View Full Version : Birthday Cakes
subaruforestermum
15-08-2006, 23:32
Ok not sure if this will work, but thought I'd start this post to give other mummies, ideas for birthday cakes for their kids birthdays.....
http://robert-balke007.spaces.live.com/?_c11_PhotoAlbum
Only way I could find to do it.....there are 3 photos....I designed and made the cake with a little help from my sister....worked out well....
Anyone can add links to their pics, and discuss on techniques or whatever...........have a yummy time looking....hahaha
♥My Innocent Angel♥
16-08-2006, 09:59
OMG all you mummy's put me to shame :o with the birthday cakes wow i have two months to come up with something super for number 2 now :confused:
that is awesome SUBBYYYYYYYYY :smiliedance: :smiliedance:
wow that is one awesome cake!
Awesome cake! I'm hoping to make a Number 1 for DS's birthday, bit worried at how its going to turn out lol!
spiritedfamily
16-08-2006, 10:28
great cake!!
I have found a great cake book...its great for very basic to very elaborate...and a huge range of options
women's weekly KIDS party cakes
http://www.capersbookstore.com.au/scripts/shop_item.asp?by=aut&item=2104
I put this link in, just to show you what the cover looks like...it can be bought at most newsagents for $24.95 (worth every penny)
sugar n spice
16-08-2006, 10:50
wow thats a great cake. Here is a good site i found when i was thinking about ds 5th bday but i have decided to do it the easy way and get a wendys ice cream cake.
http://familyfun.go.com/recipes/special/specialfeature/cakefinder-birthday/
2SPUNKRATZ
16-08-2006, 11:04
thats an awesome cake.
[text deleted by moderator] i love making cakes and am soooooo looking forward to making bday cakes for DS.
i am the cake maker in my family. my nephew recently asked me if i would make his 6th birthday cake for him. he loved it.
16-08-2006, 11:11
Thats an awesome cake!!!!! :thumbsup:
Bubble*Crazy
16-08-2006, 13:11
What an awesome cake, SFM!!! Well done!
I was really slack on the weekend (DD's birthday) and just ordered a slab chocolate sponge cake from Woolies for $22 - they decorated it with strawberries, jam and cream. Great value I thought (around the size of an A4 sheet of paper) - and yummy!
If I was creative I'd make my own, but sometimes it's waaaay too hard and can't find enough time!
Nice cake :thumbsup:
I love making B'day cakes, I offer to do everyones & anyones that metions a B'day :D My DD is 2 in 10 days so I have a great idea for that.
I will post some of my pics when I have more time.
Awesome cake! I'm hoping to make a Number 1 for DS's birthday, bit worried at how its going to turn out lol!
:wave: M2J
Easy I will email you a pic of the one I did
2 Cherubs
16-08-2006, 15:14
Wow...Thats a cool cake sbf....I might have to pinch your idea...It looks quite easy for me who is the worlds worse cook !!
subaruforestermum
16-08-2006, 18:19
Thanks ladies, I made a trial cake, on a smaller scale a week before hand so I knew how it would work out, and perfect any errors or mistakes I made........
Was so stressed it wasn't going to work, but yay....it did:smiliedance:
Keep posting ideas ladies, cos I'm sure that there are lots like me, who at first are stuck for ideas........
Mrs Little
16-08-2006, 19:34
That cake is soo cool...and a bit freaky too- i'm doing a balloon cake for DS 1st b'day at the end of Sept.
We're having a balloon theme. I've had balloon magnetic invites made, and arranged for lots of balloon decorations. I am planning on having a balloon cake- i've done a trial of the actual cake itself- a mud cake. I plan on having 3 balloons and they will all be holding a number 1 cake (which is a pre-made donut cake from donut king).
Subaruforestermum- how did you make your icing? How did you make the stars? How did u make the lettering for happy birthday?
Well done!!:smiliedance:
Mrs Little & Son.
Mrs Little
17-08-2006, 07:50
How hard is it to make that icing subaruforestermum?
mrs Little & Son.
subaruforestermum
17-08-2006, 07:57
Mrs Little...it is a pre-bought icing that you roll out to fit your cake...I used Orchard White Icing....basically the instructions are on the back of the box and it is quiet simple to do....I used 2 packs altogether..but depends on the size of your cake...
As for the stars, I used the same icing, and used food colouring to colour separate balls of the icing, rolled it out the same as per the instructions, then used a cookie cutter to get the shapes, and you then just brush the back with either sugar syrup, or melted jam, and put them where you want them and they stay there....
Oh forgot to add that the lettering are made out of the same icing....had left overs from the stars and circles and came up with the idea...
Hope the has helped.......our party was balloon themed too, as he's too young to know bob the builder, spiderman....etc...... Great idea...
Mrs Little
17-08-2006, 08:07
wow....bubhub is a such a great resource!
Thanks subaruforestermum.
Where would i be able to buy this icing?
I agree- my DS is too young to have a favourite show or character or book etc. So i went with the balloon theme too.
Mrs Little & Son.
subaruforestermum
17-08-2006, 08:11
wow....bubhub is a such a great resource!
Thanks subaruforestermum.
Where would i be able to buy this icing?
I agree- my DS is too young to have a favourite show or character or book etc. So i went with the balloon theme too.
Mrs Little & Son.
Any time....I got mine from Bilo, I think it can be bought from just about any supermarket in the cake isle.....goodluck
Mrs Little
17-08-2006, 08:41
I will have a look in our supermarket when we do the groceries next time.
Did you use cookie cutters for the letters too?
Mrs Little & Son.
subaruforestermum
17-08-2006, 15:33
Yeah my mum bought me this cookie cutter set through Guide Dogs party and it is a 100 piece set for $20.00. It comes in great handy... Has letters, numbers, christmas, shapes, animals, transport and miscellaneous.....
So I used the letters from it.......recommend them, it's a great investment as I use them all the time...
OK I am adding my DD's B'day cakes & I made them both
This is her 1st birthday
http://i66.photobucket.com/albums/h265/nikkiid/IMG_0347.jpg
Her 2nd birthday cake(which was today)
http://i66.photobucket.com/albums/h265/nikkiid/IMG_0724.jpg
Terrible2+1cutie
26-08-2006, 21:32
I always try making nice cakes for my kids birthdays too, this year i am stumped. We are having a birthday party for my son in 2 weeks he will be 3. I was going to make him a car cake and ice it in colors of the wiggles car cause he loves the wiggles but i cant find a nice car cake that i can go off of.
Catherine
Mum to Blaze and Bailey
subaruforestermum
26-08-2006, 21:58
Terrible2, you can always buy the edible pistures for cakes to put on your sons cake....
They are easy to use, and you can still decorate it to make it your own....
Good luck, will keep my eyes out for suggestions for you....
Terrible2+1cutie
27-08-2006, 06:31
Thanks for that suggestion, might have to think about that one.
Catherine
Mum to Blaze and Bailey
DD1 was a poohbear fan and so her birthday cakes followed that theme:
1st Birthday (http://i100.photobucket.com/albums/m34/nzmama_2006/ca2a0d4c.jpg)
2nd Birthday (http://i100.photobucket.com/albums/m34/nzmama_2006/pics022.jpg)
She had a Piglet cake for her third birthday but DP was in charge of the camera and we never got a photo of it.
4th Birthday (http://i100.photobucket.com/albums/m34/nzmama_2006/0337693f.jpg)
DD1 then grew out of poohbear and had 2 birthdays for her 5th birthday. I made a Blue my little pony with rainbow coloured hair for her australian party (Cant find the pic of it for the life of me) she then had a 2nd party in NZ (http://i100.photobucket.com/albums/m34/nzmama_2006/5d22e4a8.jpg)
I also made a tweety cake (http://i100.photobucket.com/albums/m34/nzmama_2006/b26d680b.jpg) for a friends sisters 14th
My sister had a diva cake (http://i100.photobucket.com/albums/m34/nzmama_2006/c9b57c4d.jpg)
And this is the cake I made for DD2's Christianing (http://i100.photobucket.com/albums/m34/nzmama_2006/AtianaChristianingCake1.jpg) earlier this year.
I love the bday balloon cake and mentioned it to my partner for DD2's 1st birthday!
Sorry about the quality of the pics I dont have a scanner so did the digital camera thing, not very good quality.... :confused:
Mrs Little
31-08-2006, 07:24
okay ladies...i need some help.
I bought some cool cookie cutters from Big W- $14 for a BOX FULL!!!
So i made my trial run yesterday...the cake turned out great. I bought orchard white icing and added some yellow food colouring and went on my merry way kneading it.
But it stuck to my kitchen bench. I used icing sugar on the bench and rolled the icing out using the rolling pin...went to lift it to put on the cake...and it was stuck to my bench!!! Any ideas as to why? OR what can i do so that it doesn't stick to the bench?
I'm going to do another trial run on the weekend.
Oh...and all those pictures of the cakes mummies have made...they are AWESOME....i'm impressed with how well you have all done!
Thanks guys.
Mrs Little & Son.
subaruforestermum
31-08-2006, 07:30
So i made my trial run yesterday...the cake turned out great. I bought orchard white icing and added some yellow food colouring and went on my merry way kneading it.
But it stuck to my kitchen bench. I used icing sugar on the bench and rolled the icing out using the rolling pin...went to lift it to put on the cake...and it was stuck to my bench!!! Any ideas as to why? OR what can i do so that it doesn't stick to the bench?
Oh...and all those pictures of the cakes mummies have made...they are AWESOME....i'm impressed with how well you have all done!
Thanks guys.
Mrs Little & Son.
Ok, is it Pure Icing Sugar????? I had this same problem at first, cos I didnt have Pure icing sugar.....and you need to add a fair bit, the more you knead it, the softer it gets, so this is why it is becoming so sticky.....once it is kneaded, try dusting the icing sugar over the whole lot, then dust the rolling pin, and make sure before you roll it out the bench is still coated with icing sugar..........sorry to ramble. Oh, and you could possibly be rolling it out too thinly.....good luck
Also, is your bench smooth, if it is bumpy texture, it will stick cos it is uneven.....hope this has helped
subaruforestermum
31-08-2006, 07:34
Forgot to add.....these cakes are really great ladies, and Im sure they will help others who are stuck for ideas....keep on posting the fantastic cakes Bub hub ladies make:smiliedance:
Mrs Little
31-08-2006, 08:42
Thankyou soooooooooooo much Subaruforestermum.:hugs:
I didn't realise there was much difference between pure icing sugar and other icing sugar. Will have to check that out. I was using the orchard icing.
My bench is a little lumpy- has texture...so maybe i should be rolling it out onto something else?
I will put heaps of pure icing sugar on the bench and rolling pin next time...yes i do think i was rolling it out a little thin. If you knead it less will that stop it from getting sticky? I was kneading it a bit to get the yellow food colouring through...maybe i need to be more specifc in where i put the food colouring?
Thanks again for your help. I'll try again on the weekend.
Mrs Little & Son.
BlueEyedGirl
31-08-2006, 11:47
All your cakes look so fantastic!
Hope someone can help me out...
I am looking for a duck cake recipe! Does anyone know of one? Or where I could find one? My DD's first birthday is quickly approaching, and I would love to make her a duck cake.
Thanks heaps,
Rachel
Isabelles Mum, have a look at the link below. You will need to scroll down a bit!
http://www.coolest-kid-birthday-parties.com/birthday-cake-designs.html
HTH :)
BlueEyedGirl
31-08-2006, 12:09
Mum2Jacob~ thanks for that! They have so many cool ideas! DD is going to have a very duckie party! :laughing:
Reidymac
31-08-2006, 22:23
MMmmmmmmmm sugar!! I had so much fun making cakes for my DD's 1st and 2nd Birthdays, and the recent joint christening of both my little ones. It might be shameless bragging but here goes.
Christening Cake (http://static.flickr.com/98/230017698_41bf04ba9d.jpg) - This cake was for my 2 yo DD and baby DS's joint christening day in feb2006. It's meant to be them on the top. I made everything but the flowers (they were a keepsake from our wedding cake 7 years before). The cake is white chocolate mud and raspberry filling.
2nd Birthday Cake (http://static.flickr.com/65/230017371_86414ec5bf_o.jpg) - DD is an obsessed Pooh bear fan but most of the guests were adults sooooo........The cake and 12 matching cupcakes are chocolate sponge with vanilla filling.
