View Full Version : March 2007 thread #2

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5

Frangi
14-10-2006, 03:22 PM
Hi All!

Annsam- wow that lady sounds like she has had such a rough time .... thank god your there to take care of her. I am seriously considering talking to DH about a doula! Also thanks again for the info you gave me...if only I could put down the ice blocks long enough to do some serious research today.

It is soooo hot here. I had my sister's three kids from 8 this morning and thankfully we have a pool because that kept them out of my hair except for the baby. My sister's DD (16 mnths) is very cute, she even slept in the bean bag for an hour and 45 mins which was great.

Is anyone else having trouble eating in this heat? I just want to eat ice blocks and am worried about the baby... DH is off to make me some lunch but all I want is ice!

Sorry if TMI but today I have had a brown coloured discharge..not too much but enough to be worried. I have been feeling quite strong growing pains down there and am hoping that this is somehow connected to that and might be normal??? I did spot for almost the first 8-10 weeks of my PG.

Well on that happy note...I'm off to find somewhere cool!

AquaDevil78
14-10-2006, 03:43 PM
LT - Congratulations on your gorgeous little toad, very very cute indeed!! Made my heart melt seeing that little clip , and makes me more excited to see mine in 16 days time.. not that im counting LOL! Very cute nose indeed, what a clear picture.

Is it just me getting confused or is there a lot of March mums with Anterior placenta's? Im wondering if i also have one now, seeing as i don't seem to be feeling much, but then it could still be too early so i'll just have to be patient and see. Just seems to be more common that i thought they where is all... do they move? or if you have an anterior it means C/s?? (Maybe a stupid question) or is that only when it is lying accross the cervix... arrrgh confusing!!

Who else was due for a scan the same day as LT?? Hope they are ok...were dying to know :fingerscrossed: .

Well there where no houses for us to look at today :banghead: , all the R.E's i called last week told me to call next week as new on market and no opens yet... im really starting to panick about finding somewhere now.. as is Dp, its not that we wont have a heap to apply for, its the fact that you have to comepete with other applicants, or get picky landlords who only want retiree's or older couples... WHICH SUCKS! I know we have excellent ref's from current and last Real Estate as i have been told, and income isnt an issue... etc so just damn competion!!! Arrrggggggh :banghead: .

Anyhoo enough whinging! Please send me some new house vibes, or pray or something :thumbsup: .

Take care all!

RTCsMum
14-10-2006, 04:46 PM
Annsam - Just a quick update for the first page. Our bump is due on the 21/03 and our scan is on the 25th of Oct and I am finding out!!

Have a good weekend everyone!

annsam
14-10-2006, 05:28 PM
[B]
Is it just me getting confused or is there a lot of March mums with Anterior placenta's? Im wondering if i also have one now, seeing as i don't seem to be feeling much, but then it could still be too early so i'll just have to be patient and see. Just seems to be more common that i thought they where is all... do they move? or if you have an anterior it means C/s?? (Maybe a stupid question) or is that only when it is lying accross the cervix... arrrgh confusing!!

Anterior placenta doesn't mean c/s - just means the placenta has attached to the front instead of the top. Sometimes the placenta is very low causing placenta previa (sp) which means it covers the cervix but as your tummy growns the placenta usually (but not always) moves up with it. If it is still covering the cervix at about 36 weeks then yes, it means c/s as baby has no way to get out. The only real complication to look out for with anterior placenta if you haven't had a c/s in the past is that babies tend to curl around the placeta so your baby may be posterior so some closer to due date, make sure you lean forward a lot and no slouching back on the cough. Thats about the gist of it really.

Thanks Frangi. Im going to stop bleating about her now as Ive whinged enough lately I realised.:o Just venting.

Elmopalooza
14-10-2006, 06:22 PM
Hi Girls!!

:laughing: sorry bout keeping you all in suspense for so long... i stayed at my sisters last nite (went there after the scan)... Well everything went great!! It was sooo good to see our bubba! Bub was all snuggled up and didnt really want to be seen at all BUT we were able to see that its a BOY!!! Yay!!! I was right!! We were hoping on a boy too!! DP is stoked! I just have to copy the dvd for him now so that i can send it up to him!

I will change my avatar in a sec to my fave u/s pic!!

LT - Congrats on your scan!! toadlet looks adorable!!!

jaimie
14-10-2006, 06:28 PM
Congratulations Lana on your baby boy!!!
How exciting!!! Now you will have the perfect little pair!! Sorry i bet you will get that a lot now!:laughing: So glad to hear he is all healthy and everything looks good! I have been checking in all day waiting for your news!

Elmopalooza
14-10-2006, 06:34 PM
Hehe thanks hun!!! The view of my avatar pic basically looking straight up at his bum! I dont think i need to explain anything else lol!

jaimie
14-10-2006, 06:38 PM
Defintely a boy!!! Great view!:laughing:

defaipe
14-10-2006, 07:00 PM
CONGRATULATIONS LANA on your BUBBY BOY!!
love the pic :D :laughing:
so glad all is well, its such a huge relief isnt it.

annsam now that youve said the whole anterior placenta thingy when i was having my u/s they said the placenta is toward the front but never mentioned it being anterior.. i asked if that was a prob and they said no its only if its over the cervix or low. i just dont remember them even commenting either other time about it being to the front.. :confused:

jaimie i've been constantly checking today too! about time you fronted up lana! just joking hehe!:wave:

Frangi
14-10-2006, 07:36 PM
CONGRATS LANA ON YOUR BUBBA BOY!!! WHAT A CUTE PICTURE!

firsttime
14-10-2006, 07:39 PM
great picture lana - so glad to hear you had a good scan :yes:

thanks annsam for taking care of the front page for us ( i am useless!).

Little_Toad
14-10-2006, 09:41 PM
yeah for Amity'sMum... Your little boy is so photogenic!!

Glad he's healthy. xx

15-10-2006, 07:21 AM
Congrats Lana and Mrs M on your beautiful boys:yelclap:

Well we had the roadtrip from hell yesterday!
Wyong birthing centre changed my booking in dates so we went their yesterday (we were suppose to look for houses to move into....didnt happen)

Wyong Bcentre is really nice though, lovely birthing rooms with a huge spa and lovely private court yard in each room.....and all the rooms are single with own bathroom (thankgod, last time i shared with four other ladies!)

Anyway back to our hellish car trip......poor O started barking on friday night, no he didnt turn into a dog lol I think he has croup:eek:
So we took him to the doctors and they said he has an Upper respirtory infection and to give him ventolin (personally i still think its croup) BUT not sure what the difference is??? any one know?

When we got O out at wyong BCentre he vomitted everywhere....pretty sure it was the heat and car sickness.
BUT he vomitted twice more so instead of having a nice night at DH's cousins house (laying by the pool sipping unalcoholic drinkees) we travelled home and spent the night administering ventolin to a sick toddler who took up the whole of our bed!

His so bad at taking the ventolin (coz it makes him go crazy and he hates it) so i m off to buy one of those FUNHALER's that are supposed to make it FUN to take those awful steroids! we'll see.....

Hope everyone is well and happy!

Sxx

annsam
15-10-2006, 08:46 AM
Morning girls.

Sarah, Sams had croup Thursday night. I got steroids for him Friday but didn't reoccure - jsut a cold now. Croup affect the windpipe and inflames it, swells it and can restrict breathing (hence the bark). Upper respiratory tract infection is the upper part of the respiratory system being upper lungs & windpipe. It may be that he wasn't barking enough for her to diagnose croup so went for infection. Ventolin is a dillator so should help. Sorry he has been sick.

Glad the birthing centre was nice. Doesn't sounda thing like the blacktown hospital one which is 3 rooms on the maternity ward.

Shezi, it may be that you didn't have an anterior placenta the other times. It just depends on where it burrows into the uterine wall with each pregnancy or that it was high so no issue. Anterior means front so if she said its towards the front then its towards the anterior. Doesn't sound like its an issue re covering the cervix as they only move up - not down. All sounds good.:thumbsup:

Lana, congrats on your BOY! Seems as most of us are having the opposite to last time (except shezi who ruined that theory), maybe my theory that Im having a girl is right. Oh well, find out tomorrow.:yes:

Not much on today. DH is cooking a big breakie then off to the shops - craving mango. Need to buy a potty and a tonne of birthday cards. Why everyone has their birthday this month I'll never know. Its truely inconvenient. :D

Have a good day.

defaipe
15-10-2006, 09:36 AM
annsam what about mumtoryan+1? i feel she should take part blame for ruining your theory also!:D :laughing:
there are a lot of pigeon pairs happening isnt there?? i just cant wait for everyone elses scans.. it still feels like im waiting for mine coz i want everyone elses results hehe. you must be really excited though! finding out tomorrow :smiliedance:
on my parents side all their grankids (soon to be 10) are born between november and march(only extends to march with this little one). its really bad coz then throw in christmas and its a shocking time for money! we are always broke around christmas oh and my mums birthday is boxing day hubbys mums is christmas day! my dads is october 2nd and his dads is jan 2nd! clearly there are a few distinct fertile months! haha

nemosmum :eek: sharing with 4 other girls!! gosh that'd suck to have to wait your turn for the shower! *i do wish the hospital im going to had a spa!*
cant help you with the croup we had to rush dd#2 to the hospital a few months back and all i heard was the nurse say croup and she took off with our baby to the ward! hubby was still parking the car.. thankfully hers calmed down so they werent even sure if thats what she had or not. freaked me out though. i hate the cough.. scary stuff!!
couldnt they give him something else to fight the infection?? just doesnt seem fair that O has to get so distressed.. or that you have to watch!!

anyway thats all from me this morning.. im trying to learn how to upload pics.. any help???

15-10-2006, 03:08 PM
Thanks Anna and Shezi your support is always welcome:hugs:

Anna, yep I told the doc (just some random at a medical centre up the coast) that he was barking all night and he responded with "well he isnt barking now" as if i was exagerating or something! um der! They are always worse at night!

As ive gone through asthma episodes with O before and have asthma myself im pretty sure its croup as its a totally different cough.
Will head down to my gp tomorrow and it looks like i'll be off this week from work ARGH pity i have no more sick leave!

Anna- glad to hear Sam's didnt last long
Shezi- hmm yes i was hoping for antibiotics rather then the steroids yuk hate that stuff!

Hope everyne else is enjoying their weekend...im off to try and clean this house of mine before DH gets home with the food shopping.

Anna- Goodluck with your ultrasound tomorrow........are you going to find out the sex or leave us all hanging?! hehehe
Sxx

annsam
15-10-2006, 04:18 PM
Anna, yep I told the doc (just some random at a medical centre up the coast) that he was barking all night and he responded with "well he isnt barking now" as if i was exagerating or something! um der! They are always worse at night!

As ive gone through asthma episodes with O before and have asthma myself im pretty sure its croup as its a totally different cough.
Will head down to my gp tomorrow and it looks like i'll be off this week from work ARGH pity i have no more sick leave!

Argh. I hate it when your own GP isn't available. The ones you never see often just dont believe you.:no: My GP takes me on my word and when I said to her "he barked last night albeit not too bad, give me some steroids incase it gets worse tonight cause I dont want to bring him back over the weekend" she did. He then gave a little seal bark so she confirmed he did sound croupy. No other GP would have given them to me though on how he sounded at the time I asked for them. Sams had it once before and his breathing was so laboured. Mums definitely know when its croup - theres no mistaking the sound is there. Can't believe they weren't more dilligent with it especially with asthma. :banghead: Oh I sympathise.

A nothing day here today. Brought lots of fruit, made myself a nice fruit platter and Sam ate the lot. Oh well, could be worse.

