View Full Version : Confused about gender...

cloudmama
30-06-2010, 16:07
Hi Mummies,

I am new here but have been lurking around in this section for a few days wondering whether to post or not. Thought maybe some of you would have some opinions or words of advice...

So I am currently 18w+5 pregnant with my second baby. I have a lovely and adorable two-and-a-half year old son who I love to bits.

This time around, I really would have liked to have a baby girl to add to our family.

This pregnancy has been sooooo different from the one with my son- I have had (and still have) TERRIBLE morning sickness (only had it for a week with DS), my hair and skin is different than with DS, my belly looks different etc. SO naturally, EVERYONE was telling me that I am having a girl, even my doctor! I haven't had many strong feelings of what i am having (up until a few days ago) but everyone else was so convinced i was having a girl.

With my DS i had dreams about his sex before i found out and he was always wrapped in blue blankets (even though i thought he may have been a girl). With this pregnancy, I had one dream very early on about having a 3D scan and seeing girly bits.

Anyway, after a 6 week holiday in Europe, i came home feeling like I HAD to know the sex of the baby. So I made a private appointment with Precious Images in Brisbane to get a gender scan at exactly 18 weeks.

When we got there, the U/S tech had a bit of trouble getting a good angle and she left the room saying "i think i know what it is but i will just get the senior U/S tech to take a look". Anyway, the other tech had a bit of trouble too but eventually said, 'yep, it's a boy' and said she saw the testes and penis. She tried to do 3D but could not see anything with that so it was just 2D. I honestly couldn't see what she was talking about, my DH said he saw the balls but not the willy. With DS i saw clearly what he was, but not with this one. She did not seem to get a real good potty shot, it wasn't really underneath like most of the gender pics i have seen, it just seemed to be a side shot.
I also felt like they rushed the scan and were trying to get us in and out asap as it was a Saturday and quite busy. I didn't really feel like they were that thorough but that could just be because she was so sure?? They didn't give me any pics either :(

So we left, and yes i felt quite disappointed (Even though I would love to have another son, i would have liked this one to be a girl so that i have one of each and dont have to worry about gender next time). DS was convinced we were having a little girl baby and it has taken a few days to get him to say baby boy! Anyway,i must have subconsciously really felt like this baby was a girl because it just did not sit right with me and that night i had continuous dreams about the scan being wrong! Then today the middy at hospital used the doppler and said, 'well it sounds like a girl, you know they get u/s wrong all the time'. So now i am left wondering if they did indeed get it wrong. I know how unlikely it is, but is it possible? I also know how unlikely it is for them to get a boy wrong.

I have my morph scan on Monday so i am sure they will confirm it then, but I cant help but wonder if my motherly instincts are right (or if it's just wishful thinking!).

Anyway, bit of a rant, feels good to get it all out though! Any thoughts, opinions welcome:)

gizmoduckus
30-06-2010, 16:15
It is possible that they were wrong with the ultrasound because they didn't get a good look but I would be trusting the ultrasound over the midwife with the doppler.

I also had two completely different pregnancies, one where I had shocking morning sickness and the other where it was manageable, and I had 2 boys.

Look anything is possible and you may be pregnant with a girl but I just wouldn't want you to get your hopes up on stuff like that because they don't mean very much. :hugs:

NowWhoWantsPie?
30-06-2010, 16:38
Hi Mummies,

I am new here but have been lurking around in this section for a few days wondering whether to post or not. Thought maybe some of you would have some opinions or words of advice...

So I am currently 18w+5 pregnant with my second baby. I have a lovely and adorable two-and-a-half year old son who I love to bits.

This time around, I really would have liked to have a baby girl to add to our family.

This pregnancy has been sooooo different from the one with my son- I have had (and still have) TERRIBLE morning sickness (only had it for a week with DS), my hair and skin is different than with DS, my belly looks different etc. SO naturally, EVERYONE was telling me that I am having a girl, even my doctor! I haven't had many strong feelings of what i am having (up until a few days ago) but everyone else was so convinced i was having a girl.

With my DS i had dreams about his sex before i found out and he was always wrapped in blue blankets (even though i thought he may have been a girl). With this pregnancy, I had one dream very early on about having a 3D scan and seeing girly bits.

