View Full Version : 5wks pregnant and spotting???

cosmic
29-08-2005, 01:55 PM

I have just noticed some brown spotting when I went to the bathroom. I will be 5wks pregnant tomorrow. I have called the doctor and she has advised me to go to the hospital for a check up and ultrasound tomorrow morning.

In the meantime I could really use hearing stories of women who have had spotting in early pregnancy and everything turning out FINE!! I am trying to stay positive but it is really scary right now.

Thanks. :o

Chickadee
29-08-2005, 02:03 PM
After 2 m/c I panicked at around 6 weeks when I saw spotting again. Ultrasound a few days later confirmed a beautiful beating heart :)

If it's brownish and not continuous it's not as much a worry as reddish or continual spotting.

Good luck with your scan. The waiting is horrible I know!

lily81
29-08-2005, 02:45 PM
I had spotting at 5 weeks and I went for an ultrasound and found out I was having twins!! Everything was fine until week 13 then I lost blod and a clot so I was rushed to hospital. Again they did an ultrasound and everything was fine. The loss was put down to the fact that I had two placentas with the twins. All I can say is don't stress until you have had the ultrasound, bleeding in the first few weeks is extremely common and the more you worry about it the worse it will be for you and baby. (I know it is easier said then done though :) )

pinkandblue
29-08-2005, 02:54 PM

I had spotting with my first pregnancy and everything was fine and my daughter is now 2 1/2 years old.

I am now 25 weeks pregnant again and had brown spotting (cant remember when though) and also alot of red bleeding at 8 weeks (my daughter jumped on my stomach the night before) and I went straight to the emergency departed and got it checked out. I had an ultrasound that showed the baby was fine and the bleeding cleared up after a few days and I have been fine ever since.

Natalie

H&B'sMum
29-08-2005, 03:06 PM
If it's brown Cosmic try not to worry, if it's red then it's a different story. I spotted at about 5 weeks when my period would have arrived. It was my body trying to have a period but the hormones stopping it. Glad you are getting it checked out.
Try not to worry Sweetie and let us know how you go tomorrow.

cath
29-08-2005, 03:16 PM
Hi Cosmic,
I had brown spotting at 10 weeks and was told that if it is brown it is old blood and not so much of a worry. I was told that it was most likely irritation of the cervix which is really sensitive in the first trimester (I think I was told it was just in the first trimester but maybe it was for the whole pregnancy - can't remember) - anyway I was told the bleeding could have been caused by having sex, being constipated or being too active. Mine just happened on one day and never came back but it was still scary (particularly as I had already miscarried my first pregnancy). Good luck with your appointment tomorrow -I'm sure you will be fine. I am now 32 weeks pregnant and have heard of lots of women having brown spotting early in their pregnancy - stay positive.

Cath

Nickster
29-08-2005, 03:19 PM
Hey there Cosmic,
my Mum had brown spotting at about 6 weeks with the result being ME!!
I hope everything goes well for you, we all look forward to hearing how you go at the doctor's. :)

cosmic
29-08-2005, 03:54 PM
Thanks so much everyone. I really feel better hearing all those happy endings. My husband's comments were 'Holy Sh*t' in reply to the twins story. :D And that he should be so lucky in reply to the having sex as a cause (we haven't had any since we got the news I'm pregnant :o). So we have both really enjoyed reading your posts.

I did go for an extra long (10km) walk yesterday.. I normally do about 4-5km so perhaps I overdid it a bit. I didn't think it was a problem since I'm reasonably active.

Anyway, the spotting seems to have stopped for now (fingers crossed it stays stopped!) and I have used the whole thing as a good reason to go to bed with a book (and laptop as you can see) so perhaps tomorrow this will turn out to be a blessing if I get the chance to hear a heartbeat. :)

Will let you know how I go tomorrow. Thank you all again for your posts and your thoughts.

C x

H&B'sMum
30-08-2005, 08:24 AM
Good luck for this morning Cosmic, enjoy seeingyour little one for the first time.

WeThree
30-08-2005, 07:32 PM
Hi Cosmic, just wantedto let you know that i had spotting at about 5 wks with matilda and everything was fine. hope everything went well for you today and that your mind is at ease, best wishes, Erin

cosmic
31-08-2005, 09:06 AM
Thanks Erin (and everyone else). It does seem that everything is fine. At least everything is intact and in the right spot because that's all they can see at the moment. It looked like some kind of tear in the uterus that has caused the bleeding, but who knows what might have caused the tear? The sonographer said no-one knows - but it was quite a way from the embryo which was reassuring.

We have to go back in 2 weeks when it has grown enough for us to see a heartbeat because it was too early for that yet... but we are feeling much more confident after yesterday's ultrasound.

Phew!! :)

Chickadee
31-08-2005, 10:18 AM
That's great news Cosmic!

Nickster
31-08-2005, 12:29 PM
Hey Cosmic,
fantastic news about your bub! Now you can relax and put your feet up and have something with a lot of chocolate in it!

cosmic
03-09-2005, 07:01 PM
Hi again,

Well, there I was thinking everything was fine and this afternoon I have had more spotting... except this time it's red. :(

I've spent the afternoon in bed feeling sorry for myself (which is just as much to do with being completely exhausted from being pregnant!) and for now at least, it appears to have stopped.

