View Full Version : yoghurt

lucyp
05-09-2005, 10:36
Can bub have yoghurt? Like the fruit kind??? and from what age? Also I heard you can give them ricotta cheese??? DJ is 7 months old :) and not a fab eater - so we are looking at any and all options to make it interesting :)

razzle
05-09-2005, 12:00
I gave my little one Petit Miam baby yogurt from about 6 months and then gratuated to a Nestle one (Hi5 or Bob the Builder pictures on the packet). She loves it and has a tub almost every day. Not sure about ricotta cheese, I'm sure it would be the same...

Chickadee
05-09-2005, 13:10
We didn't give bub ricotta cheese but did give her cottage cheese, from about 11 months. We started yogurt at around 10 months, not any particular kids brands but just the regular stuff. (for a younger bub the baby stuff may be better) Watch out for chunks of fruit in the adult yogurt. And general recommendation is that bubs/toddlers should be getting full fat dairy, not skim or low fat, which is hard to find sometimes in yogurt and especially cottage cheese.

kaydensmum
05-09-2005, 13:34
we started giving Kayden yoghurt from about 8mths & he loved it. However i only buy jalna or tamar valley as they have no added sugar or anything artificial. be careful as Martha said as it is really difficult to buy full fat - everything dairy seems to be 99% fat free (great for us but not to good for bubs). i also gave Kayden cottage and cream cheese, both he loves. ime not a real fan of ricotta so i couldn't do that to him but i know of others who have - maybe just give it a try. good luck. :D

Carole.

Elfin
05-09-2005, 13:48
Yes give your bub yoghurt. Yoplait make a baby yoghurt that has less sugar and pureed fruit so this one is a good choice. Full fat plain is good too you can mix vegies or your own fruit too.

wattle
05-09-2005, 21:35
I was given a yoghurt maker the other day and it's fantastic. It's really cheap to make heaps of yoghurt, and easy too. You can have any flavour, full fat or low fat, drinking toghurt and make ice cream too.

Ds is potty on the stuff, so it worked out well for us. :)

Someone on a bubhub thread recommended it a while back, so thanks to whoever that was.

kaydensmum
07-09-2005, 16:19
Hi Cathy,
Just wondering where you bought the yoghurt maker and how expensive was it??? I would love to try and make my own yoghurt as it is so frustrating to go to the supermarket & find they don't stock the full fat brands that I usually buy - that means going elsewhere :mad: .

Carole.

wattle
07-09-2005, 17:25
I bought the Easi Yo maker at Big W - $18.50 and you need the sachets of yoghurt stuff. They are $2.50 or so and make a litre. Good value I reckon. I'm just going to chop/mash my own fruit and throw it in.

I made the vanilla one the other day and it rocked! yummo. More like custard than yoghurt (mmmmm I love custard) but better for you.

Maybe try kmart too?

kaydensmum
07-09-2005, 17:30
thanks heaps, i think ile try both big w and kmart as they are so close (only 2 mins in the car). sounds like it could b the way 4 me 2 go - i get so frustrated when safeway don't have what i want & then i have to go to vermont coles to purchase it instead!!!

Carole.

wattle
07-09-2005, 19:30
I just put a batch of mango yoghurt on, and I think it's going to taste a bit icky. It's not set yet, but I tasted the spoon, and it wasn't as good as vanilla. (Just incase you were planning on buying up big on mango flavour) :)