 is about what I would spend (I always go overboard though!).

QTB
01-09-2006, 23:37
i put $20 - but again, it depends who it is... how close we are to them etc... my sisters baby (due in 2 weeks) iv spent $100's on yet my friend had a baby not long ago and i spend $60.... (mind you my sister is 18 and struggling otherwise it wouldnt have been quite as much as it was!!)

EskimoMumma
01-09-2006, 23:39
Last bday party we attended we spent almost 70 dollars

(and if your reading this, now you know! :O)

SilverStarfish
02-09-2006, 08:09
Like most people have said, it depends on who the gift is for.

NZMama
02-09-2006, 09:10
I would spend anywhere up to $30 for a best friends child, however if I manage to find something really nice for less I wouldnt say 'oh I havent spent $30 though' and then feel obligated to buy something else till I reached that total.
If the bracelet is really nice then I honestly wouldnt bother buying anything more. At that age its more about the parents than the child anyway.

02-09-2006, 20:38
The bracelet sounds fine- If you start adding more to the gift simply to make it worth more, you start to set up awkward expectations with the other parents about what they have to spend on your kids... it can get a bit silly. I would deliberatly stick with the bracelet only, it sounds lovely.

03-09-2006, 13:16
I think that $15-20 is enough to spend

04-09-2006, 08:19
I don't usually out a price to things, but most things I get for close friends tend to be between 30-50.