View Full Version : Unassisted Pregnancy

BornToBe
20-10-2010, 09:26

Love to hear from those who have/had a "free" or unassisted pregnancy...

Whether that means selective testing or none at all.
I'm not quite sure of the level of prenatal tests etc I will have done... as yet at 19 weeks it has just been bub & I, quietly growing away with no issues.

Unsure if we will trot off to a doctor/arrange a midwife at all, at this stage... I don't feel the need.

However I have read that it is a good idea to have your pregnancy on record somewhere with a GP or midwife - to help with ease of transfer to hospy if there are issues during the birth, and also with registering your baby once born. Any truth to this, does anyone know?

Thanks I look forward to your input/stories.

mrsdj1234
20-10-2010, 10:20
It is easier if you see a doctor, midwife or even a chiropractor once while pregnant, cause you can just get a note from them saying that they were aware you were pregnant and have seen the baby (after birth obviously) to get the birth certificate.
I went to the doc for all prenatal appointments, had 12 & 20 wk U/S, had blood tests, as I felt I needed to have the knowledge that everything was ok to be relaxed enough to birth. That is just me personally. I have known many women who have free pregnancies as well as births.
It is entirely up to you as to what you do. If you feel confident in your body and what it can do, and in yourself and whoever else will attend your birth, then I see no problem in not seeing doctors or doing testing.

headoverfeet
20-10-2010, 11:42
I have heard basically what you have said, it makes things easier after the birth to get the birth certificate (no, you don't need a professional to sign it, it just makes things quicker with BDM). I am not sure if I will bother, although I am sure I will need something depending on where I birth and whether or not I need to fly home.

21-10-2010, 11:30
I had a free pregnancy with J though I did see our family GP at 30w. Which was a mistake. She tried to convince my husband (while I was providing urine for test) to take me to hospital. She said nothing to me.
So I will avoid the medical profession if I can help it this time. I have considered a scan because I thought I could be carrying multiples but its early days and I am going to see how I feel as I go on.

ETA - I had my MCHN write a letter saying she saw J and I and believed that he was born the day I said etc. Sent with a stat dec signed by my MIL just saying she saw me pregnant and met J when he was less than a day old.
It was a pain to organise but not as hard as I thought it would be.

BornToBe
22-10-2010, 14:05
Okie doke. Maybe to cover my own butt, I should make sure I get along to a GP later on in the piece. I suppose I can just ask him/her to write up some kind of signed letter saying YES this woman was pregnant, due on this date, yada yada. I really doubt we will hire a midwife to attend the birth so it may be a good idea to have that piece of paper.

I was considering a late pregnancy scan to ensure my good 'ol placenta is in a good position... and I think that's about it. I can't really think of anything else a scan would tell me, that I need to know. So now I'm not too sure an ultrasound is worth it.

I wonder if a GP could tell me where the placenta is via on outside tummy feel? I know midwives can, but how to access one for solely one visit I wonder? Can a pregnant woman just show up a hospital and have free prenatal checkups when suits her?

Lots to learn. Loving it though. :)

headoverfeet
22-10-2010, 14:09
You could call around for an IM to do a check if you wanted, I would if I was worried about the possibility of PA, that is the one thing I worry about, oh and SD.

MyFourCubs
22-10-2010, 14:13
I was told by a friend of mine who is a DOCS case worker that any woman who does present at the hospital for birth for whatever reason (homebirth complications for instance) who have not had any other prenatal care are immediatley referred to DOCS for assessment. Obviously I am no authority on this myself but it would be worth checking I guess just in case.

I also have afriend who had an unassisted pregnancy and homebirth but because she had no medical record of the birth she has never been able to obtain a birth certificate so cannot access family payments, missed out on the baby bonus etc. She home schools but it will still become an issue at some point so I agree that having some legal record of the pregnancy and birth would be a good idea.

As for the placenta position I honestly don't know of any other way to determine it but a scan... or doppler check maybe MAY give an idea- at a guess, lol. Again, no authority.

Good luck.:goodvibes:

BornToBe
22-10-2010, 15:01
I'm not sure on that situation MyThreeCubs but I am quite sure that in this country, it is my legal right to refuse any and all medical care. Thus being investigated by the Department of Child Safety for not seeing a doctor when I'm not ill, seems a little contradictory. Not that that would surprise me, however, good ol' government!

