View Full Version : Wanting to meet mums & bubs around East Brisbane
Hi There,
We have recently moved to Carina on Brisbane's East. I would love to meet mums in the area and to also introduce our son, Ethan (2) and our daughter Sienna (6 months) to new friends in the area.
Are there any mums out there in the area that already have a mothers group that we could meet up with? We are members of playgroup, so if you have a playgroup that we could join that would be awesome too!
We're happy to meet anywhere in the East Brisbane area.
Look forward to hearing from any local mums.
Thanks,
Amy
NonnyMouse
08-10-2010, 17:33
Hi There,
We have recently moved to Carina on Brisbane's East. I would love to meet mums in the area and to also introduce our son, Ethan (2) and our daughter Sienna (6 months) to new friends in the area.
Are there any mums out there in the area that already have a mothers group that we could meet up with? We are members of playgroup, so if you have a playgroup that we could join that would be awesome too!
We're happy to meet anywhere in the East Brisbane area.
Look forward to hearing from any local mums.
Thanks,
Amy
Hi Amy,
I can PM (private message) you details of our next Brisbane meet if you like? I don't think you have PM's turned on though.
Thanks! That would be great. Quite new to this site though and not sure how to activate private message?
Cheers :)
NonnyMouse
11-10-2010, 11:34
Towards the top left of the screen is a tab called "User Control Panel". Click on this, then go down to where it says "Settings and Options" and click on "Edit Options".
About half way down that screen is a bit about Notifications, and there's a check box where you can enable Private Messaging.
:-)
SpecialPatrolGroup
11-10-2010, 14:18
Hi, I'd be really interested in meeting up with some mums and bubs too. My DD is 11 months!
whosurnanny
13-10-2010, 14:55
I'm a 31 year old nanny and care for an 11 month boy in Camp Hill from Monday - Thursday and would like to meet people and socialise with him.
Send me a private msg if you're interested.
Would be great to meet people :)
Justine
allboys4now
15-10-2010, 14:06
Hi, very new to this site too.
Moved to Brisbane from Victoria a few months ago, have a 21 month old and a 7 week old.
Would love to socialise my 21 month old as he misses 'friends' and thinks I'm boring as all I do is feed 7 week old!!
Would love to know about playgroups for his age, in hope of meeting other mums there with babies etc..or if living in same area to catch up at a park or the likes of.
Look forward to any responses.
Sounds like there are a few of us in the same boat! Not sure if I've managed to get the PM activated? Will wait and see if anything comes through. Not very technology savvy I'm afraid :-)
Hear from you soon
caprafamily
20-10-2010, 22:19
This trhead is similar to the other one but I'm keen to meet up too. I am moving from Gladstone to Bris in Dec and have a 1 year old.
oo0lisa0oo
16-11-2010, 12:32
I'm a little late on reading this thread, but im also keen on mothers groups/catch up/playgroup if anyone can help bring this together, i live in tarragindi and it seems all the mums around this area work, and there is no mothers groups..
caprafamily
17-11-2010, 20:18
I'm still keen too! Move on Dec 5 to Moorooka. Let me know if you guys decide anything. Other than that there were a few playgroups on the website around East Bris might check them out?
allboys4now
18-11-2010, 14:09
I still haven't done anything about anything!! I have been searching playgroups online, but for some reason just haven't gone any further. There are heaps in surrounding suburbs, all different times and prices and I think I'm just confusing myself. Have never gone to playgroup before and don't really want anything I have to commit too as I have nearly two year old and three month old. So maybe a catch up at a park is better suited??? I really have no idea why I'm not getting anywhere, prob because I'm still getting used to a new area and two kids now! I don't really have time either to ring around all the playgroups to see which will suit etc....this doesn't really help anyone, but any futher thoughts, I'm all ears!
twomunchkintolove
23-11-2010, 09:54
Hi Ladies, I would love to come to one of your meets one day. My name is Tracey and I have two children Sophia (2.9yrs) and Connor 1 (1yr). I live in Thornlands but am willing to travel over to Wynnum area.
allboys4now
23-11-2010, 21:09
Hi everyone, looks like there is a good bunch of us now looking for the same thing. How about we all work out to meet up at a park, even a different park each time etc. I will try to private message everyone tomorrow with some suggestions.
