21-08-2010, 18:46
Liberal are in the lead :barf:

anewme
21-08-2010, 18:50
Thanks for the link.
The a huge swing to the greens in my division

quitecontrary
21-08-2010, 18:52
Its only 30 minutes since polls closed here - I just had a look at the site and they're not updating tonight - it must be exit polling.

waterlily
21-08-2010, 18:55
Thanks for the link.
The a huge swing to the greens in my division

No problems.

crazyaboutbubs
21-08-2010, 18:58
So do I look at the 'House of Representatives National Two Party Preferred Result' or who wins the most in the 'Party Representation - Summary of Divisions Won'

:confused: I'm really clueless when it comes to elections.

waterlily
21-08-2010, 19:00
Wooo labor just over took liberal in my division.

waterlily
21-08-2010, 19:02
I'm watching both but mostly the house of reps (top). There is also local divisions on the left toolbar.

Janesmum123
21-08-2010, 19:11
So far it's not looking good.

crazyaboutbubs
21-08-2010, 19:11
I'm watching both but mostly the house of reps (top). There is also local divisions on the left toolbar.

Thanks! So the party with the most votes for the 'House of Representatives National Two Party Preferred Result' will be the new government?

I'm so scared. But glad less then 10% have been counted so far.. this is intense. When will we know?! :o

waterlily
21-08-2010, 19:17
Yep that right and liberal are kicking butt. :(

bada
21-08-2010, 19:23
oh dear.

TurnedBatty
21-08-2010, 19:25
I cant stop watching...I am refreshing every two seconds!

CookiesRYum
21-08-2010, 19:34
not looking good - i can't quite fathom that abbott may very well be our new pm... :gloomy:

anewme
21-08-2010, 19:37
Liberals winning here. :smiliedance:

waterlily
21-08-2010, 19:40
Half way though in our division and labor is winning. YAY.

kribby
21-08-2010, 19:45
So far it's not looking good.

Guess that depends on who you voted for ;)

TurnedBatty
21-08-2010, 19:46
I dont like who is leading in my division.....mainly because every bit of election junk mail I got was from her. ;)

Lateralus
21-08-2010, 19:47
thanks for the link WL - the election coverage on the telly was doing my head in :hair:

Amara
21-08-2010, 19:51
not looking good - i can't quite fathom that abbott may very well be our new pm... :gloomy:

I feel the same. What a horrifying thought.

waterlily
21-08-2010, 19:52
Labor is winning in every division in Tassie. :)
Bummer I can't say the same for national.
No probs Lateralus.

OneBabyBoy
21-08-2010, 20:03
Is anyone watching channel 7? Is Mel wearing a top?!? I can't work it out.

waterlily
21-08-2010, 20:09
I'm not watching but curious now

Lateralus
21-08-2010, 20:12
hehe - I had to flick it on to check. Yeh - she's wearing a pale pink top under her jacket.. High neckline. ;)

1CrazyMoose
21-08-2010, 20:15
Lol I thought that earlier!! I was like gee hmm not sure I would just wear a suit jacket. Lol but then thought wow her boobs must be very far apart. Then looked a little more closely and noticed she is but just a really bad choice of colour. Lol

OneBabyBoy
21-08-2010, 20:17
Very strange wardrobe choice :/

Jax Tellers Old Lady
21-08-2010, 20:18
Is anyone watching channel 7? Is Mel wearing a top?!? I can't work it out.

Lol I thought that as well, I was thinking surely not for election night:D Bad wardrobe staff thats for sure.

waterlily
21-08-2010, 20:18
Labors taken the lead!!!!!!

ThereIsNoPlaceLikeHome
21-08-2010, 20:26
Not looking that great for Labor!

Although great to see the swing to Greens and even better in the seat of Melbourne the greens are predicted to win that seat!! 12+ swing :yelclap: :yelclap:

SweetDreams
21-08-2010, 20:27
Melbourne's been won by Greens... just heard speech.

waterlily
21-08-2010, 20:29
Wow, That's fantastic!!

CookiesRYum
21-08-2010, 20:32

:yelclap::yelclap::yelclap:

ThereIsNoPlaceLikeHome
21-08-2010, 20:33

He is great IMO :yes: I saw his video last week on his site, and was very impressed! I'm sure he will do a great job!! http://greens.org.au/content/adambandt

Congrats to him!!:yelclap::yelclap:

waterlily
21-08-2010, 20:44
Labor is taking a bigger lead :D come on guys!!

CookiesRYum
21-08-2010, 20:45
Labor is taking a bigger lead :D come on guys!!

lets hope they can hold on :fingerscrossed:

waterlily
21-08-2010, 20:46
lets hope they can hold on :fingerscrossed:

I have everything possible crossed!! ;)

SassyMummy
21-08-2010, 20:47
Apart from wanting the Libs to lose for the obvious reasons, I also really want them to lose so I can go, "SUCK ON THAT ILs!" :o

waterlily
21-08-2010, 20:49
Hahahahah go labor so sassy can suck it to the ILs

Mrs Nietzsche
21-08-2010, 20:53
It doesn't seem to be going great for Labor

Bibs
21-08-2010, 20:53
I'm very disappointed with my electorate of Bennelong. The ex tennis player John Alexander has won for the Liberal party :thumbsdown: and the Liberals have won for North Sydney electorate also.

I'm really scared.

CookiesRYum
21-08-2010, 20:54
It doesn't seem to be going great for Labor

I know - especially in QLD.. but hopefully they can get over the line....

brogeybear
21-08-2010, 20:55
Ooh I can watch the election coverage and chat on bh with my new phone...
History made by greens 2nite for sure.

Savingfishfromdrowning
21-08-2010, 20:56
Looks like Labor! :australia-flag-06:

Savingfishfromdrowning
21-08-2010, 21:01
I'm jumping the gun - maybe a hung parliament?? :confused:

waterlily
Let's hope so AJ.