Thanks for the well wishes 4 tomorrow. Cant wait!! Im convinced its a girl, DH thinks boy but I guess we'll know in a few long hours. Dont mind either way, just cant wait to find out and have it be a real little person. Now Ive got all the "what if somethings wrong throughts" creeping in too. YOu know how it is.

Hope everyone is having a nice day. Though its cooler here today its so muggy. YUCK.

Caithi
15-10-2006, 09:50 PM
Shezi.. Try www.bellybutton.com.au (http://www.bellybutton.com.au/) or bellamaternity - they have nice ones.

Annsam – you sound like the best doula to have in the world!! Can I borrow you please? Can I PM you the name of mine just to see if you have heard of her and if so any feed back? :idea: Mangos are my crack at the moment too & frozen grapes. Yummy!

Frangi – Im not too sure about anything as its my first but I have had a lot of cramping ( which turned out to be my abs stretching) but no discharge. Can you call your Dr.?

Aqua – :fingerscrossed: with finding a property. Hopefully the right one will come along very soon.

Amitysmum – CONGRATULATIONS!!!!

Nemo – Great to hear thar you are happy with your bc, and I STILL hate taking my ventolin lol – maybe I should get a Funhaler too. Fingers crossed for a realistic diagnosis, surely they should listen to you!

DHs bday bbq on Friday night spent with all the inlaws (and extended inlaws family) commenting on how it’s a boy because all of my weight is in my bum! Excellent… thanks for that. Lol

Today went to mall with FIL to get DH bday present and he took me to babies galore to give us a $2000 cot, turn toddler bed, turn day bed, turn king single bed 4 in 1 thing! OMG! :eek: Still stunned at that.

Oh I have a posterior not anterior placenta – lol got that one wrong – have an anterior tear. Something completely different.

Sytill no movement but heaps of deadly farts lol - anyone else have this?

CONGRATULATIONS to all of the mummies who have had their scans. How exiting to have so many healthy happy babies and bumps!

Excellent photos too!

:hugs: to you! Hope you have a great week! C

annsam
16-10-2006, 05:27 AM
Can I PM you the name of mine just to see if you have heard of her and if so any feed back?

Absolutely!

Well I hardly slept a wink all night. Im so nervous about my scan. Abnormally so. Plus a very good friend of mine has really p*ssed me off so Im stewing a bit so that would have added to the insomnia :o . DS had an hours coughing fit at about 11pm - poor darlin'.

Had a huge amount of cervical pressure last night. Felt like gravity trying to suck everything out. Wasn't terribly worried as I could still feel baby and no leaking but it was getting concerning. Good excuse to leave DH with dinner and dishes while I put my feet up with some chocky. :D

Oh well, 5 hours to go. Have a great day girls!

16-10-2006, 06:17 AM
Caithi- WOW your FIL sounds brillant, wanna swap?

The most mines ever given us was a second hand car seat um yeah i really want to trust my precious bubs with a 2nd hand one:no: NOT

Anna- hopefully you can sneak in a nap before your U/S:sleeping:

LT- Forgot to answer one of your Q's about playing music to bubs....

We played a cd called Celtic Dreaming to O (its a mixture of celtic and Aboriginal music so perfect for us lol)I played it so much i broke our cd player!
I planned to play it at the birth too but that didnt work out.
O listened to it for sleep time music once born as well.
I will start playing it soon to lil' Iris!

Last night while watching Aussie Idol she went crazy when jess mauboy was singing (yes im an idol fan lol:o ) wouldnt stop squirming around,

Well O had a long sleep last night, not much coughing and no barking so hopefully his getting better.....woke at 5am seems lethargic so will still head to my doc this morning, works going to LOVE me NOT!

Chat later
sxx

Little_Toad
16-10-2006, 06:37 AM
nemo'smum, you've got a groovin' dancing little girl!

Good luck Annsam! Hope your baby is 100% healthy

Caithi
16-10-2006, 09:10 AM
Caithi- WOW your FIL sounds brillant, wanna swap?

Ill earn every cent of it.. lol... so yes please... swapsies! JK

Its bought a lic. to say and do whatever, whenever but maybe its a peace offering!:fingerscrossed: :fingerscrossed: I hope he sees DH & myself as a family now and this is his way of saying sorry. :thumbsup:

defaipe
16-10-2006, 09:22 AM
annsam goodluck today!! i have a dr appt this afternoon so i'll finally be getting my forms to book into hospital.. i still have my :fingerscrossed: that the hospital around the corner opens up the maternity ward but seeing though its less than 5months away that i'll need it i dont like my chances. whats the bet they'll open in june or something! :banghead: oh well as long as i can go there next time :D *lets not tell hubby i said that*

thanx for that link caithi im going to have a look once i've posted this. i've found some really nice stuff at www.mangojammaternity.com.au and they sell their clothes on ebay too. i love the look of the dresses over white pants.. im not looking forward to this wedding actually.. my hubby is in the wedding party and i hardly know anyone although hubbys parents have been invited but they might be working away. its just the wedding is at like 2pm and reception not till 6pm and its about an hour from where i live so mum is having the kids but i think im going to come home in between the wedding and reception coz hubby will be off having photos and what not and i've been given the option of "waiting" till they finish or go off with other people i hardly know for 3&1/2hours. i choose neither.. i mean they've gone all out and having the full on church wedding and i have nothing against that or how they're going about it.. after all it is their day. i just know im gonna be exhausted..
im just a whinger :laughing:
i've seen those cots you're talking about.. they look great!! that was lovely of your FIL, i hope he got discount though!!

nemosmum i hope this means O's on the up and up and will be terrorising around the house again soon. doing what kids do best hehe.
i hate seeing my kids unwell.. always amazes me when they get better though coz they just dont dwell on it.. they're up and running a muck as soon as they can be!

i saw a thread on here earlier about cesareans and i dont know it took me back a bit.. it was for elective ones.. and i felt terrible coz everything they were talking about like people saying "its major abdominal surgery" its something i've said coz bottom line well it is! i realise everyone has a choice and without a doubt if i ever needed an emergency cs i would never have a vbac.. i just couldnt imagine 'choosing' to have a c/s.. there is no way i think its the easy way out.. yes vb are tough but assuming all goes well you're up and about as soon as you want, i fed both my girls and jumped in the shower.. it was such an amazing feeling, you're on such a high... i'd hate to be in recovery for an hour not being with bub.
i dont want to start any arguments or anything i guess maybe i just dont understand and see it more as vain that girls are scared to push a baby out and are scared of the damage 'down there' so much they'd rather they're stomach cut.. i am definately not against c/s, i think its amazing and more than necessary in some births, i just wondered where it came in as the normal thing to do whereas it used to be an emergency thing..

Caithi
16-10-2006, 09:42 AM
Shezi - That pink floral dress/top looks divine! You should get it!:yelclap: (You might look better than the bride though!:laughing: )

I have been to weddings like that too. I have always gone though because after a couple of drinks then you usually make friends with everyone lol:smiliedance: but being pregnant ( Im not drinking ) I think I would go home too. Its hard to chat to people after a few drinks ( 3hrs worth ) when you are completely sober. JMO.:thumbsup:

16-10-2006, 10:07 AM
I second caithi's pick...the pink floral is so fresh :p

BUT whats up with that model???? she looks weird:eek: OR maybe its just me????

jaimie
16-10-2006, 10:51 AM
Its a GIRL!!!!!
Everything looks great on the scan and she was so wriggly!
Sonographer wasnt 100% sure but we saw the 3 lines a few times and she said she cant see anything else so its looks like its a girl! We are so happy! Dh especially because we wont have to buy all new clothes!:laughing:

tazzystone
16-10-2006, 10:58 AM
Congrats Jazzysmum on your little girl and goodluck Annsam, cant wait to hear more baby gender news.
I've looked over and over my scan pics but cant pick anything up. Not that I want to but its fun trying.

I just updated my tummy timeline so I hope it works.

Must fly

Little_Toad
16-10-2006, 11:03 AM
jazzy'sMum.. that's fantastic news!!

So what do we have now?

3 girls.. 3 or 4 boys 3 unknowns.??

Shezi.. I like the floral dress but I don't get the dress on top of trousers look.
Show off some leg!!

Caithi
16-10-2006, 11:23 AM
BUT whats up with that model???? she looks weird:eek: OR maybe its just me????

I think its her hair? :eek: :laughing:

annsam
16-10-2006, 11:43 AM
We're having a GIRL. I cant believe it, Im so stoaked!!!! Having a daughter.

Little_Toad
16-10-2006, 11:45 AM
YIPEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE

Caithi
16-10-2006, 11:49 AM
Annsam CONGRATULATIONS! Whooooooooooooo hooooooooooooo :yelclap: :smiliedance:

jaimie
16-10-2006, 11:55 AM
Congrats Annsam!!! Girls for both of us!!!!

Elmopalooza
16-10-2006, 12:30 PM
Yay!!! :smiliedance: COngrats to both Jazzy and Annsam!!! Girls all round!!

TenAndTa
16-10-2006, 12:32 PM
Hello everyone:wave:

Sorry I havn't posted until now we stayed in Perth all weekend.
We had our scan done by Bev Hewitt and she was great she explained everything well and we got a DVD and Photos. She did it in 2d & 3d all for $180. Bub got the all clear for everything it was moving around opening & shutting both hands. Bub had its feet up over its head for most of the scan. We were in there for 45 mins even though they were very busy and had alot of people waiting. So our DVD goes for quite awhile.

After the scan we had my OB appointment and he was very impressed with scan and said I have an anterior placenta which is quite normal but it is not covering my cervix so ther is no reason why I can't have a normal birth. He also told us DH blood group results. I am 0 neg and DH is B neg he said we couldn't be more compatible. He was over the moon saying he rarely sees couples that both have negative blood groups. So this has eased my mind greatly knowing the rhesus factor won't cause any probs for our baby.

I have started to feel baby moving heaps and had 2 kicks this morning. Bub moves from side to side when I sleep depending on which side I lie on.

tazzystone
16-10-2006, 01:12 PM
Congrats on your baby girl Annsam!! Did you have a feeling you were having a girl. Was this pregnancy any different from your first?

annsam
16-10-2006, 01:16 PM
Congrats on your baby girl Annsam!! Did you have a feeling you were having a girl. Was this pregnancy any different from your first?

I did have a very strong sense of girl. I keep looking at girls clothes, girls names and started calling 'it' 'she'. This pregnancy has been heaps different. I had morning sickness this time, Im having more discomfor and my hormones aren't so wild plus Ive had the odd medical thing like hayfever and post nasal drip which Ive never had in my life before so Id say the two are like chalk and cheese.

Thanks everyone!!! Congrats Jazzysmum & Xcited4bub. I have an anterior placenta too........again.:rolleyes: Was hoping for it not to be this time as I have enough back ache already.

AquaDevil78
16-10-2006, 01:27 PM
Congratz! To Amity's Mum on your healthy Boy :smiliedance: and Congratz Jazzy and Annsam on your healthy Girls.... god i wish my 2 weeks would hurry up! Im dyyyyyyyying to know now!

Caithi - Dont worry i too i am having the deadly farts, ROFL! I've had them since oo about 5 weeks into my pregnancy, i am competing with the master, Dp... LOL! Usually in the morning they are at there worst :o
Thanks for your thoughts in regards to the house hunting!

exactly 14 days until my scan.... hurry up already! Hehehe.

