View Full Version : Chat....Partners who work away

bearsmummy
21-08-2006, 20:40
hi gals thought i would make a chat thread so we can all meet up in the one place for a god ol' chat :D
We seem to have 2 threads going at the moment, and with all my blabble:ecomcity: it takes so long to type 2 posts:laughing:

How is everyone? its been pretty quiet here lately, maybe all your hubbies are home at the moment?

Take care gals... hope to hear how your all doing soon :wave:

mythreelittlemonkeys
21-08-2006, 20:55
Good idea!! gets confusing too as to where i have written :) Nope Andrew away just I very busy with Matilda most of time and only get 5 mins at a time on the net :) He not home for week or so I dont think...his shifts seems to be really topsy turvya t mo - and we never know how long he home for or how long he away - infuriating trying to plan future things like his daughters birthday!! :rolleyes:

bearsmummy
21-08-2006, 22:05
Yeah blake gets home on Wed after 3 weeks away, when its normally 2. Ive so had enough this time, need a rest, guess im still tired after having my tonsilits :(

Yeah its so much easier when you have some kind of pattern. Blakes swings are usually the same but its just all the things that go wrong on the home front usually that make it hard.

Hope he comes home for ya soon though....:hugs: im here if u ned to chat :D

Di-78
24-08-2006, 16:24
I am getting lost too.

Big hugs to all of those on their own for the week :hugs:

Mine still home will be 10 days this time YAH :smiliedance: but who knows when next break will be. Hopefully do the 3 weeks on 1 week off.

Bearsmummy - hope you get a good rest when hubby comes home. You sound like you deserve it. :hugs:

Does anyone else feel like they don't get their jobs done? Think I left my time management skills with the placenta. I am getting nothing accomplished. I must say am enjoying being with the kids and watching the bub grow up. She is starting to crawl (in circles but still cute). I do love doing homework and projects with the kids and being there for them to talk to and do stuff with.

Enjoy your day and keep smiling
Di

mythreelittlemonkeys
24-08-2006, 22:45
Time Management - PAH!!! I used to train people on it once upon a time...I never have any time for anything...I spend too much time on computer at mo printing off layouts and photos...and no time on housework or any chores and then I wonder why piles up!! I also eating heaps at mo...put on 6 of the 16 kg I lost post pregnancy - not that i bored just keep walking into kitchen and putting stuff (ie 30 cookies this week!) in my mouth...:laughing: I always giving DH a hard time for eating 4 meals in 1 at the mess and becoming a telly tubby now he going to come home and tease me! Think breast feeding makes you like all the naughty stuff and lose self control!! Thats my excuse and I sticking it...
anyway DH rang tonight and said he hopefully home tues - they actually finished the bore, but the need to put a pizo (spelling???!!!) in somewhere then he driving the truck to Port Hedland and flying out from there...but he only been away for 2 weeks again...so although I want to see him hope he not home for too long as thats the 2nd short shift in a row...luckily I think he has scored some work for his break - I feel so sorry for him he working flat out - but we are so broke with new baby, debts up to our ears, child support. mortgage etc...I feel very guilty sometimes that I not working anymore but he says I am looking after tillie...what a gr8 bloke I have:)
so now better start tidying up and doing some laundry :ecomcity: so place half way decent before he messes it all up - which he does so beautifully!!

bearsmummy
25-08-2006, 17:10
Hi girls, hope your all well, been flat out so far with Blake home. Always so many people that want his time ... but i feel that we are more important than mates or the other rellies! Does nayone else get this feeling? Blake has gotten better though, saying no and making only one day for catching up with others. I just dont get it coz when he was working in Perth we wouldnt see them from on week to the next, but now he works up north its like they have to see him everytime he is home! Aaaargh!:mad:

Anyways thats my vent lol!

My time management varies, some days im real motivated and all is done but then other days, the house looks like a bomb has hit it... oh well cant be perfect all the time can we? ;)

mytillieroo dont feel bad hin that you dont actually have a paid job as such hun, you still work like your DH said. and that is sure a job in itself and a hard one at that! Well done for doing what you do sweet!:yelclap:

Di-78 hope your ok hun, your hubby does 3 on 1 off usually or do you just have to wait and see usually?

How is everyone else???? Hope your all well :D

mythreelittlemonkeys
28-08-2006, 15:26
5 &1/2 hours till we meet him at airport - cant wait!! he flying in from P.Hedland today for a change...so a whole 20 minutes earlier :) NEedless to say I have not done any of the cleaning/housework was gonna do today as I had a really rough ride with Tillie last week up all hours and she has an insatiable appetite (but so do I at mo!) Cant wait to see him...he is down till the 9th hooooooooooooooooooooray!!:smiliedance:

Di-78
28-08-2006, 19:55
G'day all
Hope all are having a good day! Have been very busy.

My partner is home for an extra week. He was meant to start Monday but they called him and said they only needed 2 of the 4 guys, can he have another week off. Of course we were all happy he is home for 7 more days. A bit dissapointed that theres another weeks pay. The only reason the other guys were put on because they are living in a work apartment and they still have to pay the rent for the guys whether they r there or not. Am happy to spend the extra week with him.
Bearsmummy: We just take what work there is and when. There is no pattern with this job, but he enjoys the place. I wish it was structured but then he takes times off when he wants to (or needs to).
mytillieroo: Enjoy the time with your partner :thumbsup:

Take it easy all and keep smiling :)
Di

bearsmummy
30-08-2006, 18:42
Hi di-78 and my tillieroo:wave: and anyone else out there :D
Glad you both have your DHs home at the moment, Blake flew out this morning for his next 2 week stint. It was such a busy week that im kinda glad he has gone back to work so i can clean this pigsty of a house up and relax a little as well instead of running here and there! LOL!

Nothing else to tell really, Daniel (my middle son) started playing up the minute we left Blake at the airport :mad: makes me sooo frustrated when that happens. This afternoon he thought it would be amusing to wet all my dry washing on the line with the garden hose!!!!
Im in no way a pushover when it comes to dealing with the kids so why does he do this to me? Does anyone else have this happen to them?

Well girls i hope you and your kiddies are all well, hope to hear how your all doing soon :D

Tannie
31-08-2006, 14:06
Howdy - just saw this part of bh!

Like to join you all if I may?

My hb does FIFO from Townsville, nth Qld, 7 days on / 7 days off. I have 2 girls, nearly 12 months apart - Annabelle is 18 months & Monique is 6 months.

Gotta run - but I'll just copy my post from Billy's thread.......I wanted to reply to her but most of it is applicable to introduce myself here too :wave:

I just saw this area in bh - never realised it was here before

Now I'm wondering if some of you ladies (you Billy!) aren't in my head.......it's a bit freaky, cause that's exactly how I feel! I crave him being here........but then when he is, it often drives me nuts and I get SO frustrated and cranky and continually pick....pick....pick at him..............even though I KNOW he is trying to do his best and most of the things are silly to worry about anyway

It's just SO hard being "single mum" making all your decisions for everyone by youreself one week.............then having him here 24/7 the next and having to hand over control of things and have the whole "family routine" thrown into a different relm.

With my 2 little ones too - the older one not so bad cause she knows daddy really well now (and had "normal" life for the first 6 months!!) but the 6 month old seems to get really thrown off balance with him coming and going. He tries SO hard with her, but really - I'd prefer he just leave her alone for the first 24 hrs when he's back, give her time to adjust to him, get used to him again before him trying to settle her etc............cause it just doesnt' work.........but - how to tell a father not to want to be with his child (sort of - ykwim?)

Anyway - Billy - you aren't alone - I think we ALL feel like this when we have partners who come and go..................I never thought it would be as hard as it is emotionally.....physically I expected (being tired cause I have to do everything by myself) but the whole emotional side for ME....??? nuh - didn't think would be such a big issue.

Bye for now,
Yetti

Di-78
31-08-2006, 14:44
A big hello and warm greeting to Yetti. Thanks for joining us. My two eldest are 14 months apart I can see what you mean. My 5 month old finds it hard to adjust. Dad equals play!

Hello Bearsmummy and mytillieroo. Hope your having a good day.
Bearsmummy with the behaviour issues I am with you on that one. My oldest daughter (8yearold) plays up the second Dad leaves to. Even when he is home and just goes down the back or to the shops. She can't bear to be away from him and its like she punishes me when he's not here. Even at Dreamworld the other day she wan't to go on the CLAW and I said NO WAY even though she was tall enough but Dad went on and she sucked and played up the whole time. I am no pushover either but she drives me up the wall.

We have had so much rain out here its great. The tanks are full and overflowing (we are only on tank water) and the new dam is full. We built another dam beside the old one so we could build the kids a motorcross track and use the water for irrigation. There was a Pelican in the dam just before and we are no where near the sea! Whats thego with that.

Better run. Keep smiling all.
Di

meme
31-08-2006, 15:24
hi all:)
my dp has been working away for a while now, it will hopefully be more regular 3wks 0n 1 wk off, but it's been all over the place so far.

and i just thought i'd pop in here and say hi. related to this...:o

that's exactly how I feel! I crave him being here........but then when he is, it often drives me nuts and I get SO frustrated and cranky and continually pick....pick....pick at him..............even though I KNOW he is trying to do his best and most of the things are silly to worry about anyway

just noticed myself doing this today, first few days are great, but then it gets akward coz my routine is interrupted.

also dp is busy building our house when he's 'home'. so i feel ripped off we don't get to spend as much family time as i would like.

also it has been so unpredictable and even this week he has an extra week off which is great but stuffs up the budgetting/planning. i am happy he will be home for fathers day though.

Di-78
03-09-2006, 16:42
Howdy all. Hope all had a good Fathers Day.

Welcome meme. I can understand why you have those feelings. Buidling a house is stressful enough. Where abouts is your hubby working? Does he usually have a set roster or just gets what ever, where ever he can?

My partner finally went back today. I loved having him home, we got a lot done. Will just see what happens next with work.

Take it easy and keep smiling all
Chat later
Di

meme
03-09-2006, 18:22
having a great fathers day:yes:
dads in the kitchen making fresh pasta with his children, ahhhhh:)

he works up north, and i think they have a roster but it never seems to apply, always waiting for something to be delivered or fitting in work before something is delivered or something.:rolleyes:

building our house isn't that stressful for me, it's really his house and i get to share it now we are a couple..not that i have any intention of moving the fam in. it is tiny, considering he started building it for one person and now has a pretty instant family of 5:laughing: . it has also taken a looong time to build as he did nothing for long periods of time while i had babies, he worked etc. he has done a great job i think considering he has done nearly everythin by himself. there is no way i could have built a house by myself.

what sort of work does everyones hubby's do? did many of you get to have fathers day with dads at home? or do you do something else special instead?

bearsmummy
03-09-2006, 19:27
what sort of work does everyones hubby's do? did many of you get to have fathers day with dads at home? or do you do something else special instead?

Hi meme my DF is an electrician... he flew out on Wednesday, so he wasnt home for today. :( We had fathers day early last weekend which was nice, but the kids hadnt finished there pressies at school by then so he will have some more goodies to come home to lol!
Instead we went and saw DFs dad and stepdad for the day (my dad lives nowhere near us) which was nice but i still missed Blake. The boys spoke to him on the phone this arvo too to wish him a happy fathers day... hes on night shift this week so we couldnt call him this morning.

How is everyone else? kids have been pretty well behaved this week besides bubba joel cutting his molars :thumbsdown: times like that i wish he was here to help.... but this is the only way we will ever be able to build our dream home.
Which may i add is not very far away from being started....:smiliedance:

Well better go put these monsters to bed a big welcome to yetti as well! Hope we all can get to know each other better :yes:

Tannie
03-09-2006, 20:09
We got to have a nice fathers day - although it's raining so we didn't go anywhere.....but nice that hb was home.
My hb is a Electrical Technician / Power station operator......the job he's in now is "multitasked" which he loves. He is out at Phosphate Hill - below Mt Isa. He works for the company which runs the power station that supplies the mine & township where they live......