It's a shame your friend is having issues registering her birth. I thought that BDM legally only require a post-birth statement from a doctor, along with her applications to register a birth, and obtain a birth cert. Hope that gets sorted for her bub before things get complicated later in life.

Thermolicious, I might well seek a check up with a local IM, much closer to bub's birth. Something tells me that they may be more supportive than a local GP. The only reason it's all so up in the air, is our cross country relocation in two months' time. Difficult to sort of, "plan ahead" when you're not even sure where you'll be living! :p

Thanks all for your input. :)

headoverfeet
22-10-2010, 15:10
BtB an IM worth anything will be able to detect the location of the placenta using a stethoscope :) no need for an ultrasound or dopler.

Lillynix
22-10-2010, 15:13
I had a pretty "free" pregnancy with my DS2.

I saw my IM a few times before birth, but not many, maybe 4-5 times in 41wks? All she did was check my BP and listen to the heartbeat with a wooden pinnard.

I did have a 20wk scan to check placenta position (I have a section scar and wanted to check it was clear of that so I knew there was no placenta accreta, it's rare but i've known 2 people to have it).

However a good Midwife (or Ob) should be able to pinpoint placenta position by palpation and doppler/pinnard/stethoscope. My IM just wasn't sure of her abilities to do this as she is a little hard of hearing :laughing:

mrsdj1234
22-10-2010, 15:17
I'd avoid a gp if you aren't seeing one regualrly, cause you'll only end up with grief over the whole thing. I'd see an IM or a chiro. They are less likely to give you a hard time about your choice.
It may be true that DOCS becomes involved if you present at the hospital, but if it is anything like the involvement I had with them when DD3 was 3 months (unrelated incident) it is nothing to fret about. They visited once a fortnight, asked me my version of events 20 times, and then closed the case.

BornToBe
22-10-2010, 15:19
Yes, even if they were to interfere I wouldn't feel particularly threatened as I don't have anything to hide. :)

Things are looking good; I'm researching now how to register a birth in the state we're moving to, and it seems ridiculously easy! Nothing about needing a GP/medical professional to confirm my pregnancy via a letter is stated. We'll see.

headoverfeet
22-10-2010, 15:20
Where ru moving too?

BornToBe
22-10-2010, 15:21
Beautiful Tassie. :goodvibes:

Lillynix
22-10-2010, 15:25
Ohh i'm in Tassie! I'm in the South, whereabouts are you planning to be?

BornToBe
22-10-2010, 15:28
We're not sure yet as we will be renting for a few months before settling in for good - we're so far only familiar with South - loved Hobart, so very different to other capital cities, so relaxed and lovely! But North seems to be a bit more affordable in some ways. We really want land so depends on what pops up I think!

Lillynix
22-10-2010, 15:34
I'm just 10mins out from Hobart CBD in the Nothern Suburbs :)

There's a bunch of us weirdo home/freebirthers down here :laughing: There's also some lovely home/freebirthers around Launceston too, but I haven't managed to get up there to meet them yet!

MyFourCubs
22-10-2010, 16:45
I'm not sure on that situation MyThreeCubs but I am quite sure that in this country, it is my legal right to refuse any and all medical care. Thus being investigated by the Department of Child Safety for not seeing a doctor when I'm not ill, seems a little contradictory. Not that that would surprise me, however, good ol' government!

It's a shame your friend is having issues registering her birth. I thought that BDM legally only require a post-birth statement from a doctor, along with her applications to register a birth, and obtain a birth cert. Hope that gets sorted for her bub before things get complicated later in life.

As I said I don't claim to be any kind of expert on the matter. Just what I have been told and especially regarding the DOCS issue- didn't say I personally agree with it!:)

I believe my friend left it too late to organsie a birth certificate and she couldn't actually prove when the birth had taken place. Good to see you won't be making the same mistake!:thumbsup:

BornToBe
22-10-2010, 16:54
S'all good mate - if I come off as a little defensive, it's probably because I am! :laughing:
Certainly not aggressive though, and I do appreciate your input/and experience - it's no good hearing tales from solely one perspective, all views are welcome! :)

MyFourCubs
22-10-2010, 18:46
Lol, that's understandable. Not judging your decision at all- your baby, your entitlement in my view.:shakehands::D

BornToBe
28-10-2010, 08:26
So I'm now over 20 weeks along in my pregnancy, with no need for medical attention as yet. I did have moments of self doubt over the past few weeks - I think brought on because this is the point at which ultrasounds are truly "the norm" in most pregnancies - but have comforted myself through further reading and reflection, and moved on. My child's movements are sporadically strong enough for me to really "feel" now, which is of course a constant comfort. However I'm trying not to focus too much on it, as at this stage I don't want to be concerned if when I go hours or days without feeling too much action.

