View Full Version : mummas to eczema bubbas...

pinkbella
27-09-2010, 17:20

Chunkydunks
27-09-2010, 17:28
Have you tried something more natural to help with it? I used nothing but water in the bath for DS and occasionally a bit of QV balm but rarely. A lot of people are having success with MooGoo as well. Another good thing is oats in the end of a stocking in the bath and patting dry. it leaves a film on the skin that helps.

The issue is trying to find the balance and what works for your bub. Some times the eczema is made worse by the lotions and potions and some times the real heavy duty things are needed.

pinkbella
27-09-2010, 17:32
Yeh mum said to try the oats. I think I will...

But thing is, one days where her skin is SUPER clear not a dry or red patch, just NORMAL skin... She will still try to scrtahc or rub - like out of habit. And it's like she will scratch until she bleeds like she doesnt feel the pain?

I'm worried as i dont know how she'll ever learn to crawl etc? due to this eczema!

4fullstop
27-09-2010, 17:38
Also, do you put mittens on her so it's harder to scratch herself? I know she's rubbing her head against the floor/bed to scratch, but with mittens at least she may be less likely to break the skin with fingernails.

All 4 of mine have eczema, my 9 week old has the reddest, roughest skin & most yukky looking cradle cap :( Unfortunatley, everyone reacts differently to oils, creams, etc... So it's really just trial and error finding what works best for your DD. I've spent SO much money on all sorts of natural creams etc, and *finally* have found Dermaveen bath oil, Dermeze moisturiser, and prescribed steroids kind of keep the eczema in check. But we still have flare ups!

Good luck :)

Chunkydunks
27-09-2010, 17:41
despite not having an outbreak at the time she may still be itchy. mittens or socks on her hands will stop her from breaking the skin when she does scratch. Also, I'm not sure what you're doing now but you could try putting her on a sheet or blanket when she's on the floor because sometimes the carpet fibres can irritate the skin.

pinkbella
27-09-2010, 20:13
Yep I do put mittens on her, but she will still scratch and then it gets all raw and weepy! :(

Yep i put a sheet down all the time incase the carpet annoys her.

Going to try dermeze next...

JabberJaw
27-09-2010, 20:19
Get some ego flare up oil.

You put it in the bath and soak her. DD had it bad on her face so i use to make a jug of it up and throughout the day wipe her face with a washer,

What washing powder are you using? D was allergic to her nanna (well nannas washing powder.) anytime nanna cuddled her she got a face rash.

We use amolin liquid but only half dose and double rinse.

Dermaeze (like vaseline sludge) is good to.
As is dermaveen (cream)

pinkbella
27-09-2010, 20:24
ego flare up? where can i get that from?

JabberJaw
27-09-2010, 20:27
Not real clear pics but this is how my DD was when she was little, now she is all good. After bathing or a rub, her rash would be red and angry looking

http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?pid=416474&l=646ff367d7&id=774610208

http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?pid=454295&l=bfe058ec59&id=774610208

The flare up oil helped her and instead of moisturising i wipe her with the one i had made up for the day.

There is some good info at the link below too.

http://www.egoeveryday.com.au/category/skin-conditions/

JabberJaw
27-09-2010, 20:27
ego flare up? where can i get that from?

Chemist. :)

Hannahsmumma
27-09-2010, 20:43
Not real clear pics but this is how my DD was when she was little, now she is all good. After bathing or a rub, her rash would be red and angry looking /[/url]

You have a gorgeous baby.

My DD2 gets it mainly on the backs of her hands and on her cheeks. QV in the bath and moisterising her seemed to clear it all up. Didn't have it for a while and now it is on her thighs and the tops of her feet.

So annoying. And she scratches all the time too till she bleeds. She is 16 months so won't put up with socks or mittens on her hands.

pinkbella
27-09-2010, 20:59
JabberJaw - You're daughter is gorgeous :goodvibes:

Hannahsmum - We're using QV Bath oil too, but feels like it just comes thengoes but comes back again,sooooooooo fustrating.
Must be even more fustrating with an older bub though as they can jst take off the socks and mittens. A bit harder for DD to do that but on many occasions it has happened. I'll find her playing with her mitten thats off her hand!:laughing:

pinkbella
27-09-2010, 21:00
i'll find a photo of DD with eczema on her face...

pinkbella
27-09-2010, 21:17
heres a few shots of DD with eczema flared up and when it isnt just flick through the album..
http://i802.photobucket.com/albums/yy306/be11a87/P1100318.jpg

JabberJaw
27-09-2010, 21:21
heres a few shots of DD with eczema flared up and when it isnt just flick through the album..
http://i802.photobucket.com/albums/yy306/be11a87/P1100318.jpg

Only one pic comes up...gee she is gorgeous :yes:

Looks similar to my DD. Stupid skin...hopefully hers will eventually go away. My DD is now 2.5 and rarely gets any kind of rash, only a little behind her knees or in her elbow joints if its really hot.