Nothing else exciting to tell here...........we've built a house in Brisy - I don't envy you being by yourself with it......we enjoyed the experience of building and had a good builder & not too much went wrong........but it's still very stressful eh? :eek:
We did think of building here, but I was not willing to take that on with him being FIFO & 2 small kids.........just TOO much right now. Maybe in a few years time.

bye for now & hope those who are currently by themself are okay? I have a friend coming to visit this time whilst hb is away - so that will be nice & one less week to be alone :yelclap:

Y

mythreelittlemonkeys
04-09-2006, 11:12
he works up north, and i think they have a roster but it never seems to apply, always waiting for something to be delivered or fitting in work before something is delivered or something.:rolleyes:

My DH is an offsider/relief driller in t he Pilbara (mostly) and his roster never seems to apply either for the same reasons 0 really infuriating and hardest to budget!
We had a lovely fathers day the step kids were here and they all got into bed with Matilda and their daddy and gave pressies :) then we went to visit DH's nan in hospital then to the beach with the dog and then we were supposed to have a barbie but DH has lost keys to shed we looked for 2 days!! so we had a mixed grill inside :) all in all a very lovely chilled day...and glorious weather - today it is peeing down adn he is in Perth doing a first aid thing...working in his yard all week and then he flies up to Pilbara to a camp this time for 3 -4 weeks we think!

bearsmummy
04-09-2006, 11:45
Ooops forgot to mention that DF works up north WA in Telfer. I wonder if any of us will find out our fellas work on the same site :laughing: Now that would be funny ;)
well ill put up a long post a little later... gotta go do some washing grrr:banghead:

seeya girls hope your all well :wave:

bearsmummy
04-09-2006, 14:07
:banghead: just got a letter in the mail saying we are due for our rent inspection on the 13th of this month, which is the day that Blake flys home :(
Now means i have to do it all! Dont get me wrong the house is pretty clean already but i will have to make inside and outside all imacculate without any help... what a pain.
I guess on the good side is it will all be done for when he comes home and he can just relax and not have to worry bout the gardens. He flys in at 7pm so it will have happened by then.
Oh well the joys of having a partener that works away.... bring on our house thats being built soon... i hate renting :mad:

hope your all having a good day:wave:

Di-78
04-09-2006, 19:22
Has anyone else been made to feel like a stupid women that doesn't know how to fix things? Had trouble with the filter to the tank leaking (we are only on tank water) and I pulled it apart put it back together and it leaked worse. Called Kurt up, he ran through things with me....still leaking. So decided to call the people we brought it from to see if they had any ideas and got the "thats never happended before I'll come out to look at it". So did and got a lecture and argued with the fella. He couldn't even get the thing off or turn it the right way :confused: At least he came out to help a damsell in distress but at the same time he made me feel totally stupid and worthless in the process. He didn't charge me and replaced the casing for free as he had a spare one. That was nice of him just his manner wasn't very nice. At least I have water for now. He reckons I will have to get his boys out to replace it as he didn't like the way Kurt installed it (what a load of rubbish, he couldn't even get the thing off). Just trying to get more money out of us, I think. To top it all off the kids were running a muck being naughty. Luckily I put the dogs away so they wouldn't get under our feet. Should of left them out to really annoy the guy, now thats a bit mean.
Anyone else experienced this when things have broken when hubbies away. Most things I try to fix myself (via phone with Kurts guidance) we used to have old cars so have fixed most things to get me buy. Had a few arguments with guys that think I don't know anything and try to pull the wool over my eyes. I admit I don't know everything, just the basics to get me by.
Had my whinge for the night.:ecomcity:
Take it easy all
Di

mythreelittlemonkeys
08-09-2006, 10:01
here we go again...Dh flies out tomorrow at 6.15am...and I am getting sad in anticipation...probly be nearer to 4 weeks this time as they going to a camp and I thiink the job will take that long...so September gonna be a long month for me!
Cant type much now as gotta get ready for mothers group but prob will be in here more for next few weeks!
Hoep everyone doing okay!!:wave:

Di-78
09-09-2006, 20:15
Hope all are doing well.
Kurt has decided to have a break from working away. Is missing us too much and finding it hard. :crying: So back to working in town for a while. It will be good to have him around. Will talk later.
Have a good weekend
:hugs: to those doing it solo or getting ready for them to leave.

Dianne

meme
11-09-2006, 13:59
hello all.
my man has just left today for 3 weeks away, and i am feeling a sense of relief and also upset. the older the kids get , even though they don't say much . i know they miss him and it must get a bit confusing for them. daddies gone to work and will be back in 3wks, and lilmiss3 has no idea how to measure that amount of time.

and then again, there is the peace and quiet that settles in over the house. it's always a bit like a celebration, or holiday while he is home and now things get back to normal and routine.

mythreelittlemonkeys
11-09-2006, 16:07
know what you mean about routine...when he is home we have none...like holidays!! But when he goes I quite a spinster with my set out days & plans and when I do them chores!! Matilda always really unsettled so far when her daddy goes and the puppy too but both of them good as gold this time...hate to say it but thinking they getting used to him being a blowy...sad but gosh I admire thosse women with men in the forces at least we know ours coming back reguarly and coming back...My grandmother sometimes didnt see my grandfather for couple of years...and he was an officer and she had lots of support...gotta feel for the modern day navy/arm/raaf wives who have little support in comparison...:hugs:
I am being terribly lazy last couple of days as been crook and slept tons during day...otherwise I couldnt function...the antibiotics I been given making me pukey too and Matilda seems to have tummy upset (so much fun facing those nappies when feeling sick anyway!!)
Ho hum...gonna watch a dvd later the constant gardener...not sure if will be good...then of course greys anatomy!! all the things I cant do when DH home :D
Wish it would stop raining as not helping my get up and out and about regime...and stay out of kitchen!!:rolleyes: cant trust it not to rain if I go walking as showers regular...now I really am waffling so I;'ll go...hope all of you are doing good :)

Squiggles
11-09-2006, 16:55
:wave: Hi ladies,

I just thought I would pop in and say Hi - I started a thread a while ago about my DH going away for 3 - 4 months. Well he left this morning. I guess I should feel lucky that he is only going for 3 days this week then back for our 19 week ultrasound on Thurs!! But hubby will be working in Melbourne for the weekdays and then home (country SA) on the weekends prob until around mid Jan.

I was so anxious lastnight about him leaving I couldn't sleep properly and then when I was able to get some sleep I had nightmares about people breaking into the house while I was sleeping... so this arvo I went out and cleaned off the dogs beds from out in their dog run and have put them in the laundry, they are definatley sleeping closer to me tonght - officially on guarding duty!!

Feel a bit lonely today but its only day 1 and I am used to having him go away for 1 or 2 nights - I hate it but this will be a whole new experience just having a weekend husband :thumbsdown:

Looking forward to getting to know you "partners away from home" ladies better!

bearsmummy
13-09-2006, 21:33
and then again, there is the peace and quiet that settles in over the house. it's always a bit like a celebration, or holiday while he is home and now things get back to normal and routine.

LOL i know that feeling :D its like that for us all the time!

Well had my rent inspection today... all went well thank goodness, but i will admit not having blake to help with the gardens was really hard.
He is due to fly home on friday this week, 2 days later than normal as he is doing a course up there.
Not much else to tell here, kids have been good which has made this swing a whole lot easier.
Hope you are all coping well :hugs:

Welcome to Eagerly_awaiting too! Hope to get to know you better too :D

Ps... Di, ive been meaning to get back to you hun, sorry. This rent inspection has kept me busy. I promise to get back to you tomorrow xoxo

MrsPee
24-09-2006, 22:25

I thought that I would pop in and join you all,
as my DH has been away for 9weeks this week and I have
another 3weeks to go before I see him again.

I have so far found the time to go by fast but that has been
because of work and family commmitments. iykwim
Still miss him like crazy and the bed feels so lonely. :(

I have found it to be funny that I really miss all the things that
drive me crazy when he is around. Like his snoring and falling
asleep in the arm chair.

Oh well on wards and up wards

bearsmummy
25-09-2006, 17:59
Hi MrsPee :wave: welcome to you ...What does your hubby do for work?

Well sorry its been long between posts, i have been busy with paperwork for our new block of land to build our house on .... been sooo stressful.
Blake is due home for 2 nights tomorrow just for a couple of nights to do a course in the city then hes back up north for the rest of his swing. :thumbsdown:

But good news is when he comes home again we are off down south for 4 nights to have some family time away. Im sure we will have a blast!

And get this.... somehow my kids are still being angels.... whatever or whoever has swapped my kids for these please dont return... i love these great kids :laughing:
Guess i should make the most of it... i bet it wont last lol!

Di glad that your hubby is going to be home with you and the kids more often, will you still pop in here and say hi?
How are all you lovely other ladies going? Hope your all doing well.

Do any of you know if you will have your partners home for Xmas? i know i wont :(

Take care, hope to hear from you all soon xoxoxo

Billy
25-09-2006, 18:15

Kev will be home for christmas this year!!! I'm so excited because in his old job he worked every freakin public holiday- so this is our FIRST christmas day together!!!

:hugs: to you for your christmas day- I know how much it sux... And we didn't have kids before so it makes a bigger difference now... :thumbsdown:

mythreelittlemonkeys
25-09-2006, 19:25
Woah that sucks!! Xmas the only time I know he will be home...they get 3 weeks (roughly off) paid at not going away rates ie: no bonus or overtime or away weighting...We are actually flying home to UK which I cant wait for as I have no family here. He was home this Easter too thou that not deffo yet for next year...as for birthdays and other public holidays guaranteed it will never fall on a break!! Big :hugs: for you and your kids I hope you have lots of family to be around you...

MrsPee
25-09-2006, 19:57
Hello Bearsmum :wave:

Thankyou for the warm welcome too.

Mr Pee is in the Navy.

What does your Man do?????

mythreelittlemonkeys
25-09-2006, 20:35
Sorry ...meant to say welcome mrs pee :smiliedance: ...gosh where have my manners gone!!!:rolleyes:

bearsmummy
26-09-2006, 10:54
Hello Bearsmum :wave:

Thankyou for the warm welcome too.

Mr Pee is in the Navy.

What does your Man do?????

Bearsdaddy is an electrician up north in the underground mines, he does 2 on 1 off.
I can imagine how you must feel with MrPee being in the navy. I grew up with my dad in the army and my DF also is in the army reserves and has been away alot, even 3 month deployment to malaysia.
But we all have each other here for support and understanding which helps :D other people struggle to understand i think.

Thanks ladys for your support with xmas, its going to be hard but ill just have to keep myself occupied and make it as fun for the kids as possible. Jake and Daniel will be more aware of Daddy not being here than what Joel will.
Only have my inlaws nearby, so i will go see them sometime on xmas day but not for too long! :laughing:

Blake flys in 2 hours from now, so i better go get sorted. Have a great week ladies if i dont get on here whilst Blake is home.

chat soon, mel :wave:

Squiggles
27-09-2006, 16:05
Hi everyone,:wave:

Just thought I would say Hi. im up to 3 weeks now of DH being away for work and I think I am just strting to feel a little bit better about it. Not as anxious or scared as I was to begin with. I guess I have just accepted that this is the way it has to be for a few months and am not trying to get all angry and upset about it.

I have had time to research all the preggy stuff that DH would be bored stiff with and have enjoyed not making the bed if I dont feel like it!!

We have been talking to each other each morning, then after work then before the first one of us goes to bed... so I feel like we are still sharing most things. And he is home on the weekends anyway... its just the weekdays he is away.

Dh has been pretty miserable in his little apartment which is a total change from our home... we live on a farm in country SA with all our animals and now he is spending his weeks smack bang in the middle of noisy Melbourne CBD in a teeny tiny apartment on his own. He says he gets pretty bored and has occupied himself with working like crazy and playing computer games on his laptop at night! Poor bugger has eaten take away each night too... so he loves to come home to my cooking which makes me feel special.

We have organised that I will go over and stay for a special date at the end of October and go out for a nice dinner etc over there which will be good.

Sorry to ramble on and on...

Hope everyone else is Ok.

Bearsmummy - sorry to hear about you not having your partner home for xmas :hugs:

bearsmummy
02-10-2006, 09:33
Hi girls how is everyone?

Nothing much to tell here, Blake was home for the 2 days for his course, but it kind of bugged me. Put me all out of routine, let alone the fact i had to drive to the airport yet again!:banghead: i feel bad for feeling like that, but it really knocked us all outta whack.

The kids have been fantastic, and i have managed to get alot of things done around the house this time.
We go away the day after Blake gets home for 4 nights so i wanted to get on top of things. It will be nice to have some time away. Even though Blakes week off will mostly be spent away, at least he is still having a rest :D

eagerlyawaiting glad to hear your going well sweet.
Makes you really appreciate each other when your in a situation like this doesnt it?
Blake and i chat on the phone every night at 7pm once it goes to cheap rates. We sometimes chat for an hour, sometimes only 5 mins. Just depends on if there is anything to talk about or if we are tired or not lol ;)

Well hope your all doing well. Chat soon...
Mel :wave:

lavenderpegasus
02-10-2006, 09:39
My dh is in the Navy and will be home is 9 days... (sorry for gate crashing I'm just a bit excited)

bearsmummy
02-10-2006, 14:23
My dh is in the Navy and will be home is 9 days... (sorry for gate crashing I'm just a bit excited)

Thats great hun (you can crash and be excited as much as you like) :D
How long will he be home for? :)

lavenderpegasus
02-10-2006, 14:26
well he said he has to go away again for a week or so but then he is home for months...ehhhh:barf: I'm a tinny bit anxious

bearsmummy
02-10-2006, 14:31
I bet :D
Its hard having a routine and then all of a sudden its turned all upside down!
Im sure you will have plenty of good times whilst he is home :yes:

lavenderpegasus
02-10-2006, 14:36
I'll have to move the laptop back down stairs (currently on my bedside table) He seems glad that I have bubhub.. I'm not a sharing, I need some help sort of person. I do need help and I should share... but well here we are.

bearsmummy
02-10-2006, 14:47
Thats it LP.... looking forward to getting to know you better :D

lavenderpegasus
02-10-2006, 14:57
This is the first time I've ever been over on this side of the thread... different, is the word I'm looking for; i think.

So bearsmummy. it must be really hard looking after children and having dh away alot. it's good that you get to talk everyday.
When my dh is on course or something and we get to chat over the phone, we sometimes just watch tv together...hehe and chat about th shopw during the ad breaks

Starlet
02-10-2006, 15:24

This is my first time over here.

My DF started working away just over a week ago. He is meant to be doing 2 on, 1 off, but they asked him to do an extra week to start off with :( I miss him soooo much! And the kids are missing him terribly!

lavenderpegasus
02-10-2006, 15:57
Welcome... the only advice I could give is probably silly as you have children, but anywho. when my dh is away I treat myself to things i wouldn't do if he was home. be spontanious. Get the kids inolved to choose the thing that you get up to when dh is away..if you have girls.. the maybe a girls day out treat them to brunch and painting of nails... and well i don't really know what boys like... but good luck and have fun, if you are sad, the kids will be as well.

lavenderpegasus
02-10-2006, 15:59
ok so i just saw your sig and you have two of both, so take the girls to get their nails done and the boys to baseball.

bearsmummy
02-10-2006, 21:56
Hi starlet :D welcome to over here!

My DF had to do an extra week initially as well. 2 weeks on 1 weeks off is good- thats what my DF does.

