View Full Version : Newborn shoes

AmandaMum2B
30-08-2006, 09:44

Can anyone tell me where I might be able to get some sandles for our little boy when he arrives in 7 weeks? I've tried a few places and most baby shops only sell covered shoes/booties, but our little one is arriving at the beginning of a Brissy summer so will not want shoes on much. I would like to have some sandles for him when we take him out.

Amanda

Funkychicken
30-08-2006, 09:47
Hi Amanda. Are you looking for shoes for a newborn? I don't mean to sound rude, but a newborn baby doen't need shoes at all. Putting shoes on tiny feet that are yet to even uncurl can be really damaging. Until a baby actually gets up on their feet, shoes can only do harm. booties and socks are really great and you can get really cute felt or knitted slippers too. :)

veve
30-08-2006, 09:47
hon - its your bub and your decision ..

but I would never put shoes on my newborn ... Jack was born in summer.. and he simpkly went barefoot - ( I love a baby in just a singlet and nappy :D) - unless I was entering a cooler shopping centre .. and then I simply put socks on him ..

I should imagine that shoes (even sandals) would be extrememly hard to put on a bubs that young ... and I personally would be worried about the damage they could cause??? being that they could put pressure on developing bones??

JMO ... :)

Jen

Pixie
30-08-2006, 09:54
I agree with guys above, but if you are to buy shoes then check out Robeez and daisy roots they have soft leather ones Osh Kosh also make some I have a few cute pairs in bigger sizes we pop on Eliza when we go out as DP always says they are not for her they are for mummy :o but you need soft ones as their feet move a lot and don't let them wear them for hours on end, Eliza has worn shoes perhaps 3 times in 5 months and only for 1/2 in that time!

AmandaMum2B
30-08-2006, 10:03
I understand the dangers of "shoes" on newborns (we don't live in 19th Century China), really I'm looking for booties with holes in them and it would only be for when we take the lil' one out. I think that's why I can't seem to find anything.
Of course at home and when we visit friends and family he will go barefoot.

Big thanks for the advice anyway ladies,

Amanda

shed
30-08-2006, 10:08
I have some cotton knitted booties for bubby. They are a lot lighter than wool.

I love them they look so cute and much trendier than the old fashioned wool type booties. They should too, they were $20 :eek:

I got them at one of those swanky boutiques. Don't know the brand but they might be the go.

veve
30-08-2006, 10:18
ahhhhh :yes: gotcha .. lol

sorry - just when you said SANDALS .. I thought of shoe shoes .. you know .. the real ones :)

the softer ones are easier to find.. but I would think your best chance is the internet (should be easily delivered in 7 weeks!!!)

good luck :)

Jen

*~alegna~*
30-08-2006, 10:23
my DS was just in booties & socks for the first few weeks, being a June bub was still cold. i did find a pair of really soft velvet type material "sandals" in K-mart. Navy Blue Fisher price brand & they were about $12 from memory. I got a size "O" - So little.

They are really soft & move with his little feet - Quite wide in the front. I too only put then on when we went out.

Hope that helps :)

Briannabear
30-08-2006, 14:07
Yeah I saw some at Kmart too. Soft and cushiony.

A Party of Five
30-08-2006, 17:49
If it was me I would go barefoot for the summer and then later on get some cute little shoes. Untill my children walked they had soft sole shoes only. I got them from Myer and off eBay. Baby Paws are hand made in tassie and have soft soles. And they have heaps of styles and colours to chosse from too. You can check them out at www.babypaws.com (http://www.babypaws.com)
Hope this helps

AmandaMum2B
30-08-2006, 19:05
Thank you very much ladies, you've given me some good ideas and places to look for summer booties. I'm looking forward to the shopping ahead of me!

Amanda

Areca
30-08-2006, 21:18
Just wanted to say that it might be a good idea to not buy too many booties/socks/shoes for your little one. DD was born at the end of Nov and she is a really sweaty baby, especially her feet. She was barefoot for ages cause I just couldn't bring myself to put anything on her feet when she sweated so much.
Even at 9 months old she's yet to wear anything more than socks and booties.

I'm not saying don't...suss out where you can get them from, cost etc. by all means!

nmummy
31-08-2006, 13:53
hi amanda I saw in the target online book for august that they will be doing babies shoes and they have ones with the holes that look like miniature sandales have a soft sole like a bobux or robeez shoe goodluck I