Hopefully in a few weeks time, my partner will also be able to feel movement. :) I'm sure this will help to involve him more in the pregnancy.

My general health has been good for the most part, although the classic pregnancy immune system has let me down a couple of times, with sniffles and light colds. I'm sure the overall stress of relocating, working and just being pregnant doesn't help there - however maintaining a good diet and a daily walk does wonders.

As for medical care later on in the piece, I'm considering one midwife appointment very close to the birth - to palpate my tummy, and ensure the placenta is lying well, and have an overall check up. However that is dependant on both how I feel at the time, and if I have an available, supportive midwife.

Halfway through! :)

29-10-2010, 11:02
Congrats on halfway! Its inspiring to hear how you are feeling and of your plans. :yes:

BornToBe
07-12-2010, 17:39
Thanks kymmy. :)

I haven't updated in a while as, I suppose, nothing much has happened! Baby is quietly, steadily growing away which I can tell by the massive growth that has become of my stomach. :D Movement is regular and strong.

The daily exercise part of my prenatal care has unfortunately really fallen off the radar. This is due to my lack of energy - I'm still working, and any energy I have seems to go to my job, not to mention the pain my feet are in by the end of the day. Must be all the extra weight.

I worry a bit about the lack of exercise as I can see that labour takes strength and stamina, and I don't feel much like I have either at the moment. I really hope this will pass, and once I'm on maternity leave I can get back into a daily walking routine.

The one "symptom" of being up the duff that is starting to get a little tiring is the constant need for food! I seem to need a small snack or meal around once every two hours or I get quite light headed and just feel a bit crud. It can be difficult to access nutritious stuff throughout the working day though, so I just try to do my best with it. Oh that reminds me of another unpleasant side effect - that grotty acid reflux! Bah. All the delicious foods seem to cause it - Indian curries (yum), yummy homemade pizza, anything with heaps of flavour. It's a real bummer as I can't find any natural remedies.

At 26 weeks along, I haven't had any health issues and haven't needed a doctor's support (interference?) so far. My one quick appointment during this pregnancy with a midwife was... well, unenjoyable to be honest. I felt more connected to my child without hearing their heartbeat through a doppler - it felt unnatural and uncomfortable. Barring any unforeseen health issues, I don't think I will visit one again until very close to birthing day. One upside, I suppose, was my blood pressure, etc, all measuring as perfect - which I had felt that it was - so that was empowering, in a way.

So here's hoping all continues to go well as we head into planning our homebirth. :goodvibes:

12-12-2010, 12:22
I don't have much energy but then I rarely exercise anyway and I don't struggle too much with labour and birth (except for feeling tired after which I imagine is normal). I am envious of you being able to eat. I am 19 weeks now and still rather not eat.

BornToBe
13-12-2010, 08:50
Kymmy, :hugs:

Morning sickness is such a kick in the **** (wow, can't believe I can't even type the word ar$e here, heh). I can't imagine managing it when you've got children that need your attention. The only thing I found that helped with MS in the beginning was really small, frequent meals... and a ton of fruit salad, it was all I could stomach for a while. I feel lucky and grateful that mine passed at the "typical" stage, around 12-14 weeks. Here's hoping yours passes soon and I hope you're finding time to rest up whenever possible.

AM
17-12-2010, 14:31
I had a free pregnancy with my no 2 year old, and luckily (as it happened) I went to the doc when I was about 41 weeks preggo due to a nasty cough I could not shift, and it was great for BDM, I got him to write me a note saying "yes, I saw this woman at 41 weeks preggo, and I have now viewed her with her 4 day old son.... yada"

I got the birth cert just like that, wheras people who simply did stat decs etc were waiting a long time.