DF flys home this Wed thank goodness, we are off to Mandurah for the week, so that should be nice :yes:

If you ever need to chat, feel free to PM me, we live close i guess (well closer than others) so we could always catch up with the kids at kings park or something.
Oh and ill meet you at our girls night out too! :smiliedance:
We are all here to help ya babe, :)
Hang in there hun, good days will come.

LP not long now till hubby comes home!!!!!

bearsmummy
02-10-2006, 21:58
This is the first time I've ever been over on this side of the thread... different, is the word I'm looking for; i think.

So bearsmummy. it must be really hard looking after children and having dh away alot. it's good that you get to talk everyday.
When my dh is on course or something and we get to chat over the phone, we sometimes just watch tv together...hehe and chat about th shopw during the ad breaks

Yeah its not too bad, i try keep myself occupied and organized and eventually it just started to feel like this was normal :laughing:
thats good you can still watch tv together, thats so sweet :D

Starlet
02-10-2006, 22:17
Thanks ladies,

The girls don't live with us, they live with their mum, so we only see them when DF is home. She won't allow me to see them when he's not here, which is heartbreaking because I'm so close to them and I miss them too!!

It's hard this over the weekend because DS1 is getting over the chicken pox, the weather has been gorgeous and we've been stuck inside! ARGH!!!

They will be at daycare during the week anyway, so between work and going to the gym and stuff I'll be right. Night time is the worst tho, no-one to warm the bed up for me!

I will have to take you up on that offer sometime bearsmummy, u can't have too many mummy friends!

Squiggles
03-10-2006, 17:22
Hi ladies :wave:

Just wondered if any of you have the same as me. With DH coming back on weekends I have found that we really really miss eachother and are so happy to see eachother but still manage to have a fight each time. It sux, I put it down to us re adjusting - what do you think?

bearsmummy
17-10-2006, 20:58

Just wondered if any of you have the same as me. With DH coming back on weekends I have found that we really really miss eachother and are so happy to see eachother but still manage to have a fight each time. It sux, I put it down to us re adjusting - what do you think?

oh i sooooo understand that one! :hugs:
I think with DF and i, he comes home and expects to just chill out and i expect him to come home and help me out a little... i dont expect much, but a little bit of help doesnt go astray.IYKWIM.

Plus i get narky when he comes home and drops all his stuff round the place, and disrupts our routine.
He gets narky when i still have a life to lead and dont drop it all just to sit next to him all day. Dont get me wrong, im home more than im not... but sometimes he just wants my undivided attention!:laughing:

It does take time to settle into this kind of life though hun... i would have to say, talk about it together. Thats the only way we seem to sort it all out, rather than spend his whole time off angry at each other.

Let me know how u get on hun :D

bearsmummy
17-10-2006, 21:00
I will have to take you up on that offer sometime bearsmummy, u can't have too many mummy friends!

that would be great Starlet.... cant wait to hear from you... dont hesitate :D
we will probably meet at the dinner next week no doubt (if ur going that is) ;)

mythreelittlemonkeys
17-10-2006, 23:18
Plus i get narky when he comes home and drops all his stuff round the place, and disrupts our routine.

tee hee I know JUST what u mean :laughing:

2s'nuff
20-10-2006, 13:42
Hi-ya,

I've just stumbled upon this thread and after reading the comments you ladies have made, will fit right in.

DH works away on a 2/1 roster and has been doing so since March. He worked in the mines before we got married, but this time around we've got DD (3) and another due in Jan.

Although he has managed to be away for Easter and all the birthdays this year, he'll be home for a month at Christmas, :smiliedance: , as the baby will be making it's entrance early Jan.

oh i sooooo understand that one! :hugs:
I think with DF and i, he comes home and expects to just chill out and i expect him to come home and help me out a little... i dont expect much, but a little bit of help doesnt go astray.IYKWIM.

He gets narky when i still have a life to lead and dont drop it all just to sit next to him all day. Dont get me wrong, im home more than im not... but sometimes he just wants my undivided attention!:laughing:

Yep, I'm with you two on this one. We usually save the fights to the end of the week. By then he's had enough of me organising him (in an attempt to keep some sort of routine going) and I've had enough of his idea that he should have at least 2-3 days of being able to do nothing but play golf, xbox, drink with mates etc, and the messes he continually makes. No matter what I say or do he can't seem to get the idea that I NEVER get days alone just to do what I want. And even if I head off alone to do some shopping on Saturday, it's not the same as having time to myself to relax. By the time Sunday night rolls around I'm quite happy that he'll be on the plane again the next day.

Look forward to chatting with you ladies. Have been looking into the Perth threads, but as I work full time, haven't been able to join in on any of the get-togethers.

Have a great weeked. DH flies back in on Mon.

Starlet
25-10-2006, 18:25
Oops, I kinda forgot about this thread!!

I have had a bad week. I am pregnant(yay!), almost 6 weeks along now. I got food poisioning over the weekend. OMFG. It was so hard trying to deal with my two kids. I tell ya, I have never missed my DF so much in my life. When I had to do all the meals, and bath time....man...worst week of my life!!

Only 8 sleeps to go. *sigh*

Billy
25-10-2006, 18:34
Wow sweetie that sux :thumbsdown: I hate it when I'm felling crappy but too bad so sad, but being pg and having 2 to look
after :eek:.... :hugs: Hope you feeling better now :yes:

Starlet
25-10-2006, 18:37
Thanks hun. It really did suck. And I kept telling df it was all his fault LOL. Have gotten used to his way of looking after me when I was sick(cooking dinner and all that!).

I'm ok now, just feeling queasy(morning sickness). But I am beginning to wonder how I will do it with 3 kids fulltime!

Billy
25-10-2006, 18:41
I remember how bad my morning sickness was with DD, and when I think how I will feel next time around with DH away and a toddler underfoot... :no: Scary thought I tells ya!!! :o All I wanted to do was lie in bed and eat (:D)- don't think I'll be doing that next time somehow!!:rolleyes:

Starlet
25-10-2006, 18:47
Oh you can TRY! It might be lay on the couch and eat while DD is watching Nemo or something LOL

Billy
25-10-2006, 18:51
PMSL Good plan!! :laughing:

Back to the bad mothers thread for me... :laughing:

wa mum of 4
25-10-2006, 20:56
Hi-ya,

I've just stumbled upon this thread and after reading the comments you ladies have made, will fit right in.

DH works away on a 2/1 roster and has been doing so since March. He worked in the mines before we got married, but this time around we've got DD (3) and another due in Jan.

Although he has managed to be away for Easter and all the birthdays this year, he'll be home for a month at Christmas, :smiliedance: , as the baby will be making it's entrance early Jan.

Yep, I'm with you two on this one. We usually save the fights to the end of the week. By then he's had enough of me organising him (in an attempt to keep some sort of routine going) and I've had enough of his idea that he should have at least 2-3 days of being able to do nothing but play golf, xbox, drink with mates etc, and the messes he continually makes. No matter what I say or do he can't seem to get the idea that I NEVER get days alone just to do what I want. And even if I head off alone to do some shopping on Saturday, it's not the same as having time to myself to relax. By the time Sunday night rolls around I'm quite happy that he'll be on the plane again the next day.

Look forward to chatting with you ladies. Have been looking into the Perth threads, but as I work full time, haven't been able to join in on any of the get-togethers.

Have a great weeked. DH flies back in on Mon.

I can not believe you three all just explained my life.
My DH 2 /1 roster and I am home with 4 kids, I would love for him to help a little more.
I just dont understand that they get the week off every 2 plus 4 weeks holiday a year but they want all these days as holidays.
When is my week off?:banghead:
God only knowsw what goes through mens heads.:eek:

2s'nuff
26-10-2006, 10:16
I remember how bad my morning sickness was with DD, and when I think how I will feel next time around with DH away and a toddler underfoot... Scary thought I tells ya!!! All I wanted to do was lie in bed and eat (:D)- don't think I'll be doing that next time somehow!!

Oh you can TRY! It might be lay on the couch and eat while DD is watching Nemo or something LOL

Yep, that's how it's done. When it all gets too much, just put on a DVD and lay on the couch. I've got to a point where I am able to semi-sleep and still have answers to DD's questions rolling off my tongue. On Sunday I ended up with 12 hair clips nicely positioned through my hair while I dozed.

Have got DH working hard this week at home laying floors. No xbox or golf for him this week:laughing: .

mythreelittlemonkeys
26-10-2006, 15:38
only 48 hours now till DH flies in...my stepchildren meeting me at airport so they can meet their daddy off plane - which they love...I cant wait to see him...Tillie done so much in past 3 weeks...she cant wait to show him her rolling, commando crawling and beaker holding!!
he will be working in the yard all of his time down from mines but at least we have the evenings this next week...all be worth it when everything gets paid off...and he can slack off a bit :)

mythreelittlemonkeys
04-11-2006, 13:06
Beginning to think I am a thread killer!! :rolleyes:
Well DH actually was only home for 5 days...of which 2 we had my step children and 2 he worked in the yard...so I saw him alone for a grand total of 2 nights and 1 day...and now it looks like he deffo away for 4 weeks if not 6 weeks...as he now relief drilling and with Xmas and us going away he wants to put in the days to get more money...
Which I am not ungrateful about...just really lonely already and hate how much he missing of little miss tillie...she changing so much every day and he doesnt even have internet in Paraburdoo...so we cant do webcam...
Sometimes I feel like a single mum- only with none of the support...and we are still trying to pay off the credit cards we took out to emigrate so we not exactly rolling in it...so I have no cash whatsoever to do anything...and then this weekend I have had to spend the little cash I do have on mouse traps!! I have found mouse droppings in my kitchen eeeeeeeek!! I have a couple of mums n bubs groups I go to...but all of them have partners at home and so no one ever wants to do anything at weekend when it is the hardest for me - i have no family here and all my friends I left in UK...and although I cope pretty well I think...days like today sometimes I just feel so alone...thank god for Tillie and the puppy...otherwise it would be awful!
On a positive note I am heading back home for Xmas with DH and tillie and thats for 3 weeks...would stay longer but puppy and DH has to go back to work...only bit nervous now that when I get back here it going to be even worse...
oK enuff crocodile tears...and feeling sorry for myself...I am going to find something productive and not eating!!! to do with myself today around the house...
Promise to be cheerier next post :rolleyes:

Diddles
04-11-2006, 19:44
Hi everyone I've officially joined the club of people who's partners work away. I just said a teary eyed goodbye to my hubby a couple of hours ago, he will be working away for at least 3 months.:crying: I will still get to probably see him once a fortnight as he is 4 hours away but still it was really hard to say goodbye. I felt so blue afterwards that I shuffled my kids in the car, brought icecream and chocolate and then let my 2 year old stay up an hr past his bedtime and partake in the feast with me. Anyway just wanted to say hi to you all out there who are in the same position.:wave:

bearsmummy
06-11-2006, 12:11
Hi ladies, i feel so bad for not popping in as often as i should have :o

Welcome to the newbies, im glad there are lots of women out there who understand what we go through. (well not glad as im sure we dont all want to be in this position, but you know what i mean :D )

Not much to tell here, Blake has been home 12 days as he had to stay back for his sisters wedding. He flys out this morning, im sorta happy so i can get my routine back but in a way kinda sad as i have really gotten used to him being home for so long.

The kids have already started to play up :banghead: they must know that dadday is going today! Always the way isnt it?

Hope your all doing well... i promise i will be here more often to see how your all going. Better go make sure he has packed his bags properly! :laughing:

Mel xoxoxo

2s'nuff
06-11-2006, 12:53
I have a couple of mums n bubs groups I go to...but all of them have partners at home and so no one ever wants to do anything at weekend when it is the hardest for me - i have no family here and all my friends I left in UK

Where are you located in Perth? The weekends are the only time we have to visit people as I work full time, but like you I find lots of other mum's don't like going out or visiting over the weekends.

...Better go make sure he has packed his bags properly!

Do you mean he actually packs his own bag? DH wouldn't have a clue what is in his bag when he flies out. He just assumes I've replaced his dirty clothes with clean ones, had put in the things he has run out of (and remembered to tell me about) and that I've stocked up on smokes for him, :rolleyes: :laughing: .

DH was extreemly busy last time he was home, got all the floors laid, which we had sanded and coated last week. Barely had time to talk to him. I find we talk more when he is actually away. I know I get more details out of him over the phone than I do in person. He got offered a new job while he was home last, and it was only after he'd returned to work that I found out the actual details of the job.

He's home again next week, with painting DD's room top on his list of jobs. I feel like we are running out of time very fast, with him home next week then once more before Christmas and the arrival of bub. Still haven't been able to get all the baby **** out of the shed as I don't have anywhere to put it. Looks like I'll be putting up the cot by myself this time.

Keep well everyone

bearsmummy
06-11-2006, 15:25
Where are you located in Perth? The weekends are the only time we have to visit people as I work full time, but like you I find lots of other mum's don't like going out or visiting over the weekends.

Do you mean he actually packs his own bag? DH wouldn't have a clue what is in his bag when he flies out. He just assumes I've replaced his dirty clothes with clean ones, had put in the things he has run out of (and remembered to tell me about) and that I've stocked up on smokes for him,

:laughing: he does pack his own bag but i do have to make sure all the dirty clothes are out and ready to be packed again! LOL!

Well he is gone again now, it was so hot driving in the car to the airport... not looking forward to doing that in summer with all 3 kids! :no:

Im up in Clarkson girls... NOR. Maybe one weekend we could all met up somewhere central ? Id love to meet yas all. :)

Well i better go try get my house back to normal now that the "disruptor of routines" has left LOL!

Chat soon ladies.