Yay for moving forward!! :smiliedance:
SpecialPatrolGroup
23-11-2010, 21:52
Allboys4now - I have been to the Perth St park in Camp Hill recently and they have a nice shady playground, plenty of parking close to the playground etc, also the White Hills reserve off Boundary Rd Camp Hill has a nice play ground and shelter.
twomunchkintolove
24-11-2010, 09:43
I'm happy to go to the park at camp hill. When is a good day for everyone. I can't do Tuesday or Thursday next week.
Might get another firend to come along aswell if that is ok.
oo0lisa0oo
24-11-2010, 13:28
Sounds good to have a meet up :-) I'm free most of the time and camp hill is close enough..!
twomunchkintolove
24-11-2010, 16:10
there is a great park at capalaba aswell behind bunnings. It is fully fenced also.
whosurnanny
25-11-2010, 00:11
I'm free Monday afternoon or Thursdays. Since little person has turned one we've started a few more activities so time isn't on our side!!
oo0lisa0oo
25-11-2010, 20:25
Hey Ladies, Does anyone use Facebook ? There is a group on there that are having a day out on Wednesday 1st December. If there is any ladies who would like to come along im going with my little one.
The day starts at 10.30am to about 1.30pm at the streets pool at Southbank. If its hot the littlies will go for a swim and then we are heading to a cafe. So let me know if your interested and i will get some more information if need be.. :wave:
Hi Ladies!
So sorry for not joining in on the chat for a while. Have been on holiday in Sydney with the extended family.
There is a great park near us in Carina (it is used as before and after school care but is fine to be used during the day) Has a bike track too if any of your little ones want bike practice.
Still having issues setting up Private Message on here but will give it another go.
Hope to meet everyone soon.
allboys4now
29-11-2010, 21:06
Hi Everyone, just a thought, in case it is bad weather for Wednesday, shall we make it Thursday? So if the weather is fine, see those of you that can make it on Wed, if the weather is bad, see those of you that can make it Thursday.
Once we get it sorted, we can talk in person to make it a regular thing if you please!!
Sounds like a plan!
See you all then :-)
The weather forecast for today isn't all that flash :-(
Thoughts?????
allboys4now
01-12-2010, 10:05
Uummmmm!!....I will still go at this stage, but it's not far for me, if it starts raining I'll just pop everyone back in the car and go!!...completely up to everyone what they want to do, might see u there
SpecialPatrolGroup
01-12-2010, 10:12
I'll take the chance also - just looks really cloudy but we might be ok!
SpecialPatrolGroup
01-12-2010, 10:39
This rain looks like it has set in - might try again tomorrow?
NonnyMouse
01-12-2010, 10:41
Yep, tomorrow suits me. :-)
We're off to bake bread and do some string painting instead.
(And :p to whoever did the rain dance/squashed a spider/washed their car this morning!)
allboys4now
01-12-2010, 10:52
Tomorrow tomorrow.... Is a good idea!!
queenbetty
01-12-2010, 22:16
Sorry I've only just found this thread. My name is Liz (27) and i've got a little man Jordan who is 12 months old & I'm hoping to find some other friends for my little man to play with and build some friendships with. :)
I just saw u have a meet up tomorrow that I won't be able to make it too but I'd be really interested in coming to ur next one. :) if anyone wants to add me on facebook my email address is eliz_papas@yahoo.com.au :)
allboys4now
02-12-2010, 08:43
Good Morning ladies, kiddies and bubs,
So the weather once again is not looking to promising and unfortunately I'm not feeling very well, so I am going to give a miss.
I am free next week either Thurs or Fri and then any day week following that.
Would we like to book in next Thurs 9 Dec, same details?
Of course, you guys go right ahead and meet up and if you do, please keep me in the loop for another meeting.
Also, as I'm new to Brisi, any suggestions on appropriate indoor venues, so we don't have to keep postponing?????...There is a place in Cannon Hill called Lollipops I think, but there is an entry fee.
Hope to meet you all very soon!!!
NonnyMouse
02-12-2010, 09:24
Good Morning ladies, kiddies and bubs,
So the weather once again is not looking to promising and unfortunately I'm not feeling very well, so I am going to give a miss.
I am free next week either Thurs or Fri and then any day week following that.
Would we like to book in next Thurs 9 Dec, same details?
Of course, you guys go right ahead and meet up and if you do, please keep me in the loop for another meeting.
Also, as I'm new to Brisi, any suggestions on appropriate indoor venues, so we don't have to keep postponing?????...There is a place in Cannon Hill called Lollipops I think, but there is an entry fee.
Hope to meet you all very soon!!!
I forgot it's Rocmketman's daycare today, so although we could still make it, I'd be only with the littlest one. I might stay home and catch up on zzz's instead, as they were both feeding every couple of hours all night.
Lollipops is ok - kids under 1 are free. The coffee is passable but the food sucks. ;) They're not so good about keeping bigger kids out of the under 4's area though, and you get rowdy bigger kids playing there sometimes.
I don't know of any other indoor places near here.
Hi Ladies, I've just seen this thread and would love to meet some new people in the area with children if it's not too late to join in. My daughter is 3 months old.
Bulimba park might be worth a go. There is a play area for the older kids and a takeaway coffee shop across the road. If the weather turns bad we could decamp to one of the cafes on Oxford street.
SpecialPatrolGroup
03-12-2010, 00:27
Next week is fine for me. I will only be along for a little while at the beginning (have to take my MIL christmas shopping :rolleyes:) but would really like to meet you all.
oo0lisa0oo
03-12-2010, 15:04
I'm free for next week too. Sounds like there are quite a few of us? :yelclap:
NonnyMouse
03-12-2010, 15:09
Wednesday next week? That's DS's Xmas party at daycare unfortunately. :(
SpecialPatrolGroup
03-12-2010, 20:33
I'm so confused - Wednesday or Thursday next week?
oo0lisa0oo
04-12-2010, 07:59
I'm so confused - Wednesday or Thursday next week?
I thought it was Thursday. So Thursday it is ????
NonnyMouse
04-12-2010, 14:43
I'd prefer Thursdays, but won't be able to make any until after Xmas because until then Thursday is one of our daycare days.
willowtree78
06-12-2010, 09:19
Morning Ladies,
Thought I better pop in and introduce myself and say :wave: I'm Lynda and I have a 21 month old DD and I'm also 23 weeks pregnant. I live in Belmont (near Carindale).
I've been trying to find a playgroup for quite a while now but no luck with anyone being able to ever meet up so gave up for a while. Fingers crossed we can all get it together coz my DD is really starting to go insane and we're past the window shopping days so taking a walk around the shopping centre (which she used to enjoy) is now out of the question...unless it's her sleep time haha.
My DD is very active (at least that's what I like to say instead of uncontrollable :)) so I really won't be able to do any meets at cafes or anywhere that children can't run around :(.....so basically parks & playcentres are about all that suits me and atm parks require my constant attention coz she has no fear and has a tendancy to do runners :rolleyes: I don't particularly like Lollipops myself but there really are no other playcentres nearby unfortunately. It's just so ridiculously expensive and my DD is so fussy with food atm that I have to sneak her food in coz I've been told twice now that I'm not allowed to bring my own food in for her. I realise that it's their rulse but give me a break, I had bought wedges and a coffee from them for myself which were sitting in front of me (and I pay enough at the door for her). :mad:
I have been to the Red Raddish at Wynnum which (for those of you that haven't heard of it) is a cafe with a large play area in the corner (not caged in) for the kiddies. It at least has a front door that you can shut to keep the littles one in and has toys etc to keep them entertained and of course a coffee shop and seating for the adults. May be too far of a drive for some but for those wanting a cafe (and if it's a rainy day), it's very child friendly. Anyway, just a thought in case it's wet again this week.
