View Full Version : Cannula in labour just in case??
Ffrenchknickers
12-08-2010, 21:28
So, had a 5 minute appointment at the hospital the other day and the doctor said they *will* put a cannula in once I arrive in labour because it is my 5th baby and I am at higher risk of bleeding....which I am not convinved of....I guess it is like anything that they do as 'routine'....for me, alarm bells go off and I want to run a mile. I guess this really isn't intervention though as it wont reeeeaaallly interfere with the birth process. I just don't like the way they want to medicalise (is that a word? :laughing: )birth
I am not sure whether I will consent to it yet...
Anyone else been told they need a cannula when they are in labour. I wish I was going to the birth centre again :hissy:
Does this post even make sense??? Very tired.:sleeping:
overitand36
12-08-2010, 21:32
very standard when any sort of risk is determined
not an intervention just preparing, only takes 5 mins so I would just put it in when and if needed
but as you know you don't need to consent and I would think with number 5 you would know more about the birth process than them
i would have asked him to explain how it being your 5th means that you are higher risk of bleeding. personally, i would refuse it. if i bled then they could put one it, takes a couple of minutes doesn't it? as in, the time it takes them to fetch the blood for a transfusion, someone can put one in. hmmmm, look into it hun.
TripleTime
12-08-2010, 21:33
Makes sense.
I say, decide on the day.
Ffrenchknickers
12-08-2010, 21:36
very standard when any sort of risk is determined
not an intervention just preparing, only takes 5 mins so I would just put it in when and if needed
but as you know you don't need to consent and I would think with number 5 you would know more about the birth process than them
Yeah...I just find it hard to see myself as high risk just because I am having bubby 5. I will keep thinking about it ...I am inclined to say no :)
1+1=5 ...I didn't ask her because I wanted to look into it myself before I say yes or no. I think I will probably say no....gah, my husband was a phlebotomist for 10 years, he could put one in in a hurry if he needed to! :laughing: He did say they can be harder to get in in an emergency though....
Mrs Nietzsche
12-08-2010, 21:36
I *really* hate canulas so I guess if it was me I would be refusing... however if you have an epidural or anything like that you'll have one anyway.. but for *me* it would interfere because I really find them invasive.
Having said that - I know my mother in law had a big bleed after her 5th child .. but I'm sure the increase in risk is just so small.
Ffrenchknickers
12-08-2010, 21:39
I definitely wont be having an epidural (had one once and swore never to again!!) so no probs there. I think it is the invasiveness that bugs me :yes:
biscotti
12-08-2010, 21:41
I'd refuse it. I hate them and if it is "just in case" well I'd say no and just carry on and do your thing, give birth, pick up bubba and go home :goodvibes: :hugs:
Ffrenchknickers
12-08-2010, 21:43
I'd refuse it. I hate them and if it is "just in case" well I'd say no and just carry on and do your thing, give birth, pick up bubba and go home :goodvibes: :hugs:
Hmmm, yes I think I shall :yes:
I think I might go hang out in the park next door (or Maccas if it is the middle of the night :laughing:) until I am ready to push :)
Mrs Nietzsche
12-08-2010, 21:58
I absolutely hate them. I had one with DD2 (induced, had epidural) and the nurse didn't even want to take it *out* after DD2 was born, all good, epidural off, drip off, etc.. I got up for shower and caught the cannula on the edge of hte doorway OUCHHHHHHHH really disgusting feeling having it bend backwards whilst inserted. I don't know about other people but I find they give me a disgusting painful 'unnatural' feeling that I can't ignore. Yuck.
:barf:
i have a needle phobia so it would be very distracting for me. Refresh, I can just see you in the maccas car park :laughing:
Purplebird
12-08-2010, 22:02
I hated having a cannula too. It was painful and irritating and it seemed to restrict the movement in my hand. I don't think I'd fancy one 'just in case' either.
Ffrenchknickers
12-08-2010, 22:04
Yes, yuck, eww!! I don't blame you for hating them Mrs N :no: You raise a good point....I will spend my time worrying about bumping it or catching it on something - which I really don't want to be focussing on at all.
Rightyo - thanks, no cannula for me :D
Hehe, I was thinking McCafe (inside) rather than the carpark :laughing: I am very anti maccas but nothing else would be open in the middle of the night...:p
honeydew
12-08-2010, 22:15
Katie, you are such a calm person and I can so picture you sitting at McCafe sipping a nice hot drink, whilst calming breathing through your contractions and noone even noticing you are in labour, let alone 10cms almost ready to push :laughing:
To answer your OP though, I honestly can't see why they need to have one in beforehand. I had a big bleed after Mason was born and was rushed to surgery- by the time they all stuffed around getting everything ready (in reality was probably only 10 minutes if that), they could have put a canula in if I didn't have it in already. The anethetist was just standing around waiting for everyone else to be ready before knocking me out anyway.