Mel xoxoxo

Squiggles
06-11-2006, 15:43

I haven't checked in for a fair while now (sorry) I have been busy doing some "credit card rennovations" - eg calling tradespeople and getting them to fix all the stuff that DH has neglected to do before he started working away.

I flew over to Melb to be with DH last Fri night and we stayed in a nice hotel for the night then flew home together on Saturday. It was nice - but the usual 're adjustment' fight happened again when we got home :banghead:

As for packing - my DH would have no idea how to pack for himself. I do all of that for him each weekend. Wash a weeks worth of stinky stuff and replace it all again for him to take off on Monday. I even pack his books and new magazines for him to read etc

My SIL was making the joke the other day that Telstra might send us a chrissy present this year for being such big spenders with them!!! Lucky work pays for all the phone calls and internet time or we would be living on the streets!

Seems like a lot of you are from WA and have partners/ husbands in similar line of work.

Hope you are all coping - I am a week away from my third trimester now and I know Im going to hate having DH away even more as I become bigger, more tired and less able to do stuff!

Di-78
07-11-2006, 21:08
How are all of you surviving? Hope you are all keeping well.
Just got Kurt back to work after 6-8 weeks off. He really struggled last time he was away and needed to get his head together. Been busy though.....making another camper trailer to fit m/bikes on and still have the camper. Now he is doing afternoon shift 2:30 till 10:30, a change from 12/13 hour shifts but doesn't work weekends. Everyone I talk to say "gee that must be hard doing shift work" i just say "AT LEAST HE'S IN TOWN AND NOT AWAY SOMEWHERE FOR WHO KNOWS HOW LONG". I know he won't stay long at this job but at least money is coming in.
It has been so nice having him around. I don't really get anytime to myself or to do the things I WANT to do but we are getting along and enjoy each others company. The kids miss seeing him every night but unfortunetly they are used to it and see him on weekends and in the morning.
Keep smiling everyone and just get done what you can in a day and feel free to BLAH on here anytime about anything.
Talk later
Di:wave:

bearsmummy
07-11-2006, 22:10
Hi hun just wanted to pop in and say how much ive missed you on here! :hugs:
Glad u and the kids have been enjoying your time with Kurt home... thats great to hear :D

Not much to tell over here, just wanted to pop in and say hi to you all and hope your all doing well.

Take care, Mel xoxoxoxo :)

meme
07-11-2006, 22:15
well, i am leaving this section for a while. dp will be home now until prolly next year some time.
i guess it's a good thing to have him here for christmas, but it will mean money will be tight and we will have more oppurtunity to bicker:o

hope everyone is doing well. it was nice finding some others going through the same stuff. i'll know where to find you all if his work picks up again in the new year!

seeya

mythreelittlemonkeys
07-11-2006, 23:36

We are SOR down near Rockingham...but were in Belmont for 9 months...where is Greenwood...is that NOR??

2s'nuff
08-11-2006, 11:38
We are SOR down near Rockingham...but were in Belmont for 9 months...where is Greenwood...is that NOR??

Yeh, NOR between Warwick and Kingsley.

bearsmummy
11-11-2006, 10:55
well, i am leaving this section for a while. dp will be home now until prolly next year some time.
i guess it's a good thing to have him here for christmas, but it will mean money will be tight and we will have more oppurtunity to bicker

hope everyone is doing well. it was nice finding some others going through the same stuff. i'll know where to find you all if his work picks up again in the new year!

seeya

All the best meme :D Hope you enjoy your time with DH.

Yeh, NOR between Warwick and Kingsley.

Maybe we could meet halfway one day? Like kings park or something like that in the new year? My SILs partner works away as well so we could all meet up for a cuppa? :D
Im NOR too:thumbsup:

Not much to really to tell here at the moment, very stressed out with the building of our house... more seems like its my house as i have basically done it all on my own. Blake is home on wednesday again, so it will be nice to have some of the pressure eased off of me.

I may have asked some of you already so im sorry if i have but... whos hubbys are home for xmas and whos are away?

Mine is away :gloomy: which is a shame, but i guess thats the price we pay for good pay...

Hope your all doing well, take care

Mel xoxoxo

bearsmummy
13-11-2006, 12:15
Hope you all had a good weekend ladies :D

2 more sleeps till Blakes home :wizard:

Laksa
13-11-2006, 12:28
hi all
i just found this thread on bub hub, my partner also works away. he is a metallurgist and he does one week on, one off which is pretty good! our first baby is due in march but he is having 9 weeks off. YAY!
i dont know what its going to be like having a FIFO daddy for the baby, there are pros and cons. of course i will be very tired when he's away but when he's home, he's home all week and i can catch up on sleep while he spends some 'quality time' with bub. we also think it will be great for family hols when bub is bigger. i spose a lot of dads work 6 day weeks and hardly get to see their little ones so he is lucky in some ways.
i guess we just have to wait and see what its like, living this lifestyle with a little one.
ps - i am in perth

Laksa
13-11-2006, 12:31
I may have asked some of you already so im sorry if i have but... whos hubbys are home for xmas and whos are away?

mine is home for our wedding on dec 23rd, then xmas but back up north on boxing day! (didn't want to sit around watching him get smashed with the boys on new years anyway... lol)

2s'nuff
13-11-2006, 16:10
Maybe we could meet halfway one day? Like kings park or something like that in the new year? My SILs partner works away as well so we could all meet up for a cuppa? :D

Bub is due to arrive early Jan, so when I'm feeling up to venturing out with two kids, I'll be in for a cuppa.
DH flies in on the 21st Dec for a month, so he'll be home for Christmas and the arrival of bub. :fingerscrossed: that bub holds on until she's supposed to.

DH flew in this morning. He's not grumping as much as I'd imagined he would be (lots of work to do at home again this break - skirting boards and painting), but give him 'til the end of the week and he'll have his grumpy hat on again, especially when he finds out I want him to put the :tree: lights up on the roof before he goes.

Keep well

letsimaginethis
13-11-2006, 22:27
Hi There,

I have been reading through a few of your threads - I am EXTREMELY new to this whole chat room thing, and I am finding it hard to shake the feeling that I am reading someone's mail or listening in to a phone conversation.... ah well, perhaps I'll get used to it.

I was drawn to this part of the site because my DH also works away. He is not doing shift work, rather he works for himself but is often required on-site. The ironic part of this is that he has spent a good portion of the last year in Perth (close to where many of you are) while we all stay behind in coastal NSW. I have almost the opposite problem as he is as often away working in the city as he is in remote areas.... I guess that's the price we pay for making the 'sea change'!!

It is so refreshing to hear people expressing the tears and tantrums that I am so familiar with (I don't know anyone else where I live whose DH does the dissappearing trick!!!
:wizard:

mythreelittlemonkeys
14-11-2006, 07:53

Kings Park sounds great!!! :smiliedance: I am up for it in the New Year for sure :) My DH is home for Xmas...we are off to UK for 3 weeks...

2s'nuff
14-11-2006, 13:58
Hi There,

I have been reading through a few of your threads - I am EXTREMELY new to this whole chat room thing, and I am finding it hard to shake the feeling that I am reading someone's mail or listening in to a phone conversation.... ah well, perhaps I'll get used to it.

I was drawn to this part of the site because my DH also works away. He is not doing shift work, rather he works for himself but is often required on-site. The ironic part of this is that he has spent a good portion of the last year in Perth (close to where many of you are) while we all stay behind in coastal NSW. I have almost the opposite problem as he is as often away working in the city as he is in remote areas.... I guess that's the price we pay for making the 'sea change'!!

It is so refreshing to hear people expressing the tears and tantrums that I am so familiar with (I don't know anyone else where I live whose DH does the dissappearing trick!!!

Welcome, and feel free to grump and winge with/to us. No-one really inderstands what it's like with a partner away most of the time until they've been through it.

Will your DH be home for Christmas?

bearsmummy
18-11-2006, 18:44
Hi gals.... nothing really to tell in my neck of the woods, but just thought id let yas know that my puter is on the blink so i wont be here for a few days until it gets fixed or i get a new one! LOL! I hope it wnt be too long... im having withdrawls already :laughing:

Hope your all doing well :thumbsup:

bearsmummy
26-11-2006, 23:57
hey ladies i hope your all ok.... its very quiet here :D
Hope to hear from you all soon

:hugs: Mel xoxo

bearsmummy
28-11-2006, 22:40
Helllloooooooooooooooooo ????? :confused:

have u all left me? :laughing:

2s'nuff
29-11-2006, 15:29
Still here, don't panic. Have just been really busy lately (even at work) so haven't found my way down to this part of the forum.

DH is due back in on Monday - his last break before Christmas hits. Don't know if he'll be happy with me as I've put up heaps of decorations inside (he's going to have to be the one to bring them all down in Jan as I'll have a new bub and CS scar). I've also bought new lights for him to put up on the roof. Mind you, I'm the one whose hung nearly all the other outside lights. Last lot he watched on with a beer in his hand while I (rather pg) climbed up on step ladders hanging lights off the gutters. DH didn't seem to care, but my mum and dad growled when I told them I'd been stringing up lights:tree: .

I go on maternity leave at the end of this week, yah:smiliedance: . Can't wait. DD is still full time in day care for the first two weeks, so I will hopefully get a nanna nap or two fitted inbetween everything else I need to complete.

How's everyone going with their Christmas pressie's? I've finally finished mine (I vow not to go near the shops again until after Christmas) and even started wrapping them last night. Need to be prepared incase I have to head off the hospital in a hurry.

For those of you whose DH/DP will be away for Christmas, do you plan on having a 'Christmas Day' before or after the 25th, so DH/DP gets to be part of it?

And does anyone have a DH/Dp who actually puts any thought into their Christmas present? Or are they all like my DH and run out to the shops at the last minute and buy the first thing he finds that he 'thinks' I'd like. I'm sure he thinks that as long as it's jewellery I'll like it. Only problem is I already have more than enough.

have a good week

Lisa

TeamAwesome
12-12-2006, 16:28
hi ladies, I'm quite possibly becoming a FIFO wife in early next year and have him currently staying 3hrs north of us cos his bosses changed their minds about where they wanted him(so we got a 12m lease silly us for trusting the boss) so he'd rather do fifo and have us where we wanna be at least he gets better compensated for being away from us...
oh my name is Natalie I'm 23 we live in Townsville at the moment we're from the sunny coast and would love to go back there (can we get rid of the inlaws though?)or move to Brisbane which is where my best friend lives with her DH and kids who are similar age to mine. My hubby is a powerline rigger wants to get into communcations rigging. my kids are Tybalt and Liberty. Ty is nearly two and a half and Lib is almost one. I hope to TTC#3 in the next few months (first cycle up would be great so if he does go away I know it's happened and wont stress as much.)
Have joined a playgroup and have been warmly recieved whihch is lovely and definately helps
so yeah thats me.
Natalie

2s'nuff
13-12-2006, 21:51
Welcome Natalie.
Getting closer to Christmas, :smiliedance: . DH is on his last stint before flying in for Christmas and the birth of #2, can't wait. Getting rather fat now, so help getting DD bathed and dressed etc would make my days easier.

Keep well

TeamAwesome
18-12-2006, 16:42
We're fortunate that my DH will be home for Christmas day but this year he's been away for DS's 2nd birthday, my B'day and will be away for DD's 1st b'day on Wed (gets back late Thurs night) he was only home for his own... WE celebrated DS's birthday when Dh was home (though basically no one came and we gave them heaps of notice) and we celebrated my birthday half early half late (he drove three hours to come home for 20 hours to see me the night after my birthday)
and will probably take something to our playgroup this week cos its on DD's birthday and celebrate when DH comes home on Fri...
Christmas we are just going to have a cruisy day and avoid talking to my mother might give a quick call at some stage but dont want to get stressed by her!! as we've hardly had DH home lately and want to enjoy having him here with us!
Its nice to know there are others out there who understand what we're going through not having him home!
ok thats enough of my ramblings!!
how is everyone??
Natalie

AM
18-12-2006, 16:58
Just found this thread, my partner is an interstate truckie, so is away a lot.
He left last weekend, about 8 days ago, and will hopefully be home again Fri, or Sat. He will definitely be home for Christmas which is great.
I have a 10 month old, and a 3 year old, and the thing which has been driving me nuts is not being able to do the yard jobs, mowing the lawns etc, well, yesterday I set the kids up outside with toys, and got those lawns mowed!!!:yelclap: :smiliedance: Sounds really silly to be so excited about it, but Louie used to cry all the time, and I could not put him down, so I feel so liberated all of a sudden!! And Ian gets home, and the last thing he wants to do is jobs, so I am revelling in my independance once again, I don't have to feel depressed by my surroundings any more!:D

I Haven't read back, but strength to all those doing it tough..

And I hope you all gat to have your Sig Others home for X'mas.

I look foward to chatting more.

2s'nuff
18-12-2006, 23:40
Just thought I'd post quickly as I might not be on/or around for a while.

My pc is playing up and the first of the family arrive tomorrow for the huge (still secret from DH) Christmas celebrations. Hoping bub will hold off until at least Jan.

I wish everyone a fantastic Christmas. If you're DH/DP is away for the big day, :hugs: to you, if your other half is home for the big day, I hope it's a great one!

Merry Christmas :tree:

Lisa:reindeer:

bearsmummy
24-12-2006, 17:30
Hi ladies sorry i havent been here much, i have started a part time job doing nightfill at my local supermarket, so in between doing that, DF away, xmas and the kids on holidays its been pretty hectic to say the least!

A big welcome to the new ladies who have joined us, hope to get to know you all better soon. :D

Well i hope you all have a great Christmas :xmas: ... im feeling a little down in the dumps today as Blake isnt home for it, i just hope the kids keep me occupied tomorrow so i dont start crying lol.