Well I hope to meet up with everyone within the next couple of weeks sometime otherwise I'll see you after the Xmas/New Year break as we're going away for a bit. :noel:
oo0lisa0oo
07-12-2010, 23:11
So the weather continues the same as last week. Shall we try a meet up next week or has anyone got any ideas for somewhere else ?
How ANNOYING is this unpredictable Summer weather.
Are we still going to try to meet up tomorrow AM?
I'm not sure of any indoor places to go - we haven't ventured to any as yet.
allboys4now
08-12-2010, 17:13
Hi Everyone, are most of us right to meet at the park tomorrow??..I will private msg or email those new ones with the details.
I hope there was no confusion, I suggested Thursday (tomorrow) only because I have been away....
Well if the rain is not raining I will go and hopefully meet some of you!!
Cheerio
SpecialPatrolGroup
08-12-2010, 17:18
Yep, I can still come along for a while! Looking forward to it.
Yay! Stay away rain :)
Is it the park on Perth Street?
See you there around 10ish (if it's not raining!)
oo0lisa0oo
09-12-2010, 11:43
I just got this message :-( my little one has just woken but if i get ready i still wont make it in time as the meet up was nearly an hour ago.. Damn
Was great to meet those of you had made it to the park this morning and what a lovely, shady park.
Look forward to catching up again.
Amy, Ethan and Sienna
:xmas:
allboys4now
09-12-2010, 22:01
Lovely to meet those I did today, look forward to another meet, I'm pretty free right up to Xmas if anyone is also, happy to meet same place or open to new places...for those I don't see again until next year, have a merry Xmas and see u soon!!
willowtree78
10-12-2010, 09:21
Thanks for making our first meet up pain free. Too many bad first time playgroup experiences have made me a little reserved & a bit awkward tbh. Also 6 hrs sleep over 2 days had taken it's toll on me...think I'll start the photobooks & calenders a little earlier next year. And how is it that I feel so much more at ease with a toddler than with someone I can actually have a conversation with :laughing:
Anyway, I'm relatively free from now up until a few days before xmas so if anyone's up for another meet, then I'm good to go...hopefully the weather will cool down a bit but I doubt it. When you can't sleep at 5:30am coz it's too hot, you know you're in for a sweltering xmas!:sunshine:
It was great to meet some of you yesterday. Libby and I would definately like to do it again sometime soon! It will give me a break from getting things ready for the family to descend on is over Christmas and new year!
Anyone fancy same time and place next week?
Susan and Libby
allboys4now
10-12-2010, 15:01
I'm very happy to do same place and time next week, so see you there....
Christie, Jack and Angus
allboys4now
10-12-2010, 15:08
oh, and if any of my new friends that have grown up in Brisbane would like to further extend the 'how to pronounce suburbs' conversation, I am all ears!!!! hehe
oo0lisa0oo
10-12-2010, 15:40
SO i missed out on this week's meet. I will be free next week so if its thursday @ 10am at perth street park camp hill. I'm going to put in my calendar.. I know some other mums that might want to come along too :sunshine:
SpecialPatrolGroup
11-12-2010, 02:17
I have to take Freya to a pediatricians appointment on Thursday but we might pop by the park for a few minutes on our way. Kind of annoying really because I don't think it is really necessary, but meh, we have had the appointment for so long we will go just in case.
We're in for the park tomorrow morning. Ethan can't wait to get back on the bee!
