View Full Version : 8 month old naps during the day. Help!!

A&Omummy
25-08-2006, 08:30
Hey everyone. Well I would just like to ask what your bubs sleeping routine is? I am so over this napping thing. Ok well this is what she does at the moment but I need to make some serious changes. I have had enough.:banghead:

Wake 6:00 feed
breaky 7:00
Sleep 8:00 I was wondering if I should keep her up cause she isn't sleeping long usually 1/2 hr.
Feed 9:30
10:30/11:00 somtimes sleep but is so cranky only half hr if she does
12:00 feed and toast
Sleep 12:30 ish if it's not a kindy day if a kindy day 1 1/2hrs :smiliedance:
if kindy day may have a 1/2 nap
2:30 feed
may have a nap
5:00 dinner
6:00 bath then feed
7:00 bed

Now I was b/f but my milk is staring to dry up so I am ptting her onto the bottle at the moment I am doing top up feeds after a b/f and then some bottle only due to work. Thos may also be the problem that she wasn't filling up on b/f's also. She always was hungry. So will see how she goes with the top ups.

Now what I would really like her to do would but to stay up from 6 - 9:30ish then have a bottle and a mid morning sleep. then an after noon one hopefully these are good 1 1/2 - 2 hrs. But I am worried that she will be over tired. If I don't put her down in the morning. So what do you guys think I do? Keep her up or put her down?

Diddles
25-08-2006, 08:43
I had a mothercraft nurse come in and help me with my sons sleep at night when he was 8 months old and she gave me a day routine for the 7-10 month age group. This was it:

Uptime 2 1/2 - 3 hrs
Includes: Milk feed, solids, play, unwind time

Downtime
1 1/2- 2 hours

Uptime 2 1/2 - 3 hrs
Includes: Milk feed, solids, play, unwind time

Downtime
1 1/2- 2 hours

Uptime 2 1/2 - 3 hrs
Includes: Milk feed, solids, play, bath, quiet time

Night Sleep
8-10 hours

Hope this helps as a guide for you - Cheers Jo

EskimoMumma
25-08-2006, 08:44
I wish my DD slept that long during the day.

She will if shes in the car :rolleyes: You guys are lucky to have a daytime sleeper but i guess im blessed that DD has slept through the night always

Merlion
25-08-2006, 10:21
I think babies don't really need a routine. Do you routinely make sure you are dead to the world at a certain time. All I know is that as long as the baby is happy and not cranky I wouldn't worry too much

jenofash
28-08-2006, 10:18
My bub is nearly 8 months and had always been a napper (failing sleep school..) until she started eating lots more food and I cut out the 3am milk.
Usually goes like this
7am - milk
8am - breakfast
9am - sleep until about 10 - 10:30am
11am - bottle
12/12:30pm - lunch (2 servings as much as she can eat)
1:30pm - bed until about 3pm-3:30pm
3pm/3:30 - bottle
5pm - dinner
6:30 - milk/bed
I have just cut out the late arvo nap and has found she sleeps better at night now.
I would try to keep her in bed (even if you kep running in and out with a dummy) until 7am and then it will be easier to keep her up until 9am.
I hope this helps - my bub just seemed to settle on her own in her own time without having to resort to CC which I dislike.

flowerpot21
28-08-2006, 13:37
I think babies don't really need a routine. Do you routinely make sure you are dead to the world at a certain time. All I know is that as long as the baby is happy and not cranky I wouldn't worry too much

i think most sleep advice from many professionals is that a routine is beneficial to babies and parents - not like some strict routine where 'baby must do as it is told' kind of thing, but a general wake, feed, play, wind down routine with bed time at about the same time, similar routine followed before sleepy times, like a cuddle, walk to bedroom, down into cot in the dark, kiss from mummy, read a story etc etc

also if an adult suffers from sleep problems the advice is always the same - try to have a similar routine for bedtime, try to make sure you go to sleep at about the same time every day and get up at about the same time, even at weekends if you work in the week, read before bed etc.

Merlion
28-08-2006, 16:56
Jess does have sort of a routine at night dinner around 6-6:30 on a week day, then bath, then have a bit of play and rough and tumble with daddy and then relax with a book on the couch and then bed by 8:30pm. We change her nappy and then put her in the cot with hippo and lights out. but otherwise her rest of her day has no real structure.

A&Omummy
28-08-2006, 20:17
The only resion bub is in cc is because I work there. She is in the babies room and I am in the junior kindy room. It works well as I can go see her heaps thoughout the day. It would be hard I think keeping her up till 9 as we leave the house for kindy at 9:15. So I would much rather she had a sleep before we leave. Just incase she don't sleep there. And if she didn't sleep in the morning I would have to put her down as soon as we got there. Well she has been having a sleep around 7:30am but if it's not a long one I have been putting her back down after her morning bottle. But that will probley change again cause of kindy tomorrow. It's just so hard trying to work around kindy. And must be hard for her to to get into a routine.