If it continues, I don't know what I should do. I have already had the scan which showed it's not ectopic or anything like that so I'm not sure there's any point going and waiting at the hospital for 5 hours to see someone? And if I go back to the clinic on Monday morning when they open, I will still only be 5wks 6days so perhaps still too early to get a heartbeat even if it is fine.

This pregnancy business is far too stressful. If I lose this one, I don't think I can live through this again. :o

lily81
03-09-2005, 08:17 PM
As I said in an earlier thread I found out I was having twins at 5 weeks, they certainly had heartbeats!! I had had a miscarriage before at 5 weeks so I was a bit scared this time when I started having spotting again. Any type of blood is scary but keep doing what you are doing and try not to stress too much - I know it's easy for me to say. As for not being able to go through it again, if it does happen (even though you should stay as positive as possible) my mum says that all babies are fairies and the one's who don't make it are too good for this world and become our guardian angels. I like to think of it like that anyway, helps me cope with the loss. Anyway, I think you should see someone and if it is a good hospital and you are losing red blood they should get you in straight away. If you need to talk, just know we are here for you. :o

shanz
03-09-2005, 08:24 PM
rest assured cosmic,i dont want to tel you everything is fine if it isnt but katherine had red spotting at 8 weeks and everything showed up happy and healthy on the ultrasound totally unexplainable the doc said sometimes that will happen and no one has any idea why,the main thing is that it doesnt continue,if it has stopped then i think that is a good sign.
I've got my fingers crossed for you anyway. let us know.

cosmic
04-09-2005, 07:20 AM
Thanks Shandi and Lily, I am being positive but I also know that if it doesn't make it, it means something is wrong and it's for the best.

There doesn't seem to be much now (just the tiniest faint pink spot) so since it is a rainy day I think I will spend the day lying on the couch!

~Chick79~
04-09-2005, 08:15 AM
I agree, try not to stress to much about it today at least anyway! As you said it is the perfect weather to be curled up in bed with a good pregnancy book! :p

But with the bleeding, I had some at 10 weeks and since i had m/c before i was terrified but it turned out to be nothing! My OB said that it can happen sometimes but if you get serious cramping with it then go straight to the hospital.

I hope it has now stopped for good and you can relax!

Sticky baby dust for you my friend!

H&B'sMum
04-09-2005, 08:27 AM
Hi Cosmic,
Hope the soptting has stopped this morning. Try to stay positive and if you feel the need to get another scan done then do it.
We are here if you need to talk Sweetie.
Have a nice restful day and if the weather in Sydney is anything like it is up here in Newcastle it's the perfect day for curling up in front of the tellie or on the couch with a good book.

min
04-09-2005, 01:16 PM
Cosmic

If I were you, I'd go to the clinic on Monday, even if it's just for some reassurance. The waiting while spotting is enough to drive you mad .... I remember my GP wasn't at all concerned by my spotting (it could be caused by all sorts of things), but did say to watch out for cramps or back pain.

Now, just 'cause things didn't work out for me, doesn't mean you're in the same boat. I know your head will be filled with horrible "What if .." thoughts, but anything could happen from this point - positive as well as negative.

And if the absolute worst did happen, I think you'd cope wonderfully well - lots of us have been there, and are still super keen to get pregnant again, even though we know all the risks and the potential for heartache. This baby business is far more complex and mysterious than I'd ever imagined - but nothing ventured, nothing gained!

Here endeth the pep talk!

Take care of yourself, and let us know how you go

Min xx

maybe1more
04-09-2005, 04:23 PM
Cosmic- Honey, i hope your getting lots of rest, maybe its worth going to your doctors first thing monday morning, there also a health care direct phone number that you can call its a 24 hour number that you can call and its awnsered my a register nurse the number is 1800 022 222. They are really helpfull and they asked you lots of question to give you the best and accurant info possible. They will be able to tell you want the best thing for you to do. Im praying with every thing that i have they you will be ok!
In your thread you said you didnt know (worst case senerio) if you could go thru this again, but trust me, Ive been thru what feels like hell, going to and from the hospital every week untill my hcg level drop to 5ml and then i have to go once a month, every time i get my results i pray that they havent gone up(if they do it means cancerous tissue is growing in my uterus) I see pregant women and newborn babies when im there and i hold back tears, but after all this, i cant wait to get the green light to start trying again, because i know im my heart that i want another baby and im not letting anything get in my way,I can and will get over any hurdle in my way,plus the ladies in this forum have been amazing!
Sending you the biggest warmest cuddle to you and you hubby

Jamily
04-09-2005, 05:06 PM
In your thread you said you didnt know (worst case senerio) if you could go thru this again, but trust me, Ive been thru what feels like hell, going to and from the hospital every week untill my hcg level drop to 5ml and then i have to go once a month, every time i get my results i pray that they havent gone up(if they do it means cancerous tissue is growing in my uterus) I see pregant women and newborn babies when im there and i hold back tears, but after all this, i cant wait to get the green light to start trying again, because i know im my heart that i want another baby and im not letting anything get in my way,I can and will get over any hurdle in my way,plus the ladies in this forum have been amazing!
Sending you the biggest warmest cuddle to you and you hubby

Hi Firstbub

My best mate also is the process from recovering a molar pregnancy. She had 6 rounds of chemo which finished last month. She has just had her first monthly hcg test which has come back negative thankfully, so we are both celebrating. I was wondering if you could tell me when you have been advised that it is ok to try again. My friend has been told 12 months from now (her first negative blood test), but we have both read that 6 months is usually fine.