I think you'll find it very distracting, not what you want when you are bringing your perfect bubba into the world :)
Ffrenchknickers
12-08-2010, 22:19
Thankyou :hugs: I tend to be a bit less calm coming up to 10cms though :laughing: I would likely be calmer in McCafe than in the hospital though...it is sounding like a better and better idea :laughing: Is Maccas there open all night??
Thanks for sharing that....you are right, there would be plenty of time. I think I will say no :) You are right about it being distracting, I think it would really annoy me.
Lateralus
12-08-2010, 22:26
I am going to play devils advocate here. As a nurse (but not a midwife so I don't claim this is my area of expertise).. I can appreciate why they much want to have a cannula in if you are deemed a high bleed risk. It is all well and good to say that they can just put one in if and when they need one - but if you have a catastrophic bleed, it is likely to happen very quickly & with a big bleed comes low blood pressure and makes it very difficult to cannulate in an emergency. I guess you have to weigh up what is going to be worse.. Having a little plastic tube in your vein for the duration of your labour, or needing one in an emergency & not having one there. Just saying.
honeydew
12-08-2010, 22:28
Where are you having bub? In Toowoomba? I have a lovely big lounge room that the kids can't access that you would be more than welcome to labour in! :D
Ffrenchknickers
12-08-2010, 22:31
No,
3boysnpregnant
12-08-2010, 22:35
I would say no refresh I respect and can even appreciate lateralus' point of view but you are not high risk. I find it absurd just because you have had 4 children already that they are even trying to class you as high risk for that reason only.
When I was in labour with ds3 (early) so had a canula in I found it awful got in my way hurt and just made the whole thing even worse than what it was..
Lateralus
12-08-2010, 22:36
No worries Refresh.. Like I said, obstetrics is not my area of experise. I was just going on what you said in your OP about having a higher risk of bleeding.. Sounds like you are well informed :)
Ffrenchknickers
12-08-2010, 22:38
Thanks again Lateralis....I will continue to look into it and talk to Dh more as well but at this stage I think I will say no. It is scary to look at the worst case scenario...I guess I just have to weigh up how likely that is. It would be awful for them not to be able to find a vein.
Yeah 3boys, I really think it will gross me out and annoy me.:yes:
EquineMum
13-08-2010, 07:41
I want to play devil's advocate on this one too - only because I don't mind needles though...LOL
After my 54 hours of labour it was deemed the only way my DS was coming out was via C/S. They needed to insert a canula in my hand for some antibiotics as well. Trying to insert a cannula in a woman who is writhing with contractions coming one on top of the other, fairly dehydrated AND has low blood pressure is next to impossible. I will actually be asking for one myself up front this time round to save me the agony of getting one later (if needed) when things heat up. I'd much rather they get it in first shot when I am still fresh, have a decent length of time between my contractions and don't have to "lie still please, you're making this very difficult!" :shame: later on in the piece.
That's my take on it LOL Why am I always the one that goes against the grain?!! :laughing:
MissWinter
13-08-2010, 08:11
I also HATE canula's. I had one in labour when I had an epidural... I found it REALLY hindered me when trying to push cause I could barely move my hand. It was more *irritating* than anything else in labour. I'd say no until it's absolutely necessary.
Ffrenchknickers
13-08-2010, 08:20
Thanks SarahKristine.
Thanks for sharing Equinemum....I guess because I have not had that experience with any of my 4 labours and I certainly believe it not to be the norm ( :hugs: ) I am less inclined to consent to it. I can understand why you would though. They are 'worried' about me bleeding after I give birth so I wont be having contractions other than the mild ones that deliver the placenta.
Hmm, yep, I think I have decided no cannula for me...oh dear, they are going to love me even more now I am adding to the list of things I don't consent to :laughing: ...internals, vit K, Hep, B, epidural, ARM and now cannula.
MissWinter
13-08-2010, 08:22
Hope they don't give you too much crap!
Ffrenchknickers
13-08-2010, 08:25
Hehe, thanks...I am sure they will be fine actually :)
Refresh while you do have a higher chance having a bleed with your fifth. It is not a standard procedure everywhere to put in a cannula (just in case). They didn't do it to me until I was heading into surgery to have the c section that I didn't end up having. Then they wouldn't take the horrible thing out for over a day after he was born. :hair: It really interfered with breastfeeding and nappy changing etc...
Hun before you decide ask them why they think you are high risk for it. I think I have told you this before (cant remember) my MIL had 8 (yes 8 LOL) kids and she has only had a cannula in for the second last and that was cause of that other thing ya get (ya know the thing I mean)
I would say no till they gave you good reason behind having it.
mumtobodie
13-08-2010, 10:15
Being a nurse I insert cannulas all of the time. It is much easier to insert a cannula as a precaution when you are first there. If you do start to bleed it is much harder to find the veins as your blood volume will decrease & from experience it will be much more painful as they will probably need to dig around a bit to find a vein.
Ffrenchknickers
13-08-2010, 10:25
Shaz, she is basing it purely on the number of babies I have had.
I understand that mumtobodie, Dh said that too.:) I would rather take the small risk of it being a little harder to find my vein in the unlikely event of something going wrong though. I am very thin with big veins so I am sure it wont be too hard. The chances of anything going wrong are very low, I just want to go and give birth!