I went shopping with mum and my gran yesterday, give my gran a day out, and can i just say there are some PERVES! in this world .. we where walking past a strip of banks so there was a long row of glass windows, and i saw this guy walking towards us(late 40's, early 50's i reckon), and i had a tightish tee on as it was a warm day, and so my belly was sticking out a little, and my boobs - and i could see he was eyeing me up and down when in front of me :barf: , and so i chose not to look at him after that, then mum tells me that he fully eyed me off, stared at my belly and stopped when behind us and fully turned around and looked (she was watching in reflection).. makes me mad. Then when we got into SC he followed us/me back for another look. :mad: You may think so what, but he was one of those creepy pervy types IFYKWIM.

Anyway saw an awesome highchair in baby Co, made in italy, very posh and reduced to $230 it was the ferrari of high chairs... IMO very nice indeed, so im contemplating wasting money on it LOL, as it convertS into a rocker aswell. I have seen ****ty ones for the same price so im deciding whether to justify it or not.. hehe. Seeing as i still haven't purchased anything (boy i have been good). Im normally a spur of the moment shopper.

Anyway thats all from me so far.. take care all xx

16-10-2006, 02:40 PM
Congratulations to all the mummies that have just had (healthy bubba) scans!!!

Anna- cooooooooo (I think thats the sound a pigeon makes LOL) congrats on another pigeon pair!
Dont ya just love girls clothes LOL:p

My sis just bought me the sweetest little booties from pumpkin patch!

AD78- Dont you dare spend that much on a high chair:eek: LOL Go get yourself to Ikea and purchase the Antilop high chair for $39 BARGAIN! and trust me its brillant as its dead easy to clean!
Now im just off to purchase a $500 bouncer hahahahah ONLY JOKING!
Go on AD spend away:yes: hehehehehe

defaipe
16-10-2006, 03:16 PM
:smiliedance: CONGRATULTIONS ON YOUR BUBBY GIRL ANNSAM!!!!!!!!:smiliedance:

library-laksa
16-10-2006, 03:19 PM

We had our 20 week scan on friday and it's a BOY! it was soooo obvious, we would've known even if we didnt want to find out :laughing:
when they put the scanner on my belly, i looked at his little face first but my fiancee's eyes were straight to the other end and he pretty much jumped out of his seat, yelling "its a boy". the doc said he didnt need to tell us! lol...

so of course i went straight out to buy a couple of blue things and the grandmothers have been on shopping sprees too. :smiliedance:

defaipe
16-10-2006, 03:21 PM
YAY ANOTHER GIRL!!!!!! CONGRATULATIONS JAIMIE!!!!!!:smiliedance:

16-10-2006, 03:49 PM
Congrats LL on your beautiful boy!:thumbsup:

jaimie
16-10-2006, 04:59 PM
Thanks everyone!! Im just so paranoid that maybe she made a mistake because at first she said "You better buy a few lemon things" and then she said "well i cant see any boy bits so it must be a girl"....I hope she is right!:laughing: But even with Jazz when when they said she was a girl i still had nightmares of a boy popping out(not that i would mind a boy but i had bought girl stuff!) so i will do the same this time and just buy a few white things and then any girly stuff i buy i wont wash and will keep the reciepts...not that i will have to buy much!! I was addicted to Pumpkin Patch when Jazz was first born and those clothes are still really cute and should fit in the right season IYKWIM? Providing she isnt a fat porker!!
Its so great that all our bubs are healthy!!!
Well we are off to The Whitsundays in the morning so i will catch up with all the goss in a week!
Take care girls!
jaimie

AquaDevil78
16-10-2006, 07:36 PM
Congrats LL!! Another March Boy hehe, i guess its my duty to have a girl, to even things out a little ROFL! I know i keep saying it but 2 weeks seems like years away... i wanna see my baby LOL!

Neos mum, $39??? Wow thats a bargain and a half $$ ding ding LOL, Will definately have to get my butt to Ikea now.. :thumbsup: :smiliedance: Thx!

I just made the yumnmiest tastiest quiche i have ever made, Dp even had seconds.. i would of too cept i was too full - dammit.. maybe later if i get peckish LOL.

If anyone wants to try it i can post the recipe :D . Its a meaty one - sorry if your vege.

mammy2be
16-10-2006, 09:27 PM
Still here but haven't posted in a while - too busy trying to catch up with all the news. A huge congratulations to everyone on their scans! Mine isn't for another 8 sleeps. Dying to know that everything is ok.
Caithi & AD78 - I'm full of wind too! DH is seriously put out lol

defaipe
16-10-2006, 09:29 PM
CONGRATULATIONS XCITED4BUB!!:smiliedance:

CONGRATULATIONS LL ON YOUR BABY BOY!:yelclap:

haha jaimie your post made me laugh.. poor little girl already being tagged fat porker :laughing: no i know exactly what you mean! i had the PP addiction twice now and many of their gorgeous outfits were only worn a few times.. purely coz you end up dressing little bubs in comfortable stuff not the cute stuff(well its cute but you know what i mean!)
have a great week away!!! goodluck trying to read all the posts once you're back though.. you'll think twice about holidaying next time wont ya!:laughing:

take care all and have a great night!!

Ryan&MatthewsMum
16-10-2006, 09:58 PM
:smiliedance: Congrats on the scans Jaimie & Lana - girls (YAY) and AmitysMum & Library-laksa - boys (YAY). I hope I haven't missed anyone....

Caithi - I'm with you on the windy problem. Each night when I take the dog our for her wee walk on the grass I manage to let a beauty rip! Its a bit of a worry now as the nights are warmer and the neighbours probably have their windows open :o. Oh wll - tis better out than in as the saying goes...

I hope everyone has a great week - expecially you Jaimie off to Whitsundays :p:D. Wish it was me...

Caithi
16-10-2006, 10:05 PM
Anyway saw an awesome highchair in baby Co, made in italy, very posh and reduced to $230 it was the ferrari of high chairs... IMO very nice indeed, so im contemplating wasting money on it LOL, as it convertS into a rocker aswell. I have seen ****ty ones for the same price so im deciding whether to justify it or not.. hehe. Seeing as i still haven't purchased anything (boy i have been good). Im normally a spur of the moment shopper.

I say go the Ferrari! lol:laughing: What brand is it? I picked out the http://www.babiesgalore.com.au/customer/show_product_search.php but now I feel like I am getting thedatsun lol:D

Ooooooh I forgot I have my 20 week scan this Saturday - V excited :smiliedance:

Is the penis / lack there of that obvious? I just dont want to know but what if he/she flips over - last time he/she was sooooooooo active. Is it possible to find out by mistake?:eek:

CONGRATULATIONS to all the mums with known bubs. Im getting all the more excited everytime someone announces it!

Caithi
16-10-2006, 10:07 PM
Its a bit of a worry now as the nights are warmer and the neighbours probably have their windows open .

That is too funny! :laughing:

DH is worried that if I fart too much the small bump I do have will vanish lol - all gas!:cool:

I actually asked the DR and he said if anything the baby would like the sound :confused: :laughing:

Scoob
16-10-2006, 10:34 PM
:wave: HI EVERYONE!

Congratulations on all your scans!! So excited for you all!

I thought you'd be having a boy Lana - as Sam is away so often - a little bouncing baby boy to keep you on your feet while Sams away - just incase Amity doesn't already LOL

Anna - wow .. a girl! Bet your happy either way so long as your bubba is healthy... were you hoping for a girl this time round? One of each! How perfect - Just like Lana!

Sarah - You knew from the word go that you were having a girl! Hmmm psychic or not - I also remember you saying I was having a girl right near the start of the first thread - so we'll see tomorrow (Tuesday) I'm stoked for you! **** - you'll have one of each too! Wow ...

Mrs Miggins - How kewl.. A little boy - Ohh my gosh .. this is a bit scary - all you girls are havin the opposites of what you already have - awww... congrats Mrs_Miggins!

Shezi - you're the exception LOL Another girl .. Gosh - I know it's a little soon - but are you going to try for another one to see if you can get your boy you're probably yearning for!!????

All the other girls - All my best for you all and I'm always thinking about you - will try to post tomorrow after my scan and let you know what we're having :yes:

Take care - and good luck to all the girls who still have their scans to come ..

Scoob
16-10-2006, 10:47 PM
Hi Caithi,

Nice to meet you - You probably don't know of me. I used to post quite often during the first 3 months of my pregnancy - but dont seem to have the time to come online much anymore so haven't been posting anywhere as much as I'd like to.

I too am expecting my first baby.. so we have something in common there... Good Luck on Saturday - I'll let you and all the girls know tomorrow.. what DP and I are having!

Ryan&MatthewsMum
16-10-2006, 10:49 PM
I actually asked the DR and he said if anything the baby would like the soundROFL :laughing:

Hey Scoob - Shezi is not the only exception, I am having a boy to make it double trouble :D. We were actually trying for a girl and until the scan I had been convinced it was... but we are thrilled to be having another boy - and no plans to make it a third. Two is enough for us. Straight feet was our main wish (ie no talipes/club feet with the twice weekly visits to the hospital - getting up at 5am in middle of winter to soak off the plasters, give him a quick bath then fight Sydney traffic for an hour to get to Randwick by 8:30 or 9am so they can put another set on)) and all seems good so far :smiliedance::fingerscrossed:.

OMG - look at the time!!!! Off to bed.

Caithi
16-10-2006, 11:36 PM
I too am expecting my first baby.. so we have something in common there...

Wel hi fellow first timer! :wave:

:hugs: for tomorrow!

17-10-2006, 07:24 AM
Ooooooh I forgot I have my 20 week scan this Saturday - V excited

Is the penis / lack there of that obvious? I just dont want to know but what if he/she flips over - last time he/she was sooooooooo active. Is it possible to find out by mistake?!

Good luck for Saturday Caithi and YES it is possible to get a good glimpse of something um you might not want to see.

With O I wanted to find out but dh didnt so we agreed to wait.....BUT at the 18wk scan DH saw IT lol and the sonographer then confirmed IT,
IT was pretty obvious.:laughing:

AD78 and anyone else looking at high chairs......we got the Antilop and seriously it was the best (cheapest) buy ever, as its so easy peasy to clean (no nooks and cranies for the bubs o stick food into) sturdy and durable, the legs come off so great for taking travelling (to family and friends places) . The tray costs extra ($15) but thats nothing!

Scoobs- oohh I hope you have the best scan ever, and that bubs is healthy oh and that my prediction run doesnt end LOL:yelclap: Good luck hun!

DS sounds better today, no barking! and he was a complete angel at the doctors last night ( i had people commenting on how good he was and wasnt i lucky to have such an angelic child LOL if only they knew hehehehe)

Hope everyone is well
Sxx

Little_Toad
17-10-2006, 08:13 AM
Congrats LL and Jazzy! on your boy/girl/ healthy baby scan.

FINALLY!! I felt some movement. I'm 20 weeks tomorrow and was lying in bed concentrating hard and there was definitely some movement. Not kicking or anyything. Can't wait for constant wiggles and really oobvious stuff.

I have to start wearing my pregnancy harness for climbing now, my current one is squishing my tummy.

