View Full Version : sensitive preg tests?

mel79
21-08-2006, 19:11
Hello there
I was just wondering whether anyone could shed some light....
AF was due today(14DPO) or tomorow and I used an ultra sensitive fortel test yesterday (picks up 10 ml/U) which was BFN - could it still be too early? the pack said you could test 5-7 days before AF is due
or am i grasping at straws?

Lunar
21-08-2006, 19:16
Maybe wait a few more days.
But I don't think you will get a BFP, sorry.
If you know when you o'd then you should get a BFP, do another test in a few days if AF doesn't some.
Good luck, I hope I am wrong and you do get a BFP:fingerscrossed:

Mummamoo
21-08-2006, 19:19
Remember, we don't always ovulate at day 14 so if you ovulated later (even by 1 or 2 days) then you aren't due yet .... try again in 3 or 4 days for a better result.

My AF was "due" on a Friday and I got a BFN ...... tested again on the Monday and bingo, unmistakable and very positive BFP !!! So, our body does play little tricks on us :)

*Sparkles*
21-08-2006, 19:26
My HPG didn't show up a BFP until 2 days after AF was due, which would have been approx 16 DPO.
Try again in a couple of days and good luck :fingerscrossed:

Anna&JacksMum
21-08-2006, 19:33
the same thing happened to me today. V faint 2nd line at home, went to doc's v faint 2nd on test. He's ordered bood tests to confirm...:fingerscrossed:

mel79
21-08-2006, 20:01
anna &jack's mum - how overdue is your AF? good luck with your blood test

thanks guys - am just about resigned to AF showing up
- congrats to allthose with BFP's !

Anna&JacksMum
21-08-2006, 20:07
mel79...

4 days - with both my bubs, the test was v faint at first. So I'm pretty sure it's the same this time...

luckymama
22-08-2006, 07:40
goodluck for your BFP :fingerscrossed:

Jamily
22-08-2006, 08:07
I kept getting neg ultra sensitive HPT's until 4 days after AF was due when I was pregnant with DD.

This pregnancy I tested the day before (not expecting much!) and got a BFP.....

Good luck for your BFP :fingerscrossed:

22-08-2006, 08:14
i was getting negative HPTs until i was 6 weeks!! including on that bloody fortel one. (ultra sensitive my ****!!)

jack-e
22-08-2006, 08:15
the box i bought said i could test up to 5 days before. the line didnt show up though until about 3 days before. best to wait another couple of days.... good luck

mel79
22-08-2006, 19:00
Thanks for all the kind support guys - you've made me feel much better!
I'm now 15 DPO and my temp dropped a bit yesterday but normally it only drops on the day i get AF and there's still no sign of AF - my temp has dropped a few times this cycle already. I'm going to test tomorrow cos this is quite weird!

WEre any of you charting when u fell preg? Could you tell anything from your temps? Has anyone else had their temp fall for more than a day or 2 b4 getting AF?

mum2girls
22-08-2006, 19:34
With my first daughter i didnt get a positive test till i was 8 weeks. I even had a blood test that was negative and i would have been about 5 weeks when i had it. I was so sick so i knew there was something wrong. I dont know why it didnt show up but i now have a healthy 4yr old daughter. With my second daughter it showed up 1 day before af was due. I guess its just different for everyone and each pregnancy.

mel79
24-08-2006, 12:53
well now i'm even more confused - my temp dropped for a couple of days and i thought AF was coming for sure, but this morning (17DPO) my temp went up again and still absolutely no sign of AF and BFN on fortel sensitive yesterday :confused:
Havent got symptoms yet - i was moody at the end of last week, but over the w/end my mood was heaps better (usually i have bad mood swings b4 AF). Bbs arent sore but nipples are all sensitive.

mum2girls - when you said that a blood test was -ve at 5 weeks, was that 5 weeks past O or 5 wks past your LMP? I've got a doc appt next Wed, so i'll be 23DPO (AF 9 days late) - do you reckon they'll do a blood test for me?

Nikki - did you have any symptoms? when did they start?