Shaz, she is basing it purely on the number of babies I have had.
I understand that mumtobodie, Dh said that too.:) I would rather take the small risk of it being a little harder to find my vein in the unlikely event of something going wrong though. I am very thin with big veins so I am sure it wont be too hard. The chances of anything going wrong are very low, I just want to go and give birth!
Wow that is sucky!! I would flat out say no then. You havent had issues before with it have you? I assume you havent.
you're the boss sweets. you are right, you are not sick, you are there to give birth.
It can be very uncomfortable if inserted wrong ,one cannular I had hurt the whole way thru the birth stopping me from getting into any decent position or being able to bend my hand. As others have said it can be inserted at anytime and if you have no history of bleeding then it seems quite unnessicary.
mumtofivegirls
13-08-2010, 22:46
They have tried to do that with me too. I discuss it before hand with DR (he's an absolute legend) and he writes all the "no ...." on my form.
I have seen a nurse unwrapping a needle out the corner of my eye and had to motion madly for the DR to say no to them (they didn't read). The MW just rolled her eyes.
He said to me recently that I don't need to have one in because if one is needed, he will put it in fast enough anyway.
In the olden days it was considered a risk of bleeding with some women around their 10th baby. But because 5 children means a lot these days, they have transferred the same information instead of changing the numbers. Make sense ???? Tired !
Just do your pelvic floor exercises as strong muscles help control any bleeding. I have been told to focus on these for this reason.
Do you have good veins? If so, then request to have it inserted if/when it is needed. But if your veins are crud, then it might be a good idea to get one put in beforehand because if something did go wrong, you wouldn't want them wasting time trying to get a cannula in (from reading previous posts of yours, I know you're pretty fit, so I'm going to assume that your veins are going to be fairly good).
Ultimately though, it's just a cannula... assuming it gets put in by someone who knows what their doing, it shouldn't cause you any discomfort. But it's always going to be your decision... they can't force you into it.
I hope you get the canula-free labour you would like, but if you do need one could it go into your arm rather than your hand? I've had one before just beyond my wrist, and I imagine it would be a little less annoying for you. As for it catching on things, they have wee little fabric tubes that work a treat, much like a footless sock.
Best wishes :)
Skibunny
14-08-2010, 10:16
Ob/Gyn is just being careful in case your veins collapse I'd say. :rolleyes:
Last year, I had a nurse wait too long to cannulate me and I ended up with a tube being thread through the main artery in my neck because all my veins had collapsed.
Have a think about it. If you request it go into your wrist, rather than elbow area or hand, probably wouldn't bother you too much :)
I think I'd be inclined to decline. If you're after an intervention free labour then the default should be no cannula (if that makes sense). By having a cannula it could be interpreted as an assumption you will 'need' medication.
Also, after seeing my Dad in ICU recently with 4 of them in they kind of make me shudder.
ravenrutherford
14-08-2010, 12:03
I feel your frustration,after my first child was born at a whopping 10.2 lbs i lost 1.5 litres of blood and was canulated.When i was in labour with my second child i was told i would be canulated ''just in case'' .Well it all went smoothly and no bleeding .When i had my third child i was told the same story''just in case''i was very annoyed as i hadnt bled with the last one and found the canula very painful and it got in the way alot.So in the end i was canulated yet again.I swore to my husband that next time round NO Canulas,i havent bleed again so see my risk as being low.I know its all a precaution to help save lives and im thankful i was cared for so well when i had my post birth bleed.We are yet to see if my wishes are granted are not,i cant help but feel bullied into each time.
I hope you make a decision you are happy with and that its granted.
Raven mum to DD5.5:yes:DD 3.5:pDD 16 MNTHS:yelclap:
Ffrenchknickers
23-08-2010, 19:25
Thanks guys for all the replies. I have decided I will say no :) I have done a fair bit of reading since and nowhere can I find having 5 babies among the top reasons for bleeding.
My veins are great so there will not be a problem in the unlikely event of something going wrong.
I guess I will just add it to the list of all the other things I am saying no to :laughing:
sweetseven
23-08-2010, 19:56
Do you have good veins? If so, then request to have it inserted if/when it is needed. But if your veins are crud, then it might be a good idea to get one put in beforehand because if something did go wrong, you wouldn't want them wasting time trying to get a cannula in (from reading previous posts of yours, I know you're pretty fit, so I'm going to assume that your veins are going to be fairly good).I have terrible veins and recently went to hospital with shortness of breath. They put in a canula to do a simple blood test - apparently it is now hospital procedure to put in a canula for any blood test or IV medication just in case it is needed later for something else.
After several hours it was finally determined to be a simple UTI infection and the canula was removed and I was sent home with antibiotics.
However, because my veins were so poor the canula was put into my elbow (preventing me from bending my arm) not my wrist, as the nurse couldn't find any suitable veins at my wrist.
-----
What I am trying to say is that if your veins are poor, the canula might be more intrusive so therefore less desireable when unnecessary.