View Full Version : Tassie mommies...where r u?
I never see anything new from the Tassie mommies! Where r u girls?? Surley we can tell the others about the impingeing spring in Tassie, the pink robins that are turning up.....a few more tourists creeping into Salamanca on a saturday.....what else is happening???
O's mom.
Tassie girls are here somewhere!
I don't know of many & I really envy the Melb mums who arrange to meet every month!
Bring on the warm weather & lets go to the botanical gardens for a picnic with the kids. It's free & there's so much space for them to run & exhaust themselves in! It also looks gorgeous in the spring time!
Anyway, one Tassie mummy here standing with her hand raised ready for role call! Are there anymore out there? :)
I'm in Tassie but i'm not a 'real' mummy, i'm a part-time un-official step mum! Sounds stupid i know but I love being with DSS. I have been around since he was very small, DP and i have him 2 days/nights a week and DP and I soon to be married.
So thats me! :rolleyes:
Anyone else around?
I'm in Mornington. Good to hear that others are around!
Hi Amme - Mornington as in, Mornington Eastern Shore, Hobart? I'm in Lauderdale so yay! I'm glad to hear there are some other Tassie mummies around! By the way, when are you & dp getting married?
O's mum, I saw somewhere that you're in Japan at the moment - what the heck are you doing there?! I certainly hope you'll get to see some of the tassie spring, it's been a great start to it! Where abouts in the midlands do you live? What's the boondocks? Scuse my ingnorance as I've lived in Tassie all my life but never heard of it!
How the tranquility of Tassie beats the heck out of a busy city anyday!
O's mum.
Oh I know where you live now! I've just never heard it referred to as the Boondocks before?! I'm so terribly sheltered! How much of your hubbies contract is left? What is he doing over there? Are you working as well or are you a SAHM? Must be hard being away from family etc for so long!
Hubby was shipped to Melb last Oct for 5 weeks so we decided we'd all go and boy were our eyes opened! We lived in a basic, 2 brm inner city apartment hotel right near the Telstra Dome so at least I had great transport, the Vic markets and a gorgeous park to keep me entertained. It was a novalty for about 2 weeks then all we wanted was to go home to our house and beach and family and friends so I'm baffled as to how you can do 3 years in a different country!
I can only imagine the mess a trapped bird inside would have made! Try not to think of it! And what's a few mice between friends?!
Good on you for keeping up the communication on bubhub - probably a life line sometimes?! :D
19-09-2005, 13:16
Hey guys,
Another Tassie mummy here. Well Mummy-to-Be!
I think there are another couple around somewhere too.....
There are mtb popping up everywhere around Tassie, but not many finding their way to this forum!
Sorry i havent been around much latley :(
Wedding plans are going full steam ahead at the momet so not much time to chat!
Yep i'm in mornington, tas. So not too far from lauderdale :D
Wedding is in less than 5 months! I'm so excited, but it is way more stressfull than i ever imagined! I think i will be glad when it is all over.
Nice weather today hey, pity i'm stuck in an office all day..... wish i was at home with DSS.
Whats everyone else up to today?
Hi All!
I check this thread from time to time, but agree we don't seem to be attracting too many Tassie mums here! There's GOT to be more! I'm telling all my mums group friends about it so I don't know where they all are - I'm always raving about such and such on bubhub or I read on bubhub etc...
Amme, I had SO much fun planning my wedding in Hobart (I'm the discount QUEEN by the way!! :D ) that I have SERIOUSLY considered becoming one of those American "wedding planners" (No laughing O's mum!) If you need some advice or anything (or just think someone is charging WAY TO MUCH for something) just send me a PM, email or sign me up to your msn and I'll be happy to help!
Kat&Tiny, have we "met" b4 on bubhub? I can't remember, remind me when you're due? I've got 5 weeks to go as of yesterday with bubba #3 & I've been on my hands and knees making my VERY LAST roman blind today - I'm really hoping to finish it tomorrow & I'm sure then I'll be ready to have the baby! I'm absolutely aching now & I'm sure I'm ruining my tummy muscles but it just HAS to be done!
