View Full Version : What signs did your child show thru the separtaion period?
damien's mum
16-08-2006, 07:45
Having a bit of a ruff trot with DS. I cant even go to the toilet without him screaming down the house at the moment, he checks i am in the room all time, he wont go to family or even DH. He is very emoitional and clingy at the moment...
Just wondering if this could be a sign of seperation, he is 18 months, i thought we had already been thru this stage?
Angelmist♥
16-08-2006, 12:05
Hi mate, it certainly sounds like something's going on with your little man!Has there been any new changes or something that might be affecting him?
I don't mean to pry or anything, but are things good with you?Sometime's toddlers can pick up on emotions and they tend to be more fussy or clingy.:fingerscrossed: whatever's wrong with him, he snaps out of it soon:)
SassyMummy
16-08-2006, 14:06
DD is a pretty big whinger. Now that she's walking, she'll try and climb up my leg whenever she wants me to cuddle her (which, often, is most of the day...). I also can't shower/toilet alone...(even the CAT was banging at the door the other day...lol).
My DD is younger than yours...she's almost 13 months.
She has improved a bit though...she used to scream as soon as I walked a few metres away from her (even though she could still clearly see me). At least now I have to go out of sight before she freaks out.
Sometimes I ignore it, sometimes I'll comfort her. I want her to understand that I won't be with her ALL OF THE TIME...but I will be there for her when she needs me.
If I'm doing something I HAVE to do (like taking out hte bins)...then I'll just let her have a scream. She soon gets distracted by a toy, or the tv or something...and forgets that I'm even gone anyway...
LittleBoysRock
16-08-2006, 14:57
We are having this problem at the moment too!! :banghead:
Yep I have the same problem, cant even leave his sight with him screaming the neightbourhood down!
I have enrolled him in daycare/kindy 1 day a week to help with this. So he understands that he cant be carried around on my hip all day.
I love my son so much but when I cant even go to the toilet, poses a huge problem:eek:
16-08-2006, 21:41
I feel your pain! My little man is only 4 months and he's doing the same thing! He will go to Steven, but that is all....anyone else he screams after about 2 seconds, and if I leave his sight he gets all upset and crys till I come back! :(
damien's mum
16-08-2006, 23:17
Hmmmm...
There is def, alot going on with me at the moment, in another thread of mine called where am i, who am i.
But even when i have been stressed before, he has NEVER been this bad. But this has to be the worse i have been since i have had him.. I just dont know.
Tonight for the first night in three weeks, he has been settled, still the same, but heaps more settled.
When my sister comes over i pretend i have the runs and sit on the toilet, just so i can get some ME time, is that a bad thing? Lol.