Anyway, after a 6 week holiday in Europe, i came home feeling like I HAD to know the sex of the baby. So I made a private appointment with Precious Images in Brisbane to get a gender scan at exactly 18 weeks.

When we got there, the U/S tech had a bit of trouble getting a good angle and she left the room saying "i think i know what it is but i will just get the senior U/S tech to take a look". Anyway, the other tech had a bit of trouble too but eventually said, 'yep, it's a boy' and said she saw the testes and penis. She tried to do 3D but could not see anything with that so it was just 2D. I honestly couldn't see what she was talking about, my DH said he saw the balls but not the willy. With DS i saw clearly what he was, but not with this one. She did not seem to get a real good potty shot, it wasn't really underneath like most of the gender pics i have seen, it just seemed to be a side shot.
I also felt like they rushed the scan and were trying to get us in and out asap as it was a Saturday and quite busy. I didn't really feel like they were that thorough but that could just be because she was so sure?? They didn't give me any pics either :(

So we left, and yes i felt quite disappointed (Even though I would love to have another son, i would have liked this one to be a girl so that i have one of each and dont have to worry about gender next time). DS was convinced we were having a little girl baby and it has taken a few days to get him to say baby boy! Anyway,i must have subconsciously really felt like this baby was a girl because it just did not sit right with me and that night i had continuous dreams about the scan being wrong! Then today the middy at hospital used the doppler and said, 'well it sounds like a girl, you know they get u/s wrong all the time'. So now i am left wondering if they did indeed get it wrong. I know how unlikely it is, but is it possible? I also know how unlikely it is for them to get a boy wrong.

I have my morph scan on Monday so i am sure they will confirm it then, but I cant help but wonder if my motherly instincts are right (or if it's just wishful thinking!).

Anyway, bit of a rant, feels good to get it all out though! Any thoughts, opinions welcome:)

Hi cloudmama,

It could be possible that they did look at it wrong but normally with boys they can be 100% sure... just make sure that on you scan on Monday that they get a clear enough shot so you can see it yourself...

But make sure you are prepared to hear boy again...

Dreams for me i guess were from wishful thinking as i had 4 dreams that i have having a girl and ALL signs were leading to girl and at the Morph scan i was told 99% sure that i was having a girl... I couldn't really make out the pics myself to tell so i booked another scan at miracle me in Brisbane and infact i am having a boy.

The lady there was really nice to me, i think she felt sorry so she pushed around more to prove that it was i boy until i couldn't doubt it... but yeah i didn't prepare myself to hear boy at the second scan as i really did believe that it was a girl and just wanted to make sure before i got everything so massive shock.

Good luck on Monday and try not to be too disappointed if it's a boy :hugs:

cloudmama
30-06-2010, 19:01
Thanks for the replies ladies. I am definitely going into the scan thinking that this little one is a boy so I am sure I will only be slightly disappointed if they confirm it is a boy. I am looking forward to just knowing for sure so I can really start bonding with this babe as a boy. If he is a boy (which he probably is) then that is who he is meant to be and I will be happy and content to accept that.

I really do love being a mummy to a boy so I am sure I will love being one to two of them:yes:

Silly midwife should not have said such things to a hormonal pregnant woman!

FirstBubinNov, that must have been so hard for you!! That is amazing that u decided to do a second scan just to make sure though because when i had DS i just took their word for it and thought it would definitely be right. Have you adjusted to having a boy yet? Because there really is something so beautiful and special about having a son (which i am sure applies to a daughter too) but I have NEVER wished that my boy was any different to what he is.

muls
30-06-2010, 20:32
Thinking of you Cloudmama x
I will find out in 17 sleeps and it's so hard, I have 2 boys already and would love a girl but what will be will be. I have heard of plenty of people getting told the wrong thing but then a lot who found out correctly which I have both times. I will keep everything crossed that you get your little girl you dream of...in the case that you have a little man coming your way congrats as well!!

NowWhoWantsPie?
30-06-2010, 20:38
Thanks for the replies ladies. I am definitely going into the scan thinking that this little one is a boy so I am sure I will only be slightly disappointed if they confirm it is a boy. I am looking forward to just knowing for sure so I can really start bonding with this babe as a boy. If he is a boy (which he probably is) then that is who he is meant to be and I will be happy and content to accept that.