Cosmic - sorry to crash your post. I really really hope that everything turns out OK. I had spotting at 10 weeks in my pregnancy and Emily was born 11 weeks ago absolutely fine. My doc assured me that unless I had strong cramps that it would be fine and he was right.....xxxx

Thanks,

Claire

WeThree
04-09-2005, 07:33 PM
Hi Cosmic, I hope you are taking it easy tonight and that the spotting has stopped. I totally agree with min and firstbub, definetly try to get yourself to your ob tomorrow, even if it has stopped, only for your own peace of mind more than anything else, you need to be able to relax, not be stressing. hope your ok xx erin

clairbear
04-09-2005, 08:26 PM
My fingers are crossed for you too cosmic, feel like I know you a bit having read your other posts of your journey. I really hope everything turns out ok. Have heard of heaps of women who spot throughout their pregnancies and have totally healthy babies............here's hoping and praying that you are one of them!! I know nothing makes up for the anxiety though.......

cosmic
04-09-2005, 08:47 PM

Thanks so much for all your wonderful support. There has been nothing more than the tiniest pink/brown spots this morning and nothing for the rest of the day. I have spent the day on the couch apart from a couple of hours working on my uni assignment and am feeling pretty good now. I was feeling nauseous this morning but as I am approaching the 6wk mark I think some of the pregnancy symptoms are starting to kick in also. I couldn't have stomached coffee today if my life depended on it and I'm normally a huge fan :o! (have been having decaf since conceiving, mind you)

Since it has stopped I was thinking of just waiting and going back at 7wks like they said, but having read your posts perhaps I will go in on Tuesday since it is my day off.

Jenn, I might give that number a call and see what they think, or even call my GP or someone for advice tomorrow before going back to the clinic. If it starts up again of course I will go straight there.

And yes, of course you are all right. If I did lose this one, I'm sure I would move on and start trying again. But let's hope it doesn't come to that. :)

cosmic
04-09-2005, 08:51 PM
PS. Jenn, I can't imagine how tough that must be for you. You're very brave and I really admire you for still wanting to go through it all again after what you've been through (that goes for you too Min), and I hope you will be back in the TTC club in no time at all. Hugs. xxx

Chickadee
05-09-2005, 09:59 AM
Jenn & Cosmic,

there also a health care direct phone number that you can call its a 24 hour number that you can call and its awnsered my a register nurse the number is 1800 022 222.

I love that Health Direct 1-800 number too, called it yesterday in fact for help. Unfortunately it's only for WA, or so I was told after giving it out on here before, lol. I can't seem to find an equivalent help line for NSW or national :( Maybe someone else knows one or your GP may be the best bet.

Cosmic, I hope you're feeling better and the spotting has stopped. It's scary & hard not to think of what could be wrong, but you're doing all the right things. Snuggle up on that couch! Sending good thoughts to you from the west coast.

cosmic
05-09-2005, 10:35 AM
Thanks Martha. I'm going to give my GP a call and see what they think.. I'm back in the office today (I only have 2 clients to see and I actually find my work very rewarding and energising so it's the best thing I could be doing I think!) and I'm feeling great. No more bleeding of any description.

By the way - I've been meaning to tell you for months that I think Chloe is adorable. I love the photos of her growing up. :) Are you English by any chance? I don't know why, but as soon as I saw the pic of you and Chloe it popped into my head that you are.. and I always like to check if my little hunches are correct. :rolleyes:

Chickadee
05-09-2005, 12:06 PM
Are you English by any chance? I don't know why, but as soon as I saw the pic of you and Chloe it popped into my head that you are.. and I always like to check if my little hunches are correct. :rolleyes:

Lol. I hate to have to say this but no, I'm not English unless you count back 4 or 5 generations. I'm Canadian (eh). I have lived in England though and I know I've picked up some slang and phrasing which may come out in my posts. I'm often asked if I'm Irish for some reason.

Thanks for the compliment on Chloe. I'd take some credit but it's all her dad's side :) I keep meaning to set up one of those freebie websites with all my favorite pics of her, to share with family back home, but it's pretty low down on the to-do list.

Hope work is non-stressful today. Keep us posted on how you're going.

cosmic
05-09-2005, 01:19 PM
Hi Martha... oh well I guess I got the 'foreign' bit right! I don't know why I thought English, but anyway... Canadians are nice! ;)

I spoke to my GP earlier who said that unless there is pain or more continuous bleeding not to go back to the clinic for another week because I would be wasting my time - still too early to tell anything. I thought that made sense especially since there was no more bleeding... but 5 minutes after I got off the phone it started again. Still just spotting (I think - haven't checked for an hour) but still fresh and red. :( Also still no pain.. but I think I might go in tomorrow anyway...??