I am currently trying to figure out what to do for DD's 3rd Birthday in 2 and a bit weeks. :rolleyes: MMmmmmmmm more sugar!!
2 Cherubs
27-09-2006, 16:41
Hey Suby....Here's a pic of my cake that I copied from you....Thanks for the inspiration xx
http://i67.photobucket.com/albums/h311/mum2jamesdaniel/James164.jpg
Only way I could find to do it.....there are 3 photos....I designed and made the cake with a little help from my sister....worked out well....
HOW??? :eek: How did you do it? :detective:
It looks so good. Please share! :D
Mrs Little
01-10-2006, 20:11
Heya Mummies..
Thought i'd come and share my final result!!
I tried the wedding cake icing- white orchard icing- and everyone hated it. (Some people rolled it into balls and threw it at each other). So i decided to go the homemade look because then it would taste better and i wouldn't get offended because people didn't like the icing.
The cake went down like a treat on the day...awesome mud cake recipe too.
Here tis..
** go to my next post for the links**
I had a '1' donut cake underneath the balloons. Just don't have a picture of the whole cake together just yet.
Mrs Little & Son.
01-10-2006, 20:15
Mrs Little - Your links aren't working.
Mum2Jacob Thanx for the Coolest Kid Rubber Ducky Birthday Cake Designs link! I'll deffinatly be using it for Ducky's 1st birthday :thumbsup:
http://s107.photobucket.com/albums/m313/lesha_98/?action=view¤t=CIMG1188.jpg&refPage=&imgAnch =imgAnch1
http://s107.photobucket.com/albums/m313/lesha_98/?action=view¤t=CIMG1185.jpg&refPage=&imgAnch =imgAnch2
I had a '1' donut cake underneath the balloons. Just don't have a picture of the whole cake together just yet.
Mrs Little & Son.
That looks great! :yelclap: There are some talented mummies in here!:yes:
Mrs Little
02-10-2006, 09:49
Opps...i'm still trying to get the hang of photobucket!
Try again:
Photo 1: http://i107.photobucket.com/albums/m313/lesha_98/CIMG1188.jpg
Photo 2:http://i107.photobucket.com/albums/m313/lesha_98/CIMG1185.jpg
This is a Father's Day cake that i made too:
http://i107.photobucket.com/albums/m313/lesha_98/CIMG1152.jpg
Hope that works.
Mrs Little & Son.
missmum05
02-10-2006, 13:14
:wave: M2J
Easy I will email you a pic of the one I did
Hey Nikki
can you please email me a pic too?
I was hoping to make dakota a number 1 cake for her bday
I love the number 2 cake you have made it looks great:yelclap:
I would love to make one very simular can you tell me how you made it?
I havent ever really made a cake, where do you get the baking tray from
to make the shape of a 1 ?
This is a great thread:thumbsup: ...hope I can learn how to make DD's cake:D
these are a few i can find pics of....
the dog from THE SIMPSONS
http://i95.photobucket.com/albums/l132/my_lot/simpsondogcake.jpg
CARE BEAR
http://i95.photobucket.com/albums/l132/my_lot/carebearcake.jpg
a fish in water
http://i95.photobucket.com/albums/l132/my_lot/fishcake-1.jpg
i found some more ive done...
bart simpson
http://i95.photobucket.com/albums/l132/my_lot/bartcake0.jpg
thomas the tank engine
http://i95.photobucket.com/albums/l132/my_lot/thomascake2.jpg
i think there was a similar thread somewhere, i just can't find it. anyway, i thought i would add mine too. i didn't realise you could buy pre-made icing, i slaved over this one:
this was owen's first birthday cake
http://i100.photobucket.com/albums/m14/andreabalint/1stcake.jpg
not sure how well you can see it but its a blue elephant, it was a great hit. i think for DS's next birthday i might make a train. i found that the library had some great cake decorating books so thats an idea for those stuck for ideas!
subaruforestermum
06-10-2006, 17:48
i think there was a similar thread somewhere, i just can't find it. anyway, i thought i would add mine too.
Hi owens mum...here is the link to the other thread similar to mine.....it was started on the 27/09/2006.....http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=42089......
tash n jag
06-10-2006, 19:18
Not sure how to post a link to a photo.... so here's an attempt. If it doesn't work can someone please tell me how to do it. Thanks in advance.
Inspiring ideas in this thread. I was actually thinking of a balloon theme for DS 1st birthday also. I ended up making with a lion because he was obsessed with making grrr sounds like a lion at the time. He also has a lion cuddly toy that he adores. It was supposed to be based on the Madagascar lion but everyone said it was more like the paddle pop lion.
http://i14.photobucket.com/albums/a337/jack0206/cake.jpg
thanks subaruforestermum i was looking for it but i couldn't find it.
tash n jag thats an awsome cake! how long did you slave over that one?! where did you get the design?
westerner
07-10-2006, 08:43
This is the Nemo cake i made for jacobs 1st birthday..
http://i94.photobucket.com/albums/l83/mummy2jacob/18-7-06079.jpg
tash n jag
07-10-2006, 14:31
Oo I love the Nemo cake Mummy2Jacob. Great shape and colour.
Owen's mum - I just traced the round tin and drew a lion's face on as much of the space as possible. I then used Orchard Icing - thanks to one of our fellow bubhubbers who suggested it in an earlier thread. I cut the lion's face shape, then kept cutting features and layering onto the main face (IYKWIM). It was an easy design really because I was able to make the face well in advance and simply ice the cake the night before and put the face on top of the icing.
I cheated and bought a Barbie Birthday cake for DD's first birthday...
Here is the Butterfly birthday cake (http://i35.photobucket.com/albums/d199/miffy66/Pictures180.jpg)that I made for her 2nd Birthday...
iluvmeboyz
10-10-2006, 19:32
i'm getting my nearly one yr old son for his bday from micheals patsaroes(sp?) a car cake its gunna look great.
subaruforestermum
28-10-2006, 13:33
Wow ladies we have such great talent amongst us........
To all you other talented mums out there keep posting your wonderful & creative cakes....:yelclap:
hayleylea
28-10-2006, 15:09
WOW guys there are some awesome cakes on here! heres the teddy bear one i made for my sons 1st birthday! it was really easy to make and it was very cute :)
http://www.babyhomepages.net/scripts/watermark.php?image=web7.jpg&sitename=hayleyandtrentsbaby&location_id=1
mum to 2 angels
11-11-2006, 21:26
i just had my daughters 2nd bday. i made her a 3 story fairy castle. took me forever but it was worth it to see little face light up
Oh Hayleylea the bear cake looks GREAT!
heres the cake my brother made for my daughters 2nd birthday last year. she loved it! actually everyone did!
http://i128.photobucket.com/albums/p175/Shezi26/mikaelahbirthday095.jpg
these are the two cakes my brother made for my girls last week, the pony was for dd#1 who turned 3 and the butterfly for dd#2 who turned 1. (the idiot at the fun station who brought the cake out of the fridge cracked it. i think my brother wanted to hit him.. lol
http://i128.photobucket.com/albums/p175/Shezi26/birthdaypics1st3rd084.jpg
http://i128.photobucket.com/albums/p175/Shezi26/birthdaypics1st3rd085.jpg
subaruforestermum
15-11-2006, 14:07
Keep the posts coming Im sure that people can use this thread if they get stuck for ideas......
I am already planning my sons birthday cake for next year, so I am looking for inspiration for another creative masterpiece.........
Thanks to everyone who has shared pics of their gorgeous and creative cakes....:party:
heres the cake my brother made for my daughters 2nd birthday last year. she loved it! actually everyone did!
http://i128.photobucket.com/albums/p175/Shezi26/mikaelahbirthday095.jpg
these are the two cakes my brother made for my girls last week, the pony was for dd#1 who turned 3 and the butterfly for dd#2 who turned 1. (the idiot at the fun station who brought the cake out of the fridge cracked it. i think my brother wanted to hit him.. lol
http://i128.photobucket.com/albums/p175/Shezi26/birthdaypics1st3rd084.jpg
http://i128.photobucket.com/albums/p175/Shezi26/birthdaypics1st3rd085.jpg
OMG! Shezi... your brother made them! :yelclap: :smiliedance: WOW!
yeah. he loves his nieces.. :D
Thats fantastic :thumbsup: - my bro ( as lovely as he is ) cant even make rolly pollies ( pieces of bread rolled up lol ) he breaks them so the idea of a cake being made by a bro!!!:yelclap:
PS - I think it runs in the family because I cant cook either lol :laughing:
lovingmotheract
10-12-2006, 06:23
i have bubs first birthday next week and need to make a wiggles cake she loves the wiggles so if u have a photo and how u made it that would be nice:eek:
subaruforestermum
10-12-2006, 06:29
i have bubs first birthday next week and need to make a wiggles cake she loves the wiggles so if u have a photo and how u made it that would be nice:eek:
Just wondered if you have considered buying the Edible pictures that you put on the cakes, and just use funky colours etc for icing to decorate it..... Just a suggestion
the_original_duchess
10-12-2006, 07:47
my dd1st (http://i131.photobucket.com/albums/p304/the_duchess_2006/birthdays018.jpg)birthday
my ds 2nd (http://i131.photobucket.com/albums/p304/the_duchess_2006/birthdays012.jpg)birthday
my ds3rd (http://i131.photobucket.com/albums/p304/the_duchess_2006/Pictures125.jpg) birthday
I made a Dorothy one for EJs birthday - The icing job wasnt real neat lol. Its a Chocolate cake that i cut out from a pic of Dorothy i got from a magazine
http://www.hotkey.net.au/~cathyn/cake.jpg
lovingmotheract
10-12-2006, 20:11
i considered buying a Edible picture as i can't bake and i'm not good at art thanks girls and wish me luck in finding a picture of the wiggles
Lil Mamma
15-12-2006, 21:47
What a great thread! Your cakes were amazing, very inspiring! Some great ideas :thumbsup:
Reidymac
17-12-2006, 02:22
There are so many awesome cakes on here! It is so exciting to see their faces light up when they have their birthday cake. I love birthdays:D .
My little boy just celebrated his first birthday and we have had two parties and cakes, this circus tent cake (http://static.flickr.com/139/319494794_4588f5297e_b.jpg)for his birthday with the family and this Noah's Ark cake (http://static.flickr.com/138/323915182_6ca12744bf_b.jpg) for the joint birthday party for all the Brisbane babies from the Bub hub December05 thread. Here is the other side of the Noah's Ark cake (http://static.flickr.com/136/323915180_f83cdd8dfe_b.jpg). I spent about a week making all the little sugar paste animals for both cakes but it was so much fun. You only turn 1 once, right?:laughing:
12-01-2007, 19:32
I thought that I would add Baileys (http://s115.photobucket.com/albums/n304/baileysmum/?action=view¤t=RIMG0496.jpg) as I made it today
subaruforestermum
15-02-2007, 16:40
Its awesome to see all these cakes, and all the talent us mums have.......
I cant wait to post one of Jaxons 2nd Birthday cake, only we have to wait until his birthday in July....
Keep them coming ladies
Chicco25
15-02-2007, 18:03
wow they are such great cakes!!
Thought i would add a couple of my own
http://i148.photobucket.com/albums/s36/chicco25/119_1984.jpg
http://i148.photobucket.com/albums/s36/chicco25/118_1838.jpg
http://i148.photobucket.com/albums/s36/chicco25/118_1825.jpg
http://i148.photobucket.com/albums/s36/chicco25/116_1643-1.jpg
http://i148.photobucket.com/albums/s36/chicco25/LMCQUEEN1-1.jpg
hope it worked
Anita
A Party of Five
12-04-2007, 13:25
Wow what a great idea for a thread. All of the cakes are so amazing great work everyone!
:party: Hear is Isabelle's 5th birthday cake it's for the AWW birthday cake book it's chocolate mud cake! As you can see it was a fairy themed birthday party. We booked a BBQ hunt at our local park for the party and a great time was had by all.
http://i159.photobucket.com/albums/t157/yummymummyof5/IzzysCake.jpg (http://i159.photobucket.com/albums/t157/yummymummyof5/IzzysCake.jpg)
What a great idea. I have to make a Fairy Castle for my niece this weekend and a train for DS in a few weeks, so will let you know how it goes.
angcaltam
12-04-2007, 14:06
All those cakes look great. :yes: :thumbsup: I wish I was that talented. :crying: Shanz is doing my DD's 1st birthday cake for her party on Saturday so I will try and remember to put up a pic next week.:fingerscrossed:
Natsmummy
14-04-2007, 22:51
What a great thread. You are all such clever women.
