View Full Version : First timer IVF

4littlebears
17-08-2006, 17:05

Hubby and I are going to look into IVF and have our first appointment with the doc in 2 week. Im going out of my mind about what to expect, what not to expect, the possibility that it wont work, the cost factor, I have sooooo many questions that cant wait 2 weeks to be answered. Im looking for other ladies to tell me about their experiences with IVF ( good or bad) so I sorta get the idea of what to expect. My history is, 4 children, 3 c sections and tubal ligation that cant be reversed. Im healthy etc, I think the main worry to me is the cost. Does being in a private health help?.

Thanx
Stacey.

*Sparkles*
17-08-2006, 17:14
Just wanted to wish you good luck. There are lots of lovely ladies on here doing IVF so I'm sure you will get lots of advice and support.
Our bub-to-be is as a result of insemination, we got lucky and didn't quite have to go down the full road of IVF. But it just goes to show that little miracles can happen.
All the best to you :fingerscrossed:
Hels :)

Mel-Jane
22-08-2006, 01:08
Hi Stacey,

We went through two rounds of IVF and it is tough. Sorry, I can't lie about that. Luckily we have a very healthy boy now. It does help a bit if you have private health, because they cover the operation procedures, that have theatre fees, like egg retrieval. But then most of the other expenses are covered with the new 80% rebate thingy.

We had a m/c with the first fresh round of IVF and had some frozen embryos so we went through frozen embryo transfer, but none were successful. If your partner is totally behind you it helps, my DH came to all of the appointments that he could and was always very supportive. Make sure that when you are going through it that you see the counsellor and write down all the questions and worries that you may have before you go in to talk to anyone.

I wish you all the best.
Mel:wave:

chookie
22-08-2006, 09:11
Hi Im a 1st time IVFer just started my 1st cylcle, Your 1st appointment with the doc write down every question you have even the small things, I remember my 1st visit I felt numb after there is so much to take in.

we felt alittle rushed and unprepared for the appointment we didnt know any one going thro this treatment. We had our GP appoint wednesday and he made the IVF appt fri 2 days later. I didnt know whether i was going to cry or not but the Dr De is great, and the nurses are so supportive because we were so underprepared i call with every question i can think of Im sure they know when the phone rings its me. My DH remembers stuff i forgot or didnt take in. Also I needed to think about it DH was ready to sign up on the day. I was blown away with all the meds to take needles to give DH was saying to easy no worries I had to stop the nurse and ask if there was anything I could give DH maybe a really big Needle a couple time, LOL then seriously the nurse said NO. Still DH was ready to go.

Private Health does help alot but going public with the new safety net that helps to. that just basically once you spent a limit on drs they reemburse more, I think its something like: after Family reach $500, singles $1000, Couples no children $1000 they start increasing reembursments but dont quote me on that just go in to medicare they will let you know in more detail

:fingerscrossed: Good luck with it all:fingerscrossed:

1st IVF/ICSI cycle

my babyemmy
22-08-2006, 16:13
hi hun i just want to wish you best of luck and as someone has already said write down everything you are thinking and ask your dr.
:fingerscrossed: for you. pm me if ever you need a chat and if you have msn let me know:hugs:

JuliaL
10-09-2006, 10:26
Hi Stacey,
My hubby and I have just been through IVF/ICSI and are pregnant on our first go (so far so good....) At the time, I found out a lot of stuff on the internet myself (google) including the best method of sperm retrieval for him (as he was azoospermic) which I think helped give us 13 sperm in the end!! :-)
I don't know where you live, but I can tell you that we swapped from IVF Australia to Sydney IVF as I didn't 'click' with our doctor and their charges were more. (don;t be afraid to go elsewhere if you don't feel right about your first choice). If you go through a private system, be prepared for around $7000 in fees, with around $5000 back from Medicare. If you have private health insurance you get back about another $1000 (I think) but we have lost track of all our costs, as male biopsy and ICSI and embryo freezing are NOT covered by either Medicare or health fund (go figure!!) so that has left us out of pocket over $3000 on top of this as well. You can get 20% back in your next tax return.
If cost is a problem, consider going through a good public program. I can't vouch for it as we didn't opt for public. Whatever you choose to do - I wish you both every success! And be as healthy as you can, cos I reckon every little bit you can do yourself, will help :)
Best wishes, Julia

framaine
19-09-2006, 08:47
Hi Stacey,
Just wondering how you went darl. My hubby and I are off to our ngp tonight after work to get our referral and I will make our appointment tomorrow morning. I am thinking of going with the next generation fertility clinics.
Can you tell me how things are going for you??? and t6he costs. I have done heaps of reading on the internet about it all and am now finding it all a little confusing, especially as far as what the actual costs are...
Many thanks,
Char

Cian's Mum
19-09-2006, 21:28
Hi 4littlebears , and welcome to Bub Hub ...:wave:

I'm wishing you all the best for your appt in 2 weeks . Where are you from ?

My Dh and I got very lucky with me being PG with my first cycle ... we are blessed .
Regarding the cost of IVF and without Private insurance , we had to pay 255 $ out of pocket for a stimulation cycle .

If you want to talk to other Ladies that are going through IVF , you are very welcome to post also in the thread : " First IVF Cycle in a Few Days Part 3 " .

I'm wishing all the best and don't hesitate to ask any questions ...

Take care .