ThereIsNoPlaceLikeHome
Looks like Labor! :australia-flag-06:

I don't know... it seems they have lost a few seats... it will be close...:detective:

waterlily
21-08-2010, 21:02
I dont reckon it will be hung, but who knows.

OneBabyBoy
21-08-2010, 21:04
Can someone explain hung parliment to me please? Do we all have to go and vote again and restart the whole process like a hung jury?

TurnedBatty
21-08-2010, 21:05
Does it have to be exactly 50/50 to be hung? Im confused...

Merla
21-08-2010, 21:07
Does it have to be exactly 50/50 to be hung? Im confused...

I think hung means that neither major party has majority seat, so the parliament is basically controlled by the minor parties and independents who will have the deciding vote.

But I could be wrong?

brogeybear
21-08-2010, 21:08
Yep thats basically. It. Independnts call it or another election

CookiesRYum
21-08-2010, 21:08
labour just cracked 51% after what seemed like forever.. :fingerscrossed: i think i need to :chillpill:

delirium
21-08-2010, 21:09
I think hung means that neither major party has majority seat, so the parliament is basically controlled by the minor parties and independents who will have the deciding vote.

But I could be wrong?

Yep that's pretty much it :yes:

On sky news they have said if the libs do get in they won't hold a majority in the house of reps which is at least something :(

Mrs Nietzsche
21-08-2010, 21:09
OH GOD I CANT TAKE IT

Libs edging closer to Labor's lead!!!

brogeybear
21-08-2010, 21:10
Libs wont win. Worse case will be hung

Savingfishfromdrowning
21-08-2010, 21:14
Libs can't win, there aren't enough seats left. If parliament is hung labor could make a deal with the greens to make a coalition - the greens one seat could hold a lot of power :detective:

CookiesRYum
21-08-2010, 21:15
Libs could still win depending on WA can't they?. the next hr will be scary...

delirium
OH GOD I CANT TAKE IT

According to the AEC link provided earlier labor are slowly going ahead. 150 000 ahead now :smiliedance:

ThereIsNoPlaceLikeHome
How about all the yelling and behaving like children on channel 9!!:no::no: I would expect better from my 3 year olds! :rolleyes:

Merla
21-08-2010, 21:16
Libs can't win, there aren't enough seats left. If parliament is hung labor could make a deal with the greens to make a coalition - the greens one seat could hold a lot of power :detective:

Some of the seats are still doubtful, or not confirmed. There are enough seats left and there is really not much in it.

brogeybear
21-08-2010, 21:17
I watch 7

trishalishous
21-08-2010, 21:18
my vote hasnt been counted yet for our electorate - the socialist alliance has 0 votes :)

Savingfishfromdrowning
Depends on whose coverage you're looking at - there seems to be a huge amount of variation.

Merla
Were watching ABC24 streaming online. No bull**** news :)

waterlily
21-08-2010, 21:19
WA will be Libs. I think labor will start to fall now :(

redcrayongirl
OH GOD I CANT TAKE IT

me too!! i am almost getting ready to write to malcolm turnbull and beg him to contest the leadership if tony abbott is elected. at least he believes in climate change

CookiesRYum
How about all the yelling and behaving like children on channel 9!!:no::no: I would expect better from my 3 year olds! :rolleyes:

im watching ABC - I can't stand Koshie or Carl... they both d1ckheads.. and mel looks naked...

brogeybear
21-08-2010, 21:20
Lmao red!

waterlily
21-08-2010, 21:20
Labor is falling.

ThereIsNoPlaceLikeHome
21-08-2010, 21:21
Senate results are starting to come in!! Larrisa Waters (Greens) in QLD looks like winning a seat!!! :yelclap::smiliedance:

Savingfishfromdrowning
21-08-2010, 21:22
im watching ABC - I can't stand Koshie or Carl... they both d1ckheads.. and mel looks naked...

DH just said that!!

Savingfishfromdrowning
21-08-2010, 21:24
ABC has 5 independents... who is the 5th, or did Greens win another?

Mrs Nietzsche
21-08-2010, 21:24
Could someone please please look up Bowman in Qld? My internet keeps freezing (bloody telstra!!!!!!!!!!!!!)

Libs only won by 84 votes last time, sadly the Labor candidate hasn't done one thing to try and win votes this election.

thank you so much for anyone who can! whenever i try it just freezes up

CookiesRYum
21-08-2010, 21:26
Could someone please please look up Bowman in Qld? My internet keeps freezing (bloody telstra!!!!!!!!!!!!!)

Libs only won by 84 votes last time, sadly the Labor candidate hasn't done one thing to try and win votes this election.

liberal 60% approx... 10% swing..

Merla
21-08-2010, 21:26

Libs LAMING, Andrew is winning on 60.54%

Savingfishfromdrowning
21-08-2010, 21:27

LNP according to the SMH :(

delirium
21-08-2010, 21:28
It looks like bowman will def go to the libs mrs N :(

TurnedBatty
21-08-2010, 21:28
what does swing mean? My seven year old just asked and I want to try to seem politically smart....

Mrs Nietzsche
21-08-2010, 21:29
:crying:Thanks so much :gloomy:

CookiesRYum
wow - did you hear Maxine on ABC... she is ropeable... and let fly about why she thinks she lost ...

i really think labour is going to loose

delirium
the swing is the amount the votes have changed since the last election.

Merla
21-08-2010, 21:30
wow - did you hear Maxine on ABC... she is ropeable... and let fly about why she thinks she lost ...

i really think labour is going to loose

I really hope so.

ThereIsNoPlaceLikeHome
21-08-2010, 21:30
Call me an idiot! But I'm a little confused... when/where does Bob brown get elected? I looked on Tasmanian senate list but he not on it? or any other states?

CookiesRYum
21-08-2010, 21:31
what does swing mean? My seven year old just asked and I want to try to seem politically smart....

swing is the difference between the results last election vs the current results...

SassyMummy
I vote for her PP!

#1 on my ballot!

Mrs Nietzsche
ABCnow showing Libs and Labor with 68 seats each... 5 mins ago they had it Labor ahead by 5 seats on 71 with Libs at 66

Arghhhhhhhhhhhhh

Is this what the tv is showing??

Merla
21-08-2010, 21:33
ABCnow showing Libs and Labor with 68 seats each... 5 mins ago they had it Labor ahead by 5 seats on 71 with Libs at 66

Arghhhhhhhhhhhhh

Is this what the tv is showing??

Now Libs leading 70 to ALP's 68.

God its close!

CookiesRYum
21-08-2010, 21:34
I really hope so.

i don't.... an abbot lead liberal party in power is not the australia i want ... :gloomy:

Savingfishfromdrowning
21-08-2010, 21:34
ABC has Libs moving ahead. Still don't know if there are enough seats left for a majority either way.

Merla
21-08-2010, 21:35
i don't.... an abbot lead liberal party in power is not the australia i want ... :gloomy:

Maybe they will do the dirty on him and change PM's not long after the election.

One can only hope.

giveitago
nine is showing:
Labour: 66
Liberal: 63
Green: 1
Other: 3
In Doubt: 16

TurnedBatty
swing is the difference between the results last election vs the current results...

:o There I was wondering where I could find an area to compare the last election with this one.... oops.

Things are nail-bitingly close, my area is one of the close seats.I just wanna know already!

Leisa21
21-08-2010, 21:36
Farrrrk this is scary stuff! My Dad has rung me a million times to times for updates. Each phone call he's sounding more boozy! Bless him he's so nervous. I hope Mum can drive the boat home tomorrow because Dad don't be able to. Come on Perthies give us some Labor love!

Merla
21-08-2010, 21:37
Virtual Tally room is showing

ALP: 60
Libs: 57
Independent: 3
Greens: 1

But it looks like the greens have taken a few seats.

waterlily

Me either. :(

Mrs Nietzsche
Does anyone know anything about the Independents?

IMagine that much power in 4-5 people's hands! This is amazing if the deadlock of power between the two parties is broken.

faroutbrusselsprout
Oh lordy! I'm scared....!!

Leisa21
Ch 7 says ALP 69 and COALITION 67 *bites fingernails*

Merla
21-08-2010, 21:39

IMagine that much power in 4-5 people's hands! This is amazing if the deadlock of power between the two parties is broken.

And the greens who look like they *may* have 3 or 4 seats? They will hold the balance of power unless either major party wins more than 75 seats.

waterlily
21-08-2010, 21:40
I'm on the edge of my seat even though I'm in bed. Eeeek.

CookiesRYum
21-08-2010, 21:40
they thinking independants will be 5 at this stage..

Blairysmum
21-08-2010, 21:44
Hung parliament... Hmmm I think so!

waterlily
21-08-2010, 21:44
It's looking that way

Pina Colada
21-08-2010, 21:45

I know 2 are former National Party. I know for certain at least 1 will support the LNP.

Savingfishfromdrowning
21-08-2010, 21:46
Have we ever had a hung parliament before?

ThereIsNoPlaceLikeHome
21-08-2010, 21:46
I just wish they could count quicker :hissy:

waterlily
21-08-2010, 21:47
I know right...slack!!

;)

Merla
21-08-2010, 21:48

I agree!! Count faster!!

Blairysmum
21-08-2010, 21:48
Have we ever had a hung parliament before?

I don't think so..

CookiesRYum
21-08-2010, 21:51
do you think a hang parliament is a good or bad thing???

Mrs Nietzsche
For some reason I had an idea that anyone who stood as an Independent wouhld be a progressive type :(

ComeBackKid
I am stalking this thread as DP is watching the footy on tv. lol. So does that mean we vote again if it is hung?

waterlily
21-08-2010, 21:52
I think bad but that's just me.

ThereIsNoPlaceLikeHome
21-08-2010, 21:52
There was a hung parliament in Australia about 70 years ago.

waterlily
21-08-2010, 21:53
I am stalking this thread as DP is watching the footy on tv. lol. So does that mean we vote again if it is hung?
Not necessarily. :fingerscrossed:

CookiesRYum
21-08-2010, 21:53
damn it i just missed half of bob's speach on abc - does anyone know who he is talking about - the lady that has won and got the best result for the greens anywhere around the world??? :detective:

Mrs Nietzsche
21-08-2010, 21:55
ABC's Antony Green is predicting the Greens will hold hte balance of power :yelclap:

A hung parliament is like this:

YOu have 6 kids.

3 of them love comedy
3 of them love action

So when it comes to video night - who chooses? They all vote against each other, and cancel each other out.

So even though you're in the minority - YOU PICK THE VIDEO

So if Labor and LIberal have the same amount of votes, then you can predict they are going to vote against each other (not always). So the deciding vote will go to the other seats - GReens and Independents

ThereIsNoPlaceLikeHome
21-08-2010, 21:56
damn it i just missed half of bob's speach on abc - does anyone know who he is talking about - the lady that has won and got the best result for the greens anywhere around the world??? :detective:

Christine MILNE :confused:

CookiesRYum
21-08-2010, 21:58
Christine MILNE :confused:

ahh she is the deputy... and senate rep from Tassie maybe?

Mrs Nietzsche
21-08-2010, 21:58
Bob Brown: "It's clear the Greens will have the balance of power in the Senate .. we'll use it responsibly. We have a great experience in the balance of power, so we'll put it to good use. We'll be looking to the whole of Australia when we make decisions." He says they will lobby for same-sex marriage, to "drag Australia into the 21st century."

Jakois
21-08-2010, 22:00
Bob Brown: "It's clear the Greens will have the balance of power in the Senate .. we'll use it responsibly. We have a great experience in the balance of power, so we'll put it to good use. We'll be looking to the whole of Australia when we make decisions." He says they will lobby for same-sex marriage, to "drag Australia into the 21st century."

:goodvibes::goodvibes::goodvibes:

CookiesRYum
oh greens got the senate seat from Liberal in tassie.. :yelclap:

TurnedBatty
ABC's Antony Green is predicting the Greens will hold hte balance of power :yelclap:

YOu have 6 kids.

3 of them love comedy
3 of them love action

So when it comes to video night - who chooses? They all vote against each other, and cancel each other out.

So if Labor and LIberal have the same amount of votes, then you can predict they are going to vote against each other (not always). So the deciding vote will go to the other seats - GReens and Independents

:yelclap: Great explanation! I have tried to work it out and it never quite clicked until you said that. Thanks!

ThereIsNoPlaceLikeHome
21-08-2010, 22:02
I thought of a hung parliament as if you have 10 kids...4 kids wants a puppy vs 3 kids a kitten- neither are the majority (above 6 votes) so the kids who voted for other animals then get to decide who to support (puppy or kitten) and as such who wins!

Did that make sense? :o

WorkingClassMum
21-08-2010, 22:02

YOu have 6 kids.

3 of them love comedy
3 of them love action

The problem is that Mum (Greens) AND Dad (Independents) hold the balance of power.

So if Mum feels like watching a chic flick (which she can't 'cos she's a minority) and Dad wants to watch the news (there only one TV or only one decision), there's all sorts of deals offered to sway M&D to agree on a comedy or action - like Mum gets to watch a steamy chic flick during tea time (inappropriate for everyone but she gets her own way) or Dad misses out on the News when it's very important and no-one realises that the world is about to end...

GraceUnhearing
21-08-2010, 22:03

man i hope so!

KatiesMum
21-08-2010, 22:03
Realistically a hung parliament is very likely to mean that we will go to the polls again within a year.

If the government of the day (whichever party can do a deal with the independents) cannot govern (ie pass policy and bills especially including the budget) then they will usually call another election.

If the Libs form a government against a hostile (labour and greens controlled) senate, and the senate blocks legislation (especially the budget) then a double dissolution election can be called (where the whole senate is dissolved instead of just half)

Leisa21
21-08-2010, 22:10
Or perhaps labor and greens can merge :D

Merla
21-08-2010, 22:12

I can't see that happening. A lot of what the greens stand for is not up for negotiation and the ALP has conflicting policies especially on climate change.

Plus what motivation would the greens have to merge? They may very well end up with the balance of power.

CookiesRYum
21-08-2010, 22:12

yeh but even if they do greens will probably only have one seat (at the most two) in house of reps so it still wouldn't be the majority...

ABC has predicted that niether labour or liberal will get the 76 seats they need for a clear majority..

so it will be a hung parliament...

i still think it is a great day for the greens - especially in the senate....

i just wonder who the hell these independents are that will hold the power in house of reps?

Savingfishfromdrowning
21-08-2010, 22:13
I think a hung parliament is good if it means the major parties actually put some effort into policies to win a re-election.

Leisa21
21-08-2010, 22:14
I can't see that happening. A lot of what the greens stand for is not up for negotiation and the ALP has conflicting policies especially on climate change.

Plus what motivation would the greens have to merge? They may very well end up with the balance of power.
I'm aware but yanno a woman can dream! In my ideal world labor will see the error of their ways and change some of their views and encourage the greens to join them :D

delirium
21-08-2010, 22:14
Loved Bob Brown's speech :yelclap::yelclap::yelclap:

Leisa21
21-08-2010, 22:16
Fantastic! Really glad I voted greens this year! The Greens supporters have really made a difference.

ThereIsNoPlaceLikeHome
21-08-2010, 22:17

Same!! :thumbsup::yes:

CookiesRYum
21-08-2010, 22:17
i think the only thing that could make abbott winning even slightly palitable would be a hung parliament.. but I hear 3 of the independents are very conservative..

KatiesMum
21-08-2010, 22:18
I think a hung parliament is good if it means the major parties actually put some effort into policies to win a re-election.

usually a hung parliament is NOT a good outcome for anyone ... except maybe for the individuals in the seats held by the independant members .....

the ABC are calling 70 seats for Labor, 71 for Coalition, 4 independant, 1 Green and 4 in doubt.

so no matter what happens with the in-doubt seats, we do not have a clear majority. that means no mandate, no clear direction, no policies .... its not really good for anyone.

giveitago
21-08-2010, 22:19
usually a hung parliament is NOT a good outcome for anyone ... except maybe for the individuals in the seats held by the independant members .....

the ABC are calling 70 seats for Labor, 71 for Coalition, 4 independant, 1 Green and 4 in doubt.

so no matter what happens with the in-doubt seats, we do not have a clear majority. that means no mandate, no clear direction, no policies .... its not really good for anyone.
and we'll end up voting AGAIN

silverstars
i think the only thing that could make abbott winning even slightly palitable would be a hung parliament.. but I hear 3 of them are very conservative..

Yes I heard that. This is bloody depressing.

OneBabyBoy
Who's the Prime Minister if it's a hung parliment?

No Prime Minister?

Merla
21-08-2010, 22:21

No Prime Minister?

PM is the winning parties leader. TA or JG

delirium
21-08-2010, 22:22
its not really good for anyone.

I agree :no:

silverstars

No Prime Minister?

Was just about to post that? So confusing.

waterlily

I agree, not at all an outcome we want.

CookiesRYum
Yes I heard that. This is bloody depressing.

i know.. the best we can hope for is that this is to go back to the polls quickly and get rid of abbott..

OneBabyBoy
21-08-2010, 22:24
That doesn't make sense Merla. A hung parliment means that TA and JG's numbers are exactly equal, so no winner.

So who would be the Prime Minister?

waterlily
i know.. the best we can hope for is that this is to go back to the polls quickly and get rid of abbott..
If we do go back to the polls it won't be this year.

Merla

The libs would be smart to put in a new candidate soon after this election and build him/her up before we go back to the polls. Might make it a clearer outcome.

delirium

But I wonder if it's called too quick people will just vote what they have today with the same outcome of no clear majority.

delirium
21-08-2010, 22:26
That doesn't make sense Merla. A hung parliment means that TA and JG's numbers are exactly equal, so no winner.

My understanding is that a hung parliment doesn't mean exactly 50/50 it means no clear majority. So even a one seat win will mean that party will take power.

Merla

Hung parliament means that neither party has more than 75 votes, so can not make a majority decision and require the vote of the independents before doing anything.

As 5 seats are taken by greens/independent there can not be an exact 50/50 outcome, so a PM will be elected.

CookiesRYum

No Prime Minister?

it's it the leader of whoever holds the most seats.. so if it goes how they predict

ALP: 71
Lib: 72

then Lib.

It just means they don't hold the clear majority on voting in the house of reps....

Amara
9 is saying the coalition only need 4 seats to win so I think we will have a moron for a pm tomorrow. I would have loved to have seen our first elected female pm but it's not looking good at all.

waterlily
But I wonder if it's called too quick people will just vote what they have today with the same outcome of no clear majority.

No. I Think the labors who voted greens will go back to labor and the Livs that voted independents will vote Libs. If we went back I think we would have a clear winner.

elleandsam
21-08-2010, 22:28
I've always said that the liberals would be SO much more appealing if they put Joe Hockey up as potential prime minister.

Merla
21-08-2010, 22:28
No. Think the labors who voted greens will go back to labor and the Livs that voted independents will vote Libs. It we went back I ink we would have a clear winner.

I disagree. I believe people would vote as they have today and greens/independents may actually get more votes as it is becoming clearer that they hold a lot of power.

I believe we need some changed in the two major parties before we go back else we will have a very similar outcome.

delirium
21-08-2010, 22:29
9 is saying the coalition only need 4 seats to win so I think we will have a moron for a pm tomorrow. I would have loved to have seen our first elected female pm but it's not looking good at all.

Sky news is saying labor is still in the lead....just by maybe 1 to 2 seats.

Cheerilee
I've always said that the liberals would be SO much more appealing if they put Joe Hockey up as potential prime minister.

I also agree with this. Though not sure this would have made me vote Liberal though. He is much more appealing than Tony Abbot.

waterlily
I hate liberals and Joe hockey bu he is better thn Abbott.

anewme
21-08-2010, 22:30

:iagree::iagree::iagree:

Merla
21-08-2010, 22:30
Sky news is saying labor is still in the lead....just by maybe 1 to 2 seats.

ABC have LNP in the lead and projected outcome of a liberal win, but only JUST. They had a projected labor win an hour ago :rolleyes:

delirium
21-08-2010, 22:31
I hate liberals and Joe hockey bu he is better thn Abbott.

Same. Will never vote lib nor support their values but Hockey (who I find arrogant) is still more palatable than Abbott.

CookiesRYum
21-08-2010, 22:32
I don't know how much better Joe Hocking - he was very much hated during work choices wasn't he?? I don't think swinging voters would trust him anymore then they trust Abbott..

waterlily
21-08-2010, 22:34
I don't know how much better Joe Hocking - he was very much hated during work choices wasn't he?? I don't think swinging voters would trust him anymore then they trust Abbott..
Yep he was. He is VERY arrogant!! But I personally dont find Abbott intelligent. I think he is a puppet with no brain.

faroutbrusselsprout
21-08-2010, 22:35
Let's hope the abc change their mind again... Is it worth staying up any later? Or should I just cut my losses and go to bed?

waterlily
21-08-2010, 22:35
I think I'm cutting my loses FOBS. I think we will wake to a Liberal government :(

elleandsam
21-08-2010, 22:36
I feel Joe Hockey would be more in touch with the voters though, as he's got a young family, he doesn't have a religious background and be seems to be more likable.

CookiesRYum
21-08-2010, 22:37
Yep he was. He is VERY arrogant!! But I personally dont find Abbott intelligent. I think he is a puppet with no brain.

yes i clearly remember thinking he was a c0cky arrogant bugger who i wanted to punch in the face everytime he opened his mouth - he is slimy and sleazy... as opposed to abbott who is just creepy...

waterlily
21-08-2010, 22:38
I feel Joe Hockey would be more in touch with the voters though, as he's got a young family, he doesn't have a religious background and be seems to be more likable.
He may be more likable then Abbott. Abbott is very out of touch. He even called broadband "broadwidth" lol WTH.

waterlily
21-08-2010, 22:40
yes i clearly remember thinking he was a c0cky arrogant bugger who i wanted to punch in the face everytime he opened his mouth - he is slimy and sleazy... as opposed to abbott who is just creepy...

Hahahahah

KatiesMum
21-08-2010, 22:49
To celar up confusion ... the Prime Minister is the leader of whichever party can form a government.

In a hung parliament (where for example Labor and Libs have 72 members each and 6 independants) ... if their are 4 independants who agree to form a government with Labor ... then Labor will form a government and Julia Gillard will be PM.

What it means is that those members have enormous negotiating power for their own (usually marginal) interests rather than the interests of the country as a whole.

No-one wins ... :(

Mrs Nietzsche
21-08-2010, 22:49
Appareny in the even of a hung parliament, and neither can get a majority, the caretaker govt (Labor) will have to try and form a govt .

I assume this means suck up to some Indepdents to try and get over the line.

If Labor can't, Lib will get the chance too.

(possibly they will have more luck with the conservative INdependents????)

Is this right?

eta If Labor have 71 seats and Libs 74, I can't see Labor being able to form a majority

eta2 - oops posted same time as KM, and I think she's answered my question, will now read

Merla
21-08-2010, 22:50
To celar up confusion ... the Prime Minister is the leader of whichever party can form a government.

In a hung parliament (where for example Labor and Libs have 72 members each and 6 independants) ... if their are 4 independants who agree to form a government with Labor ... then Labor will form a government and Julia Gillard will be PM.

What it means is that those members have enormous negotiating power for their own (usually marginal) interests rather than the interests of the country as a whole.

No-one wins ... :(

We have 5 independents so the LNP/ALP won't be 50/50. Does that mean the independents still have the opportunity to decide who makes the government or the marginal winner will be the new PM.

The Fox
21-08-2010, 22:52
We have 5 independents so the LNP/ALP won't be 50/50. Does that mean the independents still have the opportunity to decide who makes the government or the marginal winner will be the new PM.

Yes

silverstars
21-08-2010, 22:53
3 conservative independents means tony abbott will be pm imo.

Well thanks australia lets see how that goes!

Merla
21-08-2010, 22:54
Yes

Yes what?

If the outcome is 73 LNP 72 ALP like they are predicting with 5 independents.

Do the LNP win or will the independents decide?

KatiesMum
21-08-2010, 22:56
the independents decide.

basically whichever party can secure 76 seats (no matter who they are) forms a government ...

Merla
21-08-2010, 22:58
So what happens if we get 72 NLP 73 ALP, theres 3 conservative independents who go for the NLP and the other 2 go ALP. So we have a 50/50 situation?

This is messy.... :(

DailyDiversion
21-08-2010, 22:59
3 conservative independents means tony abbott will be pm imo.

Well thanks australia lets see how that goes!

My thoughts exactly, budgie smuggler tool for PM pandering to Bob Katter and two other former National Party members, what a nightmare.

The only consolation is that the Greens will hold the balance of power in the Senate.

CookiesRYum
21-08-2010, 23:00
Yes what?

Do the LNP win or will the dependents decide?

I *think* the independents pick a side so to speak and back them - whoever they back gets in and their leader with be PM..

so if the 5 all get in it will be

1. greens (melbourne)
2. 3 independents who have history with nationals (libs)
3. another independent who has history with the greens

the 3 consertives have all spoken on abc and said they will all stick together as a group and have discussion before speaking to either party.

but one of them had already spoken to rudd before he was dismissed - sems rud had been all over this and was working on getting them onside before he was booted. gillard and abbott have not spoken to any of them prior to tonight regarding a hung vote which seems really odd to me???

so if libs have 73 and then get the 3 conservatives thats 76 and abbott is PM

but it is going to be a few weeks before we know.

KatiesMum
21-08-2010, 23:00
if geniuinely no party can form a government, I beleive the governer general can call a new election ...

but mostly, the party's will each give away the earth and everything on it to secure the vote of hte independants.

That is why it is a horrible outcome.

The Fox
21-08-2010, 23:01
Yes what?

Do the LNP win or will the independents decide?

yes the independents effectively choose which party will form government. They will be in talks with the coalition and labour and they will align themselves with one of them and thus whatever party commands a majority of those independents will form government

Merla
21-08-2010, 23:02
:no: Not good, not good at all.

Though that said, no one really wanted either option to win, perhaps this reflects that?

CookiesRYum
21-08-2010, 23:04

Though that said, no one really wanted either option to win, perhaps this reflects that?

yep i think it is a wake up call to everyone... gillard and abbott are both amatours really...

silverstars
21-08-2010, 23:05
My thoughts exactly, budgie smuggler tool for PM pandering to Bob Katter and two other former National Party members, what a nightmare.

The only consolation is that the Greens will hold the balance of power in the Senate.

I am absolutely disgusted in Australia. I have lost all faith. How can Australia vote in a man who is an extreme Catholic and one of the least compassionate people you are likely to come across. Hypocrite or what. For goodness sakes if the Liberals are elected PLEASE replace this sorry excuse for a human being with Malcolm Turnbull who can at least put a sentence together without saying um and ah numerous times.

The Fox

Yep such a shame that Peter Costello never became the leader of the libs

Mrs Nietzsche
Can anyone see how many people voted informally?

I suppose if everyone had voted properly this wouldn't have happened

Merla
21-08-2010, 23:07
Yep such a shame that Peter Costello never became the leader of the libs

DH says the same thing. I'm not convinced.

I'm not so sure on that. I would say that the informal votes would have been quite a spread including greens, I don't think they would have had the balance of power.

BazzasMum
21-08-2010, 23:08
Mrs N, the aec site has around 600,000 informal votes so far. Sad day for Australia :no:

The Fox
21-08-2010, 23:10

I think that this happened because Australia was not happy with either of the parties. Neither of them offered anything much and this is just a reflection of that

The Fox
21-08-2010, 23:12
DH says the same thing. I'm not convinced.

I'm not so sure on that. I would say that the informal votes would have been quite a spread including greens, I don't think they would have had the balance of power.

Yeah you only have to look at the 1000,000 votes the Greens got, clearly that shows that Australia was not happy with either of the parties, i think blaming informal votes is a bit of a cop out

Mrs Nietzsche
21-08-2010, 23:14
I suppose they are Liberal voters wh cant' bear to vote for Abbott, or Labor voters p1ssed off at Gillard.

We might find out if there's another election.

CookiesRYum
21-08-2010, 23:15
so once it's confirmed to be a hung parliament who is the caretaker PM until new government is formed? they say it could be up to 2 or 3 wks?

Mrs Nietzsche
21-08-2010, 23:17
Julia will carry on until things are certain

elleandsam
21-08-2010, 23:17
Gillard has said it's too close to call, does that mean we have permission from the PM to call it a night and head to bed ;)

KatiesMum
21-08-2010, 23:18
:yes: caretaker government continues.

All I can hope is that the Libs ditch Abbott and then go back to the polls.

Without Abbott -with anyone else- Libs would have won.

CookiesRYum
21-08-2010, 23:18
Gillard has said it's too close to call, does that mean we have permission from the PM to call it a night and head to bed ;)

yep im just waiting to hear Abbotts speech and then its light out for me...

delirium
21-08-2010, 23:19
I am absolutely disgusted in Australia. I have lost all faith. How can Australia vote in a man who is an extreme Catholic and one of the least compassionate people you are likely to come across. Hypocrite or what. For goodness sakes if the Liberals are elected PLEASE replace this sorry excuse for a human being with Malcolm Turnbull who can at least put a sentence together without saying um and ah numerous times.

:iagree: Feeling extremely disillusioned atm how so many people could vote for abbott :gloomy: Those 3 conservative independents will give him the power and we will be stuck with this idiot as our PM :no: I feel like crying.

The Fox
21-08-2010, 23:19

only if your pregnant

Merla
21-08-2010, 23:21
:iagree: Feeling extremely disillusioned atm how so many people could vote for abbott :gloomy: Those 3 conservative independents will give him the power and we will be stuck with this idiot as our PM :no: I feel like crying.

I'm not in abbots electorate, I voted for the liberal government not tony abbot. I don't like him, but I prefer the liberal party, I believe they will do a better job with our country regardless of their figurehead.

CookiesRYum
21-08-2010, 23:22
she is talking so fast.. she seems really upset .. i think she knows it's all over.. :gloomy:

i wonder if things would have been different if they had of kept rudd - did labour save any votes by making rudd take the fall for the mining tax? or did it just turn alot of the other labour voters away?

Cheerilee
21-08-2010, 23:25
I heard on one channel that counting was going to continue until 2am :confused: rather than finishing at midnight as it usually does

giveitago
Poor KRudd.

I think Labour would have been flogged if KRudd was still in power.
But I also don't think Libs ahve it as good as they think. If they wer e'that great' they would have won by a landslide. Labour self combusted, Libs never had a better opportunity to flog Labour. But they put that tosspot in charge of their party.

KatiesMum
and the sucking up to the independants has started :(

Julia Gillards comments were terrible.

Oh - and I agree GIAG. Libs didnt do great .... Labor just imploded. They should have called a double dissolution over the ETS - and they would have been returned with an increased majority

giveitago
21-08-2010, 23:28
I think a Costello led Liberal Party would have flogged Labour. But the option of Liberal was never an option for me purely because Abott makes me want to blergh.

My electorate is still one of the 'in doubts'.

Mrs Nietzsche
21-08-2010, 23:28
Labr always bloody bungle things.

Why did they bring up this mining tax before an election?

John Howard got through the GST, a tax on everyday people, and Labor can't even get through a super profit tax.

CookiesRYum
21-08-2010, 23:29

John Howard got through the GST, a tax on everyday people, and Labor can't even get through a super profit tax.

:iagree:

ComeBackKid
21-08-2010, 23:30

:iagree::rolleyes:

KatiesMum
21-08-2010, 23:32

I think you are dead right here.

In fact, without the mining tax I would have almost voted for them.

the mining tax KILLED Labor in QLD and in WA.

The Fox
21-08-2010, 23:33
So if you had to go and vote again would your vote change or would something have to change with in one of the parties for you to change your vote

CookiesRYum
21-08-2010, 23:33

Oh - and I agree GIAG. Libs didnt do great .... Labor just imploded. They should have called a double dissolution over the ETS - and they would have been returned with an increased majority

i agree with her comments being a bit foul.. i wonder how low abbott goes in his speech

i am sure both parties will go as low as they can to get the vote...

hockey and gillard have already called all the independents...:rolleyes:

Pinkzy
21-08-2010, 23:34
I wish Abbott would hurry up and speak. Gillard's speech was just....ugh.

The Fox
21-08-2010, 23:35

they had no choice but to bring it in before an election. It was a key part of their budget and obviously it is a key policy for them and therefore i think it would have been extremely unfair for them to bring in something as big as that without putting it to the people first

Mrs Nietzsche
21-08-2010, 23:36
It doesnt' matter about unfair. Look at the GST.

jaq
21-08-2010, 23:36
HALF A MILLION Informal Votes!

Thanks for nothing, donkeys.

CookiesRYum
21-08-2010, 23:37

his prob out the back praying and having hands layed on him .... if he mentions god or the church I am going to :barf:

Amara
21-08-2010, 23:37

I thought her speech was good. I wont watch his or I will spend all night vomitting.

giveitago
21-08-2010, 23:38
So if you had to go and vote again would your vote change or would something have to change with in one of the parties for you to change your vote
I find it hard to consider anythign Liberal has to say if it is lead by Abbott or Hockey. I MAY have attempte to listen to Costello and hear wht his vison was.

But I would not vote for ABbott or Hockey if I had to vote again tomorrow.

My vot emay sway between green or Labour - but the preference would still end up with Labur no matter what I chose. SO unless their was a MAJOR change from within, my vote would not be affected.

Amara
21-08-2010, 23:38

That's what happens when people think all the options are bad.

giveitago
21-08-2010, 23:39
I thought her speech was good. I wont watch his or I will spend all night vomitting.
ditto

Pinkzy
21-08-2010, 23:40
his prob out the back praying and having hands layed on him .... if he mentions god or the church I am going to :barf:

Me too but I think we'd better get our buckets ready :laughing:

CookiesRYum
21-08-2010, 23:40
maybe we can convince the governor general to dismiss an Abbott government :fingerscrossed:

The Fox
21-08-2010, 23:41
It doesnt' matter about unfair. Look at the GST.

Alot of people voted for john howard because they wanted a GST
and they are required to present a budget, how would they present a budget were a significant portion of their revenue would come from the mining tax :confused: and i believe that had the snuck in the mining tax they would have come under alot of pressure as they wouldnt have had a mandate to do so and since they dont command a majority in the senate i dont see how it would be possible to pass it through

Pinkzy

Good for them! I personally don't blame them...their only options were to vote for DONKEYS anyway :)

MegaGuts
maybe we can convince the governor general to dismiss an Abbott government :fingerscrossed:

I think that sounds like an awesome idea!!! Let's start a petition now!! :laughing:

Amara
21-08-2010, 23:42

I would vote exactly the same, unless liberal got rid of tony. I am a swinging voter but I never vote for a party if I think their leader is a moron.

CookiesRYum
21-08-2010, 23:42
Good for them! I personally don't blame them...their only options were to vote for DONKEYS anyway :)

nah cos in the end it has handed the power of who will form government to 3 ppl :no:

jaq
21-08-2010, 23:43
That's what happens when people think all the options are bad.

Can't say I agree. Personally I think it is what happens when people are too apathetic to research what a party stands for and fill in a box accordingly.

Condemning us to a farce of a government (regardless of whether they be Labour or Liberal) is the WORST option.

The Fox

:laughing::laughing::laughing:

giveitago
Ok, Abbott is going to make his speech.... I'm going to bed before I have to see or hear him :)

delirium

:iagree: Those votes could have meant the people decided (either way) rather than a handful of conservative independents choosing who runs our country. That's way too much power for a few people.

Mrs Nietzsche
21-08-2010, 23:45
A lot of people would have voted for a mining tax, including me, but as usual Labor bungled it and allowed fear mongering in the rich to spook the general population.

I don't think either party are going to be able to form a majority and it's going to be another election.

Julia at least has first dibs... DON'T SCREW IT UP JULIA.

For gods sake I wish they would conduct themselves with dignity, another election may depend on it.

And the informal voters are absolutely shameful.

The Fox
21-08-2010, 23:47
:iagree: Those votes could have meant the people decided (either way) rather than a handful of conservative independents choosing who runs our country. That's way too much power for a few people.

well that is their right to not vote, they can be forced to get their named signed of but they cant be forced to care.

Perhaps they were making a statement, that they would rather not vote then be "forced" to vote for a party that they dont like.

Both parties didnt offer much and I honestly think that this is just a reflection of this

CookiesRYum
21-08-2010, 23:47
lets hope this shocks aussies into taking the election seriously and if we go back to the polls ppl actually make a clear choice..

as much as a dispice abbott i would find it more acceptable if the libs got 76+ seats and held the clear majority...

Pinkzy
21-08-2010, 23:49
EEEEEEWWWW...Tony Abbott just said he loves us.

CookiesRYum
21-08-2010, 23:49
i hope rudd can help gillard secure the independents - he had been putting in the hard yards before he was booted :fingerscrossed:

silverstars
21-08-2010, 23:50
I want to cry! :crying:

Amara
21-08-2010, 23:52
EEEEEEWWWW...Tony Abbott just said he loves us.

I turned the tv off cos I knew I would want to vomit listening to him.

sarajeff17
21-08-2010, 23:53
i love how everything abott says i in everything there is no i in TEAM Abbott . Julia had a good speach i loved rudds speach he was awsome

Pinkzy
21-08-2010, 23:56
I take what I said about Gillard's speech back.

This (Abbott's speech) is ****ing ridiculous.

sweetseven
21-08-2010, 23:57
nah cos in the end it has handed the power of who will form government to 3 ppl :no:
Well I almost always vote for independants, because I am opposed to the bipartisan government system.

There has only been two occasions when I haven't voted independants. One was when GST was coming in, and I really didn't want it so I voted for the major party opposing it (Labor I think) which seemed really odd 'cause apparently GST had been Keetings baby previously but then he was opposing it because the Liberals had it as their flagship.

The other occasion was the sad day when I went to the polls and there were only two candidates to choose from in my electorate. How am I supposed to vote against a bipartisan system if only the major parties are running in my electorate?

Now, I'm expectint to be called an idiot for my stance.

silverstars
21-08-2010, 23:57
Does Abbott know how to be humble?

Pinkzy
21-08-2010, 23:58
Does Abbott know how to be humble?

No. That would require him to know how to be human.

CookiesRYum
:barf::barf::barf::barf::barf::barf::barf::barf::b arf::barf::barf::barf::barf::barf::barf:

gee i thought at time Rudd was pompious.. Abbott is sooooooooooooooo wrong..

sweetseven
Does anyone care to sum up the two speaches for those of us who didn't watch them?

Amara
22-08-2010, 00:00
A lot of people would have voted for a mining tax, including me, but as usual Labor bungled it and allowed fear mongering in the rich to spook the general population.

I don't think either party are going to be able to form a majority and it's going to be another election.

Julia at least has first dibs... DON'T SCREW IT UP JULIA.

For gods sake I wish they would conduct themselves with dignity, another election may depend on it.

And the informal voters are absolutely shameful.

I would have voted for a mining tax. I would much rather have big business pay high taxes than low income earners have their taxes raised.

silverstars
This is horrific for Australia. The man is clearly a nutter.

Pinkzy
Sweetseven, Sure.

One was cr@p.

The other was cr@pper :laughing:

Mrs Nietzsche
What hero came up with the phrase 'premature triumphalism'

nothanksbye
How come we are taught to be gracious, never to be a bad sportsman and be nasty to the other side..

yet the leaders do it.

They badmouth and ***** and act like terrible people...well one does anyway.

I dont know why we bother teaching our children good sportsmanship...

and the chanting??? omg...its red neck city.