View Full Version : Additive and Preservative free living!

Dreambeliever
07-09-2010, 16:38
A place for anyone that is trying to live Additive and Preservative Free!

There seem to be a few hubbers who are trying to eliminate additives, preservatives, artificial colours and flavours from their diets :yes:
So i thought this could be a place to add any good brands or products, share recipe ideas and get some advice when we get stuck.

This website is a good place to start for a list of nasty additives:

Additive Alert (not sure if i can link it so just google) :thumbsup:

The Food Intolerance Network (fed up with food additives)

both of these websites also have great books you can buy at almost any book store :)

I'll be back when i've typed up some of the products we use :D

Additive and Preservative free foods:

Brands:
Orgran (this brand is also gluten, dairy, egg, etc free)
Macro (found in woolworths)

Breads:
Brumby's Bread
Bakers Delight
Bazzar's (sp?) Wraps (not sure if all of them are but at least on white and one wholemeal are safe)
Mountain Bread (i think...some one correct me if im wrong)

Pasta's:

Spreads and Sauces:
Woolworths Select Peanut Butter
Philly Cream Cheese (blocks, not individual tubs)

Stocks, cooking sauces etc:
Leggo's Tomato Paste (jar only!)

Biscuits (sweet and savoury):
Vita Weat (i believe all their range are now additive free)
Arnotts Butternut Snaps

Snack foods:
Macro Organic Sultana's

Thermolicious
07-09-2010, 17:29
There is a great additive app I have on my iPhone it's called Food Additives2 totally awesome.

We make everything from scratch using base ingredients- tinned tomatoes, butter, cheese (lagged and went back to kraft peanut butter) my best tip while going additive and preservative free is a Thermomix, bought one about 6 mths into being additive/preservative free and it is so much easier!

We don't buy prepackaged products 99.99% of the time when we do it is usually the Carmens muesli bars (in the green box), Mundella Yoghurt, Weis vanilla ice cream and SPC baked beans even though I can and do make these things from scratch, sometimes I just CBF.

Thanks for starting this thread, I really did not think that there would be many (if any) other hubbers interested!

Laksa
07-09-2010, 17:32
We've been doing additive-free for over a year now, from the Additive Alert book not the full FAILSAFE.

It has made such a huge difference to my 3yo's sleep!! And they both behave so much better, they go psycho if they have junk.

AND hubby and I lost about 14kg between us when we ditched the crap. I bake a lot more now so we have plenty of sweet treats still :)

I wanna Thermomix :crying:
pushing for a combined anniversary/xmas pressie... DH just thinks the pricetag should equal a longer warranty!

07-09-2010, 18:19
I trying to go artificial free also. Im also dairy and gluten free.

One of the BEST brands Ive found is Orgran. The food has all be great, and they have vegan options also. :)

Pina Colada
07-09-2010, 18:23
We've been 'free' for about 2 years now, and I'm so pleased at how many products are now learning and getting rid of additives, preservatives and colours just in those 2 years! :yelclap:

I just wish the government would do something about the disgusting additives that are allowed in food :banghead:

Dreambeliever
07-09-2010, 18:26
yay! :yelclap: so glad there are others out there!

we've been additive free for about 2 yrs now :yes: and we've never felt better! i've even started on DS's daycare :devil6:

Mischeif - we also love orgran! none of us have any other intolerances but we love their products :yes:

Laksa
07-09-2010, 18:30
We buy lots of the Ogran stuff too.
Happy to see that many Woolworths Select products are good now :)

Dreambeliever
07-09-2010, 18:37
I just wish the government would do something about the disgusting additives that are allowed in food :banghead:

:iagree: it really frustrates me! But if i had my way everything would be organic and fairtrade too :D

We make everything from scratch using base ingredients- tinned tomatoes, butter, cheese (lagged and went back to kraft peanut butter) my best tip while going additive and preservative free is a Thermomix, bought one about 6 mths into being additive/preservative free and it is so much easier!

