View Full Version : Non Vaxers - Did/Do you discuss vax w/ family?
21-08-2006, 15:34
The other night hubby and I were out with MIL & FIL for dinner and drinks. Somehow the issue of vaccinations came up and I stated that I will be thoroughly researching which vaccinations and/or immunisations my child receives before they get the jab.
MIL - 'They WILL be immunised'
Me - 'NO, they wont have ALL vax's'
MIL - 'Then I will take them to get vaxxed myself'
Me - 'NO you wont.' (and then I quickly changed the subject)
Non-Vaxers - did you discuss your decision with family members? What did you do/say when they objected? I know I dont even HAVE a bub yet - but already I dont want to leave my baby with my in-laws.
I plan on feeding my bub organic food (I will boil and steam all vegies myself) and I dont want bub to have any custards that have sugar or artificial rubbish in them until a decent age - but already I think MIL and other well-meaning family members will give bub stuff behind my back...
cmd'smum
21-08-2006, 15:46
Pink...... Don't listen to them...your MIL has had her turn raising her own children and its non of her beeswax!!! you're doing the right thing anyway by researching the pros and cons yourself. Am sure whatever you decide you will decide because you think thats the best for your bub!!!
Maybe also read the posts on the hub for and against Vax?
good luck!!
the_queen
21-08-2006, 15:51
I haven't discussed it with MIL. She's lovely, well-meaning, but I can just see a "discussion" about this issue, so I choose not to discuss it with her.
Mum asked me the other week whether I'd taken DS for his shots yet, and I was just kinda vague: "oh, I'm still researching, it doesn't hurt to wait until he's older, and I want to be fully informed before making any decision".
Ally if I was you I wouldn't leave bubba with MIL either!! I'm pretty sure she couldn't just take him/her to get jabbed though, she would have to have your medicare card and baby's health book, so don't be too woried that she can get it done behind your back.
21-08-2006, 16:00
She couldnt just get the vax's done without your consent there is no way.
Not even her g.p would do it without fear of reprisal plus he would need the health book to make sure bubs hadnt had it already etc.
Ive never discussed it with my mum or DP's family because well frankly its not their decision. Of course my mum knows where i stand & it was only a few weeks ago after advising MIL about being on ACA in regards to vax's etc that it was "talked" about cause she asked which side of the fence i was on.
Grandparents always do things like feed the grandkids things they shouldnt have etc hell we survived ! But at the same time if your adamant about something then stick to it & make sure your heard. I had to do this with my MIL about bloomin nuts & chocolate as she tried to give both of these to Boof at 8mths :banghead: & then tried again to give him chocolate as part of his Christmas pressie 2mths later !!!!!
Luckily i always have DP backing me up & thats what counts, a united front !
My mum was naughty a few times & tried to sneak Boof some cream off her cake which had me giving "the look" lol but it was hilarious cause Boof can tell if something has cows milk in it a mile off so he had his hands flailing & shaking his head lol so that made her realise. As i said to her it doesnt agree with him for starters plus he isnt into sweet things like that especially as the custard i make etc have no sugar in them !
Im over being angry with her about doing things like that cause i know she doesnt do it out of malice & it wasnt like she was offering it as a newborn. She is a proud grandma who loves her little man & she loves to spoil him anyway she can :D
21-08-2006, 16:02
IAlly if I was you I wouldn't leave bubba with MIL either!!I didnt think she would be able to get vaxxes done without medicare details etc, but by gosh I reckon she would give it a go!
I have all these ideals that I am determined to stick to when I have a bub. Of course I'm going to be open-minded and willing to be flexible (if say for example I am unable to breast feed then I have no problem giving bub formula) but I think that MIL will be a hard egg to crack.
I think I agree with you Queenie - MIL cant have our bub over for the night til bub is at least 4 years old! LOL :laughing:
i'm pretty lucky in that my parents are really supportive on that issue and agree with not vaxing. dp's parents don't really care, as they realize he is OUR child, not theirs.
as for sneaking food. my folks fed us a whole organic diet with no sugar or junk etc etc. we're going to feed ds the same. however, my gran used to sneak us kitkats and boy did we love it!!!! as long as it isn't something that will cause food reactions or something, i reckon you have to be a bit flexible. like I'll be okay with my folks giving ds chocolate but not going to macdonalds and i REALLY hope they respect that.. maybe on the food issue you just need to set some ground rules.
but for vaxing. you could just be really tough and state very clearly that it is none of their business. i guess it depends on what you want your relationship to be.
Funkychicken
21-08-2006, 19:55
There is sooo much information that belongs in the 'NEED TO KNOW BASIS' catergory. I have learnt not to offer information to my parents and inlaw's based on the fact that they operate on a completely different wavelength. If I tell my mother about something I have done or not done with the children she usually answers with "You never did that and you turned out fine!" DID I??????????
In fact my mum spotted organic milk in my fridge and shook her head saying, "Your turning into a greenie". WTF??? I didn't even know the term was still used!!
21-08-2006, 20:58
Good thinking FunkyChicken - I know that I'm only going to cop criticism otherwise. Its not worth the heart ache or the waste of breath trying to get her to see my viewpoint. Ahh well - You live You learn :yes:
RedPanda
21-08-2006, 21:01
I didnt think she would be able to get vaxxes done without medicare details etc, but by gosh I reckon she would give it a go!
:eek: I can't believe she said she'd get it done herself!! It's amazing how people sometimes lose sight of boundries and appropriateness when babies are involved!!
RedPanda
21-08-2006, 21:02
There is sooo much information that belongs in the 'NEED TO KNOW BASIS' catergory. I have learnt not to offer information to my parents and inlaw's based on the fact that they operate on a completely different wavelength. If I tell my mother about something I have done or not done with the children she usually answers with "You never did that and you turned out fine!" DID I??????????
I am just learning this!