View Full Version : Low Blood Pressure Q's

TEAM+1
09-09-2010, 10:35

Quick question I just had an appointment with a GP (not my normal one) due to fainting yesterday and my BP came back at 74/40 :confused::confused: He said 'bed rest' for 72 hrs or a hospital visit to put me on a drip to incress fluid intake and sugar levels, as this is considered 'very low' and they want to make sure that there is no underlying issues.

I have a 5 and 2 yr old he got offended when I asked for a 3rd option :o

Has anyone had blood pressure this low and does his option seam a bit OTT???

My OB is away for 2 weeks, so I thought I would ask the question here.

Thanks for any advice :)

Nat1341
09-09-2010, 11:10
I had low blood pressure throughout both my pregnancies, worse with the 2nd. My obstetrician often asked me 'arent you tired, have you fainted?' etc. Really not much u can do but REST! I fainted in the shower once and it wasnt pleasant, please be careful. You really need to rest and up the fluid intake. I had c sections for both my bubs and had terribly low blood pressure the day I had both bubs, when I had my 2nd bub it was like 68/35. I was passing out during the delivery and feeling sick and vomiting etc. PLease rest up.!!!

Ruby Sneakers
09-09-2010, 11:55
Yes that is very low!! I think that's very responsible f ur dr as mine have never done that (I have shocking low bp all the time)

If u don't want to do this, I would be resting heaps at home with legs elevate up higher than ur heart, possibly compression stockings if u have them to help, lots an LOTS of water, preferably mineral water as it has natural salts in it, or maybe a sports drink or in a pinch I put salt into a cup of water and drink......

Getting ur water and salt up (sugar too but not always tied to ur bp) is crucial so of ur not capable of doing it urself I'd be in the hospital....

Hope it improves for u soon!

Mahjong
09-09-2010, 11:58
Cripes, that's lower than mine was when I was pregnant :eek: Mine was always 88/40, the midwife would always check my pulse to make sure I was still alive :laughing:

Please please please get as much rest as you can, I had a 3 yr old when pregnant with my second and I understand it's hard. Do you children have kindy/daycare and school at all? Even for one day or perhaps a family member who can help out?

Increasing your fluid intake and also food intake is very important. :yes: Before standing up from a laying postion, sit up first for a moment, otherwise you'll end up flat on your face from dizzyiness.