Good luck with the scan today Scoobs.

defaipe
17-10-2006, 09:30 AM
YAY little toad, about time toadlet started to cause you havoc from inside out :laughing:
i love having a belly again :D you just wait till you have a foot under your ribs lol. dd#2 used to rub her toes on the inside of my ribs, weirdest feeling, you leap out of your seat coz you need to stretch out haha. and with dd#1 mum questioned whether i was having twins coz there would always be movement on both sides of my stomach at the same time. she mustve been kicking AND punching(or headbutting) it looked like i had two cats fighting it out in there..

scoob, i am loving having my girls actually, one week i would think boy the next i would think girl so really i had no clue. i am just so happy to have my healthy kids. i would love to have a 4th but if that means 4 girls i am more than happy! my sis has 4 boys so its not like im lacking little men around me! hubby on the other hand would love a son.. he's already offered to trade my sister one :rolleyes:
goodluck with your scan today.

mumtoryan+1 about time you shared in some of the blame for ruining the whole "pigeon pairing" going on haha. i think some must forget that this is my third so i wouldnt get a pigeon pair even if i tried haha. ryan will love a little brother.

i dont have the prob with wind but i sure wish i did!! my man has gotten so bad lately i think its due time for payback. its disgusting, i fall asleep on the lounge most nights coz there is no way i can sleep in that bed with him and his a$$.

dd#2 starts swimming lessons today.. im still on the hunt for maternity bathers but i bought some shorts and a top off ebay(hopefully here by the end of the week) so today im just wearing a bikini top and a pair of my brothers shorts lol.. it sure is a sight to see.. keep in mind im only 5'2 and guys shorts are long! they easily pass my knees..

anyway take care all!

M2B
17-10-2006, 09:31 AM
Congratulations everyone on your scans! Good to hear all the bubs are healthy! It's so exciting hearing what everyone is having......

I still have a bit of a wait until I have my scan, which is 3rd November.....two and a half weeks seems like ages away.

Good Luck to everyone having their scans this week, can't wait to hear the news!

Little_Toad
17-10-2006, 10:18 AM
Amity'sMum.. Tummy Timeline updated!

TenAndTa
17-10-2006, 10:50 AM
So many of us have had scans now it is hard to keep up. Goodluck to those about to have there scans!!!!:fingerscrossed:
I also have wind all the time burping & farting I blame the bub though I tell DH when he comes home it was all that food bub was eating today LOL.

Nemosmum I too will be going to check out the highchair from Ikea what a BARGAIN. Thanks for the heads up.

ME: 26yrs
DH: 30yrs
EDD: 6th march 2007.

AquaDevil78
17-10-2006, 11:41 AM
ROFL Caithi, your posts always make me laugh :thumbsup: . I think we have a similar sense of humor LOL.

Here is the link to the Ikea Highchair (its the Vic prices) but so u can see what it looks like (thanks again Neo's mum).

http://www.ikea.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/CategoryDisplay?storeId=18&catalogId=10103&langId=-26&topcategoryId=15567&parentCats=15567*15659*15667&categoryId=15667&cattype=sub

(hope i did that right??) :o .

Caithi this is the highchair on spesh:

Oh and i was slightly incorrect its a High/Low chair that reclines

And is on special at the Knox City store Vic.

http://www.babyco.com.au/catalog/product.asp?pID=13&cID=28

annsam
17-10-2006, 12:46 PM
Hi girls.

Congratulations to everyone on your scans!!!! And good luck to all having them this week :fingerscrossed: .

Anyone want a 2 year old? Going cheap...... great form of contraception...... ops too late. :rolleyes:

Nothing much happening here. Shopping trip from Hell this morning with Sam deciding he might just like to walk now. Got him some clothes as his t-shirts are like crop tops now. Did a few erands - feels good to get them out of the way.

Anyway, need to get some work done. Hope everyone is well.

P.S. I updated the front page - let me know if Ive missed anyone and if I have SORRY!

Caithi
17-10-2006, 01:24 PM
This is complete off track ... sorry ladies but I had to share this post...

Ok... I cant fart a tune to save my life but I wouldnt get up and sing a duet with my "singer" husband... no matter how big my boobs are!:laughing:

Listen to the Peter Andre and Jordan duet
http://media.smh.com.au/?source=int22751r&ie=1&rid=22751&player=wm7&rate=3960&sy=smh&category=&flash=1&t=41KDJN

Am I being a bi#$h lol:devil6:

Frangi
17-10-2006, 03:21 PM
Congrats Jazzysmum,anna and library-laksa on your scans and your all making me so jealous knowing what your having!

Have a great holiday Jazzysmum!

Not much to report here except I'm a bit down:gloomy: just gets a bit depressing when your clothes start to not fit. You feel like putting a sign around your neck saying "No I'm not fat I'm pregnant!" I can't wait until the bump hardens and gets rounder so that you can definitely tell I'm pregnant.
My mum was supposed to take me shopping today but had to cancel so hopefully we will do it next week...I really need some in between maternity clothes for this time of year.

Enjoy those scans girls mine isn't for another week!

Elmopalooza
17-10-2006, 03:54 PM
Hey girls!! Good luck to all the girls with scans today!!

Well our lil man certainly is a feisty little one lol.. everytime Amity sits on my lap he kicks and squirms lol.. Hopefully only coz he wants to play!!

Hehe Kym... where are u with ur news lol!?

M2B
17-10-2006, 04:06 PM
I am with you Frangi, it is depressing when your clothes don't fit. I am dealing with working full time in a corporate office and trying to squeeze into my work clothes, I am sure there are people in the office that must think geez Nic's putting on some beef lately. Most wouldn't suspect I am pregnant 'cause I only just got married a few months ago! Oh well, it will cause a few shocks when they realise I am pregnant.

I am also finding it very uncomfortable sitting at my desk all day, I am constantly getting up to stretch my legs, I so can not sit still......anyone else having this problem. My bottom is going numb and my belly feels like it is getting squashed!!

defaipe
17-10-2006, 04:57 PM
Not much to report here except I'm a bit down:gloomy: just gets a bit depressing when your clothes start to not fit. You feel like putting a sign around your neck saying "No I'm not fat I'm pregnant!" I can't wait until the bump hardens and gets rounder so that you can definitely tell I'm pregnant.
My mum was supposed to take me shopping today but had to cancel so hopefully we will do it next week...I really need some in between maternity clothes for this time of year.

Enjoy those scans girls mine isn't for another week!

ah yes the stage were everyone just thinks your "chubby", my belly is definately out there and everyone i know knows im preg coz i usually have a flat tummy..*i make up for it with my hips/bum/legs*lol but i am proud of my tummy!! anyway so now that my belly has rounded out those who dont know me i think just think im an all round chubby girl, well that and the fact i have an 11month old stuck to my hip (she's not quite 8kg and only 69cms) so she looks so little!! so they must just reckon i still have baby fat to lose.:laughing:

its when i ask hubby how my legs look coz i am paranoid.. being only 22 i do have a fair bit of cellulite and he is blunt in his answers so i get yep they're just getting worse.. im just glad i dont ask him when im upset coz i'd be distraught!! its my own fault though, i need to walk more and tone them, im only a size 10 so i know im not big but a little effort on my part wouldnt hurt! i just really want a walking buddy hehe. i am so much more motivated if im with someone else.

amitysmum LOVE the belly!! i'll have to do an update for mine soon too.. i was a bit late with my 4month one.

well danielah loved her swimming class.. mikaelah still loves school and im still not ready to let her go..

so everythings normal here :D

Little_Toad
17-10-2006, 05:09 PM
Shezi.. my DP is always teasing me about my weight now.

he took photos of me siting in my bra and knickers and one when I stood up. When he loaded it onto the computer he zoomed right in on my dimply bits on my bum.. zoomed in and out in and out doing the "Jaws" music.

This morning he sent me an email wuth photos of me very lean before i got pg... saying "beautiful bzzz" (bzzz = me).

If he thinks I'm big now.. what will it be like when I am 9 months with stretch marks?

Elmopalooza
17-10-2006, 05:10 PM
i just really want a walking buddy hehe. i am so much more motivated if im with someone else.

amitysmum LOVE the belly!! i'll have to do an update for mine soon too.. i was a bit late with my 4month one.

Shezi I am more motivated with someone else there too lol! You're more than welcome to join me at water aerobics if you like!!

Lol thanks!! My tummy still seems really little to me... and kinda pointy!! Urs has that lovely rounded shape i had last time... Wanna swap!? lol

defaipe
17-10-2006, 07:37 PM
thanx for that lana, i just think my little one is too young for a creche so the gym is out for me.. pity i live so far though!

littletoad you'll be 9months preg and still tiny! it will be funny to see your mans reaction though.. take some pics will ya haha

i've seen a few pics of girls with bad stretchmarks.. they look so painful!(even though i know they're not) i didnt get any on my stomach and only a few "add ons" on my hips.. i got them when i hit puberty and got hips haha so pregnancy added a cm or so.. very lucky!! :fingerscrossed: it stays that way.
im hoping that i go back to normal fairly quickly.. i did the last two times. i've put on 5 kilos so far so its not that bad but i just know i started a couple of kilos heavier this time. i remember with dd#2 that a couple of hours after her birth i was shattered coz i couldnt suck in my tummy flat like i could with dd#1.. how vain is that?!?!:o :laughing: i can laugh about it now but i recall mum walking in my room to see her new granddaughter and me lifting my shirt asking her "why????????????"

firsttime
17-10-2006, 11:03 PM
hi all, just a quick "congrats" to all the new scans, it's such a great feeling isnt it. Hang in there those who are still to have their's - it's worth the wait!

I am feeling very low, don't know why. Am having lots of groin pain, my GP says it is torn ligaments, and i am on strong painkillers, so feeling even lower now. I am in the middle of a long 7 week wait between OBGYN appointments which i think is way too long - i feel deserted.

Hubby is being gorgeous, doing all the cooking, cleaning, and generally being amazing. Am feeling guilty for all that too...

Off to bed for early night again, speak soon....

Caithi
17-10-2006, 11:23 PM
It has to be hormones ...............

I had a very teary, awful night tonight.. my eyes and nose are all red and I cried reading the posts thinking if my DH even word played with my fat bits I would dig a hole and stay there for the next 4 plus months.:crying:

DH has been an absolute s#!t, first complaining - and I mean really annoyed, slightly agro, that I put two limes in his beer not one, and then yelled at me for finding a dog hair on a blender that we havent used for months . Shouldnt you clean it before hand anyways????:banghead:

My dad is in hospital on a morphene drip (this morning ) because of some lump on his spine, my SIL (DHs sister ) came over this afternoon and cried and whinged because her dad wouldnt allow her to drive to QLD??? SHES FRIGGEN 27 YO! Grow up.:banghead:

I feel fat, ugly, sad & letdown by DH and generally hate today - not a goal kicking one for sure.

Everyone is most welcome to grab their fav pilow and come camp out with me "Pity party this way"... urghhhhhhhhh:(

annsam
18-10-2006, 05:11 AM
Morning all,

Caithi Im sorry you felt so down yesterday. We have those days sometimes dont we? Wait till the post baby hormones kick in - you aint seen nothin' yet ;) Hope you are feeling better today.

Firsttime, though you are on 7 week appt you can request earlier appts or contact your ob if feeling like somethings wrong as you are going private (thats one of the joys of all that money we pay ;)). How on earth did you tear ligaments? Hope you feel better today too, take it easy.

As for me, Im fine. Spent way too much time on the PC yesterday and ended up with a sore head. Was meant to be working but that didn't happen. Hate technology :mad: . Might try and get the work done today.

Its my birthday tomorrow and DH hasn't done any shopping yet. He had better get his butt into gear today or Im going to be a very grumpy girl come tomorrow. Year before last when I had an 10 day old and it was p*ssing down he told me the day before my birthday to go buy myself something so I did......a $250 handbag that looked exactly like a $30 one. :laughing: Bet he wont be doing that again.

18-10-2006, 07:26 AM
omgoodness must be going around as i had a sucky say yesterday also:gloomy:

today has to be better surely:yes:

sorry about my typing,im typing one handed as o is watching monsters inc and gets a lil scared of the 'bad cookie munster':thumbsdown: but when i try toturn it off he gets even more upset...go figure
so his cuddling upto me while i type

have a good day girls:)

sxx

TenAndTa
18-10-2006, 11:02 AM
Annasmum:happybirthday for tomorrow. I hope your hubby buys you something nice, seen as you are carrying his first baby!!!!!
You have to let us know what you get okay.

I'm sorry that everyone was having such as sad day yesterday. I had a pretty good one as my best friend rang me last night which I HAVEN'T TALKED TO FOR 5 MONTHS. I was so excited I was on a high after that. We have been emailing each other now all morning. Hope everyone is having a good day so far.

AquaDevil78
18-10-2006, 11:13 AM
It's always the hormones hehe :thumbsup: (My dp always says watch out for the preganant lady LOL).

LT - Could you possibly PM me and tell me how i make a tummy timeline? Is it a website? or ? I can do myself , just not sure where to start. Many thanks in advance :yes: .

I finally got some battery's for my camera so i can start one, even if it is a bit late :o .

Oh, on my ultrasound refferal on the back it has info about the scan etc and also states i can either buy a vhs tape from them or take my own (i'll be taking my own - as im sure it will be cheaper), does anyone know if the Video is inclusive of the scan or an extra cost even if i supply my own tape?

Have a great day girls :smiliedance:

Caithi
18-10-2006, 11:17 AM
Annsam - Thankyou! :hugs:
happybirthday too! Whooooooooooo hoooooooooo birthday girl. Let us know what you get! :yelclap:

Today slightly better, received first proofs of ad, finished logo, slogan & temp web page for business so thats brightened my day.

I know I cant post it BUT if anyone is interested PM me your e-mail address and ill send it to you.Let me know if you like love or hate it .:fingerscrossed:

Hope everyone elses week picks up!

Maybe its just that time in our pregnancy.... please dont tell me that the post birth blues are as bad as the first month blues. lol I was quite the mess.

Little_Toad
18-10-2006, 11:20 AM
Aquadevil, if you want me to do the tummmy timeline for you, pm me and I'll send you my email address.

Where is scoobs?? We should have had her results by now!!!

Caithi
18-10-2006, 11:21 AM
It's always the hormones hehe :thumbsup: (My dp always says watch out for the preganant lady LOL).

Oh, on my ultrasound refferal on the back it has info about the scan etc and also states i can either buy a vhs tape from them or take my own (i'll be taking my own - as im sure it will be cheaper), does anyone know if the Video is inclusive of the scan or an extra cost even if i supply my own tape?

LOL:laughing: Im still waiting for sympathy bump to appear, then I can use "Im pregnant" :cool: He he

With the tape I think its cheaper if you take your own but if you want it on DVD ( and you are going to trasfer it onto DVD yourself ) I think its cheaper to ask them to do an actual DVD for you after the costs of buying the tape and paying for the transfer to DVD. Not sure but I think it is.:thumbsup:

spiritedfamily
18-10-2006, 12:19 PM
I had one of those days on Monday...I was shocking..Tuesday proved to better...today I'm tired...kind of my fault..sitting up to all hours making crafty gifts for christmas but when the inspiration comes one has to go with the flow or else one may not find it again for weeks:)

I'm starting to really feel baby kick...its great! and after seeing our little one at the ultrasound, its helped to connect and ease any concerns for major problems...all is well thank god (as much as one can see)

Caithi - baby blues usually last a couple of days...when the milk comes in...I've had one or two tears on these days, so long as you have positive support...you'll be fine...even then women are pretty strong.

annsam
18-10-2006, 12:23 PM

Thanks for the birthday wishes for tomorrow. :)

Aqua, with the tape, my scanning place lets you tape or DVD it and the DVD costs $6 if you get it from them (which I do because I forget :rolleyes: ). Dont know if thats standard or not though.

Caithi, post baby blues.......hmmm, you have the day three baby blues where your hormones go wild and you cry at EVERYTHING (or I did anyway). Some women escape it but not many. Thankfully it only lasted a few hours. Then theres adjusting to life with baby #1. I personally found the two months after having Sam the hardest months of my life. Its not like that for everyone of course but I was a wreck!

Just ate pizza slices and burnt the top of my mouth. Not happy!

Sams a changed boy overnight, suddenly hes taken to constant whinging. Fun fun.

Anyway, housework to do. Been waiting for him to go to bed so I can pack up this trainset thats all over my lounge floor and vacuum.

Hope everyone is having a nice day.

spiritedfamily
18-10-2006, 12:35 PM
Sams a changed boy overnight, suddenly hes taken to constant whinging. Fun fun.

Happy birthday for tommorrow!!

I have one of them here....and she screams...I get headaches from her tantrums...I look forward to this phase passing:rolleyes:

RTCsMum
18-10-2006, 12:37 PM
Well done on all the scans !! A week today before we find out and hearing everyone elses just makes me more impatient!!

Annsam - Happy Birthday!! My husband also made the mistake of telling me to get something I liked when it was my 30th birthday and Ruby was 10 days old (I cried at the 2am feed when my dh wished me a happy birthday and I realised I was now 30 and a mum and not a funky corporate out partying the night away!! Though there are definately no tears anymore as I would never swap back into that life and miss out on my little ones) Anyway needless to say I still love my 1 carat diamond stud earrings !!! LOL!!

Aquadevil78 - We got our past scans on VHS and it cost nothing if you took your own.

annsam
18-10-2006, 12:40 PM
Anyway needless to say I still love my 1 carat diamond stud earrings !!! LOL!!

Thats hillarious! :laughing:

I gave him a lecture this morning about NOT ringing me at lunch time telling me he hasn't had time to shop and NOT getting me a beauty voucher as he gives me one every single year when he cant be bothered putting any thought into it which is usually not a problem but this time Ive given him a list and hes actually written it down so no excuses! :laughing: We will see. :rolleyes:

Thanks girls. :)

Frangi
18-10-2006, 01:30 PM

Caithi - sorry to hear you were so down hope your feeling better today.
Hope everyone else is over their icky day ...I am which is good.

happybirthday Anna! Hope you have a great birthday tomorrow and get all those things on your list.

Last night after a dinner I really felt like I had a huge belly and needed to walk around to get rid of it. I didn't eat that much really ...is anyone else feeling really full after only a little bit of food? Then I get hungry again an hour or so later...

Have a great day everyone!

Elmopalooza
18-10-2006, 02:14 PM
Where is scoobs?? We should have had her results by now!!!

Hey girls i have spoken to Scoobs (kym) and she said all went well at the scan! Yay!! She did find out the sex but i think thats for her to tell lol! But never fear, all is well with her and bubs!

Caithi - baby blues usually last a couple of days...when the milk comes in...I've had one or two tears on these days, so long as you have positive support...you'll be fine...even then women are pretty strong.

Can i just say that, yes most women do experience the baby blues BUT there is also a rising number of women who for them, the baby blues dont pass... I was one of these women when i had amity.

If you find that u arent able to shake the baby blues, please dont just ignore it. Go and see your doctor and talk to them about it Hlep is out there and people dont think any less of you! :)

annsam
18-10-2006, 02:26 PM
So whats everyone decided for birth support? Gawd i cant believe how time is flying!

Im bored. Shoudl be working.......dotn know where to start.

Elmopalooza
18-10-2006, 02:46 PM
Hey Annsam what happened to your other post?? i just got an email of a different one before this one!? did it get lost??

Caithi
18-10-2006, 02:57 PM
So whats everyone decided for birth support?

Doula and husband if he doesnt faint lol:eek:

Caithi
18-10-2006, 03:00 PM
If you find that u arent able to shake the baby blues, please dont just ignore it. Go and see your doctor and talk to them about it Hlep is out there and people dont think any less of you! :)

How long did yours last?:hugs:

Would you organise a councellor this time around just in case?

Elmopalooza
18-10-2006, 03:12 PM
Caithi mine wasnt just PND. I have suffered from depression for most of my life but it was left undiagnosed.

Giving birth to Amity and the sudden change in my life sort of brought everything to the surface, and becuase the midwives/doctors are on the lookout for symptoims they picked it up. Plus becuase i was at an all time low i wasnt able to mask it like i had done in the past.

My doctor put me on some anti depressants but they didnt work for me. I eventually found the right ones for my body and started to see a psych for the depressin and mood swings.

In total i was on medication for about 13 months. I only really came off them becuase i am pregnant and didnt want to take them during it.

I still have my off days tho, like everyone, its just that sometimes its a bit harder for me to kick.

I guess the reason i mentioned it is because a lot of women DONT seek the help they need for fear of being labelled. There is so much help out there though, it would be a shame to suffer in silence.

annsam
18-10-2006, 03:12 PM
Lana, LOL, case of me speaking without thinking. I think the friend I refered to comes onto BH now and again and Id hate to offend her if she did read it.

Glad to hear Scoobs bub is great! :thumbsup:

Caithi, My DH reckons he can handle anything but nearly fainted when they put a drip in my hand last time :rolleyes: .

For post natal depression there are many support groups around but you have to actively look or be refered. Most GPs refer to a councillor. Its not a pretty thing at all, absolutely heartbreaking to see someone go through it - thats why Ive been so dilligent with this woman who had the c/s last week because I can see her being a victim of PND in the near future without support. Women who suffer depression in general are much greater risk. Its definitely not something to ignore.

LOL Lana, posted at the same time.

Elmopalooza
18-10-2006, 03:25 PM
Ahh fair enough then! Thought perhaps my computer was playing funny buggers with me lol!

And yep there are some GREAT PND support groups out there.. I attended one but found that i still had to seek help from a psych for my mood swings etc..

It sure is hard to watch someone go through it and even harder if you're going through it yourself. That is why i wanted to make ppl aware that it DOES happen and that there is nothing wrong with that... The majority of depression is actually a chemical imbalance in the brain anyway. Certainly not something you can control.

And yes, women who have/do suffer from depression ARE at a greater risk of developing post natal depression. Another reason i will be monitored rather closely after this birth lol!

18-10-2006, 04:23 PM
Lana and Anna- Great posts girls, PND is one of the worst thing a new mum can go through (especially if they do it alone) so great to see other mums talking about it openly:yelclap:

I wonder when scoobs will be on lol i want to see if my prediction came true:laughing: :yes: :D

firsttime
18-10-2006, 04:24 PM
Annsam - HAPPY BIRTHDAY for tomorrow -

when you say birth support - if i have an OBGYN, wont the
hospitals have midwives, or is it normal to hire a private doula as well?
does doula mean midwife?

if anyone in perth has feelings of depression now, you can join in with the anti natal group at Raphael centre at SJOGH Subiaco, i go every fortnight and find it helpful.

SAVINA
18-10-2006, 04:36 PM
hi all im feeling a litle down.
my boobs have grown fom 14c to 14/16d how bad is that and i have put on about 9 kg going by my mums scales but going by my own ive put on 5 kgs so i dont know :thumbsdown:
and last week we found out were having another boy! i was sooo hoping for a girl it would have been nice but it looks like someone up above has other plans for us, but hey i am coming around to the idea of another boy! so thats a good thing... its not that bad as long as his healthy
my son had tooth pulled out and my daughter had 3 fillings today so we were going over my friends house so the kids could all play.. not today my sons way too sore the poor kid his hardly spoken since 1 pm today, amd well dh doeasnt get home to late tonite due to work and cricket

and to top it off i have really painfull varicose veins down below wich give me groin aches and u know were else aches yep were we give birth so im really worried how my births going to go with the varicose veins don below, tried to have sex last nite and i got so dry that it hurt and i had to stop, as it hurts when im not havin sex so sorry tmi...
anyway i guess i have to just put up withi t going by my doc she just says its baby no4 and all the ptressure is causing this ..

anyway i hope everyone else is ok
Savina

annsam
18-10-2006, 04:44 PM
It sure is hard to watch someone go through it and even harder if you're going through it yourself. That is why i wanted to make ppl aware that it DOES happen and that there is nothing wrong with that... The majority of depression is actually a chemical imbalance in the brain anyway. Certainly not something you can control.