All the best, great to hear it is all going uneventfully well for you :)

21-12-2010, 13:54
Thankyou btb. I am feeling much better now now that I am over 20 weeks, bout time! Still not much of an appetite but at least I can eat.

I had to get a stat dec and a letter from MP but was easy enough.

AM
21-12-2010, 16:29
Thankyou btb. I am feeling much better now now that I am over 20 weeks, bout time! Still not much of an appetite but at least I can eat.

I had to get a stat dec and a letter from MP but was easy enough.

Which MP??? State or federal???? ;)

23-12-2010, 14:45
Hah! Medical Practicioner, in this case our MCHN who is a RN and midwife.

AM
23-12-2010, 19:05
Hah! Medical Practicioner, in this case our MCHN who is a RN and midwife.

ahhhh Here I was thinking it was a typo... MP instead of GP lol

SPC
23-12-2010, 19:48
May I please ask what plans you have in case of congenital abnormality? Say, for example an abdominal wall defect (http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/9620564)? They are rare, but I've looked after dozens of babies with one, and it's care of the exposed gut in the immediate post-natal period that make the difference between a baby with a working gut and one without. [wrap gladwrap round their middle and call and ambulance is probably the best thing to do]. A baby with something like a diaphragmatic hernia (http://www.childrenshospital.org/az/Site476/mainpageS476P0.html), 1 in 2,500 births, or PPHN (http://www.seminperinat.com/article/S0146-0005(05)00004-2/abstract), 1 in 2000 births, simply wouldn't survive, and although 1 in 100 babies are born with a congenital heart defect, not all are picked up antenatally anyhow, but there are a number of congenital issues where being aware of the possibility might make a difference in the unlikely event of giving birth to a baby with a problem.

headoverfeet
24-12-2010, 10:48
May I please ask what plans you have in case of congenital abnormality? Say, for example an abdominal wall defect (http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/9620564)? They are rare, but I've looked after dozens of babies with one, and it's care of the exposed gut in the immediate post-natal period that make the difference between a baby with a working gut and one without. [wrap gladwrap round their middle and call and ambulance is probably the best thing to do]. A baby with something like a diaphragmatic hernia (http://www.childrenshospital.org/az/Site476/mainpageS476P0.html), 1 in 2,500 births, or PPHN (http://www.seminperinat.com/article/S0146-0005(05)00004-2/abstract), 1 in 2000 births, simply wouldn't survive, and although 1 in 100 babies are born with a congenital heart defect, not all are picked up antenatally anyhow, but there are a number of congenital issues where being aware of the possibility might make a difference in the unlikely event of giving birth to a baby with a problem.

Probably the same thing you would do in any other emergency ;) it's not like people get in their cars everyday with an ambulance driving around behind them JIC. There's a fav saying I love...

Birth is as safe as life gets.

Piffle
24-12-2010, 11:29
I was considering a late pregnancy scan to ensure my good 'ol placenta is in a good position... and I think that's about it. I can't really think of anything else a scan would tell me, that I need to know. So now I'm not too sure an ultrasound is worth it.

I'm not sure if you're still interested cause I see this post was a while back but I would just like to point out that scans can yield an enormous amount of important information. Not just the placenta but mainly if bubby has any problems such as a congenital heart defect, abdominal wall defect, kidney dilation, any artresias etc that would be critically important on birth. Thermo you said you'd treat it like any other emergency but this would not be enough - for example if bubby has a serious cardiac defect they could die on birth whereas if it's known about their life can easily be saved. I realise this situation is very rare etc and you are free to do what you wish but I just couldn't not reply to this.

BtB an IM worth anything will be able to detect the location of the placenta using a stethoscope :) no need for an ultrasound or dopler.

However a good Midwife (or Ob) should be able to pinpoint placenta position by palpation and doppler/pinnard/stethoscope. My IM just wasn't sure of her abilities to do this as she is a little hard of hearing :laughing:

I totally disagree with this. It is impossible to know the position of a placenta like this. Even if they can detect vaguely where it is (which is possible) how the heck do they know there is not a lip or lingula overlying the cervical os??