My favourite though were yours Reidymac - wow, they are amazing! You should start a business doing this from home if you are not already!
My little boy just celebrated his first birthday and we have had two parties and cakes, this circus tent cake (http://static.flickr.com/139/319494794_4588f5297e_b.jpg)for his birthday with the family and this Noah's Ark cake (http://static.flickr.com/138/323915182_6ca12744bf_b.jpg) for the joint birthday party for all the Brisbane babies from the Bub hub December05 thread. Here is the other side of the Noah's Ark cake (http://static.flickr.com/136/323915180_f83cdd8dfe_b.jpg). I spent about a week making all the little sugar paste animals for both cakes but it was so much fun. You only turn 1 once, right?:laughing:
This is the cake I did for Nathaniel's first birthday.
http://i140.photobucket.com/albums/r10/natsmummy/1st%20birthday%20party/100_5085.jpg
It's not up to the standard of a lot of you guys, but I can be a little 'culinarily challenged' so I was pretty pleased with it!
14-04-2007, 22:58
Omg wow!! I am so amazed by these cakes!
DDs birthday is in a week.... what on earth will I make....
Are there instructions for doing these cakes or do you just know how to do it?
Lisa&Davey
14-04-2007, 23:58
I wish I'd found this thread when I was scrambling for help and ideas for DS birthday.:yes:
The cakes on here are just fantastic!!
In the end I just made up my own design, inspired by one of DS teddies. I turned out pretty much exactly how I hoped:
http://i52.photobucket.com/albums/g35/llisaao/100_0106.jpg
Also here is the Care Bear I made for my niece's 2nd birthday:
http://i52.photobucket.com/albums/g35/llisaao/CareBearCakeLittle.jpg
phineas> There are lots of different ways to go about cake making. There are some great books and websites with ideas listed earlier in this thread. You can also buy shaped tins (That's what I used for the Care Bear) that give you a bit of a head start. HTH
OnceAMereHumanNowAMum
15-04-2007, 05:45
Thanks guys.
Mrs Little & Son.
Use cornflour instead of icing sugar to dust.
Natsmummy
15-04-2007, 06:11
Was just curious as to how the Orchard white icing actually tastes? When it comes time for everyone to eat your cake will they like it or does it end up pushed to one side?
Lisa&Davey
15-04-2007, 11:17
It tastes like wedding cake icing if you've ever had that. In my experience people will usually eat a bit but if it's on anything other than fruit cake it can be a bit much and does tend to get left behind. That's just IMO others may think differently.
Reidymac
15-04-2007, 19:53
What a great thread. You are all such clever women.
My favourite though were yours Reidymac - wow, they are amazing! You should start a business doing this from home if you are not already!
Awww :o thank you. Thats so kind of you to say but they were my first real try and I haven't done any more since. I had never done cake decorating before but I love making anything fiddly so it was great fun to do. I wouldn't know how to start it as a home business but I might do requests for family and friends.
Re: the taste of icing, I used a plastic icing flavored with white chocolate to match the cake and it was yummy. A bit too thick in the heavily layered places but mostly OK.
16-04-2007, 13:03
I like this thread :thumbsup:
I made Connor a Thomas cake for his 3rd birthday on Saturday. I think it's pretty cute :D
Here it is (http://s112.photobucket.com/albums/n174/poshBecks/?action=view¤t=IMGP2348.jpg)
I just got a pic of Thomas and had it blown up & traced around the shape on a big slab of cake. Thomas' face it a small round cake that sits on top. Then I just iced it accordingly. And used licorice strips for the black lines.
I am rather proud of it :D
subaruforestermum
03-06-2007, 07:56
Great cakes Ladies, just bumping this up as I know there have been alot of birthdays lately, reminding you all to share your idea, and wonderful creations..
Keep up the good work:thumbsup:
shell@home
07-06-2007, 11:40
In a few weeks it is my youngest dd's 2nd birthday and I'm planning on making a big cupcake shaped birthday cake using a pyrex dish for the cake shape. And I'm planning on using foil wrapping paper around the base to make it look like a giant patty cake paper.
Hopefully all goes well and it turns out.
subaruforestermum
07-06-2007, 11:44
Great idea......
Goodluck with it....:fingerscrossed: it turns out the way you want it to. Have you done a trial run??
Show us what it looks like in the end result....
JumpingBean
07-06-2007, 11:53
Hey suburuforestermum,
I LOVED your son's cake. what did you make the wording (happy birthday) out of? Was it cake also?
I'd love to copy the wording to use on my DD's cake if you don't mind?
subaruforestermum
16-06-2007, 16:54
Hey Kell, sent you a PM, although a little late....
Hope all went well and hope to see some photos soon.....
heymamma
19-06-2007, 12:45
I thought we could post pics of our cakes we have made.
This is Ethans 2nd bday cake... Elmo that i made.
http://i110.photobucket.com/albums/n118/ape2212/Elmocake.jpg
Phoenix's 3rd bday cake Shrek..
http://i110.photobucket.com/albums/n118/ape2212/Phoenixsshrekcake.jpg
Alyssa's butterfly cake 7th bday...
http://i110.photobucket.com/albums/n118/ape2212/Alyssas7thbdaycake.jpg
19-06-2007, 13:01
We have a sticky thread here (http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=34836) for all our birthday cakes :D
ETA: Very nice cakes btw :)
BaDaBing
19-06-2007, 13:01
Oh they are all excellant. Well done :thumbsup:
I would have to say Elmo is my fav - very creative.
heymamma
20-06-2007, 09:40
wow they are such great cakes!!
Thought i would add a couple of my own
http://i148.photobucket.com/albums/s36/chicco25/119_1984.jpg
http://i148.photobucket.com/albums/s36/chicco25/118_1838.jpg
http://i148.photobucket.com/albums/s36/chicco25/118_1825.jpg
http://i148.photobucket.com/albums/s36/chicco25/116_1643-1.jpg
http://i148.photobucket.com/albums/s36/chicco25/LMCQUEEN1-1.jpg
hope it worked
Anita
Your cakes are absoultly amazing!!!
So is everyone else's... wow!!
subaruforestermum
28-06-2007, 12:31
We have a sticky thread here (http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=34836) for all our birthday cakes :D
ETA: Very nice cakes btw :)
PoshBecks, you crack me up...this is the sticky thread!!!!!!
LMAO.....You posted in it on the page you posted the link...:laughing: :laughing:
Actually I merged the thread she posted that into with the sticky.. if that makes sense..?? LOL she she isnt so blonde afterall :D
twolittlegirls
28-06-2007, 13:09
My DD's birthday isn't until September but I'm trying to be organised. She is really into Max and Milly. I was hoping to do a cake which is one of the characters from New Macdonald's farm. I can't find anything on the net. Has anybody got any ideas??
subaruforestermum
28-06-2007, 13:29
Actually I merged the thread she posted that into with the sticky.. if that makes sense..?? LOL she she isnt so blonde afterall :D
oh ok lol.....yeah that makes sense....
twolittlegirls, they have those edible cake decorations which you put on top of the icing and decorate around...IYKWIM...
Or possibly go to the petie website and try to copy a picture, paste it in word, and print it... Or even trace a pic from a colouring in book...
twolittlegirls
30-06-2007, 17:44
Thanks for your reply. I might see what I can find in the way of the edible things!
Roseythorn
23-07-2007, 19:29
For DS's second birthday I made a giraffe cake for him.
I thought it turned out quite well. Heres the link if you want to have a peek.
http://s204.photobucket.com/albums/bb25/Roseythorn/?action=view¤t=giraffe.jpg
christen
23-07-2007, 22:59
SUBARUFORRESTERMUM What icing did you use for this cake?? Was is fondant or something simmilar??
subaruforestermum
24-07-2007, 14:38
SUBARUFORRESTERMUM What icing did you use for this cake?? Was is fondant or something simmilar??
Just PM'd you, it was White Orchard Icing from the supermarket........like they use on wedding cakes! Although it is sweet, if there are alot of people the slices are only small anyway, so it doesnt really matter too much!
subaruforestermum
24-07-2007, 14:39
For DS's second birthday I made a giraffe cake for him.
I thought it turned out quite well. Heres the link if you want to have a peek.
http://s204.photobucket.com/albums/bb25/Roseythorn/?action=view¤t=giraffe.jpg
Great cake Roseythorn!
Roseythorn
24-07-2007, 15:18
Great cake Roseythorn!
Thanks, I was pretty pleased with myself. :)
Hey, thought I'd add my latest creation to the list.
This is Nicola's birthday cake (DD2) that I made for her 4th birthday today. Hope you like it!
Butterfly 1 (http://i121.photobucket.com/albums/o236/chenicimo/Augpics126.jpg)
Butterfly 2 (http://i121.photobucket.com/albums/o236/chenicimo/Augpics121.jpg)
Oh, I thought I'd post THIS (http://themoorefamily5.spaces.live.com/?_c11_PhotoAlbum_spaHandler=TWljcm9zb2Z0LlNwYWNlcy 5XZWIuUGFydHMuUGhvdG9BbGJ1bS5GdWxsTW9kZUNvbnRyb2xs ZXI%24&_c11_PhotoAlbum_spaFolderID=cns!3EA6D48DAC68758!11 7&_c11_PhotoAlbum_startingImageIndex=&_c11_PhotoAlbum_commentsExpand=&_c11_PhotoAlbum_addCommentExpand=&_c11_PhotoAlbum_addCommentFocus=&_c=PhotoAlbum) link too. It's a photo album with my cakes that I've done - mostly for my kids or family/friends. Might give some people some inspiration.
I've been LOVING checking out everyones cakes by the way, sat here a week ago and read through the entire thread! Another birthday coming up in October so I might get some ideas from you girls!
christen
06-08-2007, 12:14
OMG chenicimo those cakes are beautiful, i am so excitied to make DD's frst birthday cake i can only hope it looks half as good as one of yours!
here is Baden's 1st Birthday cake. I hired the Wilton Huggable bear cake tin from the bakery.
It turned out really well and got lots of comments. Not bad for a rookie. It was a lot of fun.
http://img266.imageshack.us/img266/273/cakeforbadeybh9.jpg
Jax Tellers Old Lady
13-08-2007, 15:24
Hi I thought I would share the pics of Ds birthday cake that my mum and I made last week. I was quite impressed with how it turned out. Thanks to Poshbecks who so kindly sent me the instructions and template.
Ds second Birthday cake (http://http://i142.photobucket.com/albums/r95/bertandernie03/IMG_3018.jpg)
Thomas cake (http://i142.photobucket.com/albums/r95/bertandernie03/IMG_3020.jpg)
subaruforestermum
13-08-2007, 16:12
There are so many talented people on here....
Keep the inspiration coming ladies:thumbsup:
14-08-2007, 18:58
Oh, I thought I'd post THIS (http://themoorefamily5.spaces.live.com/?_c11_PhotoAlbum_spaHandler=TWljcm9zb2Z0LlNwYWNlcy 5XZWIuUGFydHMuUGhvdG9BbGJ1bS5GdWxsTW9kZUNvbnRyb2xs ZXI%24&_c11_PhotoAlbum_spaFolderID=cns!3EA6D48DAC68758!11 7&_c11_PhotoAlbum_startingImageIndex=&_c11_PhotoAlbum_commentsExpand=&_c11_PhotoAlbum_addCommentExpand=&_c11_PhotoAlbum_addCommentFocus=&_c=PhotoAlbum) link too. It's a photo album with my cakes that I've done - mostly for my kids or family/friends. Might give some people some inspiration.
OMGosh Anna!!! Are you a professional cake maker!!! Your cakes are divine!!! :yelclap:
B&E your thomas cake rocks :thumbsup:
Hey, thought I'd add my latest creation to the list.
This is Nicola's birthday cake (DD2) that I made for her 4th birthday today. Hope you like it!