~Chick79~
05-09-2005, 01:26 PM
Cosmic, matie I would go in if it was me... and maybe if that doctor isn't willing to put your mind at ease then see one that will...

Praying for you and your little one!

maybe1more
05-09-2005, 02:30 PM
COSMIC- i so agree with Ryansmummy, go to the doctors tomorrow on your day off, you will be so glad that you did. Its easy for the doctor to tell you to wait because he`s not you and he isnt dealing with this,you are.

CLAIRET- Awnser to you question, yeah my doctor told me 6 months. When this is not hcg levels in the blood, they do blood tests for 6 months and if they stay negative then,the green light is on baby!! My doctor did say they like there patients to wait 6 to 12 months just in case, but 6 months is still ok, i know ill be trying as soon as i get the all clear.
Im really sorry that your best friend had to go thru this, she went thru far worst then me, i hope to god that her test remain negative. My girlfriend had the cancer come back twice,she`s had to wait 5 years all up.
Please tell you friend i envy her courage :)

Chickadee
05-09-2005, 02:32 PM
... but 5 minutes after I got off the phone it started again. Still just spotting (I think - haven't checked for an hour) but still fresh and red. :( Also still no pain.. but I think I might go in tomorrow anyway...??

Go in and get checked. For your own peace of mind if nothing else. Bright red bleeding should always be checked in my opinion. Hopefully everything is fine, or maybe they won't be able to tell you anything, but I think it's definitely better to be proactive and to try to find out what's going on than to sit and worry.

min
05-09-2005, 02:32 PM
Hang in there, my dear! You probably feel like the spotting's been going on for weeks already, and staying "calm" is a really hard thing to pull off at a time like this. But you seem to be holding up very well (although the occasional cry can be a very good release, too). One thing that I found useful (because it gave me something to do) was to keep a log of what was happening: "3pm light staining; 9.30 pm spotting; nothing overnight", etc. My GP found it really useful to read over this when I went in, and it made life much easier when I wound up at the Emergency Department (not that you will), and had to answer lots of factual questions.

Min x

cosmic
05-09-2005, 03:13 PM
Well, I finally got to speak to the doctor at the early pregnancy clinic who saw me last week (as opposed to my GP). He too was going to put me off until next week, as he insisted that if I go for an ultrasound and there's nothing to see, we're in the same boat that we were in last week. Of course my thinking is that if we have the ultrasound and there IS a heartbeat, I can breathe easier.

Finally he said to come in for a blood test tomorrow because we can compare the levels to last week. He thinks at this stage that will give us a better indication of the progress of the pregnancy than an ultrasound. So I'm off to the clinic in the morning and hopefully while I'm there I can persuade him to let me have that ultrasound. ;)

Min, the diary is a good idea. I might do that. I have been meaning to keep a pregnancy diary fullstop, and just haven't found the time to ever write in it!

For now, again it seems to be easing up. It is very scant which I guess is one good thing, and still no cramping or pain. But yes, it would be nice if it would just stop once and for all!

Will keep you all posted. Thanks again. I'm home now and ready to curl up in front of The Bold and The Beautiful. :)

H&B'sMum
05-09-2005, 03:24 PM
Glad to hear that at least one Dr listened to you...or you made him ;) lol. Keep pushing for what you want Cosmic and hopefully tomorrow all your fears will disappear.

maybe1more
07-09-2005, 11:51 AM
Hey sweet, how are thing going, have you been to the doctors yet, i hope you have had no more bleeding, please let us all know how your going, ive been thinking about you.

cosmic
07-09-2005, 01:05 PM
Hey Jenn,

I had a blood test this morning and am having another on Friday to check the levels are increasing.

Thought I had some cramps yesterday and was a bit freaked out (mind you, bleeding had stopped :rolleyes: ). It felt a bit more like wind pain than AF cramps - you know how they can be kind of similar? And I've been very gassy and bloated. Like I said in the other thread I don't know if that's just me being in denial...

Anyhoooo... today's blood test showed they are roughly where they should be compared to the last test 8 days ago but the doc was very careful to tell me that this doesn't tell us much since the last test was so long ago. It is really Friday's test that is going to tell us conclusively - as well as the u/s next week of course.

But for now, I am taking that as good news and feeling fairly optimistic.

Yesterday and today I had the tiniest brown bit of spotting, then nothing. And today there's been no more crampy feelings.. this is all good.. I think.. :)

babytoo
07-09-2005, 05:59 PM
Hi Cosmic
Just wanted to let you know that I know exactly how you are feeling and know exactly what you are going through!
Started brown discharge at 5 weeks, then at 6 weeks had a major bleed which I ended up taking myself down to the hospital. They did the blood test thing to make sure levels were rising which they were but wouldn't do an ultrasound when I had the major bleed as it wouldnt indicate how the baby was going until a few days later. Had this scan and it showed a haemmorage which didnt seem to be causing any major dramas as there was a heartbeat for the baby. Still continual brown spotting, got heavier at 9 weeks again and then died off at about 10 weeks and now I am 16 weeks and have been spot free since then (touch wood!)
Doctors have no explanation for it but just that it happens in some women. I had it slightly with my first but not as much as this one. I think the worst thing is feeling it come out (sorry this is gross!) and not been able to do anything about it..and constantly going to the toilet to check progress. I still contantly go to the toilet to check as it still freaks me out!
Cosmic, I hope that everything turns out fine for you but I just want you to know that you are not alone!
Take Care ....

cosmic
07-09-2005, 06:21 PM
Hi babytoo, thank you so much for letting me know that. That must have been terrible for you! But it is nice to know that sometimes 'these things happen' and it doesn't necessarily spell disaster.