We don't buy prepackaged products 99.99% of the time when we do it is usually the Carmens muesli bars (in the green box), Mundella Yoghurt, Weis vanilla ice cream and SPC baked beans even though I can and do make these things from scratch, sometimes I just CBF.

i just googled thermomix! omg sounds like a dream appliance! couldn't see a price though? :confused:

We do some packaged foods (all additive free) but i would like to make more from scratch. thanks for those products, i didn't know about them!

btw woolworths select peanut butter is additive and preservative free!

Fuchsia!
07-09-2010, 18:43
I have been a bit slack these last few months and i can totally see it in my kids. I find it hard sometimes to stick to it all the time and i find the kids get bored with the same foods all the time.

07-09-2010, 18:50
I have quite a reaction to preservative. The sulphates give me asthma attacks.

Its been really amazing, since I started looking into this and changing my diet how dramatically different I feel.

Over the past year my Dr has suspected so many MAJOR things that may have been wrong with me, including cancer, pernicious anemia, auto immune diseases, and the like.

Changing my diet, I feel like a new woman! My depression has lifted and I have become a much better mummy. I have energy again and feel ALIVE! :)

Pina Colada
07-09-2010, 19:08
:iagree: it really frustrates me! But if i had my way everything would be organic and fairtrade too :D

I so want to buy acerage and be as self sustaining as possible. How exciting would that be! :D

Dreambeliever
07-09-2010, 19:15
I have quite a reaction to preservative. The sulphates give me asthma attacks.

Its been really amazing, since I started looking into this and changing my diet how dramatically different I feel.

Over the past year my Dr has suspected so many MAJOR things that may have been wrong with me, including cancer, pernicious anemia, auto immune diseases, and the like.

Changing my diet, I feel like a new woman! My depression has lifted and I have become a much better mummy. I have energy again and feel ALIVE! :)

i absolutely get it :yes:
both DP and i have noticed that when we cheat we feel quite ill, headaches, bowel issues etc. If DP comes home with a big headache i know he's bought something from the smoko van at work!! poor guy can't hide anything from me anymore! :laughing:

Dr's seem highly un-educated on the effects of additives in food :no:. Can you imagine all the people they could help if they just thought outside the square a little!

You know i haven't considered it but i haven't had any asthma issues since we've been on this diet...and i thought it was just cause i fell preggers with DS :rolleyes:

my depression has vanished too!

Dreambeliever
07-09-2010, 19:17
I so want to buy acerage and be as self sustaining as possible. How exciting would that be! :D

OMG :laughing: are you in my head??

that is our ultimate goal! it's a few years away at the moment but im getting there. And thankfully DP is of the same mind. :yes:
Suburbia makes me ill :gloomy:

Pina Colada
07-09-2010, 19:19
OMG :laughing: are you in my head??

that is our ultimate goal! it's a few years away at the moment but im getting there. And thankfully DP is of the same mind. :yes:
Suburbia makes me ill :gloomy:

We are a few years away too :( The thought of it keeps me going though. I wish we had the opportunity to do it now while the kids are still so young, I think they would learn sooo much from it.....

07-09-2010, 19:22
I have 210 acres of bush and some pasture for sale.... We are very self sufficient, dont even have power or town water/sewage. LOL

Want it?

MummaBear03
07-09-2010, 19:25
I like Orgran and Deliciously Free :)

Dreambeliever
07-09-2010, 19:28
oh i wish mischief!
DP is in the airforce so we don't have alot of choice where we go...and there are no bases in tazzie. Other wise id consider it!
Also theres the cold issue...this is our first real winter (we're from north queensland and have just moved to SA this year) and im so not coping well with the cold! my idea of winter is 25 degrees! :laughing: yes im a wuss :p

07-09-2010, 19:30
Sissy! LOL

So do you guys mostly eat preservative free because of the health implications, or because you are allergic?

Dreambeliever
07-09-2010, 19:41
Sissy! LOL

So do you guys mostly eat preservative free because of the health implications, or because you are allergic?