Thermo - yay our differences in opinion have surfaced again hahaha. Birth is not safe. Before medical interventions 1 out of 8 women died in childbirth.

mrsdj1234
24-12-2010, 11:44
I love that in a thread specifically for women to support each other with their choice to freebirth &/or have an unassisted pregnancy, that there are people who see fit to criticise their choices.
Women need to protect each other from the harm they may cause themselves and their babies by birthing in the way they feel is safest.
(PLEASE NOTE THE OBVIOUS SARCASM THERE :banghead2:)

Kymmy and BorntoBe, it is so lovely to read about your journeys. Please to continue updating this thread.

Piffle
24-12-2010, 11:46
MrsDJ - I am not criticising anyone's "journey" or decisions. I don't particularly care what other people choose to do, it's not my place. Go BornToBe and her choice of freebirth! I just don't like incorrect information being out there for other impressionable people to read.

CMF
24-12-2010, 11:51
I was just coming in to ask the same thing as Emy and SPC.... what happens in the case of congenital abnormalities? I'm totally not having a go at you, I think free pregnancy and freebirth sounds so wonderful, and if I was to have another bub I would consider it, but I personally would probably opt for a short u/s to check for any abnormalities, so that if there are any life threatening problems, I would be prepared for it at birth, in hospital if need be. I think I'm probably worried about this because I have a close friend who had a bubby with major heart defects, it was picked up at her u/s, baby was whisked away at birth to go to NICU and operated on soon after to save her life. She would not have survived if she was born at home.

Anyway I know these things are rare and I'm not trying to change your mind or scare you, I was just curious as to how you weighed up the risks of u/s vs no u/s. :)

V8
24-12-2010, 12:03
MrsDJ - I am not criticising anyone's "journey" or decisions. I don't particularly care what other people choose to do, it's not my place. Go BornToBe and her choice of freebirth! I just don't like incorrect information being out there for other impressionable people to read.

Your info and experiences may be different from others, most women who chose to go the freebirth/unassisted route are extremely knowledgeable on all sorts of issues that can arise in pregnancy and during birth and how they would manage it if it were to arise. So to you it may be incorrect, to them they may feel they are making an INFORMED decision.

Piffle
24-12-2010, 12:16
Your info and experiences may be different from others, most women who chose to go the freebirth/unassisted route are extremely knowledgeable on all sorts of issues that can arise in pregnancy and during birth and how they would manage it if it were to arise. So to you it may be incorrect, to them they may feel they are making an INFORMED decision.

I know they are making an informed decision based on their info etc and we all have different experiences. I just don't want a new mumma-to-be reading that ultrasounds are useless apart from detecting placentas, and that placentas can be detected by stethoscopes because that IS wrong, and I can see no room to move on that. I am happy to agree to disagree. :shakehands:

P.S. Another point even if you believe placenta praevia can be deteced that way, placenta accreta certainly can't be. Once again rare etc, but I just want to make the point.

Merry Christmas everyone!! :party:

elleandsam
24-12-2010, 12:23
EmyN - but placenta previa gives OTHER signs, like bleeding, it's not just picked up on US. Many people, myself included, trust in their bodies and know when something isn't right.

I wasn't having a totally free pregnancy, but I was planning to freebirth at home with a Doula and my husband. I had bleeding, went to hospital, turns out it is placenta previa.

Free pregnancy and free birth CAN be safe and as long as women trust in their bodies to show them when something isn't right then it is safe. There is always the option to have their fears investigated further if they are worried about something, but pregnancy and birth don't have to be medical.

headoverfeet
24-12-2010, 13:02
EmyN - but placenta previa gives OTHER signs, like bleeding, it's not just picked up on US. Many people, myself included, trust in their bodies and know when something isn't right.

I wasn't having a totally free pregnancy, but I was planning to freebirth at home with a Doula and my husband. I had bleeding, went to hospital, turns out it is placenta previa.

Free pregnancy and free birth CAN be safe and as long as women trust in their bodies to show them when something isn't right then it is safe. There is always the option to have their fears investigated further if they are worried about something, but pregnancy and birth don't have to be medical.

This, thanks e&b for saving me typing a long reply from my phone.

I'm sorry it hurts BF but that's how I feel about birth. Some babies and women die it's a fact of life and yes, I have had friends lose babies during birth.

I can't remember who said you can't detect the location of the placenta with a doppler but you can, you need experience yes, but it can be done.