Time for bed so talk to you all again soon!
Duh! Silly me! I Kat&Tiny I can see when you're due from your signature!
PREGNANCY BRAIN!!
27-09-2005, 13:04
Hi Anna,
Yeah, we have "met" before. LOL I changed my name to Kat&Tiny when we felt preggers. It was Kathleen before then, but no one calls me Kathleen, its just Kat on forums!
I'm going for my 12 week scan on Friday I cant wait! ITS SO EXCITING!
Hey, do you have public or private health cover, if you dont mind me asking? I dont know what to expect cause I'm public and all my pregnant friends are private. Its too confusing!!!
Kat
Hi Kat!
I thought you "sounded" familiar! This is the message you sent me when I first joined! Hi Anna! My name is Kathleen (Kat)....I'm 22yo, live in Tas, married 4 years, trying for our first baby......family close by, work full time as a HR support officer (Normally a PA/receptionist but am on secondment at the moment), love riding motorbikes and trailbikes (but am preparing to sell it when we have a baby due to the high risk factor of it all), have 2 dogs (Husky x), buying our own home.....Welcome along! Its great to have this support network! Everyone is so amazing here, and there is so much help available and knowledge!
Hope to catch up with you more! Where abouts in Tas do you live? We are in the south of the state.....near hobart. I cut & pasted lots of info so I wouldn't forget who I'd met! (I was about 3 mths preg then!)
How did you change your name can I ask? I was so excited about joining that I didn't put a scrap of thought into my name & now I feel like a dork! Did you have to unsubscribe then resubscribe or can you just change it & keep your rating?
Oh the 12 week scan is so exciting! Make sure the person scanning doesn't go too fast for you & explains everything. You may not know what you're looking at so don't feel silly to ask questions - I did at my 20 week scan with my 3rd!
I do have private health insurance & personally wouldn't have it any other way. But it's a huge financial sacrifice but I just loved having my babies in the Hobart Private. However, seeing as though you don't have it, don't be disheartened -there is a great alternative. The royal has a program that you may or maynot have heard of called KYM which is Know Your Midwife. If you go through this wonderful program (I have many friends who can testify to it), you get to meet pretty much all the midwives & you can give birth in the birthing centre which has suites much like the rooms at the Hobart Private. You can then usually (depending on how busy it is) stay in these birthing suites until you go home - all as opposed to winding up in a shared room which is no fun at 2am when your baby is sleeping & your neighbours isn't.
Hey, I have so much more I can share with you -
Hello also to all the other Tassie mums out there! Let's here more from you!
mumhoney
26-10-2005, 12:33
Greetings all,
Hope you are still accepting new members? There are plenty of tassie mum's out there, we just take a while to find great chat sites like this. Sorry, I am new to this computer stuff, but it has been a godsent since my baby girl was born 11 months ago!
Well, guess I'll talk again soon.
M's mum :cool:
Hi Mumhoney...I'm a Tassie part-timer as I now live overseas...but when I'm in Syd I try and get back to my house to see what the wildlife have dragged in this time..and to locate the source of the smell....................Where abouts in Tas are you from??
How is spring shaping up???
O's mom.
mumhoney
28-10-2005, 07:22
Nice to meet you Kevinbudgie,
I live at Old Beach, N of Hobart. Spring weather has been really ordinary so far, thunder storms, lots of rain has been quite warm though!
Wow, must be pretty scary moving o'seas with babe. Don't think i could do it :eek:
Must be great that you can chat on sites like this and keep in touch.
M's mum
mumhoney
30-10-2005, 14:24
hi,
hey, you have problem sheep too!! Well I have 1 problem pet sheep, she is certainly enjoying eating all my trees.
Beautiful day here today, bit to warm for me outside so hear i am on the net again!