:p 21 years in the tropics does that to a person!

Honestly, i really didn't know or care what i ate when i was younger. I had the worst eating habits and was just generally unhealthy. I also had shocking depression.
When i fell pregnant with DS at 18 i started to eat a lot better (veggies and all :p) and then when it came time to feed my son i looked into it more and just couldn't stomach the idea of feeding him rubbish. I looked into additives and preservatives and read the book "Nourishing Traditions" by Sally Fallon. It completely changed my life. Once you have the knowledge you can't go back :no:

Im now that annoying person that mentions additive free living all the time! lol My mum is the director of a childcare centre and she says im now that little voice in her head that won't shut up!! she's changing the centres menu so that there are absolutely no additives :yelclap:

DS is quite a hyper child to begin with so i think he'd be CRAZY with additives. If he does eat foods he shouldn't (thanks mostly to MIL :rolleyes:) we do see a difference.

puddlejumper
07-09-2010, 19:44
Love my whole foods and love doing whats best for my family.

FYI Dreambeliever its a little under $2000.

Pina Colada
07-09-2010, 20:06
oh i wish mischief!
DP is in the airforce so we don't have alot of choice where we go...and there are no bases in tazzie. Other wise id consider it!
Also theres the cold issue...this is our first real winter (we're from north queensland and have just moved to SA this year) and im so not coping well with the cold! my idea of winter is 25 degrees! :laughing: yes im a wuss :p

:laughing: We don't get to pick where we live at the moment either, we move for DH job and stay anywhere from 6 months to 4 years. I'm also from north queensland, and that is where we are hoping to settle. Winter sux!! :D

We are addititive free because I believe it is healthier (understatement), we are not allergic.

Laksa
07-09-2010, 20:24
We think we're about 18 months off moving to acreage and becoming more self-sufficient :)

We don't have any allergies here, just don't want my family eating carcinogenic crap or having behavioural issues from things that are often BANNED in other countries!!

Thermolicious
08-09-2010, 10:38
Sissy! LOL

DS1 started have night terrors and someone suggested I look into food additives, I bought a copy of Additive Alert and it "snow balled" from there.

Love my whole foods and love doing whats best for my family.

FYI Dreambeliever its a little under $2000.

$1939 :)

Dreambeliever
10-09-2010, 09:53
OMG!! :eek: $2000!!
there goes that idea! :doh:

We're going on holidays tomorrow. Heading back to our home town to see both sets of grandparents (and uncles, aunts, friends etc) and go to a friends wedding. Should be really good to see everyone and get back to the warmth! :sunshine:
however...everytime we go away DS's good behaviour goes out the window! people give him a little bit of this and a little bit of that and he ends up crazy! :no:

Does anyone else have issues with going on holidays/seeing family and keeping up with additive free diet?

10-09-2010, 09:57
Nope. I let everyone else get whatever they wanted to eat, but personally I bought muesli bars and salads, etc and just ate differently. It often meant they got take away and had eaten it before we got home and I'd made my own, but it was Ok with me. :)

Aussiemummy
10-09-2010, 14:03
Hope we can join in here too. We're not 100% additive free yet, but working more and more towards it, and have recently started buying all organic fruit and vegetables. We're also Gluten/wheat free due to allergies...

Does anyone else have issues with going on holidays/seeing family and keeping up with additive free diet?

Yes we find this, whenever we see family Ds ends up constipated from junk food... or is given gluten/wheat and ends up with the runs... :no: Still working at educating my family...

I am highly reactive to gluten/wheat and get extremely ill (almost hospitalized last time)... Yet a relative exclaimed "we'll just bbq it and the heat will kill it" lol... i wish...

Chunkydunks
13-09-2010, 19:17
I've been roughly following the additive free ways since DS was little. We had some good results and every now and then DS gets out of control so we recheck everything.

I've just been to the shops and decided I'd check things as I went. One of the safe things was juice. Most of the shelf brands were safe but now it's a different story. I didn't have time to check every single one but all the ones I did pick up either had colours or flavours in it....all but one in the fridge had preservatives in it. The one brand I found that didn't was $6 for 2lt. I'm astounded. Even poppers had something in them....brands of poppers that I knew were safe.