Butterfly 1 (http://i121.photobucket.com/albums/o236/chenicimo/Augpics126.jpg)
Butterfly 2 (http://i121.photobucket.com/albums/o236/chenicimo/Augpics121.jpg)
Oh, I thought I'd post THIS (http://themoorefamily5.spaces.live.com/?_c11_PhotoAlbum_spaHandler=TWljcm9zb2Z0LlNwYWNlcy 5XZWIuUGFydHMuUGhvdG9BbGJ1bS5GdWxsTW9kZUNvbnRyb2xs ZXI%24&_c11_PhotoAlbum_spaFolderID=cns%213EA6D48DAC68758% 21117&_c11_PhotoAlbum_startingImageIndex=&_c11_PhotoAlbum_commentsExpand=&_c11_PhotoAlbum_addCommentExpand=&_c11_PhotoAlbum_addCommentFocus=&_c=PhotoAlbum) link too. It's a photo album with my cakes that I've done - mostly for my kids or family/friends. Might give some people some inspiration.
I've been LOVING checking out everyones cakes by the way, sat here a week ago and read through the entire thread! Another birthday coming up in October so I might get some ideas from you girls!
WOW they are absolutely gorgeous!!! :yelclap::yelclap:
SimplyMum
07-09-2007, 10:30
Ok, a couple of questions....
1. where do you get pure icing sugar to knead the icing?
2. After rolling our the coloured icing and putting it onto the cake, I still have icing sugar all over the icing and it makes it look 'yukky'- how do I get all the bits of icing powder off the icing?
subaruforestermum
07-09-2007, 18:07
Ok, a couple of questions....
1. where do you get pure icing sugar to knead the icing?
2. After rolling our the coloured icing and putting it onto the cake, I still have icing sugar all over the icing and it makes it look 'yukky'- how do I get all the bits of icing powder off the icing?
You can buy pure icing sugar at the supermarket! Is a bit more expensive than other stuff though...
And get a pastry brush or a thick soft bristled paint brush, and dust it off...... Hope that helps...
Fuchsia!
09-09-2007, 14:54
hi just thought i would show off mine!!! Jaxon loved this!!!
http://s219.photobucket.com/albums/cc213/jaxcoop/?action=view¤t=101_1444.jpg
Im really proud of it! I have just brought a book about cake decorating kids cakes and its awesome. Its looks awesome way way better then the womens' weekly cake books!!
missie_mack
09-09-2007, 15:18
Oh I have a pirate cake I made for my little one today too
http://i140.photobucket.com/albums/r34/missie_mack/PICT0821.jpg
http://i140.photobucket.com/albums/r34/missie_mack/PICT0811.jpg
http://i140.photobucket.com/albums/r34/missie_mack/PICT0813.jpg
Mine was a rip-off from a fellow August mum who was too lazy to do it :D
Hieronymus Bosch cake (http://i142.photobucket.com/albums/r100/Beany_bucket/IMGP6251.jpg)
Fuchsia!
09-09-2007, 15:56
i found some pics from the cake book i was talking about. They are awesome! I would love to be able to make cakes like these!
http://i219.photobucket.com/albums/cc213/jaxcoop/untitled.jpg
http://i219.photobucket.com/albums/cc213/jaxcoop/TakeitEasyTortoiseCake.jpg
http://i219.photobucket.com/albums/cc213/jaxcoop/PAC-SqueakwithDelight.jpg
http://i219.photobucket.com/albums/cc213/jaxcoop/PAC-RoaringSuccess.jpg
http://i219.photobucket.com/albums/cc213/jaxcoop/PAC-VampItUp.jpg
Here's my DD's first birthday Cakes. First one is 'Puss in Boot's' in honour of her Leo star sign status and the second one was just a cake to have on her actual birthday before her party.
Puss in Boots (http://i136.photobucket.com/albums/q162/fashionistasista74/IMGP0749.jpg)
Bear (http://i136.photobucket.com/albums/q162/fashionistasista74/IMGP0755.jpg)
BlueEyedGirl
10-09-2007, 14:33
hi just thought i would show off mine!!! Jaxon loved this!!!
http://s219.photobucket.com/albums/cc213/jaxcoop/?action=view¤t=101_1444.jpg
Im really proud of it! I have just brought a book about cake decorating kids cakes and its awesome. Its looks awesome way way better then the womens' weekly cake books!!
That is excellent!!
Could you please tell me the name of the book - I would like to get it :D
Fuchsia!
10-09-2007, 14:37
That is excellent!!
Could you please tell me the name of the book - I would like to get it :D
the pirate ship cake was made using a womens weekly cake book but the book i was talking about is called Party animal cakes by lindy smith. If you look at my post before there are some pictures from that book
These are 2 I've done...you will recognise them from the cake books everyone sees...they were dead easy to do too!
Ladybug (http://i189.photobucket.com/albums/z276/mishlc/100_2769x.jpg)
Fairy Castle (http://i189.photobucket.com/albums/z276/mishlc/100_1801.jpg)
and heres (http://i189.photobucket.com/albums/z276/mishlc/IMG_0193.jpg)my wedding cake, just to show off for anyone interested, :laughing:
...and heres (http://i189.photobucket.com/albums/z276/mishlc/100_1288.jpg) my friends (http://i189.photobucket.com/albums/z276/mishlc/100_1293.jpg) wedding cake which could be a good easy birthday cake too...just Betty Crocker choc icing dipped in smarties!
Fuchsia!
10-09-2007, 14:41
These are 2 I've done...you will recognise them from the cake books everyone sees...they were dead easy to do too!
Ladybug (http://i189.photobucket.com/albums/z276/mishlc/100_2769x.jpg)
Fairy Castle (http://i189.photobucket.com/albums/z276/mishlc/100_1801.jpg)
and heres (http://i189.photobucket.com/albums/z276/mishlc/IMG_0193.jpg)my wedding cake, just to show off for anyone interested, :laughing:
...and heres (http://i189.photobucket.com/albums/z276/mishlc/100_1288.jpg) my friends (http://i189.photobucket.com/albums/z276/mishlc/100_1293.jpg) wedding cake which could be a good easy birthday cake too...just Betty Crocker choc icing dipped in smarties!
The ladybug and the fairy castle is out of the womens weekly book isn't? That's where i got the pirate ship from. They turned out really great! I was thinking of doing the fairy castle for my little neice:)
Yeah, my SIL did the Pirate ship too!
Great book!!!
I came across a site that had so many good ones but have no idea what it was now, I saved a few pics on a Word Doc I can email if anyone likes, they are all girl cakes tho. Was trying to get inspiration for DDs 2nd birthday.
Am going to do a caterpillar one where you do about 4-7 little dome cakes and decorate all diff colours etc and the first one is the head of course and then you can put th e letters of thier name on each dome???
Hard to explain but looks awesome!
I did the carolsel for DD's first birthday and just made the dragon cake yesterday for the fun of it!
mumzdaword
10-09-2007, 18:29
:babydust2:Love the Cake:babydust2:
Wish i was that talented
jembelina
10-09-2007, 20:01
Here is a train(from ww cake book, it's not a bad attempt at thomas!!) I did for Zack's 2nd birthday...
http://i134.photobucket.com/albums/q81/jembelina/Picture057.jpg
http://i134.photobucket.com/albums/q81/jembelina/Picture056.jpg
For his first birthday I did his name in cupcakes but I don't have a digital photo of it and can't be bothered scanning it in atm!
Need some ideas for a teddy bear cake too please. We are having a teddy bear's picnic for Leighs 1st birthday next month.
Love this thread, so much talent!!!
My cousin did a Teddy Bears picnic birthday for her DS's 1st birthday and did this train cake and put Tiny Teddies in it.....
Train 1 (http://i189.photobucket.com/albums/z276/mishlc/100_0525.jpg)
Train 2 (http://i189.photobucket.com/albums/z276/mishlc/100_0524.jpg)
In Train 1 pic you can see some fluff at the front of the tray, this was sitting in the wafer stick as smoke...just fyi!
Fuchsia!
10-09-2007, 21:35
Here is a train(from ww cake book, it's not a bad attempt at thomas!!) I did for Zack's 2nd birthday...
http://i134.photobucket.com/albums/q81/jembelina/Picture057.jpg
http://i134.photobucket.com/albums/q81/jembelina/Picture056.jpg
For his first birthday I did his name in cupcakes but I don't have a digital photo of it and can't be bothered scanning it in atm!
Need some ideas for a teddy bear cake too please. We are having a teddy bear's picnic for Leighs 1st birthday next month.
Love this thread, so much talent!!!
That train is great! Love it!!!:)
Jembelina
Wilton have some nice teddy bear cake pans that you can buy. One is a bear sitting up. Looks hard but apparently it's not so bad!
All the cakes look great! I'm going to attempt a Blues Clues cake in December for my son's 1st bday. My first character cake ever so :fingerscrossed:
I made this for DS's 2nd birthday
Number 2 (http://i78.photobucket.com/albums/j89/melandmatt/NappiesforSale036-1.jpg)
Fuchsia!
14-09-2007, 17:09
very nice melo! Glad it worked out for you! I done a similar one for ds 1st b'day with the smarties! It looks great!:)
Wow ladies these cakes are all really impressive. I finally got around to uploading a few of ours. I can't take the credit for them thou, I'm very fortunate to have a wonderfully talented MIL who makes all our cakes.
http://i168.photobucket.com/albums/u200/paris04_photos/IMG_2482.jpg
http://i168.photobucket.com/albums/u200/paris04_photos/IMG_1599.jpg
http://i168.photobucket.com/albums/u200/paris04_photos/2ndbday.jpg
http://i168.photobucket.com/albums/u200/paris04_photos/playgroupbday.jpg
The last one was done for our playgroup joint birthday which we held at our place. She put everyones names around the board.
Hope you enjoy (and I hope the links work)
I just found the one for my baby shower
http://i168.photobucket.com/albums/u200/paris04_photos/IMG_0679.jpg
Fuchsia!
14-09-2007, 18:10
cool that's so nice! they are really sweet! I love cake decorating!:)
grecksta
18-09-2007, 20:06
Thought Id add Locky's cake here it was his 3rd birthday today..
very easy and my first attempt at a childs birthday cake..
http://i43.photobucket.com/albums/e395/grecksta/DSCF7653.jpg
Fuchsia!
18-09-2007, 20:09
oh that's so cute! Very good job for your 1st:thumbsup: I bet he loved it!!!!:)
grecksta
18-09-2007, 21:01
Thanks ..:kiss:
I must say I am very proud of my self:laughing:
SimplyMum
19-09-2007, 11:37
Very good. I'm sure Lukey was stoked!
I'm going to be attempting a wiggles car!!!:eek: I hope it turns out ok.:fingerscrossed:
robinson
19-09-2007, 11:58
I just found the one for my baby shower
http://i168.photobucket.com/albums/u200/paris04_photos/IMG_0679.jpg
OMG love this... i know what book it comes from too! Its actually the one I plan on making for DDs 2nd birthday but with the pink theme.. like in the book..
Your MIL is awesome at making cakes..
Anyway..
Here's a cake I made for a friends DD's 1st Bday
http://i51.photobucket.com/albums/f395/chereerobinson/DSC07332.jpg
I made the same for my DD's birthday but cant find the pics..
SimplyMum
19-09-2007, 12:24
OMG love this... i know what book it comes from too! Its actually the one I plan on making for DDs 2nd birthday but with the pink theme.. like in the book..
Your MIL is awesome at making cakes..
Anyway..
Here's a cake I made for a friends DD's 1st Bday
http://i51.photobucket.com/albums/f395/chereerobinson/DSC07332.jpg
I made the same for my DD's birthday but cant find the pics..
This is awsome. Just been looking over some of the cakes and they are out of this world. I don't know how you ladies do it- they are just awsome. I think I will have to attempt that merry go round one or the toadstool one and somehow convert it into a BOYS theme! Mmmm....*is thinking how to turn a merry-go-round into a boys theme!*
robinson
19-09-2007, 19:13
This is awsome. Just been looking over some of the cakes and they are out of this world. I don't know how you ladies do it- they are just awsome. I think I will have to attempt that merry go round one or the toadstool one and somehow convert it into a BOYS theme! Mmmm....*is thinking how to turn a merry-go-round into a boys theme!*
You could use cars instead of horses or a special theme like "the wiggles" or use cows instead??? do the icing in blue and red or something?
