View Full Version : 1st b'day what to do???

Kaileysmum
21-08-2006, 11:16
Ok so DD's first b'day is in 6 weeks, and we cant decide what to do, so I need advise. Please help us make the decision, by voting on my Poll.

Thanks heaps.....:wave:

Melo
21-08-2006, 11:26
I chose Go to the park with family and friends for a BBQ as this is what we are doing for DS's first birthday. Although we arent having a barbecue just some finger food. I have invited all the mothers and their babies from Mothers Group! :)

Me
21-08-2006, 20:57
Although it would be lovely to do something small I'm sure that grandparents etc will get their noses out of joint if they're not included in at least something(I know mine would!) even though at the end of the day it should be your choice.
Good luck

21-08-2006, 22:07
Go to the park with family and friends for a BBQ :thumbsup:

danik
21-08-2006, 22:12
A friend of ours had a party in a park and had decorated a gazebo.

She hired some play equipment, organised games and had lots of kiddie finger food.

The adults were catered for with a barbie.

When our Bub comes I'm not really sure what we'll do. Maybe the barbie at home with family and close friends. I'm sure Bub won't know what's going on but it's a good excuse for a party!

Karizma
21-08-2006, 22:22
We just had a small family party with us and grandparents and auntys and uncles. Nothing big. Just a BBQ out the back. Was heaps of fun :thumbsup:

dannii
21-08-2006, 22:37
i sais, park+bbq, but even at home would be great.
thats what im thinking for DD's 1st.
a party with friends and amily at home or park.

oleander
23-08-2006, 00:58
I would do the BBQ at the park with friends and family. Should be decent weather in 6 weeks time. How many people are you having?

annsam
23-08-2006, 06:14
We had a BBQ lunch party for DS and he freaked out. Too many people, too much attention, we didn't enjoy it because we were running around like headless chooks. This year (for his 2nd) we are going to the animal petting zoo to have a BBQ lunch with another family.

zenifa
23-08-2006, 07:25
My DD's 1st b'day party was a week ago and we had a small group of family and friends at the local park for a brunch....so we did have a sausage sizzle BBQ, kid friendly dips with vegies, fruit platter and I made some vego snacks for my vego friends plus we had cake of course. There was a playground which the kids enjoyed, plenty of seating and we decorated it with balloons. The cleanup took about 15 mins but we did have to make two car trips home to fit all the presents!!(My tip, get people to drop off gifts at your house either at the beginning or end, unless you don't mind trying to get them home and make sure its a park with toilets!!). It was a fun day for us all and DD enjoyed it as it was small and not too overwhelming. Don't stress, try to enjoy it as much as possible.

Addison'sMum
24-08-2006, 12:52
My Ds's 1st birthday is in 5wks tomorrow and i'm planning a BBQ at home, that way nap time isn't going to be a problem and generally it will be more convienent for me. I know our place is kiddy safe for ds and the other children also and won't have to worry about them running out on to the roads and escaping from us allowing us a bit of time to relax also.

I'm not going to too much trouble but it is his first birthday so it is pretty special for us all to celebrate.

spring
25-08-2006, 13:26
My DD's Birthday is in 5 weeks too. We're going to have a party in the afternoon at the park down the road, Iv bought 2 bubble machines from K-mart (they were $12 each & they blow thousands of bubbles:thumbsup: ) & Im hiring a 4m square playpen with some age appropriate toys to put near the BBQ table that way if there running off too much they can have a play in there while mum has her cake.
Im really excited Its sooo fun planing there party isn't it:smiliedance:

Niki
25-08-2006, 13:28
im going to have a bbq for jakeys 1st bday

Kaileysmum
10-09-2006, 16:09
Thanks guys for all the replies. Its so hard to decide what to do, but it looks like we'll be having a BBQ. Which should be good. DD is a real people person so she'll love having lots of people around LOL!!!

10-09-2006, 16:15
I chose going to the park with family & friends. We did this for DD's first birthday and it was great, we had a BBQ & the best part...no mess at home for us to clean up :D