View Full Version : Hyperemesis, What did they do for you?

IndigoJ
10-10-2010, 19:51
Hi everyone, im really struggling with my HG. I havent eaten anything (thats stayed down) in almost 4wks. I cant get enough fluids down to stop me from getting dehydrated. And the Drs are sitting around waiting until i hit 12wks for some reason, thats another 2wks of suffering. So what did Drs do for you? How far were they willing to take it, i feel i need regular IV fluids to stay hydrated enough so my baby isnt harmed. I dont know what they will do for me from here, Zofran, Maxalon and B6 not working.

Any ideas, im heading into depression.

IndigoJ
10-10-2010, 20:38
Bump. Anyone?

Ruby Sneakers
10-10-2010, 20:45
Oh Hun :hugs: I certainly wasn't as bad as u, I was put on zofran at 9 weeks as I had lost 7 kilos very quickly and didn't go through the general maxalon saga first (I suffered in silence til I saw my ob and my mum had to fly from interstate to take me)

I was put in hospy a couple of times and given more zofran and was stabilized by about 25 weeks (still on zofran now at 38 weeks but now only nausea)

I wonder if they are wanting to try a stronger med on u that mightn't be safe until after 12 weeks

Is it possible for u to be put on iv fluids regularly???

:hugs: big hugs it's bloody awful!!!

Electric Rodeo
10-10-2010, 20:49
I come with no miracle cure but plenty of sympathy, you must be going insane.:hugs:

Hopefully someone has that cure. Did you have HG with your first pregnancy?

IndigoJ
10-10-2010, 20:51
Oh Hun :hugs: I certainly wasn't as bad as u, I was put on zofran at 9 weeks as I had lost 7 kilos very quickly and didn't go through the general maxalon saga first (I suffered in silence til I saw my ob and my mum had to fly from interstate to take me)

I was put in hospy a couple of times and given more zofran and was stabilized by about 25 weeks (still on zofran now at 38 weeks but now only nausea)

I wonder if they are wanting to try a stronger med on u that mightn't be safe until after 12 weeks

Is it possible for u to be put on iv fluids regularly???

:hugs: big hugs it's bloody awful!!!

I honestly think my Dr thinks its just normal morning sickness and will go at 12wks like its supposed to, but my normal MS with DS didnt stop until about 14wks. HG is supposed to last from 16-24wks so i dont know why the 12wks mark is where i have to be.

I think the only other thng DR can do is more regular Zofran (which i wont be able to afford) and/or regular IV fluids, and hopefully not but a NG tube. Going by how reluctant the hospital was to give me fluids when i was dehydrated i cant see them giving me regular fluids. My Dr wont refer me either because im not 12wks. I am thinking of flying to Bris to see the hospital down there, they might have had more experience with HG and might be able to help. I am just wondering what others have had done to help them

IndigoJ
10-10-2010, 20:51
I come with no miracle cure but plenty of sympathy, you must be going insane.:hugs:

Hopefully someone has that cure. Did you have HG with your first pregnancy?

No, i had the normal MS, 'feel sick, throw up, all good'

Ruby Sneakers
10-10-2010, 20:56
Are u not on regular zofran??? It took a few days of regular wafers for me to hve some relief.... But I had days where it did nothing....

I guess it is possible that they might be hoping it will just go away at 12ish weeks (I know my ob was shocked how long and sick I have been and I actually didn't get a HG diagnosis until 20 weeks)

Did they give u the HG diagnosis??? If so they really should be doing more....

IndigoJ
10-10-2010, 20:58
I am supposed to take it daily (4mg) but i cant afford it :( So i only take it every so often, if i need to go to town, or if i cant stop throwing up. But even when i do take it it only lasts about 3-4hrs (to stop the vomiting, not the nausea) and then it hits me again and im back to feeling horrid and throwing up constantly.

I got a HG diagnosis at 6wks.

Ruby Sneakers
10-10-2010, 21:02
I am on 4mg twice daily wafers and if I didn't take them both (or half an 8mg as I did) I was soooooo crook......

Can u get the generic brand which is heaps cheaper and if u get a perscription from the hospy it should only cost u $30 something for ur script...