So just a warning to everyone to check and recheck the brands every now and then. They might be safe when you start buying them but they may not stay that way.

SpiritofaWarrior
13-09-2010, 21:16
Hi guys!! i am only very new to additive free lifestyle (2mths) but am keen to learn from you all so i am hoping I can join you all here.
some of you recently gave me great books to read from a previous post of mine, which I have and have found them really helpful. (additive alert and chemical maze shopping companion) but I would love to hear what you all are recommending. IE whats the healthiest bread, pasta etc...

So I will be keeping a close eye on this thread if thats ok???

Sheer Bliss
13-09-2010, 22:51
:wave: We are mostly failsafe, although have been re-introducing stuff and I constantly get confused and stuff up on occassion! Mostly for DS's behaviour, but there are definately improvements from everyone once we all eat the same way. He seems to be very intollerant of salycilates which is frustrating for a boy that loves his food and fruit. Amines, he is OK with, so lots of cheese on crackers and bananas seem to fill the gap. I am too naughty though, and love all the bad stuff, so it's mostly DS that sticks to it, the rest of us...well, it changes!

We buy Woolworths homebrand peanut butter too. The local health food store make their own, and it s YUM!! Although I tried to get coconut and arrowroot flour there the other day and was bummed to find their brands all had preservative 220 in it too!! Have to go back tomorrow though, as they have agar, agar in - so I am going to attempt to make my cookies n cream white chocolate cheesecake additive free!! DS will LOVE me!

I REALLY want a thermomix....it's not gonna happen. Although I got a cuisine art ice-cream maker cheap last week, so going to attempt some nice homemade additive free ice-cream and then some lactose free ones for me too!

Dreambeliever - when we went to Fiji on holidays DS1 was crazy!! And because we stayed at a resort it was too hard to keep check on his food. But we are off to melbourne at the end of this month and staying with the MIL - she has VERY strict instructions on what NOT to feed him, so I am hoping to keep him additive free this time.

Dreambeliever
17-09-2010, 14:21
nice to see more ppl joining us :yelclap: :wave:

I've added a list on my opening post for us to add our brands/products that we have found. As a good place to start for those that are new to this, and also to get new ideas for the rest of us.

I haven't added much to start with as we're on holidays at the moment and i can't remember what is in my pantry! :o (we've been doing this 2 yrs now so i really should know!)

Feel free to reply post your products and i'll add to the list. :yes:

Mumma Tissy - so true about changing ingredients! i'm always trying to remind myself to recheck everything every few weeks so we dont get caught out!

Sheer Bliss - we should probably open a recipe thread so you can add your cheesecake recipe! sounds awesome! :chef:

Dreambeliever
17-09-2010, 19:00
bumping :cool:

and just thought of some more products for the list...

Macro:
Organic Sultanas
So far all of the Macro brand food i've looked at seem additive and preservative free, correct me if im wrong. (they have dried fruit, sulfur free, nuts, muesli, etc)

wild at heart
17-09-2010, 20:22
i haven't started yet but will be soon..

my ds1 has ongoing ecezma, asthma and allergies.. and I am sure that hie bahviour could be improved by dropping some of the numbers as he doesn't sleep as well in the last 6 mths (always fabulous sleeper, but in last 6 mths is not that great).

I am basically dairy free myself at the moment as my 4 mths old has very bad reflux and has been diagnosed with failure to thrive and I am trying anything i can to try to help her.. she just will NOT eat (dr telling me she may need top be tube fed.. yikes)

where do you suggest i start with the additives.. i think my hubby would freak if we did the whole failsafe thing..

Chunkydunks
17-09-2010, 20:41
bumping :cool:

and just thought of some more products for the list...