I have now been obsessing over HcG calculators on the internet seeing if my levels have been rising consistently since my first blood test to last week and then now (the torture we put ourselves through :o). I had a mild panic when it appeared the rate was slowing down, but then I read somewhere that this is perfectly normal. PHEW! So no more obsessing and mad researching for me!! Just waiting for Friday's test. :)

WeThree
07-09-2005, 08:39 PM
Hi Cosmic, Im soo pleased that everything is ok atm, i have been thinking about you over the w/end, so i was very pleased to read that everything is well :)
Just quickly get off track for a sec, but cosmic its funny you mentioned how cute chloe is because ive been thinking the same thing too! as soon as i saw her i just thought she was one of the most cutest little girls ever! martha you must be soo proud :)

Chickadee
07-09-2005, 08:52 PM
Cosmic,
I'm so glad the blood tests are looking good. Fingers crossed for you on Friday. Will you actually have results on Friday or do you have to wait the entire weekend for them? I certainly hope you don't!

Erin - Thanks, I am proud :) She's a special little girl. Gets all her looks from her daddy though, they're all ginger nuts! She's starting to go shy but I may check out some kids modelling anyways when we get to Melbourne.

cosmic
08-09-2005, 08:09 AM

Thanks Erin.. it's nice to have lots of support.

Martha, yesterday I had the blood test at about 8.30am and the doctor phoned at around 12.45pm with the results so I was very pleased and hope to get them just as quickly tomorrow.

Will keep you posted. Let's hope it's all good. :)

Child modelling for Chloe sounds like a good idea.. and might help with the shyness?

BubbleBelly
08-09-2005, 11:17 AM
Cosmic, i'm glad things are sounding positive! My fingers are crossed! I'm sure everything will be fine!

mimi
09-09-2005, 09:44 AM
Hi Cosmic

Sending positive vibes for you today :)

cosmic
09-09-2005, 10:11 AM
Thanks! ;)

Still waiting on the phone call from the hospital. My psychic chiropractor (don't even ask) told me this morning that I still 'look' pregnant to her.. :rolleyes:. Time will tell if she's right.

StormAngel
09-09-2005, 10:24 AM
Good luck for today Cosmic!!!!

jamb
09-09-2005, 10:33 AM
I'm not due in may, pregnant or TTC BUT I have been following your story Cosmic and I wish you all the very best baby wishes in the world with the results :) I'm staying tuned for your next update. Take care xx

Jamily
09-09-2005, 11:23 AM
Like mummajack I have been following your story Cosmic and I also wanted to wish you loads of luck today - I have a funny feeling everything is more than fine. I know lots of people have reassured you and the results will defs put your mind at rest, but I also had spotting in the first trimester but strapped to me in the baby bjorn is a very cranky 12 week old :D

Not long to go now....

Cx

cosmic
09-09-2005, 11:51 AM
'More than fine' Clairet? Well, I do like the sound of that!! I would have been happy with just 'fine' but MORE than fine would be a treat. ;)

Well, it was 12.45 that he called on Wednesday.. not that he works to a fixed schedule of course, but we are officially into the 'jump every time the phone rings' part of the day.

I have a feeling it will be fine too. Hope to post good news very soon....

WeThree
09-09-2005, 01:02 PM
hi cosmic, i just jumped online to see how you went but alas you are still waiting by the phone! it must be driving you crazy! try to keep busy, i know when i check back in later you'll have some happy news :) erin xx

cosmic
09-09-2005, 01:32 PM

I am very excited to report that my HCG levels are up to 65,000. YAAAYYYY!!!!! What a huge relief! As much as I was feeling optimistic it's been quite a stressful day waiting for that call. My DH is going to have a few beers to celebrate tonight. I'll have to have a celebratory OJ. ;)

Thanks so much for all your support. I'm looking forward to seeing a lovely strong heartbeat at my ultrasound on Tuesday. :)

ps.. Erin, you must have ESP. I got the call just at the time you posted. Took a while to get online though, as DH insisted I fill my MIL in on the details first. She's been beside herself. :o

Crazyfamily
09-09-2005, 01:34 PM
Great news. Hope its all smooth sailing from here.

Chickadee
09-09-2005, 01:38 PM
Hurray hurray hurry! I'm so happy for you Cosmic!

