View Full Version : Beginner help to sew MCN's

YMo7
10-11-2010, 11:11
I have a lovely friend (who I met through bubhub) eho is making me some newborn nappies, however, I have heard they are easy to make providing you have basic sewing skills...

I can sew the basics - fix things, make dresses, skirts, pants, shorts, curtains, etc... (i even made a little red riding hood outfit for my DD and a big bad wolf outfit disguised as grandma once) ... so if i can do all that, can I sew an MCN?

If your answer is yes, what do I do? Where do I start? Is there a website or someone who can talk me through?

Where do I find templates?

I want to make fitted AIO with sewn in or snap in booster... (I am familiar with snaps)

Is the elastic bit hard to do?

I don't have an overlocker - do I need one?

Please help! :)

YMo7
10-11-2010, 11:43
anyone??? :D

Chunkydunks
10-11-2010, 11:56
I'll try answer all of your questions.

If you do a google search of nappy patterns a few different ones will come up. I've been using mainly Very Baby and Little Comet Tails patterns. They both come with clear instructions. You don't need an overlocker. All of the fabrics won't fray so it's not a big issue. The elastic can be a bit tricky but any pattern you get will give you step by step instructions on doing it that are pretty easy.

You sound like you have a bit of skill so I don't see the nappies being too difficult for you at all.

CMF
10-11-2010, 12:52
They are easy to make.

You don't need an overlocker- zig zag will do fine.

Elastic is easy IMO, just zig zag it on while stretching as much as you can.

As far as patterns go, there's afew free ones around. I like to make a mock one (just out of flannelette- ie cheap), then try it on bub (if you have one around yet) and then see what I liked and dislike about the fit, changed the pattern abit, then re-do another mock one. Then you can go ahead and make lots of the pattern you have perfected. :)

Lots of websites have step by step pics too, which is great when you're first starting. I can't remember any of the sites though, sorry. :o

Good luck.
My fav nappies to make were snap in AI2's or snap in fitteds, so sounds the same as what you want to make. They're good fun!

YMo7
10-11-2010, 13:45
ok - i found a template that i like and i want to use....

so now i am ready to buy the PUL to make them waterproof and my bamboo or hemp to give them absorbancy.

but there are so many different types of bamboo and hemp. how do i know what one to get?

also, is there anything else that you use besides hemp and bamboo that are just as good?

Chunkydunks
10-11-2010, 15:21
I use the bamboo and hemp fleece. I also use microfibre. Bamboo and hemp are really good at holding liquid. Microfibre is really quick at absorbing but doesn't hold it too well. Combined they make a great insert. Bamboo is that bit more absorbent than hemp.

Benji
10-11-2010, 15:25
There's an amazingly helpful youtube video. Just type "how to sew MCN" and her name is Grace Diaries (I think, something to do with Grace anyway) it's a 2 part video. It's really good!

If you go to Nappies covered (dot com dot au :p) she sells nappy making kits, which comes with all the PUL, velcro etc you will need to make one nappy and you can buy snaps from her if you prefer snaps.

Boobycino
10-11-2010, 15:30
Best thing for a novice like me was YouTube!!!!

I found one which I made lovely little pocket nappies, in 2 days I sewed about 8 of them. + bamboo inserts.

I watched a few vids on how to make aio or covers but didn't have pul fabric and I have bambino mio covers that'll fit the pocket nappies I made perfectly on like a 6 month old baby ;)

They are really quite cute.

And will be perfect for our next Bub as I made them too small - d'oh.

InSaneOne
10-11-2010, 16:11
i make fleece or pul pockets. i slightly adapted the weeweka pattern that i printed off the computer after downloading it for free. i use snaps (managed to get a good deal on a machine but there are places that will do them for you) but you can use applix/velcro.

i use 2 layers of ploar fleece on the outside and 1 layer of micro fleece for the inner. i straight sew all the way around (with the pocket inside out) and then 3-step zigzag the elastic on. there are heaps of online tutorials and step-by-step guides. it is pretty easy to do on fleece as it is more forgiving on mistakes and uneven sewing than pul is.

Anyanka
24-10-2011, 10:36
The last time I sewed was in yr 7 home economics. I couldn't sew straight to save my life.

I think I would be better as an adult. Do you think I could sew an MCN?? I can't be that bad as an adult surely. lol

shabbychook
04-12-2011, 18:00
There is a facebook group that is called http://www.facebook.com/groups/103526709741676/ How to make modern cloth nappies and Woolies, and it is for everyone and has so much information, I am a beginner too but have been with the group for a few weeks now and it is full of so much info and the mums are so handy even with silly questions, even things to do with your tension on the sewing machine. Worth looking at.:)