My GP assured me DD's was just 'milk rash' as i was breastfeeding but milk rash passes quicker, she looked horrid for months.

pinkbella
27-09-2010, 21:26
Does this work?
http://s802.photobucket.com/albums/yy306/be11a87/

milk rash? as in she was allergic to cows milk?

when did your DD start growing out of it?

JabberJaw
27-09-2010, 21:56
:yes: that works and like i said gee she is gorgeous.

Well DD3 was (and still is) breastfed. I have milk problems as do my other kids so i dont have any cows milk (just a tiny dash in 2 coffees a day so bare minimum) i am unsure if she has cows milk allergy but because i do, and my other 3 do i am breastfeeding as long as i can to hopefully protect her (the longer without cows milk, the less likely to have a reaction to it apparently)

Ummm I just had a flick through photo's of DD and her face improved by about 9 months old or so, once we worked out Nanna and her washing powder was a problem. Thats when i started to dillegently to double rinse and use less stuff. So i dunno if it was her age or the changes.

The flare up oil helped heaps and within a few days the red, sore looking skin settled and she was more like in the pics i posted.

But your DD's skin looks just as DDs did. Poor bubba's and my DD use to also thrash her head from side to side to itch.

pinkbella
27-09-2010, 22:01
:yes: that works and like i said gee she is gorgeous.

Well DD3 was (and still is) breastfed. I have milk problems as do my other kids so i dont have any cows milk (just a tiny dash in 2 coffees a day so bare minimum) i am unsure if she has cows milk allergy but because i do, and my other 3 do i am breastfeeding as long as i can to hopefully protect her (the longer without cows milk, the less likely to have a reaction to it apparently)

Ummm I just had a flick through photo's of DD and her face improved by about 9 months old or so, once we worked out Nanna and her washing powder was a problem. Thats when i started to dillegently to double rinse and use less stuff. So i dunno if it was her age or the changes.

The flare up oil helped heaps and within a few days the red, sore looking skin settled and she was more like in the pics i posted.

But your DD's skin looks just as DDs did. Poor bubba's and my DD use to also thrash her head from side to side to itch.

Was it winter or summer when ur DD's skin cleared?

How did she manage to crawl etc, DD is just not interested as rubbing on the ground is soo much more better :confused:
Yep DD rubs her head on people, pillow, bed, car seat, pram... :(

JabberJaw
27-09-2010, 22:08
Well on a guess it was summer.

Winter is bad for eczema, dries the skin, summer too is bad because you sweat and it makes you itch. I have flares every season :rolleyes:

DD was a late crawler, but dunno if it was her skin, she just had no lead up and one day crawled. My other girls did the same thing. My son just got up and walked, didnt really crawl either.

I would get refered to a dermatologist. They may have something to help. Have she been given any cortisone creams? They help quickly and mild ones are fine for short term use.

ETA...hubby just reminded me that DD went on a short course of oral steroids predisone i think and it helped...got the flare under control and thats when she began improving....i forgot all about that.

pinkbella
27-09-2010, 22:19
Yep she's on steroid cream...

I've heard of the oral ones, didnt know bubbas could have that.

I had a paed appt soon so i will ask him about a referral to a dermatologist. Is there a baby one or just the same as an adult one?

Yeh DD isnt interested in crawling but can stand and hold herself in a standing position already... she NEVER wants to sit, only stand, i tell ya it's sooo tiring shes heavy lol.

JabberJaw
27-09-2010, 22:26
Yep, there is baby ones or peadiatric ones they only have like 1ml once a day i think it is.

Short term they are great, i take them myself but they make me fat :( i usually have them for a couple of weeks but avoid them...DD didnt get chubby or anything :no:

Pead will no doubt refer you to one, and it will be good for them to chat with you about various treatments and things.

If your DD has a cows milk allergy avoid goat milk soaps. IMO. People rave about them but i found we flare so does my DS, and we all have milk protein problems so i reckon that is why.

So many treatments, then you find something that works, you will find in a month or 2 it will stop working and you have to go through it all again :crying:

I hope she gets sorted out though.

Do a food diary too, to take along to pead, note down changes to her skin, weather, what you did, if you used certain creams/soap/washing powder.....maybe a pattern will emerge.

Me its chocolate and oranges and scented things (soap/detergent/cleaning products)

Ds its mostly cleaning products

DD3 well she only gets it if she is sweaty and hot, so she baths often in cool water in summer (or splashes in the pool all day)

pinkbella
28-09-2010, 11:25
We're going to buy some flare oil thing u were talking about, the dermaveen and dermeze too.
Oh and the washing powder too.

It's flared up again today :gloomy:

It's sooooooo fustrating for her and us.

But so good to know ur little one's is cleared up. Do you have a photo of her skin as it is now?

JabberJaw
28-09-2010, 12:15
At 1 yr old
http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?pid=1426650&l=0047580c86&id=774610208

By 2yrs olds
http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?pid=3581305&l=c9e12788cd&id=774610208

The other day
http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?pid=5114309&l=b022a1911e&id=774610208

So none of the rash she had when in her first months of life.