View Full Version : Tips to improve ovulation
I have been surfing the web looking for things I could do to improve my fertility and have found the following tip:
"There are very simple things to do to improve ovulation, such as taking the sugar out of your diet (sugar means caffeine, white flour, white sugar, white corn, white rice, anything white) and substituting whole-grain foods.... Sugar is the root of all evil when it comes to fertility. "
Quoted from http://www.webmd.com/content/chat_transcripts/1/103142 (http://www.webmd.com/content/chat_transcripts/1/103142)
Well it looks like my diet is suddenly about to change! NO MORE SUGAR FOR ME! Looks like Im on a holiday from sweets and chocolate from now on...:D
If you have any other tips or advice for improving fertility and ovulation I would love to have them posted here.
Good luck to everyone ttc :thumbsup:
*Sparkles*
25-08-2006, 15:07
All the obvious things like diet, exercise, no smoking and moderate drinking. Same applies to your other half too. Also, if you get your bloke taking zinc tablets, this is supposed to help increase his spermies.
Try going into a health shop as they have heaps of vitamins and will know what to suggest for you both.
Good luck TTC'ing :fingerscrossed:
My grandma told me I need to stop drinking milk and eating a lot of dairy products as they would stop me from getting pregnant.
Is this true or just an old wives tale?????????????? :confused:
Has anyone else heard of this?
*Sparkles*
25-08-2006, 20:05
My grandma told me I need to stop drinking milk and eating a lot of dairy products as they would stop me from getting pregnant.
Is this true or just an old wives tale?????????????? :confused:
Has anyone else heard of this?
Personally I would say that's total BS lol. It's important to get plenty of dairy for calcium, especially for when the bub is first conceived to develop those first bones etc.
cmd'smum
25-08-2006, 20:10
Bub2luv
I reckon this is a really good thread ! :thumbsup: Good idea to share knwowledge!
I've heard that Vitex and macca powder help with O (most of you probably already know this!!) Apparently Licorice is really good for you too!
Also, melon is sposed to be good for your uterus lining and pineapple is good for implantation :D
cmd'smum: Thanks: licorice, melon and pineapple are now on the shopping list.:thumbsup:
Where do you by Vitex or macca powder?
Hels*Bels: It does not make sense to me either to give up dairy - but apparently its good for the liver and intestine. :confused:
cmd'smum
26-08-2006, 00:28
Bub2luv...... You can eat lactose free dairy products and soy cheese. You can buy really nice soy cheese from health food shops, it tastes like cheddar cheese. My DH has an issue with his liver, so he has to have lactose free foods. You can also get soy milk if you like. Some of the soy milk available now actually tastes quite nice! Theres even soy icecream which tastes quite good!
As for Vitex....you can buy that from pharmacies, its by Blackmores. I actually have an opened bottle of Vitex, I took about half of the tabs then stopped as I've started on chinese herbs. So if you want it pm me your details as its just sitting there in the fridge and i'll end up chucking it out. Vitex costs about 11 bucks for about 30 tabs and you need to take 1x3 a day. Macca powder, I havn't personally taken myself, but there are threads on here that discuss both Vitex and macca powder. I'm pretty sure you can buy macca powder or capsules from health stores as well! They are both supposed to regulate your cycles.
Hope that helped!
Hi, Me Again :rolleyes:
Found another great informative site with this quote:
Infertility Diet
Seeds, nuts, curd and cottage cheese.
Physical debility and functional faults of organic nature can be cured by simple and effective methods of natural treatment, of which optimum nutrition is an essential part. Fasting is the best remedy for the treatment of disorders resulting from toxins in the system. A short fast of two or three day should be undertaken at regular intervals by women who are unable to bear children. Diet is an important factor in the treatment of infertility. It should contain seeds, nuts, grains, vegetables, and fruits. These foods should be supplemented with milk, vegetable oils, and honey. Curd and cottage cheese are also recommended. About seventy to eighty per cent of the diet should consist of foods in their natural uncooked state, because cooking destroys much of the nutritional value of most foods. Sprouting is an excellent way of consuming seeds, beans, and grains in their raw form, as in the process of sprouting, the nutritional value is multiplied, new vitamins are created and the protein quality is improved.
Food to be avoided
Excessive fat, spicy foods, strong tea, coffee, white sugar, white flour, refined cereals, flesh foods, greasy or fried foods should all be avoided.
Quoted from http://www.home-remedies-for-you.com/remedy/Female-Sterility.html (http://www.home-remedies-for-you.com/remedy/Female-Sterility.html)
WOW :eek: There are a lot of changes my diet needs!
Thanks cmd'smum: I will visit the health food shop tomorrow to check out the lactose free stuff. I may hold out on the Vitex and macca powder a bit longer just to see if I can get things happening naturally first but thanks anyway :wave:
Well heres another strange tip I just discovered:
In China, Japan and Far-East countries, women, who do not conceive and need to strengthen the uterus, have been taking cinnamon powder for centuries. Women who cannot conceive may take a pinch of cinnamon powder in half teaspoon of honey and apply it on the gums frequently throughout the day, so that it slowly mixes with the saliva and enters the body.
Quote from: http://1stholistic.com/Reading/health/health-honey-and-cinnamon.htm (http://1stholistic.com/Reading/health/health-honey-and-cinnamon.htm)
:rolleyes: Sorry if this thread is starting to sound like a personal journal of discovery. I am hoping these tips may also help other ttcers out there.
:yelclap: If nothing else they may at least give us long-time ttcers hope that there are things we can do to help our fertility.
I have a book called "The Natural Way To Better Babies" it has so much pre-coneption info in it and tells you things you can do to increase fertility.
http://www.acegraphics.com.au/product/book/bk411.html
And I am sure I read somwhere that people who suffer from blocked fallopian tubes are recommended to have a dairy free diet.
Also I would only recommend Vitex if your cycles are irregular - all it did for me was made my cycles even longer. At the moment I am taking zinc, vitamin E and EPO - which are supposed to be great for fertility (dh is taking vit E and Zinc).
Here is some info:
http://www.ninemonths.com.au/content_page_1.asp?page_id=46&main_menu_id=2&l1_id=2&l2_id=4
http://www.marilynglenville.com/infertility.htm
:fingerscrossed: for some more BFP's soon!