1 out of 8 babies or women? I can't remember what was said, but that is a load of ****, maybe when birth became something people thought they had to 'do' something about yes, but there are a few studies done in tribes by OBs that show no deaths in birth for the period of time they were observed (2yrs from memory).

headoverfeet
24-12-2010, 13:04
Sorry you had a hard time of it Babel, but the honest truth here is that freebirthers do see birth to be the safe thing in life, hence why they freebirth. Tactful is not to have a go at someone for their favourite saying that was quoted in the Freebirth section of the forum.

:iagree:

headoverfeet
24-12-2010, 13:07
Sorry I just wanted to add that a few studies also show no difference in outcomes for discovering pp during birth or before, I am sure that is for in hospital though I am not 100% sure. I do stand by what E&B said re them though.

elleandsam
24-12-2010, 13:25
Sorry I just wanted to add that a few studies also show no difference in outcomes for discovering pp during birth or before, I am sure that is for in hospital though I am not 100% sure. I do stand by what E&B said re them though.

I'm not sure of the exact statistics of PP myself, to be honest I stop short of the real scary parts as it can get a bit much ATM, bu I do know that before US it wasn't always death as the outcome. Women presenting with bleeding could have the location of their placenta detected by a skilled midwife, then they would deliver by csection OR a midwife would make a hole in the placenta S the cervix dialated and then deliver the baby through the hole, quickly of course. The outcomes weren't always favourable but then again the outcomes weren't always favorable when doctors didn't routinely was their hands either ;)

Point is when we trusted our bodies and sought out help when something was wrong birth was seen as a normal and natural event and high risk pregnancies were rare. Now we treat potential illnesses, test for conditions we're not even at risk for and monitor every movement, morsel of food we eat and have procedures performed 'just in case.'

If it were up to me I never would have invited a doctor to my son's birth let alone have him in a hospital where he will then spend his first few days. However no one will deliver a grade 4 placenta previa naturally, and im not confident to do it alone.

mrsdj1234
24-12-2010, 13:37
So Thermy... are you having an unassisted pregnancy as well as a freebirth?

I must say that I'm jealous of all you ladies freebirthing. It was such an awesome experience, but disappointing that I waited until my last to do it.

headoverfeet
24-12-2010, 13:43

I must say that I'm jealous of all you ladies freebirthing. It was such an awesome experience, but disappointing that I waited until my last to do it.

I'm having the NT scan and blood test but yes other than that. This is my last too, In wanted to FB DS2 but listened to DF and we had a MW from the CMP, I regretted it in the end, I can see how much not following my instincts and freebirthing effected my labour, I really felt disturbed and watched.

Nowhere
25-12-2010, 10:37
Hey

Not a free birther but I come in peace honesly.

Lets not forget that this is posted in the home birth section about positive unassisted births, can we keep it that way pretty please, Lets not forget it Christmas the mods all have lil kiddies to and want to enjoy the day, Not spend the day modding all us ally cats

Have a good Christmas Lufflies

KatiesMum
25-12-2010, 11:45
I have deleted quite a few off topic posts from this thread.

This thread is for those who are freebirthing, or homebirthing with little interference to chat and share experiences.

This is NOT a debate thread. If you have questions - please ask them respectfully.

Just quoting the OP to remind you all ;)

Love to hear from those who have/had a "free" or unassisted pregnancy...

Whether that means selective testing or none at all.
I'm not quite sure of the level of prenatal tests etc I will have done... as yet at 19 weeks it has just been bub & I, quietly growing away with no issues.

Unsure if we will trot off to a doctor/arrange a midwife at all, at this stage... I don't feel the need.

However I have read that it is a good idea to have your pregnancy on record somewhere with a GP or midwife - to help with ease of transfer to hospy if there are issues during the birth, and also with registering your baby once born. Any truth to this, does anyone know?

Thanks I look forward to your input/stories.

trishalishous
25-12-2010, 12:10
thanks katiesmum!
next pregnancy I will be possibly having a 12ish week scan for dates and to count babies, and a late scan to check bubs size and placenta position. (the areas I had complications in)
I don't want medical intervention if not needed, so if all goes well ill be leaving it at 1-2 tests, but the hospital will be aware of EDD.
I will stay home for as long as possible (and may end up freebirthing 'accidently') to avoid unneccessary intervention.
if I do freebirth I won't be going to the hospital for awhile afterwards, but will go for a check.
there is a big free/home birth community here, and AFAIK they have done a stat dec for BDM and that was enough to register.

