View Full Version : confused over nuk recall...

*My Lil Blondie*
27-08-2006, 22:33
ok since Brodie was born he's had the nuk dummies that were recently recalled... i went into coles today to refund 6 dummies (thank goodness Brodes likes the heinz ones aswell)

anyhoo i spoke to a manager there who said it was a false alarm and that it was just a barcode problem???

but then when i went down the baby isle the recall sign was still up???

now im confused....

what should i do? im really resitant to give ds his nuk dummies and the sign says to return the dummies for a full refund....

something seems very fishy :detective:

PhAnToM
27-08-2006, 22:38
Insist on a refund, definitely!

A recall is a recall. A barcode problem would not cause a recall.
I'm guessing you came across someone very lazy, or clueless.

I actually haven't seen Nuk dummies being sold anywhere since the recall. And I know someone who used them and was looking for them. No one was stocking them because apparently they have all been recalled and they are trying to redesign the dummy, to make them safer to use.

mmm7
27-08-2006, 23:25
As the pp said these dummies apparently have issues regarding the shape of the guard. Choice magazine did some tests and found that they could fit into a baby's mouth, the whole of the guard.
So I would really push for a refund, even take them to another store and try again.:fingerscrossed:

SassyMummy
27-08-2006, 23:36
A bit off-topic but...

I actually haven't seen Nuk dummies being sold anywhere since the recall.

I've actually seen them all over the place...and if I hadn't have been a member of BubHub (which made me find out about the problems with NUK dummies) DD would still be using one (they are so much better looking than other brands...and she seemed very happy with hers...).

Brodies Mum - I'd just tell them you're returning them because of a recall. Demand it. If they won't accept it, write a letter to someone higher than the store manager. Write to the regional manager. Back up your claims with evidence (if you can find some).

mz sv6
27-08-2006, 23:39
i use them dummies with my ds and i havnt seen the recall wats wrong with the dummies ???

*My Lil Blondie*
28-08-2006, 08:56
ok well im going into coles today and demanding a refund! wish me luck!!!
has anyone successfully returned theirs?

bekkyboo
28-08-2006, 09:11
??

G only uses nuk, i havent heard about this recall... i only saw them on sale last week in target....

bekkyboo
28-08-2006, 09:27
http://www.recalls.gov.au/

i just searched there - nothing of a nuk recall.... ???

*My Lil Blondie*
28-08-2006, 09:53
hmmm... well in target, kmart and coles here (vic) there are recall signs where the dummies used to be

SilverStarfish
28-08-2006, 10:05
Nuk began pulling it's dummies of fthe shelves after it failed some important safety tests. Regulations on dummies are voluntary (so its not illegal to still make or sell them) unlike the laws on carseats - where they must have passed Australian Safety Standards to be sold or used in Australia.

Have a look here on the Choice website (http://www.choice.com.au/viewArticle.aspx?id=103865&catId=100512&tid=100008&p=1&title=Dummy+failures) for details :thumbsup:

Missus S
28-08-2006, 10:08
Nuk dummies are still for sale everywhere here in SA and I'm happily using them.

I would PM Damien's Dad who works for the distributor of NUK products, he posted some good info regarding that Choice magazine article in this thread:

http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=11637&page=3

He will know if there have been any recalls at all.

*My Lil Blondie*
28-08-2006, 10:10
Nuk began pulling it's dummies of fthe shelves after it failed some important safety tests. Regulations on dummies are voluntary (so its not illegal to still make or sell them) unlike the laws on carseats - where they must have passed Asutralian Safety Standards to be sold or used in Australia.

Have a look here on the Choice website (http://www.choice.com.au/viewArticle.aspx?id=103865&catId=100512&tid=100008&p=1&title=Dummy+failures) for details :thumbsup:

so does that mean im noy eligibla for a refund? even tho it says on the sign "if you have this product at home please return it for a full refund" or something like that

SilverStarfish
28-08-2006, 10:14
I'm not totally sure about the legal side of a voluntary recall. But if the store had a sign up like that, then yeah, I reckon they should give a refund. I'll do some asking around and see if I can find an answer for you.

~rambox~
28-08-2006, 10:17
Not all of the Nuk dummies have been recalled only some of them. The ones that are still on the shelf are fine.

SamanthaJane
28-08-2006, 10:49
If you want your refund then fight for it!

Perhaps he was just trying to get out of giving you the refund ? :shame:

I bought a pack of pidgeon dummies from priceline a few weeks ago they were $1.00 reduced from whatever they were before (pregnancy brain :rolleyes:) and i was like ooh bargain :D

But then i read on the heinz website that pidgeon had also failed the safety test :mad:

zoemacaroni
28-08-2006, 11:00
Baby Soother with clip chain
Date: 07/08/2006
Supplier Name: Worth Wholesale Qld Pty Ltd
Product Info: Product code NG0002.
Defect Details: Soothers did not comply with certain requirements of the Australian Standard for Babies Dummies, AS 2432-1991.
Consumer action: Return to place of purchase for refund.
Market Coverage: National
Recall Coverage: National

this is the only thing i found on the national recall list of products recalled in the last 30 days.... it doesnt even say what brand it is????.....

i have still seen nuks on sale here too

little mermaid
28-08-2006, 22:25
I have never seens a recall sign either and they still have them in WA. And everyone is still using them here.