Merry Christmas :tree:
Mel xoxoxoxo

2s'nuff
31-12-2006, 13:23
Hope everyone had a great Christmas, either with or without their other halves.

To those with olans for new years celebrations tonight, have fun. I think I'll be lucky to stay up beyone 10pm. Only 8 days to go before bub arrives. Don't know what I'm looking forward to more, getting rid of the huge bump that she has become (and the sore ribs she is causing) or seeing her in person for the first time.

DH will be looking for a new job after she arrives. Although he's still got the job at Nifty, he got a call the other day to say they'd changed to all day shifts with only two crews (rather than 3 crews, 1 week days, one nights). No matter how I do the maths I can't work out how they're going to make it work. So two weeks away, day shift in the 45-50 degree heat is making the job look even less appealing (didn't think it was possible).

Keep well everyone,

Lisa

kewlchicmum
01-01-2007, 17:54
Hello mousebrown
This is my first time on so please forgive me if I stuff up....My partner works away to doing 2 and 2 which I know is a lot better then most and I really to feel for the other partners who's partners away more this is my first baby due 16th Jan and I am alone and a bit scared I dont want to go into labour without him being here it's his second so he kind of knows what to expect and stuff....I have been wondering how much he is going to miss out on once baby arrives with him working away and stuff like first smile first words and so on can you give me some advise.....please.
kewlchicmum

kewlchicmum
01-01-2007, 19:32
Hi bearsmummy
I am just new to this just joined today and I was wanting to catch up with other people whos partners work away as well like mine does and I dont know if this is how I talk to or not please help me.....

kewlchicmum
01-01-2007, 19:38
Hi there letsimagnethis
I am just new to all this to this site I mean and I know what you are saying when you said it feels like you are listening into some one convo but I guess we will get the hang of it or some one will show us the ropes....fingers crossed

2s'nuff
02-01-2007, 16:01
Hello mousebrown
This is my first time on so please forgive me if I stuff up....My partner works away to doing 2 and 2 which I know is a lot better then most and I really to feel for the other partners who's partners away more this is my first baby due 16th Jan and I am alone and a bit scared I dont want to go into labour without him being here it's his second so he kind of knows what to expect and stuff....I have been wondering how much he is going to miss out on once baby arrives with him working away and stuff like first smile first words and so on can you give me some advise.....please.
kewlchicmum

Welcome to the Hub. You're due the day after me, though we'll be going in for a CS on the 8th. Pop into the Due in Jan thread and say hello to some of the other mums-to-be due this month. We're all very friendly, and are always happy for a chat. If you've got any questions and/or are experiencing things you're not sure about, we are all ready to help with our advice and support.

Is your DP having any time off when bub arrives? Is he planning on flying home if he's on-site when bub starts to come?

As for missing out on stuff while they are away, have your video camera handy at all times and don't feel funny about just taping bub for a while each day doing the mudaine things. That way your DP can catch up on things when he returns.

Will PM you (Private Messages found under your user name in the top right hand corner of the page).

tjrmum
03-01-2007, 21:10

My name is Rhonda and I have 3 children, all boys, aged 10, 3, and 1.

My Dp does a 8 days on 6 days off rooster - He works out at a mine. We have just moved to Perth (been here a month) and Im slowly getting used to the FIFO thing. We were living in Kalgoorlie before the move.

So far Ive had no dramas (touch wood) I did have the dog take off on me for 2 days and a flat tire :eek: But I managed just fine without the DP - and changed my 1st flat tire LOL.

Anyways looking forward to a chat :)

Rhonda

Robs
04-01-2007, 11:01
Hello, Can I join this chat thread too?

I'm a new mum to baby Jett who is 3 weeks old (he's so gorgeous!!). I moved to Perth just a few months ago and haven't had the chance to make friends or contacts yet. Like you, my DP works FIFO 3/3 and this leaves me feeling pretty isolated and lonely when he is gone. I've got excellent friends and family that I call, but they are all back East and I'd love to chat with other girls/mums who can understand and support my situation.

The FIFO situation isn't perfect but if we were back East both my DP and I would probaby work very long days/hours so we would see our baby son even less and when DP comes home he's got plenty of time to focus on being a 'supportive' dad. I feel I got the good end of the deal by being at home with Jett every day!

So far learning to be a mum has been a full on experience but mainly enjoyable, thankfully my parents are visiting next week so I'll finally get a chance to wash my hair and chew my food!

I'd love to hear how everyone else copes with the FIFO 'single mum' situation and offer my understanding support where I can. Thanks for letting me share my story.

Robs

2s'nuff
04-01-2007, 14:18
Welcome to our new 'FIFO Single Mums' Rhonda and Robs.

Tjrmum...Sorry, had to lol at the tyre changing. Join the RAC, they make changing tyres and doing the 'boy' stuff in cars lots easier.
Robs...Congrats on the arrival of Jett. Having your DP home for three weeks at a time will certainly make things easier for you. And your DP will get to see him grow and help you out lots when he's home.

Hope everyone else is coping ok with the school holidays. Only 4 days (Monday the 8th)until #2 arrives, it all seems a little surreal at the moment.

Lisa

tjrmum
05-01-2007, 20:07
LOL Lisa > I thought about RAC after I changed the tyre :banghead:

Robs > Hello Cluck cluck cluck a 3 1/2 week old baby. I moved to Perth just over a month ago - I think Im loving it - Still a bit terrified by the traffic thou :eek: :laughing:

bearsmummy
06-01-2007, 10:56
Hello to our new mummies :wave: tjrmum, robs and kewlchicmum!!!

It seems we have alot of perthites here now which is great! Maybe we should have a get together one day when mousebrown is all settled in with her new bubs :)

My christmas was ok.... i felt pretty lonely without blake home, but i got through it for the kids. The worst was putting all the toys together by myself, thats his job lol!!!
Hope you gals all had a great christmas!

Work has been pretty full on, my babysitters whilst blake has been away have been pretty reliable the past few weeks so thats been one less pressure.
I am really tired due to the late nights... or should i say mornings?!?!?! But its only till the new house is built i hope.

Rhonda your kiddies are roughly the same ages as mine (all boys as well!) , how are you going with the holidays?
DF got a bit of a shock when he was on his last week off when the kids were home all day everyday... i think he now realises its not as easy as he thought :laughing:

mousebrown all the best for bubbas birth. i hope it all goes well. Where u having bubba?

Robs Congrats on the arrival of Jett! I bet hes adorable!
3 and 3 thats pretty good, my DF does 2 and 1.
3 weeks off will give ur DH plenty of quality time with bubs!

kewlchicmum How are you going? Is your DH going to take some time off before the birth? Is it very far for him to fly home in case you go into labour whilst hes away?
Im sure everything will be fine hun!
:hugs: to you, all the best for a great birth!

Hope to chat to you all alot better soon, i have to go control my 2 older boys having a brawl out in the backyard!!!

Take care.... mel xoxoxoxoxoxo

2s'nuff
07-01-2007, 16:07
mousebrown all the best for bubbas birth. i hope it all goes well. Where u having bubba?

I'm going to Glengarry Private in Duncriag. This is where I had DD, and it's a nice little hospital and close to home. Check-in is 11am tomorrow:eek: . Have started to feel numb about it all. Hope I get some sleep tonight.

Will be happy to get together with the other Perth FIFO single mums once I'm home and settled with bub. DH is due to fly out again on the 22nd and MIL is here helping until the 26th.

Lisa

tjrmum
07-01-2007, 21:37
Lisa > Best of luck for tommorrow - Very exciting :)

Mel > Ahh a house full of boys - Its great isnt it LOL and yeap mine are driving me NUTS How long til school starts?? LOL

My Dp gets home in 3 days than we are of to busselton for a couple of days - Should be fun :smiliedance:

Maybe we should organise a meet for when school starts up again ??

07-01-2007, 21:39
Hi ladies - Can I join in? I'm a preggie SAHM-to-be and my husband is in the defence force. He is going away next Monday for 2 months. I suppose I cant complain too much though; he has had 4 weeks off over Christmas/New Years and will be home for the birth - so hey; thats all that matters right?

TeamAwesome
08-01-2007, 20:39
sorry its been awhile...
How are you all?Welcome to the newbies, congrats to those of you who are pregnant, hope your guys will be home for the births... I think it was Lisa who went in today, I hope it all went well...
well my DH was home for Christmas and NYE already been back at work since last Tues, He's so comitted to seeing us for the short time we do get together (generally only like 20hrs) he drove over three hours on a Saturday afternoon then left at 3am for work this morning... just ONE of the reasons I love him of course!

Pink Lady - where is your DH going? I cant imagine being an Defence Force Spouse... mind you my DH was on the other side of the country for 9.5weeks when my DS was 22 mo and my DD was 4mo (when he left that was their ages)

We've had a couple of interesting things happen already, my DS decided would try to seee what being under our tv was like... only has a bit of bruising and the drs clear him and then I had to get the heavy thing back up on to the TV cabinet (which to the fly on the wall would have been extremely amusing... probably would have fallen off the wall due to the amount of laughter) I had to drag our lounge over to the tv then kind of roll the tv on to it then kind of wriggle up onto the arm and then up to cabinet... its darned heavy... definatley a moment the big strong man of the house would have been nice to be at home to lift the big, heavy tv, so not wishing to repeat this incidence I dug out the play pen from our garage (when we moved we kind of dumped everything there) and placed it around the cabinet and will keep it there... especially considering I do not wish to squish my kids...

We're hoping to add to our family this year, I hope to be pregnant right now but still have a couple of weeks before I know for sure (never got an early BFP with my first two) but if it hasnt happened now we have a great way for not falling pregnant until he has some time to off that happens to fall around the same tme as me Oing...

bearsmummy
17-01-2007, 00:53
I'm going to Glengarry Private in Duncriag. This is where I had DD, and it's a nice little hospital and close to home. Check-in is 11am tomorrow . Have started to feel numb about it all. Hope I get some sleep tonight.

Will be happy to get together with the other Perth FIFO single mums once I'm home and settled with bub. DH is due to fly out again on the 22nd and MIL is here helping until the 26th.

Lisa
Hi hun congrats on the birth of your beautiful bubba! Cant wait to hear how it all went!
I was born at Glengarry (just thought you might like to know that lol ;))

Lisa > Best of luck for tommorrow - Very exciting :)

Mel > Ahh a house full of boys - Its great isnt it LOL and yeap mine are driving me NUTS How long til school starts?? LOL

My Dp gets home in 3 days than we are of to busselton for a couple of days - Should be fun

Maybe we should organise a meet for when school starts up again ??
I rekon! they are drivng me nuts at the moment! Sent the 2 big ones to nannas tonight and DF is home tomorrow night so that should e nice.... i soooo need a break!
How did ur trip to busselton go? I bet it was nice down there!

Hi ladies - Can I join in? I'm a preggie SAHM-to-be and my husband is in the defence force. He is going away next Monday for 2 months. I suppose I cant complain too much though; he has had 4 weeks off over Christmas/New Years and will be home for the birth - so hey; thats all that matters right?
Hi pink lady! Welcome hun! Hows things going with DH away and your soon to be bub? Hope to hear from you soon... i really need to make more of an effort to come down this far in the threads more often.... im soooo slack :o

sorry its been awhile...
How are you all?Welcome to the newbies, congrats to those of you who are pregnant, hope your guys will be home for the births... I think it was Lisa who went in today, I hope it all went well...
well my DH was home for Christmas and NYE already been back at work since last Tues, He's so comitted to seeing us for the short time we do get together (generally only like 20hrs) he drove over three hours on a Saturday afternoon then left at 3am for work this morning... just ONE of the reasons I love him of course!

Pink Lady - where is your DH going? I cant imagine being an Defence Force Spouse... mind you my DH was on the other side of the country for 9.5weeks when my DS was 22 mo and my DD was 4mo (when he left that was their ages)

We've had a couple of interesting things happen already, my DS decided would try to seee what being under our tv was like... only has a bit of bruising and the drs clear him and then I had to get the heavy thing back up on to the TV cabinet (which to the fly on the wall would have been extremely amusing... probably would have fallen off the wall due to the amount of laughter) I had to drag our lounge over to the tv then kind of roll the tv on to it then kind of wriggle up onto the arm and then up to cabinet... its darned heavy... definatley a moment the big strong man of the house would have been nice to be at home to lift the big, heavy tv, so not wishing to repeat this incidence I dug out the play pen from our garage (when we moved we kind of dumped everything there) and placed it around the cabinet and will keep it there... especially considering I do not wish to squish my kids...

We're hoping to add to our family this year, I hope to be pregnant right now but still have a couple of weeks before I know for sure (never got an early BFP with my first two) but if it hasnt happened now we have a great way for not falling pregnant until he has some time to off that happens to fall around the same tme as me Oing...

Wow hun you have been busy lol!
No squished kids isnt a good thing is it? That mustve been a scary experience!
I hope you get your BFP hun :fingerscrossed: we are looking at extending our brood towards the end of the year.... but just thinking out loud... when my DF does 2 weeks on 1 week off its gonna take a while isnt it?? lol! How did you find that situation?

Hope everyone else is doing well.... take care ladies!!!

Mel xoxoxoxox

babyluv3
17-01-2007, 04:51
Hi All, :wave:

I was wondering if you might have the time to chat to one more mum with a FIFO partner.

Im a newbie, and stumbled across this section tonight, so I hope its ok to jump in and introduce myself.

Im a 33 yr old, stay at home mum of 3. We have an 8yr old daughter Taylor, 5yr old son Jack and our latest addition to the family is Zoe whose 18wks. I tell people Im a single mum of 3 when dp is away, and a single mum of 4 when he's home!! :laughing:

We live on the south coast, WA and my partner has been working at a gold mine north of Kalgoorlie, on 2week on, 1 week off, roster for almost 9 years. They are currently changing his roster to 8days on 6 days off, so his roster is a bit jumbled at the moment while they make the adjustments.

Bub's is a night owl, I have only just got her to bed, fingers crossed that she's now down for the night. I first put her down at 11pm, and thought, yay! She's asleep early tonight, but :no: I was wrong, so its now 3am and I must be the only one in australia still awake!! Lucky Im a night owl too! Wonder where bubs gets it from!! :laughing:

Dp is home tomorrow, and has to try and fit into our crazy schedule!! At work he gets up at the time that (since bubs was born) Im dragging myself of too bed, so he finds it hard fitting into our schedule!! Do any of you girls have this problem? Oh, its probably just me!! Dp blames me for staying up too late through all of my pregnancies, as all our babies came out with their body clock all wrong!!

Must go now and do the dishes before the sun rises!!

Michelle

Robs
19-01-2007, 16:13

I'm new to the chat group 'thing' and am so surprised at how many other mums are in a similar situation to myself and are seeking a little online chit chat, however I find the chat group difficult to keep up with. Please feel free to send me a private message or email which you can get from my profile. At least then I feel I can give you a better, more sincere response. As I have mentioned previously in this thread, I'm a new mum to a 5 week old boy, living in Perth with a FIFO DP. Life is pretty good, though I feel starved of adult conversation and would just love a bit of chit chat about daily life... Professionally I'm a naturopath and personal trainer so if I can be of any assistance please feel free to chat.

TeamAwesome
19-01-2007, 22:09
Hi Michelle,
I used to "Crash" early with both my DK's but with DD especially towards the end of both my pregnancies I only really got about 3 hours of sleep a night... it just takes a bit to get them into a better routine... DD had reflux which I think she's recently grown out of now that she turned one but it meant she slept poorly for the first 12 months. so I know what you mean... she slept better in her electonic swing I had to still look after my toddler while she had 20 min naps during the day... she now finally will have a 2hr nap during the day and sleep during the night or resettle reasonably easily... its taken a lot of time (sleep deprivation is the worst torture) I had to try to get her to go to bed with me (by actually taking her to bed with me) and keeping her with me.
Thank God she's now sleeping better now for me to start going to bed earlier and it'll all be better!

2s'nuff
27-01-2007, 14:36
Thought I'd start my day down here today. Haven't had much time to sit online since we got home and I often don't get down here.

Tierney Jyla (Tea-are-ney J-eye-la) arrived safe and sound on the 8th. 7lb2oz 49cm long.

DH has left Nifty and flew out to Newman on the 23rd on a 2/1 roster. So far things seem a lot better than they were at Nifty (food work conditions etc) which is good. MIL flew out yesterday. So I'm now on my own with a 3.5yo and a 2.5wo. Would be good if DD1 ever shut up. I think she is going to drive me mad. Her 2 days at daycare might soon become full time again - even if it costs me all of my baby bonus.

I hope you get your BFP hun :fingerscrossed: we are looking at extending our brood towards the end of the year.... but just thinking out loud... when my DF does 2 weeks on 1 week off its gonna take a while isnt it?? lol! How did you find that situation?

I think it's all a matter of luck. We'd been trying for a few months before DH started FIFO, and it was only after he'd started it that we actually fell pg. Rather than counting days etc, I just decided if it was going to happen it would.

Dp is home tomorrow, and has to try and fit into our crazy schedule!! At work he gets up at the time that (since bubs was born) Im dragging myself of too bed, so he finds it hard fitting into our schedule!! Do any of you girls have this problem? Oh, its probably just me!! Dp blames me for staying up too late through all of my pregnancies, as all our babies came out with their body clock all wrong!!

Welcome. We too find it hard to fit in the time schedule. But it's usally me used to going to bed early and DH staying up until ungodly hours. Will be interesting to see how things go when he comes home next, as he'll be helping with the night feeds (whether he likes it or not).

Hope those of you with schoolies are coping, not long to go now.

In another few weeks I'll be up for a get together, that is if men in white coats haven't come to get me:rolleyes: .

2s'nuff
27-01-2007, 14:40
Ooops! Forgot the personals:

Kewchicmum...hope bubs arrived safe and sound and on time.
Robs...hope you are coping ok with Jett and being a FIFO single mum
Antlmummy...HGope you get the BFP you've been wanting soon. Good to hear your DD has grown out of her reflux. I know what it's like to cope with a bub with reflux, DD1 had it. So far so good with DD2, no signs of it.

kylie80
27-01-2007, 21:51
Hi There everyone, I am new to this section. I didnt ever see this section and am very happy to see it, I now dont feel like I am the only person with a fifo partner. My partner works a 4 week on 1 week off roster which is total rubbish and sooooo hard. We have a nearly 3 year old son and a 6m old daughter.
I find it very hard on my own. My DP did it for 2 years and came home for one year so we could have some time together, but he has just recently gone back and I am really struggling with it. :gloomy: I am really missing him and our son is really struggling as well. He misses him so much and I am just not the same as Dad.
I hope to speak to you all again soon.

2s'nuff
28-01-2007, 16:24
:hugs: coming your way Kylie80. YOu mentioned you're finding it hard. Is this because your DP is away, or because you now have two kids to deal with? This is only my first week with two kids and DH away so I won't know how well or badly I'm going to cope for a while.

Is your DP stuck with a 4/1 roster or would it be possible for him to change to something like 2/1?

Hasn't the weather in Perth been shocking this past few days! Have had enough of being cooped up inside with an irritable 3yo. Can't wait for a couple of cooler days.

Lisa

kylie80
28-01-2007, 16:39
hi there mousebrown :wave: It is definatly harder with the two kids. My DP used to bath the kids or look after them or give our baby a feed while I got dinner ready, which was a great help. and now I am finding it really hard to juggle everything. I am also missing him terribly and so is our 3 year old.

Everything is just so much harder. I cant go out without it being hard.

The weather has been awful here. Yeh we have been cooped up but luckily we have refridgerated air con. We have been on a play date today which was great.

Unfortunatley my partner's company does not do any other rosters it is 4 and 1 and thats it. I would love for a 2 and 1.

Speak soon

mythreelittlemonkeys
29-01-2007, 12:10
Its tough isnt it...I have a 7mth daughter and my DH away on a 3/1 but it can be very irregular...sometimes longer sometimes shortewr - its the never being able to plan anything that sucks...he doesnt even know most of time...they say it will improve come Easter but they always say that! Where in Perth are u??

kylie80
29-01-2007, 13:53
Hi there mytillieroo,

It sure is hard, I hate going to things on my own. we have been invited to a wedding and I have to go on my own. Luckily my DP's parents and brother will be there. Otherwise I would not be going.

I am in Mt Pleasant. Where are you?

bearsmummy
11-02-2007, 20:41
:hugs: to you kylie80, it sure can be tough with kids and a partner that works away. I try keep myself as busy as possible and try not to count down the days.

I have noticed since DS2 has started school full time i am missing DF a little more. With only 1 little rugrat at home i have a bit more time on my hands, but saying that, now that im working nightfill to pay our house that we are building im too tired during the day to do anything.
I feel bad when he flys in and the house isnt immaculate. Thank goodness he understands that im stuffed after working till 2am some mornings :)

If you ever need to vent hun, the ladies here are really good at listening :hugs:

How is everyone going? My DF is home till Wed so i have just snuck on here for a quick bubhub fix lol!

Hope your all doing well, would love to catch up with you all soon

Mel xoxoxoxoxoxo:wave:

kylie80
11-02-2007, 22:12
Thanks bearsmummy for the support.

How do you so night shift with your DP away and two kids to look after? Now that is multi tasking. Who watches your little ones for you?

My DP is home tommorrow night :yelclap: So I cant wait to see him.

Will speak to everyone soon.

Take care.x

bearsmummy
12-02-2007, 00:44
LOL no no honey... i have 3 kids :eek: my middle boy has just started full time school this year

Well thats another kettle of fish.... are you ready for a vent? lol!

When i was considering applying for the job (keep in mind this is only temporary whilst our house is being built) i asked all my inlaws and what family i have to help me out, oh and 2 close friends.....

In the end it has turned out ..step MIL wont help me out at all, MIL is just about the same. :mad: DFs older sis has now said she can only help out 1 night every 3 weeks (dont get me wrong thats help still but even that she makes out to be a big chore)
My 2 friends have been great and so has my sister without them i wouldnt have gotten through the past few weeks. :hugs:

On the week blake is home our sitters get a break and he sees what its like to deal with the kids by HIMSELF lol!!!

I usually only work 3 nights a week but the past 2 weeks i have only had 2 nights off... and most nights i have worked till 2am (some being 12 hr shifts)
But i have made it through.... the hard thing is this job had turned me into a real night owl, im up late every night as i cant sleep and then everyday im so grumpy...i feel so bad for my kids.

Got a quiet week this week and get some sleep, only got 3 shifts so heres hoping they only call me in for one more shift... they like to call me in at the last min... grrr!

Hope you have a great time with your DP home honey, you deserve a break! :hugs:

Chat soon,
Mel xoxoxoxo

Laksa
12-02-2007, 10:55
It sure is hard, I hate going to things on my own. we have been invited to a wedding and I have to go on my own. Luckily my DP's parents and brother will be there. Otherwise I would not be going.

hi everyone
kylie, i know exactly how you feel! my DH is only away every 2nd week but it seems that is always the week that we are invited to "couples things". people must think my brother is my hubby as he is my usual back-up date LOL.
DH is home now for 9 weeks as our first bub is due in 2 weeks :smiliedance:

bearsmummy
12-02-2007, 14:16
All the best for your inpending bubbas arrival LL :D
9 weeks, wow... that will be great for the 3 of you!

How is everyone else? DF is on the PS2 atm so i thought id have a bubhub fix, at least this way he cant complain :laughing:

2s'nuff
12-02-2007, 17:21
Hi-ya girlies

One very tired mummy here at the moment - don't know how you are managing to do night shift Bearsmummy. DD2 has been restless over the past few days/nights so it's been fairly full on. And with DH home (flies out tomorrow) I've also been cooking every night etc. I think it's been harder with him home than it was when he was away. At least DD1 didn't complain when she had eggs for tea 3 nights in a row:laughing: .

Got to go, DD2 still not settled.

mythreelittlemonkeys
12-02-2007, 17:50
I am in Orelia Kylie
DH home in 6 days...then onto a 2 week roster :fingerscrossed:

bearsmummy
13-02-2007, 19:12
Hi mousebrown :hugs: for you hun.
I hope you get rested soon, it makes our job so much harder if we are tired doesnt it?
I hope DD2 gives you a rest soon :hugs:

I sometimes dont know how i do nightshift either.... i guess i know its not forever, only until the house is built. When im tired at work or home, i just picture my new house, i gets me through...
Thank goodness the 2 big boys are in school 5 days a week :laughing:

I know what you mean about dinner, my kids are happy with spaghetti on toast one night, toasted sambos the next.... if i was to ever serve that up to DF........ HA! what a joke, i wouldnt be brave enough to :laughing:

DF flys back out tomorrow so ill be able to pop in a bit more often, hope everyone is doing well.

2s'nuff
15-02-2007, 13:51
Hi mousebrown for you hun.
I hope you get rested soon, it makes our job so much harder if we are tired doesnt it?
I hope DD2 gives you a rest soon

I sometimes dont know how i do nightshift either.... i guess i know its not forever, only until the house is built. When im tired at work or home, i just picture my new house, i gets me through...
Thank goodness the 2 big boys are in school 5 days a week

I know what you mean about dinner, my kids are happy with spaghetti on toast one night, toasted sambos the next.... if i was to ever serve that up to DF........ HA! what a joke, i wouldnt be brave enough to

Last couple of nights have been better. DD1 has slept though and DD2 has allowed me to have two 3hour blocks of sleep each night.

How much longer until your house is completed?

I think the DH's get spoilt for choice at mealtimes on site. I still have one night a week (when DH is home) when I say I'm not cooking and it's eggs on toast for tea. If DH doesn't like it he can cook something for himself. Have also found that DH won't offer to do the dishes anymore. He'll half pack the dishwasher and load up the sink, but won't get his hands wet. At least he still has to do his own washing on site, so he'll help sometimes with it at home.

Anyone ready for a get together? What suits people better - weekday or weekend.

kewlchicmum
16-02-2007, 13:12
I to feel that way at times I think its cause we get set in our ways when they are away and I think that helps us to cope better when they are gone that when they come home we well both of us have to adjust to them being home and stuff.....I miss my DH to bits when he is gone and since we have just had our little boy 20th Jan this is my first week home alone my DH went back to work on Monday and he was a real big help esp with night feeds he would do one and I would do the other but now its all me that that is a little scary no one to say hey...mmmm

bearsmummy
16-02-2007, 16:57
Last couple of nights have been better. DD1 has slept though and DD2 has allowed me to have two 3hour blocks of sleep each night.

How much longer until your house is completed?

I think the DH's get spoilt for choice at mealtimes on site. I still have one night a week (when DH is home) when I say I'm not cooking and it's eggs on toast for tea. If DH doesn't like it he can cook something for himself. Have also found that DH won't offer to do the dishes anymore. He'll half pack the dishwasher and load up the sink, but won't get his hands wet. At least he still has to do his own washing on site, so he'll help sometimes with it at home.

Anyone ready for a get together? What suits people better - weekday or weekend.

Oh you got it in a nutshell Mousebrown! :yes:
DF is sooooo fussy now, theres now way im going to cook a buffet every night just so he has a wide variety to choose from! :laughing:
DF neither really helps with anything atm either, i hope hes just going through a "faze". If he does manage to do the dishes or something, he thinks he deserves a medal! :mad:

My house is still a while away, slab is only going down this week so we should be able to move in around July/ August.

Glad your getting a bit more rest now hun, we arent much use when we are running on an empty tank!

I would love to catch up soon hun, most weekdays are better for me. I work most nights so please excuse me if sometimes i look like im away with the fairies lol! Anyone else???

Kewlchicmum congratulations on the birth of your bubba boy! :yelclap: What did you name him?
I can imagine it must be daunting with your DH away now and you alone with bub, do you have much support from family and friends?

Hope everyone is well,
Mel xoxoxoxo

mythreelittlemonkeys
16-02-2007, 19:26
Congratulations Kewlchicmum :party:

I am up for meeting sometime :)

Not much to report here, only that every day seems to hold some sort of domestic disaster for me at the mo...todays was somehow i have ripped the front seal of the front loader (how I have no clue) and cos it customer damage not covered by warranty and gonna cost arm and a leg...meanwhile no washing machine!! not funny with baby!!
Oh and the bath mat has melted(WTF) to the bath and I cant get the goo off...
ho hum well DH flies in at 8.30 on Sunday night and out again on Friday at 4.20pm (hardly seems worth it!!) -see what I mean about him never getting shifts the same...
okay gotta fly - my tummy rumbling :chef:

bearsmummy
17-02-2007, 11:18
Oh and the bath mat has melted(WTF) to the bath and I cant get the goo off...

i know at Woolies they sell this stuff called goo remover, i have used it before and it works wonders! :thumbsup:
U can find it in the cleaning aisle and its in a little trigger bottle.

Hope you and DH have a nice time together... what a shame hes only home for a few days :hugs:

kewlchicmum
17-02-2007, 21:10
Hello ladies
Hello bearsmummy and mytillerroo....
Well we called our little boy Lachlan it was almost the only name we both liked as my DH did not seem to like some that I really liked but we both loved Lachlan so that was that. Well my first week home alone is almost up come Monday arvo and so far so good fingers crossed mmm last night tho I just could not seem to settle Lachlan at around 4am he was just full of beans and well me eyes were hanging out of my head as I know you guys know what I am talking about. He has been sleeping most of today so I have been catching up on housework and washing my hair thats the hardest part being able to wash your hair with out them waking up half way though it dont you think?
I am loving this site as I dont know any one else apart from you guys who are in the same boat with partners working away or any one who has a new baby or baby for that matter apart from my neighbour but she is like so busy all the time and stuff she also has twins but her DH works in Perth...mmm
I have my family mum dad and little sister (16) mum is good apart from her wanting us to go over to her house all the time and its just not that easy any more takes me half a hour to pack up and make sure I have every thing not like the old days were I could drop every thing and run.....listen to me sorry ladies better go and full my tummy now before bub wakes up for a feed take care

kewlchicmum
20-03-2007, 12:56
Hello anyone out there its been real quite around here of late all the DH/DP must be home I am guessing well my DH is away and bub has had a tough day yesterday crying for most of it and would not sleep well he did aroung 8.30pm but no sleep for the whole day no matter what I tried going for walk rocking in chair going for a drive in car nothing worked and the afternoon he just cried if I put him down to go to the loo boy of boy it was a tough day yesterday :fingerscrossed: today is going to be better.

mythreelittlemonkeys
21-03-2007, 15:31
:hugs: :hugs: :hugs: :hugs: hope today is better !

babyluv3
21-03-2007, 15:52
:hugs: from me too!!

I know how you are feeling, bubs had her needles on Mon :crying: and she's still cranky!! And dp was home (went back today) and he didnt even come with us to the drs:no: !!

She's only slept 6 hrs in the past 24, infact, she's been sleeping very poorly for almost 2 wks now, very unsettled, reminds me of those early weeks. I feel like I have a newborn again :eek:

kewlchicmum
21-03-2007, 23:39
babylvb3
Well today has been much better for DS and me I say as I wipe my brow lol....but I am a bit worried about what you said babylvb3 I have to take DS in for immunisation needle (2months) so I think I will wait for DH to come home and come with me other wise I will prob be a crying mess as I get upset when he really starts to cry it really upsets me. DH is home next Tuesday woho.
So how are all you chickies out there going?

babyluv3
22-03-2007, 01:32
babylvb3
Well today has been much better for DS and me I say as I wipe my brow lol....but I am a bit worried about what you said babylvb3 I have to take DS in for immunisation needle (2months) so I think I will wait for DH to come home and come with me other wise I will prob be a crying mess as I get upset when he really starts to cry it really upsets me. DH is home next Tuesday woho.
So how are all you chickies out there going?

Sorry to make you worry about taking bubs for his needles :( They were dd's 4mths (although she is now 6mths :o) Im afraid Ive been a bit slack with bub no#3!! Its so hard fitting in appointments these days!!

Zoe didnt have a reaction last time (same immunisations) just the red lump at the site (which has happened every time Ive taken my bubs) so it was a bit of a shock for me. She was still her normal self, just more grizzlier at night time and harder to settle plus the fever. She's also teething, and started solids, so Im thinking maybe its a mixture of everything and its made her feel out of sorts!

I have to look away when the needle goes in, then poor little bubs starts to cry :crying: it breaks my heart!! But it doesnt last long and, well, it is better than the alternative isnt it? I just try to remind myself of that so I dont get too upset!!

Its good to have someone with you, it acts like a distraction. Dp didnt come this time, but his niece (19) was down for the week, so she came along and kept me company!!

kewlchicmum
22-03-2007, 23:41
Hey it's ok babyluv3 I know it's got to me done deff don't want him getting sick from any thing that can be helped. I will just get DH to hold him and I will look away when they give him the needle I will prob be the one walking out of the Doctor's room crying I am a big sook:thumbsdown: silly me I know lol.

babyluv3
22-03-2007, 23:50
I took Zoe to the dr today, she has a virus :crying: poor little bubby!!

I feel awful cause she had her needles mon, but she's been having diareah (sp?) since last week, (which I forgot to mention) and being unsettled and disrupted sleeping patterns.

Mmmm, you'd think Id have a better clue with baby #3:o

Its so hard to tell with teething, starting solids, and just every day life!! Im in and out all day with my eldest at school full time and my son part time, I dont seem to know if Im arthur or martha these days, poor bubs never gets a chance to have a proper routine!!

Hopefully, within a few days she'll start feeling better, unfortunately with a virus you just have to ride it out!!:(

And of course dp is back at work, so I shall have to soldier on!!

Coyote
27-03-2007, 12:32

I am very new with this site so bear with me!! Not sure whats going on!
I have just moved back to Perth after living in Melb for the past 6 years. I have a little 9 month old boy Ky.
My husband has just started working on the mines we are now in the 2nd week of his 2 weeks on 1 week off. Cant wait for him to get back.
I was only saying that there should be groups set up for ladies with their husbands going away.
Would love to meet some new people, not sure how it all works in Perth.
Please PM me.
Leanne

2s'nuff
27-03-2007, 13:30
Welcome LeanneHehir.

:hugs: to babyluv3 and Kewlchic. Hope you are having a better day today.

DH has been in and out again since I last posted. We had a relaxing (as possible) 5 days in Busselton. Though I ended up with a baldder/kidney infection (not much fun) and DD1 has started having tanties when something doesn't go her way.

:banghead: this morning gettting DD1 to daycare was a trying experience to say the least. I figure the week has to start to get better soon.

babyluv3
27-03-2007, 15:16
Hi LeanneHehir :wave: welcome home!! From what I hear (dp's family are in vic) you returned just in time, before vic runs out of water!!)

Thanx mousebrown :hugs: Hope you are feeling better. Its hard when you arnt feeling your best but you still have to soldier on when you've got rugrats to look after!!

Unfortunately bubs is no better. She still has diahrrea and severe tummy pain, its awful. She's barely sleeping, waking every 30-90mins and soo hard to settle her. I didnt get her down till after 5:30am this morning, as a result I was too exhausted to get up and get the kids to school. Even then she only slept til 8:30 then woke screaming again, and filled up her nappy!! It's been just over 2wks now. We are waiting for the result of her stool sample, so hopefully that'll will give the Dr a clue about what's going on. She's still her lovely smiley self, except the pain and she's soo tired!

I can't wait for the school hols to start next thurs, at least I'll have 2 1/2 wks of not having to worry about getting up early after having 2 hrs sleep!!

Dp home tomorrow, so he can take the kids until tues, I just hope he's not expecting too much bedroom action!! who am I kidding, he's ALWAYS expecting it!!:laughing: Not that he gets it, I'm only averaging 4-5 hrs sleep normally, since bub was born, 6mths of sleep deprivation, mmmm, no good for the libido, but hey, what bloke understands that???:banghead:

kylie80
27-03-2007, 15:26
Hi LeanneHehir

Welcome to the thread.

I too am in Mount Pleasant. My partner works a 4 week on 1 week off roster. He has had to do 6 weeks this time and he is home on friday yah!

I have a 3 year old boy and a 8.5 month girl.

Let us know if you want to chat.

2s'nuff
28-03-2007, 10:53
Unfortunately bubs is no better. We are waiting for the result of her stool sample, so hopefully that'll will give the Dr a clue about what's going on. She's still her lovely smiley self, except the pain and she's soo tired!

Dp home tomorrow, so he can take the kids until tues, I just hope he's not expecting too much bedroom action!! who am I kidding, he's ALWAYS expecting it!!:laughing: Not that he gets it, I'm only averaging 4-5 hrs sleep normally, since bub was born, 6mths of sleep deprivation, mmmm, no good for the libido, but hey, what bloke understands that???:banghead:

Hope you get some answers on bubs probelms soon. It's really hard when you don't know what to do for them.

As for your DP, tell him you might consider some push-and-shove if he does a full night of bub feeds/settling for you. Suggest it the night after he has bub and see what his response is :rolleyes: :laughing: .

Have a great day!
Lisa

kylie80
28-03-2007, 22:07
Hi there, I love this one mousebrown

"As for your DP, tell him you might consider some push-and-shove if he does a full night of bub feeds/settling for you. Suggest it the night after he has bub and see what his response is" .

I get my DP to do most night feeds when he is home for his week but it doesnt seem to work for me :confused:

Take care all.

2s'nuff
29-03-2007, 12:25
Kylie, my DH is such a sleepaholic when he's home. If he gets woken up before the's had about 11 hours sleep he's like bear with a sore head. As for night feeds, he's never even suggested he do one for me, and when I was sick the other day and said I might have to wake him to do it, he just looked at me as if I'd suggested he jump out of a plane without a parachute.

TeamAwesome
29-03-2007, 14:34
babyluv-I hope you got some answers about your bub (and I really hope it wasn't rotavirus... which has recently been through our house)

Gotta love how the men think cos they work such long hard hours and we're the home makers we should do everything and they get away with almost nothing when it comes to the kids. My DH likes to say go ask mummy. I like to tell him that he is a parent too I'm sick of making all the decisions for the kids. and I shouldn't be the bad guy all the time for not letting DS have something he wants.

kym479
29-03-2007, 21:35
My hubby left on Monday for his 4w stint and I have found that the first 2 days are always the worst. I feel miserable, tired, don't feel like eating (well cooking for myself I should say) and sorry for myself. By day 3 I have found that I start to pick up slowly and find that the days actually fly by so quickly. He has already been gone for 4 days in a blink of an eyelid.

At my mothers group today, one mum said that her bub is showing signs of teething - pink cheeks, dribbling, grumpiness etc. I said that maybe that's what's wrong with DS but you never know as he is usually grumpy every afternoon anyway. I have the "peaches n cream" complexion so I assume that's what he has too. I wish babies/kids came with instruction manuals sometimes!

The worse part for me at the moment is thinking about the fact that hubby is going to miss so many things this year - my birthday next week, his birthday the week after, Easter, mothers day & fathers day. Selfishly I am upset for me to have to celebrate on my own, although a friend of mine has invited me to dinner so I am not moping (which I was planning on doing). :(

2s'nuff
05-04-2007, 12:35
Hope everyone has a fantastic Easter, with/without DP/DH:wave: .

A quiet one planned in our house as DH doesn't fly in until Tuesday.

mythreelittlemonkeys
05-04-2007, 15:00
HAPPY EASTER 1 AND ALL!!!
(i am one of the lucky ones DH is home)
BIG HUGS TO ALL!!!
Eat Heaps of Choccies!!!

kewlchicmum
10-04-2007, 22:35
Hey everyone :wave:
Well I hope you all had a great Easter and happy Easter from me and DS lucky for you chickies how had there DH/DP home ie Mytillieroo. And love the pic Mousebrown so cute were did you get the ears from?
Well I am home alone DH has taken a week off work to go on a fishing trip to Sharks bay with the boys from work which I am glad he has been under lots of stress with work and us having bub (was not a easy preg have had probs since week 12 but thats a whole other thred or post) and having to put up with me lol and my mood changes and coming to turns being a first time mum and all that jazz.So I just really want him to enjoy himself and chill out...
So what have you all been up to of late I have not been on for a wee while so fill me in....DS had his neddles the other day two of them thank god DH was home when I booked it well I made sure I booked it for when he was home I was a big sook DS cried his eyes out he knew the second needle was coming and got his leg all stiff and it hurt him even more poor little man he was a bit off that day but worse the day after I found.
Well I better stop :ecomcity: and give some one else a change to

kym479
13-04-2007, 21:45
Well the weeks are flying by - only 10 days to go now until DH is home. I have been coping alot better this "swing" than I thought I would so I am really proud of myself. The only time I have been really cut up was over Easter as it was my birthday and DS 1st Easter and Daddy wasn't there. The other thing that got to me was one of my closest friends forgetting my birthday and she still hasn't remembered. :no:

Well like I posted earlier, I had a feeling DS was beginning teething and I was right. Looking in his gob Wed night, there are 2 very white things under see through gums. Raced out the next day to buy him a teether that I could stick in the fridge to soothe him (and some bonjella and panadol for me). Also tonight was his first night of trying solids - well rice cereal anyway. He was quite funny - didn't spit any out but wasn't very impressed! :laughing: Can't believe my baby is growing up so quickly!

mythreelittlemonkeys
14-04-2007, 17:52
DH goes away on Monday :( after 4 weeks home (unexpected - he has been working in Perth though) and I will be home (not alone) with my baby and my two step children for a week till their mother flies back from bali. Really not looking forward to saying goodbye...

2s'nuff
14-04-2007, 21:22
:hugs: to those whose DH/DP are away at the moment.

Kym...:hugs: for your birthday. Hope yoru firend remembers soon. My bestie remembered mine a few weeks ago, just on the wrong date (2 days out). Didn't have the heart to tell her she'd missed it.

My DH doesn't fly out until Tuesday, but tonight I could quiet happily driven him out to the airport and put him on a plane, any plane to anywhere :banghead: :laughing: .

Does anyone else have a DH/DP who deciddes that at peak kid time (bath, dinner etc) to call relations and talk for ages? If I interrupt him or ask for help all I get is foul (sp?) looks and a grumpy DH for the rest of the night.

kylie80
15-04-2007, 15:15
:Does anyone else have a DH/DP who deciddes that at peak kid time (bath, dinner etc) to call relations and talk for ages? If I interrupt him or ask for help all I get is foul (sp?) looks and a grumpy DH for the rest of the night.

Hi Mousebrown

My DP does this but he will go and mow the lawn or go in the shed and start a project:banghead:

Kylie

M~T~J~M
17-04-2007, 19:04
:wave: everyone...

I'm new to this whole concept of my DH working away.
He left last Friday and moved to QLD - we are in VIC. I may see him in 2.5 weeks when visiting my sister up there, or if his roster doesn't suit, it may be 5-6 weeks before me and the kids see him.
He works a 7 day on/7 day off roster, but the company doesn't pay for his flights in and out, so as you can imagine, it will beocme quiet expensive paying for two flights each way every week.
We may be following him up there, but at this stage, we are unsure as to when it will be, or even where it will be.

How do you all cope with your DH/DP's being away for so long??

2s'nuff
19-04-2007, 21:16
Welcome M,T & J's MUM.

I think it's easier when you know exactly when you are going to see your other half again. Routine, Routine, Routine, it's the only way I get through the two weeks DH is away.

:hugs: coming your way. Hope you get to see your DH again soon.

Coyote
20-04-2007, 11:16
Hello everyone, thanks so much for the kind welcomes!!
Very funny I did make it out of Vic just in time before the water runs out!! I know we laugh about it but its quite scarey too I guess!!
DH parents own a farm on the boarder of NSW and VIC, its a real worry for them having no water allocations. But anyway enough of that!!
Sorry it has taken me so long to get back on here, I have been back in Melbourne packing up the remainer of the house.
Now its all done!!
Feels good to know.
DH is back on Monday and I have arrange a suprise trip for him Down South. He hasnt been down that way so I have booked us and DS a night in Margaret River and a night in Dunsborough cant wait. Monday cant come soon enough!!

Coyote
20-04-2007, 11:43
Can someone please tell me how I can put photos on here and change that junior member thing!! I am struggling here!!

kylie80
20-04-2007, 13:41
Hey leanne

You cany change the junior thing - that needs to be earned. The more posts you do the more mature you become:laughing: I think that is how it works - someone correct me if I am wrong.

If u want to up load photos on a thread you need to register to photobucket or some other program like that and you can then copy the links onto you post.:thumbsup:

Kylie

Coyote
20-04-2007, 15:49
Thanks for that but not sure if I am that skilled to do that!!
Think I will be on here for awhile before I get off being a junior!!

2s'nuff
20-04-2007, 21:54
You're right about the Senior thing Kylie. It changes automatically after you've posted a certain number of times (100?)

Leanne...if you want to add an avatar photo (the little photo at the top), go to User Control Panel and select Avatar. There are instructions on what to do. Enjoy your holiday down south, hope you have some nice weather.

I've survived my first week (three days) back at work. The past few days have gone by in a total blur, can see even more routines forming. DH has a shock coming to him when he comes home next as he'll have to cook dinners on the three nights when I work:eek: :laughing: .

kewlchicmum
08-05-2007, 22:58
Hello everyone :wave:
Sorry I have not been on here for a while my DH just flew out yesterday and lets just say its been a whirl wind here running around to banks and all that stuff you have to do together and its all rushed cause they are only home for a short while and its the only time you can do it together. My routine has gone out the window with our DS while DH is home and now I have to try and get it back cause DS has not been sleeping during the day but sleeping thought the night woohoo:party: which is great ya.
Does any one elses routine go out the window when DH or DP is home? or is it just me feeling like picking it up again. And we are still painting trying to pick colours for rooms and carpeting and all that fun reno stuff on a newish house well its not reno on a new house now is it...mmm silly me.
So how is everyone been going?

Laksa
09-05-2007, 07:39
Does any one elses routine go out the window when DH or DP is home? or is it just me feeling like picking it up again.
YES! Harper is much better behaved when its just us two. i think he gets distracted by us talking and won't sleep in the day. when i'm here by myself, its probably boring so he doesnt mind sleeping lol
DH flew in last night so he's got Harper for the morning, i'm just having my brekkie then back to bed :D
and later i am going for a facial and massage, can't wait!!

Coyote
09-05-2007, 10:29
Oh enjoy your time with DH!! We have 6 more sleeps to go and counting!!
Yes routine does go out the window but I really cant complain cause on the other hand DH is soooo much help!!!

Starlet
09-05-2007, 11:46
No, our routine stays the same, but that is also probably to do with my kids ages(almost 5 and almost 3 1/2). They have to go to bed at bedtime. They know when it is, so they don't try any funny business! lol. If they are awake when DP comes home, they won't get out of bed, but they will ask him to come into their room and chat to them. We do all our running around when they are at kindy, or daycare, so it's not too bad.

It just really noisy at our house when he is home because we have DSD then as well!

He'll be home tomorrow night. YAY! Means I get to put my feet up and rest up!

kewlchicmum
10-05-2007, 22:49
Well its good to know that I am not the only one well sorta :) and hope you enjoy your facial library-laska I try and go to the hair dressers when DH comes home thats my treat hey we all need one and if you dont have one you sould thing of one to do for yourself.

Coyote
11-05-2007, 11:01
Hey guys, well 4 more sleeps until DH is home I really cant wait. Its a shame he wont be here for my first mothers day but we will survive. We are going out for brunch and then going to the zoo, cause Mums get in free!!
What does everyone else have planned?
I know what you all mean about the pampering, I have booked in to get my hair done for the 31st May, I really cant wait, its the only real thing I do for myself. I think I might go a complete change this time!!

2s'nuff
11-05-2007, 13:32
Coyote...have a great first mothers day. Pity you are alone. Me, I might be lucky to get a phone call from DH if he remembers:rolleyes: . DD1 has done a few things at daycare, but I'll be the one to pick them all up from daycare - no surprises in store for me.

kylie80
11-05-2007, 20:32
Hey girls

My computer has s**t itself so I wont be on here for a while but will hopefully talk soon. As soon as it is fixed i am straight back on here.

Miss u all

Kylie

kewlchicmum
11-05-2007, 23:58
hey girls so is any ones DH or DP going to be home for mothers day? mine is not and its my first mothers day. Well happy mothers day to you all and esp to first time mums and the ones who are not going to have DH or DP home :hugs: Is any one doing any thing special?
I will get in early just incase I dont get a chance to before the big day.

Starlet
12-05-2007, 11:38
My DP is home! YAY :) He was away for xmas last year though :(

I have no idea what we're doing for Mother's Day. I don't think I'll know until tomorrow!

I hope u all have a lovely mothers day!

mythreelittlemonkeys
12-05-2007, 20:19
No not got DH here and its my first mothers day too :( but I did get a huge bouquet of flowers today from him and mytillieroo :)
Happy Mothers Day to all, special hugs to those without DH!!!:hugs:

2s'nuff
12-05-2007, 20:30
Happy Mothers Day :party: for tomorrow

Hope everyone has a great day with/without thier other halves.

As DH is away, I've decided to claim a day next time he's home and declare it my mothers day. No getting up early, cooking, washing, cleaning...the list goes on.

Have a good one

Coyote
13-05-2007, 18:16
Happy MOthers day to all!!

Well I got woken up bright and early by DS, not that he knew what day it was. I got a lovely bunch of flowers and some lovely presents, all that DH had left in the cupboard for me.
Wish DH was here to share the day but we only have 2 more sleeps to go and then he said he will take me for half price waffles at Gelare when he gets home!! YUM
So we went for Brunch this morning at the Como with my Mum and my Dads Mum, was very nice. Then we headed off to the zoo cause mums got in free. Rushed around there cause Pop wanted to get home to see the 2nd half of the footy!
Great first mothers day just a shame DH wasnt here to share it!
Hope everyone else had a lovely day and got spoilt.

Di-78
20-05-2007, 08:06
Hi everybody (:hugs: to those I remember talking with and to the new people I am looking forward to meeting)..............
I used to come visit and chat on here when my partner was working away. Then he decided he wanted to work in town for a while, now he's gone away again. He just got a phone call one arvo asking him to fly out the next morning and decided to take it to top up the funds. Working in town wages just getting us through and savings had dwindled away. He didn't even apply for the job.....how strange how things work out when you need it. Now the only problem is that he's starting on a 4 on 1 off basis, which is a big stretch when you've been home for 8 months, just working most days/nights. He's in nth qld (for the moment)
The first week was GREAT. I got sleep at night and got so much done, those jobs that just were getting put off. Now we are heading in the 3rd week and I think I burnt myself out, not sleeping to well and nothing is getting done (is this the humpweek, instead of wednesday being humpday). I suppose the 4th week will be exciting as counting down sleeps till comes home. Was talking to him last night and he wanted to pack his bags and head home!!!!!!!!! How do you get your guys to stay at work? I know the $$$$$ factor drives most people. He has a problem with staying at any workplace long. We are trying to get a business started we have had planned for a few years, will he get frustrated with that too?
Hope all that are home alone are getting through (just keep smiling) and to those with partners home.....enjoy!
Talk later :wave:

Laksa
20-05-2007, 08:38
How do you get your guys to stay at work? I know the $$$$$ factor drives most people. He has a problem with staying at any workplace long.
well, my DH just quit his job! looks like he has a new one tho, he's going on a site visit this week. he finishes up on june 5th and is planning to start a new job in july. he had 4 weeks before and 6 weeks after Harper was born then went back and realised how fed up and bored he was with that mine. i think they just get sick of the one place? he did talk about getting a job in perth but i said no way! yes, i miss him when he's away but i LOVE the week home. and he is on a good roster (currently 7/7, new job probably 8/6). i don't think i could do it if he went away for 4 weeks. hope you are coping ok :hugs:

2s'nuff
21-05-2007, 21:44
:hugs: Di-78. Hope the week gets better for you. Don't think I'd cope witha 4/1 roster. My patience and sanity has almost disappeared byt the end of week two (2/1).

library-laksa...my Dh sounds like yours. He suggested getting a job in town as he feels he's missing out on TJ growing. I flatly told him no. Explained (don't know how much sank in) that a) we couldn't afford it and b) he spends a lot more quality time with teh girls when he's home from the mines than he ever would if he worked in town, oh, and c) said we probably wouldn't be together too long as a couple as we drive one another mad when he's home for long periods of time. And now he's talking about changing sites again (only been at this one since Jan).:banghead: just getting used to the names of the people he works with at this site. Now I'll have to go back to blankly nodding as if I know who he's talking about:laughing: .

Take care,
Lisa

Di-78
25-05-2007, 14:58
hope all having a good week....its friday uhh the weekend.
Good news though.....picking dh up from airport soon. Was meant to be home the next week. Hope that doesn't mean longer next stint. Just play it by ear. Is trying to get a shorter period of time (like 2 weeks instead of 4).

M~T~J~M
26-05-2007, 20:25
:wave: all,

I have popped in briefly once before....a little while ago. I just haven't been around too much as with DH away, it's a little too busy to jump on here, iykwim??

Does anyone else feel like the days are blending into weeks, into months, etc? I seem to be going through the same thing each and every day. I can't get out of the rut.... I used to walk every day without fail, now I'm finding it hard just to get outside, lol! Today was my first exercise walk in almost a month! When DH used to be at home (working in town), he didn't do all that mush to help around here anyway, but at least he was here each night and on weekends to give me a break. Now, I just don't get any break it seems.

He works a 7 on, 7 off roster, but he is living/working in QLD....we are in VIC. It's just too costly to fly him home every 7 days, so he is only coming home for 6 days each month - 6 weeks. We are planning on moving to QLD to be closer to him, but we just aren't sure as to where exactly we want to live. It's all so hard!!

When he moved, the family all said..."We're here to help you out. Anytime you need a break/some help, we're here. Everything will be ok", etc, etc. You know, it wouldn't matter if we were here or on Mars at the moment. I'm not seeing anybody any more frequently than we would of before....

Anyway, I've been rambling for long enough. I'm not always a whinger....it was good to have a little vent though, lol!

Night all,
Sarah

kewlchicmum
07-06-2007, 12:34
:hugs: to M,T&J'S mum

library-lasaka so your DH is leaving the mine how do you feel about that?

Hello mousebrown long time no see he he

And well :hugs: to every one who's partner works away it's a hard task to take on not every one can do it...and some times it's even harder when they come home and your routine gets upset then they leave again and you have to pick it back up again....know what I mean.