And yes, women who have/do suffer from depression ARE at a greater risk of developing post natal depression. Another reason i will be monitored rather closely after this birth lol!

Yip, spot on. Im high risk myself. Something like 1 in 3 women suffer clinical depression at some point in their lives. Mine was from about the age of 21-27 off and on with anti-depressants. Had absolutely no control over it. It has been an issue for 3 generations of women in my family (and probably more if it was known about 3 generations ago). Seems to be something screwy with our seritonin levels. Just how it is unfortunately but no bouts for nearly 4 years now.:fingerscrossed:

annsam
18-10-2006, 04:47 PM
Annsam - HAPPY BIRTHDAY for tomorrow -

when you say birth support - if i have an OBGYN, wont the
hospitals have midwives, or is it normal to hire a private doula as well?
does doula mean midwife?

if anyone in perth has feelings of depression now, you can join in with the anti natal group at Raphael centre at SJOGH Subiaco, i go every fortnight and find it helpful.

Thanks! :)

The way it works is your midwives will see you during labour and yoru Ob comes in at the end (though may check on you when you are first admitted too) but your midwife cant stay with you for the labour as shes often looking after up to 6 other women at the same time so some women take along a friend or relative or doula aswell to help DH out as some DH's find the whole experience..... the 'womans domain' :laughing: a little daunting and dont deal well with blood and seeing their partner in pain let alone injections, drips and whatever else may or may not happen....... plus most women want to deck their partners when he tells her to 'calm down' :laughing:. Many women only have DH but others have someone else aswell so was just curious what others have decided.

p.s. doulas aren't midwives - they are privately employed by the woman so dont report to medical staff and they have no medical responsibility. Just support, reassurance, massage, information etc etc.

annsam
18-10-2006, 04:54 PM
Savina, hope you feel better soon and things slow down and congratulations on your little boy!

sorry for all the posts everyone, dont know how to do more than 1 quote per post.

RTCsMum
18-10-2006, 05:13 PM
Firsttime - For my first I had my dh and by mum as back up. Mum was great while I was in labour as she was really calming for both dh and myself who had no idea!! When we ended up in emergency cs you could only have dh and he was outstanding under presure. Second time round it was just dh and myself and I loved that we were a team doing it together. Though having someone who had been there and done that the first time round was something I would suggest to anyone whether that be a doula, mum, sister, friend etc..

This time as we have to do a cs again it will be the dh and myself. The funny thing is that even though you can only have dh in with you through the cs when I came back to my room after dd#2 my mum, dad and sister were all there and half an hour later my mil and fil came with dd#1 Crowd control!!!!

firsttime
18-10-2006, 05:25 PM
oooooh i think i want a doula.
i have checked out the website australiandoulas.com.au - based in perth.
annsam do you know any of these ladies? it's hard to know how good they are, by profile alone.

Elmopalooza
18-10-2006, 05:54 PM
Annsam to do multiple quotes just hit the little button with the " on it. Click that for every person u want to quote and then hit post reply!

Easy as!

annsam
18-10-2006, 06:15 PM
oooooh i think i want a doula.
i have checked out the website australiandoulas.com.au - based in perth.
annsam do you know any of these ladies? it's hard to know how good they are, by profile alone.
I haven't heard of any of them but I looked at them when I was looking myself and was really impressed until I realised they are on the other side of the country.

Heres some other sites that you may find someone on
www.optimumbirth.com.au
www.childbirthinternational.com
www.**********.com.au
um, there are others too so if you want the details I'll look them up - Ive got them saved on DH's PC.

As for it being hard to tell, yeah it is so interview a few before you choose. Make sure you click with the person and they listen well to what YOU want and that your beliefs are compatable with theirs. Good luck! PM me if you want any info. You can also post in the doula section of bubhub that you are looking for a doula or student doula which is usually free of charge other than expenses.... in fact I think Ive seen some in perth there recently. Plus look at bubhub's resource page, they have a good variety.

Annsam to do multiple quotes just hit the little button with the " on it. Click that for every person u want to quote and then hit post reply!

Easy as!

Well whatdoyaknow - it does work! I never figured out what those buttons were. Thanks! :)

Caithi
18-10-2006, 09:02 PM
SAVINA! :hugs: AND MORE :hugs: !

Love the fact that everyone is into Doulas - I feel like I actually organised something right in this pregnancy lol:laughing:

Ok.......... completely off track. I just posted a thing about gift registries and now I am even more confused than ever.

Can you guys have a look and let me know please?:fingerscrossed: http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=45546

Its got me really stressed out. Urghhh. What do I do?

Little_Toad
18-10-2006, 09:08 PM
My DP just asked how long PND lasts for... "18 years?".

I used to suffer from depression due to an illness I had,.. had 2 years of psych sessions and some anti-d's. My dad was the one who recommended I took the anti-d's and they helped big time. Fingers crossed I wont get PND as i'm not predisposed to feeling down. it was just cause of health circumsdtances.

But.. I highly recommend if you do feel down, GET THE DRUGS!!

Support person. I have a really nice friend kari who is about 50, I asked her if she would be my support person (this is when I was going to have a home birth) I'm still goig too get her to come along to the birthhing center and at home before I go in. Turns out she used to be a midwife which is a bonus.

Used my pregnancy harness tonight for the first time.. very uncomfortable on the legs/bum but better on the tummy. Very hot in Sydney so just had an easy climb.

Hope everone else is feeling a little more chirpy. Feels great to be half way now.

Caithi
18-10-2006, 10:04 PM
Annsam those sites are fantastic! :thumbsup: Are you on there?:detective:

AquaDevil78
18-10-2006, 10:13 PM
Hi Annsam, I have decided that of course DP will be there for me but also my mum, we have a very close friend like relationship and she is totally supportive etc and i know if she is not there i will regret it and probably end up asking for her any.. even at 28 i still need my mum LOL.

At least if Dp passes out LOL i'll still have someone there, im not sure if they can both come into the delivery room, if not mum will be back up, but i want mum there to help me thru the contractions etc. :thumbsup: . Plus i cant wait to see her face when she gets to see her first grandchild as soon as she can after i give birth :yes: .

LT i have sent you my email addy, thanks for doing a tummy timeline very much appreciated :hugs: .

Good night all xx

BlueGin
18-10-2006, 10:55 PM
How are you gorgeous girls? So exciting to hear about more healthy babies on scans, I did know who had what... ummm... forgot... :o but they all sound like healthy little squirmers! LT, your video is so wonderful, what a beautiful profile!

Sorry I've been absent this week, last Thursday my breathing got really bad and I had to be ambulanced off to hospy :thumbsdown:
I think it's bronchitis, and the drama of not being able to breath I would say came from my lungs being squished by baby! Very unhappy with the doctors, and was bullied in to taking a lot of Ventolin, and Prednisolone (I know, I didn't have to take them, but they started being overly dramatic and telling us the baby and I could die if I didn't and poor DH looked like he was about to fall apart if I kept refusing) :( but I got out of hospital ASAP and crashed at my parents for the week while I recovered.

Home now, cough still bad, but as long as I can breath I am one happy camper :D

I have read all the posts I missed, so sorry that I don't have personal replies to you all! I spend most days asleep on the couch lately, so I'll keep one eye on the thread and try to keep up a bit better from now on, lol

XGin

Caithi
19-10-2006, 12:04 AM
Drum roll please lol...........

at 11.10 this evening during the nightly heart beat check I felt my bubba move! Whoooooooooooo hoooooooooooooo:yelclap:

Well it felt like a fart - part of my daily/nightly performance:laughing: (TMI) sorry sort of buubles but in the one place and at some times a little weird :eek: And its exactly where the baby was! :smiliedance: <- Victory/Happy dance

Caithi
19-10-2006, 12:08 AM
BlueGin... :eek: I hope you feel heaps better soon!:hugs: :hugs: :hugs:

annsam
19-10-2006, 06:20 AM
Morning girls,

Well DH did well, he got me 2 cds I wanted and an excellent little digital camera so Im a happy girl. Ive wanted a small digital that I can carry in my pocket or bag as our camera is getting old and too bulky and everything is too dark in it.

DS seems a little off coulour though this morning. Think he may have a sore throat or something but hes not admitting to it if he does -just crying. Hes going to the paed on Friday for his pooing issues - sounds like its not going to be easy to fix :crying: . Hes trying to poo and crying now and hes been on laxatives for days so there should be no issue.

Ok, onto other things,

Caithi - wooo hooo congratulations on feeling bubba! :yelclap:

Yip, am on some of the sites, the Sydney ones and the National ones.

Bluegin - hope you are feeling better now. Sounds very scary. :hugs: Welcome back to health.

Aqua - the general rule (but it does differ from hospital to hospital) is 2 support people allowed for private, 3 for public. Caesarians under epidural you can have one person, caesarians under general no one. Your mum sounds lovely - no way I'd have mine. I saw her at my sisters birth 10 years ago and that put me off - such a fussy duck.

LT - your support person sounds lovely. I have a friend in her mid 50's who is an ex midwife too but she lives right up the coast so a little far to ask her to travel.

I have started listening to my birth relaxation CD's at bedtime. Fall asleep while listening so they must be working in the relaxation respect :rolleyes: .

Starting Gymbaroo with Sam today. Should be um interesting then visiting my last client this afternoon as she called yesterday to ask me how to bath baby and what to put her to sleep in so think it would be best to pay a visit and go through it all. Looking forward to it though, its the first baby Ive actually been clucky over - hormones must be kicking in.

Have a great day girls!

19-10-2006, 07:33 AM
Gin- I hope you feel better soon hun, very scary when you have breathing difficulties:hugs:

Anna- happybirthday

Caithi- Congrats on feeling bubs! Its an awesome feeling!:yelclap:

LT- wow there seems to be lots of us who have suffered through depression at some point in our lives:hugs: I second the medication thing too.....they really do work!

Hope everyone else is well and safe

O's chest sounds better but his nose has turned that horrible shade of green....argh yuk!

Off to work tomorrow......so cleaning the house to day is top priority as we have a rental inspection come next tues.

Chat later girls
sxx

Little_Toad
19-10-2006, 08:25 AM
Happy Birthday Annsam.. hope you have a wonderfully relaxing and pmpered day.

Glad you are ok BlueGin.. I know how freaky it is just having asthma.
Have you had your 18/19 weeks scan yet?

nemo'sMum. Alot of people think there is a stigma atttached to taking anti-d's and I would never have anted to unless my dad suggested it. They serioulsy made a huge difference. Tought me how to cope with situations better... it feels almost like you have boy emotions. When I came off them I had no come downs or side effects... it's like they train your brain to handle situations correctly. Glad they worked for you too.

Going out to dinner tonight to meet a guy who is a minor celebrity in the mortgage broking world. he's taken a shine to me and is going to put me/my product on his monthly dvd and pimp me!!

Glad you felt your "aquabubble" move Auadevil. Funny feeling isn't it. I've only felt mine twice in the last two days... hopefully it will get more noticeable soon.

Caithi
19-10-2006, 08:36 AM
Going out to dinner tonight to meet a guy who is a minor celebrity in the mortgage broking world. he's taken a shine to me and is going to put me/my product on his monthly dvd and pimp me!!

Ooooooooooh how exciting!:yelclap: Which DVD will you be on?:detective:

happybirthday ....... its good to see your DH bought you such well deserving gifts! I have a digital camera on my wish list for chrissy. Our SLR has the same "dark photos " problem too!

Off to gym, then getting tooth pulled then student tenant arrives so had better go.

Have a nice day chickies!:thumbsup:

defaipe
19-10-2006, 09:06 AM
happybirthday anna happybirthday good to hear you did well with the pressies!! i love having a digital camera!!

BG glad you're feeling better.. :hugs:

littletoad have fun with your pimp! haha no seriously i hope all goes to plan!

congratulations caithi!!!!!!!! those first kicks are amazing.. it would be nice though if theyd tap and say "hello, yes its me" :D

TenAndTa
19-10-2006, 09:28 AM
happybirthday Annasam. Sounds like you got some nice presents for your birthday. Have you got anymore presents since early this morning from friends or reletives.

BLUEGIN: Sorry to hear you haven't been feeling well, sounds like quite the scare. You just rest now, put your feet up and don't over do it when your feeling better.

Support People= I will have DH there and my mum. I will be staying at my mums house in Perth leading up to the delivery and they will probably have to take me to hospital if I go early and DH isn't down there yet.

Anymore people had scans yet? I can't believe it has nearly been a week since I had mine, and I am still on a high after having it done. I have started feeling bub move more now & kick. Very active early in the morning after I have gotten up to pee. (usually 2:30am)

defaipe
19-10-2006, 09:56 AM
oh i forgot.. as for support people, my partner will be there and depending what time i go in hopefully my sis will be there too :fingerscrossed:

she missed out last time coz she had 11month old twin boys that no-one was game enough to look after :laughing:

with dd#1 i had both mum and sister. dd#2 just partner. i will be upset if my my sis cant be there though only coz it did make such a difference i reckon. seeing though she's got 4 boys i think she can sympathise better than a 23yr old guy! :laughing:

Caithi
19-10-2006, 10:07 AM
it would be nice though if theyd tap and say "hello, yes its me"

:eek: :laughing: It would be weird if they could start talking to you from the womb hey! Baby chat and all. :D

QUESTION... A friend of a friend of ours had a 2.3 kg baby, 2 days overdue, she ( friend of a friend ) was big??? I do think she chain smoked through the entire pregnancy though :thumbsdown: ( bad but JMO - everyone to their own I guess ) ....

Is that really little??

M2B
19-10-2006, 11:07 AM
happybirthday Annsam! Hope you have a fantastic day......

I haven't really thought about support people, something to think about today then. My DH will probably need the support more then me!

Bluegin - hope you are feeling better now, must of been very scary for you! :hugs:

Caithi - that is so exciting you felt your bub move, must of been the best feeling for you! :yelclap:

Hope everone else has a great day today!!

RTCsMum
19-10-2006, 11:14 AM
Caithi - Thats a small baby !! I think it works out to be just over 5 pounds in the old scale. I know my first was 2.7kg and she was three weeks early and I had pre-elcampsia so she wasnt getting much food (placenta was falling apart) in the last two weeks. Doctors told me she was small and she struggled to maintain body temp.

How is the little one? I heard that babies have nicotine withdrawl in the first week if mum smoked through preg. Does anyone know if thats true?

Caithi
19-10-2006, 11:17 AM
Caithi - Thats a small baby !!

How is the little one? I heard that babies have nicotine withdrawl in the first week if mum smoked through preg. Does anyone know if thats true?

I know ... I thought it sounded tiny tiny.:eek:

I havent heard anything neg about her health just that she was soooooooo small.

Not sure about the nicotine withdrawl "FOR THE BABY" geeeeze.... I know how hard that is, wouldnt want to do it to my bump..... that sounds awful!:crying:

mammy2be
19-10-2006, 12:32 PM
happybirthday AnnSam happybirthday

20 weeks today and still haven't felt bub move! Mind you I've been so full of wind that it could be kicking away and I probably wouldn't notice:laughing: Only 5 sleeps until my scan - cant wait!

For some reason everyone has been telling me horror birth stories today. A schoolfriend of DHs had her baby boy 2 months early last week and he is only 1.2kg but breathing on his own at least. And my workmate jsut told me about her 2 month old grandson who has a hole in his heart and a semi-blocked artery. Feeling really sad for them today and now worrying that something awful will happen to my bub. Help!!!

Re: Support people - I'll have DH and would love a doula but not sure the budget stretches that far (and having trouble finding one in the Wide Bay area of Qld). My mam will be here but while she is good in a crisis she is also a bit pernickety. She would probably stress me out too much and DH doesn't want her there either, so I guess we will see how we go.

annsam
19-10-2006, 12:42 PM
QUESTION... A friend of a friend of ours had a 2.3 kg baby, 2 days overdue, she ( friend of a friend ) was big??? I do think she chain smoked through the entire pregnancy though :thumbsdown: ( bad but JMO - everyone to their own I guess ) ....

Is that really little??

2.3kg is under the bottom of the weight chart for newborn so yeah, really small. Low birth weight can be a result of smoking unfortunately.

Have you got anymore presents since early this morning from friends or reletives.

No, a few phone calls but thats it. Got a necklace from a friend the other day and going out for lunch with DH tomorrow and another friend next week. Got some maternity t-shirts from my folks the other day too and somethings in the post from DH's family but all our family is overseas so Im happy if I get a phone call :yes: .

Well gymbaroo was a disaster. Sam wasnt' at all impressed but he got into it more towards the end.

My Ob called and cant see me tomorrow so I had to change my appt to this afternoon. So much for the nap I was going to try to sneak in. Really tired today - seem to be waking at about 4am most mornings and the neighbours dog started barking at 11pm last night. grrrrr :mad: .

Sam did an escape trick from his seatbelt this morning. Not happy. :eek:

Hope everyone is having a great day.

annsam
19-10-2006, 12:47 PM
For some reason everyone has been telling me horror birth stories today. A schoolfriend of DHs had her baby boy 2 months early last week and he is only 1.2kg but breathing on his own at least. And my workmate jsut told me about her 2 month old grandson who has a hole in his heart and a semi-blocked artery. Feeling really sad for them today and now worrying that something awful will happen to my bub. Help!!!

[

LOL - yeah, people seem to think pregnancy is their invitation to tell horror stories. Dont worry, for every horror story there are 100 fantastic stories but they are no where near as dramatic so they dont get told. ;) Sad for those people of course :(

Its normal to worry about your unborn baby but if it makes you feel any better, 40% of babies born at 24 weeks survive, 80% born at 26 weeks survive. The survival rates for premies is amazing nowdays.

Heart issues are usually picked up in the 19 week scan and though rare - they do happen but thats the sort of issue the newborn ICU at the childrens hospital is equiped to deal with.... Ive seen it myself and its fantastic. Newborn heart issues are rarely fatal nowdays.:) What an amazing time we live in for medical miracles when you think about it huh?

Thanks everyone for your birthday wishes!!! :hugs:

AquaDevil78
19-10-2006, 12:56 PM
happybirthday ANNSAM!! happybirthday

Hope you have a wonderful day :hugs: .

I just had a thought, i just realised that i have no idea what i am having... as in baby's sex.. im not getting any instinctive thoughts as to is it a boy/girl, i don't "feel" a vibe for either sex.. im hoping it's a girl but aside from silly dreams and doing ring test and chinese predictor for fun, i have NOOOOOOO inkling ... is this normal??

Also i don't have any scales at home, dont like them LOL and my current midwive care they dont weigh mothers anymore?????? Cant remember why So should i buy some scales?? All i know is im eating when hungry and have a balanced diet and from what i can tell im not pileing on the weight... but i thought weigh in where part of normal pregnancy checks??? is my hospital wrong? All she said was to watch it myself and should gain up to 14kg by the end??

Im worried that my weight is not putting on enough, if that makes sense...

M2B
19-10-2006, 02:41 PM
Hey Ladies!!

Just felt bubs first kicks at 2:30pm today, it was awesome:smiliedance: Thougth I would share with you all my excitment as I can't get a hold of DH. They lasted for 10 secs, I was so worried I would not recognise what they felt like, but I sure did.

YAY!!

Hope everyone is having a nice day

defaipe
19-10-2006, 03:49 PM
hmm 2.3kg for a fullterm newborn.. yeah both mine were a kilo above that. my sisters twins we're 6lb5oz and 5lb10oz(2.8kg & 2.5kg i think..) and born at 35weeks coz her waters broke.. yes she was HUGE!! lol seeing though she's only a 10 to 12 normally. i think she actually hit the 105kg mark, it was so funny.. for us ofcourse.. not her! :laughing: lucky she's got height though.. she's 5'8.. 170cm or maybe a bit taller.. by the end of the preg she was just so uncomfortable.. keep in mind they were born december 16th so she had the heat aswell!!

but they went through ivf to have the twins.. only coz they had two boys and said no more so her hubby got the snip, then they decided 8 years later to try again.. so she put on like 20kg before even getting preg with all the hormones they pump into you to produce eggs so they could take them out fertilize them and put them back in.. oddly enough it still took 3 attempts.. although she thinks the first 2 were girls so third time around she begged them to put in 2 embryos coz she was so disappointed and thought she'd have a higher chance of one sticking.. and well hello twins!! :eek: :laughing:

so yeah and with her preg she carried so much fluid... she got really puffy.. lost the baby weight quite quickly though which she's thankful for.. as you would be haha. it prob took a good year to shed it all off i think she said. but the ivf weight was the prob. she had about 40kg all up. they're going to be 2 this year! boy the time flies!!

AD78 i know some doctors dont weigh women coz it can get them down and its not actually a necessary part. i thought i would have put on heaps of weight coz my tummy is getting big but i've put on a kilo a month.. my doctor still weighs me but even if he didnt i prob would.. just to keep an eye on it.. dont stress about it though.. i gained 10kg with dd#1 and 17kg with dd#2.. im aiming for around 10 again with this one.. so much easier to lose than 17 :laughing:
i think they say 8kg to 15kg is average but it totally depends on the person, their body shape and all that... as long as you feel healthy and are eating i wouldnt worry..

by the time i had my scan i had no inkling with the babys sex either.. completely normal.. you'll know next week!!! YAY!!

congratulations M2B!!!! i love feeling those flutters..

19-10-2006, 04:03 PM
Congrats M2B:smiliedance: on feeling bubs move!!!

DH is now able to feel bubs, i push my tummy up to his back at night when we spoon and bubs kicks him, very cute!

Last night O tried to feed bubs some green beans lol by putting them in my belly button argh! He said "here Isis (thats what he calls her) bean yummy yummy!"
LOL he must of remebered when i told him about the umbilical cord.....they are so cluey!

Caithi- yep thats a wee little bub!

My mum smoked through out all her pg:thumbsdown: yes it was back in the "day"
her first was actually over 9 pounds (just over 4kg )she had to be in an incubater as she had breathing difficulties.
her 2nd was average at 7 and a half pounds BUT had the cord wrapped around her neck twice! had to be bagged on arrival
Her third (moi:p )was average (3kg) suffered chronic asthma from about 16mths till now
Her fourth was average (3kg) and had no health problems.

Its the luck of the draw I suppose, I have heard of women smoking and having healthy bubs but then you also hear horrific stories of babies suffering big time with low birth weights, suffering through withdrawals etc.