I have PHI and get a rebate from them for every prescription too so I am only out of pocket that same amount....

Are u eligible for a health card too....

If u are that crook hun u really need to take it regularly... It will at least give it a decent chance of helping u....

Sorry I know that isn't much help but I wouldn't have made it without sticking to the zofran :hugs:

IndigoJ
10-10-2010, 21:08
I am on 4mg twice daily wafers and if I didn't take them both (or half an 8mg as I did) I was soooooo crook......

Can u get the generic brand which is heaps cheaper and if u get a perscription from the hospy it should only cost u $30 something for ur script...

I have PHI and get a rebate from them for every prescription too so I am only out of pocket that same amount....

Are u eligible for a health card too....

If u are that crook hun u really need to take it regularly... It will at least give it a decent chance of helping u....

Sorry I know that isn't much help but I wouldn't have made it without sticking to the zofran :hugs:

I will try the hospital dispensary and im seeing a different Dr this week so ill see if he will prescribe them more regularly. I asked the chemist and they didnt have any generic brands only the Zofran at $137 for 10 8mg wafers. I dont have PHI and i am not eligible for a health care card (but i will see centerlink again, i think the cut off is $700 in wages a week, which DP gets more than). In america they have a Zofran pump as well, not sure if they have them here though. But if i cant find cheap Zofran then there isnt really anything else i can try, i really cant afford them regularly, it will cost me $20 a day.

Lateralus
10-10-2010, 21:10
I couldn't get anything done til I collapsed from dehydration at 16 weeks and was admitted to hospital for a week. Then it was about 15L of IV fluids & zofran wafers.

On a side note.. I did find acupuncture helped a bit & those acupressure bands helped a wee bit too. Not a golden cure, but as you'd know.. When you feel that $hothouse, even something that works a tiny bit is a bonus.

IndigoJ
10-10-2010, 21:14
I couldn't get anything done til I collapsed from dehydration at 16 weeks and was admitted to hospital for a week. Then it was about 15L of IV fluids & zofran wafers.

On a side note.. I did find acupuncture helped a bit & those acupressure bands helped a wee bit too. Not a golden cure, but as you'd know.. When you feel that $hothouse, even something that works a tiny bit is a bonus.

Ive been getting that way too, exhausted just making DSs breakfast, ive been laying down for four weeks so im weak. Regular acupuncture might cost the same amount as Zofran :laughing: but i havent tried it. I have tried the bands, they worked for about a day. I have tried another homeopathic remedy too, again it lasted a day. Back to square one.

supa_star323
10-10-2010, 21:17
I couldn't keep anything down, not even fluids. I went to the hospy after about two weeks and they put me onto a drip (after struggling to find a vein). I was then in hospital on a drip for 4-5 weeks, when my hg stopped (I was lucky it ended cause some people have it all the way through).

Ruby Sneakers
10-10-2010, 21:17
I know when I was first prescribed it was about $150 for 10 wafers.... My hospy pharmacy said if it was a hospital script they can do it for the cheap price... Might be worth when u see ur gp to ask if they will admit u for some fluids and get a hospital script

Accupunture did nothing for me at all :(

IndigoJ
10-10-2010, 21:22
I couldn't keep anything down, not even fluids. I went to the hospy after about two weeks and they put me onto a drip (after struggling to find a vein). I was then in hospital on a drip for 4-5 weeks, when my hg stopped (I was lucky it ended cause some people have it all the way through).

Ive been like this for 4wks and they are still reluctant to help me. They have struggled to find my vein, once at the blood collection place (30min, 4different stabs and a hot pack then she had to syringe the blood out) and twice at the hospital. Im glad your HG stopped :hugs:

Pinup: I have used a hospital script and it was the same price. Its not covered by PBS (unless you have one script no repeats) and even when it is its only $3 off. (4mg wafers)

supa_star323
10-10-2010, 21:24
That is ridiculous that they won't help you. I just went straight to the local Ed and they admitted me. I hope you find something that helps soon

Ruby Sneakers
10-10-2010, 21:26
That sucks!!!! I was cranky cuz I was a private patient and couldn't get the discount but found out bout the PHI covering it....

Hopefully ur GP might be able to come up with something new - I can't believe ur hospy is so reluctant to help u! I really hope it disappears for u soon hun xoxo

IndigoJ
10-10-2010, 21:26
That is ridiculous that they won't help you. I just went straight to the local Ed and they admitted me. I hope you find something that helps soon

My local ED first tried to force me to eat icy poles, then after about 2hrs finally gave me fluids.

I went to a different hospital today and they gave me fluids straight away, but im not sure they would do it regularly. Which i personally think is about all that i cant think of that might be helpful, even if it doesnt make me feel better at least my baby is getting some. Ive not given it substantial food or fluids for 4wks.

Tam76
10-10-2010, 21:30

I feel sorry for you, I also suffered from Hyperemesis and occassionally still suffer, I was in Emergency 7 times and admitted to hospital twice, from 6 weeks, I am now in my 18th week.... I was on Maxalon and Zofran (yes very expensive) but we found that the discount chemists were the cheapest, so perhaps try them... but for me both medications stopped working and I am now on Steriods, which seem to be working...

Thinking of you !!! Hope you get better really soon

Tam

IndigoJ
10-10-2010, 21:34

I feel sorry for you, I also suffered from Hyperemesis and occassionally still suffer, I was in Emergency 7 times and admitted to hospital twice, from 6 weeks, I am now in my 18th week.... I was on Maxalon and Zofran (yes very expensive) but we found that the discount chemists were the cheapest, so perhaps try them... but for me both medications stopped working and I am now on Steriods, which seem to be working...

Thinking of you !!! Hope you get better really soon

Tam

Thank you. I live in a small town so there are no discount chemists and ive priced zofran everywhere in town. Maybe the steriods are the next step that they wont give me until 12wks? really dont know anymore.

RmumR
10-10-2010, 22:33
im 34wks tomorrow and had HG since 6wks. it is hard to get proper treatment in the public system i agree as i have been thru it all the last 7mths.
my gp was a great and kept me in supply of zofran scripts, yes its expensive but is it cheaper than your dp having to take time off to mind ds if you are sick in hospital instead?
have u tried maxalon? icouldnt as im allergic but it works for some.
phenergan worked for me at night time and is over the counter and relatively cheap.
i got much more help from hospy after 20wks when i could then b seen in delivery suite if i felt dehydrated, they would load me up on iv fluid overnight.
if you get admitted even if only overnight thru emergency or delivery ask the dr for a hospy script b4 discharge then u get 7 days supply of zofran from the hospy pharmacy for free.
i have been admitted overnight 10 times this preg and finally at 33wks they decided i was in a bad way and admitted me last mon and i have been here ib ante-natal ward on continuous iv fluids for a week. hopefully going home tomorrow after an ultrasound to check bubs growth.
i have been on vitamin supps via iv plus meds including zofran thru iv too.
in a week here i have put on almost 3kg which gives an idea of how dehydrated i would have been. also seen a dietician so on a special diet to try and give my body back more nourishment.
looking like my bub will be induced at 37 wks due to my long term HG and the physical and emotional effects its had on me.
wishing you lots of luck and hope u find the help you need.

IndigoJ
10-10-2010, 22:41
Sorry your having a tough time too rmumr. I am only 10wks but im really worried about the effect this is having on my baby, i cant believe they would let you (or me) go so far before helping. My DP having time off work isnt an option anyway so if i needed to go to hospital id have other places to send DS. I will keep the hopsy in mind for a script if i go there again. Im just sick of suffering already, i cant imagine what its going to be like if this goes on for a long time. Even though we tired so hard to conceive this baby termination has crossed my mind, its horrible, i feel myself getting depressed with the lack of support.

fireflies4
10-10-2010, 22:58
Have you tried those Hydralite drinks/icy block things you can get from the chemist to try and boost your hydration??

I'd be going to the hospital tomorrow and getting them to write you a script for the Zofran & getting it filled at the hospital.

I didn't have what you have but I had to use Crinone (i think it was called) for 6 weeks (something to do with my cervix). The script was written by the OB at the hospital and she told me to fill it at the hospital. I asked why the hospital?? She explained a normal chemist it would cost me $180 (apparently) and at the hospital it cost me $33.90. So a huge saving.