See you there,
Amy, Ethan and Sienna
willowtree78
16-12-2010, 08:27
Hopefully we'll also make it there. Ella overslept this morning :cheerleader1: but this just means she'll likely fall a sleep right before we are supposed to leave :rolleyes: so I'll just have to see. Hopefully we'll just be a little late at the most :fingerscrossed:
willowtree78
16-12-2010, 10:49
For those with a fancy phone and checking it while at playgroup, Ella's still sleeping..probably til at least 10:30am so I'll get myself ready to come out as soon as she's up but if she over sleeps until 11:00, I won't worry about it coz you'll probably all be ready to leave by the time I get there :no:
I'll be so happy when Ella goes to one sleep a day.
Hopefully chat soon,
Lynda & Ella
allboys4now
16-12-2010, 11:26
Hi, I too got a situation!!...as much as I want to come and stop going through all the possible ways of getting there, think I'll have to say Merry Xmas to all u guys and look forward to meeting up in 2011!!...it's so hard with the sleeping, mr angus changed his pattern today too and now I don't want to wake him and try to have him sleep in the pram in the heat...and jack is being feral today, so I'm off to sit in front of abc2 with a coffee! Oohhh kids r hard!!
Hi guys, sorry I had to leave so early but I only just made it home before the storm hit so it's a good job I did! Ikea was surprisingly quiet which was a pleasant surprise though. I hope you all have a fantastic Christmas and hope to see you next year! Susan
I hope you all had a fantastic Christmas and New Year celebrations? I can't believe we are almost half way through January already, where did it go!!!
Isn't this rain awful! I hope you are all safe and dry and the kids aren't driving you too mad from being stuck inside so much. Anyone fancy another meet up? Not sure where to suggest as it doesn't look like this rain is goin to stop anytime soon. Do you have any ideas for indoor venues?
Hope to catch up with you all soon.
Susan and Libby
allboys4now
21-01-2011, 06:06
Hi loves, just a quick note to say I am leaving Brisbane. We received some sad news over our Xmas break and will be returning to home soil to support an ill family member. Our meets were nice while they lasted, all the best with ur beautiful families and I hope everyone is safe and dry xxxx Christie Jack Angus xxxx
SpecialPatrolGroup
21-01-2011, 15:53
Christy, sorry to hear that you have received bad news, and that we won't be seeing you at playgroup. All the best for your return home and hope that all is ok with your family.
Hopefully we will be able to continue the catch-ups that you got off the ground!
Hi I just moved to Brissie from Cairns and currently living in Tingapla. My bubba is just over 12months and it would be great to meet some mums and bubs for her to play with. I would like to come along to your next catch up. Where do you have it and when?
SpecialPatrolGroup
21-01-2011, 22:55
Hi All, Do we want to try for another meet up on Thursday this week, or if not, the week after? Is everyone happy to meet up at the same place or would you like to check out somewhere else, like somewhere closer to coffee?
Arty, I have sent you a private message.
oo0lisa0oo
22-01-2011, 09:53
I'm free for this Thursday and next so up to you ladies. I'm fine with going to the same place too.. :)
Thursday sounds good for me and Libby too. What time are we meeting? 10.30?
See you then.
S
queenbetty
24-01-2011, 10:18
Hi girls, i hope u are all well! Unfortunately I can't make Thursday's but if u ever meet up on another day we would love to meet you all. Have a lovely time!!
SpecialPatrolGroup
24-01-2011, 12:10
Thursday at 10:30 works for me. QB - we will let you know if we have any catch ups on a different day.
See you on Thursday!
willowtree78
25-01-2011, 10:06
Ella's gone to one sleep a day which generally begins around the 10:30 mark for at least 2 hrs so I'm not sure when I'll be able to make it but I'm fairly certain it won't be this week. I'd be happy for closer to coffee out of the heat until it cools a little but as I may not make it until Ella can push her sleeps out a bit later, I guess I'll just see what you guys are up to at that stage.
Have fun ladies and hopefully we'll chat soon.
Lynda
oo0lisa0oo
25-01-2011, 15:27
10:30am Thursday i will see you ladies there.
SpecialPatrolGroup
27-01-2011, 10:03
Just checking we are still on for today?