I really do love being a mummy to a boy so I am sure I will love being one to two of them:yes:

Silly midwife should not have said such things to a hormonal pregnant woman!

FirstBubinNov, that must have been so hard for you!! That is amazing that u decided to do a second scan just to make sure though because when i had DS i just took their word for it and thought it would definitely be right. Have you adjusted to having a boy yet? Because there really is something so beautiful and special about having a son (which i am sure applies to a daughter too) but I have NEVER wished that my boy was any different to what he is.

Yeah i have adjusted now, shopping for clothes on the weekend helped heaps, i think i was more in shock than anything for the first few days, it was really hard for DP too as he didn't come to the second scan because he believed the first lady enough that it was a girl and thought i was just being obsessive... so yeah the first 24 hours i couldn't help but cry even with the thought of our baby, and i felt so bad for being upset just because it's a boy... But once i got use to the idea i was fine again.

FlipFlop
01-07-2010, 09:24
Hi cloudmama. I have heard stories where scans have been wrong but then again it doesn't happen very often. The thing I find with places like miracle me and precious images is that they do specialised 'gender scanning' all the time so they know what they are looking for so I would trust their opinion over the morph scan anyway especially after hearing about firstbubinnov10's experience.
I had a gender scan at miracle me a few weeks ago now and was told boy. We have our morph scan on Monday and was hoping to have it confirmed but now I'm worried they are going to give us a different gender!
firstbubinnov10 - where did you have your morph scan done? ours will be at the RBWH. where about are you having yours done cloudmama on Monday? if you are at the RBWH we might bump into each other. there seems to be a few of us from Brisbane!
Anyway... back to topic. Yes they may have got it wrong but like firstbub said, be prepared to hear boy and hopefully you won't be too disappointed and will be able to start shopping for all things blue :)
(I am 18w6d today so that must make us due date buddies?? 26th november??)

NowWhoWantsPie?
01-07-2010, 10:13
My morph scan was at exact radiology in Oxley not the RBWH and the don't think i will ever use that place again as i also had issues with my 12 week scan there...

I have to thank you heaps for telling me about miracle me mygirlindi otherwise i would of still believed that i was having a girl and really would of found it hard to cope if i found out later or even worse, at birth...

FlipFlop
01-07-2010, 13:13
no worries, I did see a post of yours the other day saying you were having a little girl, so glad I waited to say congrats! It seems the three of us are all having boys then and all due in november - how cool! I'm glad you have gotten used to the idea of having a boy. I'm very excited but then again I already have a DD so was kind of hoping for a boy.

cloudmama
01-07-2010, 14:09
Hi mygirlindi, yep, we are due on the same day :) Although i have not told family and friends my exact due date because i would like to avoid the annoying phone calls on the 26th demanding to know where the baby is! So i just say that I am due late nov/early dec! DS was a week overdue so I have a feeling this one will come right at the beginning of December- but i guess we will see.

I am getting my morph scan done at the Wesely hospital, where my doctor referred me. It is a really wonderful unit although the scans are very expensive. I had my 12 week done there too.

I am sure that the tech at Precious Images was right about the gender of bub, but not only was i expecting to hear that it was a girl, but i felt like the service was really crappy. The two techs seemed really rushed and almost mad at the baby because he was not co-operating:confused: So this, along with my silly midwife, made me feel a little uneasy about the whole thing.

I am already seeing the positives to having another boy and I will get to recycle DS's cute little clothes because he was also born in summer.

FirstbubinNov, thank goodness that you listened to that little voice in your head- i think it would be really hard to think that you are having a certain gender and then give birth to the other. I know that i didn't have any other scans after 20 weeks with DS, so you are lucky that you have such strong mummy instincts!

Anyway, will let you know how i go with my scan. Good luck with yours on Monday too mygirlindi- mine is at 8am so i dont have to wait around being all nervous! When is yours?

FlipFlop
01-07-2010, 19:17
mine is at 8.30am so nice and early too!
I'm sorry you felt rushed. When you are paying money fo anything you expect to be treated respectfully but when it is your bub involved it should be a very special time and they should have treated you a lot better than that.
yes I have been saying the same as you late nove/early dec lol although DD was born on her due date so you just never know :rolleyes:
are you having your bub at the wesley as well?
good luck with your scan monday as well!

cloudmama
02-07-2010, 08:31
No, birthing at RBH like last time. Tried to get into the birth centre but apparently they will never let me in, no matter how many 'normal' births i have because with DS i had a PPH of about 2 1/2 L and had to be transfused.