Funkychicken
28-08-2006, 22:27
Do you have to have the original receipt for a refund? :confused:

28-08-2006, 23:39
Do you have to have the original receipt for a refund? :confused:

Not for a recall !

If they try that one on you start on about how being that its a recall it means there is liability would they like to foot the legal & damages bill now or shall they wait on the letter from your lawyers :p

Funkychicken
29-08-2006, 21:28
Not for a recall !

If they try that one on you start on about how being that its a recall it means there is liability would they like to foot the legal & damages bill now or shall they wait on the letter from your lawyers :p
Thanks Ally. I pay so little attention to this sort of media that this is the first I have heard of it. We were given a couple of Nuk dummies a while ago and they seemed to work but maybe I should return them.

29-08-2006, 22:55
Id be wary also FC ... I read what Damiens Dad had to say & while i can see that they are "safe" im a worry wart !
Boof only liked the bigger sizings for his dummy so he had a 6mth old size as a newborn & then the next stage when he was 6mths but i think thats because he was a bigger boy but it always made me feel safe seeing how there was no way that was going in his mouth lol even though it covered heaps of his face hehehe !

*My Lil Blondie*
06-09-2006, 16:24
just thought id update you on all on my refund quest

well i went back into coles and checked out the baby section again, strangely enough the recall sign was still up... dont you think if it was only a barcode problem the dummys would be back on the shelves ???:confused:

anyways i went and asked for the manager i had spoken to a few days earlier, i told him i had spoken to a representative from NUK (complete and utter fib :devil6: ) and she had told me that the recall was due to a choking hazard.
i told the manager i did not appreciate being lied to especially when it comes to my sons safety.

he then informed me that he had been told by his supperiers to tell any customers with queiries about the recall to say it was a barcode problem. By this stage i was FURIOUS and asked how he and his superiers would feel about being responsible for numerous babies choking when it could have been prevented!!!!

anyways after my long rant and him nearly in tears i got my money back :D

but needless to say i wont be shopping at coles and Brodie is happily sucking a heinz dummy as i type :thumbsup:

Damien'sDad
06-09-2006, 17:39

There seems to be some confusion over NUK Soothers and recalls.

To clear things up what did happen was that the NUK Soothers were withdrawn temporarily. They were withdrawn from Victoria only, unfortunately, some of the major stores with national distribution organised from Victoria (eg. Coles, Kmart & Target) had also withdrawn all the NUK dummy range from their stores throughout the country. please note there was never any product recall the stock was kept at the stores while this was being sorted out.

As you can see by the statement attached all NUK Soothers are back on the shelf, unfortunately Nuk were inadvertently caught up in this due to the wording of the IBO issued in Victoria, banning certain dummies on the basis that they are dangerous - which ours are not.

Statement to Retail Customers of NUK Soothers

On 2nd August 2006, the Minister for Consumer Affairs in the State of Victoria, the Honourable Marsha Thompson, issued an Interim Ban Order ('IBO') designed to ban the supply in Victoria of certain durmies on the basis that the banned dummies are dangerous.

Because of the wording of the IBO, NUK soothers were inadvertently caught by this ban.

After the making of urgent submissions to the Minister by Simes Aushalia Pty Limited ('Simes'), the sole distributor of the NUK product range in Australia the Minister has issued a new IBO correcting this anomaly. The new IBO is effective immediately. The new IBO states that dummies that conform either wilh the relevant Australian Standards or with the stringent and mandatory safety requirements of either the European or United States Standards, and which therefore meet the highest standards of safety, can now continue to be supplied in the State of Victoria.

At the same time, the new IBO will continue to protect the children of the State of Victoria by banning dangerous dummies.

NUK soothers fully comply with both the European and United States Standards and are therefore now once again free to be supplied in Victoria, as they have been for almost 40 years.

I hope this has helped to clear up any questions regarding NUK.

bubs_and_us
11-09-2006, 12:39
if there is a sign on the shelf saying they are recalled, take the sign down off the shelf and straight to the service desk and DEMAND a refund!!!! they have to give it to you

Sarie
11-09-2006, 12:45
I've had similar experiences as some other mum's here where their child has had an entire nuk dummy all the way in his mouth. They may not have enough evidence to pull them from the shelves if no one has been injured because of it. But I certainly won't be buying them again, nor am I afraid would I recommend it to anyone else.
If they believe that a certain dummy is actually too small for a certain age - even though that is the age it is designed for. Then that is a fault of the company and the products should be recalled and labelled apporpriately.