Anyone fancy a meet up on Wednesday or Friday next week? I'm a big fan of aircon at the moment so how about a cafe or swimming maybe??? Any other ideas?
Susan
SpecialPatrolGroup
04-02-2011, 20:57
Either of those days is fine for me - I am going out for lunch on Wednesday but can come mid morning. I agree completely about air-con or swimming, but don't mind either way.
oo0lisa0oo
05-02-2011, 10:35
Next week will be out for :( Im going in over night for surgery on wednesday and i should still be recovering on friday... i also had to tell you ladies i went to another mothers group there were 9 mothers that turned up, ill let you know the next meet if your interested in coming along.. :)
Hi Guys, I've now signed Libby up for swimming lessons starting tomorrow so that's out for me.
I hope everything goes well for your op Lisa and you have a wry speedy recovery. Info on that other mothers group would be great thanks. Always looking for new places to get out and about to.
Shall we arrange to meet for a coffee somewhere next week when more people might be able to make it? I only really know the cafes in bulimba but I'm open to suggestions. Next Wednesday afternoon or Thursday maybe?
Susan
SpecialPatrolGroup
08-02-2011, 20:52
Sometime next Wednesday or Thursday is fine with me. I am happy to come to Bulimba area - any suggestions?
Citrus cafe is ok. The service is a bit slow but last time I went with lots of other mums they let us rearrange a bit and we had the kids playing on the floor by our feet. There is a big park just down the road too so if it's not too hot there is somewhere for the toddlers to run around afterwards.
bunnybel
09-02-2011, 17:20
I would really love to join a mothers and playgroup for myself and my 8 month baby girl to make new friends for both of us and have fun. I am in Coorparoo and looking for one locally and saw this thread. (Very new to the website so am not at all sure how to navigate yet!)
If anyone can please direct me to a group, or if anyone is intereted in starting one, I very much look forward to hearing from you.
Thank you!
:yes:
chopgirl
12-02-2011, 00:31
I live in Carina and am also looking for a mothers group or playgroup in the area. I have a son who is 18 months and a daughter who is 10 weeks. I would love to meet some new friends for myself and my son.
oo0lisa0oo
13-02-2011, 19:26
My op went well, however im still recovering and i haven't been able to hold Layla so im looking forward to a BIG hug when im able to hold her again.
Just to let you know the other mothers group i go to are having a couple of meets. Last time there were 9 mummies, and babies mostly under 12 months old, a couple of older kids aswell..
If your interested come along, i will be there...
((little more south))
Thursday, February 17 · 11:00am - 2:00pm
The Coffee Club, Logan Hyperdome Shopping Centre
Monday, February 21 · 11:30am - 2:30pm
Broad Water Park (aka) Mansfield park((Turn into Mansfield place and go straight there is plenty of car parks and fairly shady))
If you get lost im happy to give you my number just incase, just PM me...
I'm also keen to meet up at another time say the 24th-25th February if that suits aswell... :cheerleader1:
Thanks for the info Lisa. Ill see if I can get the car on Monday for that meeting. Might see you there.
Anyone fancy meeting at citrus cafe in bulimba at 3ish on Wednesday afternoon (16th) ? Everyones welcome, it would be good to see some new faces too! By the time we have had coffee it should have cooled enough for the older kids to run about in the park if anyone fancies that?
I'm free on the afternoons of the 24th and 25th if you fancy doing something then Lisa?
Susan and Libby
SpecialPatrolGroup
14-02-2011, 23:10
Yep, we can make it on Wednesday. See you then!
SpecialPatrolGroup
15-02-2011, 20:07
Turns out I won't be able to make it tomorrow - Freya has a cold and fevers so we don't want to make anyone else sick.
Ahh that's a shame. Hope Freya feels much better soon.
I'll check on here tomorrow in case anyone else posts that they are coming. Don't want to be sitting there on our own! Lol
oo0lisa0oo
16-02-2011, 09:04
I won't be attending, im still healing :( its been a week now and still haven't given my little girl a hug.. sorry ladies