Have you learnt much japanese while you've been there. I would love to go to japan one day. Seems like it is soooo different from here, so much culture, lots of expensive shopping?!?! Maybe when the kids move out......
How old are you? Sorry, if i read back i'm sure i will find it but i am a bit lazy.
I'm 25, married for 2 yrs next Feb - yep, morgan was a honeymoon baby.
Talk soon
Louise
Hi there O's mum, good to hear you'll soon be back in the land of Oz! I certainly hope you make the most of your visit back! Will you be here over Christmas or not? Oh what a nice Christmas it will be this year! We've just had baby number 3 and came home yesterday (you can read in due in Oct thread a bit more about it, saves repeating myself!) What a GORGEOUS day here in Lauds today! Sun is shining, baby is sleeping, girls are playing & I'm still sitting around in my pj's!
Hi mumhoney, good to meet another Tassie mum! I'm not far from you at all, I'm down in Lauderdale! I'm 26 (27 in Jan) and have been married for nearly 6 years. I only discovered this site a few months ago myself which is sort of a shame as I would have loved to have the support with my first! Hope to talk to you again soon! Anna
mumhoney
07-11-2005, 14:49
hello anna,
nice to meet you. Congratulations on bub no.3. I am thinking about having 3 babes, but might change my mind after no.2!
Hasn't the weather been wonderful! We could almost be a tropical island - except for all the wind. Bub doesn't like the heat too much though.
Im going back too work tomorrow after being on maternity leave for just over 12mths... bit scary. Worried about being away from DD and also of leaving DH alone with her. Sounds silly i know, but he hasn't really looked after her much by himself, i just hope he has been paying attention. Will be nice to be around adults again though.
louise.
DH & DD (11mths)
:D hi there i'm a tassie mum, living on the northwest coast...I have a 9yr old son and 7weeks into my second pregnancy due 4th July 2006 :D and we my fiance and son so happy, excited. Tasmania is a wonderful place to raise a family couldn't imagine doing it anywhere else in the world tassie is it!!! love to all mummyx2
ThomasMum
15-11-2005, 14:09
:D hi there i'm a tassie mum, living on the northwest coast...I have a 9yr old son and 7weeks into my second pregnancy due 4th July 2006 :D and we my fiance and son so happy, excited. Tasmania is a wonderful place to raise a family couldn't imagine doing it anywhere else in the world tassie is it!!! love to all mummyx2
Yeah!!
I just did domainsearch and saw this nice 3 bd house http://www.domain.com.au/Public/PropertyDetails.aspx?adid=2005039549, for only $520,000!!! I should sell our current home and buy 2 there! He he
Its beautiful, better yet its AWESOME!
I'm jealous with you tassies ;)
mumhoney
17-11-2005, 19:09
hello all tassie mummies,
welcome back to oz o's mum! Hope sydney has been treating you well.
Hi mummyx2, your son must be excited to be getting a baby brother or sister!! My niece (5) just got a new baby brother and she is really excited. Be a while before my DD gets one though!!
Hi thomasmum, It is so wonderful to live in tassie and raise your kids here. :) Battery Point is the 'elite' section of town! Very nice. So much property here for sale now, the market has slowed down alot now. I recon our house has at least doubled in value, if not tripled since we bought it!
Hope you are all well
Louise (25)
DH (29)
DD (4/12/04)
Im another Tassie mum but Im a 'bit older' than most of you I think..... :( lol. I have 5 children, the eldest 3 ( all girls) are young adults now and no longer live at home. But I have 2 children aged 10 and 12 at home, a son and a daughter. We are about to move down to Hobart from the North West. I start my job at the Uni. in early Dec.....my dh is trying to sort out his transfer to coincide with my new job starting date. So much to do and organise at the moment, its such a big move for us but our older 2 dds live in Hobart already so it will be really nice to be closer to them.
