View Full Version : Beer + Bubs - Anybody been?
swimyabuggers
11-10-2010, 07:11
Being the awful father-to-be that I am, I can't go to SWMBO's 'early pregnancy class'. Apprently she is OK with this but I have no doubt whatsoever that it'll come back to bite me hard in the **** at some point in the future when I least expect it.
Anyway, last week I was pointed in the direction of the Beer + Bubs sessions that are run in various cities.
Has anybody on here been to one of these? If so, did you find it useful and would you recommend them?
SYB
bigbadbrad
11-10-2010, 12:23
Hi SYB,
These classes came a little after my time so I cannot help much there.
However I do agree not attending the classes may come back to bite you so I think it is an EXCELLENT idea to show interest of any type.
You could go to one of the beer classes and see how you go, pick up a parenting book (without being asked) and leave it lying around where she can see it (don't forget to read it!).
However the best advice for new Dads is to be interested when your partner is telling you things about the pregnancy. EVEN if they are telling you things about their body you would rather not know!
Now many women seem to think that the sport during the news is the perfect time for these discussions (mainly to test us) so I advise:
1 pause or Record the sport
2. listen attentively (asking questions is good for extra Brownie points)
3. Do not watch the sport you have recorded straight after the conversation (give it at least 30 seconds)
Good luck
BBB
swimyabuggers
11-10-2010, 14:52
Hi SYB,
These classes came a little after my time so I cannot help much there.
However I do agree not attending the classes may come back to bite you so I think it is an EXCELLENT idea to show interest of any type.
You could go to one of the beer classes and see how you go, pick up a parenting book (without being asked) and leave it lying around where she can see it (don't forget to read it!).
However the best advice for new Dads is to be interested when your partner is telling you things about the pregnancy. EVEN if they are telling you things about their body you would rather not know!
Now many women seem to think that the sport during the news is the perfect time for these discussions (mainly to test us) so I advise:
1 pause or Record the sport
2. listen attentively (asking questions is good for extra Brownie points)
3. Do not watch the sport you have recorded straight after the conversation (give it at least 30 seconds)
Good luck
BBB
Thanks for the advice BBB. All other classes are booked in my calendar as "unmovable, attend or be divorced" it's just the reason for the classes came along as a very happy surprise so I already have something planned.
I agree with the book idea. For double brownie points correct your wife on a regular basis when she gives incorrect information, making sure that you preface all corrections with "but my book says...".
You'll get triple brownie-points for any of the following:
Asking your obstetrician how soon you can have a paternity test
Telling your wife that you could hear the baby's heartbeat from the doppler if she'd stop asking if you could hear the baby's heartbeat from the doppler
SYB
bigbadbrad
11-10-2010, 15:39
Funnily enough the boys in the office loved your post and the girls growled......... go figure!
You may want to check out todays blog for a book choice go to http://pregnancy-parenting-australia.blogspot.com/2010/10/man-with-pram-worth-look.html
Regards
BBB
swimyabuggers
11-10-2010, 15:51
Funnily enough the boys in the office loved your post and the girls growled......... go figure!
You may want to check out todays blog for a book choice go to http://pregnancy-parenting-australia.blogspot.com/2010/10/man-with-pram-worth-look.html
Regards
BBB
Thanks for that, will have a look when I get a chance. I've been working my way through "Pregnancy for Men" which has become my one true source for information. It's very well written and is factual without being too clinical.
Apologies if I've gotten your office females in a bad mood. I wouldn't really recommend asking the obstetrician for a paternity test unless you want to be caused a lot of pain. The doppler comment did kind of slip out last week when we went to discuss the results of our nuchleal fold test. Maybe that's why the Obstetrician ordered blood tests for me even though she knows how much I hate needles?
Anyway, I'd better stop typing here now. This is a bit too much activity for the dad's part of the forum :)
SYB
smileygirl
11-10-2010, 15:55
my friends hubby went to the one in port melbourne and said it was great...my dh couldn't go sadly.
i think it would be great...and yes, brownie points would apply lol
BiggerNotSmarter
27-10-2010, 23:46
LOL SYB ur a funny bloke.
Haven't heard of the beers and bubs sessions so can't help there.
Reading the books etc is really useful for just getting in the mindset - having a baby is a pretty huge shock to your whole life; the more you can have babies on your mind at the moment I reckon the better prepared you'll be (not to mention making the missus feel more at ease!).
meatpopsicle
30-10-2010, 19:25
Sorry to crash the boys' section, but my husband just went to Beer + Bubs and loved it. He came home armed with a bunch of information. While he's always been stoked about the pregnancy and interested in what's going on, I think B+B made him feel really involved and invested. I'd recommend it and I'm sure he would too.
PS, swimyabuggers, your posts cracked me up :)
swimyabuggers
30-10-2010, 21:19
Damn. Looks like I'll be spending a night in a pub to help SWMBO with her pregnancy.
Will have to pick an opportune moment to remind her of the sacrifices I'm making to help her through the pregnancy. Only the other day I had to go shopping in Bunnings to buy power tools so that bubs' nursery furniture can be put together.
You women don't know what us blokes have to go through for 9 months!
SYB
BiggerNotSmarter
30-10-2010, 21:39
Oh, the untold story of our suffering.
Write a blog. We need to tell the people!
swimyabuggers
31-10-2010, 17:15
Oh, the untold story of our suffering.
Write a blog. We need to tell the people!
Be careful what you wish for - {removed by Moderator}
SYB
P.S. Sorry if this is the wrong place to be posting a link!
RaryGirl
31-10-2010, 17:38
Be careful what you wish for - {removed by Moderator}
SYB
P.S. Sorry if this is the wrong place to be posting a link!
Sorry .. no blog links in posts, usernames or signatures. You are most welcome to have it listed on your profile though. :yes: