View Full Version : Good suburbs in Birsbane that are cheap?

Teley
01-09-2010, 12:05
I'm talking really cheap (well, as cheap as they come in Brisbane). I'm looking at the extreme north parts of the city, Ipswich and Logan areas. I know Logan pretty well, but I have no clue about the other two. Any suggestions?

Entropy
02-09-2010, 07:12
There is always Inala. Doesn't have the best reputation, but it is CHEAP. You can get a house for under $300 a week. It is Brisbane West though, so not really what you were after.

I've also lived in Darra and it was cheap and not that bad.

Riverview in Ipswich, you'll get quite a lot of choice under $300 as well. Even in Collingwood Park there's a few under that.

Is that the price range you are after?

I guess it depends on if you need links to Brisbane city for work or that too... Ipswich has good connections to the city.

Seacretsquirrel
02-09-2010, 07:47
I have a lot of friends who have just bought/moved to the Strathpine/Lawnton area all seem to have got fairly good houses on big blocks for a reasonable amount - including those that rent. And the schools are good there too.:yelclap:

Teley
02-09-2010, 19:33
Thanks, Inala suits, I've heard it's really picked up and become very multicultural. Perhaps I shall have a look in there.

I :valentine: Strathpine/Lawnton area, it's so green and beautiful. My main concern is the schools.

And yes, price is mainly what I am looking at:yes:.

Greenhorn
02-09-2010, 19:39
:no: :no: stay away from Inala, Wacol, Goodna - like the FRIKKEN plague! They have to be the DODGIEST suburbs i have ever seen in my LIFE!!

We had a police scanner, and turned it off after a while as we were getting too sick/scared to hear the stuff that went on :no:

try here (http://www.realestate.com.au/rent/in-bellbird+park/list-1) or here (http://www.realestate.com.au/rent/in-redbank+plains,+qld+4301;+/list-1?source=location-search)

oooorrrr maybe even here (http://www.realestate.com.au/rent/in-nambour,+qld+4560/list-1?activeSort=price-asc)? Its way up but an awesome(ish, it is a bit dodge in parts) on the train line.

Pina Colada
02-09-2010, 19:42
Bald Hills. It has a train station and easy access to Gympie Rd and the Gateway. The public primary school is EXCELLENT. It has so many out of zone children that it has to stop accepting them from next year. There is also St Pauls P-12 Anglican School Strathpine is not too far away for shops, indoor playcentre, and a great park.

Rent is very reasonable.

Teley
02-09-2010, 19:55
Bald Hills. It has a train station and easy access to Gympie Rd and the Gateway. The public primary school is EXCELLENT. It has so many out of zone children that it has to stop accepting them from next year. There is also St Pauls P-12 Anglican School Strathpine is not too far away for shops, indoor playcentre, and a great park.

Rent is very reasonable.

Thank you but no. Bald Hills was a primary school website I checked out last year that had the comment 'the amount of single parents at our school is approximately average for the area'. Not quite sure what they wanted to say by that.

:no: :no: stay away from Inala, Wacol, Goodna - like the FRIKKEN plague! They have to be the DODGIEST suburbs i have ever seen in my LIFE!!

We had a police scanner, and turned it off after a while as we were getting too sick/scared to hear the stuff that went on :no:

try here (http://www.realestate.com.au/rent/in-bellbird+park/list-1) or here (http://www.realestate.com.au/rent/in-redbank+plains,+qld+4301;+/list-1?source=location-search)

oooorrrr maybe even here (http://www.realestate.com.au/rent/in-nambour,+qld+4560/list-1?activeSort=price-asc)? Its way up but an awesome(ish, it is a bit dodge in parts) on the train line.

I've heard bad things about Wacol and Goodna but people who live in Inala say it's not that bad........

And I think the suburbs you mentioned are a lot less multi cultural, Inala seems to be an immigrant hub which I like.

Coffee
02-09-2010, 20:37
What about Redcliffe and surrounds? Or depending on how far north, I've heard good things about the Narangba Valley State school. But not sure how expensive it would be to rent there.

Or Dakabin, Warner, Petrie, Kurwongbah. Not sure about rents and schools though, just throwing a couple suburbs in.
Another possibility is Murrumba Downs and you could send your Son either to the local State School, which is only primary at the moment but I think they're building a High school there at the moment or in Mango Hill is a Catholic private school, St. Benedicts College.

good luck, hope you find something suitable for you and your DS.

Entropy
02-09-2010, 21:43
There is always places like Salisbury of Rocklea? They're sort of industrial, with bit better rep than Inala. Rents are $350-ish.

Inala is definitely multi-cultural, if that is what you are after An Chen. Lots of services and supports there too. I dunno... it has a bad rep, but the people I know who live there don't think it is that bad (3 different families).

JabberJaw
02-09-2010, 21:48
Russell Island :D

Just a short ferry ride to the mainland and maybe 15-20min by car to Logan. Bit longer by bus.

Cheap rent anywhere from $160 - $250 depending on size of house.

Great community spirit, lots of community 'things' to go to, like bands, town BBQ's, Christmas do's stuff like that.

School is good, bus to school is free. Heaps of extra after school activities for kids most are free others less than $5. Now have a community garden too :)

Lots of people have no car as its only 8km x 4km so walkable or people offer lifts (and we do have a taxi)

Couple of shops (grocery store,butcher,baker,coffee, fish n chips, chemist,hairdresser and a servo)

Lots of fresh air, sun and sand. Awesome environment for kids. So safe here so they can be kids.

We are never leaving.

Barely ever venture off to the mainland now. No need to nestle amongst the hustle and bustle.

~CupCakes~
28-09-2010, 07:36
Thanks, Inala suits, I've heard it's really picked up and become very multicultural. Perhaps I shall have a look in there.

I :valentine: Strathpine/Lawnton area, it's so green and beautiful. My main concern is the schools.

we are at Kallangur not far from Lawnton/Strathpine and i love it and the school, Kurwonbah (sp?) is really great too my ds's teachers kids go there ( his wife is a teacher there) and he say the schools are so similar

ps we got an awsome bargin when buying our house in kallangur

MsMummy
28-09-2010, 07:44
Thank you but no. Bald Hills was a primary school website I checked out last year that had the comment 'the amount of single parents at our school is approximately average for the area'. Not quite sure what they wanted to say by that.

I've heard bad things about Wacol and Goodna but people who live in Inala say it's not that bad........

And I think the suburbs you mentioned are a lot less multi cultural, Inala seems to be an immigrant hub which I like.

I wouldn't live in Goodna, Wacol, Inala either. although goodna has picked up a bit with some new housing estates.

I think there are some nicer parts of Ipswich itself.

I think the reality is that the further out you go, the schools get a bit rough and ready. It's not necessarily a bad thing. It's good for diversity etc. I grew up in regional Queensland so there was a real mixture of kids at my high school, and it was fine.

What about Petrie? Do you drive, as that's not that far from Strathpine.

Leisa21
28-09-2010, 07:49
You can get a house at collingwood park for $300 per week. Don't go to Inala or the surrounds unless there's nothing else. There's a very high number of break and enters and DH is a police officer at Inala and can barely eat lunch or talk to me during the day because he's flat out. Really not a good area if you can help it.

MsMummy
28-09-2010, 07:53
You can get a house at collingwood park for $300 per week. Don't go to Inala or the surrounds unless there's nothing else. There's a very high number of break and enters and DH is a police officer at Inala and can barely eat lunch or talk to me during the day because he's flat out. Really not a good area if you can help it.

Did he do something very bad to be punished? Will they send him to the Gold Coast next?:laughing:

Yeah, there's Bellbird Park, Redbank Plains, Collingwood Park.

Leisa21
28-09-2010, 08:03
Did he do something very bad to be punished? Will they send him to the Gold Coast next?:laughing:
:laughing: he actually requested Oxley district. He was hoping for Acacia Ridge (not that it's much better) but because we're at Sunnybank surrounds it's too close and they don't like cops working too close to home so Inala was the next closest. He's now stuck there for 3 years :eek:. It's a horrible station, he likes being busy though. As for GC he's been told (by me) if he gets sent there he's quitting lol. It's got the record for first year constable gun deployment. First shift, 30 minutes in and he had to deploy his gun :no: so bad.

SassyMummy
28-09-2010, 10:36
We live in Deception Bay, and it's quite okay here.

It apparently doesn't have a great reputation, but in all honesty, it's not bad! The people seem much more friendly than those in Ipswich (I lived there for most of my life), though the demographic is similar.

You can get 2-3 bedroom places for $250-$300 quite easily, and you're close to some nicer areas, like North Lakes (you notice the difference if you shop at the D-Bay woolies then go to the North Lakes one... lol). There's the beaches relatively close, and numerous schools around the place... DD's going to Hercules Road SS if you wanted to check that out. It's not IN D-Bay itself, but close enough.

I dunno, I think it's quite alright living here. Not as hot as Ipswich either. That's something to consider. Ipswich is ALWAYS hotter than the city... it's horrible in Ipswich temp-wise. It's still hot here, but not as shocking as Ipswich... lol.

MsMummy
28-09-2010, 12:38
:laughing: he actually requested Oxley district. He was hoping for Acacia Ridge (not that it's much better) but because we're at Sunnybank surrounds it's too close and they don't like cops working too close to home so Inala was the next closest. He's now stuck there for 3 years :eek:. It's a horrible station, he likes being busy though. As for GC he's been told (by me) if he gets sent there he's quitting lol. It's got the record for first year constable gun deployment. First shift, 30 minutes in and he had to deploy his gun :no: so bad.

I was listening to something about cops on the gold coast (getting up to no good), but the upshot was that it's a horrible area to police with a high burn out rate. they said interstate gangs come up and you're policing different people each weekend.

You couldn't pay me enough to be a police officer on the GC.

brogeybear
28-09-2010, 12:46
Kippa-ring is cheaper if you are looking Redcliffe area as Redlciffe, Scarborough are a lot more exy now. I wouldn't move to Dbay (sorry Sassy) our price range for buying suited Dbay but I feel so greatful that we found a place at Redcliffe just 500m from the beach!

Kallangur is ok DEPENDING on the area, and petrie/strathpine, etc would prob suit too.

mummy2babyj&j
28-09-2010, 13:08
I actually live in inala and my reason is the schools my son goes to a excellent school just cos we live in inala doesnt mean we are all bad ppl but it has got quite pricey here

Leisa21
28-09-2010, 13:20
I actually live in inala and my reason is the schools my son goes to a excellent school just cos we live in inala doesnt mean we are all bad ppl but it has got quite pricey hereI didn't say all people in Inala are bad people there are some okay areas but the reality is it has a very, very high crime rate, break amd enters are huge and the shops are terrible. It's not so bad if you have a car but the bus stops are shocking and the OP doesn't have a car. Unfortunately while a lot of the people are fine there is also a large number of people in the area that aren't. It's not me being judgemental because my husband deals with the area on a daily basis so if someone asks if it's an area they should move to i'd say no :)

Leisa21
28-09-2010, 13:29
I was listening to something about cops on the gold coast (getting up to no good), but the upshot was that it's a horrible area to police with a high burn out rate. they said interstate gangs come up and you're policing different people each weekend.

You couldn't pay me enough to be a police officer on the GC.
Yeah there was a big thing about cops at Surfers Paradise. Courier Mail made a massive issue out of it (they love to hate the police) and it turned out after a massive investigation by the CMC that there were only two "bad" police. Although there was some accepting free drinks and entry to night clubs which is a big no, there wasn't actually any corruption. IMO a lot of cops in the GC are too rough but they have to have zero tolerance because of how bad it is. Gangs are rife and everyone carries a knife and the drug use (mainly ice) makes them so unpredictable. Unfortunately though it means they end up crying police brutality.

I don't know the solution because it's not okay for cops to behave badly but they deal with so much at Surfers and don't get paid anywhere near enough. QLD police haven't even had their wage increased this financial year because the government want go give all government employees 5% increase and 2% to the police. They were just offered 3.5% if they agreed to be avaiable for work every weekend and have more speed radar sights, um no lol. So off topic but I get so riled up about it, especially when I see what DH goes through and they're considered not worthy of a wage increase based on inflation and some government employee working 8-4 gets 5%. It's not that they don't deserve it but so do the fuzz!

mummy2babyj&j
28-09-2010, 13:32
K but i do have to say that i take my son to school on the bus and transport here is excellent and we have great bus drivers :) most people here are just trying to raise there families like most suburbs i love that its so multicultural thats just my opinion but i do agree i have lived in the centre of inala and now im closer to forestlake and its better my son is in a speach therepy program at school so will stay because he is getting support that most schools dont offer was not saying at all that anyone was meaning we are all bad people :) sorry 4 the misunderstanding

MsMummy
28-09-2010, 13:37
Yeah there was a big thing about cops at Surfers Paradise. Courier Mail made a massive issue out of it (they love to hate the police) and it turned out after a massive investigation by the CMC that there were only two "bad" police. Although there was some accepting free drinks and entry to night clubs which is a big no, there wasn't actually any corruption. IMO a lot of cops in the GC are too rough but they have to have zero tolerance because of how bad it is. Gangs are rife and everyone carries a knife and the drug use (mainly ice) makes them so unpredictable. Unfortunately though it means they end up crying police brutality.

I don't know the solution because it's not okay for cops to behave badly but they deal with so much at Surfers and don't get paid anywhere near enough. QLD police haven't even had their wage increased this financial year because the government want go give all government employees 5% increase and 2% to the police. They were just offered 3.5% if they agreed to be avaiable for work every weekend and have more speed radar sights :rollseyes:. So off topic but I get so riled up about it, especially when I see what DH goes through and they're considered not worthy of a wage increase based on inflation and some government employee working 8-4 gets 5%. It's not that they don't deserve it but so do the fuzz!

Don't worry - the Courier-Mail hates lawyers and judges as well. they share the hate around. :D

I think it was about 6 police. 2 were charged through the criminal system and I think the others were disclipined within the police.

I agree that they need to pay more. I imagine battling for pay increase breeds resentment and that would likely increase the risk of transgressions.

Accepting free drinks from night clubs is definitely not on. It starts getting murky with conflict of interest. But a lot of the officers are probably a bit young and naive.

It's difficult. I have a lot of issues with the police, but it's not a job I would do, but somebody has to do it. So I recognise that it's easy for me to criticise from the outside. Anyway, entirely different thread.:laughing:

Actually, I can tie this back to the OP - don't move to the Gold Coast.:D

Leisa21
28-09-2010, 13:39
The outer area isn't too bad at all but it's not exactly cheap there. It's the center of town that cheap and that's the worst. Honestly DH spends half his day moving people from the bus stops that are drunk, sniffing goodness knows what and they're abusing the public. The watchhouse can't take them and they get them home or to a safe house and they're back an hour later :(.

I live in a massivly multicultural area. My neighbours are Italian, Chinese, Korean, African, middle eastern, Samoan and probably more, they're just the ones I know. Multicultural is great we love it too. I have nothing wrong with that :).

I didn't want to offend so sorry if I did, Im cynical I guess because I only hear the bad stories!

mummythreetimes
28-09-2010, 13:40
We also live on North side, brought a house at Petrie, my twin go to a local state school and we are very happy with this area.

Leisa21
28-09-2010, 13:46
Don't worry - the Courier-Mail hates lawyers and judges as well. they share the hate around. :D

I think it was about 6 police. 2 were charged through the criminal system and I think the others were disclipined within the police.

I agree that they need to pay more. I imagine battling for pay increase breeds resentment and that would likely increase the risk of transgressions.

Accepting free drinks from night clubs is definitely not on. It starts getting murky with conflict of interest. But a lot of the officers are probably a bit young and naive.

It's difficult. I have a lot of issues with the police, but it's not a job I would do, but somebody has to do it. So I recognise that it's easy for me to criticise from the outside. Anyway, entirely different thread.:laughing:

Actually, I can tie this back to the OP - don't move to the Gold Coast.:D
:laughing: see we're kinda helping. Yeah poor Andrew went from being lawyer bashed by the courier mail to being cop bashed and probably right back to lawyer bashing in the next 10 years lol. Honestly the only thing acceptable about being paid in the police is the super but that's not helpful right now.

The naughty cops are massivly in the minority and yeah the GC has a bit of a boys club mentality. I think that's where the issue happens. A new cop starts, gets invited out on a Saturday night with the 'old boys' gets a free drink and it gets icky. I'd say 95% of the time it's just a free drink but 5% of it's probably the unspoken we'll turn a blind eye. So wrong but what the heck can be done? Punish the bad ones and support the rest :D. Oh and don't be hatin MsMummy :p

ETA. in case it sounded like I was I'm not condoning the bad behaviour or accepting of drinks, that's dumb :D

mummy2babyj&j
28-09-2010, 13:47
The outer area isn't too bad at all but it's not exactly cheap there. It's the center of town that cheap and that's the worst. Honestly DH spends half his day moving people from the bus stops that are drunk, sniffing goodness knows what and they're abusing the public. The watchhouse can't take them and they get them home or to a safe house and they're back an hour later :(.

I live in a massivly multicultural area. My neighbours are Italian, Chinese, Korean, African, middle eastern, Samoan and probably more, they're just the ones I know. Multicultural is great we love it too. I have nothing wrong with that :).

I didn't want to offend so sorry if I did, Im cynical I guess because I only hear the bad stories!

i just catch the local bus i think that as my life is here now i like it but its not for everyone

Megsy33
28-09-2010, 16:25
Narangba is nice area with good schools but fair way north. Redcliffe is nice in some areas. I grew up there.
Sassy, I'm a teacher at Herc Road!! There are some great schools in the area and some not so. I've lived in Kallangur and Murrumba Downs too and they were pretty good also. Depends on your budget and how far out you want to go.

Teley
28-09-2010, 16:52
Okay. Startin to look more outward.....If we do end up movin, ere are my suburbs:

Inala (sorry Leisa, I just cant elp it)

Sunnybank????

Far nortside (Stratpine/Lawnton area)

Ze bus (includin Toowoombalol)

and ze old Coast (I know, you warned me....)

Or maybe we can just relocate to Sydney or Melbourne, me.

But I dont know ow I will ever o and find a place. Cause I cant drive and rental inspections are usually far between *si* life sucks . Especially wen your keyboard doesnt work.