Definitely give the hospital a try. Its worth it if you are going to save heaps of money on the Zofran and therefore help you keep fluids/food down.

RmumR
10-10-2010, 22:59
it is depressing, upsetting and sn emotion and physical rollercoaster thst i have wanted to get off for months now.
i have no idea how ive gitten to 34wks without dying as i have felt absolutely ghastly on many occaaions.
your gp can call the hospital ob and get you into the er on iv fluids if they are pro active enough, my go did this many times till i was 20 weeks.
once i was 20 wks it was usually dh who would look at me and say ok time to go to hospy again and off we'd go to delivery suite for a overnight of iv.
if you are seeing midwives clinic for your oreg tell them how depressing it is for you and they might refer u to a psych who you csn vent all your concerns too and if warranted they can speak to ob on your behalf.
this preg has shown me that no matter whar if we have another baby, which seems unlikely after this ordeal that i will go private all the way to get the continuation of care and hopefully faster action

ElizaDoLittle
10-10-2010, 23:21
Will be back later to commiserate more
But hunni I feel your pain! HG both pregnancies, til the second they popped out! Quick zofran tip... Get your doc to WRITE a script, (yellow pad) not print it, and get them to not tick any of the "private" or "PBS" boxes. Leave them both blank. This provides I loop hole for chemists to give it to you on the PBS. worked for me anyway. And sorry but after I hit the $1.2k spent on zofran, I didn't care it was dodgy. It was keeping me alive without hospital admission (4 weeks straight at one point with ds)

trishalishous
10-10-2010, 23:48
I cant remember when I was hospitalised (I was pretty much unconscious or vomiting for a week before I reached that stage) but after that till 26 weeks I had 2 IV fluids a week, and maxalon 6 times daily, with a stemitil shot ever day if needed.
I lost 20% of my body weight before I went to hospital.
Before that they were just saying it was normal morning sickness.

IndigoJ
11-10-2010, 10:31
it is depressing, upsetting and sn emotion and physical rollercoaster thst i have wanted to get off for months now.
i have no idea how ive gitten to 34wks without dying as i have felt absolutely ghastly on many occaaions.
your gp can call the hospital ob and get you into the er on iv fluids if they are pro active enough, my go did this many times till i was 20 weeks.
once i was 20 wks it was usually dh who would look at me and say ok time to go to hospy again and off we'd go to delivery suite for a overnight of iv.
if you are seeing midwives clinic for your oreg tell them how depressing it is for you and they might refer u to a psych who you csn vent all your concerns too and if warranted they can speak to ob on your behalf.
this preg has shown me that no matter whar if we have another baby, which seems unlikely after this ordeal that i will go private all the way to get the continuation of care and hopefully faster action

My GP isnt going to do anything like that until i hit 12wks, i dont know why though. I have just driven myself to the ED the last two times. I might see a different GP and ask them what they can do, and if they can get me to see a psych. The only time i can go to hospital is on weekends when mum an watch DS or during the week DP is home. My depression is stemming from the Drs not helping me more. I mean if a person cant afford Zofran are they supposed to suffer more, its just *bleep*.
Thank you for your help.

Will be back later to commiserate more
But hunni I feel your pain! HG both pregnancies, til the second they popped out! Quick zofran tip... Get your doc to WRITE a script, (yellow pad) not print it, and get them to not tick any of the "private" or "PBS" boxes. Leave them both blank. This provides I loop hole for chemists to give it to you on the PBS. worked for me anyway. And sorry but after I hit the $1.2k spent on zofran, I didn't care it was dodgy. It was keeping me alive without hospital admission (4 weeks straight at one point with ds)

I highly doubt my chemist would do this for me. Ive found a pharmacy online called 'eparmacy' im not sure how it works but there is generic odansetron for $55 (10x8mgwafers) so ill check that out.

I cant remember when I was hospitalised (I was pretty much unconscious or vomiting for a week before I reached that stage) but after that till 26 weeks I had 2 IV fluids a week, and maxalon 6 times daily, with a stemitil shot ever day if needed.
I lost 20% of my body weight before I went to hospital.
Before that they were just saying it was normal morning sickness.