02-01-2011, 15:45

It is inspiring to hear of women choosing fb for their first, I know I could have but guess I felt I needed "permission" or at the very least support. It is obvious that people fear birth and the what ifs and that is when we lose the beauty of it all I think.

Merla
30-03-2011, 17:01
Hey there, been reading along. I'm looking at having a semi "free" pregnancy, having a scan at 19 weeks and maybe a palp towards the end.

Were employing a Doula and a Lay midwife so its not a real free birth, but I will have 4 appointments with each more to discuss things than for prenatal care.

My current concerns are what should I be doing if I don't have a care provider during pregnancy? I know I can get low BP and low Iron and I'm aware of those issues, but aside from being aware if there is a lack of movement is there anything else that requires routine monitoring?

05-04-2011, 16:56
I am not concerned about getting monitoring. I went to the dr once with J at 34w I think. My gp just checked my blood pressure and urine. She was not impressed with my plans to hb (she didn't know it was to be unassisted).
This time I have not had any checks as I haven't felt it necessary. I know I get low iron so I have been taking Spatone. I am a believer in having a good diet, getting enough rest and exercise, its really helped me.
I would be only concerned by bleeding apart from what you have mentioned. Having a doula and mw would be helpful in being able to talk out things if you ever feel worried.

11-05-2011, 17:08
As the pregnancy comes to a close (I hope) just thought I'd update. All is well except for trick pre labour. Feeliing close to birthing.

How are you all>?

V8
11-05-2011, 17:34
Ohhh exciting Kymmy goodluck!

12-05-2011, 15:33
Slow and steady today but think bub is waiting for Dad to come home. 4 kids are kinda excited!

mrsdj1234
12-05-2011, 15:57
How exciting Kymmy.

Sent from my GT540 using Bubhub

mrsdj1234
13-05-2011, 17:04
Just saw your post in the may announcements, Congratulations Kymmy! You are braver than I. I held back from pushing (with my bum in the air) till DH got home (about 45 minutes).

Sent from my GT540 using Bubhub

13-05-2011, 17:06
I just couldn't! I felt like bub was waiting for Dad all day.

BornToBe
26-05-2011, 09:34
Hi all, glad to read the positive outcomes and experiences over the past few months!

This is a quick one as there is a beautiful, healthy ten week old bub attached to my boob as I type (:goodvibes:) but didn't want to disappear forever after starting the thread.

Babe arrived peacefully and safely at home three days before her due date. The extent of assistance during pregnancy was a weekly blood pressure check and chat with my midwife from around 8 months on. The BP checks were at her insistence but personally I would not have felt it necessary as my health was great. No blood tests whatsoever, no scans, no doctors, no pressure and NO loss of control.

I know others have differing outcomes and would never deny that medical assistance can be of immense help when the mother feels it is so. Nobody knows your body (and baby) like you, after all.

Good vibes to all those still on their preggo journeys!

changethestars
26-05-2011, 10:32
Thanks so much for that update BTB! This thread has totally inspired me to try an unassisted pregnancy next time! I've loved seeing the ultrasounds this time around, but I do think they are fairly unnecessary if you're feeling healthy - I think I would possibly still go for either the 12 or 20 week scan though, just for my own peace of mind.

Thanks so much for the inspiration!

02-06-2011, 14:08
Lovely! I agree, it should be up to the mother rather than routine.

Tildy
03-03-2012, 14:10
The only tests I think I will acceed to is an ultrasound later to make sure everything is ok being as it's my first and my man needs convincing. I know my body really well and I trust it completely. It has never led me wrong before. I will probably go see a midwife too a check up or two, once again to help my other half feel better. I think that the reason births were so dangerous back in the day was a lack of proper food and living conditions rather than birth being inherrently dangerous. Poor women couldnt afford proper food and rich women were always sick from stupid clothing choices and never going outdoors.

I hate going to doctors or hospitals so I will be opting for as little interferrence as possible. Congrats ladies on standing by your choices and trusting yourselves.

mummaofspecialneedsx
07-03-2012, 08:58
hi ladies i have been reading ur comments an i myself wont a home birth an i live in Hobart Tasmania an saw a few comments from people who lived here im unsure what to do about my wishes an feel very pressured to attend the hospital id love to talk to anyone from hobart xxxx