WeThree
09-09-2005, 02:05 PM
YAY what a relief for you :) now i want you to relax and start enjoying being pregnant right now lol :) seriously though im so happy for you and hubby (and for your mil lol)

jamb
09-09-2005, 02:31 PM
phew, thats fantastic news! enjoy that oj

maybe1more
09-09-2005, 04:06 PM
Thats excellent Cass, great stuff! Now sit back,relax and enjoy the OJ! :D

~Chick79~
09-09-2005, 04:14 PM
Yay Cosmic!!! I am so glad that everything is looking positive! All you have to do now is sit back and relax and wait until Tuesday to hear the wonderful sound... a heart beat!

lily81
09-09-2005, 05:42 PM
Congrats Cosmic, hope you de-stress for a little while now and enjoy the rest of the journey!!

littlepickle
09-09-2005, 05:56 PM
Congratulations Cosmic, I am so happy for you :-) Thats excellent news!! Now you can enjoy a lovely relaxing weekend in anticipation of your ultrasound on Tuesday!! yay!!!

H&B'sMum
09-09-2005, 06:35 PM
That's fantastic news C. I was thinking about you all day at work. Hearing your news was the only thing that went right for me today, so congrats, Sweetie.

madvoice
09-09-2005, 09:22 PM
That's great news. I can't wait to read the update when you get the ultrasound :)

12-09-2005, 05:36 PM
Congratulations Cosmic!!!

That is awesome news! Take care and rest up!!!

Sticky baby dust your way...
Cheers, Ally

BubbleBelly
12-09-2005, 07:24 PM
FANTASTIC NEWS! You must be so relieved. I'm so happy for you.

cosmic
12-09-2005, 07:52 PM
Thanks guys. We're reeeeally excited about the ultrasound in the morning! Bubblebelly - Nova Star is a great name, especially for a little Aquarian girl. ;)

WeThree
13-09-2005, 08:17 PM
Hi Cosmic,How did it go?? looking forward to hearing how your ultrasound went :)
ps love the new pic madvoice :)

cosmic
13-09-2005, 08:33 PM
Hi Erin! Sorry I haven't posted earlier. My little bubby is 1cm long and has a heartbeat of 153bpm! So she is looking good! We were so excited and my DH is still wiping the tears from his eyes. :)

I went to a fantastic psychic yesterday who told me as soon as I walked in that the first thing she saw was a beautiful little girl running around the room, bouncing all over the place because she is SO excited to be coming into my life. She said she is thrilled with her choice of us as parents and can't wait to get here because she knows she will have a wonderful life. And she said she is beeeeaautiful!!! It was so lovely! She said she will have a beautiful name, perhaps something Celtic that we will choose and she is the most adorable happy excited little girl. She also said the soul normally enters the body at 20wks of pregnancy but this one will come into her body at around 17-18 weeks because she just can't wait! :p

Isn't that fantastic? And then to have the ultrasound today to top it off was just wonderful. We are very, very happy!

jaz
14-09-2005, 09:17 AM
I havent posted for a while, but would like to say how happy i am that everything is great with your little "girl" your description of your daughter running around bought tears to my eyes ! I am so happy for you, have you though of any names yet ?

jaz
xoxoxo

cosmic
14-09-2005, 11:49 AM
Hi Jaz! Thank you so much. No we haven't agreed on any names yet. We have tossed a few around but nothing has grabbed both of us. The psychic experience was really lovely and has substantially added to my excitement about the baby coming, after a difficult couple of weeks.

I am off to Adyar (a metaphysical bookstore in case you aren't in Sydney) to look at books on raising spiritual children as the psychic was very clear that this is my new portfolio in life! Quite a task!!

OH... and my due date is 2nd May but apparently the little girl was pretty clear she's coming on the 5th. So time will tell how close she is. :)

Nickster
14-09-2005, 12:04 PM
What lovely news, Cosmic, I am so pleased to hear everything is going well for you now. Won't it be exciting if the psychic is right and you have a little girl? I'm sure she/he will be very loved and lovable at any rate!
I'll be blowing pink baby dust your way!
Nic :)

Lambie
22-09-2005, 06:11 PM
Hi Cosmic,

I have just been reading this thread, and fanstastic news that all is going well for you. :p

I am 8wks 4days, due 29th April 06, and I also had a few bleed scares. One at 5 1/2 weeks which appeared to be old blood. HCG levels showed that the pregnancy was continuing as normal. Then during my 6th week I had a really red bleed which took a few days to stop completely. I had an u/s where it was discovered that there was a very small perigestational haemorrage in my uterus lining...But there was also my unborn baby with a heartbeat. I know how emtional and absolutely exciting that this can be (I want to cry again, just thinking about it).

Keep your chin up love,
All the best
Sonia. :)

shereejoy
25-09-2005, 08:32 PM
Wow Cosmic you have had overwhelming support in here, and rightly so. You give so much to others in these threads, that you deserve all this support.

Anyway ladies, it appears that Cosmic is ok - thank god!, but i am sad to say I am following in Cosmic's footsteps, just hope mine ends in a happy story also.

Had a discharge of brown - a gush on my underwear at 4wk 5 days. I was terrified after m/c my twins last time in May. Went to the doctor on the Thursday and he sent me for a scan. It was too early (no hb or fetal pole seen) but they could see that the sac had implanted on my uterus wall and there was no blood in between the sac and the uterus wall - which is a good sign (as this is the first sign of a natural m/c). Thursday and Friday - it quietened down alot and then Saturday morning at 4 am I woke and there was a definite discharge in my undies with a tinge of red colouring.

I totally freaked and went back to the doctor on Saturday morning, and she gave me my beta HCG levels:
19/9/05 - 289
23/9/05 - 2149

Which she said was really good, and I should get another done tomorrow (Monday), which will give me a clearer picture of what happened over the weekend. Seeing as there was a delay of Friday and early Saturday morning before I had my second gush of discharge and it may have happened for a reason as it was considerably more than last time. The discharge today and yesterday has seemed to have tappered off, just when I wipe with the tp there is brown.

It is just so hard to think that this one is any different to the last one, seeing as I had the same discharge as last time (maybe a little worse last time). Last time I had a hb of 109 bpm with the only surviving of my bubba's (twins) at 5 w 4 days. They said that hb was slow, hence the hb stopping at my second scan at 7 weeks. But I didn't miscarry naturally either, had to have a d&c. The doctor said it was a missed abortion.

I am crossing my fingers for tomorrow, but the doctor has put me in a threatened miscarriage category again. She set me up for the worst, which I guess I needed to hear, as I don't want to get my hopes up. But she also said it is quite possible it is normal too, some ladies experience it and go onto having healthy bubbas. Hard for me to think that due to what has happened before and the similarity of it all. Everyone time there is discharge my hopes are dampened, but then I pick myself up again when it tapers off.

Time will tell I guess. I am holding onto some of your stories, it is the only hope I have left!

mimi
25-09-2005, 08:43 PM
Hi Sheree

What a stressful time for you! but because you said ...

I am holding onto some of your stories, it is the only hope I have left!I felt I should add my own story to hopefully add to your hope :)

At 13 weeks [first baby] I had a very large bleed - os was open, no heart beat on monitor - and I was told that I almost certainly had lost the baby. The time was even set for the D&C - in a few hours time ... but when I was sent down for my scan, there was our little boy with a perfect heart beat, looking as though nothing was amiss! and the D&C was cancelled of course!!!

I also had a bleed early in the pregnancy, with my second baby [not as dramatic as the first], and went on to have our little girl ... so all is well that ends well, eh?

Hope all goes well for you tomorrow.

shereejoy
26-09-2005, 12:17 PM
I have just come home from work, I had a pain in my back, have started discharging like a period and it is clotty, now I am freaking out.

mimi
26-09-2005, 12:25 PM
Oh Sheree :(
Hoping for you that things improve ... don't give up hope yet though! :)

shereejoy
27-09-2005, 07:34 AM
Well the results didn't come in yesterday, so had to wait eagerly for them this morning. Boy what a night, but just want to thank you all for your concerns about me and bubba.

Anyway they were good, really good, the doctor told me on Saturday she would expect to see them in the 3000's but they were 5484. I forgot to ask about the progesterone results but they must have been good, cause the first comment I got from the receptionist before she gave me the reading of the HCG was the doctor has written "No follow up". Completely forgot to ask about the progesterone, but I am sure they would have told me if they were concerned.

So the results I have had to date are:
19/9/05 - 289
23/9/05 - 2149
26/9/05 - 5484

I am so happy about the results but wonder what happened between Monday morning and Monday lunch when I had all the discharge. I have to ring the doctor at 10am (when she arrives to work), to see if she wants me to go for another blood test.

I am happy but also concerned about the next blood test result too, as the blood discharge yesterday did not look good, but just seems to be stopping and starting all the time too, as it is only with a wipe of the tp that I see anything again (just keeps stopping and starting like tap work since wednesday).

shereejoy
27-09-2005, 07:17 PM
Well I got some more good news this arve, well I think it is good, does anyone know if my levels went up to 7337 from 5484 in 1 day is that good, I know they are increasing, but that is not quite doubling is it?

Also my progesterone was 40 and they said that is good!

I just did a calc on the internet of my beta doubling, the doubled at the rate of the following:

19/9/05 - 289
23/9/05 - 2149 (doubled on basis of 1.38 days)
26/9/05 = 5484 (doubled on basis of 2.21 days)
27/9/05 = 7337 (doubled on basis of 2.38 days)

does that appear normal?

Jamily
27-09-2005, 07:26 PM
Hey Sheree

Thought this would help ease your mind:

* For HCG levels <1200 mIU/ml, the expected doubling time is 48-72 hours.
* For HCG levels 1200 to 6000 mIU/ml, the expected doubling time is 72-96 hours.
* For HCG levels >6000 mIU/ml, the expected doubling time is >96 hours.

Sounds like its all good :D

shereejoy
27-09-2005, 07:30 PM
Oh Clairet, I thought is was meant to double every 48 hours, but that is good to hear, haven't heard of this literature b4.

Jamily
27-09-2005, 07:37 PM
Hey again Sheree

Have a look at this:

http://www.conceivingconcepts.com/learning/articles/hcg.html

My friend sent me the link as she lives in France and they monitor the Hcg really closely at the beginning.

Am so glad things are going ok :)

shereejoy
27-09-2005, 07:46 PM
Thanks will check it out, thank u so much.

shereejoy
28-09-2005, 06:38 PM
My bleeding has settled right down and can't see much with a tp wipe at present, I am so relieved just hope it doesn't start up again, my 2 days are up as to when it normally starts up again. Fingers crossed that is it for me now and this bubba is in for the long hall.

kelbel
28-09-2005, 06:48 PM
Sheree,

I hope things settle down for you now, you really deserve to go on and be the wonderful mum i know that you'll be. It really helps when your mind is put at rest that things are all ok. How far along are you now?

Take care of yourself and your growing baby!

shereejoy
28-09-2005, 06:51 PM
Kelly I am 5 w 6 days tomorrow (THURSDAY), and am hoping the rest of this pregnancy is smoother sailing.

shereejoy
02-10-2005, 10:13 AM
Well this weekend is dragging out.

My discharge it is barely there at all now, which has kept my spirits high. Have my scan tomorrow that I am very very nervous about. Seeing as I know what I am looking for, ie: hb, it was to be well and truely higher than my last bubba m/c at 109bpm (when they said it was really really slow - and they were right, we lost bubba's hb). Tomorrow could be the best day of my life or the worst, I am so anxious. I just know if there is a strong hb everything will be ok, if this bubba/'s can get through this, it/they can get through anything.

Please god let us bring home good news.

Justin&Beckfirstbub
02-10-2005, 11:21 AM
Good luck for tomorrow Sheree! :)

I will be logging in during the day to see just how quickly that little heart is beating!!

I am sending poistive thoughs your way.

Beck xx

BubbleBelly
03-10-2005, 12:34 PM
Sheree, my fingers are crossed for you! Please let us know how things are.

shereejoy
03-10-2005, 01:20 PM

Well I just had my scan, and the HB was stronger than last time which has given me so much reassurrance. That is what I needed and wanted to hear today, due to the history that plays such a big part in our chaotic minds, and things appear so similar and heading down the same road. Last pregnancy I had already lost one of the twins, and they found a hb of 109bpm with the other of the twins, which they said was way slow, and as it turns out at my next scan I had lost the hb. So this time 128bpm, it needed to be above 120bpm to be normal, and now I am so so happy and relieved.

The ultrasound is as listed below:

There is a single gestational sac in teh endometrial cavity of an anteverted uterus with satisfactory surrounding decidual reaction. On the inferior aspect of the sac there is a small subchorionic haemorrrhage. Within the gestational sac there is a normal yolk sac and a single live foetus with a crown rmp length of 4.7mm, equivalent to a gestational age of approximately 6 weeks 1 day with an EDD of 28/5/05. Foetal heart rate is normal and regular at 128 bpm. The right ovary contains a small corpus leuteum.

So there you have it a single bubba this time, no twins, thank god.

So they could see what appeared to be the bleeding, I will see the doctor on Thursday and ask her what that all means. But the senographer said it could be an implantation bleed and she can see that there is still some more to fall away yet too, but I didn't think that happened this late. Anyway I am not reading into things too much and just enjoying what it is a safe and determined little bubba that wants to meet Wade and I.

Hope this helps ease other ladies minds also if they are experiencing something similar as pregnancies are a strange yet wonderful thing, and as the senographer said they are a bizaa science and nothing ever happens like a text book, or as it seems at times.

Take care everyone.

Now I can breathe and enjoy.

Thank you for all your love and support, you are all ever so kind and sweet, just like my second family.

rynosmum
03-10-2005, 07:34 PM
Congratulations Sheree !! That's fantastic news !!

Now you make sure you take it easy and look after yourself and little bubba ! You have plenty of excuses to rest up.

Wonderful, wonderful news - bet you can't wait already to meet the little one ! :D

mummy929
04-10-2005, 07:28 AM
Hi sweetie,

i am 30 weeks pregnant with my second child. During the first 18 weeks of this i bled constantly. Please don't get yourself stressed out over this as it is normal in nearly 50% of pregnancy's to have spotting. My baby is completely fine (normal and healthy). It is however my placenta that is low so i may have some complications with the birth of the baby. But that isn't for ages yet so hopefully the placenta will move away from the cervix in the mean time.

I hope this helped some..

shereejoy
07-10-2005, 07:59 PM
Went to the doctor yesterday to get confirmation of my scan from Monday, and she said that if appears that I am having a normal pregnancy, there is a slight bleed from the placenta, that does not appear to be affecting the baby. I showed her my report from last pregnancy and she told me not too compare this pregnancy to the last, as the last one was really really bad. I had bleeding from a different spot (can't remember where she said), but there was bleeding from the sac also. The last pregnancy was a mess and very cystic looking that was never going to become viable. She said yes we had twins, lost one and the other was fighting for all dear life, but never would have survived. I told her my biggest fear was now loosing the hb like last time and she explained that once I have the hb and everything else appears good then there is a strong chance I will keep the hb. She told me she now puts me inline with any other normal women that appears to be having a normal pregnancy and the odds are always there for m/c. I just really have to take it easy for the next 5 weeks, as this next 5 weeks are crucial.

So at this stage she is sending me for weekly HCG levels (to ease my mind), and a scan at 11 weeks (in 4 weeks time), to confirm all is ok. At that stage I am going to tell everyone our great news. She has got me getting bt done for syphillis/rubella/hiv etc.... I have got a referral to see my gyno at 12 weeks at which time I will have the downs syndrome tested.

But all is well as far as bubba is concerned.