Macro:
Organic Sultanas
So far all of the Macro brand food i've looked at seem additive and preservative free, correct me if im wrong. (they have dried fruit, sulfur free, nuts, muesli, etc)

I think most sultanas are sulphur free. My thing is I don't like the ones with oil so I get fussy with them.

Dreambeliever
17-09-2010, 20:42
Wild at heart - sorry to hear about both bubs health issues. Hopefully trying additive free will help your DS.

I started by looking at the website "additive alert"
i would get something out of the pantry and look at the ingredients. There is a section of the website where you can type in a name or number of something and see the health risks. Then i would try and find a replacement for this item the next time i went shopping.

The easiest thing to change (and probably the thing that affects kids most) is Bread and Preservative 282. We only get bread from Brumby's or Baker's Delight (your local baker might also be preservative free but it's best to check their ingredients).

Pre-packaged snacks are most often full of additives. So it's best to make things like muffins, slices, cakes, etc at home.

If there is a specific product you would like to know a replacement for you can always post in here and we can see if anyone buys something safe that is similar :)

Hope this helps. Feel free to keep asking questions

Dreambeliever
17-09-2010, 20:44
I think most sultanas are sulphur free. My thing is I don't like the ones with oil so I get fussy with them.

we've found many of the supermarket brands are processed using sulphur (it's not counted as an ingredient so they dont have to list it) and DS will react to them. Same with many dried fruits.

Chunkydunks
17-09-2010, 20:48
we've found many of the supermarket brands are processed using sulphur (it's not counted as an ingredient so they dont have to list it) and DS will react to them. Same with many dried fruits.

Because it's an allergan I thought it had to be listed???

oscarsmummy
17-09-2010, 20:48
Whilst myself and my family are not currently living additive and preservative free, and I haven't read through this entire thread, I just wanted to recommend a site which I think you'll all find inspirational:

http://naturallybetterkids.com/

kimbo
17-09-2010, 21:03
Macro:
Organic Sultanas

Thanks for starting this thread Dreambeliever.

Where can you get Macro brand food?

Dreambeliever
17-09-2010, 21:11
Because it's an allergan I thought it had to be listed???

hmmm...im not sure about this. I was told that they didn't have to list it. but that info could be incorrect, i shall have to look into it. :yes:

Thanks for starting this thread Dreambeliever.

Where can you get Macro brand food?

No problem.:) I was very confused when i started (and still make mistakes now!), i wished i could have had a starting place or people to ask advice back then.

As far as im aware only Woolworths stocks Macro. In our local woolies they are located in two sections...near the gluten free/Health food area and next to the tinned fruit (this is the dried fruit and nuts). The packs are all a dull green colour and fairly simple.

Adding another biscuit to the list...Arnotts Butternut Snaps. (My mum was just using them to make mini cheesecakes. yum, gotta love staying with mum while on holidays :D)

kimbo
17-09-2010, 21:14
As far as im aware only Woolworths stocks Macro. In our local woolies they are located in two sections...near the gluten free/Health food area and next to the tinned fruit (this is the dried fruit and nuts). The packs are all a dull green colour and fairly simple.

Adding another biscuit to the list...Arnotts Butternut Snaps. (My mum was just using them to make mini cheesecakes. yum, gotta love staying with mum while on holidays :D)

That's great, thanks :) Will check it out tomorrow.

wild at heart
19-09-2010, 09:07
can anyone give me any suggestions on a substitute for vegemite??

wild at heart
21-09-2010, 13:32
so is all bread that doesn't have 282 in it ok?

is it ok to eat bread w seeds in it?

genegeenie
21-09-2010, 21:17
Re bread I think vinegar can be an issue if you are using a strict failsafe diet - and the unlisted antioxidant 319 in vegetable oil can catch you out too.

I am only new to this - on day 3 of a failsafe experiment for my little-too-bouncy boy... a few mistakes already and I am about to make pear jam for the first time... wish me luck.

Its exciting to find this thread, I'd be keen to hear more about behaviour improvement. I feel my 3.5yo boy has something eating away at him. He is anxious, inattentive, hyperactive, oversensitive - but only so fairly recently. My paed suggests its anxiety and is sending me off for autism testing which does not sit well - hence the diet.