I think my Dr thinks its normal MS, which is why he is waiting until 12wks to help me, either that or he is waiting until i get the the 12wks 'safe' period. I really dont know. The Maxalon is no good for me it knocks me out and i have DS to look after, i have it prescribed every 4hrs though. And i have a reaction to Stematil so i wont be getting anymore of that. I guess the whole thing is waiting until i pass out or something before they will take me seriously. im at 9% weight loss already 20% weight loss and ill be down to 60kg, only 8kg to go. So its either i lose too much more weight, i pass out, or i get to 12wks, nothing will be done now.

Ive cut up my remaining 4 wafers so ill try taking half in the morning and half in the afternoon, if that helps ill buy the 8mg (scrape money from somewhere) and cut them in half.

Thanks again everyone.

IndigoJ
11-10-2010, 10:33
Have you tried those Hydralite drinks/icy block things you can get from the chemist to try and boost your hydration??

I'd be going to the hospital tomorrow and getting them to write you a script for the Zofran & getting it filled at the hospital.

I didn't have what you have but I had to use Crinone (i think it was called) for 6 weeks (something to do with my cervix). The script was written by the OB at the hospital and she told me to fill it at the hospital. I asked why the hospital?? She explained a normal chemist it would cost me $180 (apparently) and at the hospital it cost me $33.90. So a huge saving.

Definitely give the hospital a try. Its worth it if you are going to save heaps of money on the Zofran and therefore help you keep fluids/food down.

Yes i tried the ice poles, the hospital tried to force me to eat them before they gave me fluids. I cant even get them down, they taste horrid. I will see the hospital today. Thanks.

RmumR
13-10-2010, 14:43
Hun did you have any luck with the hospital?

LillyB
01-11-2010, 21:09
My first pregnancy was managed by a traditional OB and he prescribed medications to help keep the hypermesis in check. I started those at about week 10 and continued taking them through the 8th month. As soon as I'd stop taking them, to try and wean myself from them the hg would immediately start again. It was only the last couple of weeks that I stopped taking them and didn't throw up.

IndigoJ
01-11-2010, 21:18
Thanks for bumping this Lilly. Sorry RmumR this thread didnt come up in new posts.

I am over 13wks now and still getting HG. Im on Zofran (half a 4mg wafer in the morning, half at night) it seems to work to stop the Vomiting, but not the nausea.

I saw my Dr today and he said all i can do is just keep up the Zofran and the Maxalon. Im able to eat small meals comfortably and im able to drink and keep down water (on the tablets), i have a water filter and it really really helps. I am hoping that it gets better, the way im going now is ok. Its just the nausea that i want to get rid of now.

beebs
02-11-2010, 17:57
Grrrr I hate reading posts like this. Our health system has so much to answer for.
In Canada if you have HG you are prescribed a drug called diclectin. It has been used by over 30 million pregnant women and is considered safer than maxalon in pregnancy, its a class A drug. The Australian govt is dragging there feet in terms of okaying it for use here. It really is a magic wonder pill. In my first pregnancy I was prescribed it at about 10 weeks - the usual symptoms. Anyhow - it made me feel so much better. When I would try and wean off (because it is bloody expensive) I'd get sick straight away again. I just can't believe it is still not available here and that they let women end up in hospy on IV drips.
There are a few Drs trying to get it available here. I hope they succeed.
This is an interesting article, It talks about plans to market a similar drug to diclectin. And it also has a do it yourself dicletcin combination. PS - I did not get drowsiness with it.
http://www.australiandoctor.com.au/news/54/0c04af54.asp

Sheer Bliss
02-11-2010, 18:31
:hugs: :hugs: :hugs:

I am sorry you are like this - it totally sux!!! I was on 16mg zofran per day with my twins. 8mg in the morning and 8mg at night. For the first 16weeks, i was still nauseaus and sick 3-4times a day, but i kept enough down to gain back a bit of weight. We ran up a credit card debt for the zofran, obviously not ideal, but neither was having me spiral into the depression that would have happened feeling that bad for that long. I was also on IV fluids when it got too bad, and my OB would keep me in there for up to a week at a time to make sure I was well and truly over the worst part before letting me go home. The IV was great, and it also meant I had Zofran straight into the drip - fantastic!!!