View Full Version : Constipation during pregnancy - normal?
shirleysmum
25-07-2010, 09:23
I'm sorry if this is too gross, but has anyone experienced have constipation and lots, LOTS, of wind during early pregnancy? I am nearly 6 weeks pregnant. Last night I had quite sharp pains in my tummy, which was extended and tender to touch. Lots of wind (sorry if TMI - I got relegated to the couch consequently!) and vomiting, which strangely seemed to help. It lasted about 45minutes. I was very close to presenting to the Emergency Department, as I was worried something bad was happening. I'm also on crinone progesterone, so I think some of the above can be side-effects? I've had some morning sickness with vomiting the last few days. I woke up today, feeling fine apart from mild nausea, but most importantly no bleeding.
Is this common for pregnancy to play havoc with bowels? How is this different to a miscarriage? Any remedies?
Any comments would be so much appreciated? Thank you!
Yes it's completely common! I think they say it's because the hormones that calm and smooth the uterus so it doesn't cramp does the same to the bowels so things slow right down.
A lot of girls I've seen drink some prune juice so you could try that. Try avoiding any foods/drinks that are prone to giving you wind as coupled with the constipation you can end up in quite a bit of pain as the wind gets stuck and can't get out ;)
Are you on elevit by any chance? I feel like I harp on about this but with my last pregnancy I was on elevit and because it's basically double the vitamin content (which means double iron) it can make it worse. For me I was in serious pain every day with a heat pack wrapped around my back, curled up on the lounge. I'd take it in the morning and by about 3 I was really sore. I only made the connection after asking around a bit, and then not taking it and noticing it didn't happen like that when I didn't take it. So this time I'm just taking fefol and it's a lot better.
shirleysmum
25-07-2010, 13:54
Thanks Aylaah! Just the reassurance I needed. I thought that once I got an :bfp: all my worries would end, but instead it has just created a whole new set of worries. I would not have described myself as an anxious person, but I am right now! There is so much that people don't tell you about pregnancy...I am just learning on run, like everyone else did at some stage I guess! I am on Elevit, and will consider alternatives.
Thanks again!
ForeverHopeful
25-07-2010, 14:35
Very normal. Eat lots of fruit.
Ruby Sneakers
25-07-2010, 14:47
Urgh!! I feel ur pain!!
I've been suffering from a mild bout since I was about 8 weeks (and with hyperemesis I couldn't take the prenatal vitamins as they set me off terribly) I just drink heaps of water and use some benefibre in some juice at least once a day and it seems to help a bit.... Hanging out for bub to arrive and get my body back under control!!!
There's one from blackmores I think that you take twice a day, so in a 24 hour period you have the same vitamins but in two doses spread apart which can help with the iron thing. My general vitamin levels are good, and I took fefol with the kids I have so I just went back to something familiar for me :)
babydreaming35
25-07-2010, 17:53
Join the club :yes:
Twins Kelly
25-07-2010, 18:05
I've started taking metamucil in my juice every morning and it works wonders!! I highly recommend it! And the further along you get the worse it gets as your bowels are really squished. So def. invest in some and also lots of fresh fruit.
Oh I'm hearing ya!!! I've been so bad, sometimes not going for 2-3 days! I'm coeliac also, so can't take any metamucil or anything like that, even the fibresure (gluten free) is out as it is from chickory root which is to be avoided in pregnancy!
So I've been cutting up prunes on my brekky and drinking a mix of prune juice and apple juice daily!
Sorry for tmi, but it's been so bad at times I've even bled and that is NOT good! Problem is that it can lead to haemorroids so best to control is best you can.
Hope you feel better soon, but it is one of the (bad) side effects of pregnancy!!!
shirleysmum
26-07-2010, 20:08
Thanks everybody! Ive been such a little piggy lately, but I've bought metamucil, eating lots of fruit, drinking water - and it all has been helping. I hate my body right now!
would like to know if constipation pains are in the lower abdomen. I am getting them every night and morning. Its driving me nuts. Is this normal??
I have a desperate urge to pass wind or poo but sometimes not one thing and meanwhile pain in near my bellybutton.
TNTbub
PositiveThinker
07-12-2010, 10:28
I find constipation pains are quite low in the abdomen. Sometimes a dull ache and sometimes a sharp shooting pain.
I find some stewed prunes (just prunes soaked in water, apparently better than straight dried ones as it absorbs faster), a glass of metamucil and occassionaly a glass of pear juice works for me. Also drinking so much water.
Try and keep on top of your bowels and show them who is in charge! It only gets worse towards the end of your pregnancy and you want to do everything you can to avoid hemorroids. Trust me.
fabulous it gets worse. Brilliant. Not. Metamucil actually strips your body of potassium. Which can cause heart problems.
I refuse to take metamucil. its not as good as the ads make out.
And Im speaking from my medical background.
TNTbub
Scootslove
15-12-2010, 10:32
I've suffered from chronic constipation most of my life - a left over from an eating disorder. Yuck.
Anyway, I can't take metamucil for the reasons TNT listed, it gives me terrible arrythmia and I ended up in hospital in ICU, not good. Generally I think it's ok, that's what my dr said anyway.
When I'm in a bad way (without TMI lol) I take Movicol (safe in pg) to get things going (4-8 sachets), this is the gastros fav cause it's safe and not painful like senna!
Daily I take a fibre mix I make myself:
250gm oat bran (or rice bran)
250gm psyllium
And 1/4 cup slippery elm powder
Mix it all together and have 1tbsp before breakie (in half a glass of water to get it down quick) then 1 to 2 glasses water/tea afterward.
I've had no probs since and my last colonoscopy was perfect.
Good luck, people sooo don't tell you this!
bedlover
21-06-2011, 22:17
Haha haha!! Love this thread.
Am completely suffering and had no idea the constipation and the pregnancy were related... So reassuring to know that is what is causing it!!
Off to the shops I go tomorrow to buy some prunes!! And maybe invest on a prune farm as I am only 5 weeks and seems I will be buying a whole lot of prunes over the next 35 weeks!!! :-)