I am cautiously confident... no wild crazy days anyway.

And a home made or failsafe vegie recipe for vegemite or somethign savoury would be fab!

almfam37
21-09-2010, 21:35
What a great thread!!! I am not doing this at the moment but my son has been showing alot of ADHD symptoms the doctors wanted me to see a pediatrician so he could assess him but to be honest i havent taken him because i dont want him on tablets, i am wanting to try working with him myself and also eliminating additives from his food. I need to do alot more research before i begin as i really know nothing about this yet but i feel much more supported now and at least have some links i can go have a look at

thanks ladies :yelclap:

genegeenie
21-09-2010, 21:53
almfam37... having just started myelf, I found this booklet off the failsafe website excellent: http://fedupwithfoodadditives.info/extras/Failsafebooklet.pdf

And this is useful too, check the other info on the left hand menu bar too:
http://www.plantpoisonsandrottenstuff.info/content/failsafe.aspx

Good luck researching.

3blue&1pink
22-09-2010, 07:16
can anyone give me any suggestions on a substitute for vegemite??

We use Mighty Mite. :)

We have noticed a huge difference in our ASD/ADHD child since starting him on the failsafe diet 3 months ago.

Aussiemummy
22-09-2010, 14:01
Silly question but does the failsafe diet have a book??

wild at heart
22-09-2010, 14:01
i bought the freedom foods vege spread, but i think that it still has the bad stuff.

where can you get the mighty mite?

My ds1 is soo addicted to vegemite, i think it's because of the crap in it, so i have been making him yummy golden syrup toast.. yummmm..

being dairy free for my little one is sooo hard at the moment becasue everything seems to have diary in it, and i just made some yummy yoghurt for the kids which i cannot have.. it suxxxx

i can't find anything yummy to eat..

Dannielle
22-09-2010, 17:45
Hi, we didn't go completely free but I'm wanting to eventually. We are doing it gradually. I have 3 girls, DD1 is 11yrs and DD2 & DD3 are nearly 7yrs.

We noticed a big difference even when we changed our bread and stopped buying things with MSG. They seem to be the main things that affect us. Even bread with vinegar as a preservative makes my girls quite emotional. DD1 swapped half her sandwich with a friends wholemeal salad sandwich and I could tell within 30mins of picking her up from school that she had eaten something that was affecting her. Nothing major but she was extra sensitive and emotional and thats from only 1 slice of bread.

The girls and I are all asthmatic and come to think of it we have all been pretty good lately. And this winter hasn't been too bad cold/virus wise either. We have had a few but not to the extent that we normally are. (we are normally all really sick with colds and asthma etc pretty much for the whole winter)

Aussiemummy- I printed the failsafe booklet thingy (link is in genegeenie's post) and I have the "Fed Up" book and also The Failsafe Cookbook.

I wish there was a soy yoghurt alternative for DD2. I have been letting her have it as she loves yoghurt and she's the main vegemite eater too. I haven't seen Mighty Might. I'm not sure if she will eat golden syrup toast but I will be trying it with her as well. I tried making her a soy custard but she doesn't like it.

eta: DD2 is CMPI and we also discovered last year she is allergic to colours/flavours (whichever ones they are) in starburst jelly babies. We don't normally do lollies but if we do they are Natural Confectionary Company ones but when she had 2 of the starburst lollies she broke out in hives and complained of her throat feeling "weird".

Dannielle
22-09-2010, 18:18
Just thought I would add about the bread that the cost isn't too bad.

When I first went to Bakers Delight I was a bit OMG at the price. But found that they do a deal for 2 loaves for $6 and then also give you a stamp on a card when you spend a minimum of $6. Then you can get a free loaf after only 5 stamps. So, the price isn't too bad in the end.

genegeenie
22-09-2010, 18:18
Silly question but does the failsafe diet have a book??