Are you having your bub at RBH? Where in Brisbane are you from?

N&L Mum
02-07-2010, 08:39
So many of these people performing these us can get these wrong i know of 3 people who had scans 2 were told they were having a boy and they had girls and the other was told she was having a girl and was sooo disapointed when she found out she was having another boy.

Like you with my first i dreamt of having a boy and i did clear as dad i could see a willy. With my 2nd i thought i was having another boy so when i seen those 3 little lines i was gobsmacked and even had another scan 2 weeks later to confirm lol..

Hang tight and wait until your morph scan to confirm it

BazzasMum
02-07-2010, 09:19
I am sure that the tech at Precious Images was right about the gender of bub, but not only was i expecting to hear that it was a girl, but i felt like the service was really crappy. The two techs seemed really rushed and almost mad at the baby because he was not co-operating:confused: So this, along with my silly midwife, made me feel a little uneasy about the whole thing.

I'd call them up and complain about the service. Lots of people do and seem to get another look :yes: Unfortunately I've never been somewhere willing to give another look - and haven't had enough reason either, but PAYING for a service, you expect better treatment.

I hope you get confirmation either way - 2 boys are awesome (but I'm hoping for pink this time ;))

FlipFlop
02-07-2010, 10:49
cloudmama - yes birthing at RBWH. this will be my first time as DD was born in Victoria but I have been happy with the hospital so far. I am doing midwife care, I was going to do shared care with my gp but she was useless so although it is a pain to go up to the hospital every 4 weeks I think it is worth it and we will have our hospital route down pat by the time I am in labour ;)
I am from the northside of brisbane - you?

FlipFlop
05-07-2010, 13:38
hey cloudmama, how did your scan go today? ours went well, definately a little blue bundle for us. HB was perfect and he measuring average size which is great. can't wait to hear how you went :)

cloudmama
05-07-2010, 15:31
Well there's no denying it- baby is definitely a little boy! He was very co-operative and moved around so much that we saw his boy bits every few minutes. He is so lovely and beautiful and I left the scan feeling not one bit of disappointment at all. He feels like he belongs with us now. Even though the scan at precious images was correct, I will never go back there and I think I may complain about the way that we were treated. I really felt like the u/s tech did not take any time to show us his genitals clearly therefore I left not really believing what she said.

So glad your scan went well, our man is measuring right on target too. Let's hope he is a bit smaller than his big brother at over 9 pounds ;) it felt like he was a newborn for only a couple of weeks!

FlipFlop
05-07-2010, 17:02
That's great news cloudmama! I'm glad you are excited about another little man becoming part of your family. Yes I would complain too especially if you left feeling doubtful. When we had our first gender scan the sonographer showed us from lots of different angles and she said - "that is definately a boy!" but she had a look for about 15 mins before making this statement.
Lets hope you get a smaller bub this time. I think that is the worst thing about having a bigger bub is they don't stay little for long! Would love to keep in touch and see how things progress for you especially since we are likely to bump into eachother up at the Royal!
All the best for the rest of these 9 months :goodvibes:

muls
05-07-2010, 19:38
Congrats Cloudmama and so good to hear that you had a great experience during your U/S!!

Definetely make a compliant!

YAY YAY YAY on your new little man!!

NowWhoWantsPie?
06-07-2010, 09:28
YAY congratscloudmama and mygirlindi!!!

So happy to hear that you left your scan in a positive mood cloudmama, you'll feel even better after your first clothes shop, i know i did :)

So 3 boys all at the RBWH... and if mine goes 2 weeks over like i bet it will then i'll probably be induced on the 25th, but i hope that bubz will be out before then as i already know that he's going to be a very strong kicker:laughing:

cloudmama
07-07-2010, 08:57
Thanks Mumma's!! I am still on a bit of a high from seeing my little blue bundle.

Would love to keep in touch mygirlindi. I will pm you my email address. I am 24 and live on the northside too :)

And wow, that's so lovely- 3 boys all to be born at RBH around the same time. How awesome!!

Now I just need to start thinking of boys names- it took us three days after he was born to name DS so hopefully something comes to me soon!