View Full Version : Dizzy Spells
22-08-2006, 12:12
I was just wondering if anyone else has had dizzy spells since becoming a mummy?
I find I'm getting dizzy all the time....I thought it was cause I wasnt eating enough or getting enough sleep, so I got myself a better diet, and recently Oliver has been sleeping really well at night, so Ive been getting more sleep....
BUT I'm still dizzy! Esp if i go to pick him up, or when breastfeeding.....
Kat
jessgray
22-08-2006, 12:35
i get dizzy spells and blackouts but they are pregnancy related. i'm 32 weeks. and i have low iron (taking iron tablets) and low blood pressure. my dr told me today that my blackouts and dizzy spells are because baby is putting pressure on an artery and its a condition that cant be fixed but it will fix itself when bub pops out :)
not really much help for you lol
maybe you should get your iron and blood pressure checked?
22-08-2006, 12:49
Its actually takeing me all my time to focus today....I feel really really woozey....
I dont know how many of you have passed out...I did a couple of times during pregnancy...but when the black *fog* starts to close over your vision...thats what I feel like.
I feel like a real hypercondriact going to the Dr though. :(
I would be going to the doctor anyway! Im of the opinion that if something like that happens, it's your body telling you something is wrong.
jessgray
22-08-2006, 13:13
go to the dr something isnt right. the dr wont think you are hypoconriac (sp?) or anything if anything they will be concerned about your health and wellbeing coz you could hurt yourself when you pass out
22-08-2006, 13:21
I have to book Oliver for his 4 month shots, so maybe I'll try to go at the same time.
I have this awful feeling that the Dr will want to suck my blood and then only tell me I'm anemic anyway. :( I hate needles! Such a sook!
jessgray
22-08-2006, 15:28
when i went to my dr's today he wanted to know how frequent my blackouts and dizzy spells were so if you dont think you could remember when you have one off the top of your head write down when you have one and if it lasts very long etc :) and show it to the dr.
23-08-2006, 10:39
Thanks Jess!
I made an appointment for Oliver to get his immunisations and for me to get a checkup tomorrow at this time!
I had another dizzy spell this morning....bent down to pick Oliver up off the floor and when I went to stand up I couldnt.
Definately time I got some answers, I dont want to pass out or drop Oliver because I'm too stuborn to go to the Dr and maybe get a blood test! :(
Mrs Potts
24-08-2006, 19:22
Hey Kat
How did you go at the Drs? Did he have any answers for you?
I've suffered from dizzy spells most of my life, and they're at their worst when I'm unwell or generally rundown/under the weather. I do know however that mine are because my blood pressure is on the low side of normal. Even during pregnancy this is the case.
These days I feel a spell coming on and can combat it by putting my head between my knees or lying down for 5 minutes.
Thinking of you!
24-08-2006, 20:20
Okay, I did go to the Drs.....and as predicted (why ive been keeping the dizzies to myself for a few weeks...LOL) she made me have a blood test.
Most likely its anemia, but could be hormonal or viral, but she said the blood tests should show up whatever the problem is.
Still feeling quiet dizzy today, but not as bad. I have been feeling down a bit too, so hopefully whatever is making me dizzy is doing that as well and it will be an easy fix!!! :)
30-08-2006, 10:14
Well i got my results back.
I have an overactive thryroid, but the Dr is hopefull that it will correct itself. I need to go back next month for another blood test, and if its fixed...YAY, and if not, then we will assess then. So I'm glad I went now.
Either way, it shouldnt be too serious.
porridge
30-08-2006, 12:33
Hey Kat, I'm glad you went to the doctor. Hope everything rights itself without too much drama :hugs:
Charlie'sMum
30-08-2006, 18:36
When I was pregnant I fainted at 28 weeks. My husband took me to the hospital. They put my DD on a fetal monitor and when I was lying in the hospital bed I fainted again and apparently vomited on my husband (I don't remember!)
My bub was fine and the hospital said that I had very low blood pressure and that the baby was pressing on the artery in my back, blocking blood pressure to the brain (that's why I fainted while lying down).
It was scary and it still happens even after I had my DD. In my case it is low blood pressure and I have to make sure I eat regularly otherwise I get very dizzy. I get dizzy in the shopping centre too, so no matter how cold it is I make sure I am wearing short sleeves because if I get too hot I get dizzy and have sometimes fainted.
If you start to feel dizzy, you could always make yourself a cup of tea with sugar in it - sometimes a sugar hit will help. Also, if you feel dizzy sit down and take deep breaths - that helps for me.
coogeemum
18-03-2007, 19:08
I have just been through exactly the same thing, I think. I was feeling spun out and dizzy, particularly when picking my son up (off the floor). My doctor had my blood tested and it showed by iron levels were lowish (around 12). I've been taking iron supplements and felt back to normal after 5 days. I was totally suprised about the low iron as I eat heaps of red meat amd my iron levels had been good during pregnancy. I am breast feeding, so perhaps that effects things. Also, remember to get adequate vitamin C as this helps you absorb iron. Also if you take an iron supplement it's important to drink lots of water and have plenty of fibre as it can make you constipated.