Yes, two books and a DVD: http://www.fedupwithfoodadditives.info/books/Setbuy4.htm

wild at heart
22-09-2010, 20:58
my ds1 just loves toast with golden syrup after me suggesting it to him this arvo...

i am keen to hear about the food/ asthma or eczsema connection, as it is a major thing for ds1 and i'm sure it effects his sleep and general behaviour.

the woolies bakery bread doesn't list all it's numbers i am sure, as it doesn't seem to be all that bad..

i am dairy free to try to help my 4 mth old bubba were extraordinarily bad reflux (vomiting blood etc), so danielle, I am wondering when you found out about your daughter with CMPI? was it when she was a bubba? I am not hvaing that much success wth the dairy thing and am thinking I MAY have to eliminate wheat as well..

Aussiemummy
23-09-2010, 14:01
Yes, two books and a DVD: http://www.fedupwithfoodadditives.info/books/Setbuy4.htm

Thankyou! :)

apocalypstick
23-09-2010, 18:39

New to the forums, but I just wanted to say that I too have just started the Failsafe diet. We saw a massive improvement within the first week of the diet and BOY do we know it when we slip up.

I'm lucky that I have the support of my family, although they live a very long way away.

It gets very discouraging trying to feed a fussy child on such limited foods, but we are getting there.

Dannielle
23-09-2010, 18:46
wild at heart- Yes, she was a bubba. Actually her twin was temporarily CMPI as well. They were about 3/4mths when our Dr suspected it but we didn't get them officially tested when they were little. We only tested DD2 later on after DD3 grew out of it at about 13mths. They both had reflux and what we were initially told was colic and unsettled etc. Plus excema type rashes mainly on their faces and especially around their mouth. Now that DD2 is older we now know after our last trial that apart from the rash/excema that dairy makes her feel sick and gives her tummy pains as well. We are actually waiting to see a paediatric dietician for DD2 as she is so teeny for her age. Not sure if there is something else causing problems.

wild at heart
23-09-2010, 21:06
how do they test for CMPI?

we are going well with our eating.. since taking away lost of additives, ds1 has been having a sleep in the daytime.. how awesome!

genegeenie
23-09-2010, 21:30
Day 6 of failsafe diet and I am amazed at the change in my 3.5yo... he is calm, NO meltdowns or tantrums (today), happy, eating, playing with his sister....

I was sceptical but very pleased to be turning around.

However, my mum gave him watermelon and orange juice today - he was visisbly different straight away - does anyone know how long the effects might last? Does this set me back much?

genegeenie
23-09-2010, 21:31
my ds1 just loves toast with golden syrup after me suggesting it to him this arvo...

maple syrup and toast is divine also. pricery but coles have ot on special at the moment. yum.

Dannielle
24-09-2010, 13:05

Where did you find Mighty Mite? I had a look at our local coles today and couldn't find it.

wild at heart- We got a referal to a paediatric allergist and she did a skin prick test to test for allergies. Intolerances aren't as easy though. She had to have 2 sticky things on her back (so she can't take them off because they get so itchy like big hives) for a while, then take them off and go back after a certain amount of time. There is a tester (which will be a bump/hive) and the milk patch. DD2's milk patch was heaps worse than the tester. Not sure if they test little ones though as most do grow out of intolerances by 12mths. First point of call would be your GP/Paediatrician. We eliminated dairy with guidance from our Dr.

genegeenie- I'm not sure, everyone is probably different. But with my girls I have noticed reactions after 30mins of having something and sometimes the reaction isn't quite as quick. Sometimes they seem better after 24hrs and other times I can still see the symptoms in them 2 days later.

genegeenie
28-09-2010, 18:30
I am feeling overwhelmed! So many foods to avoid, and as he is now sick I feel like his diet is inadequate.

It's also so hard to avoid these foods in day to day living... my mum thinks I am 'overanalysing' and tomorrow we are off to a kiddy gathering; will be full of no-no stuff.

Will perservere - his behaviour is definitely better (apart from two crazy withdrawal days), but this is no walk in the park is it.