Reidymac
26-09-2007, 21:42
Awsome cakes :thumbsup:
DD turned 4 last week so we had a little fairy party in the park and I made a fairy mushroom house cake (http://farm2.static.flickr.com/1256/1442947640_e2a2dcdf83_o.jpg). Mmmmmm, chocolate mud cake, yummy :p
Kangaskippy
26-09-2007, 22:22
Here is the cake I made for Jack's 1st birthday 2 wks ago...I drew a pic one night of the cake i wanted for him, I made 2 plain cakes and coloured the mix with different colours for 3 sections of each cake so was bright colours when cut inside, then I just cut the 2 cakes up and put the car together...then had fun the night before his birthday icing it and added lollies for decoration...pretty easy...and I had a fun time making it.
1st Birthday Cake (http://i146.photobucket.com/albums/r241/Kangaskippy/1stbirthdayCake2.jpg)
Birthday Boy with Cake (http://i146.photobucket.com/albums/r241/Kangaskippy/jackwithbirthdaycake.jpg)
CharlisMummy
04-10-2007, 19:15
:eek: :eek: Wow guys, some of these cakes are amazing!!!!
I'm hoping to make a Dolly Varden cake for DD's birthday. It's not until December, so i've got a bit of time to practise!! I don't even know where to get a tin from!
I think I'll buy some good kids party cake books :yes:
BlueEyedGirl
04-10-2007, 19:24
I am going to attempt a tea pot for DD's 2nd birthday!!
She is having a tea party 'theme' and I have found some cool pictures of tea pot cakes, but no actual recipes:detective:
macksmum
05-10-2007, 14:36
I have an amazing teapot recipe at home i would be able to scan and email you if you can't find anything
BlueEyedGirl
05-10-2007, 21:08
I have an amazing teapot recipe at home i would be able to scan and email you if you can't find anything
I might just take you up on that offer!
I have found a Donna Hay magazine that has a rerecipe, just have to find it on the 'auction site':laughing:
subaruforestermum
06-10-2007, 13:16
All these cakes and ideas are amazing ladies.
I am so glad that you are enjoying sharing your cakes, and helping out with ideas for others. Great to see...:yelclap:
Keep them coming, I still havent made DS's 2nd one (our oven blew up and I had to buy one, so want to still make the one I planned to)....I will get there when things settle down a bit...
hayleylea
21-10-2007, 06:31
Hey guys
Heres my attempt at "max's Tractor" and max and milly out of the show New MacDonalds farm. I also made Max and Milly out of foam people and just printed out their faces then contacted them.
I also made a little person with DS's head on it and also another one with his favourite Ted to ride in the tractor.
http://i37.photobucket.com/albums/e53/hayleylea/web9.jpg
http://i37.photobucket.com/albums/e53/hayleylea/web8.jpg
http://i37.photobucket.com/albums/e53/hayleylea/web7.jpg
Wow some lovely creations since I looked last!
DD3's birthday is coming up and I'm all fairied, butterflied, ladybugged (etc) out!
Any suggestions?
I was thinking I might make the toadstool/fairy house cake as she does like fairies and it's fairly simple and not too time consuming.
Anyone got some ideas up their sleeves?
Fuchsia!
29-10-2007, 10:29
heres one i made on the weekend for my little neice! its cute little butterfly :) (http://i219.photobucket.com/albums/cc213/jaxcoop/101_2824.jpg)
jembelina
30-10-2007, 14:32
Just thought I would share pics of the cake I made for Leigh's 1st birthday. We had a Teddy Bear's Picnic in the backyard. Was so happy with how it turned out and al the bits were surprisingly easy to find at my local shops!
Pic 1 (http://i134.photobucket.com/albums/q81/jembelina/IMGP2854.jpg)
Pic 2 (http://i134.photobucket.com/albums/q81/jembelina/IMGP2858.jpg)
Pic 3 (http://i134.photobucket.com/albums/q81/jembelina/IMGP2853.jpg)
And this isn't cake, but these teddy bear biccies (http://i134.photobucket.com/albums/q81/jembelina/IMGP2859.jpg)were a huge hit!
sandy_1902
30-10-2007, 15:01
aw your all so talented i think ill hire one of yous for baileys birthdays lol
Here is my latest one...DD's 2nd Birthday cake:
Pic1 (http://i189.photobucket.com/albums/z276/mishlc/DSC00001-2.jpg)
Pic2 (http://i189.photobucket.com/albums/z276/mishlc/DSC00023-1.jpg)
Here's my daughters 2nd birthday cake from the weekend. She's really into The Fairies from tv at the moment so I made her a little mushroom fairy house as her cake - just out of one of the Womans Weekly cake books.
Fairy House (http://i121.photobucket.com/albums/o236/chenicimo/Family%20shots/ResizeImmyBday.jpg)
Fairy House 2 (http://i121.photobucket.com/albums/o236/chenicimo/Family%20shots/ResizeImmyBday1.jpg)
06-11-2007, 21:55
Here's my daughters 2nd birthday cake from the weekend. She's really into The Fairies from tv at the moment so I made her a little mushroom fairy house as her cake - just out of one of the Womans Weekly cake books.
Fairy House (http://i121.photobucket.com/albums/o236/chenicimo/Family%20shots/ResizeImmyBday.jpg)
Fairy House 2 (http://i121.photobucket.com/albums/o236/chenicimo/Family%20shots/ResizeImmyBday1.jpg)
Gee your clever Anna!!! Gorgeous! Just gorgeous!!
Fuchsia!
06-11-2007, 22:01
thats's very clever! it looks exactly like the one off the book! well done :yelclap:
Well done on the Fairy cake!
I know I posted a pic of DD's 2nd B'day cake on the last page but I re-did it and added a log, so he's climbing over a log and entered it in a local show and got 2nd place...this is the one I entered for the show:
Caterpillar (http://i189.photobucket.com/albums/z276/mishlc/DSC00175.jpg)
Caterpillar 2 (http://i189.photobucket.com/albums/z276/mishlc/DSC00164.jpg)
I also did a Christmas one and so did my Mum...she got 1st place and I got 3rd...just to give some ideas if anyone wants to do a Christmas one...
Mine (http://i189.photobucket.com/albums/z276/mishlc/DSC00172.jpg)
Mums (http://i189.photobucket.com/albums/z276/mishlc/DSC00166.jpg)
I've only ever made DD's 1st birthday cake which was a ladybug and her 2nd birthday one, so it goes to show they are very easy....You don't have to be a master cake maker to do them!
...and btw, I was up against a professional cake maker so didn't do too badly gettign 2nd place, hahaha...dead easy!
OMG that caterpillar is just GORGEOUS!!! Well done!
heres a few from last week...
dd#2's duckie :D
here's a pic before going overboard with smarties
http://i226.photobucket.com/albums/dd191/MarchMums/Defaipe/girls001Small.jpg
and after..
http://i226.photobucket.com/albums/dd191/MarchMums/Defaipe/girls003Small.jpg
then from dd#1 & dd#2's party my mum made #1 the castle, she thinks she's a princess hehe & #2 the farmyard as she is obsessed with animals!
http://i226.photobucket.com/albums/dd191/MarchMums/Defaipe/party069Small.jpg
http://i226.photobucket.com/albums/dd191/MarchMums/Defaipe/party068Small.jpg
littlepickle
07-11-2007, 23:49
Heres one did for dd in July for her first birthday. I got the recipe/design from womens weekly and had so much fun making it. I changed the recipe a bit though. Instead of a sponge cake as the recipe suggested, I made a chocolate mudcake. The mudcake being more dense provided a better support for the top layer, also as mudcake keeps for longer, I was able to make it and ice it etc over a few days
Elise's Birthday Cake (http://i114.photobucket.com/albums/n275/littlepickle/DSCN5895.jpg)
declansmum
08-11-2007, 00:21
Heres one did for dd in July for her first birthday. I got the recipe/design from womens weekly and had so much fun making it. I changed the recipe a bit though. Instead of a sponge cake as the recipe suggested, I made a chocolate mudcake. The mudcake being more dense provided a better support for the top layer, also as mudcake keeps for longer, I was able to make it and ice it etc over a few days
Elise's Birthday Cake (http://i114.photobucket.com/albums/n275/littlepickle/DSCN5895.jpg)
WOW WEE!!! That looks great
robinson
08-11-2007, 11:42
Thats what I'm thinking of making DD1 for her 2nd bday.. just got to pluck up the courage.. might be hard with a little bubba around as well as a toddler.. LOL...
It will either be that or something to do with Dora..
That is awesome...I might give it a go too!
littlepickle
09-11-2007, 20:02
Itts realy a lot easier than it looks. The time consuming bit is decorating, but I did the decorating over two nights while dd was in bed.
The cake is in the latest edition of womens weekly birthday cakes.
I bought the large skewers from a cake shop, but the horses etc were a bit harder to find. I managed to find them in the craft section in bunnings and then painted them with non toxic paint.
Here are the time saving things I did:
1.Buy ready made icing from a cake making shop, that way all you have to do is colour it and roll it out
2. Get the decoration bits and pieces a bit ahead of schedule, that way you can do stuff like paint the horses and wind the ribbon around the skewers whenever you have a bit of spare time
3. Make mudcake instead of sponge cake and pop it into the freezer until you are ready to decorate
For any Brissy people, the cake decorating shop on Robinson road are great for supplies, they have everything you need for just about any cake you want to make. I went in and told them what cake I was making. They looked it up in their copy of the recipe book and got all the things I needed while I stood there looking lost:D
subaruforestermum
09-11-2007, 20:11
Wow this thread is more popular than I ever expected, it is so great to bounce ideas off each other....and the cakes are awesome....we could all start a business together:D
Keep up the great talent ladies, I'm sure the time and effort put into these cakes will be appreciated when the kids see photos in the years to come, or even now if they are a bit older!!!! I know I loved all the fantastic cakes mum use to make for us!
Wantonemore
24-11-2007, 09:25
wow! well done:sunshine:
GraceUnhearing
15-12-2007, 22:59
i just made this for my little mans first birthday party tomorrow :D
i think its great if i do say so myself!
http://i12.photobucket.com/albums/a239/my_fallen_angel/PICT0001-8.jpg
http://i12.photobucket.com/albums/a239/my_fallen_angel/PICT0002-8.jpg
http://i12.photobucket.com/albums/a239/my_fallen_angel/PICT0003-7.jpg
http://i12.photobucket.com/albums/a239/my_fallen_angel/PICT0004-4.jpg
http://i12.photobucket.com/albums/a239/my_fallen_angel/PICT0005-8.jpg
http://i12.photobucket.com/albums/a239/my_fallen_angel/PICT0006-5.jpg
http://i12.photobucket.com/albums/a239/my_fallen_angel/PICT0007-5.jpg
http://i12.photobucket.com/albums/a239/my_fallen_angel/PICT0008-2.jpg
i got it out of the womans weekly cake book but i changed it around alot
i made the anchor and the cannon out of icing sugar, and the 'water' is icing as well.
i think it looks great!
i dont want to cut it up!
subaruforestermum
15-12-2007, 23:07
You have every right to be proud of it, it is fantastic...... where did you get the pirates from, incase someone else wants to borrow your idea (or womans weeklys idea)?????
:yelclap:I dread cutting my creations too....
Congrats on a top effort!
BlueEyedGirl
15-12-2007, 23:10
That is awesome Kellie!!
Did you make the people out of icing too??
How long did it take??
Fantastic work:goodvibes:
GraceUnhearing
15-12-2007, 23:20
i got the pirates off ebay
haha
but i did make everything else on the cake :D
What a great cake! Well Done...I too, never want to cut them up lol
Here is the one that i just did for my DD's. I had to make two of them but this is just the one- she looks like "chucky's" girlfriend
http://i173.photobucket.com/albums/w80/roo_pee/100_1999.jpg
heymamma
09-03-2008, 12:36
This is a cake i made for my daughter Alyssa 8th bday
http://i110.photobucket.com/albums/n118/ape2212/cakes/Alyssascatcake.jpg
These are some cakes that I made for DD1 and DD2.
Sully from Monsters inc. DD2's 4th B'day.
http://picasaweb.google.co.uk/toniw796/BDayCakes/photo#5168923064881822930
Butterfly DD2's 2nd B'day. Wags the dog DD1's 3rd Bday and Dorothy the dinosaur DD1's 2nd B'day.
http://picasaweb.google.co.uk/toniw796/BDayCakes/photo#5168923112126463202
Lollie86
10-03-2008, 10:00
I cant remember if I have already posted in here but here is the cake I made for DDs first birthday.
http://i229.photobucket.com/albums/ee66/Lollie1986/Teddy%20Bears%20Picnic%20Party/010-1.jpg
And this one was for her party
http://i229.photobucket.com/albums/ee66/Lollie1986/Teddy%20Bears%20Picnic%20Party/176.jpg
subaruforestermum
31-03-2008, 09:19
Great cakes laies.....
Has anyone made a Lightning McQueen cake, or seen one.....
I dont want to use an edible centre plaque.
His birthday's not until July, so I have some time. Keep your eyes out. Oh and decorations for the Movie cars......
Great cakes laies.....
His birthday's not until July, so I have some time. Keep your eyes out. Oh and decorations for the Movie cars......
I am also doing the Cars theme for DS1's 3rd which is in July (same day as your sons B'day if I remember correctly lol). I got the Wilton cake pan from ebay and ebay also has the party bags and plates etc which I will be getting very soon as well......I think I also seen that there are the Party hats and plates etc at ToysRUs when we were in there on Saturday.
You can also get the Wilton cake pans through online Australian shops but they are about $50 each without the postage. I payed $67 from ebay and that was a wilton cake pan for DS1 and DS2's Birthdays as well as the food colours and some stuff you use on the pans instead of using butter and flour. All the items are also brand new that I got. $67 includes the cost of postage from America.
Oh and if your interested Suby let me know and I will give you the name of the seller I bought off on ebay.
subaruforestermum
31-03-2008, 09:37
I am also doing the Cars theme for DS1's 3rd which is in July (same day as your sons B'day if I remember correctly lol). I got the Wilton cake pan from ebay and ebay also has the party bags and plates etc which I will be getting very soon as well......I think I also seen that there are the Party hats and plates etc at ToysRUs when we were in there on Saturday.
You can also get the Wilton cake pans through online Australian shops but they are about $50 each without the postage. I payed $67 from ebay and that was a wilton cake pan for DS1 and DS2's Birthdays as well as the food colours and some stuff you use on the pans instead of using butter and flour. $67 includes the cost of postage from America.
lol... DS's is on 15th July too so yeah same date..... WOW... Thanks for that, so is the cake pan the actual shape of McQueen?? Will have to browse eBay I think.
Well how cool is that....I have to watch the movie 50 thousand times a week. Over and over, he is obsessed.... I tried to get him to have a car theme, any car type cars, and NO it had to be Lightning McQueen....:rolleyes:
I am yet to decide whether to have it the weekend before or the weekend after since it falls on a Tuesday...
onemummmy
31-03-2008, 09:40
wow fantastic cakes everyone :D
Great cakes laies.....
def. check ebay! ... great stuff there!
here's a good link
http://home.search.ebay.com.au/LIGHTNING-MCQUEEN_Parties-Occasions_W0QQ_trksidZm37QQcatrefZC12QQfromZR40QQs acatZ16086
oh and I thought I'd post my own cake... this was from a few years ago for a fairy party for DD
I was happy with it :)
http://s7.photobucket.com/albums/y266/jag5000/?action=view¤t=cake1.jpg
lol... DS's is on 15th July too so yeah same date..... WOW... Thanks for that, so is the cake pan the actual shape of McQueen?? Will have to browse eBay I think.
Well how cool is that....I have to watch the movie 50 thousand times a week. Over and over, he is obsessed.... I tried to get him to have a car theme, any car type cars, and NO it had to be Lightning McQueen....:rolleyes:
I am yet to decide whether to have it the weekend before or the weekend after since it falls on a Tuesday...
I'm not sure when and how we are doing the party or parties yet.......We have 3 birhtdays within 9 days of each other lol.....I have to work it all out soon or my sister is going to take up all the weekends etc with her kids b'day partes as she has 3 out of 4 of her kids in july as well.
subaruforestermum
31-03-2008, 16:41
def. check ebay! ... great stuff there!
here's a good link
http://home.search.ebay.com.au/LIGHTNING-MCQUEEN_Parties-Occasions_W0QQ_trksidZm37QQcatrefZC12QQfromZR40QQs acatZ16086
oh and I thought I'd post my own cake... this was from a few years ago for a fairy party for DD
I was happy with it :)
http://s7.photobucket.com/albums/y266/jag5000/?action=view¤t=cake1.jpg
Thanks for that link.....never though of doing lollipops, or chocolate characters.
And thanks Toni, I noticed all the July birthdays on your sig, glad I only have one to work out...lol...good luck with it.
A Party of Five
26-04-2008, 08:52
Here is Isabelle's 6th birthday cake that my lovely Mummy made for her :party:
Fairy Cake (http://i159.photobucket.com/albums/t157/yummymummyof5/Picture001.jpg)
28-04-2008, 14:57
Show us all! :yelclap: Inspire me :p
jembelina
28-04-2008, 15:24
do you mean an actual number one, or a cake done for a first b'day?
subaruforestermum
28-04-2008, 16:40
There is a birthday cake sticky in the birthday section....made by ME......;)
There you will find lots of first birthday cakes, including mine...I'll find the link in you want...:D
28-04-2008, 16:42
This (http://i115.photobucket.com/albums/n304/baileysmum/RIMG0496.jpg) was Bailey's first birthday cake and these (http://i115.photobucket.com/albums/n304/baileysmum/RIMG0493.jpg) were the matching cupcakes.
DivinelySophistimicated
28-04-2008, 16:45
Wow MIlliner....What a knock out!!
subaruforestermum
28-04-2008, 16:46
Here is Isabelle's 6th birthday cake that my lovely Mummy made for her :party:
Fairy Cake (http://i159.photobucket.com/albums/t157/yummymummyof5/Picture001.jpg)
That is cute......
subaruforestermum
28-04-2008, 16:48
http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=34836
Here you go......mine is on the first page, very simple (sort of) but very eye catching and something that I've had a lot of interest from.....
heymamma
05-05-2008, 15:58
This is Ethan's 3rd bday cake Thomas the tank. He loved it!
http://i110.photobucket.com/albums/n118/ape2212/cakes/EthansThomascake.jpg
A Party of Five
06-05-2008, 06:23
That is cute......
Thanks I wish that I could say that I made it but sadly I can't :laughing:
My Mum loves making them for the kidlets and it's so much fun watching them work out what cake they want out of the AWW cake books!
subaruforestermum
08-05-2008, 16:07
http://i152.photobucket.com/albums/s178/Subaruforestermum/Skullcake.jpg
My skull cake I made for a good friend of mine..... thought I'd post it in my sticky as well....just in case
Mums5Kids
18-05-2008, 07:14
It was my daughters 1st birthday yesterday and I made her a number one I was so happy with how it came out I thought that I would ruin it for sure, will have to post a pic later trying to figure it out!happybirthday
Mums5Kids
22-05-2008, 21:25
http://i297.photobucket.com/albums/mm226/tonyandmel_album/100_1271.jpg
My daughters number one cake that I made.
*babygirl*
10-06-2008, 18:12
this is the picture of my lil girls first birthday cake...
a cinderella- baskin &robbins creation- 4 kilos of cookies and cream goodness:p
http://s123.photobucket.com/albums/o309/tanasha13/?action=view¤t=n555110357_1195645_6573.jpg
hope the link works.:)
wow what great cakes so many talented mums :yelclap:
I was just wondering what sort of icing this is
http://byfiles.storage.live.com/y1pYNbtJoVGJONz8BVEC7vfPKB-OmltTQIIzGRE3Flg41hD1V69WmyzW5h3CSDO2LT6MG-khCagLtY
It is butter cream.....most of the WW cakes are butter cream icing, it is yummy :) I have made that one.
Thanks cupcake...what does it taste like? sort of like the stuff on the top of muffins at muffin break? cause that's what I imagine lmao.
Umm not sure :) never had one :D it is the best icing me thinks.....really creamy & sweet :babydust2: you can add different essence flavours in it as well if you want a particular flavour or just add vanilla for the traditional flavour.
Just thought I'd post DD's cake from the other week here as well :)
http://i54.photobucket.com/albums/g9...nyth/Cake1.jpg (http://i54.photobucket.com/albums/g91/Daneenyth/Cake1.jpg)
http://i54.photobucket.com/albums/g9...nyth/Cake2.jpg (http://i54.photobucket.com/albums/g91/Daneenyth/Cake2.jpg)
http://i54.photobucket.com/albums/g9...nyth/Cake3.jpg (http://i54.photobucket.com/albums/g91/Daneenyth/Cake3.jpg)
http://i54.photobucket.com/albums/g9...nyth/Cake4.jpg (http://i54.photobucket.com/albums/g91/Daneenyth/Cake4.jpg)
http://i54.photobucket.com/albums/g9...nyth/Cake5.jpg (http://i54.photobucket.com/albums/g91/Daneenyth/Cake5.jpg)
http://i54.photobucket.com/albums/g9...nyth/Cake6.jpg (http://i54.photobucket.com/albums/g91/Daneenyth/Cake6.jpg)
http://i54.photobucket.com/albums/g9...nyth/Cake7.jpg (http://i54.photobucket.com/albums/g91/Daneenyth/Cake7.jpg)
13-06-2008, 21:58
Just thought I'd post DD's cake from the other week here as well :)
http://i54.photobucket.com/albums/g9...nyth/Cake1.jpg (http://i54.photobucket.com/albums/g91/Daneenyth/Cake1.jpg)
http://i54.photobucket.com/albums/g9...nyth/Cake2.jpg (http://i54.photobucket.com/albums/g91/Daneenyth/Cake2.jpg)
http://i54.photobucket.com/albums/g9...nyth/Cake3.jpg (http://i54.photobucket.com/albums/g91/Daneenyth/Cake3.jpg)
http://i54.photobucket.com/albums/g9...nyth/Cake4.jpg (http://i54.photobucket.com/albums/g91/Daneenyth/Cake4.jpg)
http://i54.photobucket.com/albums/g9...nyth/Cake5.jpg (http://i54.photobucket.com/albums/g91/Daneenyth/Cake5.jpg)
http://i54.photobucket.com/albums/g9...nyth/Cake6.jpg (http://i54.photobucket.com/albums/g91/Daneenyth/Cake6.jpg)
http://i54.photobucket.com/albums/g9...nyth/Cake7.jpg (http://i54.photobucket.com/albums/g91/Daneenyth/Cake7.jpg)
OMG Leeny !!!!!!!!!!
That is amazing !!!! Great work :yelclap:
I forgot to post Boof's ages ago & cause im lazy here is the thread that shows it here (http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=162012)
18-06-2008, 20:24
Great cake Leeny!
Nice choice in camera too. ;)
nice one Jen! :) well done!
oh, and belated birthday wishes to Aisha! :D
Nice choice in camera too. ;)
Thanks LOL :p
subaruforestermum
13-07-2008, 20:37
OK, so some have already seen it, but DS's birthday party was on saturday, I made this cake for him on Friday....
Lightning McQueen...
http://i152.photobucket.com/albums/s178/Subaruforestermum/100_2075.jpg
Word of warning, to get it to go red, I used nearly a full box of the red food colouring from the supermarket, but still wasnt going red, So I let it sit for a while, started to go darker pink, so I added a few drops of black..... and that helped it go red, dont go overboard with the black though...
The finished product, ALL made by me, No cake pan, no pre-purchased stencil, nothing..100% pure talent...lol.
I also have step by step pics to prove it...lol...cos I thought people may not believe I made it myself...:laughing:
amumslove
14-07-2008, 11:06
My DD#2's 4th Birthday was last thursday. She wanted a Dora cake:rolleyes:. I must admit I cheated and used a cake tin, still took me 2hrs to decorate.
http://i238.photobucket.com/albums/ff204/bevkennedy/My%20Family/2007_0710Image0014.jpg
ManekiNeko
10-08-2008, 11:23
Wowser there are some great cakes on here. This is an attempt at a Dora cake for my 2 year old DD'S birthday party this Wed , that a wonderful friend helped me make. http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3052/2745684237_45a19833ec.jpg?v=0
Here's a 'Teddy Bears Picnic' cake I made for my daughter's second birthday. I really enjoyed making this cake and my daughter thought it was wonderful. Most things were easy to find, except for the teddys which I purchased online from the Uk.
cake1 (http://i136.photobucket.com/albums/q162/fashionistasista74/imgp0021.jpg)
cake2 (http://i136.photobucket.com/albums/q162/fashionistasista74/IMGP0023.jpg)
cake3 (http://i136.photobucket.com/albums/q162/fashionistasista74/imgp0024.jpg)
cake4 (http://i136.photobucket.com/albums/q162/fashionistasista74/IMGP0026.jpg)
This is DS 1st Birthday cake he had the cars theme i didnt make it i got it made for me
[/URL][URL="http://i276.photobucket.com/albums/kk6/Bee_gomez/Jaiden%201st%20bday/DSC00212.jpg"]Cars Cake 1 (http://i276.photobucket.com/albums/kk6/Bee_gomez/Jaiden%201st%20bday/DSC00212.jpg)
Cars Cake 2 (http://i276.photobucket.com/albums/kk6/Bee_gomez/Jaiden%201st%20bday/DSC00261.jpg)
Cars Cake 3 (http://i276.photobucket.com/albums/kk6/Bee_gomez/Jaiden%201st%20bday/DSC00285.jpg)
Cars Cake 4 (http://i276.photobucket.com/albums/kk6/Bee_gomez/Jaiden%201st%20bday/DSC00288.jpg)
Mathermy
17-09-2008, 18:46
This is DS 1st Birthday cake he had the cars theme i didnt make it i got it made for me
http://i276.photobucket.com/albums/kk6/Bee_gomez/Jaiden%201st%20bday/DSC00212.jpg
http://i276.photobucket.com/albums/kk6/Bee_gomez/Jaiden%201st%20bday/DSC00261.jpg
http://i276.photobucket.com/albums/kk6/Bee_gomez/Jaiden%201st%20bday/DSC00285.jpg
http://i276.photobucket.com/albums/kk6/Bee_gomez/Jaiden%201st%20bday/DSC00288.jpg
Is it just me or is that the biggest cake in the world?:eek::)
That cake was for 60 ppl
Mathermy
18-09-2008, 08:15
That cake was for 60 ppl
lol-yum :chef:
tyler's mum
18-09-2008, 08:36
Everyone puts me to shame i wish i could make a nice cake like all of them.
This is from tyler's b'day party thanks to michels patisserie:laughing:
http://s63.photobucket.com/albums/h157/tamandtyler_2006/?action=view¤t=tylerphotos075.jpg
This is DS christening cake i got it made
Christening cake 1 (http://i276.photobucket.com/albums/kk6/Bee_gomez/Jaiden%20christening/DSC00130.jpg)
Christening cake 2 (http://i276.photobucket.com/albums/kk6/Bee_gomez/Jaiden%20christening/DSC00133.jpg)
Christening cake 3 (http://i276.photobucket.com/albums/kk6/Bee_gomez/Jaiden%20christening/DSC00120.jpg)
Christening cake 4 (http://i276.photobucket.com/albums/kk6/Bee_gomez/Jaiden%20christening/DSCF0114.jpg)
CharlisMummy
17-12-2008, 15:12
Here is the cake I made for DD's 2nd birthday! She absolutely loved it!
Wiggles Cake (http://i290.photobucket.com/albums/ll269/charlismummyxx/2008_1214wigglyparty0121.jpg)
I couldn't find one that I liked, I didn't want to to the big red car so thats what I came up with! I was really happy with how it came out :D
It was really easy but took a whole day to make it with all the mixing and baking!
subaruforestermum
30-12-2008, 20:19
I forgot to post Boof's ages ago & cause im lazy here is the thread that shows it here (http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=162012)
That is great, I love the cake...
My DD#2's 4th Birthday was last thursday. She wanted a Dora cake:rolleyes:. I must admit I cheated and used a cake tin, still took me 2hrs to decorate.
http://i238.photobucket.com/albums/ff204/bevkennedy/My%20Family/2007_0710Image0014.jpg
Nothing wrong with getting a helping hand with a cake pan..still turned out great.
Wowser there are some great cakes on here. This is an attempt at a Dora cake for my 2 year old DD'S birthday party this Wed , that a wonderful friend helped me make. http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3052/2745684237_45a19833ec.jpg?v=0
It's so great to see same themed cakes, but all different ways of doing them...love it...
Here's a 'Teddy Bears Picnic' cake I made for my daughter's second birthday. I really enjoyed making this cake and my daughter thought it was wonderful. Most things were easy to find, except for the teddys which I purchased online from the Uk.
cake2 (http://i136.photobucket.com/albums/q162/fashionistasista74/IMGP0023.jpg)
cake3 (http://i136.photobucket.com/albums/q162/fashionistasista74/imgp0024.jpg)
cake4 (http://i136.photobucket.com/albums/q162/fashionistasista74/IMGP0026.jpg) Cant view it, they've been deleted.... Bugger..
Cars Cake 1 (http://i276.photobucket.com/albums/kk6/Bee_gomez/Jaiden%201st%20bday/DSC00212.jpg)
Cars Cake 2 (http://i276.photobucket.com/albums/kk6/Bee_gomez/Jaiden%201st%20bday/DSC00261.jpg)
Cars Cake 3 (http://i276.photobucket.com/albums/kk6/Bee_gomez/Jaiden%201st%20bday/DSC00285.jpg)
Cars Cake 4 (http://i276.photobucket.com/albums/kk6/Bee_gomez/Jaiden%201st%20bday/DSC00288.jpg)
WOW, that is one big cake, and here I was proud of mine, thinking I should go pro, nothing on that...
Wiggles Cake (http://i290.photobucket.com/albums/ll269/charlismummyxx/2008_1214wigglyparty0121.jpg)
I couldn't find one that I liked, I didn't want to to the big red car so thats what I came up with! I was really happy with how it came out :D
It was really easy but took a whole day to make it with all the mixing and baking!
I'd be proud too, it's great....
I'm making a first brithday cake for Saturday, so I'll be sure to post it too.... Keep them coming ladies... They are great...
Cant view it, they've been deleted.... Bugger..
Here you go, I have added them again :chef::D.
cake2 (http://i136.photobucket.com/albums/q162/fashionistasista74/imgp0024.jpg)
cake3 (http://i136.photobucket.com/albums/q162/fashionistasista74/IMGP0023.jpg)
cake4 (http://i136.photobucket.com/albums/q162/fashionistasista74/imgp0022.jpg)
cake5 (http://i136.photobucket.com/albums/q162/fashionistasista74/IMGP0025.jpg)
Reidymac
30-12-2008, 22:27
I love this thread. So many talented bubhubbers and it's wonderful to see all the amazing cakes made with so much love.:yelclap: The thread must have been going for a long time though. I always seem to find it in the new posts at this time of year.:goodvibes:
My boys just celebrated their 3rd and 1st birthdays in December. I love making stuff for them and made these cakes out of chocolate mud cake and sugarpaste.
DS 1 is a mad keen Roary the Racing Car fan so naturally he had to have a Roary the Racing Car Cake (http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3096/3143176749_fae692c528_b.jpg) for his 3rd birthday
Here is another pic of the Cake on left next to his favorite Roary the Racing Car toy (http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3119/3144007788_f1f7be16a6_b.jpg)
My beautiful baby boys first birthday cake had to be special so I made him a Winnie the Pooh 1st birthday cake (http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3068/3143169053_466d639af9_b.jpg)
Here is a closer pic of the Winnie the Pooh characters (http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3204/3143166947_0c46d6a5ab_b.jpg) everything but the balloon string and the shiny sugar balls on the flowers is made by hand out of sugarpaste.
subaruforestermum
30-12-2008, 22:34
Here you go, I have added them again.
cake2 (http://i136.photobucket.com/albums/q162/fashionistasista74/imgp0024.jpg)
cake3 (http://i136.photobucket.com/albums/q162/fashionistasista74/IMGP0023.jpg)
cake4 (http://i136.photobucket.com/albums/q162/fashionistasista74/imgp0022.jpg)
cake5 (http://i136.photobucket.com/albums/q162/fashionistasista74/IMGP0025.jpg)
Oh...how absolutely gorgeous, very sweet... great work...
I love this thread. So many talented bubhubbers and it's wonderful to see all the amazing cakes made with so much love.:yelclap: The thread must have been going for a long time though. I always seem to find it in the new posts at this time of year.
My boys just celebrated their 3rd and 1st birthdays in December. I love making stuff for them and made these cakes out of chocolate mud cake and sugarpaste.
DS 1 is a mad keen Roary the Racing Car fan so naturally he had to have a Roary the Racing Car Cake (http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3096/3143176749_fae692c528_b.jpg) for his 3rd birthday
Here is another pic of the Cake on left next to his favorite Roary the Racing Car toy (http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3119/3144007788_f1f7be16a6_b.jpg)
My beautiful baby boys first birthday cake had to be special so I made him a Winnie the Pooh 1st birthday cake (http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3068/3143169053_466d639af9_b.jpg)
Here is a closer pic of the Winnie the Pooh characters (http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3204/3143166947_0c46d6a5ab_b.jpg) everything but the balloon string and the shiny sugar balls on the flowers is made by hand out of sugarpaste.
I agree, it is such a fantastic thread, the person who had the idea must be brilliant minded:p (Been going since my sons first birthday from memory....or there abouts so 2006 sometime)
Nah seriously it is awesome to see the talent on here.... AND I LOVE your cakes, they are brilliant...:thumbsup: We definately have some extemely talented ladies...
Reidymac
30-12-2008, 22:43
:laughing: You are brilliant minded! and thanks Suby.
I don't make them very often (thank god) because when I do the house is a mess and it takes DH ages to clean up after me :D
I just found a photo of DD's 5th birthday cake from September. Ladybeetle cake (http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3276/2872875920_d6540073e6_b.jpg) I made her a ladybeetle costume too but thats a whole other thread;)
subaruforestermum
30-12-2008, 22:58
:laughing: You are brilliant minded! and thanks Suby.
I don't make them very often (thank god) because when I do the house is a mess and it takes DH ages to clean up after me :D
I just found a photo of DD's 5th birthday cake from September. Ladybeetle cake (http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3276/2872875920_d6540073e6_b.jpg) I made her a ladybeetle costume too but thats a whole other thread;)
awww I know I am...but thanks...lol...:p
It is lucky that I dont make DS's often either, as DF has that same problem....lol....(The men have to do their part)...
Oh the Lady Beetle cake is fabulous too.... I want to attempt something like those soon, but when it comes time to make them I have NO time....
30-12-2008, 23:22
Yet again I forgot to post Master G's piccies !
So HERE (http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=199083) is the thread with piccies cause yerp im still lazy :laughing:
Oh & Reidy I soooo need the scoop on how you get your Fondant so smooth ... It was seriously doing my head in with G's cake !!!! Its soo dodgey if you ask me !
Reidymac
31-12-2008, 00:12
Awww Alley, that is a lovely cake and G is just gorgeous in that little blue wagon. Those cheeks are to die for :goodvibes:
I'm afraid I have no secret for smooth fondant. I just knead the dough a lot first and then once it's on the cake I use my hands, a liberal coating of pure icing sugar and rub :o. I try to make my own fondant or buy one from a cake shop which might be a bit smoother and tastes a bit nicer than orchid but I haven't got any special tools .......yet!
DH bought me a kitchenaid benchtop mixer for christmas :eek: and thinks I should consider starting to sell cakes and quit my real job. I plan to set fire to my handheld mixer and buy a few decorating tools in the new year. :goodvibes:
31-12-2008, 00:41
Hehehe yeah as my mum was always saying " here is our 'sick' child doesnt he look sick !!!! " LMAO !
I was wondering about the cake shop Fondant ! I was going to get it but was scared LOL !
OOOOOOOOooooh I cant believe you got a KitchenMaid :hissy:
I am so jealous ... Really jealous ....
Where do you live again :p:detective::devil:
I am slowly but surely getting more cakey items lol ... Different sized tins etc ... I even got myself a little recipe card box cause I am determined to finally file my recipes !!!!!
Ally.. I've said it before and I'll say it again... that in one gorgeous cake!!! :D
I can't believe you were nervous making it girl!
oh and I'm with Reidymac btw.. my only secret to very smooth fondant is to knead it well and rub rub and rub some more with sugar coated hands after it has slightly crusted. I often use the viva paper towel trick too.
subaruforestermum
31-12-2008, 10:07
And with the fondant, or orchid, dont forget to ONLY USE PURE icing Sugar...
I have spoken to many people who it doesnt work for and they werent using Pure Icing Sugar, just Icing sugar.. It does make a difference..:thumbsup:
Great cakes ladies, I love creating cakes, I just wish i was better at it :) Each cake I do thought I get better and better so thats something. I'll post some of the pictures of the cakes I've made for Aidan.
Baptism Cake - http://photos-e.ak.fbcdn.net/photos-ak-snc1/v312/152/61/745262857/n745262857_811020_4160.jpg
Baptism Cupcakes(someone stole the G lol) - http://photos-f.ak.fbcdn.net/photos-ak-snc1/v312/152/61/745262857/n745262857_811021_4578.jpg
Aidans 1st birtiday Party Beach cake - http://photos-f.ak.fbcdn.net/photos-ak-snc1/v1147/152/61/745262857/n745262857_1147885_7837.jpg
and again - http://photos-g.ak.fbcdn.net/photos-ak-snc1/v1147/152/61/745262857/n745262857_1147886_8131.jpg
and again - http://photos-h.ak.fbcdn.net/photos-ak-snc1/v1147/152/61/745262857/n745262857_1147887_8419.jpg
And then for his actualy Birthay with just us, Nana and Poppy I did a quicky cake lol its pretty tacky but Aidan thought it looked great.
http://photos-e.ak.fbcdn.net/photos-ak-snc1/v1147/152/61/745262857/n745262857_1166636_8030.jpg - you cant see the pic well but I just used frosting and green cream for the edges and then covered it in sprinkles.
Louise1981
05-02-2009, 16:08
wow that's a great cake! You guys are all so creative... I unfortunately like to take the easier options whenever they're available. I have had a birthday party with the company below at their venue and their cupcake stands were AMAZING - the kids adored them - but i think the parents loved them even more! And i just saw on their website they are about to start doing cupcake stands for hire. How easy! I'll be doing that this year...
http://www.groovychicsandpirateships.com/a_cupcake_stands.htm
Hello everyone and a special hello to my awesome sister in law uniquey:D. She's the one thats been encouraging me to put these pics up for months.
My eldest's second bday was in December and with his little brother arriving on his birthday:yes: (which was his due date) I decided I'd better make his birthday extra special as he was going to have to share it for the rest of his life!!!!!!!! LOL
So I made two amazing thomas and edward cakes, well amazing for me as a first time cake decorater with a hilarious attempt at a first birthday cake. This time I called in orchard icing, a bit of licorice, a little food colouring and a whole lot of love and I was super proud of how they turned out. I've provided the link to my photobucket album if any one wants to check them out.
http://s702.photobucket.com/albums/ww22/livntaj/?albumview=slideshow
Hope it works . Everyone's cakes are amazing I'm definitely getting some inspiration for this years double birthday creations!
Ps Its Edward the no.2 engine on the coming down the mountain cake, appropriate for a second bday I thought
Thanks x
mamesmumma
01-07-2009, 21:23
Oh I am so jealous - all these cakes look so awesome. I am totally useless in the kitchen and didnt even make bubba boy a 1st birthday cake. But for his second I was detirmed to give it a go. Problem was we were living temporarily with the in-laws in a country that doesnt bake. Had to cook the cake in the microwave. Had no tools and couldnt even buy icing sugar :-(
Oh well we made a garbage truck cake as that was what he was totally into at the time. I have no big pics, just a small one at the bottom of my blog post here. (http://iammummy.wordpress.com/2009/04/17/56/)
Next year for his 3rd birthday when Im back home in Aust. hopefully I can try something as amazing as you talented mummies. Must get some of those cakes books you are all talking about...cant not even fathom how to make some of those cakes they are 3D!
Hello all you talented cake-making ladies!!
Sorry if this isn't the right place to ask this question, but my DD's 2nd birhtday party is early on Sunday morning and I wanted to bake and ice the cake on Saturday arvo / evening...
just not sure how to store it overnight? Do I put it in the fridge (will that dry the cake out??) or just leave out on the bench covered? (Although - covered in what!?!)
Am just making a plain ol' butter cake and will use butter icing...
Sorry - but I am very new to this whole cake making thing!
Here is one of my only attempts at baking, for DD's birthday last year...
http://s624.photobucket.com/albums/tt322/grayisgood/?action=view¤t=stellacake1.jpg
TIA :)
mum2ethan
02-07-2009, 17:35
Love the cakes!!!
Heres my attempts
My nephew's spiderman cake, the choc spiders are a bit dodgy due to lack of time so they were a bit rushed
http://i276.photobucket.com/albums/kk3/Pottset/DSCF1981.jpg
DS's 1st birthday cake:
http://i276.photobucket.com/albums/kk3/Pottset/P7301093.jpg
DS's 2nd birthday cake:
http://i276.photobucket.com/albums/kk3/Pottset/DSCF0019-1.jpg
i have done more but cant find the pics, i have a dora cake i am doing this month and a firetruck or army tank (depending on what DS wants :rolleyes:)
lilly lollie
06-07-2009, 15:33
Does any one know if Womans Weekly has put out a birthday cake book recently?
I used to love all the cakes my mum made from the book and, although asked very nicely if I could steal it from her she won't let me! :no:
So I want one of my own, so I can turn out train cakes, barbie cakes, football field cakes, swimming pool cakes the lot!
Or do you think I'll have to scour the op shops and second hand book stores for the original?
I'd try ebay Lilly. Funny I was just looking at this, there is a facebook group about it I just joined! :D
Daughters 1st bday:
http://i180.photobucket.com/albums/x97/MAZIBELLE/MAIAS1STBDAY-JUDY042.jpg
My daughters 2nd b'day:
http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=106848&id=679654417#/photo.php?pid=2489450&id=679654417
http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=106848&id=679654417#/photo.php?pid=2680904&id=679654417
http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=106848&id=679654417#/photo.php?pid=2680905&id=679654417[/URL]
Hubby's b'day:
http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=106848&id=679654417#/photo.php?pid=2489448&id=679654417 (http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?pid=2489448&id=679654417)
[URL]http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=106848&id=679654417#/photo.php?pid=2489449&id=679654417
Distastful i know, but he likes hunting and fishing.:rolleyes:
Does any one know if Womans Weekly has put out a birthday cake book recently?
I bought the WW "kid's birthday cakes" book last year brand new from Big W.
It's pretty true to the original that I remember from when I was a kid!! Says on the back that it's been 'updated for the new generation'...
On a different note - here is the "Upsie Daisy" cake I did for DD1's 2nd birthday over the weekend.
I was very proud (considering I've only made a couple of cakes in my life!)
http://i624.photobucket.com/albums/tt322/grayisgood/P7040105.jpg
subaruforestermum
12-07-2009, 17:26
Design all by ME.... had no book, nothing.....
Kept me up all night, til 2.30am, then got up again at 5.30am and finished it off...
Hope you all like it...
PIRATE SHIP (http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=2028074&id=1021927232&l=8398b7ad81)
subaruforestermum
17-07-2009, 20:53
TREASURE CHEST CAKE (http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?pid=30552760&l=0b0525648b&id=1021927232)
TREASURE CHEST CAKE 2 (http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?pid=30552759&l=d0f29965e4&id=1021927232)
for DS's kindy....
breechmumma
17-07-2009, 21:22
Hey all I am so glad that this thread was started as it meant so much to me growing up that my mum made all of my birthday cakes. It's great that we can share our talents and gain inspiration from each other. My bub is only 8 weeks so I have not had an occasion yet when I can make her a cake but I have made lots in the past as I am a pastry chef :chef:.
Today I will share my nephews 1st birthday cake. It's from Febuary 2008.
http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=28862&id=518586631#/photo.php?pid=612808&id=518586631
Hope it works as I have no idea what I am doing with adding pics.
JabberJaw
26-07-2009, 21:10
Hey all I am so glad that this thread was started as it meant so much to me growing up that my mum made all of my birthday cakes. It's great that we can share our talents and gain inspiration from each other. My bub is only 8 weeks so I have not had an occasion yet when I can make her a cake but I have made lots in the past as I am a pastry chef :chef:.
http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=28862&id=518586631#/photo.php?pid=612808&id=518586631
:smiliedance: Fantasic, wow it looks like an ornament!
breechmumma
26-07-2009, 21:14
Now this is my nephews 2nd birthday cake. It's a bit dodgy as it rain for 2 weeks straight before and the icing for the characters struggled to dry. I was relieved when it was all over and cut up. My nephew ripped bobs head straight off, haha
http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?pid=1678896&op=2&o=global&view=global&subj=518586631&id=832994633
BabelFish
26-07-2009, 21:33
I tried to look at it but can't access the link! Noooo! I want to see!! :D
BabelFish
26-07-2009, 21:34
Ok I could see this one. That is absolutely totally amazingly unbelievable. :eek:
Breechmumma that cake is amazing. I can't get the second link to work.
subaruforestermum that pirate ship and the treasure chest are amazing too. You are very clever
He's my first attempt at cake decorating for my son's first a few weeks ago.
http://i249.photobucket.com/albums/gg238/c38_photos/IMG_5180.jpg
http://i249.photobucket.com/albums/gg238/c38_photos/IMG_0178.jpg
The little wooden bug hangs on a string over his change table and has always brought a smile to his face
breechmumma
26-07-2009, 22:36
The little wooden bug hangs on a string over his change table and has always brought a smile to his face[/QUOTE]
Oh your cake is as cute as your little man. You did such a great job.
I just realised why the link won't work. It is to my sisters facebook page and her profile probably isn't public. I will have to figure out another way to post pics without a link.
A Party of Five
05-08-2009, 14:22
OMG I just love it but I think that's going to be to much cake for us any ideas on how I can get the same look :confused:
Christelle
11-08-2009, 15:04
This was my son's 1st b'day cake. The lady who made it now has it on her website! I've also included the link to his christening cake also.
http://www.houseofdivinecakes.com/Duck%20Lachlans.jpg
http://www.houseofdivinecakes.com/boxblue.jpg
mum2ethan
22-08-2009, 13:55
Here is my son's 3rd bday cake (firetruck):
http://i276.photobucket.com/albums/kk3/Pottset/DSCF3051.jpg
And here is my nieces 3rd bday cake (dora):
http://i276.photobucket.com/albums/kk3/Pottset/DSCF3037.jpg
They had a joint party:
http://i276.photobucket.com/albums/kk3/Pottset/DSCF3059.jpg
2girls&1angelboy
22-08-2009, 14:36
Kristie's 1st Birthday Cake
http://i562.photobucket.com/albums/ss68/tamaramawer/4636_1072177040254_1100993074_30166.jpg
Kristie's 2nd Birthday Cake
http://i562.photobucket.com/albums/ss68/tamaramawer/s1100993074_30077453_76771.jpg
Kristie's 3rd Birthday Cake
http://i562.photobucket.com/albums/ss68/tamaramawer/4666_1072512168632_1100993074_30166.jpg
Kristie's 4th Birthday Cake
http://i562.photobucket.com/albums/ss68/tamaramawer/s1100993074_30094779_48517891.jpg
mum2ethan
06-09-2009, 13:35
This is a Bratz cake i made for a friends DD for just this weekend gone
http://i276.photobucket.com/albums/kk3/Pottset/DSCF3244.jpg
Fuchsia!
06-09-2009, 15:00
Coopers 2nd birthday cake i made
Bob the builder
http://i219.photobucket.com/albums/cc213/jaxcoop/IMG_2986.jpg
http://i219.photobucket.com/albums/cc213/jaxcoop/IMG_2993.jpg
http://i219.photobucket.com/albums/cc213/jaxcoop/IMG_2930.jpg
http://i219.photobucket.com/albums/cc213/jaxcoop/IMG_2934.jpg