We are currently trying to find a house and have decided that perhaps the Eastern shore is the better area to live. We are looking at Howrah Primary and Clarence High school wise. My 12 yo dd will be starting High School next year. Any info on these 2 schools would be really good!!!......Bellerive/Howrah are the 2 areas we are looking at.........a bit of a drive to the Uni from there but we like the area..........dh will be working in town.......so hello to the few Tassie mums here!! :)
mumhoney
19-11-2005, 14:54
hello scorpio,
hey, great move coming down here! Not that i really know what it's like living on NW tassie.
From what i've heard those schools are good. My cousins went to howrah primary and loved it - and I haven't heard anything bad about Clarence High. I went to ogilvie high many years ago ( all girl public school ), but i think it is very hard to get into now. It's not that far from Howrah to Sandy bay.. only 10min drive :D
I work in Bellerive. The only thing is sometimes the traffic gets quite hectic going across the bridge between 8-9am and 4-6pm, but you get that everywhere hey!
Good luck with the move :)
Louise (25)
DH (28)
DD (4/12/04)
Thanks mumhoney, its good to know info about the schools. We lived in Hobart for almost a year about 9 years ago and our eldest daughters went to Howrah and Clarence back then and we were really pleased with the schools. But we didnt know if things may have changed a bit after all this time.
Only 10 mns to Sandy Bay you reckon????........from Howrah??? With the peak hour traffic I was thinking it may take me around 20mns....???? My work hrs will
be Mon-Fri 8:45-5pm.
Do you happen to know of any good vacation care programs in Hobart? Our 2 will need this all Summer school holidays.........even a good babysitter who would look after them might be an option. They are 10 & 12. Im hoping Im not too late to book any holiday care too. That bothers me a bit!!
We have applied for a house in Howrah and waiting with fingers crossed we get it. We will find out by Wed. next week. once we have this confirmed I can get busy enrolling them at Howrah Primary all going well of course!!!! lol
Sorry to fire all these questions at you but any info I can get from a local is priceless!! :)
Clesthaven
20-11-2005, 00:51
I used to live in Tassie years ago in Devonport and it's great!! I now have a 9 months old daughter and am in North Western Australia now so I can't join you but I wish you all the very best. Tassie is so great. We have a similiar problem to what you have hardly anyone subscribes compared to those in the capital cities.
ThomasMum
22-11-2005, 12:59
Hi thomasmum, It is so wonderful to live in tassie and raise your kids here. :) Battery Point is the 'elite' section of town! Very nice. So much property here for sale now, the market has slowed down alot now. I recon our house has at least doubled in value, if not tripled since we bought it!
Hope you are all well
Louise (25)
DH (29)
DD (4/12/04)
Oooh thanks for the special "insider" info, mumhoney :) I will pass on this to my DH, I like Battery Point a lot already! lol
Wish you and family well :)
TM
mumhoney
23-11-2005, 22:12
Hi O's Mum, are you still in oz or back in J? Weather has been up and down, just usual tassie spring weather, will no doubt rain for DD first B'day on Sunday week :rolleyes:
Devils are a mystery aren't they. I do care alot, I worked with Devils for 3 years and would hate to see their demise. Not sure if they have made any discoveries but personally I think it has something to do with all the nasty chemicals that have been used with forestry/farming etc. like 1080. Just my opinion though, and i'm no scientist!
Anyway, on a lighter note, is everyone ready for christmas? Present buying is so difficult, there are so many to choose from. My DH and I just end up spending hours playing in the toy shop and then not buying anything :o
Catch up soon
louise
gumballgalaxy
30-11-2005, 09:24
HI! Im a Tassie mums to be - up in Burnie!
Good to see some other tassie mums on here (i only jsut realised there was a tassie thread...haha)
Kaileysmum
04-12-2005, 20:52
Hi, Im a tassie mommy too. Im in Wynyard and I have a 8week old baby girl. :o
Hi All!
I'm so sorry I haven't posted here for a while!
It's so hard to keep up with all the posts! You finish reading and posting one section and all of a sudden 2 hours have flown by and you haven't even moved to the next section!
It's been GREAT reading all the new posts and seeing so many more Tassie mummies surfacing!
Mumhoney - WOW! I was at Oglivie High School too! Looking at your age (I was born 1979) you would have been in the year behind me! What'd you think of the school? At the time I though my mum was psychotic sending me to an all girls school when most of my friends were going to the local public school, but in hindsite it's one of the best I've come across so far! Since I now have 3 girls, Ogilvie is sitting pretty on our list of highschools - actually number 1 at the moment! It is hard to get into, but if you're a previous student, you can get your daughters in no problems, also, if you have a close relative who went too. (My mother in law went donkeys years ago!) It's a long trip from Lauderdale, but I think it's worth it.
Scorpio - congratulations on a great move! You'll love it down here, so easy going and relaxed compared to the "big smoke" cities on the mainland! The only criticism I have about Tas is it's crap shopping! Although having said that, I almost passed out with excitement when I heard about a huge proposed shopping complex near the airport (which is comveniently 10 minutes from my house!!) I live in Lauderdale and call me bias, but the Eastern Shore is great! Always 2-3 degrees warmer over here - it's true! As for schools, Howrah primary is fantastic, lots of good programs and great teachers, however I pesonally don't think much of Clarence High. My hubby & I were youth pastors of our local church (in Bellerive) and ran the high school age youth ministry for quite a few years (only stepped back as our family grew!) and the majority of the kids involved were from Clarence High. We just felt the kids didn't have as much motivation as other kids but some were just plain rat bags! (I know you get these at every school though!) Good luck with your decision - I'm sure you'd be able to go and tour the school to help your decision. Oh, what job are you taking at the uni? I hope the move goes ok and you're all settled by Christmas, it'll be great to be near your daughters again!
Hi ewells1989 & gumballgallaxy! Good to see some northerners joining in! What's it like up that end at the moment? We've had some CRAZY weather the last couple of days! Hi temps, sunny days, then non-stop, thick-as rain all the next day! Stoopid!
Hey O's mum! Oh you'll be so glad to get back! Even if it's only for a short time! Oh by the way, what's with the Tas Vegas? Am I missing something?! Hey! I just realised you'll be here for the Taste of Tasmania! OH you can't miss that! Will you be going?
Anway, I've held you all up long enough! Chat very soon! :p
mumhoney
11-12-2005, 22:11
Hello everyone,
Hi anna, Another Ogilvie girl, there are alot of us out there! Yeah, I didn't mind Ogilvie, but I think that I will let Morgan decide where she wants to go. I was allowed to choose my high school, I was actually enrolled to go to Rosetta High, but I changed my mind. I actually think it has become too big now. There were alot in my grade, hate to think how many are there now.
I find the Taste of Tas a bit daunting like O's mum. Crowds were scary without tring to push a pram through as well ! The food down there is rather yummy though :D
Is everyone ready for christmas? We are nearly there. Still wondering if it is worth the risk of putting up a christmas tree??? Will it stay up for long !! We have just has DD's 1st b'day as well so she already has enough toys to last a life time.
Well, suppose i should go,
Talk soon
Louise
Hi mumhoney! Are you saying you actually chose to go to Ogilvie? I went to Rosetta Primary and I BEGGED my parents to let me go to Rosetta High but they made the choice to send me to Ogilvie - I was mortified! But in hindsite (might have already said) I felt it was a great school - all my teachers were cool (enough) and there was so many extra activities to choose from. I still will probably send the girls there - even though I agree - it is getting big, but I really believe that there is such a strong motivation and a great influence by the teachers there to be the best they can be. Anyway, a lot can change in 8 years so we'll reassess when the time comes!
Are you all Christmas-ed out? I swear I had "Christmas Hangover" the next day! I walked around in a massive daze, half-heartedly breaking up bickers and fights over who's toy was who's and trying to remember what I got for Christmas & where I was going to put it all!
Anyway, must go for now, have a baby to feed and put to bed - never ends!
Hey guys,
Thought I would join the Tassy group though not yet a Mum, fingers crossed will be there arount 23rd August.
Just been sitting reading your posts.
Anna1979 & Mumhoney- I to went to rosetta primary (though it burnt down and I had to go to north chigwell for my last years) and wanted to go to Rosetta High with my parents refusing and sending me to Ogilvie. Im with you soooooo glad in hindsight. Though from what I have been told it has become an even better school over time. Im a bit older than you guys and we didn't have the great drama department or access to boys stuff if you wanted like woodwork. It was cooking and sewing for us girls.
Im looking forward to the next 9 month journey and am glad to have found this forum as have no close friends that have taken the step yet. Great to see some tassy guys on here.
Annie
Hi Annie!
Hey, what's in a number? You're only as old as you feel, and some days I feel 50! WOW! I can't believe you also went to the same schools! Although I don't remember taking any woodwork classes at Ogilvie, I do remember my favourite teacher - Mr Thaddeous Sasser for geography who took our whole class on a camping trip to the Weld River Valley (not too sure that's quite allowed now - 1 male teacher camping out with 30 female students:D ) From what I've heard also, the school has only gotten better over time. I was in Freedom a little while ago and I overheard a 45-50yo blonde woman talking to a friend about how she had just won the position as principal of Ogilvie! I thought, great! The school could use a break from Mr Miller & Mr Kava (if they're still there!) She looked young, cool & sassy and I'm sure the girls would receive her well!
Anway, glad to see you've joined the forum! What's the buzz on you? Where are you from? Tell us a bit about you, your partner, your plans for babies (if there are any!) Me, I'll be 27 in a few days and I've been married for nearly 6 years (in Feb) to a great guy & we have 3 little girls - Chelsea (4 today!), Nicola (2.5 nearly) & Imogen (Immy, 9 weeks). We plan on having a 4th but I'm not so keen at the moment as the 3rd labour was very traumatic - Immy was posterior but it wasn't discovered until pretty much when she was born so I was in a LOT of pain. I was keen as mustard to have more kids after the first 2, but scared as all hell to go back for a 4th! But we must at least TRY for that much desired little boy! As frightened as I am, I don't want to leave the gap too big so I feel that late 2006 I will find myself pregnant yet again! (Always wanted lots of kids!)
I did have a dream the other night that I had a 4th and it was a boy, but I wasn't happy. He didn't have anyone to play with so we ended up with a 5th - another little boy, and that's where the dream ended. *Shudder* scarey huh?! Wouldn't be too bad, but we'll see what #4 brings us!
Oh so I've rambled a bit.
Hi to all the other Tassie mums out there - I've got to confess, I really envy the Melb mums a bit because they get to meet! How many Tassie mums are there out there?
Now, please don't think I'm being a traitor or anything - but hubby & I are going to Melb on the 22nd of Jan (for his work) & I'm good mates with samsmum04 (Tracey) only from chatting to her here, and I'm REALLY excited as I'm going to finally get to meet her! I have 4 days all to myself (during the day anyway) and she's going to take me to a mums meet there so I can't wait!
I wish I could at least get some faces to go with all of your names!
Hopefully one day we'll meet!
Hope everyone is well and enjoying this crappy Tassie weather!
Hey Annie, I just noticed your postcode - Are you in Acton?
I'm in Lauderdale! Wow! So close!:D
Hey Guys,
Im in Seven Mile Beach. DH and I bought there over a year ago and love it. We have been married since March and been trying since to have a baby. I had a miscarriage in August and found out early December Im preggers again. Due to this Im not getting to excited until Im 3 months but I have a great feeling and am confident things will be alright this time.
Im having a scan Monday week at 9 weeks so hopefully will be able to post some good news. Doctor Reynolds if anyone know him.
Im very excited about the baby and am stoked I have found this forum as Im the first out of our circle of close friends to head into parent hood. So will be picking everyone on here for info and help.
Well on a break from work so best get back.
Cheer
Annie
Hi Annie,
Wow! We're just around the corner from each other!
Congratulations! I'm hoping and praying that this pregnancy goes well for you both. I've had a couple of girlfriends go to Dr Reynolds - he seems nice from what I've heard. I went to Dr Steve Sonnerveld for my first two, then Dr Lisa Turner for Immy (#3). I must say I'll never go back to her again, I was going to swap back to Sonnerveld at around 22 weeks but I thought I'd stick it out - I wish I'd just followed my feelings. Oh well, I'll know for next time :-)
You'll love this forum - I only wish I'd found it earlier. I've made some great friends here and I know they'll be friends for life. It's great speaking to others who have so much in common!
Enjoy and feel free to "pick" away!
Chat soon!
mumhoney
09-01-2006, 20:38
Sorry i've been away for a while, christmas and cranky baby and all that:o
Nice to meet you Annie71. What a small world it is! Can't believe we all went to the same schools. ( a few years apart though ) I'd forgotten that Rosetta Primary had burnt down...
I agree annabanana, our little tassie group is growing slowly, but would be nice if there were more:)
Wow annie, hope everything goes great with this pregnancy. And you are more than welcome to join us, just beware the baby talk... it's contagious.
Annabanana, you are the first person i've heard of that doesn't like Lisa Turner! Everyone else raves on about her. All I know is that she stitched me up after giving birth and I had to go back to surgery 3 mths later to have it redone cause it healed dodgy. Don't know that it was her fault but makes me a bit wary. I actually went to Dr Rupert Sherwood. I really liked him. A bit vague sometimes, but he made me feel like everything was perfect all the time. Not too pushy with all the scary tests and stuff either.
Anyway, I am a very proud mum because my little angel has just started walking. She's not a baby anymore:( But now I just might have to start thinking about number 2......:eek:
Well, should go
Talk soon and take care
Lou (25)
DH - (28)
DD - (4/12/04)
Hi mumhoney!
I'm *reluctantly* going back to see Lisa today for my last check-up. Was supposed to go at 6 weeks but couldn't be bothered so put it off! Now I'm going the day before my b'day so there's not a snowballs chance in hell that I'm having a pap today! I figure, she hasn't been down *there* yet, why start now! (She never did an internal & wasn't even there for the birth!) I think that if you had to go back for surgery 3 months after she stitched you up, then it was her fault! She should have done it better in the first place!
I honestly don't know why people rave about her - it must be because she's one of very few female obgyn's. I was sitting in the waiting room at about 30 weeks & there were 3 other women with babies of a similar age. Lisa had gone away on holidays for 5 weeks to Europe and these babies were born during that time. They'd all been delivered by Steve Sonneveld (my previous Dr) and all 3 raved (quietly!) about how much better he was and how much more comfortable they felt! They also said they'd go back to him for their 2nd babies! I almost piped up but chickened out and was soon called in for my appointment anway! The only reason I'm going back today is to get some closure on my labour experience and she's the only one with my notes! *sigh* wish me luck, have a feeling there'll be some tears.:(
Congratulations on your bubby starting to walk! Oh it's a happy/sad day isn't it! They're so clever for learning something new, but they're also growing up & not so much a baby anymore!
Hello to all the other Tassie mummies out there! Don't be shy, we'd love to meet you!
proud_mama
10-01-2006, 15:10
Hello Tassie Mums,
I am only a new tassie mum cause my DS was born on the 19th Dec '05. I didn't realise that there was a forum for tassie mums. I am from Launceston if any of you are from this way can u let me know as I am new to Launnie cause i am origionaly from Burnie/Wynyard and therefor don't know many people around me, and it gets a bit lonely:(
I would love to meet some new people as i am alone during the day cause my partner works.
-Jess
Hey Jess!
Congratulations on the birth of your bub!
Welcome! This little group here is slowly growing every day and it's always great to meet new Tassie mums - even if we don't live too close.
I lived in Launnie for 2 years while I was at Uni - I studied 2 years of primary school teaching but came home to Hobart as my parents separated and I found it hard while working long hours to support myself.
I must admit, although I love Tassie, hubby and I both agree that the best view of Launnie is in the rear vision mirror as we're driving up out of it! I promise not to hold that against you though! Just my own bad experiences there!
Tell us a bit more about yourself, how long have you been with your partner? What did you do before you had your baby? How did you come across bub hub?
Also, feel free to ask about us too - we're pretty friendly and don't bite!
Hear from you soon I hope!
mumhoney
13-01-2006, 20:48
Me again,
HAPPY BIRTHDAY ANNAfor the 11th.
Hope all went well at obgyn the other day;) YOu'll know better for next time :p
Nice to meet you mum-2-be ( or new mum!) Congratulations. Welcome to the wonderful world of sleepless nights... oops! I mean motherhood:D Sorry, Im not from launny, but my mum is. Does that count? Im half Launcestonite:) I love the monkeys with herpes!!
What hospital did you have your babies in hobart girls? Im starting to weigh up the pro's & con's for each, getting in early!
Talk soon,
Lou
15-01-2006, 07:19
I had my first at the Queen Alex in 1999 (now the royal hobart) and they were just fantastic! Had my second up here in Bris and hated them:mad:
Future babys will be back in rhh as we are moving back in less than 4 weeks :)
I had my babies in the Hobart Private - I found it was a bit of a holiday! They look after you really well there & have the BEST hospital food! I was starving after all 3 labours - I ate like I hadn't eaten in a year!:D
mumhoney
21-01-2006, 21:15
I had DD at Calvary. Wasn't greatly impressed, and they didn't give me alot of help considering I was a new mum and all. But not sure if it is better else where?
Haven't we had stinking hot weather lately:eek: And what about that thunder storm!! Morgan and I sat at the loungeroom window and watched the lightening, she was actually quite taken more with the thunder.
Had to take my sheep, flossy, to be shorn today as she got fly struck, YUK. I hate maggots:( Morgan loved the stroll down the road with the sheep, then playing with the farm dogs!
Hope everyone is well,
Louise:p
I am Tammy and I live in Mornington on the sunny Eastern Shore of Hobart.
I too went to Ogilvie High School (yes Mr Kawa is still there I saw a 2005 year book the other day!).... I left in 1989... after finishing grade 10.
I have 7 children.. sadly my eldest passed away 10 weeks ago at the age of 11yrs. Reason not yet known.
My 6 eldest children are to my first marriage and that "man" has now moved to NT and all the children are living with myself and my partner and now go to a local school.(we were travelling a fair way for quite sometime).
I am hopeing to be able to make some more friends in the local area.
30-01-2006, 10:55
Hi Tammy
Welcome to the Tassie Mums thread!
So sorry to hear of your sons passing.
Reading that has brought me to tears.
((((Sending you a huge huge))))
I am from Launceston if any of you are from this way can u let me know
-Jess
Hi Jess & everyone else!
I am also from Launceston, I was beginning to think I was the only one by the time I found your post!
Feel free to PM me if you are feeling lonely, I'm always up for meeting new people! :)
misstrish
26-05-2008, 12:34
Hello all my name is Trish im 22yrs old and preg with our 3rd!! i have one of each our boy is the oldest aged 2yrs 3 mnths and our girl is 14 months would love to chat to some tassie mummies:flowerz:
Two To Be Three
26-05-2008, 12:57
im in ravenswood (i know it's the worst place but hopefully i'll be moving soon
but hopefully we could meet up and chat sometime
A Party of Five
26-05-2008, 13:37
WOW this is a really old thread ladies!
Welcome to the Tassie section Trish :hugs:
26-05-2008, 15:00
Hi Trish, welcome to the Tassie section AND BubHub! :)
Come and join us in the Preggy mums chat! LOL :D
auzzie86
26-02-2010, 09:58
Hi I'm a 23 old mum to an 11 month old boy moving to Devonport this week! Anyone know of anyone else in that area?