View Full Version : Can't get all his wee out!! TMI???
Cheekychops
24-08-2006, 18:53
My 4 year old has been a bit off colour since Saturday morning....did a little vomit early in the morning then nothing, just generally not himself, then after his nap woke up with a temperature then it went away by middle of the night then Sunday night had some diarrhea when he went to loo, has had a bit on Monday - not uncontrollable though, just when he goes to toilet.....anyway, he has been weeing more frequently than normal but no burning or anything, but especially worse at night the last 3 nights. He has been complaining he can't get all his wee out and will do a wee (just a tiny bit) then 5 mins later be wanting to some more cause 'i can't get the wee feeling away', so I had an appointment at docs this arvo, but cancelled it :banghead: thinking that he was better, but now he's at it again.....he's not wetting the bed, he's not waking up heaps during the night for wees, and still no burning, so I don't know if he's having me on for attention - which i'm trying not to give him, just telling him he can go on his own and leaving the light on - or if something's wrong....
Anyone else has something like this??? Any advice or info would be great - thanks!!!
blessedmummy
24-08-2006, 19:00
hi! maybe take him to doctor to be sure?? (i have no idea what it could be.. though.. sorry cant help..) hope you have some luck soon!
me25
Dh25:kiss:
Emily3:smiliedance:
Clare22months:smiliedance:
the_queen
24-08-2006, 19:03
That "can't get all the wee out" feeling, when I've had it, indicated a UTI. Does cranberry juice work on boys too? I'd take him to the doc.
Hope he feels much better very soon.
Cheekychops
24-08-2006, 19:09
Yeah I have been thinking UTI, but no temp and no burning?!? So wasn't sure, and it's not as bad during day, probably cause he has other stuff to think about?!? Hmmm, cranberry juice might be good, and will try and get him into a doctor tomorrow - just didn't want to look like an overparanoid mother rushing her kid to the doc when he's got no bad or obvious symptoms and have the doc tell me he just wants attention iykwim. Thanks tho.....
Cheekychops
24-08-2006, 19:49
:banghead: :banghead:
:thumbsdown: 10 times since we put him to bed an hour ago!!! He's quite upset about it now :crying:
I'm an idiot for cancelling his doc's appointment today!!! I thought he was getting better!!!! Who gave me my mothering licence?!?!
the_queen
24-08-2006, 19:59
You got it from the same place we all did - out of a cornflakes box :laughing:
(woo i am so unfunny :p)
You could always take him to the emergency room at the hospital - I don't think they'd tell you he was doing it for attention, and the thing is that if it's something like a kidney infection, the sooner it gets treated the better. Don't mean to stress you out or make you worried - but it might be better to get it seen to ASAP. Maybe they'll catheterise him just to give him a bit of relief for right now.
24-08-2006, 20:28
Hey sweetie! Dont be hard on yourself. I think like Queenie said....Cornflakes boxes have Mother Licences! I definately got mine out of one!
I'd ring the Dr first thing in the morning and INSIST that they see him. If he's not weeing it can be really hard on his poor little kidneys and needs to be looked at!
Poor little man! Hope you get some well needed rest yourself too!!! :hugs:
funnyfarm
24-08-2006, 20:54
Sounds like a UTI.
Before you go to the doctor tomorrow, try to get a sample out of him in the morning and take it with you so they don't try to get him to pee on demand. Even though they will send it to pathology to be tested, they should be able to do an instant dip-stick test and give you a yes or no.
Hope he is feeling better soon.
Janet.
Cheekychops
24-08-2006, 21:02
:smiliedance: Finally off to sleep!!! I nursed him while he whimpered and cried about it and put my mp3 player on really low and in his ears to give him something else to think about and the poor little might eventually dropped off. Let's hope he stays that way.....yes I am worried a little about his kidneys. 13 health nurse said he could have a blockage in his urethra or a uti cause he feels busting but can only do a couple of drips.......was just looking up on my phone the emergency room phone number when he finally dropped off, so if he stays fine through nite i will ring doc first thing in moring. Thanks for encouragement.
the_queen
24-08-2006, 21:09
Good luck mate, I hope everything works out well tomorrow and I hope he has a restful sleep tonight. :hugs:
Cheekychops
25-08-2006, 08:22
:smiliedance: Managed to get him into to see the doctor for 8.50am this morning - did some sucking up to the receptionist!!! Usually really hard to get an appointment....so hopefully they come up with something. Have his little jar of wee ready for testing!!! :yelclap: Obviously that wasn't too hard to get!! ;)
25-08-2006, 10:08
Goodluck! Let us know how you go! :hugs:
Cheekychops
25-08-2006, 11:21
:banghead: Apparently not a UTI although sending the wee off to make 100% sure......so I'm like, well wht is it??? It's not normal and it is becoming distressing for him, and the doctor told me we will just need to wait and see?!? :(
So if it happens again today and tonight I will take him back (but to another doctor - the one I like better is on tomorrow anyway!!! :smiliedance: ) And she said that if it's still playing up after the weekend he'll have to have scans and stuff.
I'm just worried about whether it is doing him any damage 'waiting and seeing' iykwim......oh well......was hoping I would get there - she would dip test the wee and say 'yup, UTI!!!' and give him antibiotics and it would all be hunky dory!!! Instead I have to put up with him being cranky and unwell but still not knowing why!!! AAAARRRRGGGGHHHHHHH
Ok - now I can breat normally again!!
25-08-2006, 13:31
I'd take him to see another doctor anyway! What a moron! WAIT AND SEE! *shakes head in discust*
Go for a second opinion, if there is a blockage it can be serious, you want someone to take it seriously!
Lots of hugs to you! Hoping it all clears up!
Cheekychops
29-08-2006, 20:45
Had a blood test in hospital Sunday with NAD and ultra sound tomorrow.
Good luck tomorrow. Hope it's nothing too serious :)
Cheekychops
16-09-2006, 13:14
Turned out to be an irritated and inflamed bladder wall which required retraining of the bladder....ie. even though he felt busting and like he was going to wet his pants....we had to stop him from going to the loo for a minute longer each time he had an 'episode'.....he is all good now.!!! :smiliedance: