View Full Version : Young bodies

flower
29-08-2005, 12:30
Hi all, I just came form the pool with bub. I met a few Canadian mummies there with thier kiddies..........dont you just hate being around these young ladies with the babes....that have had two kids already...and are only 26?. No wonder their bodies snap back into their taught lean little packages.....me......well...gravity, a bit of cellulite.......white.....................veins splothches..................saggy belly.....................cringe!
O's mom. :eek:

Nickster
29-08-2005, 12:37
I am hearing you! Oh, the joys of youth! My poor old bod just aint the same since I had my baby (I'm 35), and no amount of exercise has helped. The only way I could get my body back again is to be like one of the Hollywood stars and have a nanny, chef, personal trainer.....and a full night's sleep to get over it! Thank heavens for boardshorts, I say!
My hubby has said that if I really want to, I can get a tummy tuck, but we'll just see - there are so many other things I would rather spend the money on!
Those lucky young mummies!

petster
29-08-2005, 12:43
I hear you!! I wish I could just get rid of the roll of flabby, floppy skin ABOVE my waistband... I always had a bit of a tum, but the extra tyre since giving birth is not a good look :eek: !! I'm lucky that I've lost most of my baby weight, but things just wobble and jiggle that didn't before! I'm dreading going swimsuit shopping - I agree with Nickster - go the boardies and tank top!!

Cheers!

Chickadee
29-08-2005, 12:48
Ummmm. Not to be overly picky in what I know is meant to be a fun thread. But I've seen a lot of 20something mums who can't lose the weight or get their body back. And alot of very fit 30 and 40 something mums (& yes, with kids under the age of 5 or 10) who I would have killed to look like when I was 20.

Refresh
29-08-2005, 12:55
....and alot of us 20 somethings work DAMN hard for a good body ;)

jamb
29-08-2005, 13:00
I think some women are baby machines- pop em out and back to normal. My mum and MIL were thinner after giving birth than when they fell preggers. Unfortunately I am not the same, I'm 28 and haven't found being undder 30 any help what-so-ever :o

I say I created a miracle that caused a disaster. Go the boardies and kaftans for this summer season- don't want to scare fellow beach goers!!

ThomasMum
29-08-2005, 13:08
Hey I’m alright being an older mum (early 30’s and what a proud one being an older mum I am!) well I should add that I don't drink nor smoking-no gym etc all just from doing houseworks, vacuuming etc plus running around catching the trains to work every Thu/Fri LOL!

Tannie
29-08-2005, 14:00
Hey - I don't think it's much to do with younger or older body at all! Where I live TONS of the young mums are obese and overweight and most of the older looking mums look bloody fabulous!! But then - that's what it's like overall here I find - the older people are the less likely they are too be overweight.........under 25's seem to be SO overweight these days (listen to me -sound like my mother LOL :o ) compared to how my peers were when we were under 25yrs - almost NO ONE was overweight back then (I'm pushing 40yrs) Same with school - in highschool out of about 360 girls at my all girls school - probably only 1/2 doz could be called overweight...........NOW.........ahhhh........it's frightening isn't it? Not to mention primary school - we had the obligatory "1 fat kid" in the whole school.......whom I now realise wasn't actually very fat at all :( Poor kid.........NOW - at least 1/3 are seriously overweight with about 10-15% of these classified as obese................truly shocking IMO.

Sorry to bunk the theory - but I have actually lost weight with my baby and am pg again - was happy to find out (I never weigh myself - too depressing and got over the whole body thing a while back anyway) that I am 5kgs lighter starting this pg then this time last year (bubs are 12 months apart)................BUT - sure - I have flabby thighs and belly............but I reckon what I have lost in "body" I have gained in brain cells, common sense and self esteem :p Sure - would love that 20 yr olds body back - but the brain.................well - am glad it went whereever the "stupid brains" go.............. :D

T

sopolicha
29-08-2005, 14:43
Tannie,

I could not agree with you anymore about gaining common sense and self esteem not to mention confidence and a greater sense of self worth since I had my kids.

My friends and I have looked back at our high school and older photos now and say "look how good we looked and we did not even know it (except for the hair do's)......or I can't believe we thought we were fat back then."

By the way I am now 33 and had my first daughter when I was 29 but I never considered myself an older mother am I the only the one who thinks this or am I really an older mother. My husband's best friend and his wife are having thier 1st baby and she will be 50 when she gives birth (american).

kaydensmum
29-08-2005, 15:43
:eek: i met a mum at the pool today who referred to herself as 'old' - she had only turned 40 while ime 43 - u can imagine how i felt especially as she is very slim & looks fantastic, her baby girl 11 months. however, ime actually slimmer than i was b4 i became pregnant but i have 2 tell u its been hard work. ime not one to go to a gym but ive been walking whenever i can, having 2 dogs makes it heaps easier to get the motivation cos they have to go for a walk. i must admit, i dont look at anyone but myself as being an old mum and i do know quite a few in the 36 - 45 age bracket!!!! having said that, i don't believe ime as old as i am - i think it really is a state of mind.

Carole

Tannie
29-08-2005, 20:46
Sopoli - you're a "spring chicken" still in my mind...... :D
Carole - yeah - I know some 35 yr olds who just look terrible IMO - but some 45 yr olds who look bloody fantastic!! Good genes (of course) play a large part......but what I have noticed in the past 10 yrs (I'm nearly 39yrs) is those of us who stayed out of the sun, don't smoke and moisturize and wear sunscreen DO seem to be aging the best. I have run into several girls I knew in highschool who were the real "babes" then - all brown, tanned skin, blonde hair etc.........it's sure catching up with them now!!
I'm thanking the lord I've never liked sunbaking, had a body to wear a bikini and that my parents weren't rich enough for us to spend every summer at the beach :p .........oh........and that they didn't give me enough pocket money to afford me taking up the smokes....LOL ;)
T

draught
01-09-2005, 13:01
Kevinbudgie - I know what you mean - some of those young mums seem to spring back like elastic (probably because their skin has more of it than mine). Nothing worse than being a swimming class with the flabby white baby body of an "older" mum (I am closer to 40 than 30 these days) while the tanned, taut and terrific yummy mummy swims past in the bikini.

The only thing that gives me solace is that scene from the movie "Fried Green Tomatoes" where Kathy Bates character rams the young girls snazzy car as they try to steal her car spot says "I'm older and I have more insurance" - I figure I don't have their body but I would still rather be me than them - I have well and truly lived in my body and earned all the wrinkles and flabby bits while having fun along the way!

Of course all of that bravado may disappear soon as I am off to a high school reunion and I may find out that all the other girls my age still have amazing taut bodies and have had amazing lives.......then my great pep talk will be a bit of a downer!!

ThomasMum
03-09-2005, 20:53
How funny!!! A high school reunion!! Can you imagine it???

Hey I've been watching a reality TV at ArenaTV "High School Reunion" its kinda sad to watch it. After 10 odd or more years these people hasnt changed: the bully still is being a bully, the player still think he's a good looker, and the girls who used to have a crush on the player ARE still having crush to the dude eventho he now much wider and has beer gut! ewww

Thank God I went to all girls school lol, mind you I had a crush with my French Teacher (it's a guy!)...

I wouldnt want to go to my highschool reunion, it's too far away to begin with. I'll fly to London for visit the family instead tyvm!

Good subject O’s mum! So anyone willing to be the first sociologist in Australia to learn and study the culture, the behaviour that involved in high school reunions?

;)

draught
04-09-2005, 09:06
I have just started dieting - I am one of the lucky ones where breastfeeding drops the weight for me with no work so I have been stuffing my face with chocolate, cake etc. But we are down to 4 feeds a day and I have realised that those last few kilos won't shift themselves on a diet of chocolate and cake, so DH and I are on the CSIRO well being diet - high protein, low carbs and lots of vegies. If nothing else it is making us feel quite virtuous!! Of course in retrospect I should have started it weeks ago in anticipation of the reunion.......
Hopefully I will have a success story to match yours soon!

peterpan
12-09-2005, 14:58
Hi all I am a first time mum at the age of 35 and once i could wear size 8 jeans well let me tell you that will never happen again.....
I have tryed to get out there and walk but it is so boring by yourself but after meeting the lady across the road from me to day i am going to get of my bum and walk she is 46 and has just had her second child and she looks so great.....
so am going to look like at by summer....lol
angela
David
and baby peter

Baby Girl
12-09-2005, 18:11
I was so happy when I had my pre-baby body back almost immediately after DD1. no stretch marks or wobbly bits - I know I know - shut up already!!! But after DD2 I have just gone 'blop' (imagine that as a sound) and I am actually more concious of exercise and eat better than after DD1.

I am sure it comes with age but also with lifestyle.

I used to walk everywhere after DD1 was born, we lived right near the beach and we were always swimming, walking there and back or walking along the beach but I was also eating heaps of junk food - mmmmm cookies and cream ice cream....... Now I have started swimming & walking again but at the pool and around my block. Now I look at it maybe I did more kms more often without realising it last time.

Anyway, it is not only you older girls who have trouble looking at those yummy-mummy's that seem to be everywhere!!