Dreambeliever
28-09-2010, 19:20
What a great thread!!! I am not doing this at the moment but my son has been showing alot of ADHD symptoms the doctors wanted me to see a pediatrician so he could assess him but to be honest i havent taken him because i dont want him on tablets, i am wanting to try working with him myself and also eliminating additives from his food. I need to do alot more research before i begin as i really know nothing about this yet but i feel much more supported now and at least have some links i can go have a look at

thanks ladies :yelclap:

good on you for trying the diet option first :yes:. the amount of difference i've seen in kids who change their diet after an almost ADHD diagnosis is amazing! its definitely worth a shot.

where abouts do you find this mighty mite? :detective:

i am keen to hear about the food/ asthma or eczsema connection, as it is a major thing for ds1 and i'm sure it effects his sleep and general behaviour.

i used to have asthma on and off. Since removing additives and preservatives i have had no problems :yelclap:. If it affects medical conditions then it definitely affects sleep and behaviour.

we are going well with our eating.. since taking away lost of additives, ds1 has been having a sleep in the daytime.. how awesome!

:smiliedance: thats a great improvement!

I am feeling overwhelmed! So many foods to avoid, and as he is now sick I feel like his diet is inadequate.

It's also so hard to avoid these foods in day to day living... my mum thinks I am 'overanalysing' and tomorrow we are off to a kiddy gathering; will be full of no-no stuff.

Will perservere - his behaviour is definitely better (apart from two crazy withdrawal days), but this is no walk in the park is it.

maybe make something special for him that is safe for him to eat and take it along?
it does get hard when you have to say no. And it can take a while for relatives and friends to accept the diet. We've been additive and preservative free for two years and my MIL has only just figured it out :rolleyes:

Dreambeliever
23-02-2011, 19:29
bumping for the new additive free ppl

mumwannabe
04-05-2012, 21:03
Bump. Anyone got any tips?

My son has CMPI and I have just found out he is very sensitive to preservatives, additives, sunflower oil, sheep and goats milk and products, oats, buckwheat, coconuts, almonds, celery, vegemite, mayonnaise, chick peas, Lima beans and a few other things.

Im seriously at a loss as where to start reek

Dannielle
05-05-2012, 13:32

My son has CMPI and I have just found out he is very sensitive to preservatives, additives, sunflower oil, sheep and goats milk and products, oats, buckwheat, coconuts, almonds, celery, vegemite, mayonnaise, chick peas, Lima beans and a few other things.

Wow, that's a lot to deal with!

DD2 (8.5yrs) is CMPI and couldn't even tollerate things like biscuits with milk in them when she was little. She can now though. She can't have any dairy except for the occassional piece of cheese. She can't have a margarine/butter spread that contains dairy day to day without having a reaction. She has nuttelex but that has sunflower oil in it.

Where have you started?

Mayonnaise and vegemite would fall under additives. I just checked DH's mayonnaise and it has sunflower oil in it (not sure if they all do though) along with "colours & flavours" which can mean absolutely anything. There is msg/processed free glutimate in in vegemite. Ummm from memory it has yeast extract, malt extract and flavours. Yeast extract always contains msg and malt extract and flavours can both also contain msg.

Elijahs Mum
05-05-2012, 14:43

I hope you like to cook!
The best thing is to buy additive alert ( book by Julie Eady ) so you can identify which products contain the nasty additives and preservatives but really just cut out all packet and jarred food and obviously dairy, what meals does your son like and try and duplicate them with healthy substitutes
a few starting tips;

Make your own sauces/spices/pizza bases and pasta and cakes/cookies
Buy organic breads
Use avocado instead of butter
If no allergy buy organic peanut butter
Cut out all processed meat ( no ham/bacon/deli meats etc )
Try quinoa or rice milks
Only drink water, or plain mineral water
Avoid any product with yeast (MSG)
Avoid all processed/ take a way food
Avoid dried fruit unless organic

Check all labels on everything you buy and go and check out your local organic shop