Hopefully your friends bub will be lucky:hugs:

had a lovely long nap with O today (12.30-3.30) it was heaven!

hope all the girls are well!
sxx

Caithi
19-10-2006, 04:42 PM
I just had a thought, i just realised that i have no idea what i am having... as in baby's sex.. im not getting any instinctive thoughts as to is it a boy/girl, i don't "feel" a vibe for either sex.. im hoping it's a girl but aside from silly dreams and doing ring test and chinese predictor for fun, i have NOOOOOOO inkling ... is this normal??

Im with you.:yes: Everyone keeps asking me ........ "what do you think its going to be?":detective: ........... BUT..... I just dont know either! :idea: :D

TenAndTa
19-10-2006, 05:51 PM
Congratulations on feeling bubs kicks!!!! Are there many people left that can not feel kicks or movement? My bub has been very active today doing lots of kicks and wiggles. I have been out gardening etc and everytime I come back inside and have a sit down and something to eat & drink I can feel bub kicking.

Cathi does your friend have to stay in hospital awhile seen as her bub was born so small (2.3kg). Did she have a hard labour or a relatively easy one?

Has everyone been doing more shopping, now the time is drawing closer to our bub's being born, and our excitement is growing!!!!
Today I have a rash that has turned up on my stomach, I think it just because it is hot and my stomach is itchy due to the skin stretching.

ME: 26yrs
DH: 30yrs
EDD: 6th March 2007
http://groups.msn.com/Ourbabys19weekphotos

defaipe
19-10-2006, 07:46 PM
xcited4bub gorgeous photos of bubby!! and you just reminded me! mum bought us a new cot & change table.. the one from toys r us.. we're going to sell the change table as we dont need two but the cot is just perfect!!
she also bought me a stroller for danielah.. i do have a couple of prams but my belly is in the way now so a stroller is much easier to lift in and out the car.. i rarely use one anyway.. only when mikaelah has dancing & swimming.. it was just so nice of her! not that im suprised.. she always buys things for the grandkids hence them being so spoilt!!
she's also put the mountain buggy twin bassinette(its for one side... obviously) on layby so really im done... other than buying clothes(which in all honesty is some new singlets and some bonds all in ones.. i have many clothes that were rarely worn by both my girls. and i need to get a baby bath/change table combo for my bathroom..

i just need to sort out the nursery now.. but i already have all the bedding and room things its just putting it all together.. oh AND i need to buy some new drawers for mikaelah so the baby can have hers.

im 21 weeks today :smiliedance: i've been going by fridays and only realised a couple of days ago bub is actually due on a thursday.. oops :o lol.. so i've been a day behind the whole time!

nemosmum your mum sounds like she had a terrible time with newborns and giving birth!! im suprised she had 4..

desync
19-10-2006, 08:14 PM
Wow, so much has happened. A quick update let any who may be interested, know.

Firstly, we got a really nice house. Yay! Lease was signed today and such.

Secondly, we're having a girl! She's a very active, strong and fidgety girl. The ultrasound technician commented on how strange it was that she was able to feel the kicks through the ultrasound..handheld thing so easily.

She's healthy and growing well. :)

firsttime
19-10-2006, 09:37 PM
desync - congrats on your scan - and gorgeous girl!

annsam - thanks for your info on doula's, will let you know how i progress. by the way - you need to do something about that darn dog barking, you poor thing...

Xcited4bub - wonderful scan pictures - i'm glad bev hewitt was better to you than she was to me, do you think you will go back for another scan towards the end - to get more 3d pic's? i would like to, but preferably to someonse else, but i dont know who yet...
i have shopped alot already - i dont know how you cope with not being near the big stores. you must love coming down to perth. I am so bad because i work at Morley Galleria so have Target, Kmart, Myer and Toys r Us all there to tempt me on my lunch break!

shezi - i bought cot and change table from toys r us too, is it Bruin? Did you get wood colour or white? My mum bought ours too - we have nice mums dont we.
I got white and have picked a gorgeous 4 door wardrobe and chest of drawers from Ikea to go with it. I thought it would be too hard to match up wood colours.

Anyway, it's a beautiful balmy evening in perth, finally got to wear some summer tops, must go eat now, chicken kiev is calling....

aquarius
19-10-2006, 11:04 PM
hi there i had to laugh at mammy2b's post, i too am so full of wind that i may very well have felt bubs move but didn't realise and thought i was just doing my usual feral farting!!! poor child is neglected already heh heh. i'm curious to know what exercise everyone is doing so far during their pregnancy? i used to do classes at the gym but the morning sickness put paid to that for the last 2 mths and i've lost quite a bit of fitness agghhh, so now i'm thinking of doing some regular walking and aqua aerobics classes, what is everyone else doing?

defaipe
19-10-2006, 11:08 PM
CONGRATULATIONS DESYNC ON YOUR BABY GIRL!!!:smiliedance:
and on your house!! must be nice to know its all signed and sealed hehe :D

firsttime yep the same :yes: i got white too. the cot is gorgeous. i found the change table to be a bit thin(the baby & shelving bits) and it does make a point of saying babies upto 12months only, but really bubs are so fidgety by then anyway that the prob is more so them climbing off over it collapsing. but i LOVE the cot!!

ok this might sound weird but i have been getting "restless" arms at night when i try to sleep.. does that make sense?? almost feels like i've been thumped heaps in my arms.. they just feel so heavy then they might go pins and needles kida feeling.. really weird.. im trying to tie it in with pregnancy some how but am drawing blank on that.
its just so frustrating coz i get so tired and cant get comfortable enough to actually sleep :banghead: help?!!

defaipe
19-10-2006, 11:12 PM
i'm curious to know what exercise everyone is doing so far during their pregnancy?

im not doing enough thats for sure. i lack motivation. i chase after my kids and thats about it.. no set walking for an hour a day like i should be doing!! im looking forward to having this bub coz theres no excuse then, alot of things are walking distance and its alot easier to push a pram with a newborn rather then carting them in and out the car!
i just wish i knew someone local who would walk regularly.. people say they will then seem to "forget" geez that sh!ts me!

BlueGin
19-10-2006, 11:23 PM
Thanks for all the lovely messages guys, I am feeling quite a bit better now, still have a cough to shake, but that's nothing :)

Happy birthday Annsam! I hope it has been lovely, sounds like your DH was on the ball this year, mine barely scraped through mine intact... next year needs to be pretty special!

Congratulations on the first kicks Caithi and M2B! How lovely for you!

Still no more than the funny soft pokes for me, which are beautifully reassuring, today I had them going simultaneously over my right hip bone, and to the left of me belly button... must have been attacking me with both ends! (I think it was the icy drink, must have woken it up!)

Desync, great news on your little girl! And congrats on the house too, a weight off your mind.

I too have a weight question, I had a consistent 4kg gain so far till I got sick, when I dropped around 3kg in the first couple of days. Nothing unusual there, but since then I haven't put any back on. My clothes are sagging on me a bit (my beautiful new jeans now look positively sack like :(). I am eating lots, actually a little more than usual even though my appetite is non-existent. Do you think this is bad for the baby? I had figured the extra weight I had put on was for its benefit, would it still be getting nutrients and good stuffs from me?

Great to hear everyone's nursery updates, our Bubble will be in with us as we have an open plan 1 bedroom, so not much decorating fun available for us! I do look forward to buying a cot though, just need to do some hardcore saving first. That and a car seat and I am hoping we will be set (as family are quite keen on clothing the little thing, lol). It would be fun to be able to set up a nursery, maybe next bub!

BlueGin
19-10-2006, 11:29 PM
i'm curious to know what exercise everyone is doing so far during their pregnancy?

Ummm, :o, not nearly enough! I will try to get back in to walking the dog once I'm feeling better, but my midwife did say I need to get in to some weight bearing exercises so I might strap on the ankle and wrist weights too!

aquarius
20-10-2006, 12:17 AM
i forgot to say before congratulations on your healthy kicking bubs caithi, m2b and desync! xxx

shezi - i reckon chasing after kids is good enough exercise heh heh i had to go shopping for just a couple of hours with my sis-in-law's 2 yr old and it nearly killed me running around after her, i thought it was fit, HA!!! forget cardio classes at the gym, they should just have this massive room where they let loose all these toddlers and you have to catch as many as you can, now THAT would be a good workout!!! i hope you find a good walking buddy soon, i know it is v annoying when ppl commit and then never go thru with it! i have a dog that is good motivation coz she is part cattle dog so v active and if she doesn't get a walk every day she goes nuts and starts barking constantly and if i try and sit down and watch telly without having walked her, she sits IN FRONT of the telly, facing me, directly in my line of vision, and just stares at me accusingly!

hi bluegin - if it's any consolation to you i had 2 friends who lost that kind of weight during their pregnancies and in the end their bubs were just fine, v healthy, altho i'm sure your doc/midwife could put your mind at rest?

annsam
20-10-2006, 06:29 AM

Will be back for personals later, DH is grumpy so cant spend much time on the PC :rolleyes: .

Went to the ob yesterday, waited 2 hours to be told all is perfect. Blood pressure 110/60, baby perfect for dates, only put on 1kg in 5 weeks. :eek: How the bloody hell did I manage that? I think Ive had over a kg in chocolate this week alone. Oh well, enjoy it while it lasts. Oh and hes going to check bubs sex for me again because I didn't feel sure the sonographer was 100% confident.

Anyway, back later.

AquaDevil78
20-10-2006, 08:14 AM
Morning Girls! Congrats on your house and baby girl Desync!! Now that you have your house here's hoping we get one soon.. we have 2 to look at today and 3 tommorow so :fingerscrossed: . Only have 2 more weeks + 1 week to pack and move, to get a house approved ARRRRGGHHHHHHHHHHH!

Ok breathing... LOL

Well its official, last night i went to bed around 10pm and around 10:45ish i was laying in bed watching TV and i felt my first absaloutley definate movement... (no mistaking for wind this time) jellybean moved/rolled over/ did a flip not sure, what a weird but sensational feeling!! and then after that was very active for about 5-10 mins that i could feel, awesome!

10 days until my scan - yipppeee!!!!!!!

Caithi
20-10-2006, 09:09 AM
Xcited4bub: Nope, apparently not - although as its a friend of a friend Im not sure, Ill double check on that one tonight.:thumbsup:

Desync: Congrats on the house & the healty bubbygirl! Kicking that hard? OMG! I am only just feeling kickings INSIDE, cant feel them from the outside yet.:eek:

Aquarius: Im doing around 3 ½ hours a day. Pump, step and 1hr power walk. And specific weights dep on the day. I am actually thinking about starting swimming too – have bought flippers and kick board he he – v excited.

Shezi – I HAVE THIS TOO! I call it crazy arm/leg lol. No idea why it happens? Anyone know?:banghead:

Aqua: whoooooooooooooo hooooooooooooooooooooooooooo he he! :smiliedance:

M2B
20-10-2006, 09:20 AM
Morning Everyone!!

Congratulations Desync on your baby girl :smiliedance: that's great news!!

It's great that a few have started setting up their nursery, we are moving this weekend to Brisbane to stay with our parents as our house has just started to be built this week. We have our fingers crossed that we can move in at least 1 week before the bub is born.......I want to start setting up the nursery now!! It is going to be fun and games moving in to a house and been 9 months pg :mad:

I have not really bought much yet because of the move, but once we are settled in to our parents I will hit the shops. I also want to wait for our scan in 2 weeks time to find out what we are having first! :fingerscrossed: for a boy...... It's good hearing what others have bought, as I kinda don't have an idea on what to get when I am in the shops looking around.

Xcited4bub - I have to say your bubs 19 week pic is so adorable, everyone's scan pics are....I lov