View Full Version : A good pram if you live on a steep hill?
Ruminator
02-10-2010, 21:56
Hello, We're expecting baby number three and are now living on a pretty steep hill, which we need to go up and down to walk the older two to school etc.
Then we have a somewhat steep driveway too, and steps to get to the front door.
Do any of you live on a steep hill and have found a particular type of pram really helpful? If yes, which pram and why?
We have a few really steep hills in our estate and I have a new Strider (single one, not the double). Am sure there are better prams, but for the price I've found it really easy to push up the hills (apart from the 10kg toddler in it, of course :p) It goes up and down the kerb well too, and doesn't tend to get stuck like my old one.
mummy2lilly
02-10-2010, 22:01
Is there any certain features you are after in a pram? Also do you have a set budget?
Because if not i would be looking at the bugaboo bee as it is light weight and fantastic to push. I think the lighter the pram is the better it will be for you to push up a hill.
Any more questions please ask.
CazHazKidz
02-10-2010, 22:07
I have a mountain buggy urban elite and it is so absolutely brilliant for outdoors. I take it up and down steep hills, jog with it, go bush walking with it. It is awesome.
Sucks for in the shops though.
TripleTime
02-10-2010, 22:13
My mountain buggy urban triple, is fantastic on hills. 4 yrs old & still going strong
Ruminator
03-10-2010, 12:17
Is there any certain features you are after in a pram? Also do you have a set budget?
One other feature would be ideally a very effective and easy to use suncover. It has to work from newborn, and a basinette-type option would be great. And the ability to fold down well, although it seems like every pram can do this now. Ideally something sturdy that really does keep going.
Budget is a bit of a concern, just not sure yet of how much, because it looks like the grandparents will help out a bit.
Thanks for these suggestions so far, I will check them out. Any other suggestions welcome.
mummy2lilly
04-10-2010, 09:43
One other feature would be ideally a very effective and easy to use suncover. It has to work from newborn, and a basinette-type option would be great. And the ability to fold down well, although it seems like every pram can do this now. Ideally something sturdy that really does keep going.
Budget is a bit of a concern, just not sure yet of how much, because it looks like the grandparents will help out a bit.
Thanks for these suggestions so far, I will check them out. Any other suggestions welcome.
If your wanting the bassinet option then it narrows it down quite a bit. Alot of prams these days start at newborn so you wont have a problem there. Are you looking at something so the baby can look at you? Like you can switch the seat to facing out or facing you? Also i would go to the baby store also try them out and then once you find out what you like have a look on ebay then you arent spending out a lot on a new pram if it turns out your not quite happy with it.
Anymore questions please ask. I've gone through heaps of prams since my 2 have been born so im starting to know them lol:laughing:
Ruminator
04-10-2010, 21:08
Thanks Mummy2Lilly. Bassinet option is desirable for letting them keep sleeping when getting in and out of the house without having to carry the pram up and down the stairs, plus when visiting friends. (Incidentally I plan to use a sling a lot too, but anyway...).
Yes having them facing me is another point actually, I'm seeing that as a very practical thing when they are very little.
MissSookyLaLa
04-10-2010, 21:18
If you have footpaths to use, then I would be more concerned with the weight of the pram than with the wheels etc.
Pushing a 10kg bub + a 12kg pram is a tough slog, no matter how good the wheels are!
mummy2lilly
05-10-2010, 09:24
I would then been looking at the bugaboo range but just a second hand one so you can try it out. As they are light weight and do have the bassinet option.
Ill have a look around at some other ones for you and see what other ones there is. that have the bassinet option as well as them facing you.
My mountain buggy swift is awesome on hills AND in the shops ;)
Ruminator
09-10-2010, 22:36
Hi JetGirl,
I am just looking at the Mountain Buggy Swift right now and actually it looks pretty interesting.
Do you find that it is really strong (like would you be happy to bump it up and down steps with baby and bags on board)?
One smaller point is, I have not had air-filled tyres before, though I hear some brands have puncture proof tyres... have you ever had a puncture and if so was it easy to fix?
09-10-2010, 22:55
Mountain Buggy all the way.
Hi Runinator!
Not too sure what you mean but I live in the hills district of Sydney with lots of non existent footpaths... With a newborn I wouldn't even let DH take it on the grass cos I was afraid of her neck but now DD is 5 months old the buggy goes anywhere.
Haven't had a puncture yet touch wood but friends have and a bike shop will fix it. Ours is the older model from just before they got taken over so it was made in NZ.
HTH
Boobycino
10-10-2010, 06:37
I would lean towards a mountain buggy or a baby jogger.
Ruminator
12-10-2010, 09:21
Thanks everyone. Sounds like overall the MB Swift would be first preference for combining capability with light weight, or BJ City Elite would be second choice. Just looking for best deals now.
http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=368409
Cheers.
TripleTime
12-10-2010, 09:29
This is my mountain buggy, (http://strollersandprams.com/strollers/209/Mountain-Buggy-Urban-Triple/reviews.html) i happily take it up & down stairs loaded with kids & a weeks worth of shopping no worries.
Ruminator
14-10-2010, 20:40
This is my mountain buggy, (http://strollersandprams.com/strollers/209/Mountain-Buggy-Urban-Triple/reviews.html) i happily take it up & down stairs loaded with kids & a weeks worth of shopping no worries.
Hats off to you !
I used do that with a double, but lets just say it was a lesser model, and I did trash it eventually.
MB is definitely the front runner.